(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Janice,
ask your gynae for medication. she will prescribe you some stool softener and something for your piles. take durian lah.. high fibre mah.

Smiley,
I use the vending machine cup. I don't wet the floor one. I simply pour the water lor then wipe from front to back.

i going for gynae check up tomorro. I am coming to my 34weeks.

Melissa,
Very clever method.. i think i better consider doing that since i had infection .

Just came back from my gynae check-up. Did the group strep b test... results will be out next week.. Gynae mentioned that bb's head already engaged... may give birth early
Am 36wks+ today. She also said to report to the labour ward asap if contractions start getting frequent ie every 5 - 10 mins apart.

amy

so fasttttttttttt!! eeh so u be the earliest to deliver ... eh but ur EDD shld be in end Aug right ?

did gynae says painful or painless contractions ?

ilovebabies, yeah... my EDD is 29 Aug.. but seems like bb wants to come out early leh
Gynae said if it is just normal contractions without any pain, it may be braxton hicks.... but if it comes with pain, it is labour pain...

ilovebabies,
i got my BH contractions again, quite frequent these few days. not painful but still feel discomfort...

gosh, getting nervous about the whole thing.. i mean, it's our turn very soon.. Reading other previous months' threads make me feel nervous as well.. i mean, their stories that they tell. haaa! Think i better got the ' JUST DO IT!' attitude!!

how many times per day did u have it ?
i am recording my timing now so that I can show my gynae next Thur.

see what I have today:

04/08/06 Friday
================
1045am
1050am
11am
1140am
12pm
1205pm
150pm
155pm
205pm
215pm
245pm
250pm
320pm
335pm
350pm
425pm
433pm
445pm
555pm
635pm
640pm

littlepony,
working late again? Me leaving office soon...
my BH contractions seemed to hv lessened, but my girl's movements hv been keeping me awake at nights. Plus the stress fr office work... I can lie awake most parts of the nights and be a zombie at work....

I'm feeling nervous too, mainly cos i haven't bought all the stuff i need and haven't finished packing/cleaning the house... Better buck up this weekend, but I'm usually all tired out at home loh... Still, itz so exciting that we're finally reaching the end of a looong road right? Look at how far we've come since we 1st saw the +ve sign on the pregancy test or got confirmation fr gynae...

Puppylove,
Ya lor.. but i am leaving office soon too!

I have been very tired lately.. struggling to come to work. Same here. i still haven't prepare alot of other stuff.. so this weekend, no resting but have to prepare all these.

Talk to you again!

littlepony,
talk abt struggling to go to work... i've no car, so hv been taking cab to and from work, almost $20 every day... *faint!*

Everybody: Have a good weekend ahead!

Hi Janice,
My gynae prescribed Duphalac for my piles prob! This is to soften the stools so passing out will be a breeze but have to drink a lot of water. Mine was quite bad till it bled for 2 weeks then. Prior to that, I seen a gp and she prescribed some cream which is good too and she also suggested to soak in salt warm water for 10 mins per day, it'll help to shrink the piles.
Take care ya!

Hello girls,
I'm back from my 32-wk appt! My girl is now weighing 1.95kg.. almost 2kg liao! But my gynae is very happy with the weight. Today she's very cooperative, she looked at the camera and I can make out her eyes, her cute nose (looks like mine) and her lips!! So happy. Also can count her fingers! She's still head down and both her legs are up her shoulders. I told her I'm having heartburn everyday and she gave me antacids to be taken after meals. I think my baby girl is finally on the same league as you girls! Wooohooo!!!

My weight went up about 1.5kg since my 28-wk checkup but apparently over 900g went to the baby!!! She was only 1.07kg then!!! So happy!

Have also done my pre-admission to GlenE. Must pay $1260 for the 2-bedded, 3d2n stay upon admission. I also paid $550 partial payment to my gynae (doctor's fees). Have submitted medical claims for antenatal package ($800). Luckily the nurse can print a duplicate copy for me. So now I have my admission kit ready!

However, my next appt is not until the next 3 weeks.
Means the doctor will see me at 35 weeks instead of fortnightly. I guess we'll go weekly from there.

hi melissa

great to hear that ur bb is "eating" well !! see, dont worry and she will progress real good !!

wow u r fast ... even paid the hospital and doc oredi .. I only faxed in my pre-admission form .. that's all.

hi melissa, glad to hear tt ur bb is 1.95kg

i believe it's a relief for u.

so glenE package is oso 3d2n? seems like only kkh is not.

480118.gif

yeah man.. i didn't know she's going to be above average but I'm very happy lor. must be the durians. speaking of which, my uncle is treating us durians again! i'm so happy i can eat more durians.. lol.

edksd,
yes the frontdesk officer mentioned 3d2n. also provided a list of what to bring during admissions. no need to pay anything at the moment.

ilovebabies,
congrats on 36 weeks!!! i am anxious about your delivery!!! you can just pop anytime! how come you can just fax your forms? i filled up a lot of things according medisave forms to claim antenatal package and stuff. all at the admissions counter.

can't chat with you girls again today. going out already. hope to read your updates tomorrow! happy weekend all!
kao_kiss.gif

melissa

I guess I will do these admission stuff when I deliver. the pre-adm form from MAH only request for some basic info and yes, the nric of the person to deduct the medisave. that's all leh ...

Looks like I'm a weekend-chatter... no time to check at work Mon to Fri
How's everyone doing??? Been reading some posts, looks like everyone's getting ready to *pop*!

ilovebabies, what happened??? Ur exciting adventure isn't on this set of posts... glad to see that u're alright tho!

Melissa, 1.95kg is gd for 32 wks!
Durians do help eh! I've been eating some too, on & off, wonder how much my bb will be next wk when I'm 36wks.

edksd, I'm going to call Mickey on Mon to order our breast pumps... it's time!!

Taka baby fair next week! Can't wait to buy more bb stuff... hope the prices are gd!

480160.png

just came back from HK Baby fair. So crowded !.
Got plenty of samples, but tried to control impluse purchase. Took plenty of catalogues back to study and might go back tomorrow to buy things that I need.
But I did manage to get a Allenhand backpack today. Usually retailing at HK$530 (SG$106), on sale for HK$420 (SG$84).
Lots of NUK products was also on sales, but didn't know if NUK brand for diaper wipes and consumables such as bottle detergent etc is reliable.

Will research on the net tonite and decide if we will go back tomorrow to buy some.
I guess its too early to bulk purchase diapers, since don't know which Brand baby will like better.

Wow Angeline... that's a gd deal for the Allerhand backpack! It's selling here at Motherswork for over $120 I think... When are u flyg back to SG? If I remember right, u are coming back here to deliver yes?

Hi Joon,
I booked tickets for 2/Sep. I will be in WK35 then.

Glad to hear that its a good deal for the bag. I was so tempted to buy a 2nd carrier, but was afriad the my hubby will get upset at me for wasting on the unnessities

hee hee hee... well, I've already bought 2 diaper bags!!! Almost bought a 3rd :p My hb is used to it, haha... he has given up on me & my bags... they are also my babies!

Hi, any of u engaged a part time domestic helper before?

I'm thinking of getting one to come once a wk to do vaccum, mop, toilet washing and kitchen cleaning.

My mom will be doing confinement for me. I dun wish to tire her out having to do hsework also since she needs to tend to bb and do the cooking and some daily light housework.

Joon,
my husband complain that I am too spendtrift on such things. He feels that any bag can be used as diaper bag and we already have so many bags of all sizes at home, so why need to spend more than SG$100 on a diaper bag just to carry baby stuff around. :-(

But I am glad that he is here to control me too. With a baby, I must learn to but money into better use.

Melissa, I also went for my checkup yesterday. Was 33 weeks and my baby weighs almost the same as yours! Mine was 2 kg.

The good news is, baby's head finally turned down! So all the talking and exercising does work! Thanx for sharing all the tips gals!

That's great news dumpty
What kind of exercises did u do?

edksd, I've already got someone to come in twice a wk now to clean up the place. I think getting someone in to help with the cleaning is a GOOD idea... at least it's 1 less thing to worry about right? Right now, I'm paying her $10 per hour, which is the going rate for this kind of help. Do you need any contacts?

Angeline, aiyoh, I should be more like you... :p But diaper bags are gd becoz of the compartments lah... no need to dig dig dig!

Anyway, a friend just told me abt this place that does man yue gifts, very nice! Not ur traditional red eggs, ang ku kueh etc... But exp, and I don't think my ILs will allow :p Just thot I'd share

http://www.one-joy.com/sg/index.php

480422.png

Dumpty,
So happy that your baby is weighing normally too! That is the right size for 33-wk baby. Yesterday my gynae told me she had delivered another premature baby. The baby weighs only 650g. I forgot to ask her if the baby is alive or not. She's so small! BUt I think she is. The baby is now in NICU. She's going to be there for at least 3 more months! Ouch the medical expenses is going to be extreme but at least it's Medisave deductible. How much weight did u put on? Did you get any scan pictures? I got one face shot. Actually I begged her for it!

edksd,
Do you have family with maids? You can approach them and "hire" them for a few days. My MIL has a maid, I could do the same thing. Get her to come over for 2x a week and do the necessary.

Angeline,
wow so many bags ah. My diaper bags are going to be my trusty old school bag! haha. Anything with space sounds good to me.

joon,
are you getting the manual or auto breast pump? i'm still torn, don't know which one to choose. i'm going back to work after my maternity leave. my friend recommended the manual but my aunt recommended the auto b'cos manual is too slow and too taxing. but it seems that my friend has no problem with manual. haizz make me fickle-minded only!

melissa
if you're not sure which breast pump to get, why not get the manual one first to try? cos it's cheaper rite so if u find tat u dun like it, then u can buy the electric one lor. imagine if u buy the electric one then realise u prefer a manual, the $$ spent would be too much to just chuck the item aside!

i'll be doing my pre-admission the next time i visit my gynae, which is at 34-wks. so for the deposit, can we use our credit card? or must pay cash ah? also, all those prenatal check up receipts can be presented at preadmission oso is it? that's gd cos then we can settle all these paperwork b4 the actual day of labour. as if not stressed enuf! btw, u mean we can claim $800 fr the prenatal pkg? i tot it was only about $400 plus?

i didnt buy any diaper bags either cos i tot can just use any normal bag - but my mom bot us one so we'll just use tat

dumpty, happy to hear your bb decided to cooperate!

i've just packed my hospital bag too. tho thre are some stuff that cannot be put in yet (like slippers, toothbrush, etc) cos still using mah. will do that later on i guess - hope i wont forget! hee hee

michelle,
Wah I haven't packed my hospital bag yet. Too aerly for me. Will do so at 35 weeks. Now I'm only 32w4d.

Yes you can use credit card but when I did my pre-admission, I'm not required to pay anything. If your delivering in Parkway-Shenton group of hospitals and if you have Woman's DBS Mastercard, you can get 10% off on room bills. Yes bring your prenatal package receipt. Max claim is $450 but better than nothing rite? Yes basically we settle most of the paperwork before the actual admission day b'cos I reckon it's going to be messy being in pain and doing all these stuff at the same time!

hi joon, how's ur domestic helper? yes i need contact. coz on website i only saw those from agency, which is 4 times a wk each time 4 hrs - abt $180 (after discount), otherwise it's usually above $250 which i find ex.

Hi joon, the other MTBs here told me to do the exercise to encourage baby to turn : To stand on my fours and try to curl up my back. It works!

Melissa, My doctor keeps saying the baby's weight is good although he did mention that normal baby at 33 weeks range from 1.7kg to 1.9kg
So mine still considered slightly above average. In total, I've gained 8kg already! But too bad I still cannot manage to get glimpse of the baby's face leh

Really getting into last lap of our preparation. Sigh.... abit apprehensive but still happy to see the end of this pregnancy near. Because now, the weight on the tummy really tiring me out.
I spent my weekends practically dozing and sleeping.

helo dumpty, happy to hear that ur baby has turned!

joon, which are the 2 diaper bags u bought? i have been looking and looking but has not found one i really like. i like babetitude's bags and fancifree too. what about you? i did get a cute one from amazaon lah, but that one too cartoon leh hehehe.

btw, u said u pay $10 an hour for ur help huh? where do you stay? coz i tried 2 diff ones before, one at $10, one at $8. both are good, but the 1st one dun really do my area. though the 2nd one does, but she is fully booked every weekend. so i can't get her, hoping to find a good one for us who does bukit panjang area. any idea?

edksd, wanna tell u hor, we got de-hygienique to come down to our plc yesterday to sanitise our sofa and cosy corner seatee, and all our cushions. we are really happy with their service and our plc feels so clean now. hehhe thanks for your reccomendation. did you get them in the end?

yo ilovebabies,

ninyo popped liaoz leh.. keke... geez... count down time!! i packed my hospital bag, but hope i never omit anything important..

Hi Jasmine, someone on the Sept thread has popped???? Really!? If I remember right, urs and ilovebabies is 2 Sept or something like that right? My EDD is 4 Sept! I haven't packed my hosp bag!!!

Melissa, I hope the premi-bb is ok
I guess we must be thankful all our bbs are doing SO well
As for the pump, I'm getting a piston pump - the Ameda Lactaline - coz I will be a workg mum, so I want something fast and less painful
Are u a SAHM? If u are then, the manual will do, and what Michelle said is right, maybe getting a manual first is gd coz if u don't like bfg, then the $$ won't be that wasted.

edksd, actually, I'm very lucky... my helper is my mum's helper, and I've known her for like 12 yrs. She has my house key and she comes in while I'm at work... I trust her 200%... I can ask her if she's willg to help u. Wld u be interested? But she'll only be able to make it on Sundays I think. If u'd like other days, I can ask 2 of my neighbours who also get helpers in for their contacts. Let me know lah
Actually, 4x/wk and 4hrs each time for $180 per month is very cheap!!! Or is it 4x a month, once a wk, 4hrs each time? $180 for that is quite gd... just a little over $10/hr.

Hi dumpty, waaahh... that's a GOOD exercise man! It's great tt ur bb is in the right position

Daisybuttons, I like the fancifree bag... it's nice & colourful... someone's organising a BP for those I think. Was quite tempted, but I wanted a backpack to keep my hands free. So I got 2 no-brand ones, from eBay (US)!!!! 1 sling bag and 1 convertible backpack. Can't wait to use them! I stay at Whampoa. Sorry, I don't know any lobang for the Bkt Panjang area :p

480974.jpg

480975.jpg

hi joon, can u help me ask ur mom's helper?

i stay at tiong bahru area, will it be too far for her?

the $180 is 4x/mth. this's only if the staff rate still applies. i ve not call to verify yet.

hi daisybuttons, i intend to engage them only after national day. so how long did they take to clean all those stuff? after their cleaning do we need to like vaccum or mop our floor?

Hi to all MTBs,
Morning morning! hope everyone has a good weekend and hey, looking forward for Wednesday coz can take another day of break! Think we all deserve it, isn't it!

I went for my gynae checkup on Sat. Baby in good size and i put on another 1.4kg over 2 weeks leh. Luckily gynae say baby still in good size. I measured my own tummy and i am at 39inch leh.

I also did the 'Aerobic culture' test which is the Strep B test.. and waiting for the results. Hopefully, i am fine but if not, have to take antibotics.

Also did the pre-admin at Glen. And hospital bag 95% packed.

Now telling baby not to come out until after 36 weeks..... Will be going for checkup again in 2 weeks' time and then, will be on weekly basis.

481031.jpg

hi jasmine

really ? I just sms her hubby ... haven got his reply ... btw how you know ?

Joon, this gal ningyo is from Aug thread, she's my colleague's wife.
hehe no one in Sept has popped ehehe

am sooooooo tired nowadays ...

481043.png

morning!

So 1.9kg at 32wks is considered on the upper range? My hubby's side of family tends to hv heavier bones while mine is small size. We've been v curious which side our girl will follow. Guess it depends whose genes r more dominant...

btw, some of u gals getting Lactacyd baby bath right? Can advise where to buy and what price? I don't seem to find this brand in the 'usual' places. Thanks!