(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Hi...ilovebabies....where can i buy the shampoo u mention ah? 'Klorane spray dry shampoo'
any one .. know can enlighten me bo? thank u

hi Riushiki,
dont forget to cut your nails as well. . . hehehehe. . . my hubby reminder me.

just got home from work. now enjoying a glass of cold orange juice.

during my stay in hospital, PD will come by every morning to chk on bb and report the status to you.
On day of discharge, PD told me my gal has slight jaundice but she can go home with me. And asked me to see her on Thurs am.
That's how I know Rachel's jaundice has gone up. In fact you can see that her face and body is yellowish.
If in doubt, always consult a PD lor ...

Emma

I got the PUREEN maternity pads from the Motherhood fair in June this year. Anyway I bgt extras from Mt A pharmacy.
The kotex ones are slimmer and the nurses always have to use two at once.... very wasted lor .. and I stained my panties easily with kotex.

ya now I still wake up every 3 hourly to express milk for her ... best milk in the world mah

i guess it is very very impt to invest in a pump .. as my gal is not with me this few days I really need to rely on a pump to est my milk supply.

oh another thing ... i guess for all first time mothers, we want to TBF our kid and refuse to give formula (ahhaa I was like that once!). But I think this is wrong as our milk supply has not come in and bb starts to gets hungry after the 3rd day of birth (they have reserves for 1st two days).
So with insufficient milk supply, she cries more during hunger and her fluid intake is low. That's how they get jaundice.

On the day of discharge bb Rachel was crying until her voice break at times .. i was so panic so quickly get hubby to buy Similac. From that pt onwards, I start to alt her feeds between BM and FM to keep her fluid intake consistent. But then .. her jaundice din went down despite the efforts. So gals, just do what you can do for bb's well being. My 2 cents worth of opinion.

now she is passing the yellowish/greenish loose stool many times a day ... eheh I see liao also shoik .. shows that my BM is working ehhhe aiyo she pass so much that she even stain my pants today ! ha !

last time when I see bb poo poo, i will try to run away .. now that I saw Rachel's poo poo, I dont even find it smelly ..
mother's instinct !!

oh and my gals has mensus leh !!! aiyo ... i was soooo surprised .. until the nurses told me that it is normal, due to the mother's hormones. but it is very little lah .. not our usual mensus. It is called pseudomensus.
More info here http://www.ehendrick.org/healthy/001911.htm

Sha ... ehhh u r She**a ???
wah so late then join this forum ??? wait until I pop then I see your posts leh

bena bena ... i also got the same type of v-area bone pain as u. At nite when i sleep and change from left to right position, my v-area left bone will pain. Or when i get up to pee, my v-area bone feel pain and "heavy" ...

melissa .. wah.. engage liao?? very early wor..35 wks.
that means not considered "full term" yet (37 wks). hope ur bb can tahan a bit more.. come out 37 wks onwards better.

chocolat: thanks for the tip on bringing more mitten and booties, coz i only packed one set for home-going. I din know must bring for the hospital stay.

Also..all mums delivering at GlenE, littlepony/Bena/Melissa/Chocolat.... Bring your own pajamas (button-front type) for ur stay in GlenE coz the ones that they provide more pay $$$ one - and cost $55/set!!!.

If u dun hv, better just buy a simple one from outside costing b/w $7 - $20 (depending wat type).

cereal, yah lor. the pain can be quite bad right? I got the pain when walking as well. Last night my mom say that she guess i may deliver early, cos i walk like a penguin and looked tired lately. Heheh...sometimes can't wait for bb to pop, but still wish that she can be with me 24/7 for a while longer

Yah, the nurse at GlenE say that those hospital wear that they provide is not open front. Not convenient for BF...but i still see mothers walking ard with the hospital wear. Anyway, i packed 2 sets of PJs and 2 extra exercise pants...just in case the PJ pants gets soiled and needs to change.

ilovebabies, how come the nurse needs to use 2 kotex at once?

hi bena, cereal,

my pain at the V areas were so bad last night when sleeping. I wanted to wake up to pee. couldn't move! the pain was so excruciating! I had to press on my vagina and slowly move little by little. :'( happened 3 times when i had to get up to pee.

at first i was sleeping on my left, the pain was on my left then when i was sleeping on my right the pain went to my right.

some time near morning think i was so tired that i slept face up then no pain when i got up just now.

i think it's our weight pressing on the bones.

this morning when i woke up went toilet and found slight brownish stain my on pad. is this sign that muscus plug is coming out?

Me still around .. no other signs of labour appearing

But got super bad backache today :x

Hellobaby, i think your muscus plus maybe coming out :p My guess hee hee

I got to stay home and wait for real labour to start :x Nobody allowing me to go out
I am so bored !

Hi Riushiki,

you alone at home? keep yourself happy, relax and move around the house. I think this will help you go into labour.. hee... friends who went thru labour told me to be relax, else dilation will be slow if muscles tensed up. so enjoy the excitement while bb is still in you while waiting for her to come to this world... hee.. you gonna miss the kicks and stunts she performed inside you!

me still monitoring if there's anymore brownish discharge. any idea if muscus plug is coming off the brownish discharge will continue or just little bit and normal discharge follows?

Ya man .. me alone at home

Everyone went out to "Play" liao :x

Dun care .. later when my hubby is back, want him to go shopping with me hee :D

No idea about the brownish discharge leh. I also having some discharge but that's due to my cervix examination yesterday :x

Riushiki, should be ok to go shopping lah especially with your hubby... just rest if you feel pain or tired. Bring along admission letter and hospital bag... hee just in case!

I just tried calling my confinement nanny to update her on my due date and to my supprise, the phone numbers i had no longer in use! Think i need to get another one
Anyone can recommend? My expected due date is 24 Sept.

I'm still in the hospital now and haven't pop yet... Waterbag leaked on Tue and was admitted immediately. Gynae tried inducing me on both Wed and Thur by inserting 4 prostaglandin gel into the vagina (2 on each day), but cervix still remain close and no contraction... Mucus plug came out on Thur night with a bit of blood discharge... Still no sign of dilation / contraction yesterday... and I can't be discharged coz my amniotic fluid index is 2.2 (very low) compared to the normal 6... Gynae inserted the 5th prostaglandin gel this morning, hopefully the cervix will open... She's trying very hard to push for natural birth coz if I go for c-section, chances of me going for natural for subsequent pregnancies is only 50%. She doesn't want to put me on oxytocin (drip) coz if contractions start and cervix not open, it will cause further distress to the bb + me and will need to go for immediate c-section.

If my cervix is still not dilated by Monday, I think will have to go for c-section...

Hellobaby, me too. the 1st move to get up after a rest is very painful.
Hhmm, if ur brownish discharge still persists, maybe you should call Iris to ask her?

Riushiki, going shopping should be alright, especially when ur hubby is with u. So long u have everything ready, when the time comes to pop, just drive over to the hospital! heheh.

CHerrie, what happened to your confinement nanny? Have you confirmed with her before that you will be engaging her service? How come she suddenly change phone and did not inform you?
Sorry, me not engaging confinement lady, so din do any research on that...can't recommend any to you.

Amy, you are admitted since Tues? Try talking to your bb to get him/her to pop. Don worry so much. Relax ok!

chocolat! Congrats to you first on seeing the end of this pregnancy soon.

amy, wow din expect to hear that you are still waiting to pop. Take good care and I guess just relaxing will be the best way to deal with it?

I'm just back from my 36th week checkup. Baby is 2.6kg and though head is down, my doc commented that it is still very high up. I don't suppose the baby is engaged at all at the moment. My Strep-B results are negative so sounds like everything normal still. Going to do CTG next week. Very excited as I've never done that before. Wonder what I'll see :p

Now having sore throat and cough.
So doc precribed medicine to me saying that if I don't take I'll take a long time to recover now. Initially thought that I can be like what I normally do: Just let the body recover by itself. sigh... ...

Hi Bena, I did confirmed with her and she told me to call her once i'm admitted. So today i thought just give her a call to remind her of my EDD. Don't know what happen to her la...can't wait for her to call me and don't know if she will call! Anyway, if i can't get a replacement will order confinement food catering

Amy, hope your cervix will start dilating soon, try to relax ok...

Cherrie :

I got my confinement lady through this agent ,
Mrs Tang , T : 6756 6386 / M : 9772 0719 . I am paying S$1600 , met up with the confinement lady and spoke to her my expectations . There aren't any agency fee . The benefit of an agent is the assurance that there will be someone if your child arrives earlier / later . You have to pay a deposit upon a satisfactory selection .

The following is another option which I happen to bump into recently .

http://www.motherhood.com.sg/communities/forum/readmsg.asp?TopicID=9&Level=14067.18728&id=18728

All the best .

Melissa / Amy :
Do take care . Being first time mom here , not too sure what to advice , hopefully some form of mental support and a pair of ears to listen when you log into this forum helps .

Hi :
Came back from my checkup too .. 37 wks and 3 days , baby = 2.4 KG , head down , not engaged yet , did my cervix test = nothing , fungus infection at the virginal due to hormone changes , have to insert bullet type pill into the virginal for four days . Still waiting for my strep B result .

I was given a total of 20 pages form to read and fill in for Singapore Cord Blood Banking ( SCBB ), very intimate questions , :> . Anyway , the representative will explain it this coming friday together with my first CTG test .

bena/hellobaby, oh...man...i m really walking like a penguin today!!!!
The v-area pain is getting bad.. i had to go out this morning coz i had a weddingt tea ceremony to attend... now back home..then later gotta go to church and wedding dinner.. can't walk properly liao.... i just feel like my virgina is going to drop on the floor!

How many of you mummies didn't do the Strep b test ?

Now I'm getting worried whether should I ask my gynae to do it ? He told me previously he will normally do for preterm baby ?

498768.png

Any idea what contributes to a weak placenta?

My gynea said my baby is not growing well, it's too small and might be due to weak placenta

Now me and hubby very worried.... sigh......

Hi Amy, like wat the gals said, pls try to relax and talk to ur bb..everything will be fine! All the best!

Riushiki, I also didnt do the Strep B test. My gynae din mention and I also always forget to ask.

Bena, i also brought 3 sets of mittens & booties. Shd be enuf I guess. If not, will get my hubby to bring.

Cereal, u mean the hospital wear that GlenE provides (the back open one) they charge $55?

Gals, any idea if I can take essence of chicken on Mon mornin b4 I go hospital cos I think I remembered my gynae saying no food and drinks after bed on previous night...but my mum asks me to take the chicken essence b4 goin...

Hi to all the mummies here,

Riushiki - i am also seeing Dr Tan YG @ Raffles Hosp. I didnt do any Strep Test too. My EDD is 3 Sep and Dr Tan wants to induce if baby still not out by 2 Sep. I wonder if we would be neighbours then since your baby is going to be due soon.

ilovebabies, after delivery for the 1st 2 days, how long and often shd we let bb latch on? If bb is sleeping, we shd wake bb up?

Riushiki, i din do strep B too. Gynae din mention anything on this.

Bena, no more brownish discharge alr. only in the morning. will let dr lee know on monday when i see him see what he says. However, i feel the baby very low today. maybe she has engaged... hee..

Amy, dun worry! gynae will know what is best for you and your baby! Keep yourself relaxed and try not to keep thinking about it else subconsciously you may tensed up your muscles. Let go of your worry and enjoy the final stage of pregnancy!
Wish you a smooth delivery!

Cherrie, oops, in this case, better not wait for the lady to call u. better to have source for another one.

Cereal, Try not to walk too much if the pain persists. I had a very good rest yesterday and tho the pain is still there, but not as bad...maybe cos walk less, the pressure/weight is also lesser.

Dumpty/Whatzup, good to hear that your visit went well.

emoments, did you ask ur doc what you can do to improve your placenta? If i remembered correctly, there is another gal in the forum whom is suspected of having weak placenta too, but after some tests, it is not the case. Don worry too much. Check with ur gynae k!

Riushiki, i did not do any strepB test. My gynae din say anything.

Hellobaby, good to hear that u don have nay more discharge. u going to see dr lee on Monday ar? Mine is tues. Really? Can feel bb moving down? So interesting! All the best!

hi emoments, when did ur gynae tell u abt weak placenta? the last visit? which is in ur wk XX?

during my last visit in my wk34, gynae showed me some white spots on my placenta, saying those are the aging spots. meaning placenta starting to age, not as efficient.

but she couldnt determine whether bb's growth rate is slowing down or not till the next checkup which is next monday.

she said usually when pple reach wk38-39, the placenta will age, it's normal. for me, it aged slightly earlier maybe due to my gestational diabetes condition.

she did mention, if the aging is quite serious, may hv to induce to get the bb out earlier than the edd. probably ard wk38. coz no point keeping bb inside where he cant get enough nutrients, oxygen, etc.

so we'll continue to monitor bb's growth closely for the next few subsequent checkup and then decide if induction is required.

hi chocolat

well it depends .. you can latch your bb on during every feeds if the bb wants.

Oh btw, my bb doesnt know how to suckle when she is born. Mt A nurses was v v kind. They helped me throughout the nite after my delivery to train my gal to suckle. Though I have no milk then and colostrum has not kicked in, bb still have reserves so it was purely a training session for. After a few tries (every 3 hourly), she knows how to latch on liao. And she gets better each day.

but some bb will find that latching on the breast is tooooo comfy for them, such that they fall asleep easily.
if your bb does not latch on freq, advise is to pump every 3 hourly to est supply and prevent engorgement.

btw my bb is back from Mt A ... her face is no longer yellowish. And thks to the nurses in mt A, they managed to maintain a 70ML feed to my gal. Cos she need more fluid under the phototherapy. So now at home, I will feed her betw 60 -65 ML. For her weight she shld drink betw 40 - 60ML according to PD.

And this morning I managed to pump out 125ML of milk !! so happy leh ... it's like an achievement !

But my average amt of expressed milk is about 60ML now.... so still need to be hardworking to increase the supply.

ilovebabies, really so heart-warming to hear about your baby Rachel
I still have 3+ weeks to my EDD so gotta wait for awhile, especially when baby seems really comfy inside still.

Btw, would like to check whether it is neccessary to pack in the breast pump into the hospital bag? What's the advice?

Hi Shirlyn
Finally can find another mummy of Dr Tan :p You are due on 3rd Sept ? Still a week plus to go hence you may not to induce as a result
For me, I am scheduled to go for the induction on the 5th of Sept if bb has not arrived :x

Hi Mummies, I am thking about Amy. How come her waterbag burst on tuesday and yet by sat, she still hasn't delivered ? Thought must deliver within 24 hours after waterbag burst coz there maybe insufficient oxygen for bb ?

Amy, hope you have delivered by now

499205.png

chocolat: the front-open PJ is charged by GlenE at $55/set. As for the back ones, i dunno. Wearing front-open PJ is for ease of BF during stay

Hi Riushiki, by right, bb should be delivered within 48 hrs after the waterbag burst to minimise infection. However in my case, my waterbag didn't burst entirely.. it leaked.. My gynae said it's ok to hold on as long as there's no further leakage and fever.

Am still waiting

Hi Amy
You have internet connection in the hospital ? So good !!!

You are still waiting har .. must wait until when ?

How's your dilation coming along now ?

If you want to buy those cheap cheap and cute pyjamas with buttons on the front .. you can go to this shop in Raffles Place at Clifford.

They are only selling one whole set for $5 :p

hi riushiki, how's the material of the pyjamas? will it get all stiff after wash?

which shop is it? do u noe the name? do they hv something plain?

hi ilovebabies, are u saying tt we shld straight away give bb FM if we dun hv BM the first few days so as to prevent jaundice? otherwise it'll be too late? which day did u start giving bb rachel FM?

Hi Edksd :p The material is cotton type :p

Plain one they dun have leh. Got cute doggies, cute rabbits hee ... you can go and take a look

If not, you can go Bugis Street .. those roadside stall they are selling those plain one .. around $15 to $18 for one whole set :p I know there is one stall selling just next to the roadside near the hawker center.

Got this "comfort measures to take during labour" for all of you
I think good to print out and bring to the hospital :p

Great for yourself as well as your hubby esp the Partner's help sheet so that your hubby won't be lost hee :D !

http://baystatehealth.com/forms/yourbaby/labor_guide/stages_labor.html

thanks riushiki, im v fussy abt clothes material, coz i dun like those warm thick material and oso those thin material which gets stiff after washing. v troublesome hor...

riushiki, wondering if there are any dress kind? i am worried abt having difficulty getting into the bottom after natural delivery...

i'm hoping that the baby will come on her own coz last week i have been working and had told her to come this week. tom is my first day of leave. have been trying to get enough sleep so that i am all ready to start the new phase.

riushikin, u may want to try talk to the little one inside. i think it helps...

Hi Bena and edksd

My last checkup was in Week 34, so couldn't be placenta is aging... gynea said nothing can be done except to monitor closely. If there's no movement within 4 hours, must quickly call him.

He touched my tummy and womb and look very worried. Then he said baby is too small and dun seem to be growing well.. might be due to placenta weak or other reasons...

I have put on abt 18kg and he said no matter wat I eat now, baby dun seem to be absorbing, so no point.. just need to monitor closely... very sad

my edd is a day before urs - 28 sept.

my bb is 2.26kg at wk34. i drawn up a chart myself. y-axis is the bb's weight and x-axis is the gestational wks.

can see tt the curve is curving upwards before wk31.5 and it started to curve downwards after wk31.5. so i guess my bb's growth rate has started to slow down a bit.

but of course it's still too early to determine yet. tomorrow is my wk35 day4 checkup. will continue to plot the chart after the checkup.

stay positive ok

2.1kg at week 34.... but gynea was saying 'cos me & hubby are big-sized and our family histories are all big babies... only mine is small... tt's y he said need to monitor very closely...