(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Bena,
ya.. i think i very fortunate in a way.. coz i get to sleep very easily...

Haaa.. i think my boy carries my laziness genes. He continues his prince's sleep despite me going to the loo... and i pray he is easy to take care when he's out.

aiyo u gals complaining backache and difficulty in moving ?

haha me 33 weeks liao .. still so clumsy ... and I tends to drop things easily .. and cant pick up always need hubby to do it for me ...

hi MTBs,

I am selling the following:

1) Avent Manual Breast Pump. Retail:$86.60
2) Medela Mini Electric Pump(single), warranty still intact. Retail:$189

Both used for less than 3 days, less than 5 times. Price is negotiable. Pls email me @ [email protected] if interested. Thanks!

heeh can fly means good !

my backache comes and go .. ask gynae .. he say nothing he can do ...cos it's part and parcel of pregnancy.

i cant lie flat on bed .. gets v v breathless .. so have to be swift when i switch from right to left on the sides ...

ilovebabies,
yap. i bet this is part and parcel of pregnancy... and u know, you r at 33 weeks and you be able to see your baby really soon.. by then, you know this is all worth it, isn't it?

Haa. Can fly means good? haa! i hope so.. or maybe my thighs too thick and fat so i could support the weight???

little pony, really envy you leh... I can't walk that fast now as compared to a few weeks ago. Whenever I speed up my pace, I will experience pain at the lower abdomen...

Morning MTBs!

Heheh...i am also walking quite fast, which i think not very good right? Cos i remember during my earlier gynae visits, the gynae say we should eat like a baby (small but frequent meals) and walk like an old lady...but to date, i have been doing the opposite :p Eating normal 3 meals + the occasional snacks in between and have been walking quite fast

Littlepony, i also think cos i got fat thighs, that's what can handle the weight :p During my last visit, doc say no prob for me to handle natural delivery for a 3+kg bb. Say that i am 'heavy' (= too fat?) enough to handle. HA!

hi Bena...
how many wks r u now?? so envy tat u can still walk fast fast... n eat as normal...
i do eat as normal without any snacking cos i will die die puke out 1 of my meals everyday. anyway going to end soon... i cant walk as fast or move ard normally nowadays so everytime got to remind my hubby to walk slowly

i ask my gynae abt inducing labour once my cervice dilate but guess wat? he give me a date which is in my 38wk...
so late... i thought wk 37 can induce liao... *sob sob* anyway if i stop vomiting when baby engaged then i wont induce... cos inducing is more painful...

Hi elaine, maybe u can try eating small but frequent meals? That's what my gynae suggested, so that our body can absorb and digest the food.
Heheh, for me, i used to be a small eater (nly eating half or less of each portion served, but since preg, i have been eating the normal portion served (eg: a plate of chicken rice) Hence, i have been putting on A LOT of weight. I have not lost a gram...my weighing scale only goes up...so that's the cons of being able to eat lah...later i will have a tougher time losing those extras

Oh, u thinking of inducing ar? Personally, i feel that since you have already gone through so much and now we're into the last/final lap, u should endure and let the bb decide when he/she wants to come out and see the world. I know it's easier said than done, especially when u are not feeling good.

BTW, which wk are u now? I am starting my wk 31

hi Bena, my EDD is 8/9 should be in wk 32 going 33 liao...
my gynae also ask y i wanna induce... so i told him i HATE e vomiting part then he sort of surprised with my reason cos he thought i got a special date in mind. but he warned me tat if induce is not successful it will end up to be c-section if e cervice open too slowly..n baby is in distress... hai... i shall see how lor... i vomit everyday until immune liao...

Elaine, yah lor...the bb will be in distress. My cousin had a very long labour too and her boy was so distressed that he passed motion while inside her...so that's not very good lor.

Hhm, if u are really thinking of inducing, why not go for c-sect straight? Choose a good date and it's not so distress for ur bb.

morning !

elaine... I agree with Bena.. why not wait for a while more ? understand that your pregnancy is not easy for you ... but it is the last hurdle oredi ! and as adviced by your gynae... what if you really end up with c-sect ?

466668.png

oh.... c-section is so so scary... cut my tummy :p no no la... i think i better wait n see how... i'm those type who cant swallow medicine so if i go for c-section then i cant swallow painkiller i will suffer again...heehee

<font color="119911">elaine</font>, i also like you. Scared of c-section. Can't walk fast too because I'll get breathless and giddy.

My gynae has not discussed the birth plan with me leh. When did the rest of you discuss the birth plan with your gynae?

466723.png

Hi, the surgical float is needed for natural birth becos if we've tear or epitosomy, it'll be painful to sit down like tt. So it's best to sit on a float to ease the pain.

466728.jpg

dumpty, my hubby went to ask gynae abt birth plans during my last visit (30 wk). Maybe u can check with ur gynae in ur next visit?

edksd, i thinking of getting those water bags...not too sure if it works the same as surgical float or not...it's got cooling effect as well.

hi bena, water bags? is it those hot/cold water bottle?

im not sure oso. i think the float will prevent u from having direct contact onto where u'll be sitting, so it kind of relieve the pain.

466733.jpg

hi bena, the float is a smaller and flater version of ring float used in swimming. The hole in the middle prevent your perineum tear from touching the seat thus less painful. I am thinking to get one also, anyone know where to buy?

guardian and kiddy palace are selling the float.

just wondering is the pharmacy at TMC selling stuff cheaper or more ex than outside pharmacies?

466740.jpg

oic. The water bag i talking abt is a squarish piece filled with water then can sit on it...but there is no hole in the middle. Will go check out the surgical float from kiddy palace.

I just remembered an article i read some time ago states that using the surgical float will slow down receovery of the tear...so if the pain is bearable, don't need to use it.

maybe u can go see other threads whether those mothers already given birth find the float useful or not.

btw, anyone knows how to get rid of the rubbery smell on the air-filled rubber sheet? i aired it quite a no. of times, but the smell is still there.

466836.jpg

edksd, are u refering to those rubber sheet where the bb can lie on? that one like no choice just to air it...i have also been airing it for a long time, but the smell is still there

hi edksd,
my friend lend me a baby cot tat looks almost exactly like urs... is so big, thk baby can sleep till he is few yrs old.
as for e float i thk i'm not buying la... try to tahan a bit lor... maybe sit sideway until find e best position.

hi bena, yeah tt's the one. me too cant get rid of the smell.

hi elaine, ur friend lent u? so troublesome, so next time must dismantle and return back to her? tt cot is supposed to be able to convert to a troddler's bed.

if we're breastfeeding, we must sit properly, so how to sit sideway and breastfeed at the same time?

466871.jpg

i've asked my friend. She did not use a float at all. she just sit a bit slanted on one side, so far still ok. She said the gynae will prescribe the pain killer for you during your stay and when you discharge. Gynae will also give you two bottles of deinfection agent (liquid form) for you to rinse your bottom each time after you pee or poo...

t will slowly heal by itself but you must keep yourself clean so that it wouldn't get infected

hi edksd,
she got 2 baby cot so for her this 1 is too big to put at her hse... so she so call lend to me la but thk she wont be taking back la unless i dont want to use liao... anyway i dont intend to have another baby so must see tis naughty little baby wanna sleep in a baby cot or not... cos so far i seldom hear ppl saying their baby willing to sleep in baby cot for few yrs... especially for those who intend to total BF pls remember to put ur baby back to e cot after every feeding cos once they used to sleeping on ur bed beside u is not easy to make them sleep on thier own cot again.....

Guess it's better to wait and see if the float is neccessary then. Btw, is it ok to take pain killer if we breastfeed?

edksd, i just brought out the rubber sheet to wash and air after reading your posting :p Totally forgot about it!

I bought a similar cot also, think is a good 'investment' if you are going to have more than one child.

hi elaine, is this ur first child? stopping at 1?

hi cherrie, this cot is a gift
i hope i'll be able to use it for long long time

466941.jpg

afternoon girls!

hah today i reach 30 weeks! 7 weeks to go until i'm full term. initially i thought of taking maternity leave like a few days before my EDD. now i change my mind and decided to take one week before EDD. really can't stand my boss. i expect a lady with two kids to understand me better but i was so wrong. she's so used to leave everything to me and now that I'm going to disappear for 3 months she panic and ask me to update her EVERYTHING - that's like 2 yrs of hardwork man! grrrrrr!!! i'm really pissed off at her i seriously hope a car will knock her down one day. i even overheard her talking about outsourcing my team and i b'cos she just can't understand our business! headache man!!

hey why are you girls talking about episiotomy and pain ah? don't think too much about it lah. i am trying to do my kegels and perineal massage everyday hopefully so that my cervix can stretch to let baby out. my mom never had episiotomy so hopefully i can carry on the legacy.

board-post.cgi

Cherrie

If you intend to BF, of cos have to let your gynae knows so that the medication is safe for consumption.

ya agree with Melissaa... dun think too much abt it .. else it will makes us more kan cheong !

gals

here's the reply from MOM on the pregnant lady who was terminated by her company.
==================================================
I REFER to the letter by Ms Tan Joo Hymn, 'Pregnant mums who lose jobs a real problem' (ST, July 10).

Female employees at any stage of pregnancy can appeal to the Minister for Manpower under Section 14 of the Employment Act for reinstatement or compensation if they are dismissed unfairly. The minister may order the employer to reinstate or compensate the employee.

It is also an offence under the Employment Act to dismiss or terminate the services of an employee during her maternity leave. Two employers were fined last year for terminating their employees' services while they were on maternity leave.

The number of maternity-related complaints is proportionately small but more can be done to encourage all employers to implement fair employment practices. In May this year, the Tripartite Alliance for Fair Employment Practices was set up to get employers to adopt progressive employment practices that are fair and equitable to all workers, including pregnant employees.

Pregnant employees who feel they are being discriminated against at the workplace should approach the ministry for assistance.

Jean Tan (Ms)
Director, Corporate
Communications for Permanent Secretary
Ministry of Manpower

ilovebabaies, ya...the more i think about the after-pains the more worried i get. I expect to have pain at the whole pelvic floor - pubic bone, the tear, and piles!
466980.gif

Thanks ilovebabies for the update! I am also prepared to complain to the ministry should my boss try to terminate me during my leave!

Cherrie,
The pain is real, no doubt, but it's not long enough to make you scarred for life. Look outside and you can see women giving birth one after another. The feeling of having a child totally dependent on your will overpower your fears of birth. I can't wait to get to the other side.

i got that air filled rubber sheet too and yes, the smell is really hard to get rid off! we soaked it for about 1 wk and air it for few wks oredi but still got some smell left...

cherrie, i think shd be ok to take painkiller while BF-ing lah. otherwise how to tahan the pain?

for surgical float, i wont buy first but later on after delivery if the pain is really too much to bear then then get someone to go n buy it lor.

i'm oso walking rather slowly these days. will pant and feel breathless if i walk too fast!

edksd, i like your cot! i saw it at FFY too and was thinking it's really nice but too pricey for me. anyway i got an old one fr my bro cos i dun think my son will be sleeping in it for very long :p

btw, qn for all you girls. if u plan to resign after your maternity leave, will u tell your boss now or wait until u go back after 3 mths to tell him/her?

466990.png

michelle

of cos I wont tell the boss now !!!

why not u work for say another mth after ML then u tender ? give your boss some time to react and find a replacement ?

ilovebabies, amy, yeah i oso tot of tendering only after i return from ML but tot cos my boss is quite nice i wanted to give him more 'warning' lor. anyway i guess i will wait till i come back. or at the very earliest, during ML itself lor cos just now that reply from MOM said they cannot terminate us during ML rite? hee hee