(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

thanks ilovebabies, edksd and daisybuttons for the advice/ tips!

ilovebabies, I also bought my dresser from Ikea two weekends ago. The smell of the wood is still SO strong! I opened the drawers to air them everyday and even put a Kiwi dehumidifer with rose fragrance to try to remove the wood smell but the smell is still so strong. Maybe I should also try the tollyjoy accessory detergent to wipe eh? I used CIF and dettol previously... maybe tonight I will use the tollyjoy detergent.

ilovebabies, do we need to bring breast pump to hosptial? i tot since only 2 days there no need so troublesome to bring rite :p

seems most of you handwash your bb clothes huh.. really "pei fu" your determination man. i think i'm just too tired. anyway we used dettol to clean the mch before we throw everything in to wash so shd be clean enuf lah. next time got maid then wil get her to handwash bb's clothes ;)

i dont have a steriliser, but i guess it's the same as boiling 1 big pot of water and throwing in all the breast pump, bottles etc to boil rite?

helo edksd, what do u mean by machine cleaning powder? where do u get that?

yes its true that if we give too clean an env for babies, they will be more sensitive loh. i am just worried coz we wash socks and everything inside though. do you girls wash these things inside washing machine too?

michelle, the offer for mamypoko is for NB leh, not S, if i rem correctly. when my mum helped me buy, it was the last pack also...

ilovebabies, nope i am not bringing pumps to hospital. wanna feed baby direct at the hospital for every feed, esp since he will be rooming in with me.

ilovebabies,
i am bringing my pump to the hospital. but haven't sterilise it. guess i will bring my pump out and see how to use it first... coz i just buy and put it at a corner.

Daisybuttons,
thanks for your info. like what ilovebabies n pupplove say, got desitin and drapolene. Now i know which one to buy. My friend bought mendela nappy cream and she say very good leh. hmm.. i will go take a look at the creams...

michelle, boiling is equally good if u don have the sterilizer. My mom is going to do that...anyway, our mom's generation all use boiling as sterilization...where got luxury of electric sterilizers (as quoted by my mom :p) heheh

hi daisybuttons, yes, there's a special powder just for machine wash. they've powder for those top loading machine and oso those metal drum machine. cold storage shld hv it. i oso saw it at isetan supermarket and mediya supermarket.

of course we wash socks in the machine too. i oso wash my panties in the machine :p besides using the washing powder and detergent, i oso use dettol becos i wash all kinds of things inside together.

i think maybe for now, u'll try to be as clean as possible, but once u're so tied up w bb, u wont hv so much time and effort to continue this way.

yeah for the first 2 days, the flow is not coming yet, so w a pump oso no use. just latch on till get home.

handwash might not be the best too. if the maid anyhow wash, u oso wont know right? unless u do it urself then u know how clean it's going to be.

ilovebabies, you handwash everything?? Must be quite tiring.... I got my maid to machine wash all the bb clothing / nappies / etc last week....

Anyone started packing hospital bag already?? I'm in my 34th week liao... Better start doing it now in case bb choose to come out early... Any idea what items I should include other than the following :-

a) Toiletries / Disposable underwear
b) Breast pads / maternity pads
c) Maternity bra
d) Nipple Cream
e) A set of clothes for going home (For myself & bb)
f) Cardigan
g) A pair of socks (to keep the feet warm)
h) Video cam & camera
i) Marriage Cert for registering bb birth cert

for those of u going to register bb birth cert at the hosp, rem to type out bb's chinese name otherwise u'll be asked to write it out directly on the birth cert. unless u dun mind ur own handwriting, otherwise rem to type it out so tt they can cut and paste onto it.

bena, if u are sterilising using boiling water or steriliser, u do not need steriliing tablets. tablets are for sterilising in a place (e.g. office) where u do not have boiling water or steriliser handy.

edksd, i am not too concerned with the 2nd wash onwards coz my mini egg washing machine will be used purely for baby's clothes. that will be clean so i wun need to think so much hehee. for now, i am asking abt first wash loh. okie i will go check out the machine cleaning powder, or may use dettol as i intended. thanks.

amylim, ilovebabies has posted a list abv oredi, hehehe think u din finish reading the posts right? :p my own list is at home, so i can't post here as i dun rem off hand.

hi edksd, yep i learn that today too. prob ask my dad to write, coz i like his handwriting hehehee.

ya I handwashed the clothes and mittens .. tiring ! got maid, better ask the maid do hor .. ahha

i dun wash socks in washing machine though, I handwash that too !

ya then the pump quite useless ah ? anyway I also intend to TBF my gal as long as I can .... hope my determination will last me at least 6 mths !

daisybuttons, i know you can get the washing machine cleaning powder from DIY shops like HomeFix also... I have not tried it before though..

By the way do you gals wash your undies in the washing machines? I do that after my tummy got bigger... but my mum says it is better to handwash..

So far, I have handwashed all my babies clothes also.. handwashed a bit each weekend.. I love the smell of Kodomo detergent and softener!!

smiley, i hand-wash all under-garments...socks also hand wash. My mom never allow these in the washing machine :p

edksd, you mean we can actually print out the chinese character and they will just cut it out and paste? Any restriction on the colour, size, font or whatever??

Will you gals be coming up with a dialect name for your babies or will just use hanyu pinyin for the chinese name?

smiley, i will just be using hanyu pin yin, no dialect name.

MTBs, for those of you who experience braxton hicks contractions, where abouts on the tummy do u experience the pull? Recently, if i walked too long, i have this pull near the centre (near the belly button there) towards the top of the tummy...dunno what that is. Can be quite painful at times...but if i stop walking or sit down for a while, the pain will be gone.

Bena

same , I handwash socks and under garments ... a practice my mum passed down ...

Smiley

you shld print out the chinese char in a few sizes. probably you can use ur birth cert as a gauge. think the size doesnt change much right ?

I may not be having a dialect name for my gal .. makes life easier for her lor ..

Bena

my BH contractions is at the top part of the tummy ... the width of the tummy to be precise. but mine is painless... it just tightens for 8-12 secs then it releases by itself ...

i think tt was in the past when they dun hv detergent which allows u to wash everything together. the latest brand is WALSH. they ve it too.

im oso not sure abt the restriction. maybe during the next gynae appt, i'll just drop by the birth reg counter and ask.

yes, i'll be having dialect name for bb. it's our tradition mah, how can we just forgo like tt. i asked my FIL for the dialect translation of bb's chinese name and he pronounced it as exactly the same as chinese pronunciation. my hubby is kek (ke-jia) dialect. so im still thinking what to use for the dialect name.

surgical float is only for those who had c-sect? hmmm... my friend had natural twice and she brought it and find it useful.

i not having dialect name for bb either - but will hv chinese name , ie in chinese characters lah. cos how often will pple call ur bb by their dialect name if they oredi hv english name rite?

i throw everyting into the washing mch, socks, undies, etc... hee. i guess it basically boils down to how lazy one is lah ;)

bena, my BH is oso painless like ilovebabies' and usually lasts about 10-15 sec then disappears. the position differs tho - sometimes above the belly button, someetimes below leh. mebbe juz call your gynae and ask lor. i will be asking mine at my next apptmt which is wk after next.

btw, do first babies usually come earlier or later than 40wks huh? cos now gotta sort out leave issues with my colleagues liao

Ohhh... previously I handwash my undies too, but as the tummy gets bigger and ok ok, as I get lazier, I dump everything into the washing machine leh.. :p I kept it from my mum though, coz I know she'll definitely chide me for that.. heehee...

I asked my hubby and he thought should have a dialect name.. still undecided whether to have a dialect name or not..

Bena, sometimes I feel my tummy gets a bit tight, but it's below the belly button leh.. Sometimes my tummy gets very tight and hard, not sure why and what's that supposed to be.. I am very blur (I attribute it to coz I haven't been reading much and haven't attended any lessons yet).

My BH too.. it stretches for a few seconds and then disappears.. and yap, position different.. and yes, tummy get very hard...

I feel 1st babies usually come earlier. Not sure if i am right? nowadays, babies come a few weeks earlier.... so, i getting myself prepared.

littepony, i got one fren's wife 40wks oredi but bb still didnt come out leh. and my fren told me usually 1st babies will be later than 40 wks. while some others told me usually they come out earlier. so confused now...

michelle

u r right .. i get confused also. but generally they say later than 40 weeks. but i guess it is a case by case lah.. if bb wants to come out no one can stop them ? heeh ... so dr ask me to get ready now in case bb wanna see the world earlier

ya.. maybe we should just get ourselves prepare ... earlier than later.. always better! haaa!

my sil's kids come 1 month ahead of the due date.. so it's really case to case (like wat ilovebabies say)

huh? I thought usually earlier? I am mentally prepared for baby to come out one to two weeks earlier leh.. so I always tell people I have two more months to go although my EDD is actually end Sept :p

My friend says can stimulate the nipple to stimulate the labour.. heeheehee... if I am too impatient to see baby, maybe will so just that!

i scared mine will be early leh cos I am still on medication. dr say want me to stop the medication in abt week 35 .. then we will wait and see ... scared ! means i may deliver 1 mth ahead which is early August !!!!!!!!!!!!! so I'll be the first here then eheheh ....

I'm assuming I'll deliver anytime fr 38th week onwards. heheh...

I experience tight tummy several times a day. Seems like the whole tummy is rock hard... can feel bb's shape leh. Shld be quite normal cos I told gynae and he's not concerned abt it. But it can get quite uncomfy esp. if i'm walking.

btw, i juz received a call fr my clinic. My swab test (shld be the GroupB Strep test bah..) revealed some infection, so I've to go collect more medicine!! *sigh!* Anyone of u going thru' the same thing??

Yah, think you will be the earliest. Do update us when you are going to/ have delivered ok? Maybe can get your hubby to login for you and update us! I will be so excited for you!!

If it is one month earlier, is it considered as prematured?
465309.png

hmm... any of u want to exchange HP contacts? Then if one of us in labour or hv delivered, this person can sms someone in the contact list, who can in turn update everyone here. Juz a suggestion... cos hubby may not want to or have time to login on our behalf. And I'm eager to receive news early than to wait for u gals to return home, settle down, then inform us a couple of weeks later...

Smiley

gynae say bb from 36 weeks onwards is consider ok .. cos lungs are matured oredi.

puppylove

i dun mind exchanging contacts. who is the person to coordinate ?

so then what start date shd we indicate when we apply for our maternity leave? or just leave it blank ah?

wah littlepony, you sil's kid come out 1 th earlier? that's a lot of difference leh. were they considerend preemies?

haha, ok lah, i can coordinate.

for privacy reasons, we shldn't post our contacts here. Why not those interested pm me with ur nick, real name (optional) and email. Once i've compiled the list, I'll email it to everyone?

Michelle,
she went thru natural for 1st child and c-sect for 2nd child. First child, she was hving contraction so i guess consider prematured. 2nd child, bb is in breech position so gynae suggested to c-sect....
Both babies are now healthy little kids!!! haaa!!

I am back from my visit. Bb doing well. I am in my 30th wk and bb is 1.3kg. Doc say good weight. normal weight. shouldn't have any prob going for natural, unless blood pressure shoots up high in the last month. As my family has high blood history...i am quite worried, but so far, doc din say anything much abt my blood pressure. Happy happy.

puppylove, i pm u too.

My tummy is very hard and a bit tight, is it normal? I din not experience any pain, juz a bit discomfort cos it is quite hard.

A bit worry

yuna, most of us here also experience tummy tightening but so long as it's not painful it shd be ok. but its best to still highlihht this to your dr cos he's the expert rite!

my bb has been really active today..kicking moving about lots!

thks michelle!

Yes, I will tell my gynae tmr, am seeing my bb finally! it has been a long wait, 4 wks!!!

hope my bb is progressing well and the weight is good!

yuna

not to worry, unless it becomes v frequent per day. I had like 5-6 times per day and went to see gynae asap. He checked my cervix and said i had some dilation. If you r unsure, chk with gynae ok ?

bena

great to know bb is ok !!

my baby very sensitive to noise leh.. especially if we on the tv at night or my hubby n i are talking, he will kick and move around.. so sometimes, i really have to make sure the room is silent and then say, we are sleeping.. go sleep.. then after a while, he's silent meaning he is sleeping aredi. i dunno if that happens to you gals as well. haaa!

littlepony

my gal does respond to noises .. esp when I get int the car in the monring and on the car radio, she will kick once or twice ...

but at nite when it is so quiet, she it still kicking aahah .. makes no difference.