(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

michelle

haah dun take any chance hor !!
probably MOM treat each case differently so we cant take it for granted that MOM is behind us ..

Thank you all...will try not to think too much about pains now

michelle, i would tender after ML so the boss have time to hire replacement.

of course tender after you come back from ML lah. and you can't serve your resignation during your ML, else you must pay back the company full month salary.

Daisybuttons, PM u already. i dunno that i can't accept PMs. Hehe. This forum is very strange. Quite ulu compared to other forums.

melissa, no lah i mean i will just tell him that i will be resigning after i come back from ML. of course i wont resign during ML itself. then at least he got more time to hire replacement rite?

Michelle,
tell your boss that you r resigning only after you come back from ML. Well, at least you get paid during these 3 months of maternity leave. If you tell your boss now, you get no pay for these 3 months. Perhaps after your ML, u feel that you wanna to work or continue working in your present job leh???

Dear MTBs,
Do you all feel a downward pressing pressure on your tummy and sometimes, your v area abit painful?? Just wondering becos i am experiencing it.. and i feel it's the weight of the baby pressing down. Anyone the same as me??

Littlepony, i have the downward pressing/pressure sometimes after i visited the loo. The lower tummy can be quite hard as well, but i got no v pain...and my gynae say this is normal, cos of the weight of the bb after the bladder is emptied. But since u are experiencing pain, i think u should call up ur gynae to check.

Oh izzit? that's sound scary. I only experience the slight pain when i am walking leh. Hmm, i go ask my gynae this weekend to see if it's normal.
It's not ultra painful lor.. but i could feel discomfort.. i tot it's becos of the baby's weight... anyway, better go ask. Txs!

467144.jpg

ilovebabies,
thanks! i will. Sigh! See, others have backache problems, sleepless nights and i have another set of problems.. just becos of our darling baby! haaa!

Yesterday, i dreamt of baby again. This time, i dreamt that i had a baby girl instead of a baby boy! I looked at my gynae and say ' how come girl...tot you tell me boy! how am i going to explain to my father in law! ' haaaaaaaaa! i woke up laughing at my own dream!

littlepony

u r thinking too much ! but hor I had the same kind of dream before .. why my bb turns out to be a boy !! then I super puzzled !

pregnant women are weird

Ilovebabies,

I tot i thinking alot but actually no leh.. but sometimes, dreams just happen isn't it? I always tell my colleagues ' i think i got nothing better else to do' ..haa!!!

How come cannot walk fast fast? During my last visit, my gynae told me to walk as a form of exercise for me to control my weight, and I specifically asked her "Can I walk fast fast?". She looked at me as if I had asked a very silly question and she smiled and said "Yes, but provided you watch your step and don't trip..". Heehee... my husband also said I asked silly question after that..

But hor, I asked that question because I have a habit of walking very fast, and sometimes, even now, I still "run" to catch the MRT or to hurry to somewhere.. My mum says I am pregnant, but I don't believe like a pregnant lady at all. Always ready to "fly" like what Little Pony said.. hahaha

Smiley, really pei fu man! u still can chase after mrt!
Maybe depends on individual? I used to see this ang mo pregnant lady brisk walking at botanic gardens and her tummy also quite big liao. Even my mom commented that she is very good...tummy so big, still can brisk walk.

littlepony,
yup i felt that. especially after sitting for too long but I'm not worried about it. i'm thinking the baby got comfy when I'm seated so it appears that her head is pressing on our cervix. just walk after a while the pain will go away by itself. unless she's permanently engaged but i don't reckon it'll happen until like after 35 weeks or so.

Smiley,
I can still run to catch the bus too hehehe. Bus more jialat ok, u missed once u must wait for another 15 mins but for MRT, only wait for 3-7 mins leh. What's wrong with you? LOL.

Hahaha.. Bena, in fact, I still climb up and down stools to do housework, I still lift heavy bamboo sticks to hang the laundry etc.. (except squatting down to handwash though).. :p Even my hubby says I am a very independent pregnant woman.. But my friend and my sister said I am very stubborn and should heed their advice to take care...

Have you all heard before that we are not supposed to lift our hands above the head? My sister said even Zoe said that before, and my sister said when she was pregnant previously and she lifted her hands above her heard in her 2/ 3rd trimester, she felt a sharp pain and she was so worried. So she is warning me now not to hang the laundry as I have to lift my hands up with a heavy load, but I am not really convinced leh.. So am I stubborn??

Smiley

i have heard of it but I dun believe in it lah .. no logic leh .. i still hang clothes like you do ... so how if we cant lift the hands abv our head ? i also do some simple exercise to tone my arms and I need to lift it up also !

Smiley, WAH! Really pei fu wu ti tou di.
My mom don allow me to carry heavy stuffs and it's strictly no no to laundry on bamboo...so i will just do those that can hang on hangers, those that is to be done on the bamboo, hubby will do it. I think it's better not to carry too heavy stuffs.

Personally, whenever i carry heavy bags and walk, i will feel discomfort. my lower tummy will start to feel very heavy and tight.

Smiley,
i also heard of it too but every morning, i do stretching by lifting my hands above my head.. i do that before preggy becos i have lazy bones.. so need to stretch.
I also hang clothes like you do... but always hubby will scold. I am not used to getting him to do tis and tat.. and in the end, i am like you.. ' independent preggy woman' .... so that's where the 'flying' comes about , i guess!

Melissa,
you feel the pressing and discomfort too? Ya.. i think if i sit too long and then stand up and start walking, there is discomfort lor..

From my last visit, gynae say my baby's head alreadi down.. but i won't consider engaged yet becos i agree, it won't be engaged till 35 weeks or so, isn't it.

Perhaps that's why i feel the downward pressure.

But anyway, like ilovebabies say.. if the pain persist then better call gynae. i see how it goes.

How many weeks are you now Bena? I am only at my 30th week going to 31st.. so maybe mine not too heavy and clumsy yet..

ilovebabies, I also try to tone my arms as and when.. I find that it is getting a bit flabby and I hate it.. haha.. I am a very "figure-conscious" mum.. :p So vain hor? haha... I wanted to do squatting exercises too, but my hubby warn me strictly CANNOT, so this one I listen, especially after reading in this forum, someone said this will cause dilation and early labour, so I don't dare to try.

Now my upper thighs are getting coarser and bigger and I find that I can't really stand or sit with my legs together coz the upper thigh will rub against each other.. hate the flabby feeling..

Smiley, i am 31wk today. Maybe cos i have put on a lot of weight that's why. hahah, all the flabby arms, BIG thighs that rub against each other, all i also have...heheh...

Smiley

which p women is not fat ? ahha same lah .. my arms are bigger and like what u described, my thighs are rubbing against each other .. really hate it .. gotta put powder in between.. ahah get what I mean ?

ilovebabies...me too. put powder whenever i wear skirt. Hate the feeling, but no choice leh. I quite worried how to shed those extras on the arms and thighs...the rest can exercise lah...but the thigh and arms is the hardest to tone leh...

actually quite worried cannot go back to pre-preg size leh...then all the working clothes cannot wear then how ar? wear what back to work after ML? buy a whole new wardrobe?

Hi five, bena and ilovebabies! So I am not the only one who hates the rubbing of the thighs together. Hahaha! In fact, I find that as my arms are flabbier now, I sweat more at the armpit area.. yucks.. I put powder at the armpit, but I have never thought of putting in between the thighs.. hahaha!!!

Haaa!! tell me about it, gals! You gals are seriously not alone! I feel my two thighs r joining to form one big one!!! And my arms are like butterfly (oh, so i know why i say i could 'fly'..coz i have 'wings')...haaa!!!

I am pulling out one of the tiniest top that i have fitted in before preggy and that's my aim after pregnancy! To fit in that top again!!!

Smiley

haha u can try it out .. it does feels better. it is ok in aircon room but at home when I feel so hot, i hate that feeling !!!

Bena

same lah.. some ppl say our hips will gets bigger after pregnancy, and not easy to get back the same hip size .. now scared lor .. wat if I cant wear my pants !!

yah lor...haiz...i have more pant suit as compared to skirt suit. if cannot wear back then really headache liao. My aunty last time after ML still wear her maternity clothes back to work...then some ppl who hardly see her still think she's preg :p

hee hee.. i can identify wif all of wat you said abt the swaeting and rubbing of thighs etc.. and i sweat so much more now cos of the extra weight that i start smelling bad too! at the end of a work day i cant even stand my own smell so the minute i get home have to go take a shower liao

you all still can run after bus/mrt ah? i cant cos feels like stomach wanna drop if i run leh! so i just wait for the next train :p

bena, i oso hv this phobia of not being able to lose all the weight after delivery cos i refuse to buy new clothes again! so we really must encourage each other after delivery to lose all that excess wt yah!

cannot lift hands above the head? wat's the rationale??

michelle

i also got the same feeling if i need to run .. so I dun really dare to .. rather wait right ? ehhe we P woman with fat rubbing thighs ...

Littlepony,
i do feel the downward pressure n v area a bit painful... more of an aching/burning sensation? I mentioned to gynae abt the pressure - he says itz normal cos bb is pushing in all directions including downwards.

As for the v area, i realise it's cos of infection. Gynae did a swab test and results came in positive for infection. So am now on antibiotics, and gynae prescribed a small egg-shaped medicine to insert in there to treat. U may want to check w ur gynae if it's indeed infection. Got to treat cos bb can be affected during delivery. Take care!

michelle, yes yes, we will encourage each other...must start drawing up an exercise regime!
You don have to worry so much. U haven't put on as much as i have...so should be quite ok for u to loose those...

Anyone got any suggestion on the fastest way to shed those extras?

hi edksd,
this is my 1st baby la.... i have been vomiting since wk 6 of preg till now... everyday vomit until now i so so phobia of thinking to have another baby cos i dont wanna vomit for 34 wks again.... is really terrible vomiting then having headache after tat. i got very bad heartburn since wk 20 too.... thinking of all these really put me off to be pregn again.

Puppylove,
err.. i think you got the description of how i feel when i mentioned downward pressure on v area correctly.. it's like an aching pressure!! that's it...

Like i say, it's not painful lor.. but ya.. i read about u mentioning about infection and i am quite concerned about it as well. I will check with my gynae again.

bena

start with BF first ... but i know we cant do any strenous exercise after delivery. I have a book from sis that teaches on the various simple exercise to do on different weeks after delivery for slimming.

elaine

dun be discourage. it may happens that your 2nd P is different from the first .. think experienced mums can advise you on this.

Bena, I wonder Osim U-Zap is good to shed off the excess fats? Or the one from Oto (don't know the model). Anyone tried before? Heehee... any testimonials?

Last time when I go shopping, I always buy S or XS, even for my first 2 trimesters when I buy maternity clothes, I also buy S. Now, I have to get M or L!!
I tell you, if I don't lose the excess weight by the end of my ML, I have to totally revamp my wardrobe as I won't be able to fit all the S and XS clothes I had in the past..
I will be like a dumpling.. hahaha!

Cheers to all mothers like us who have to sacrifice our figures.. heeheehee... and oh yes, Michelle, I also think I smell like a smelly fat butcher in the market after work..

smiley

i laughed when I read the last sentence in your post. fat butcher ah ?? ahha ...

btw I heard OTO is better as the motor is stronger. my brother has one .. i will borrow from him ;)

Elaine,
I was reading 'Young Parents' and there is an article on how to cope with morning sickness. There are a couple of tips that i could remember and perhaps you can try it out and see if it ease your vomiting.

1) Peppermint sweets. Try taking peppermint sweets if you feel nausea.
2) Try fruit teas
3) Take biscuits in bed before getting up. Lie on bed and take some biscuits.. lie for 20 mins before you get up in the morning
4) Fluid intake. Drink lots of water to prevent you from dehydrate
5) Seek gynae's help for medication to ease

Elaine, perhaps once you see your darling baby.. u will forget all the pain that you suffered and perhaps not before long, you be popping your next baby! heee!

hi ilovebabies....
my elder sis also vomit throughout both her pregnancy until i so scare....
everybody telling me might be different but nobody can gurantee it leh... heehee

Smiley, same same! I also interested to get the u-zap or the oto one...i waiting for my gf to tell me if it works...she bought 1 a few months ago...heheh.

Me too lor...if cannot lose, then have to change wardrobe liao...

bena, u mean my exces 15kg not enough ah??? i still hv another 2 mths to go leh so i think at the end of the whole term i'll be like 20kg or more heavier!

smiley, hee.. smelly fat butcher - tat's a very apt description! btw, dun waste money on that u-zap thing. my fren bot and it doesnt work at all... i think that goes for oto brand as well. all these are just gimmicks. in the end, it's still real exercise tat will you shed the kilos

elaine, i have a frd who react totally different for both preg her preg. The 1st one was hell...puking throughout, but her 2nd was such a blissful journey. So i think each pregnancy is different.

michelle, i already 20kg liao...still got 2 more months to go. Heheh...nmind, we work together to shed off those kilos!

i heard from some frds that yoga helps to lose weight. Is it true? Maybe we should organize yoga class and we all attend together :p

hi littlepony...
thks for ur advise... i have tried everythg... but no use
especially e anti vomiting med although it works but i still feel like vomiting but e feeling of want to vomit but cant vomit out makes me feel worst so i stop taking unless i vomit more than once a day....

Yes.. yoga lessons or even kickboxing lessons! I am hoping to sign up these lessons after i deliver.. just wanna to keep fit and be a pretty mother!!! haaa! call me vain!!!

Elaine,
well.. hmm.. think positively then! You have just a few more weeks to the finishing line! and hey, we are here to give you ample support! Jia You!!!