(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

do u all ever feel bb's movement is like trembling inside?

sometimes i felt trembling in my tummy. it's bb's movement. duno why he trembles.

hv u all decided whether to bank privately or donate the cord blood to public bank?

now i cant donate to public bank coz myself and hubby are thalassemia minor. so out of their criteria.

ive another question to ask. when u all buy nursing bra, does the tag states 'nursing bra'? or is it just a normal bra?

edksd, the cupcakes really looks yummy!
kao_drool.gif

Initially I also thought there's no need to supplement with FM because I did read somewhere that it is ok for the first few days to have only a little bit of colostrum for the baby. But I was told that the hospital will still ask if you want to supplement with FM to feed to your baby if they think baby is not getting enough milk? So apprehensive because really don't know what to expect.

Angeline, thanx for sharing your timetable. Very comprehensive. I always thought that newborns have their own routines but I guess you are right. It is best to settle them on a routine from young. Then easier to take care of

Hi edksd,

I hope that my milk supply is sufficient. Will definitely try my best not to supplement. But quite a few of my friends really do not have sufficient supply (esp in the 1st week or so), and the baby cried after every feed cos he/she is still hungry. So one of the poor husbands drove all around Singapore looking for Similac at 3am, and he finally found something at Mustafa. Since mine is most likely lactose intolerant (since it is genetically linked), I think the situation will be worse.... I don't think my husband can find any Isomil at 3am even if he tried driving around. So that's why I thought it is good to get one tin at home just in case.

I am seriously considering banking the cord blood with Cordlife. Will be meeting up with one of their sales representative this coming Sat to discuss and to tour their medical facility at Camden Medical Centre. I nearly signed up with Stemcord at their roadshow at Suntec last Saturday.... I went down to Suntec, took a queue number and waited for my turn.... That was when I was put off by their sales reps... They know next to nothing about their product and they are simply eager to make a sale and earn that commission. I made a call to Cordlife, called some friends to find out the difference between the 2 companies, and left the roadshow without signing up.

Basically, Stemcord came up with a pretty attractive offer at the Suntec roadshow. $450 for the initial professional fee and storage fee and registration fee, instead of the usual $1k. It also waived off the 1st year storage charges of $250. If you are a DBS Women's card holder, it will be $400 instead of $450. For subsequent years' of storage, they will also give you a discount of 10% off the annual storage fee of $250, if you have the DBS Women's card. Basically, it is much cheaper than Cordlife. However, it is stated in their contract that they reserve the right to increase the annual storage fee by not more than 10% every 5 years.

Cordlife is currently also having their own promotion, which is up to August. They will waive off the $400 professional fee. So they will charge $1K instead of $1.4K for the registration and initial extraction fee. They will also waive off the 1st year storage fee of $250.

From year 2 onwards till the child's 21st birthday, Cordlife promises no storage fee adjustment. The annual storage fee shall be pegged at $250 a year.

The main reason as to why I choose to bank with Cordlife is that they are accredited, unlike Stemcord. They also use a different method of storage of the cordblood, using 2 storage bags (which is the gold standard for cordblood storage recommended by US Cordblood Institute) rather than 4 vials (as used by Stemcord). The extraction is direct to the storage bags, hence there is minimal risk of contamination (which will render the cordblood useless for storage). How Stemcord does it instead is that they will extract using syringes, and then transfer to the 4 vials for storage. This process leads to a much higher risk of contamination, though it is much cheaper.

Given the difference, I thought the incremental $550 is not very significant... However, I do have friends who bank with Stemcord and they have no complaints. I think at the end of the day it is an individual assessment on how much to spend and whether it is worth it in the first place.

Oh yes, one last thing... if any one of you is interested in cord blood banking, got to sign up with the 2 private companies BY the 36th week of your pregnancy. Basically the company will have to liase with your gynea and your hospital to be on standby, and send the requisite equipment and storage materials down to your gynea. So for most of us in our 30 plus weeks, time is kinda running out.

for those of u buying FM as backup, my colleague advised to get a small tin as the expiry date is quite soon (think itz 4wks). If u get big tin and cannot finish, quite wasteful loh.

I intend to try cup feeding as well, i.e. for feeds when I'm too tired to let bb latch on, I'll hv someone help to cup feed EBM. Trying not to introduce bottle so early, at least during the 1st mth, to avoid nipple confusion. Following the eg. of a colleague who did this successfully.

edksd, littlepony,
i feel bb's trembles sometimes too! Can c my tummy shake. Maybe bb got jolted awake from a dream??
Think shld be quite normal.

edksd, littlepony, puppylove,
Yeah my baby trembles too sometimes! Sometimes can feel very fast movement. Like a few movements in a split second! What was that??!! But it's quite relieving to find that I'm alone!

I was in a different forum for september mommies and one of the girls there have already given birth. Making her the first to give birth for a september mommy. She went into labor at 31 weeks. Her baby is alright alive and perfect but will be put in the NICU for a few weeks. Touch wood! I hope I don't go into premature labor. Baby staying for a few weeks in Gleneagles sure rake up $$$$ in hospital bills!!! EEEEKS the horror of medical expenses in Singapore!!! Wonder how much Medisave can cover up. I don't think we can claim from any insurance company right? I only have Aviva 3-in-1 medical insurance liao.

My goodness!!! That is really early! Did she do anything (such as fell down) such that she went into premature labour? Are there any early warning or tell-tale signs? Quite scary leh.... How is the baby doing? Can breathe on his/her own already? Did she mention how many days in ICU is required? Sorry for asking so many questions....

melissa

i think most medical insurance dont cover fertility or pregnancy related. you may want to check with them again.

ya it is scary to know that your bb is NICU .... hope the bb lungs are maturing ...

peachie,
Yes I have the same questions myself but she's tired and worried about the baby so that's all that we have at the moment. I will keep you guys updated if there's more coming from her. She used to have triplets, but lost one at 14 weeks and another at 24 weeks. Apparently she carried the last one up to 31 weeks. Better one than never.

yell0wp0wer,
Which part of no sex should be avoided? I heard husbands shouldn't ejaculate inside b'cos the sperm can induce contraction or was it your own orgasm that causes contraction or was it both? It has been debated for quite sometime already. I'd like to know which part just in case I'm overdue! Kekeke..

Hi Melissa and Yellowpower,

Thanks for sharing. Really feel very sorry for the poor mom.... Imagine the joy and anticipation of having triplets, and then losing 2 along the way. I would have been devastated. It must have been a very difficult pregnancy for her. But at least she still has one. It must be a great consolation to her.

The thing about private hospitals is that one better pray that the baby comes out healthy and normal. My friend had a complicated delivery at Mt E in March this year and the baby stayed at NICU for one day. The whole bill came up to $8K plus. So can imagine the poor mom's bill size.

Yellowpower, you have a good rest yah? Thanks for sharing on all the things to avoid to prevent pre-term labour. I think bedrest helps. Just need to endure for another 3 more weeks and the baby will be ready for delivery!
I am counting down everyday too liao. Feeling excited and nervous at the same time.

edksd, i not too sure if they state clearly, but i always tot nursing bras are those with the special hooks/zippers to easily release the breast for feeding?

Melissa, in fact, i understand from my gynae that those with low placenta should also avoid sexual activites, to avoid tearing of the placenta which can cause internal bleeding without knowing. I also heard/read from websites that sexual activities should be avoided during the 3rd tri to avoid early labour. I think it's the orgasm that may cause the contractions.

Hi Melissa,

I think orgasm is part of the no-sex, as well as nipple stimulation. Not very sure about the ejaculate. Basically a hormone called oxytoxin is released during the orgasm or extensive nipple stimulation, so this hormone might trigger the body into early labour. This is what I remembered during the antenatal class at KKH.

hi yellowpower,

no massaging of tummy? do u know whether those pre natal massage will they massage the tummy or not?

hot bath oso cannot? alamak.

peachie,
My friend lost a lot of blood during her delivery (2nd child) and it cost her 20K liao! It doesn't only took a toil on her finance, even affected her marriage, poor thing.
She delivered in GlenE. Let's all pray for safe, complication-free delivery!!! Thanks for relating the orgasm issue from your antenatal class!

Bena thanks. Think it does make sense!

edksd,
Yes prenatal massage involves massaging the tummy as well. But it's more to correcting the baby's position in the womb so she won't be so low, which triggers premature labor. So I don't know.. seems contradicting.

473010.png

Heehee.. I am a bit late in the discussion again.. About the trembling, I felt that before too.. My hubby said baby's feeling cold? I said can't be coz my body heat should warm her up.. Then our conclusion is baby just pee inside (u know how sometimes we pee, we lose body heat and we will shiver a bit?). Hahaha.. I guess baby also just pee, so she shivers inside for a short while. Hahaha...

Regarding massage, the antenatal class I attended said never rub your tummy in a round motion.. Always stroke up.. rubbing it round and round your tummy will induce labour.. hope this helps!

Smiley, really ar? Cannot rub tummy in round motion...ah yo...whenever i put moisturizer, i will rub round and round...hahah! Think i'd better stop and change to rubbing upwards. Thanks for the info!

oh wah... Cannot massage tummy ah? I'm massaging my tummy a lot now because baby also "trembles" or do "rock-and-roll" inside.

heheh...dumpty, my girl also does disco...sometimes i just wonder what she's doing...my tummy will simply vibrate :p

Melissa,

Totally agree. Hope all of us have a safe delivery for mother and baby.

Smiley,

The trembling tummy could be baby having hiccups. Read somewhere that this is pretty common, when the baby practices breathing in the womb. My baby hiccups every few days and each time it lasted about 5 mins.

bena, so if i intend to just be top naked when breastfeeding at home, so i dun nd to specially get any nursing bra right? can just wear the usual bra tt i already hv?

sometimes i tend to rub the tummy in round motion too. tts when i felt bb's hands or legs tucking there making me uncomfortable at certain angle, i'll slowly rub it away.

melissa, since our edd is only 1 day apart, can i ask u whether do u find ur tummy suddenly growing much bigger and a lot faster for this wk?

it's the case for me. suddenly tummy getting v big and i think one wk more the belly button will be totally flat liao.

edksd, i am not too sure about that...but i tot when breastfeeding, best is to wear bras without under-wire...so that it will not affect the supply. Maybe u can try asking the maternity shops?

I will also rub my tummy when the bb kicks...cos sometimes it's at really weird positions...especially those kicks that jabs right into the ribs...that is so uncomfortable!

i read and find out from a lot but they say whether wired or non wired is ok as long as the bra is not ill fitting.

ive the habit of not wearing bra at home. i wonder is it ok not to wear bra for 1 mth during confinement period.

of course i'll continue to do the chest exercise to make sure the breasts dun sag.

yah.. peachie.. I feel the baby hiccups as well. The trembles feeling are different from the hiccups feeling.. For her hiccups (or even baby learning how to breathe), it's a pulsating beat.. but for the trembles, it last only for 1-2 secs and then over, and you can actually feel the shiver. :p

As for rubbing of tummy, I still rub her when I feel her movements.. But I stroke it upwards. I used to apply stretch mark cream and apply in round motion as well, until I attended the class. The nurse said there was a video she watched before where a massage lady massaged for a pregnant woman and rubbed her tummy round and round, and the doctors and her were shocked to see the video as they know that would induce labour.. So now I don't dare to play play.. just stroke upward lightly

My baby doesn't really kick, but moves a lot.. and her movements are quite strong. Sometimes in meetings, I can feel her big movements and I know my expression changed a bit. Hope no one noticed! Haha...

Hmmm...learn something new today. Didn't know that we can't rub our tummy in round motion~ Have been doing tat for the past few mths.

Btw, has any mummies' appt been shorten? As in fortnightly or weekly?? I'm due for med appt nx week...after a mth of long wait. Looking forward to checkout BB's condition. =)

I feel baby hiccups as well. But my baby's hiccups last very long.. about 10mins or so. So poor thing isn't it? I mean, i get frustrated if i hiccup for so long.. just imagine little one gets hiccup for 10 mins.. haaa!

Ya, i do heard about rubbing tummy or nipple stimulation will induce labour. Anyway, i stop doing the rubbing... now, i just rub upwards.

I am planning to get a few more nursing bras. Sigh! dunno how many we need exactly?

Edskd, i am like you. don't have the habit of wearing bras at home. However, think once we delivered, we may have to wear.. or else, milk may leaked out leh ( that's why got nursing paddings as well mah)....

Chng's wife,
My appt has been shorten from 4 weeks to 2 weeks. I visited my gynae last Saturday and I am seeing him again the following Saturday.

473060.jpg

chng's wife, my visit to the gynae is not every fortnightly.

edksd, yah...i think need to wear bra cos milk might leak out. If you are not used to wearing at home, maybe u can get those non-wired? Not so uncomfortable.

hi Chng's wife

my last visit to my gynae was 32 weeks and I am going to see him later at 34 weeks. I guess my next visit will be on a weekly basis.

Littlepony

I bgt an extra of 3 nursing bras from Impression. Cheap and good quality leh .. i feel it is comparable to TRIUMP. They have wired and non wired bras, the sales gal also recommend non wired ones for nursing to prevent blocked ducts. Rem to buy a cup bigger to cater for engorgement and nursing pads.

Oh...seems tat many MTBs here have appt every 2 weeks le. So exciting~

When will we get e hospital admission letter? Any of u seeing Dr Adrain? And what's e normal BB's weight at week 32/33?

My husband will be goin overseas end Aug, so worried that I have to go labour ward alone
Have been talking to BB since last week, telling her to come out only in Sep! Hope it works~

my last visit was wk28, next visit will be wk31. guess following visit will b wk34, after tt shld be fornightly.

im thinking of getting marks and spencer bra. they oso hv a large variety. i totally forgot abt leaking. hmm... i hope i'll get used to wearing bra at hm. anyway i think not everybody leaks right?

edksd,
Consider our EDD same lah. 1 day where got much difference one.. haa! I had a growth spurt when I just turned 7 month, my waist increased 2 inches. Now like the same leh but I do look huge b'cos hubby say I look big now! My belly button did not pop but it has even out. I should be around 37.5" around the waist now. What's yours?

Smiley,
Alamak the palmer cream advised that we should massage the cream in circular motion so I have been rubbing it in circular motion for 2 months leh! So far no contraction liao or maybe I just don't feel it yet. My baby likes to move around when I'm on meetings and having lunch too! LOL. So cute hor! I get a bit distracted liao!

ilovebabies,
I'm comparing them to mermaids lor, they breathe in amniotic fluid and the hiccups are just one of the effects of breathings. Whenever I told my hubby the baby is having hiccups he became happy liao b'cos he knows that baby is learning to breathe.

littlepony, I just surfed the web for Impressions. They have stores at John little, Metro, OG, Seiyu, Dressing Room (Tangs) and Taka.

I tot usually nursing bras are non-padded? So have to put the nursing pads to prevent leaking.

Melissa, same here. I also followed the Palmer's cream instruction and rub in circular motion.. Never mind lah.. so far we are ok mah, so from now on, just stroke gently up. The nurse also said sometimes if the baby's position is not right, experienced gynae will rub the tummy in such a way to shift baby's position for natural birth..

Bena, I think 2 weeks very fast leh.. That's why feel a bit paiseh to apply for off so frequently now... last time feels very very long coz cannot really feel baby kicking and can only wait for the checkup to stare at the screen to look out for baby's heart beat. Now if baby is moving everyday, I feel quite safe actually