(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

dumpty, yuna

indeed ah !! hehe hope u gals wont get to sit in this "rollercoaster" of mine ahhah

yuna, as I posted abv CTG monitoring is a machine to track contractions and monitor bb heartbeat as well. During labour, we will be on this machine as well. Some gynae will suggest doing this monitoring from 36 weeks onwards in case you have false contractions like me

my gynae only ask me to monitor the consistency of bb movements in the last month. SOme gynaes ask their patients to count the bb movements in a 12 hourly period (excluding sleeping time). There shld be at least 10 kicks/movments during this period. hope it helps.

bijou

really ? so your bb is NOT consider a premmie right ? anyway that's what my gynae told me .. as long as she comes out from 36th onwards, she is safe .... i am worried she is too light ...

ming liew

welcome !! it depends.. u have to monitor yourself on the Braxton hicks contractions and inform your gynae if you think it is getting too frequent/regular.

ilovebabies,

I feel so excited for u. Just to share with you i had my 2nd kid at 36+weeks. So I will standby ard my 36 weeks oso which is 3 weeks from now. Hahah...but usually 1st time mum will be 37 weeks onwards lah. Anyway, you takecare.

Waaaaahhhh.. ilovebabies. I missed your "adventure" yesterday.. Was very busy yesterday, so didn't get a chance to come to this forum!

Glad to know that you are fine now.. Did you bleed a bit when the nurse did the cervix check for you? My sister said hers did after the check and then she bled for quite a while after that.. she said the check can be more painful than the contractions itself leh, is it true?

Puppylove, we have the same EDD right? I also thought we are in our 32th week and not 33th week wot...

My baby's head is also at my bottom left, and I am a bit concerned because these days my maternity pants are getting a bit tight (esp those low waist, V-shape ones) and I am afraid it might put pressure on the baby's head. But I don't want to spend money buying more maternity pants now since it's just another few more weeks to go leh...

Smiley

hehe yeah man .. me got no bleed after the cervix chk though nurse warned that it may .. so heng lor .. but it was real pain ..haha actually i know how to desc the pain but I pai say to spell it out here ahhha

Smiley try to wear dress or skirts lor

Hi Bena

No, my gynea never let me listen to baby's heartbeat. He said it involve too much radiation, not good for baby. That time he said after week 28 he will let me listen, but at my week 29 checkup, hubby not with me, so he said next checkup if hubby around, then let me listen lor....

I guess I can only get to listen once and I wanna make sure my hubby can make it for my next checkup.... else dunno when then I can listen, man!

Hi Smiley and ilovebabies

I noticed that my baby move a lot when I wear dress.... but when I wear pants, he dun move tt much, maybe too tight for him to move?

However, my buttock tail bone is extremely painful when I wear dress.... till I could hardly sit down

smiley,
hmm... tatz odd - according to past records, thot I shld be on my 33rd wk already loh... which day will ur 33rd wk start?
So our EDD is supposed to be the start of 40th wk??

I had another swab test (Group B strep) y'day to check if I still hv an infection. I've a feeling the results will remain +ve cos I still feel some burning/discomfort at the V area sometimes. *sigh* It'll be another round of medication! But anything for bb, right?

puppylove

did your gynae say anything on the infection ? i will be doing mine next Thur.

emoments, that's weird ... then u have to wear pants lor

Bena

I'm in my 33rd week now. And its a boy (again).

;) (ilovebabies)

I'll be staying in 4-bedded as well...to cut cost. The last time I stayed in MAH, I also opted for 4-bedded but due to lack of 4-bedded rooms, they gave me a 2-bedded room thru-out my stay.
maybe history may repeats itself.

Actually the first time I did my CTG, I felt so giddy and almost wanted to vomit. I also dunno why
kao_confused.gif

What's the difference between wearing pants and skirt? It's also tight at the waistband area mah? I have 2 types of maternity, one low-cut V shaped one and the other high waist, elastic one. I think the low cut V shape one is very tight now, and very uncomfortable...

As for dress, I don't have a single one.. Now regret now buying any...

I listen to baby's heartbeat every checkup leh, and ultrasound too.. My colleague says it is not good to have ultrasound every visit, but I prefer to see baby on screen leh...

Valerie

same thinking ahha I was hoping for an upgrade too !!
why are u feeling giddy ? we are lying down while doing CTG mah ...

Smiley

same here, my gynae does the scan and let me hear the bb heartbeat on every visit ... this really puts me at ease ....

I am having yeast infection now too. My gynae told me there's not much I can do except to reduce the discomfort with some washes, creams and pessaries. As the complete & quick cure would be to take medications but its not safe for consumption during pregnancy. Though sometimes depending on individual, we may jus recover without medications.

She said so far she hasn't delivered any babies (where mummy is infected) that is born with infection except for one but the mommy is not infected???

hi puppylove, u tested positive before huh? try drinking yakult, eating yogurt. its helps with strep b infection. but dun worry too much, if u test positive again, gynae will put u on antibiotics drip during labour, or may even give you a course of antibiotics to finish first if its still some time to go.

valerie, yeast infection is very common during pregnancy and has no major impact on baby during birth except prob for some rashes in bad cases. but strep B infection is different. the impact is more thus doctors are more careful with this loh. so u dun have to worry lah. yes it may just recover on its own.
how old is your first boyboy?

hi bena..will be taking the 2bedded one, cos too X to take 1bedded one... can save the money for othe purposes..

hi ilovebabies..so when are we expected to do this strep test then? bena, have u done also?

wah.. ilovebabies,

exciting siah!! let us know once pop! I haven't done any CTG leh.. and i approaching 37 weeks liaoz...

My next gynae appointment will be coming monday, where i will be doing the Strep B culture test to see if the bacteria exist boh..

Welcome to the new MTBs!

ilovebabies,
gynae says infection has to be treated else it may do harm to both mother n bb (during delivery). Y'day's swab was to test if I'm cured. After my 1st test 3wks ago, i was given antibiotics and a small egg-shaped pill for inserting into the vagina. Problem is tat i kept forgetting to take my antibiotics on time, so ended up taking quite irregularly. Plus the dosage may b quite mild for MTBs. Dunno if it affected my recovery. Hopefully my results fr y'day come out ok.

valeria,
u too?
so u're juz letting it recover by itself??

puppylove, try to take ur antibiotics on time ah, maybe set reminder on your hp to remind you? i was tested positive for strep b in week 4-5 of my pregnancy, after a course of antibiotics i am cleared. but need to test again at 36 weeks, which is the usual week that we test for strep b. think valerie's one is yeast infection, not the same as yours. like i mentioned above, try to take yakult or yogurt, it helps okie?

helo puppylove, yogurt and yakult contains good bacteria Acidophilus, which is good for most infections and even tummy trouble. if not during pregnancy, ppl may even recc acidophilus in pill form which is more concentrated. but yakult (especially yakult lite, the more exp one) and yogurt has these in smaller amounts safe for us. no harm trying.
and also, try to up the hygiene for ourselves loh. i know now we take a lot of care oredi, but if have infection, prob need to change some habits like change pantiliners more often etc? last time i super lazy, now pregnancy a bit more hardworking?

puppylove, daisybutton is right, eat lots of yogurt and drink Yakult/ Vitagen.. It really helps

If stay in 2-bedded or 4 bedded, that means hubby cannot stay overnight with you leh. I also hope I can save money, but to think that I would be alone in the hospital makes me uncomfortable, that's why i bopian also got to choose a 1-bedded.

daisybuttons, ilovebabies,
i've already completed my antibiotics, so now itz juz waiting for the results of y'day's test... I'm already taking iron/multivitamin pill, calcium pill and fish oil... all after food. Then was supposed to take antibiotics 3 times a day b4 food... Total 6 pills on diff parts of the day, tatz why keep forgetting loh...

daisybuttons,
u had a test so early in ur pregnancy? okie, will go buy yakult/yoghurt tonight!!
Didn't know this helps.. thot it was a matter of keeping our V area clean (as in wash more often...) due to our increase in discharge...

Smiley

ya i know hubby cant be with us .. but bo bian .. if he stay with me, I am afraid he'll be too tired ... so I rather he is fully charged when I discharge ehhe

daisybuttons,
oh I see.. its different thing. my first by is going to be 2 years on the 15th this month.

puppylove, I got mistaken lah ehhe... mine is just normal yeast infection. But it comes and go. It recovered one week later after I insert the pessary but recurred again..few days ago, I insert the pessary again and it seems to be better today... praying hard that it doesn't recur.

Oh btw, dun wash excessively, else it may get very itchy too cos our skin still needs a film of natural protection

;) (ilovebabies)

Actually I also agree with you. During my first delivery, hubby didn't had proper sleep at all. Cos my delivery was quite long.. so I was glad that he had the opportunity to go home to have a good rest although next morning he also came by quite early lah. I'm someone who can jus plonk to sleep anyway so staying in hospitals with the other mommy's are fine with me.

Just curious. Has it got to do with having sex during pregnancy that has higher risk of yeast / strep B infection?

Hi Valerie, so glad that u had a free upgrade previously. What's the chance of getting the free upgrade huh? I know for TMC, it is very high due to limited 4-bedder rooms. But not so sure about MAH. I'm also hoping I get the free upgrade too!

Jasmine and ilovebabies, really feel very excited for the both of you leh. Baby will come out anytime already!

ilovebabies
no..although she was considered early but she was okay. Her birth weight was 2.865KG and she can discharge together with me. Not a concern at all.

ilovemybabyg, i did not do the strepB test. Dr Lee also never ask me to do...but since i did not have any complains, so i did not bring up to Dr Lee. Maybe you can check with him on ur Fri visit and see what he say? Let me know, k.

Yup, the difference between the 1 and 2-bedder is really too much liao hor...that amount of $$ can really do a lot of things leh. Can go for 2 packages of post-natal massages already :p

BTW, when u go for the hospital tour, Rustic Nirvana will have a special GlenE massage package for u...i still think like not worth leh...u take a look at the package and let me know what u think k

Valerie, u hopping this one will be a gal izzit?

ilovebabies, i have the same thinking as u. Rather have hubby go home and have a good night sleep, then got energy to help me when i discharge. He stay in hospital sure cannot sleep...every 2+ hr, the nurse will have to come in and help with the bf...how to sleep well :p

;) (ilovebabies)

Actually I used panty liner initially too but I find it more uncomfortable and gets more itchy... probably cos I am not changing frequent enough. But I noticed that whenever I put pantyliners or pads (when I have mensus) long term, I'll feel very uncomfortable so after using the panty liners for a while, I stopped. Although more messy lah but no choice, just have to wipe dry more often. While working outside very difficult to find water to clean thoroughly.

Dumpty,
I'm not sure but seems like not very high now. I remembered after me, my sis also went MAH and she also got 2-bedded cos the 4-bedded are under renovation. After her, my other sis who went to MAH all had to stay 4-bedded throughout. But then the 4-bedded is now quite nicely renovated, altho not as spacious as 2-bedded I guess still can do.

;) (ilovebabies)

Forgot to answer the CTG thingy.. I also not sure why... I was half sitting half lying when I had my CTG at my gynae clinic. After the first time, the second and 3rd time was ok liao lah hehhe..

hmm... see first lah..everyone is asking me to try again... what if 3rd one also boy... i think i will be driven to nuts...
kao_dizzy.gif

Valerie, can read up on website to see how u can increase the chances of getting a girl mah...eg: TTC a few days before O-day, etc...heheh

dumpty, my fren suay suay that day occupancy rate wasn't very high, so she had to be admitted into the 4 bedded room, but in the end, she chose to upgrade to 2 bedded room herself (at her own expense, not free upgrade). So it really depends on your luck.

Btw, is it true that TMC is undergoing a renovation for the wards/ delivery room? If yes, when will it be done? I hope it won't affect my stay!!

Valerie, heard b/f tat frequent use of panty liner will cause infection easier. If possible try not to use it.

Recently saw on a mag recomend ppl best to sleep w/o underwear to prevant infection heeheehee....

Janice

is tat so ? i have using p.liner prior to pregnancy leh ... i think what u meant is that if you dun change that often then infection will kick in ?

yes.. panty liner will cause infection so it's better not to use it. And ya, Jannice is right.. best not to wear underwear at nite. And also, try not to wash our v area with soap.. water is fine. Wipe from front to back after toilet trip. Wear cotton panties.

I am the kind who always wash up with water after each toilet use and wipe dry. I also wear pantyliners to work everyday. at home i sleep without underwear. so far no infections.

Huh? Melissa,how to wash up with water? You mean you wet the toilet paper with water, and then clean? Or you use a small container to collect some water first before going into the toilet and then use the water to wash? But wouldn't that make the floor very wet?