(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Bena,
I feel quite fast as well leh... haaa! i mean i be going for mine the following week and hey, i tot i just went. Nowadays, even if gynae do the scanning, can't actually see properly.. baby too big to fit in one screen..
But well, i like to hear baby's heartbeat.. very cute...

heheh...i just went on 17-Jul and my next is slightly more than 2 weeks on 03-Aug...yeserterday was telling my hubby...then he also mentioend that it seems quite long :p

yah, i loved to hear the bb's heartbeat...so loud these days.

Ladies, talking abt the impression bra~ I bought 2 over the weekend. Original price $9.90, OG selling @ $7.10 per pc.

What size are u ladies getting for the nursing bras? I read some website that we should only get nursing bras when we are in our last month. If we buy the bras now, i only know need to cater 1 cup bigger for the pads...but do we need to cater 1 size bigger? eg: if current is 36B, should we get 38C?

Bena, I nvr check the cup leh...i think it's only the 36 or 38 thingy. The salesperson also nvr mentioned abt e cup.

oic. Those i saw at mothercare come in different size and cup size...
The person at mothercare told me to cater 1 cup size bigger for the pad, but i forgot to ask if need to cater 1 bra size (36, 38) if i buy now...will go ask the person if i pop by impression.

Thanks for all ur info on Impression nursing bra. Was looking for affordable ones... those i saw were at least $60-$80 each... almost fainted! haha...

btw, is it safe to straighten my hair at this stage? was thinking of doing juz my fringe cos i've a bit of natural curl n everything's so untidy. Want to go for trim as well altho' haven't decided how short i want...

puppylove, in my opnion, try not to do anything at the moment...cos we won know if there's any side effect from the straightening creams used...also, our hair condition during pregnancy is more fizzy as compared to pre-preg. Straightening may make it worse.

I have actually cut my hair cut couple of months ago...so by the time confinement, long enough to tie, yet not so long that it's not manageable
and by the time after confinement, just the right length to go back to work

Mine too.. Used to rebond my hair every year.. Now my hair is frizzy and curls like mad.. but I have to endure... no rebonding at this stage..
But how about after delivery?? If we are BF the baby, can we still go for rebonding??

My breasts seem to have shrunk compared to the 2nd trimester leh.. Wonder whether it is because my tummy is bigger now, so in comparison, my breasts seem to have shrunk..?? Anyone same as me? When are they supposed to be the biggest? After delivery while we are breast feeding or during third trimester?

Wah Smiley, u actually can compare ur breast size for every tri.
I only hope mine will go back to normal can le, my colleague kept teasing me due to my big breast now...so pai seh. Btw, it usually gets bigger when it engorge, big and painful!

Dun think there will be any issue to rebond hair. Think I have read somewhere that it's ok to rebond hair while breastfeeding.

bena, smiley,
really not safe to straighten hair now ah? only fringe leh... n my hair's not fizzy...
In that case, then i guess i'll just go for a cut.

helo ladies!

smiley, think breasts are biggest during bfding coz they will be filled with milk.

nursing bras can be bought after 32 weeks. i oredi have 2 initially, but bought 2 more during my 32 weeks from OG, impressions. chng's wife got them last weekend thats when OG got 20%. no more 20% liaoz but if u have OG card u get 10%. so i got my mum's OG card hehehee. it is indeed very comfy, though its not 100% cotton. that evening, i tried on impressions, sorellas and triumph. sorrella cost around $20-$30.triumph $37-$50. but hor, i find triumph one very very obiang leh. i know nursing bras are obiang to begin with lah, but triump one tops it loh, and so expensive. i also find triump cutting a bit smaller. so do take note when you trying on triumphs ones. anyway, i hear that u have to get one CUP bigger since u have to take into acct incr in size PLUS ur breast pads. but as for underbust size 36, 38 etc...u must gauge on case by case basis i think. for e.g. if u try 36 and its oredi tight at the smallest hook, then get next size. but if its just right at the m edium hook, then quite safe to get this size. u know what i mean? for me, thats how i gauge lah, also not sure right a not. hehehe.

i also cannot perm my hair now coz preggie and bfdg for the next yr. so gotta reperm only after 1 yr. hehehe.

as for padded or non-padded, u referring to those with shape issit? those are considered padded right? i do agree those are more shapely and makes u feel better. but i do have such a nursing bra thats padded and got shape. when i experiment with the drop cups, i find that the drop cups dun stay in position well, it keep wanting to bounce up coz of the inherent shape of the bra. so i find its not very conducive for breastfeeding loh. so i bought more unpadded ones. i also intend to buy mothercare bras though they are exp, coz i heard they are 100% cotton and super comfy.

peachie, we have also more or less decided on cordlife.....but i din know about the 1st yr fee waiver though. will be calling them to arrange for signing.

but i intend to cut my hair again soon though. its getting so heavy. cannot imagine how it will be during confinement.

Good morning girls,
Yesterday I went to Metro CP and bought Eternity nursing bra going at 9.90 each. Sale is over and no more discount but I figured, CP is so near my home I can save on fares and ERP charges so it's like buying OG's 7.90 bras lor. hehe. It's a drop cup type, not wired and not padded. Bought a 38B b'cos it's still big and I'm sure can ammodate the breast pads.

Wah now my lower back acheing leh. A bit like menstrual cramp. Anybody else experiencing the same?

473734.png

Any idea where I can check out the auspicious dates in Sept for delivery?

Will be gg for Ceasarean, so thought of checking the Net for good dates. I only see sites for wedding date selection, nothing on delivery. What's "delivery" in Mandarin when I look up the Net?

Need to book my gynae's slot by this weekend....

hi daisybutton, any idea how much is mothercare bras? trying to compare w marks n spencer ones. i think i'll only get the bras next mth or early sep.

edksd, the last time i checked out mothercare bras, think they are going between 40+ to 90. But they are having sale at the moment. About 20% discount.

Me too, will most probably get next month or so...just in case i put on more weight and the underbust needs to change to the next larger size :p

HI, morning everyone
kao_smile2.gif

I haven't come here for a looong time... was organising a BP, so was busy checking the thread, my email, sms-ing pple and coordinating everyting... it's over, phew!

How's everyone doing? Good I hope
BTW, can anyone remember when's the Taka Baby Fair? They're having a toy fair now.

Have you all packed ur hospital bag? I'm now 34 wks and my hb said better pack now! ARGH! So fast!

hi bena, does the 20% discount applicable to nursing bra?

hi joon, taka bb fair starts from 3 or 5 aug until 20+ aug.

the toys seem like more suitable for troddlers rather than bb.

im only in wk31, so not packing so soon. probably do it in wk34. but ive got most of the items bought and standby already.

Oh, okay! I'm going to call Mickey soon. Right now we have 6 pumps. You want urs on 1 Sept right? Did I tell you I tried to bargain him down $5? WAH! It was like talking to a wall man... even 5 bucks also cannot! pek chek...

Thanx edksd
Thinkg of buying stuff for the hospital bag during the fair!! Any idea what we need? (for mother and bb)

hi melissa, when u say 7th mth, which wk is it actually?

i started to feel tummy getting bigger and heavier ard wk29-30. now im in wk31.

belly button has not evened out yet, but i think may soon going to be in a wk's time or 2.

my waist line has increased abt 2 inch from pre-pregnancy. but somehow it feels like it has increased more than tt.

anyone of u bringing essential oil along for labour?

ive just bought neroli essential oil. nice smell. hope it'll create a better ambience in the delivery suite :p

edksd, i not too sure if it is applicable to all the bras there, but i did saw 1 that has a discounted price tagged on it.

joon, i am in wk32. Haven not packed my bag yet also...probably will wait till 34wk or so. I very slow one lah...till now, still have not settled the bb cot/stroller, car seat..ha! In fact, i still don have the feeling that i am due in less than 2 months! Heheh.
Really gotto buck up liao!

hi joon, yeah u told me, i think it's ok, just $5. yes, mine is 1 sep.

i think most of the things to be packed in hosp bag are mostly for mothers rather than bb. so what do u intend to get from the bb fair?

edksd, I want to bring an aromatherapy candle, hospitals can smell so sterile and medicine-like. I figure that will be easier than bringing my oil burner, tealights and oils! er... but will just put this in the ward, not in the delivery room... my hb surely forget and leave it behind!

About the belly button... mine has POPPED OUT! eeek... it looks like a nipple... was joking with my hb that I should buy those nipple stickers to press it down :p

I think I need to buy breast pads, bb's nail clippers and diapers at the BB fair. Some websites say we need pads. Do u think the normal whisper ones will work?? Or must I buy special ones?

hv u all ever get professional to come clean the bed mattress and sofa before?

i intend to get the service next mth or early sep. to clean away the unvisible dust on the mattress and sofa. afterall it has been 3 yrs since we moved in w the new furniture, never get them cleaned professionally before.

hi joon, i dun think u can light a candle in an air con room. hv u checked w ur hosp? btw which hosp u delivering at?

im at tmc. they said they've all the diffusier, so i just need to bring the essential oil will do.

diapers at the fair will it be cheaper than ntuc discount?

i bought the normal night pads. it's as good i believe. sofy has cotton type which is 38cm long.

oic...! I'll be at TMC too. Need to go for the hospital tour soon, hee hee... been putting it off for like forever. I'm not sure if it'll be cheaper? Just go and check I guess. I think it's a gd idea to clean the mattress and all that. But I've never done it... we're just TOOOO lazy

Hi morning!
Glad that the Taka BB fair is next week, meaning we can get our last minute stuff from there.

Btw, i am planning to get toys for bb. But i wonder what kind of toys r most appropriate for newborns?

Hi littlepony
long time no "see"...
I read that for the first few months (3 i think) bbs cannot see colour very well, so black and white toys, mobiles are the best.

can join in d chat. have been reading but busy wit work so didn't join in.mine edd is 22nd sept. gynae dr adrian, intend to give birth at tmc.

winnierabbit, if really intend to choose auspicious date better engage fengshui master to choose the date.

edksd, good idea to have essential oil, beside relaxing also smell nice nice. But better check with the saleperson which one r suitable.

joon, when is the the BB fair?

Hi Joon,
Ya! It's been a long time since we talked. Welcome back to the thread!! haaa!!

Oh.. really? So you recommend black and white toys? I was thinking should we get vibrant colors to stimulate their eyesight??? Or toys that make sound like rattles? I haven't got a single toy for my baby and i feel toys r very essential.. haa!

hi janice,

i found the info from this website http://www.naturalchildbirth.co.uk/aromatherapy.shtml

There follows a list of other useful oils that can be used in labour:

Geranium is great for the circulation and helps breathing

Jasmine is warm and fragrant and has anti-spasmodic and analgesic properties. It is also very beneficial in a compress on the lower abdomen to help expel the placenta

Lavender is antiseptic and excellent for aching backs and limbs. It is recommended in a bath during the early stages and is wonderful for the healing of vaginal tears or episiotomy scars

Neroli helps combat any fear or apprehension

Rose is a very feminine oil and is a uterine tonic which helps to regulate labour

Ylang Ylang is very calming and helps lower the blood pressure

actually i was thinking of either rose, jasmine or geranium, but in the end i chose neroli instead coz of the smell. i think most importantly is we must like and enjoy the smell more than the function itself.

hi! Taka Toy Fair is until 6 Aug, so I guess BB Fair will start after that rather than next wk?

http://www.takashimaya-sin.com/index-sg.html
(scroll to bottom of pg)

I was at the toy fair last weekend.. super crowded but queue to pay was surprisingly fast cos there were at least 8 counters. Bought toys for my nieces/nephews in advance as birthday/Christmas gifts. Quite gd bargains there. Got branded toys like Fisher's Price and Disney. Ya, probably not for NB but can buy 1st and keep for when bb's older mah.

went for my chkup yest afternoon. BB is now 1.9kg at 34 weeks. Hmm she's not considered BIG but gynae says she is growing well. So I guess my dream of natural birth can be materialized v soon ! She is still in the same position, with head down.

I asked gynae abt the Grp Strep Test. He said we shld do it if there is itch , soreness or the discharge is constantly yellow. Mine is always yellow. So he will do it for me on my next visit at 36 weeks.

Oh the nursing bras I bgt are non padded and non wired. I think it is more comfortable to wear non padded during confinement cos we will feel hot all the time right ? with padded bras, i feel v hot leh ... anyway we are at home .. no one see us except hubby and confinement helper ....

for those who has special arrangements during delivery, you need to inform you gynae early as they will convey to the hospital to cater to your needs.

bb can only see white, black and red for the 1st few mths so aim for toys with such colors.

473805.png

hi little pony,

u can refer to tiny love website for reference http://www.tinylove.com/toy_box.aspx

they tell u at which mth, bb is suitable for which kind of toys. and what toys can last bb up till which mth.

so far ive only bought tiny love toys.
- double sided first book
- total playground gym mat

will be getting the symphony-in-motion musical mobile.

besides these ive got the slumber bear and a small wrist rattle. tts all for now. can last bb till 6mths at least. after tt then get 1 or 2 other toys. dun want my hse to become a toy store.

ilovebabies,
i had the weirdest dream last night (guess i always talking about my dreams here! sorry, i am a dreamer)... i dreamt of a lady at the hospital and when i chit chat to her... she say ' i am ilovebabies' and i say 'hey, i am littlepony' ..then we started chitchatting.

Well, this 'ilovebabies' in my dream say ' i am delivering soon. Just waiting for my gynae!'

So i said ' Hey, good luck to you! I still have a long way!'

Oh gosh! Think that the weirdest dream ever coz, hey.. i never met you before! haaaa!!!

Joon, yah lor...gotto buck up and start doing some last min shopping liao. For me, my mom bought a pack of maternity pads for me..but i still considering using my own normal night pads...but those are the super slim kind...so dunno if it works the same as maternity pads.

Any idea what's so special abt maternity pads?

Hi little pony, mine is a girl girl. mine first so getting more exciting as the time drawn nearer esp. when reading the aug mummy thread when quite a number of them pop early. Never thot could pop so early so beside bb clothes everything else haven't prepare... so this few week will be shopping time

Hi Janice,
Well, enjoy yourself in shopping for baby's stuff! it's really fun and i bet you wil enjoy it!

Ya, was reading Aug thread and well, some of them really popping early.. Now, i am guessing who on our thread will pop the 1st!!! haaa!!!

Edksd,
Hey! thanks for that website! Going to surf (slacking at work, boss not in!) and check out the stuff!

Oh.. i tot of rattle and book.. but haven't really seen others i like. I am still searching!

Wah... suddenly it was like "BAM!" and all the posts came flooding in!!

Bena, I don't know abt maternity pads. I want to wear the ultra-slim ones... I have a horrible feeling the maternity pads are thick and uncomfortable... eee, like wearing a phone book. :p

Welcome Janice
Congrats on ur little girl! Really? Have the August mums been popping early?? Oh no... maybe mine'll be an Aug bb... I better pack my hospital bag and start washing all the bb clothes, bedsheets, etc...

Thanks for the info on the BB fair puppylove

Yup, littlepony, I read for the first few months or so, black & white toys are best... that's why some places sell black & white mobiles to hang over the crib. I might check Taka and see if they have a nice one on sale now

Sekali I pop first... my EDD is 4 Sept! Will keep u all updated... I know someone's EDD is 2 Sept, 2 days b4 me... forgot who! ilovebabies, is it u?

I had my 34-wk checkup this wk too... after my next check-up @ wk 36, doc says she will see me once a week - wk 37, 38, 39, 40... POP! Aiyoh, not much time left...