(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

hey,

today.. everyone MIA izzit? Oh gosh, i just manage to log in now since morning, office has been going abit tense and there are stuff to deal with.
And again, i dreamt of babies last night! such baby dreams have been going on and on for the past few days!! think i am thinking too much!

Littlepony,
hope things in the office r ok now?

ya, so quiet today... even my bb seems fast asleep!!

462324.png

puppylove,
ya. seems to be quieter in the office now than in the morning where chaos happened.

Haaa. my bb as well. sleeping too! I have been reading other threads and seeing their newborn baby's photo. oh gosh, wonder how my baby look like! haaaa!
462336.png

littlepony

i dreamt that I have delivered oredi !! hehe eh my dream v detailed one .. still got process of epidural !

today saw gynae .. bb's weight is 1.7 +kg at 32+ wks .. doc say good weight ... fundal height is 32.

anyway asked him abt fundal height. he said this is a very old method of comparing your womb size with bb's growth. He say this method can be replaced with the advance machine they used but to him, no harm doing this for his patient.

so if u r in 32 weeks, the fundal height shld be between 30 - 34. so if urs is less than this range, it could be that the bb is too small or the amio fluid in the womb is too low and vice versa.

btw my bb position remains the same, doing her headstand. Doc say it is unlikely that she will turn so good news for me lah since i wanted to go natural !!

ya why everyone so quiet ?

bena tks !

today no picture of my gal cos she shy .. use her both hands cover her face !! aiyo .. anyway hubby took the video of the whole process .. so I can still admire her at home now ehhe

ilovebabies,
yup, good to hear everything's going well for u!

littlepony,
me too! i've been reading other threads, esp. the May/June threads to see how the mummies r coping w their NBs. Quite good tips too, eg. the importance of burping ur bb properly, else he'll get colic... or why u shouldn't let bb fall asleep while latched on to u - u shld try to wake him up to continue feeding, or else he'll juz sleep for an hour and start crying again. But if u're not able to wake bb, put him down on the cot. If he continues to latch on, next time he won't sleep unless he latches on. I've a colleague who's experiencing this problem now!

There're lots more to learn abt handling our bbs... I've heard pp say pregnancy is actually the 'honeymoon' part, so letz enjoy while it lasts!!

wah so busy at work today no time to check in this forum.

ilovebabies,
congrats. all is well. actually i heard we can measure the fundal height ourselves but i have no idea how to. it has to be done lying down though.

puppylove,
wah.. i thought 2nd trimester is the honeymoon period and 3rd trimester is where all the aches will happen and now you're telling us, pregnancy is honeymoon and afterbirth is not! hahaa i guess this will never end! that's life!

i went for a prenatal massage yesterday and the malay auntie agreed that baby is head down, i'm thinking baby won't move anymore. she's somewhat settled already. good in a way that i can give birth naturally but bad in the way that there's still a possibility that i can give birth prematurely.

hi melissa, puppylove

tks for the well wishes !

ya just feel v happy my gal is growing well inside me.

melissa, you can feel your womb and you can measure the fundal ht where u feel the womb's length across the belly button. but i dont bother lah .. let my gynae do the job hehehe

btw if u know u will delivery prematurely, then u have to avoid sex and minimise walking. just my 2 cents worth

btw the funny thing abt me in 3rd tri is .... i feel more energetic and my backache sort of disappear these 2 weeks ! i have not done anything ... in fact my backache was quite bad few weeks ago then suddenly it was ok !!

well come to think of it, i tot my one week MC really did works ! i had more rest so I guess my body is much better now.

Hi all, me too had a busy day. No time to check the forum.

<font color="119911">ilovebabies</font>, i envy you leh. Baby size is juz right. I really so worry my baby grow too big for natural birth
Also, good for you for feeling better now.

My downward pressure and tightness still comes on and off. Think I'd better be good and take my medicine on time

Me too, very worried about not being able to fulfil my maternal duty, especially for BF.

hie there..
can i check wif u sumtin? isit safe for us pregnant mummies to use electro foot reflexology? for massaging ur soles.. will it affect my babies?? scared baby kena electrocuted inside..

hi watie

someone did asked this qn during the ante natal class. however the trainer herself cannot confirm that it is safe for pregnant woman. She suggested that we chk the manufacturer.

dumpty .. tks.. btw this mth my weight is 62.2kg compared to 60.8 kg .. phew .. the gained was not a lot heeheh 400g went to my baby ...

will be seeing my gynae 2 weeks later at 34th weeks.

anyway doc want me to continue my medication till abt 35 weeks then let bb come out naturally. he says if bb want to come at 36 weeks it's still ok as the lungs are matured oredi.

462949.png

Morning! TGIF!

Ya.. pregnancy is a honeymoon period.. becos we have lots more to worry once baby is out.. like i say, i worry BF the most. I am not confident that i have enuff milk for baby or if baby don't latch... and end up, have to resort to FM... sigh! anyway, i keep telling myself don't think and worry so much. I can worry about those later!

waaah.. Friday mood eh? Today's forum quite quiet..

Just went to the Aug thread to kpo.. realised there's a young lady whose parents don't know about her pregnancy yet and her boyfriend keeps delaying to tell his parents as well. So sad for her..

Anyway, do you gals have the tendency to sleep on your back. Everytime I try to sleep on my left, or even right, but at night when I wake up, I realise I am sleeping on my back again, and sometimes without the blanket and my T-shirt lifted up, revealing my tummy! Hahaha...

Smiley, saw the post abt the gal also... she'
s due in 2 weeks' time. Dunno how she gonna handle. Anyway...I realise it's very common to give birth early. 2 of the Aug mtb has oredi given birth. One of them was actually one mth earlier than her EDD. Scary~

I went to read the Aug thread and i sympathise with her. I hope she is fine and remain strong.

I've got this feeling that her bf will wait till she delivered and tell his parents. Normally, presenting his parents their grandchild and informing them that they are now grandparents sometimes do get easy forgiveness. That's my point of view. Anyway, i think she waited for very long... and guess she muz have loved her bf and baby alot to wait for so long.

Smiley, ya.. sometimes, i do find myself touching my tummy while i sleep .. haaa!!!

ya i read abt her case as well .. really pity her but admire her courage to carry the bb. Hope she and her bf will turn out well.

sometimes I wear nite gown to sleep and I pull it up also ahah cos it can be too hot ! but i always sleep on my sides now.

Im new to this forum. Enjoy reading all the post here..For 29 weeks, baby weighs 1.3kg consider big? I jus went for my checkup..30 weeks..baby weighs 1.8kg.. My gynae said its ok....

Little pony,
Dont worry so much abt BF now. If really not enough,can give FM. Dont be stressed.Ok?
Smiley,
I always sleep on my back . As my bb kicks alot when I'm on my left or right.Whenever possible,i will try to sleep on my left.But the next day, i realised i'm on the back again.

Hi Racheal,
Welcome to this thread!!

Really envy you all. Get to know your bb's weight.
All this while, my gynae nv mentioned abt weight one.He just said your bb's size is ok.

Hi, sorry to intrude....I'm fr the May MTB Thread.

I'm selling my new Medela Mini Electric Breast Pump at $100. I have only used it twice since I gave birth in May as my hubby bought a set of dual pump for me. It is still in very good condition with the entire packaging intact.

Interested mommies pls contact me at [email protected]

Thanx ^^
lolx..u can ask yr gynae, think they can calculate based on the measurement of baby...
My edd is on 1st sept ..jus hope the baby is not too big..

Racheal,
During my 1st pregnancy,I ever asked him abt bb's weight. But he said not accurate one. Since he said that,i dont bother to ask him for this pregnancy. As long as he told me my bb's size is ok.

Hi elmo88,

icic...u going for natural birth or c-section? Im still considering which 1 to go for? any1 can advise me on tat?

Racheal,
welcome welcome!
I think it's better to go for natural birth... becos healing will be faster. i think most of us here are going for natural birth as well.

Elmo88,
me too leh.. my gynae didn't tell me the weight becos it's not accurate.. so i never bother to ask.. but i can only envy those MTBs who know the weight of their babies. Mine is still in suspense! haaa!

helo ladies!

racheal, welcome! do go for natural birth unless doc advise otherwise. birth is a natural biological process, and its good for both u and ur baby...

puppylove and ilovebabies, was it you girls who advised us about how to claim from company + tmc, and also to take MC before maternity leave? I hve checked with my HR, for my side, the claiming using reciepts and doctor's letter can do! thanks puppylove, so happy. but for the MC before maternity leave, HR told me (without me asking) that any MC taken within the 28 days before my start of maternity leave will be counted as maternity leave leh. so she advised if from now on (coz all of us in 3rd tri liao), if any of u see gynae or GP for non-pregnancy related issues and get an MC, do ask ur doc to specify there that this is a non-pregnancy related illness, so that it for sure wun be counted towards ur maternity leave. thats for my co., so i not sure if u ppl same lah, best to check okie?

as for the 2 days childcare, for my case is outside the original mc childcare leave loh. so its additional 2 days.

thank for the advice..I oso more to natural birth. Jus happen tat my surrounding frends n colleagues all went for emergency c-section after 10hrs to 12 hrs of struggling labour pain..
Thus hubby was saying c-section will be a better idea..I was oso afraid tat I dun have the strength to push out...

Hellooooo,
Yeah man friday mood!

Smiley,
Yeah i always wake up on my back! But I'm not worried about it though. What am I supposed to do in an unconscious state of sleep? Don't worry yourself so much lah. Like the rest, I always start sleeping on my sides and toss and turn and if I find out I'm on my back, I'll turn sideways but no matter what, I'll wake up on my back. hahaa..

littlepony,
Ditto on touching tummy. Sometimes I feel so hot I sleep without my top and show off my belly to hubby. I'm so proud of my bulging belly. Everytime I thought about my miscarriages, I'm so thankful that this time I'm finally having a baby! Will also hug my hubby when I sleep and he said he can feel the baby kicking him also! He enjoys it, he said he felt pregnant too! haha.

Welcome Rachael!
I think your baby's just the right size. My baby measured around 1.1kg on my 28th week so I'm sure she's somewhere there now at 29 weeks. Anyway the weight is just an estimation, believe me once you give birth, the baby will weigh differently. I support my birth buddy daisybuttons, always opt for natural birth first. Don't be afraid, this is nature's way of human procreation since the beginning of time and has the fastest healing process. Do consider that. But if your gynae advise you to do a c-sect, listen to her. She's the expert.

I went to the August board to kaypoh and I'm sorry to say I'm so mad at the girl and the bf. I'm a pro-family person and I believe it's every child's right to be born in the world with the love of both parents. I can actually feel the wrath and humiliation of both her parents! She's still so young and naive! I can see that she receives plenty of sympathy but since I have a different viewpoint, let's not elaborate further. Don't want to get flamed. Heehee.

I feel so great today. No discomfort whatsoever and I still walk like I'm not pregnant. No BH so far too. And baby's kickings is making me smile for no reason at all!

thanx ^^ will tok to my gynae n hubby again...Being kaypoh, wat happen to the gal n bf? Young parent?
Do u all put on alot of weight till now? So far my gynae said ok to my weight, but my family was saying too little..keke .. I dun wan to put on too much oso..afraid couldnt shed off the extra ..

Racheal,
I am overweight to start with and as of now at 29 weeks, I have put on about 5kg, which is fine. I am now 63kg. I have 2 more months to pile on the pounds haha.

The issue was about this poor young girl who got knocked up by his bf and both parents don't know about it. Her bf didn't have the balls to tell his own parents he got his girlfriend pregnant. And she's full term and due anytime now. She's only like 20 yrs old and have no idea how to support for the baby. Don't even know what to do after birth. Recently just told her parents about it and they're so angry and humiliated. That's it. See I summarize for you already so easy. Haha..

melissa

I din know the gal told her parents oredi .. u must be following the thread closely. so are her parents receptive to the bb ??

i put on 12 kg liao .. at 32 weeks ... cham ...

Haa. i guess everyone has their own point of views to marriage and pregnancy lor.. Whatever it is, i have to wish all the best for her and her bf... coz i think the baby is most innocent.

i have also put on 10-12kg and i am at 30 weeks. I hope to stop counting on the gain of weight and assume that i just put on 10kg throughout the pregnancy.. but this is self-deceiving isn't it! haaa!

icic...I started with 48kg and now me is 54.5kg...6.5kg extra...
thanx for the summary...keke
the gal so poor thing but think she should have told both side parents..at least not to the last minutes..haiz..the bf oso one kind..got guts to do but dun dare to admit...

racheal, let ur gynae worry about your weight gain and not your family or friends. the gynae is the expert on which weight is normal or which is too much/too little. well-meaning family and friends will only stress u but not much substance sometimes in what they say. will you wanna eat more just to make them happy? hehehe for me, i heck care what they say, will always rebuke with something like "my baby's weight is healthy and thats what matters" or "you got a international standard size i must look like at this time meh?".

I started with 48kg n end up with 54.5kg...6.5kg extra..
Thanx for the summary..keke
I pity the gal, she should have told the parents from start and not wait till she almost due...then he bf really one kind..got guts to do but dun dare to speak up...

opps..double post...
soory for tat..think my system lag..din captured the last post..

daisybuttons,

agreed with u..as long as my baby is healthy..tat impts..keke

Daisybuttons,
u r right. Sometimes, my mum will say ' you look fat' or ' u look ugly'.. then i get utterly upset.. or when my colleagues say ' you don't look preggy' ..then i get very happy.
But ultimately at the end of the day, i think in me, i just wanna to have a healthy baby.. that all it matters!
So don't bother about what people say about us... as long we are happy, baby will be happy!

ilovebabies,
I didn't follow the thread closely, i was reading from top to bottom liao haha. Of course I feel sorry for the baby, so innocent but it might suffer b'cos the daddy won't be around, much less to support it. Her mom is upset and her dad wants her to give the baby up for adoption. I told you, they're humiliated with their daughter's action but I'm sure they'll come to their senses soon. Anyway hey don't make me summarize lah, you go there and read lah. I don't feel shiok prodding into other people's business liao. haha.

daisybuttons,
I support you man. Don't worry about your own weight gain or baby's weight gain. Listen to the expert. Rachel, you can't stop people from saying things so you must be able to filter what's good for you. Last time I worry that I don't put enough weight and have the impression that baby can't grow well but I followed my gynae's instructions and listen to the girls here, now my condition improved. I listened to their girls here b'cos they're conveying messages from their gynaes too.

phew! i didnt log in for only 2 days and needed so much time to catch up

glad to hear everyone's doing well. i've been to my 2nd antenatal class this wk. it's quite interesting cos they teach u exercises and tell u about some experiences during the labour process. now i just have to make sure i do the exercises every nite hee hee

i do also end up sleeping on back sometimes. but when i wake up n realise that, then i will try to turn to sleep on the left again. howver, do any of u feel numbness in leg if u sleep too long on one side? i get that sometime, so gotta swtich to right side. anyway right side is still better than on the back rite?

i hv oso been dreaming of the bb. dreamt that he was oredi out and i was trying to BF but cdnt mng to do it properly
think i better stop thinking so much abt all this and worry myself for nuthin! just see what happens and take it as it comes right ;)

i just measured my waist y'day. it's 42.5inches! i wonder how much bigger i'll grow!

463348.png

melissa

i read her post once in a while jusst that I missed the part on her telling her parents abt the bb. ya I hope eventually they will accept the baby ... given me, i would die to raise to bb up myself .. dun think I can leave her away from me .... with no one to protect her ... the bb is so helpless ...

helo michelle, i also leh! my left leg feels numb when i sleep on that side for too long. so i gotta turn to right. but then i feel guilty sleeping on my right or on my back, and i beret myself and feel so guilty whenever i do that. but i try to tell myself right is better than back, like u said. and a good night's sleep for me is better for baby right?

melissa, i used to be very upset when ppl say i look small or hinted that i not eating enough, until i come to terms with the fact that many ppl are kaypoh and think they know it all hehehe. so i heck care what they say liaoz, just listen to gynae.

littepony, oh u like ppl saying u dun look preggie? hehehe so cute. yes, whats important is our baby is healthy can oredi, everything else dun matter. i can look like a fat pig or tired mummy for all i care, as long as my baby is born healthy.

Daisybuttons,
haaa. i vain mah.. today, my colleague say i still got waist! I told them to stop complimenting or else, i hit the roof! Haaa! But yes, i told them what's more impt is my baby's health... but i tell u.. i damn vain! haaa!!!!

hey daisbuttons, i rationalise the sleeping positions exactly the way u do too! i oso feel guilty lying on my back so to lessen the guilt sleep on the rite hee hee. but for a while only lah. then after tat try to sleep on the left again lor

btw, for those of u planning to BF exclusively, hv u all bot milk bottles to stand by in case bb dun wannt latch on? how many to buy ah?

Hi Michelle,
I bought two small ones. One for milk and another for water. I will change to a bigger one when baby is older and tend to drink more.

Oh.. btw, the small milk bottles DAMN CUTE! Just the size of your palm, i guess!

Hahah...littlepony, don think so much abt ur weight gain and what others say...if u think u are sad that u alreayd put on 10+kg...then i will be MUCH worse than u. To date, i already put on 19kg and i have not been binging on snacks like tidbits, ice cream or chocs leh...sigh...just my genes to put on weight easiliy

Anyway, don't think so much for now...now the most impt is that bb is growing healthy. The rest just leave it till after birth then worry lah. Once the bb is out, u will be so busy with the bb, i am sure u will lose those extras VERY fast...and not forgetting the weight of the water, placenta, etc.

Stay happy!

hello!
this is going to be a long post as i've missed out on so much of ur chatting on Fri!!

Racheal, welcome to this thread!

daisybuttons,
Glad to hear the claims fr ur co. worked out!
Didn't know that MC b4 ML may be treated as ML - will check w my HR. Thanks!

michelle, daisybuttons,
i dun feel numbness if i sleep on my side, but i feel aches on my bum! the part that's bearing all the weight. Hv to keep switching left/right thru'out the night. Then in the morning, i wake up w aches on both bums!! But thankfully no backaches.

daisybuttons, why u feel guilty sleeping on ur right or back leh? my gynae says there's no 'correct' position, as long as u're comfortable, it's ok. For me, i sleep either left or right. Can't lie on my back cos bb doesn't like it and will keep kicking me! haha..

michelle,
i bought 2 small and 4 big NUK bottles. Altho' bb shld ideally latch on, she'll definitely need bottles once i return to work. Some mums who're lazy to keep washing/sterilising thru'out the day would prefer to buy more bottles and wash all at one go at night. Depends on individual.

btw, i learnt in antenatal class tat if u want bb to latch on, try not to introduce bottle at the same time as it'll lead to nipple confusion, esp. during the 1st mth. If u're tired and express ur BM for someone else to feed, use spoon or cup feeding.

Some of u mentioned abt nipple stimulation earlier on. Juz want to share something i learnt during my last antenatal class last wk (doctor's talk). Even when nipple stimulation is purposely used to induce labour, u still hv to limit it to only 10min per nipple per day. Too much will lead to ur uterus contracting, which will affect ur delivery.

463887.png