(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

hi littlepony, i'd like tt tiny love doublesided firstbook is better than the one tt ur friend recommended.

becos one side of it has black, white, red composition. while the other side is colorful, so tt as ur bb outgrown the black, white, red arena, u can simply flip over to the colorful side. make this toy last longer, dun u think so?

Hi Edksd,
I agree. Anyway, i haven't seen the book yet and i am quite keen to get it anyway. Can't find it at Marina Sq Mother care. Do you know where else I could find it? only at Mothercare izzit?

i bought it at robinsons during the GSS. got 20% discount. i know mums and babe is oso selling it. they've a branch at plaza sing and united sq.

Hi Daisybuttons,

I think your sales rep made a mistake. Basically it is inside their contract (and therefore not subject to a promotion period) that the first year cordblood storage is free. It is only chargeable from the 2nd to 21st year. However, the waiver of $400 is a promotion, which is ending on 31 Aug. So you have to sign up by then.

My sales rep is Josephine. You can reach her at 96156116.

Basically I woke up at 6am on Sat to rush down to Cordlife at 8am (cos got dental appt at 10am and my dentist is the sort whom I have to book at least 3 weeks in advance and he doesn't take walk ins.) Talked to Josephine for a while, toured the facility at Camden (Cordlife is located at #08-08 Camden Medical Centre), and in the end still didn't sign. Haiz.... I wasn't sure cos the CURRENT stemcell technology is largely used for transplant on 3rd parties and not back to the original donor, as explained by Josephine. So if I am planning to have more than 1 child, then doing cordblood storage is a huge plus cos there is at least a 75% chance that the sibling's cordblood is a match. However, I am only planning to have 1 kid. So the only reason I can think of doing cordblood banking is that the technology will evolve to allow more uses for transplant back to the same donor. Moreover 300-600 million stem cells can be harvested each time. According to Josephine, should a transplant be required, every kg of body weight will require 15 million stem cells. So which means even if a maximum of 600 cells are harvested this time, the maximum weight of the recipient of the stem cells one day cannot exceed 40kgs.

As a whole I have a pleasant experience at Cordlife. They are not pushy, and have good product knowledge. It is just due to the above that I could not bring myself to sign on the spot. My husband is pretty keen. He feels that the technology is rapidly evolving, and there are breakthroughs in stemcell research which may allow growing of stemcells into specific organs one day. Science is also moving in the direction of growing the stem cells, which allow stem cells to multiply and there will not be a constraint on the weight of the transplant recipient. He feels that the money is well spent in banking on the future.

Well, well.... I am still thinking about it. But if you do not need to tour their medical facility, the sales rep can meet u at a place convenient to you.

My baby came up with an irritating method of stretching my tummy (and hopefully increase his available space inside). He will extend his legs and use his butt on one end and feet on the other end to push against my tummy walls, which makes it hurt like mad.... And he will sustain each push to 1-2mins, and then repeat the same cycle all over again, and this can last for 1-2 hours at a stretch everyday for the past week. It is a truly agonising experience, and no amount of rubbing from me will make him give up, so he is darned persistent.
Does any of your babies do the same to you? I cannot think of any remedy to this.... Haiz.

Will be packing my hosp bag soon. Thanks all for posting the list of things to bring in this forum!

Hi good morning gals!

Is it ok to eat longans during third trimester? I think I ate too much logans for the past week, now I am developing a "heaty cough"??

When do I have to start drinking coconut drink to cool myself??
475983.png

Smiley,
You can start drinking coconut drink now. But don't have to drink too much. Just drink maybe one or two. And when u are going to deliver, drink another one.

smiley,

longans are 'heaty' fruits. u shldnt take too much since in the last trimester, our body tends to be 'heaty' too.

hi peachie, i read tt actually stemcells are good for use for storage up to ard 10 yrs. so why do we need to store up to 21 yrs? by then the quality of the stemcells kind of deteriorated already isnt it?

actually im oso quite frustrated w this cord blood banking thing. initially i just wanted to donate it to the public bank and tts it. but now since both myself and hubby are thalassemia minor so we're not qualified to donate.

we were deciding whether to store in private bank then. but i was thinking since they (public bank) already didnt want our cord blood, then what's the point we store it? will it be a waste of $$? sigh...

so right now i think im 95% confirmed tt i'll not store the cord blood. unless someone is able to convince me differently.

Morning mums

Hi Smiley, I've started drinking coconut juice, and am enjoying every drop!! (i'm now 35 wks) I started drinkg this in wk 32 I think. My mil says once a wk for now is ok. The last month, drink twice a wk. So next wk, when I'm 36 wks, I'll start drinking twice a week. It's supposed to "clean up" the baby - not so much of the sticky film will be left on the baby after delivery.

Hi 77, your baby really has a mind of his own eh?! So cute! He's not out yet, but you can see his character
My puppy (that's our nickname for the baby coz it's the year of the dog!!) stretches quite a bit too, but doesn't really hurt. I don't like it when he kicks my ribs though... ouch!!

Hey, you girls very funny leh... abt bringing a trolley bag to the hosp! I was laughing and laughing. Anyway, check out this thread...

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/284876.html

According to the thread, for those of us delivering at TMC, we don't have to bring bb stuff coz TMC will provide mittens, bootees, diapers and 1 outfit I think. Is this true? I'm going for the hosp tour next wk, so will find out then. Anyways, here's a list I've compiled for myself, hb & bb. Feel free to use it/amend it. I'm still adding onto the list... maybe I'll have to bring a trolley bag too!!

mime_msword.gif

Checklists.doc (46.1 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Hi edksd, u're right, I think the reversible tiny love bk sounds gd... I'll go check it out

im actually v curious why must we be concerned abt the sticky flim on bb when born? it'll utimately be cleaned up by the nurse isnt it? never heard of any bb not able to get rid of those sticky stuff?

yeah, we know tmc will provide all bb stuff. but never mention abt bb hankie and bb wipes leh. so we've to bring our own?

Hi Cherrie,
Don't worry about baby's weight. It could be genetic or maybe baby is going through a phase of slow growth. Baby can catch up soon. Trust me. During my 24wk checkup, my baby is also underweight but at 28wk, the size is average. So yes follow your doctor's order and rest a lot! Regarding baby staying still when hubby's touching, yep I have that moments too. But we figured how we can get the baby to respond, ask your hubby to call out the baby lor! My hubby call out our baby's name and baby will usually kick him to respond. So cute! I think now she can recognize her father's voice already. Bass sound travel better in utero u know.

Peachie,
My baby also like to stretch! I can feel her butts on my right and her legs protuding on my left! It's very irritating so when that happened, I press both lor, then she will stop it.. Hahaha.. so cute.

Smiley,
Me oso eat many many longans and durians. I think my whole family is craving these fruit like me! Haaa! Then I make it up by drinking barley.

edksd,
You know what, I dont think my hubby and I are tested with thalassemia. We got tested once in polyclinic but i miscarriaged. Now never test leh. Should I be worried? I'm not donating any cord blood anywhere. No budget lah. Hubby kena retrenched with no package! Argghh.

hi edksd

I agree with you .. why are we bothered by the sticky film on bb ??

but I agree that taking coconut/barley can prevent heat rash in newborns, right ?

MIL made "fu zok yi mai sui" for me last weekend .. yummy ! missed it for 8tmhs !!

now really need no excuse to take cooling stuff ya !!

475996.png

hi melissa, thalassemia is for life, it's not as per each pregnancy. u wont be able to test thalassemia on bb till bb is born and slightly older to do blood test.

and i dun think the blood test u did at polyclinic include thalassemia check.

my experience is tt at tmc, they did a generic blood test on me and hubby. hubby suspected thalassemia minor carrier while im ok. so hubby asked to do another detailed blood test. and this time round, confirmed he's thalassemia minor carrier.

and becos of this reason, we were told to go for genetic counselling at thalassemia centre at kkh. they explained to us the % of risk our child will oso be thalassemia minor or major, etc. then i was told to oso do a detailed blood test there even though i passed the generic blood test at tmc.

it took them 6 wks to get back to us abt my detailed blood test. confirmed tt im oso thalassemia minor carrier.

so im wondering if we didnt go for the counselling, if i didnt do the detailed blood test at kkh, i might not know im a thalassemia minor carrier too as i tot i just pass the generic blood test at tmc will do.

if u intend to donate cord blood to public bank, it's FOC. no nd to pay a single cent and i think u shld. becos it might just save a life! even if it doesnt, it creates a gd cause in ur life

Hi edksd,

Not sure about the 10 year storage thingy for stemcells.... Thanks for sharing this though. Will definitely look up on this just before I decide to sign.
it is a significant amount of money, so really got to find out more about it before signing.

Hi Joon and Melissa,

So we have stretching babies as well! I guess the space is pretty cramped inside by now. My baby does exactly the same.... butt on the right and feet on the left. Can see his little feet sticking out and his rounded butt as he pushed. Yesterday he pushed till he started hiccupping, and yet he went on pushing. So rubbing both ends is not of much use. Sigh...

Anyone here bought waterproof mattress cover for the baby cot? Which brand is good? Thinking of getting one this weekend, just in case baby pees on the bed.

My baby stretch alot as well. And my whole stomach became deformed for a minute or two. It's quite cute to see.

Every night, the moment i lay on my bed.. baby started stretching.. and it's like spending time with my baby after a hard day work.

I will talk to him.. and start tapping the position i want him to stick out.. and he did it right quite often.

my bb dun just stretch she moves from left to right and you can see this BIG wave of her kneecap from right to left !! wow ! very spectacular ... how I wish i rec it down on video !

ilovebabies,
hey i know that wave!! I have that too! When my hubby saw it he jumped b'cos he has never seen it before. Hahaha. Cute hor! But makes you feel weird! I just watched Constantine on HBO yesterday and saw the devil child trying to break out of Angela's tummy.. wah lao she must've felt what I felt lor. LOL.

Ilovebabies,
Haaa! i tried recorded it down using my handphone but whenever i get the video recorder ready, he just don't do the wave.. then waste my time!

melissa

u still dare to watch CONSTANTINE ah ?? haha brave gal ...

ya my hubby jumped as well !! heeh v soon I'll miss my gal's stunts leh ...

littlepony

ahha bb just want to play hide and seek lah .. i will try to put camera on standby when I agar agar knows that she is getting active ..

ilovebabies,
dun say constantine lah.. i even watched all csi episodes liao! i'm not so superstitous lah.. i just happen to love the horror genres. and I like to see hollywood make up effects. but i still don't dare to watch Final Destination movies lor. Too gross for my liking.

i do watch CSI as well .. but trying to avoid horror and ghost related movies. .. oh yes Final Destination is gross lor ..

hey sorry to hear abt your hubby's plight .. did he try to fight for what he deserve ?

Dear All
Who is going to wash your hair during confinement period? I did it when I had my 2 children and now is my last prenancy so I tot to follow thrug since age is oso catch up. Anyone knows?

Morning MTBs...

Hehehe...i also got those waves and the lop-sided tummy. My hubby also very surprised to see them...but when he actually tap tap and called out to our girl, she doesn't respond to him liao...practically ' no hue'...hahah!

im going to wash my hair during confinement. maybe not everyday but at least once every 2 days depending on the weather.

i feel tt keeping clean is more impt. if u want to follow tradition, then must as well totally dun touch any water. tt'll be the safest but most impractical and impossible :p

bijou

what do u mean "who is washing our hair"

tot the qn shld be .. "how frequent ?"

last week .. i try to play music to my gal during the gynae scan ... gynae say unless we play it quite loud.. the bb cant really hear it ..

first she is surrounded by water, and all she hears is our heartbeat, stomach growling and blood flow ...

haha that means the antenatal instruction (tai jiao) is not very useful ah ?

I started packing my hospital bag last night. Just threw in a few items and its so bulky already.
- 1 36pcs pack of Pampers newborn diaper
- 2 x 10pcs pack of maternity pads
- towel
- disposable panties
- small pouch of toileties

still haven't put it alot of stuff, but the bag is half full. usually how big are the hospital bag huh?

ilovebabies, maybe bb listen w their hearts. as long as we use our hearts to talk to them, im sure they acknowledge it too

angeline, why do u need to pack diapers?

but i know one tai jiao very important.. that's to keep yourself happy!

My sil is quite a good example. When she is carrying her 1st kid, she panick over her job and get worry alot. Her kid now is very timid and worries alot as well.
When she has her 2nd kid, she has a very bad temper. Now, her 2nd kid also has a short and bad temper.

Therefore, it's important that we stay happy and think positive.

ilovebabies,
No plight. He's not the only one. It's a small evil company lor. I always hated his workplace. No prospect at all.

bijou,
I will still continue to wash my hair 2 days once. i cannot tahan my hair unwashed. it will get oily and smelly.

angeline,
wow you're bringing the whole pack of diapers? hmm i tot the hospital can provide? don't worry about the size of hospital bag lah. as long as you don't leave anything behind. who cares what pple say?

bena

u put headphones on your tummy is it ? that shld be better than blasting our speakers ??

anyway... like wat Littlepony say .. listen with their hearts ?? hahah we can start the bonding and teaching when our bb is born ... not too late lah

Melissa

ok .. so he gotta start looking for a job now.. good luck to your hubby !!!

i will also try to wash my hair every 2 days .. cant stand the smell leh !

haa! sometimes, i believe if baby wants to be the next Mozart, he will be .. or next Picasso, he will be...
now, i think i just want bb to be healthy and safe!

ilovebabies, yah lor...use headphone on my tummy. But i think she can hear leh. THe last time i tried Lisa Ono and she gave a hard kick and the headphone went tumbling down my tummy...heheh...but when i played Josh Groban to her, she listen quietly...heheh...

don't have to bring diapers issit? I didn't know that. We wanted baby to stay in the room with us, so I wasn't sure if the hospital will give us 1 big pack to keep in the room? The diapers and the maternity pads are taking up the most space in the bag. Those maternity pads are so thick. I guess I can take the diapers out then. So in that case, don't need to bring diaper wipes or cotton wool for cleaning buttocks already right? Hospital will provide right

Bjiou, I think we have the same doctor. Yours is SC Chew right?

angeline,
no lah. don't have to bring. In fact, some hospitals charge the diapers, milk powder etc into our hospital bills as well. And i know for Gleneagles, they let baby wear their gleneagles clothings on the date mother and baby leave for home.

hallo ladies,

regarding the coconut drink, dun knw whether it will suit everyone. So drink some okie already. for my case i had a chinese physician who had been looking a/f my bb since pregnant cause not a stable pregnancy she told me to visit her in week 34 then she will advise me whether to take the coconut drink cause someppl body cold type not suitable.

hi janice, i think i agree w what u said abt coconut drink not suitable for body cold type of pple.

im such one person. i dun intend to drink coconut drink. my mom oso said no nd. anyway, i dun like coconut drink too coz maybe since young i never drink it and therefore doesnt hv a liking to it.

Anyone here thinking of doing brazilian waxing before you deliver? Heard that most nurses will shave off the pubic hair before delivery, and it will regrow into prickly stubbles which can hurt and be very irritating. If yes, where u intend to go? Any place to recommend?

peachie,
Me! I intend to do it on my 9th month since I already have a package with them. Might as well do it. However, I asked a friend who delivered in KKH whether nurse got shave for them or not, she say no leh. But still, very pai say lah, better keep it neat liao haa!

hehe, i am not sure whether my gynea requires or not.... haiz... and too paiseh to ask him.

so thinking of doing brazilian waxing. Melissa, you have a package with who? how much is a session?

peachie,
I have a package with Strip@Holland Village. Each session is about $45 i think. It's cheaper if we take the package and intend to do it often. There's plenty of other spa that do Brazillian Waxing as well. I believe it's much cheaper also?

Thanks Melissa! Will call them and book a session when I reach 36th week.
The therapist is a female right? Thought I confirm first before going....

My gynae gave me a admission letter and asked me to keep it with me at all times, inside she indicated shaving required leh.. That means the nurse is going to shave me when I am brought in for delivery..

As for coconut drink, I am not sure what it is for, I only know my friend drank that when she's pregnant. Basically I just need cooling stuff now.. am very heaty now
No wonder they say second trimester is the best.. Now that I am in my third trimester, I start to feel my body aches and sometimes MS in the evenings coming back...

Angeline, do you need to bring so many sanitary pads? I thought two should be enough coz hospital also providing mah?