(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Heheh...talking abt durian. I have been eating durian for the 1st time since preg. And i had durians for 3 consecutive nights. Wonder if my girl will put on weight significantly or not :p Did not eat any previously as i do not have any cravings and the thought of it actually turns me off...but all of a suddenly like feel like eating :p

ilovebabies,
yap.. i probably do the same as well like you. Give gynae and nurses there a thank you card plus a couple of boxes of full month cake..

Sigh! i donno the weight of my baby leh. but gynae say baby in good size and healthy. guess that's fine alreadi hoh.

joon,
my edd is 31st aug... so, am on the early sept list of mummies too.. original edd was 4th sept...

Hi Yuna,
wow, ur baby is big siah...

Maternity pads
i will be using what the hospital is providing (loop type) as our flow is so heavy the 1st week, most prob will stain the bed and since already being provided, don't waste lah.. i do have on standby 1 pack of madame pureen's maternity pads adhesive & some normal night pads.. not enough ah.. ask hubby/ mum go buy lor.. keke..

Nowadays, i go out with a thick sanitory pad in my bag, just in case water bag burst when i am outside.. also having a clean disposable hospital bedsheet in my bag.. so i won't end up dirtying cab drivers' cars and/or my own car...

Hi Yuna,

Don't worry too much. My baby measured 2.3 to 2.5kgs at 31 wks 4 days, and his femur (leg) length and body length was equivalent to a 36 week baby. So yours is not the only big one around.
The problem with a big baby is that we may have problem delivering naturally. Otherwise should be fine, as long as the size is not attributed to us having gestational diabetes.

My gynea said he will closely monitor, and let me know if ceasarean section is recommended closer to delivery.

Went shopping during lunchtime today.... Bought an Osh Gosh overall (for 3-6months) from Kidstyle at Raffles City (they called it shortall) at 50% off the usual price of $65. Very very cute. Thought he can wear that when I bring him visiting on the 1st day of CNY.
It's Friday!!! I can feel him moving all the time these days. Last night he was kicking and moving around from 7 plus all the way to 10.30. I could even see the shape of his little foot protruding from my tummy. Think he is running out of space inside.

hi daisybuttons, thanks for the info on the bra. will pop by someday to take a look. maybe during the last mth.

im engaging www.dh-asia.com to do the cleaning. queen size mattress is abt $49 (30min) and sofa is between $50-$80 (2 hrs). i feel tt since we're so hardworking washing bb's stuff, etc. then must as well keep the environment clean too. i think next time w the bb ard, the next cleaning wld be few yrs later.

i duno is it a burner or diffuser. i called up to ask, the nurse just told me diffuser. anyway, doesnt matter la... can use can already.

sorry it shld be 35cm not 38cm. 3cm not much diff right?

i only bought
- 8 pads sofy extra night slim (for use in hosp)
- 14 pads sofy night ultra slim (for use at home the first few days)

i still hv the usual pads and panty liner. shld be enough. usually i use whisper brand, so not sure abt sofy brand, so didnt really want to buy too much. if it's really good and i still need more, can always get hubby to buy for me.

helo yuna, yah loh only 35 cm leh, but i tot read somewhere got 37, 38 cm one.

edksd, i can't get the slim kinds coz i find they sure not absorbent enough for me. my flows during menses are usually very heavy, only whisper maxi can work for me, no other brands. so i think for lochia also about the same. but i wanna get sofy's thickest pads, so not sure is the night wear one the thickest?

hey thanks for the link!!! i din know there's services that clean the sofa without us removing the cover. so happy now! hehehe am definitely going to do it. my sofa cover is super dirty with my dog's hair and deposits hehehee.

hi daisybutton,

my colleague told me she bought 38 cm before but nowadays seem like no more stock for 38 cm. If anyone of us saw any places selling 38 cm, keep each other update here ok?

helo yuna, sure! will check them out and if i see 38cm will let you girls know hehehe.

hey edksd, i just called dh, actually the quote of $50-$80 is PER SEATER LEH. so if ur sofa is 3 seater its $150 - $240. *whistle*. but bo bian.....hhhmmmm.... better than having to remove all covers (looks hard to remove) and sending to laundry and putting them back right? :p

helo edksd, thanks for sharing. i engaged justrelax before for cleaning of aircon. that one we quite happy with. but i just called them to ask them their procedures of cleaning sofa. apparently on their webby they say steam cleaning, $25 per seater. but if u want something more, similar to what DH asia is doing, they charge $50 per seater, about the same price anyway. and when i asked about their mattress cleaning, she say they usually use steam cleaning coz some mattresses too fragile material to use other chemical methods. hhmm...sounds reasonable but dh asia does mattress cleaning for ALL types of mattress, saying that its safe. so which one true?

as for housekeepers, called them too, hehehe. i super kanchiong coz i can't stand my sofa now! hhmmm....they strike me as not very pro leh, the girl sounds as blur as justrelax.though she quote me $80 for my L-shaped 4 seater sofa, she say its for steamcleaning. i told her my sofa may have stains, she say if have they can clean up with some shampoo. eeerrr...i dunno, strike me as not very sure of what they using. in comparison, ur recc of dh asia is more pro and know what they doing leh. think i may go for that at the end of the day.

Hi all...been very tired for the last 2 days due to lack of sleep..achy legs at night kept me awake
Not sure if it's due to having too much lettuce?? I ate almost a whole lettuce on my own :p

edksd, thanks for the website on toys, now i know what i can buy for my gal

I'm also planning to clean sofa cover and curtain, won't engage professionals though...save $$ :p When nearer to due date then will wash matress pad and bedsheet...

Regarding maternity pads, heard that though it's thick and bulky, it's softer compare to normal pads and so more comfy for the perineum tear. Not sure how true, i bought two pack of Pureen maternity pads for the first week after delivery.

For those who likes durian, take in moderation as it may cause hypertension. My SIL had high blood pressure during her 3rd trimester, she think it's because of eating too much durian (she didn't have durian for her first 4 children).

I'm going for my 32nd week checkup tomorrow
Can't wait to find out my gal's weight. She was only 1kg at 30week, doc said it's normal
474237.gif

Cherrie

ya durians are heaty and shld be avoided in 3rd tri .. need to start drinking more barley water now

anyway update us on your bb's progress tmr !

My gosh. I think I'm really slow in my preparation!
So far I've only washed one batch of the clothes. Still need to wash another 2 batches I think. And hospital bag? What kind of bag did you use? Those normal overnight bags isit?

littlepony, I'm not top in the soon-to-deliver list leh. My EDD is 21st Sep, think still behind Bena isit? But also have a big size baby, and mild contractions. In fact, I'm woken everynight now by the contractions I feel.
But I've been a good girl taking my medicine leh. Luckily, I have no spotting so I think I'm still safe?

dumpty

i just use a big bag lor.. nothing special abt it ..

hey start washing ur stuff soon .. else the big belly will be a hindrance !

i still have the tightness once in a while even though me on medication too. how abt u ?

ilovebabies, i get the tightness every night! Also taking my medication faithfully but tummy really hardens up and also painful.

I'm washing the clothes batch by batch. Hopefully by next week all will be done.

Dumpty,
not top on the list huh?! Oh.. aiyah. i earlier than you by couple of days. Mine on 18 Sept.

Oh.. my gynae say how to check if you have mild contraction: Just touch the side of your tummy.. if hard, means mild contraction. If not hard, means okie. If you have mild contraction for about 10 times a day, please call your gynae for advice. Could be premature or early labour.

I am sure you have no problem. Just take your medication.

Ya.. i also use a big bag. Anyway, not i carry.. so don't need so fanciful! haaa!

dumpty, i use a backpack, front compartment for the baby stuff. I'm also feeling contractions more frequently and woken by it at night as it happens when i turn in bed. Not given any medicine though.

i've been experiencing tightness many times a day, esp. at night. Never counted but quite sure it's more than 10 times??? No pain though.

Last time i mentioned to gynae, even telling him that within the half hour I sat outside waiting for him, I already experienced tightness 3 times, but he didn't seemed concerned. He said itz ok as long as there's no pain or bleeding...

Been having problems sleeping lately due to the discomfort though... I hope it gets better...

helo puppylove, same here. my braxton hicks is getting more frequent, sometimes think got 8-10 a day now? and similarly during the wait for gynae i had about 2-3. i asked my gynae she said sometimes ppl have up to 20 braxton hicks in a day. as long as not regular intervals (4 in an hour for more than an hour) and getting more intense its okie. so i try not to be worried loh.

now my sleep also getting bad, not cos of the BH, but coz my legs get numb if i lie on one side for too long hehehe.

i am going to get toys for my baby later. Heading to Marina Sq - Mothercare and Kiddy Palace.

Will be getting 'TinyLove: Double Side First book'. Website recommended by edksd.. and toy recommended by my friend in the June thread. Heee!!

Yah. Mine is painful. But my gynae just increased my medication dosage when I told him about it. My tummy was really hard at the side too. That's why he put me on medication I guess.

I've got to find a big bag to pack my hospital stuff now. My husband works shift, so I'm also not sure if he'll be at home when my real contractions start. Need to make sure I can carry all what I need to the hospital myself.

wah 20 times a day !! my gynae was kan cheong when I told him i got 6 times a day !! anyway I have survived till now . hopefully at least another 4 weeks more till week 38 ...

I didn't count my contractions la...probably about 10 times a day. When my tummy contracts i feel that my chest and neck also tighten, anyone of you have the same symptom?

Peachie, wanna check something with you. you mentioned that the latest cordlife promo is $400 off registration plus 1st yr fee waiver?but when i checked the girl said 1st yr fee waiver only valid if u sign up before 21 july, and u dun get the $400 off registration. so its either or. did you get both? if so, then i sign with your sales rep lah hehehe.

hi littlepony, what toy u buying thats recc by ur June friend?

cherrie, i dun experience tightening of the chest and neck. do u wanna check with ur doc?

puppylove, does CC have the symphony in motion mobile in stock at their shop? or i hv to call and order ahead before i pick it up? and what's their min for free delivery?

i hvnt pack my bag yet. think will do it when i hit 34 wks lah.

btw, any of you here pre-registered at the hospital yet? heard that we can do it after 32nd wk rite?

hi michelle, the last time i asked, CC has the tiny love motion mobile in stock. but now not sure. that is a hot item so they will stock up but it also runs out fast i guess.

registering, my gynae booked the room for me during my 1st few visits. tmc will send you a letter for u to fill up and resend back to them. then on 32 week checkup, gynae gave me the admission letter with a little birth preferences stated, to be passed to the sister in attendance on the day of birth. think that shld be all?

michelle,
i dun know if CC has stock leh... think better call to reserve? Winnie told me free delivery is usually $150 worth of purchases, but for big items less than $150, they're also willing to deliver.

hi michelle u oso intend to get the tiny love musical mobile?

i saw tt it's selling at 99 at most places but motherswork is selling at 79.9. strange... duno why.

they've the farm animals and shape types. then there's one new type. oso in the form of animals but i forgot the exact term. the box is slightly smaller than the farm animals and shape ones.

tot of buying the new type since it's new.

today i tried to pack a little bit of my hosp bag. just to gauge whether tt bag is big enough or not. and i realised not really enough leh.

feel like bringing a whole luggage there. coz my friend who has just given birth said tt she has a lot of extra things to bring home. eg. gifts/hampers from visitors during the stay.

so if we bring the whole luggage, just dump everything inside.

there're some questions i'd like to ask...

1. does tmc provides towel for showering or not?

2. does the toiletries tmc provide include hubby's portion eg. toothbrush, face towel?

3. i heard tt normally those delivering at tmc most likely to stay 2 nights? i know kkh usually just stay 1 night.

4. i heard they say tmc oso charge for tissue (box)? then i better bring my own?

helo edksd, i believe the $99 one is the tiny love symphony in motion delux, which is the one with remote. same as the one i bought. the $79.9 one is the usual one without the remote.

i also tot of bringing luggage leh, a cabin bag. my hubby say more convenient. but hor, i scared wait the tmc ppl laugh machiam we going holiday? what u think?

edksd, sorry i say wrongly. the $70+ one is the one with one music choice. $90+ one is 3 music choice. $110+ one is the delux one with remote control. hehehe. but when i bought mine, the $110+ one, it was sold at motherswork at $99, with further discount.

most of the places i been to (firstfewyrs and departmental stores) are selling 90+ for the 3 music choice and 110+ for the remote control one.

only motherswork is selling 70+ for the 3 music choice, tts why i find it funny, why so cheap there, no sales going on.

anyway, after i got my bb cot next sat, i'll just get the mobile, do u think it can fit on any cot?

helo edksd, think shld be able to fit lah, i haven't try mine though hehee. u can call FFY and ask since u bot the cot there right? can ask them whether they think the tony love mobile can fit.

ask you, how much u bot ur neroli for? i heard its a super expensive essential oil. a good one will be arnd $150 for a 5ml or 10ml. one of the properties is that it stimulates uterine contractions, so be careful dun smell it too often now kae?

yeah, the neroli is v ex. but i went to another shop which sells cheaper $20+ for 5ml. coz i think maybe not 100% pure tt type. but it's ok la, just a scent.

i intend to only open and use it during labour, definitely not now.

this's my list.

- maternity pads
- disposable panties
- sanitary bags
- breast pads
- nursing bra
- disposable shower cap
- toiletries
- cotton buds, pads, balls
- tissue (box and packs)
- baby wipes
- baby hankie and face cloth
- slippers
- pyjamas
- socks
- camera
- camera and hp charger
- CD player
- batteries
- CD
- essential oil
- documents file
- pen
- notebook
- magazines
- husband's jacket/pyjamas

edksd, daisy buttons, so CC doesnt sell it cheaper than motherworks? i intend to get the 3 music one without remote ctrl. if motherworks cheaper than this wkend i'll go there n take a look. it's at great world city rite?

edksd, do we need to bring our own baby wipes and hankie and face cloth to the hospital? i to they will provide all these for us?

anyway bring luggage to hospital like very funny rite... looks like we are goin for 3D2N holiday in bangkok!haha

475779.png

edksd, thanks for the pack list, added some of the items to complete my list
There are some extra things thats on my list too:

Lip balm
Paper/plastic bag(for extra things to bring home)
Baby sleepsuit
Mittens (2 pairs)
Baby wrap/blanket

Documents to bring:
IC (husband&wife)
Doctor Admission Letter
Medical reports (if any)
Original antenatal receipts
Marriage Cert for birth registration

I went check-up yesterday and doctor did a measurement of baby's head, abdomen and thigh bone. Baby size is below average and only weight 1.6kg (normal is 1.8 at 32 week)
I am to eat and rest more for the next 2 weeks and see if that helps my gal to grow bigger... however, doctor said it could be genetically related as I am quite skinny and small frame.

As regards to the contractions, it's normal to feel a little tightening at chest & throat during contraction as these parts are link to abdomen muscle too.

Whenever i asked my hubby to put his hand on my tummy to feel our gal's movement, she will stop moving and stay still. So it's hard to share the feeling of baby's kicks with hubby la...seems like she knows daddy is watching. Do you all have the same experience?

Daisybuttons,
Oh.. my friend recommended me the following toys which are suitable for newborn. They are:-
1) Tiny Love: Red, black and white activity book -$23 (avail at MotherCare)

2) Kids Tools: Red, Black and white Stimuli cube - $11 (avail at Kiddy Palace)

I've checked out the MotherCare at Marina Sq on Friday but didn't manage to find it. Will try my luck in other outlets next time.

hi michelle daisybutton mentioned CC is selling it at 70+, few dollars cheaper than motherswork.

i saw it at motherswork at great world city.

i think the tmc bag does not include hankie for bb. so far never heard anyone mention abt it. so anyway, just a small hankie, light and doesnt take up space. i brought it along in case during the journey home, bb drools

as for bb wet wipes im oso not sure. maybe they just give 1 free pack. if finished might hv to charge?? i duno leh. nobody can provide info abt what tmc bag includes.

i think it's ok to look as though we're going for holiday
anyway, it's a happy occasion