(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

medela purelan nipple cream is recommended by my antenatal class. it's safe dun even need to wipe off before breastfeed. i think it's made of vegetable oil or something like tt, so it's safe. the instruction on the cream did mention apply the breast milk to moisturise and then apply the nipple cream.

Bena,
I am those whose gynae don't mention about the weight of the baby leh. And as long gynae say baby is okie, then i won't ask further more.

I haven't been putting alot of weight. From my previous checkup of 64kg, i put on only 0.4kg since my Sat's checkup.. and gynae still say okie.. so i didn't ask too much alreadi.

littlepony, oic. So good...u only put on 0.4kg since prev check. Reckon if gynae says is ok, then should be no worries.

bena, i bought a combined shampoo and bath, 2 in 1 so no need to separate. Not sure if can use the bath liquid for hair also..

Bena,
yap.. since gynae never say anything.. means okie .. then shouldn't be too much of concern... haa!

Oh.. no leh. i am going for two in one (shampoo and bath) together... don't think it's necessary to separate.. since baby hair so soft...

I just spent the whole of Sunday afternoon catching up on all the postings here since Jun and in 1 morning so much has been discussed.

I read in 'Asian Parenting Today' that the skin of a newborn is very tender and may not be necessary to use soap, just plain water will do.

I did not attend any parent craft class, but are they teaching differently? Is it really OK to use soap on new born?

hi gals! Wah... too many posts for me to catch up on! Will only comment on one thing - bb bath. I intend to get Lactacyd too, as tatz what my antenatal instructor used for the bathing demo in class.

Hv an unrelated question.. hope u gals dun mind! haha... I'm looking for some nice snacks/pastries tat i can treat my colleagues to. Do u hv any suggestions? There's this Swiss Roll that I've heard is quite nice, but can't rem where it's from. Think itz Polar Cakes. Any idea? Sorry for this unrelated question, but i know u gals r a wonderful resource!!

hi girls,
yesterday i had such a bad dream. i dreamt that i am driving my hubby's car but the brake don't work well. worst still, i'm driving my late grandmother back home. except i don't know where home is b'cos we got lost! i woke up late!! means i go to work also late!

i use olive oil to rub all over my boobs including nipples. b'cos olive oil is edible. so far it doesn't induce contractions leh?

Bena,
i'm going to separate shampoo and bath for baby. but if i got the J&J top to toe for free then i'll use it lor.

Cherrie,
thanks for article. i love reading articles about newborn

puppylove,
Yeah I love Polar Cakes! Especially the puffs! My favorite all time! And it's halal so you can treat your malay friends as well. Other than that, Delifrance but I think Delifrance is a bit more expensive than Polar Cakes.

hi girls,
yesterday i had such a bad dream. i dreamt that i am driving my hubby's car but the brake don't work well. worst still, i'm driving my late grandmother back home. except i don't know where home is b'cos we got lost! i woke up late!! means i go to work also late!

i use olive oil to rub all over my boobs including nipples. b'cos olive oil is edible. so far it doesn't induce contractions leh?

Bena,
i'm going to separate shampoo and bath for baby. but if i got the J&J top to toe for free then i'll use it lor.

Cherrie,
thanks for article. i love reading articles about newborn

puppylove,
Yeah I love Polar Cakes! Especially the puffs! My favorite all time! And it's halal so you can treat your malay friends as well. Other than that, Delifrance but I think Delifrance is a bit more expensive than Polar Cakes.

470622.png

was just reading about big babies..gasp!! i'm due on the 19th, same as peachie, but my little girl is only 1.4kg!the doc says she's quite petite and prob easier to deliver, but i'm worried she's not growing well. any ideas how to get her to grow more? i'm eating quite normally and have already put on 10 kg, so i guess 1.4 belongs to her and the rest me.

melissa

u must be v stressed to have nitemares ! relax lah !

Maeve

hey not to forget the weight of the placenta and amio fluid .. you have gained less that what u expected.

some ppl say eating durians can make bb grows bigger. not sure how true. think you dont think abt it too much else it will put you on unnecessary pressure leh ... then how you expect bb to grow right ? ;)

Puppylove,
yes.. swiss rolls from Polar damn good. haaa! my favourite leh!!! i usually have bout 2-3 pcs.

Maeve,
don't worry. let your gynae advise u. If gynae say baby small, then i do agree with ilovebabies, eatin durians can make bb bigger. But hoh, even if baby is small size.. once they are delivered, u feed them... you 'pump' them till fat fat!!

maeve,
don't worry about the weight. it's just an estimation. and different scanning machine will calculate differently! my friend was told that her baby will 2.8kg when she give birth. turns out her baby is 3.2kg liao!

ilovebabies,
i think maybe b'cos the day before i can't sleep very well, any positions also make my sleep uncomfortable. always must ask hubby to massage my back liao.

thanks ilovebabies...will try not to stress about it...can't do the durian thing. have never liked durians since young...thanks though! i feel better already!

anyone having difficulty sleeping already? my girl always decides to do kick-boxing at night and it lasts a coupla hours!

melissa, maeve

ya it's getting difficult to move abt on the bed .. recently I felt an ache in my hips area when I need to turn, i have to use the hip strength to turn and it hurts !

my calf muscles are aching now also .. everyday .. even w/o cramps ..

was reading Aug thread .. more gals have popped! aiyo when I read their labour stories, I feel so nervous cos I could be the earliest one here !!

i have been eating almond jelly very often these days leh.. can't control the crave for it.

Do you think it's fine to eat almond jelly often huh?

ilovebabies,
you need to get hubby to massage you lah! it could be water retention/pooling of blood. may help if you allevate your legs with a pillow at night. i find that works for me. i have pillow above, below, right, left, hubby left with 1/3 space on the bed!

Thanks for the advice! I think I will deliver by c-section to reduce the risks involved. It's no joke if the baby's head gets stuck in the birth canal.

Hi Maeve,

Don't worry about your baby. I think 1.4kg is in the average weight range. As long as she is active, I think it's fine.

I am getting Latacyd as well. It is non-rinse, so easier.

littlepony

i seldom take that now though i love almond jelly.
shld be ok bah ...

MIL is starting to make barley water for me next week ...

maeve

i do have one pillow between my legs .. but it doesnt help. got lah hubby got massage but still the same leh ..

melissa, littlepony,
thanks for info! i went to Polar website but dun c the swiss rolls leh... how much does one cost?
mayb i check out the store near my place at Hougang Mall tonite, but itz juz a counter, not a proper shop.

btw, these few days i seemed to hv ballooned... not really in terms of weight, but my face, arms, thighs, etc r so fat! dunno if itz water retention leh... or plain fat... *sigh* And colleagues used to say i small (as in tummy v compact), but lately they start saying "very big already hor??" It could b all the sweet stuff i've been taking... fruit juice, ice cream, desserts... think i'd better control myself!

puppylove

Compass Pt got Polar shop. you can go take a look.

ya we tend to balloon in 3rd tri .. so far ppl commented my tummy big ..heng not on my overall physique

helo helo ladies. oh who's asking about cot sets? i mentioned here before hor, mothercare cot sets are for european std mattress size, 24 x 48 inches. most of our mattress are 28x52 so pls check out ur mattress before buying mothercare ones okie? i know their prints super cute, i love their winnie and baby jungle, but size dun fit, so i buy their other mothercare things loh.

for me, i have 2 cot sets from aussino, 1 free one with my baby cot. partly coz will use it for the cot at my mum's plc too. i like to have a few sets ready coz i will change the cot bumper when it gets dirty or dusty mah. and it comes with small bolsters/pillows which i can rotate. though i dun need to comforter now but next time can use when baby grows bigger. i also got 2 more fitted cot sheets from lollipop to rotate when i washing the other cot sheets.

puppylove, when u say u keep hearing swiss rolls, are u talking about the bulk purchase going on in the forum? if so, then the supplier is Amosco. not pola. but hor, i must tell u, the swiss rolls, though yummy, is beri small leh. its mini swiss rolls. and amosco is not a bakery, they are a frozen food specialist. if i am not wrong, their swiss rolls take aeroplane from netherlands one hehee.

about baby bath, i am intending to use latacyd. edksd, i think in the parentcraft classes, mrs wong mentioned few drops will do, so i think i till put in about 3-4? for J&J, dun intend to use it for newborn, coz i heard its not very good leh. someone even told me it contains a substance that is not approved for NB use, not sure how true.

littlepony, i also crave for almond longan recently leH! i also wonder is it okie leh. coz i know soya beancurd not okie coz it contains something. then if almond jelly also same jelly jelly shape mah, does it contain the same harmful substance? anyway, i tell myself just moderate loh...

about shaving hair, i also wonder leh. why must shave huh? is it a myth or got basis one? i quite curious also....

thanks for the reply on diaper rash. seems like most are saying desitin not suitable for everyday use. even watie and forgetmenot. actually i just wonder loh, even for the creamy desitin? coz i read some babies do get nappy rash and only then will use something stronger like desitin. but if use desitin more often in the beginning, wun it prevent nappy rash? jasmine, so u will be using drapolene for every day use? or the mustela vitamin E barrier cream?

daisybuttons,
ya hoh.. thanks for bringing up that soya beancurb not okie... i know we can't take beancurb very often.. and tat also means almond jelly may contain the same harmful substance hoh.. thanks for linking these two together.
Ya, i better go moderate too!!! thank u hoh!

ilovebabies,
thanks! may check out Compass Pt instead then.

daisybuttons,
no, i'm not referring to the swiss rolls BP in this forum. I'm looking at the Polar one.
Wah, fly in fr Netherlands one ah!!

u all bought the standard size bb cot?

mine is the bigger euro size.

anybody gynae's appt is next wk? mine is next tue. i'll be wk31 day4 by then. v eager to know bb's weight. hope it's within gynae's normal range.

lately i can feel the stomach getting bigger liao. and bb squirming inside like not much space. but so far my weight gain remains 2kg. heard tt we may balloon up during the last trimester.

my appt is this coming thurs .. my last visit was 2 wks ago.. think my next visit would be one week later at week 35.

v eager to know bb growth as well.

tt time we were doing thalassemia blood test at tmc. my hubby was suspected to hv thalassemia trait so he was asked to do another round of test. whereas my result was ok - negative.

after the 2nd round, it's confirmed he's thalassemia minor carrier. so gynae suggested tt we go kkh thalassemia centre to do another test for me coz the first round of blood test we did is basic type, not so detailed. and this time, at kkh, im oso found to be thalassemia minor carrier. hmm... so strange.

my hubby and i dun bother liao. anyway, so what if we're both minor carrier, cant be not giving birth just becos of the 25% chance tt our child may be a major carrier.

what i dun understand is why im oso a carrier. i tot the initial basic test, i passed. i wonder if both my hubby and i passed the initial test, the gynae definitely wont ask us to go kkh for the 2nd round detailed test and we'll never know tt we're carrier.

i've a friend who oso went to do the test at kkh w her hubby. both oso tested as minor carrier too.

has anybody here done the test at kkh?

and the thing is they told me to ask my parents to go down to do the test too to confirm. alamak. why. if im a carrier then im. so why do i need to drag my whole family down to test. does it means if my parents tested negative, then my results may be flawed or if my parents tested positive, then my result is then confirmed? hmmm...

edksd

I am puzzled by the way they handle this also.
how does your parents results affect you guys anyway ? if and a person is a carrier how come the basic test shows negative ? so if most of the couples only did the basic test, does that means the results are not conclusive ?

did u seek another opinion ?

during my next gynae visit i'll ask my gynae abt this.

thalassemia is hereditary, so maybe my parents result will double confirm their finding? i oso duno.

i duno who else to seek 2nd opinion??? thalassemia centre shld be the highest authority liao right? anyway....

amylim, ilovebabies, littlepony, bena, dumpty, smiley... hv emailed u gals the Sept 06 MTB contact list.
Juz the 7 of us.

Anyone wants to be in the list juz PM me ur nick, real name (optional), HP and email. Thanks!

edksd, no lah, europe cot size is the smaller size (24x48). US std (28x52) is the bigger one. like i posted above. mothercare only carries bedsheets for europe size which is 24x48. UNLESS you buy their cot BEDs, which is bigger than the US size. but very few ppl buy cot beds. if u got ur cot from first few years, chances are yours is 28x52, which is what many of us have. australian std is another matter.

daisybuttons, how about normal jellies that the fruit stalls sell? Those fruit jellies. These days I have cravings for fruit jellies

I went for my checkup last week. At 30th week, my baby weighs almost 1.8kg. Gynae says baby is growing well and at right pace.. very happy
470750.png

hi daisybutton, i know my cot was bigger in size coz previously i was looking at a lucky baby one. it's the standard 28x52. when i decided on the firstfewyrs one, i looked at the measurement it's bigger than 28x52. i cant rem bigger by how much. will know when it's delivered this sat.

puppylove,
Thanks! Got your email. Saved the hp numbers on my handphone..so i could msg anyone of you to tell u when i pop!

This is the first time my handphone has nicknames saved in it..it's so funny!

Hi all...for those who take NEL MRT home, service stop for HarbourFront, Outram Park, Chinatown and Clarke Quay stations due to loss of traction power. Normal train operations are still running between Dhoby Ghaut and Punggol stations, while alternative bus services from the affected stations have been activated

oh cherrie, thks for the udpate! wah this forum machiam real live news site man! hee hee

beancurd cannot eat meh? but soya bean is ok rite? cos i've been drinking soya bean almost every morning leh. how ah? is it ok?

as for bathing soln, i got both J&J head to toe as well as sebamed baby bubble bath.

i didnt buy another cot sheets cos my MIL was nice enough to sew them for us
we got 2 sets now plus she made 2 beansprout pillows too! so all set liao. we got hand me downs fr my bro for the cot bumpers so oso didnt need to buy. can save quite a lot this way cos the cot sheets aer really quite expensive...

peachie, your bb really is quite big! i'll be goin for my check up this wed - cant wait to see how much bb has grown!