(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

littlepony

u r funny lor !! so do I look pretty in your dream ? ahahah ...

edksd

tks for the link ! it is really helpful to 1st time mothers like me !!

Joon, yah lor...the maternity pads seems much thicker, cos the pack of 10 is almost double the size of the usual pack of 10! I also contemplating. Guess i will also prepare another pack of those normal ones. Maybe just change more often can already hor

i bgt two packs of maternity pads. They are thicker than the normal pads we using. Some say we may experienced heavy flows for 1st few days leh .. so i bgt it .. dun want to make a mess lor

i'd prefer the usual night pads, coz i intend to change the pads quite frequently so as to avoid infection or anything. if the usual night pads can last me one quarter of the day, it'll be good enough. each time i go pee, i'll check and if it's almost wet, i'll just change a new pad.

I think hot on the list to deliver 1st should be:
e-ling
Ilovebabies
Joon
Dumpty
..that's what i recall!! haaa. Ladies, panick alreadi huh!!!!!

any one of you going to setup a 'gift list' so that friends and relatives can refer to that list for what presents to buy us?

I was thinking about it, as so often you see pple receiving duplicates or things they don't really need.

However, I was wondering if that will seem too 'rude'?

Any opinions?

ilovebabies,
ya.. i think you look quite pretty in my dream! long hair.. tie up with a ponytail... And i recalled your husband with you as well.. but he more nervous than you. And errr.. i didn't see my husband beside me in my dream! URGH! Where is he??!!

Bena, the maternity pads you mum bought are adhesive one or strings one? I heard that the ones hospital give are primitive string types, is that true??

Joon,
thanks for that website... ya, and thanks for telling me black and white r best for newborns.. hee, i tot the more colorful a toy gets, could be more interesting. Guess i am wrong huh!?

Littlepony .. u quite "zun" leh.. me long hair with ponytail !

Smiley

hospital give the loop type with strings .. they advised MTBs to bring their own adhesive pads as some are not used to it.

Angeline ..

it is not a common practice here I think .. but I think it is not rude .. in fact it is more practical this way. But nowadays ppl would prefer to give vouchers as gift then the couple will buy what they need.

thanks for the advice Ilovebabies. I think I start to prepare this list first and decide later if I should post it on the web or not.

smiley, yup, those that the hospital provide are the string kind. The ones my mom got for me are the adhesive kind. Luckily she bought the adhesive kind...heheh.

angeline, i agree with ilovebabies. It's getting very common to have a gift list. No worries abt that. Alternatively, get vouchers, so can just buy whatever u need.

most of my gd friends just ask me straight and direct what i wanted - cash, vouchers or gifts. some already hv something in mind to buy so they'll tell me so tt i wont buy tt particular item myself.

ilovebabies, oh gosh!!! really? i better go buy 4d this weekend.. hope i can be as 'zun' when it comes to predicting numbers! haaa!!

Angeline, ya...it's better to get the list ready and if your friends ask u wat u lack, then you can tell them right away. No harm! Not rude! Practical is the word!

Angeline, you can try Motherswork @ GWC. You can register a gift registry with them and your friends and relatives can just go there and pick what they want to buy for you. I think Robinsons and First Few Years (@ Paragon) does it too. I think it's ok leh... better that than getting duplicate gifts!

Me? I'm asking for cold hard cash!!!!! hiah hiah hiah

but sometimes i find tt it's v difficult. coz for eg. i wanted a quinny buzz stroller but it's v ex. if i put it on the list, i feel a bit paiseh. but if i just put stroller w/o specifying the brand/model, in the end i might get what i dun really like. so how?

Haaaaa... so it's true then.. eee. string type, I wonder how it works.. So if we use our own, does that mean that the hospital won't charge us then?

Edksd,
Well, if u wanna a stroller of your own specification n price expensive.. then perhaps getting your own family members to get will be better. Friends always have a certain budget. Unless they really don't mind spending such amt.

I also want cold hard cash! Vouchers also can! haaaa!!

Hhmm, i tot the hospital will give us a toiletries pack? Think even if we don use, they won deduct anything. The tot of string sounds very uncomfortable already :p

edksd, in ur case, it's best to get cash angbao...then u can consoliate and buy what u want. Alternatively, like my relatives, they will combine and get me cot or stroller of my choice. I just tell them what i want, they will base on their budget and either buy on their own, or combine

edksd,
Cheong Choon selling Symphony in Motion at around $75 or $77 (can't remember exact price). So far i find that to be cheapest loh. Even during JL 20% sale, price comes up to $90. Just FYI if u're considering buying.

As for maternity pads, I oso bought two packs just in case cos I heard 1st few days can be quite heavy. Would rather over-prepare than panic last minute. Anyway they were quite cheap during motherhood fair.

Smiley,
the ones that TMC gives are string but also have adhesive. My colleague who gave birth last month showed me when i visited her, so quite sure abt tat.

I would assume anything TMC provides is chargeable. If u dun want to pay for any item, better make sure u tell the hospital early.

hi little pony,

tts why i actually do not know what to put on the list if i do hv one. other small small things i believe we'll prepare/buy on our own way before bb's arrival. so actually what to put on the list har?

hi puppylove, i saw the musical mobile selling $79.9 at motherswork. only few dollars difference. does CC has ready stock or must order and wait?

i find tt the tmc single bedded room quite small as compared to raffles hosp and kkh.

did tmc just had a renovation recently? think the rooms looked quite new.

edksd,
I intend to put even the expensive items on the list and friends and relatives can decide if they wish to combine together to buy. Eg. a few colleagues from same dept can combine to buy 1 expensive item, or a few cousins, from the same auntie can also combine mah.

Hope it works.

edksd,
hmm... not sure abt stock. U can call CC to check if u want?
U referring to the mobile w 3 classical music choices right? Got one kind with 'animals', and another with 'shapes'. If the price diff not much, then tatz ok.

but frankly i prefer to buy everything on my own. i enjoy shopping for the things and buying the things myself and getting all prepared way early. so in the end, there's really nothing else tt i needed.

my boss told me he'll get me a bb cot last mth, so i didnt buy the cot. a friend told me he'll buy me a forehead scan thermometer. so i'll oso not buy it. other than tt, everything ive already bought except stroller which i dun think i'd need it now, only getting it after maternity leave ends.

some of my friends did ask me what i wanted. i told them nothing really. everything prepared already. i know it can be quite a headache for them w such a reply, duno what to buy. but im really fine w/o gifts, it's the tots tt count.

wow..so many posts!

anywy i just had my 31st wk check up 2 days' ago. bb is 1.9kg and head is down liao as he has been for the past 2 mths. maybe that's why his head is bigger - cos it's at a 33 wk size haha. but dr said the size is still normal lah

melissa, i was having menstrual like cramps as well and i asked the dr abt it. he said no worries its contractions but so long as they are not frequent it's fine. i had them like 4-5 times a day.

hi michelle, ur gynae says bb at wk31 weighing 1.9kg is normal? my next appt is next tue. i'll be in wk31 day5. im not sure what's the normal range of weight for bb. im really scared to hear my gynae says bb is big. i do read up some chart, but no idea which chart my gynae is referring to.

puppylove, i think mine and urs abt same size right? The last time u scanned is abt 30wk 5days? bb is ard 1.3kg?
By my next visit, i should be 33wk 5days.
What abt u? When is ur next visit?

michelle,
I think your baby is big liao. Average is 1.5-1.6kg for 31wk. Your baby is measuring ahead! What have you been taking?! Heehee.

edksd,
Why you so humble. If people ask me what I want when I already have a lot of things, I'd ask for a voucher lor. From kiddy palace or something. At least it could still be useful from time to time.

Sian my next visit is only next Saturday. I'll be 32w3d then.

Hey have we all reached 8 months already? When does it start? Nowadays when colleagues see me, they'll ask me when I'm due instead of "i didn't know you're pregnant!" LOL. So cute.

hi edksd,

yup agree that tmc single bedded rm look quite small but quite new lor... but i wan to save $$$ so told my gynae to book 4 bedded for me and upgrade free to 2 bedded...

only tell my bro what i need.... as for friends or other "relatives" i wld prefer cash or voucher... easier cause will buy wat i need rather than give something tat i dun use

check with u ladies anyone tinkin of getting insurance for bb already???

yeah, the tmc single bedded rm, once u opened the door can see the bed right in front liao. whereas for raffles hosp, hv to walk past a small passage way leading to the bed, just like hotel rm layout. and for kkh, they've a big curtain right at the door which u can draw so tt pple wont see ur bed immediately when the door is opened.

i did think abt insurance. but i think i better safely deliver the bb first. after tt then think abt it since it makes no difference u buy right immediately at bb's birth or a few mths later.

me too.. buying insurance prob after confinement. can only meet up agent after that mah. and I will enjoy 15% off the 1st year premium if I buy before bb turns 3 mths. so still got ample time.

michelle, hey look at my gal's weight, ur bb is BIG ah ...

my gynae monitor my bb weight v closely cos he knows I want natural birth badly. So he always advise me not to have too big bb else i will suffer in labour. gotta heed his advice then .. and I have stopped durians for fear that she gain too much also.

bena,
yup, my bb was 1.3kg at 30wks. My next visit is next Thur 3 Aug at 33wks (shld be 0days). When's ur next visit? Maybe we can update each other after that?

puppylove, i also next thurs. I will be estimated 5 days more than u. Yours also a girl right?
Okies...i will update u.

Taking abt baby weight, my baby is abt 2.33 kg when i m 31 weeks and 6 days. My gynae just said baby is progressing well, didn't said whether baby is too big or too small. But when I look at those guides chart in the webs, seem like my baby is quite big. I dunno what is what now???

Yuna, i think don have to worry if ur bb is big or small, so long ur gynae say bb is progressing well, then should be ok. At most if bb too big for natural delivery, then consider c-sect...most impt is bb is healthy

Hey Sep MTBs,

Hope we can all cope well for the rest of the pregnancy. Got a question: when we deliver baby, do we need to give the OB (and nurses?) some gift, like bonus or something? If so, usually how much? Thanks. - Megan

Bena,

true, the most impt thing is baby is healthy. anyway this is only an estimate weight, the variance is +/- 500 gm. If worst case, go for c-sect though of course i wld prefer natural birth if possible.

ilovebabies,

on one hand i m happy that baby is absorbing well and progressing well, on the other hand, i want my girl to look petite too :p

Yuna

dun worry, think the gal will take after our genes. so if u r petite, good chance that she will also. She is now gaining fats, so her physique is quite fix ya ??

Megan

I intend to give my gynae a thank you card and two boxes of full mth cake.

Megan,
My doctor's fees is already 2K liao. Don't think I have enough money left for a gift hahaa..

Yuna,
Your baby is huge!! Hee hee..

I have a durian party tomorrow. Not going to restraint myself. My appt is not until next Saturday. Will be interesting to find out what's my baby's weight. Hee hee. I have never passed average before. I'm usually barely average. My girl was only 1kg at my 28-wk checkup.

bena,
what a coincidence!
yup tatz correct, u're 5 days ahead of me cos ur EDD is 20 Sept, mine is 25! yes, am expecting a girl too!

Helo edksd, i just went mothercare. to ur question, mother care bras starts from $40 i think. i bought 2 packs of 2-bras each. one of them is $91, the other (sports bra kind) is $63. the other 2-pack is $88, but its not 100% cotton so i din buy. maybe if not enough i may consider buying that. so now i got 4 mothercare nursing bras, very happy hehehe. oh the prices above are regular price, their nursing bras got no discount, just cheaper if u buy their 2-pack. the ones with discounts are the support bras i think.

hey, u mentioned sofa and mattress cleaning, i do intend to get someone to clean my sofa cover before delivering. i was wondering am i too fussy a not, so thought if no time maybe can dun do. now read that u also doing, so i not very fussy right? coz i have a dog at home, sometimes he rubs against the sofa very dirty loh. as for mattress, think i wun for now.

i thought the one in TMC is the oil burner and not diffuser? tot i saw it during the tour.

oh edksd, about the sofy pads hor, though i oredi have one pack of pureen maternity pads, thinking of getting a sofys one coz heard quite good. but the pad you mentioned that is 38cm, whats the name of it? is it the sofys nightguard or something? coz i dun seem to find one that is 38 cm leh.