(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

poor elaine ... did you notice the food you take before you vomit ? then try to avoid the food in future ?

dun take oily stuff also ..

I attended a free trial yoga lesson at TRUE YOGA. that particular sessin includes kick boxing and I was sweating like hell even before we starts the yoga exercises... so I believe it does help in slimming ... but TRUE YOGA is a bit ex leh ..

elaine, sory to hear about your difficult pregnancy. but you're almost at the finishing line oredi so look fwd to seeing your bb face to face and it will cheer you up!

anyway its true tat each pregnancy is different, so dont let this stop you fr having a 2nd one ;) for me, this one quite smooth, but its hard to say whether the next will be just as heavenly!

har? yoga classes also includes kick boxing? Din know that leh...good good...can sweat out and burn all the FATS!

Heehee... glad to have so many supporters and friends on the same boat.. hug you all.. We WILL aim lose the excess weight, NOT our figures right?!! Hahaha!! JIA YOU!

Elaine, when the baby is born, you will think everything is worth it..
In fact, my friends who experience severe MS like you told me they will forget about the painful experience of the bad MS after delivery. Well, and then only when they are pregnant the 2nd time and experience another time the bad MS, then they will start thinking "Alamak, why am I going through all these again???" Heehee...

bena

yes you can choose the class you want based on the schedule .. not all classes includes kick boxing .. but it is real tiring man ...

i want to go for such classes but with a kid, do you think got time ? maybe I just go jogging or swimming with hubby on weekends then leave my gal with MIL

Yeahlor... next time, whatever things we want to do or go, we gotta think of where to put our kid first.... so better enjoy our last few weeks of freedom whereby we can still carry our babies around everywhere we go....

ilovebabies, u taking care of ur bb urself? For me, i most likely a weekend mom, but will go back to my mom's place daily to see see my girl. See if i can tahan 1-2 days don see her, then can sneak to classes (think very difficult to achieve that :p) else will just stick to gym and swimming in the weekends.

It's really very different with and without a kid hor...now whatever plans we have, gotto think of the kid first

Bena

my mum is taking care of her .. but I intend to bring her home every nite .. think I'll miss her if I dun. and I dont want to tire my mum lah .. she also taking care of my niece and nephew ...

but MIL has offered her help in case I need to go out and she can take care of my gal ...

bena, tot this is not your 1st child ? or i get it wrong ?

467609.png

dunno why today.. but i really feel eager to see my little baby. haa! as the days get nearer, the mother's instinct in me gets stronger....

I am like Bena.. planning to be a weekend mother.. but will go back and see my boy daily unless i have to travel for work .. but really hope i could manage the time well to do some classes like kickboxing or yoga.. but hoh, it's very difficult since we have kids now....

ilovebabies, i actually thinking of bringing my gal home every night as well. But don't think i can handle that...so i have engaged a maid to help my mom with the rest of the household chores...so she won be so tired.

That's very nice of ur MIL to help out whenever u need the night out.

Heheh...this is my 1st and also 1st for both my side and my hubby side :p

oh bena !! ahah so I got the wrong mother ah !

my gal is not the 1st grandchild for both sides .. actually I prefer it this way else they sure too kan cheong which I dun like ...

ya my MIL is v nice ... she say she can help whenever I need her !

Littlepony

me too leh .. very eager .. the D Day is drawing near ...

yest i realised my bb dresser still smells... so I kept all the washed clothes and nappies into ZIPLOC bags ..

Littlepony

i have opened the drawers for weeks but still got smell ... angry ! haha

nvm lah i still open it now with the zip log bags inside ...

anyone experiencing water retention yet? My right feet started to swell quite badly yesterday... Propped my feet on a pillow last night when I slept and the swelling reduced quite a bit... Any other methods to prevent water retention from getting worse other this method? Both my MIL and mum said that water retention is one of the signs of early labour... not sure how true it is.

amy, i've not experienced water retention in my feet either. for me, its more in the hands cos my right hand has been stiff n numb for the last few mths. i think i recall reading somewhere that SUDDEN swelling is not exactly normal, so pls call your doc asap and check yah.

Amy,
i actually heard that if your feet started to swell, it does mean early labour leh. I remember you r delivering by end August, am i right???
They did mention that if feet start to swell and go and swell.. you r pretty much going in labour within two weeks. Not sure if this is true.
But best to check with gynae!

ilovebabies, i read that vinegar helps remove odour/smell, maybe you can try putting a small bowl of vinegar in the drawer and let us know if that works

amylim, my feet are slightly swollen also, and lifting up doesn't reduce swelling for me. As long as it's not serious i think should be ok. Here's a website on this topic http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/antenatalhealth/physicalhealth/swollenhandsandfeet/

I heard water retention is sign of early labour also. My colleague had swollen face the day before she goes into labour, it was 2 weeks early.

Cherrie

true ?? ok I'll try .. alternatively can use pandan leaves hor ? nvm I still got a few more weeks to go .. so hopefully the smell will go away

just now went to kkh visit my friend who just gave birth this early morning. her bb is a healthy boy weighing 3.26kg. she gave birth in her 38th wk. she oso had on and off leg swelling since 6th or 7th mth.

ilovebabies, michelle, litte pony & cherrie, thks for the advice... I've been experiencing tightness around the tummy area since lunch today... Think it's braxton hicks, but I'll be going to the labour ward at SGH to do CTG later just to be sure....

My feet started to swell since my 5th month and it's getting from bad to worse... .I tried to evaluate my leg as much as possible... and gynea told me not to walk too much.... but all doesn't seem to help much... I'm thinking of buying those support stockings to wear... anyone try b4?

hi amylim,
wat kind of tightness is tat? i always experience tightness on my upper rite tummy... my rite tummy will be bloated n become very tight... is this contraction??

elaine, i have the same tighteness ard my rite upper tummy too. But it's not very often...just once in a while or when i walked to much. I asked gynae before. he say it's normal...cos of the bb weight. Asked me to walk less and don walk so fast.

468295.jpg

Hello good morning girls!

Looks like most of you here are experiencing tightness. Maybe I'm still early b'cos I haven't reach the stage of discomfort yet. Only my nose is starting to swell and my tummy is getting a little itchy at times. But I refrained with all my might from scratching! I don't want to have stretchmark there! Eeeks!

Oh forgot to ask. Is it ok to drink cold water all the time? I just can't throw away that habit leh. The only time I have hot drink is every morning, my Milo. But after that, really can't refrain b'cos I feel so hot all the time.

468358.png

morning everyone!

me panic now, cos just found out 1 of my colleagues kena chicken pox! but i shd be ok cos i had it before rite??

melissa, think u shd get used to not drinking cold water liao cos during confinemt its an absolute no-no!!

Hi Melissa,

The itch is due to the stretching of ur tummy. My gynae told me to try putting some stretch mark creams or normal moisturizers.

As for me, i have not refrained from cold water. I drink as and when i feel like it

Melissa

I applied normal moisturisers twice a day and it works well .. no itchiness !

i drink hot/warm water during ofc hour as I boiled in my cubicle. but sometimes I do drink cold water when having meals outside .. cos it is too hot to consume hot milo.

But i usually dont add ice to the cold drink .. i just drink it from the can, so that it is not too cold.

hi Melissa,
during e antenatal class Mrs Wong did mention tat is alrite to drink cold water now but not after we give birth cos it will make our Breast milk cold too.... i'm a cold water lover too... every single drop of water must be super cold or super hot... i dont like normal temp. water. anyway i will "try" to kick my habit after i give birth n not now ....heehee...

Michelle, you should be ok since u had it before. Then again, i heard some ppl say that it depends on how much u had last time...if only very little, then may come abck again. I think best is to keep a distance from her. Maybe u can call up ur gynae and ask if there is any prevention?

I feel the braxton hicks below my belly button few times a day. Normally if i bend forward it will happen. My gynae said it's normal as long as not very painful and regular.

I have itchy tummy also, and i like to scratch (very lightly), it feels 'shiok' :p I apply stretch mark cream once a day after shower, so far no stretch mark
468413.gif

I was not allow to drink cold water since young so never have the habit or urge to drink. I guess cool water and not icy cold one should be fine...

Michelle, you should be ok since u had it before. Then again, i heard some ppl say that it depends on how much u had last time...if only very little, then may come abck again. I think best is to keep a distance from her. Maybe u can call up ur gynae and ask if there is any prevention?

ilovebabies & elaine, was experiencing tightness around the tummy area for 2 hours continuously after lunch yesterday...
Did the CTG last night... confirmed it is braxton hicks... The medical officer on duty also checked if the cervix is open... luckily it is not...

hey bena, thks for the reassurance
i'm seeing the gynae next wk so i'll just check wif him then

i hv been having some menstrual like cramps at the lower tummy area lately. anyone exprience that? it doesnt come with the BH contractions tho. just crampy feeling

amylim,
sounds like you're really close to labor hor. have you packed your hospital bag? full term is 37 weeks but i've heard of women giving birth at 35 weeks with no problems to the babies at all. how far along are you already?

michelle,
crampy feeling in early and mid trimester usually means that baby is growing and therefore the uterus had to stretch. maybe your baby is growing bigger again? hehehe. just a guess. I don't have it.

Bena,
I put on my palmer stretchmark cream since 5th month everyday after shower. Only once though but still quite itchy lah. Maybe i should put on twice. but so far so good, no stretchmarks! i'm trying to prove my gynae wrong during my 32wk checkup u see, she's waiting for my stretchmark to show up!! how wicked! LOL.

About cold drinks,
I'm glad i have several partner in crimes here! Makes me feel normal haha. But I'll try not to drink cold water during confinement lah. At least will let it cool to room temperature, then drink it. Will avoid ice. Never been fond of ice anyway.

have you ever have your tummy kicked so hard from the baby you just jumped? i just had that yesterday. i was lying on my left watching tv when my baby, who was awake and moving subtly suddenly give me a "flying kick" liao. i actually screamed b'cos it was so powerful and sudden liao. my hubby also panic and asked me what happened. then told him your daughter just kungfu-kicked me liao! but he laughed only.

I am also violated the 'No cold drinks' rule ample of times. Can't help! weather has been damn hot these days. I tried to stay out of cold drinks 1st 3 months.. but can't control not having cold drinks lately. Anyway, i'll try not to drink cold water during confinement too.

Bought Pigeon Baby Wipes at Robinson yesterday. Three packs going for $9.95. Tot quite reasonable. Heard Pigeon brand not bad.. so i went ahead to get it. I also checked out the pyjamas with buttons in front.. not much variety but bought only one which cost $20 plus (can't remember exact price)... and i bought disposable panties as well...

littpony, i tot they hv new packaging for pigeon wipes. i think it's 6x3 packets in 1 big cardboard box. that sells for slightly cheaper leh. so if u plant to get more, shd go for that cos more value for money

melissa, crampy feeling means bb growing again? but i didnt have that feelin in my 1st or 2nd tri leh. mebbe now bb growing at faster rate ah? hee hee. anyway will check wif my gynae next wk too.

i usually get startled by bb's hard kicks when i'm sleeping at nite cos i'm juz about to doze off then suddenly KICK!