(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

hi ilovebabies, dunno leh, i find some cotton pads not very soft, even on my own skin. so i scared got friction on baby's skin. wet tissues i read before, like what puppylove said, not suitable for newborn at least in the 1st mth. i will wet whatever cotton i am using to clean baby.

Bena, i had another blood test to check on my haemoglobin level.paid $5.ya it was becos the results on my triple test indicated my haemoglobin level was low during 2nd trimester(forgot which week, blur now :p).

i dunno how my bb suddenly grew so fast, i guess not becos of what i eat la, think 3rd trimester faster and dr lee mentioned could be genetic cos both me and hubby are tall.

When you go for your next visit, the nurse will brief you thru the pre-admission procedures and you will be given a letter from the clinic to be shown to the admission staff anytime at your convenience. The hospital tour can be arranged at the admission counter when you are going thru the procedures. I did not opt for a tour... too lazy lah... haha..

I asked dr lee what were the chances of me having a natural delivery. He said very high from what he saw on saturday BUT situation may change for example say if the bb grows too big at time of labour. So depends. I'll leave the decision to him though i want a natural delivery. I will trust his professional opinion. I trust he will advice based on what he thinks best for the us.

Basically if during the visit and scan, he thinks that bb is very normal, he wont discuss too much unless you have questions for him and he will discuss with you patiently.

Oh yes, did i tell you my bb's head has turned down but not engaged yet. position may still change. hee..

Hellobaby, oic. So u did a 2nd blood test. I hate popping those pills as well, but all for the sake of the bb. Hang in there and be good and remember your vits everyday yeah!

Heheh...i just wonder how much my bb will gain, cos i have been gaining 4kg since last visit liao. Sigh...going to be champion weight gain again this month
But nmind lah, so far, dr. lee never ask me to control anything.

Yah, i totally trust Dr.Lee as well. He is a VERY cautious doc. So for me, as long as he doesn't say anything, abt my weight, bb, etc, i just carry on with my daily routine.

Hhmm, any idea when bb is supposed to be engaged? I kind of suspect that my girl has never turned to be head up before leh. At most is diagonal across my tummy only
Maybe she likes to do hand-stands :p

littlepony, we just have to endure the pain, heartburn and breathlessness for another few more weeks
I still got another 7 weeks to go....

Smiley, my gyane had asked me to monitor the fetal movements daily from last week... If the bb moves less than 10 times within a span of 12 hrs, I will need to go to the labour ward at SGH to do the CTG to check if bb is ok.

My gynae will be discussing the birth plan with me when I visit her next week.

Thanks for all your advices on the fetal movement counts... Heehee.. this forum is good. I don't have to wait till my checkup to know what I should do.. heehee..

Haha.. daisybuttons, of coz our gynae won't ask u to watch your weight if your weight gain is already under control.. Mine is quite high. My pre-pregnancy weight is 48, now I am aleady 57+kg leh.. and I have just reached the start of third trimester. If I continue with the rate I am putting on weight, by the time I deliver, I would be around 65kg!

edksd, I also had the same question as you! Haha.. how much is one serving? Usually I just pour one big glass and just drink.. I don't know how many ml I am drinking but I know I finish one tetrapak (1litre) of HL milk around 2 - 3 days.

Gd morning mummies..

Wow, so many mummies watched WC..
Me too..Thats why yday i asked gynae for mc so that i can go home and sleep.
Yday my gynae did a V.check for me as i told him that i felt a gush of water/discharge coming out when i coughed. Anyone experienced that??
My gynae told me its normal to have heavy discharge as long as there is no itch.

Checkup
Initially my gynae said "See you in 2 wks time"...After that,he changed to 3wks..he said since i got not much prob,after next appt then changed to fortnightly.
But I'm now in 31st wk..3 wks later will be 34wks leh.
Arghhh..extra 1 more wk then get to see my baby...

Dumpty & ilovebabies,
Dont think there is any promotion for MAH.
Normally the credit card promotion only for those delivered in MtE and GlenE.

Milk
For this pregnancy, i dont fancy milk so i drink soya instead.

Baby's movement
During the past few checkups,my gynae just asked me "hows your baby's movement?"He din even teach me how to count...
He told me as long as baby got move everyday, shouldnt be a prob.

Daisybuttons,
Last time,I used those rolled up cotton wool for my 1st one.I will prepare the amount of cotton for that day and put in a container w water.

Bena,
I'm now in my 31st wk.
My gynae told me my bb's head is down. Aiya, i forgot to ask him whether the head will turned up not?

Pre-admission
I was informed by the nurse that i need to fill in a pre-admission letter and faxed/mailed to Mt A.
Hmmm, last pregnancy,i dont remember doing that.

hi elmo !

long time no "see" ya !!

wah when you said u felt the gush of water, you scared me man ... tot the water bag burst ! sometimes I do feel the discharge flowing out, but i just change the panty liner more freq lor, as long as it doesnt smells, itch or change in color.

my gynae is more concern in change of color in discharge. he says if color is the same, nothing to worry.

he is also not concern with how many times the bb kicked, as long as the movements are consistent daily.

anyone watched the documentary show on CNA on Sun nite ? My colleague told me it's abt how pregnancy affects the bb's life and health. He told me one of the theory is that if the mum is very stressed and bad tempered during pregnancy, the bb is affected. he will not be happy and he may have short life span. Ppl who commit suicide are consider such babies. So be happy ok ??

460413.png

ilovebabies,
Regarding the photos i took, it is ready liaoz.. my photographer will be sending the CD ROM to me.. hoping to get it in time by Sat. to show u!

Contact for my photographer, Waipeng is on website www.foto-u.com.. I dunno how she going to quote you, as i am a personal fren.. talk to her and see what she says, ok?

Alternatively, i know of mummies here in forum who go for her colleague, Benjamin, as he more specialise in maternity shots...benjamin's quotes starts from 138 sgd according to the website..

oh yah..

my hubby also took the photos together... he so hiaoz.. confirm won't miss out the chance to pose in front of camera lah.. keke..

elmo, so you do use the cotton rolls huh! yeah finally found someone who does. why did you use that and do you find it easier to handle than cotton pads/balls? i also thought of preparing the amount i need to use then put it aside for that day. when u say put it with water, r u saying u soak it for the whole day or just before u need it?

jasmine, rem to show us the photos! wow benjamin charges $138 ah....hmm....actually thats the price i expected so was thinking will give it a miss. but when u mentioned yesterday urs only $88 u make me so gian.

460515.png

jasmine, cant wait to see your photos
i'm sure u n hubby had a gd time taking it too!

anyway as for when bb's position will stay, my dr told me that fr 32 wks onwards it will be 'permanent', as in wont change anymore lah.

Jasmine, ur frd's website photos are very nicely taken. I went to look at the gallery of Jas. To take those photos, we have to do our own makeup and hair? Or ur frd can help to do?

Daisybutton, yah lor...read that Jasmine paid $88 is really very attractive hor. I also told my hubby abt it last night...but think Jasmine got that price cos is her personal frd

keke,

bena & daisybuttons.. those photos ain't mine.. is another fren of mine, called jaslyn.... she is guinea pig no. 1, i am guinea pig no. 2!! Mine will be uploaded later on.. this by this week also..

I don't know how much she quotes leh.. u call and ask her if she can give the same rate.. NOTE, bring own props, do own hair & make up.. she don't provide, and as for me, no print outs!

Daisybuttons,
Oh, no particular reason.The cotton roll was given by my friend so might as well used it. I soaked the cotton for the whole day since i only used it to wipe bb's butt after every change.

hi elmo, u said u use it to wipe baby's butt after every change, meaning u do not use that to clean the poopoo or pee off baby's butt issit? then what u use? sorry i a bit confused hehehee.

jasmine, so u did ur makeup and hairdo urself? ur friend jaslyn did it very well leh. hehee i not very good with hair do, jia lat. u knw any package that helps u with hairdo too?

Daisybuttons,
Sorry to confuse you.
Yes, i used to clean the poopoo or pee. In addition to that, i used it for every diaper change too.

hi all, ive just came back from my gynae appt today.

bb is 1.2kg. no longer a big bb

gynae says for wk28, bb shld be abt 1.1 to 1.2kg.

im in wk28 day5 today.

gynae says bb has legs of wk29 and tummy of wk26. exactly like his father. tall and slim. hehe...

we oso saw the profile of bb from the scan, gynae commented bb has the same high nose as his father.

next appt will be 3 wks later. will need to inform gynae our PD and will oso discuss on the birth plan. most likely choosing the doc from the children clinic at tiong bahru plaza (near my place) - dr edmund koh.

btw, are u all going for the groupB strep test? i wonder how are we going to collect the vaginal discharge? can enlighten me? think gynae will talk abt this next appt.

edksd, good to hear that your bb is doing great! Wow, ur bb has long legs! Tall and slim...that's so nice.
You have to find ur own PD izzit?

What is groupB strep test? I never hear anything from my gynae leh. Collect vaginal discharge? hhmm...how to collect??

daisybuttons,

ya, i did my make up myself. I very chop chop one.. only apply eye liner, mascara, foundation, eye shadow, blusher, lip gloss.. but hair hor.. i never do leh.. cos i got permed hair since before preggie.. juz wash, apply leave on gel, then blow dry.. then for photo shoot.. i alternative between pinning up the hair and not pinning up lor...

But, my fren say ok leh, a bit of make up is enough, cos i look radiant.. think is my baby girl's hormones playing a huge part bah..

each day a pregnant woman is supposed to take 1000mg of calcium.

600mg comes from our daily supplement, the rest (400mg) comes from the food we take.

so it's not really necessary to drink a lot of milk if u're oso taking other high calcium food eg. spinach, kailan, chye sim, almonds, cheese, sardines, ikan billis, etc.

hi bena, dun u nd to find ur own PD? i think it's oso good to find our own PD coz it'll be someone who follows thru bb from birth till growing up stage. he/she will know best.

gynae did give us a list of PD associated w TMC. PD will hv to come in during our delivery.

groupB strep test is an optional test performed in the 3rd trimester. a sample of mother's vaginal discharge is sent to the lab to check for the presence of strpB.

it's a harmless bacteria tt exists in the vagina. however can sometimes cause severe infectionin newborn babies as they usually catch the bacteria on their way thru the birth canal.

if detected, it can be easily treated w antibiotics. during labour, they'll oso give intra-venuous antibiotics.

the PD will then be informed to be on the look out for early signs of infection in the newborn.

edksd,
I thought its complusory to have the GrpB strep test?
It is usually done by the gynae. We do not need to collect the vaginal discharge ourselves.

oh.. edksd, congrats! Handsome baby you have there.. tall and slim with high nose eh?

I wish I can ask my gynae to describe my baby more to me on my next visit!

hi smiley, usually what does ur gynae tells u during the scan?

now in wk28 or so, usually we listen to the heartbeat, look at the bb's movement, do some measurement and trying to take nice photo of bb's face.

edksd, usually will listen to heartbeat first, then look at the ultrasound for a short little while, then show me from the ultrasound the baby's heartbeat, then ta-da, over. Nurse will wipe the gel off my tummy, then I will proceed to the chair and ask her whatever questions I have. Usually I have to prompt the questions like how heavy is the baby? Is the baby's weight ok? I asked what's the length of the baby during the 25th week but she told me usually don't measure baby by the length (or height) after X weeks (can't remember what she said). She said after X weeks, usually measure by weight because baby is curled up.

She doesn't really tell me about the baby's head size, tummy size or how high the nose is. Do you ask these questions or your gynae auto tell you one?? I did ask for the printed ultrasound during my last visit. I have to "plead" with her coz she said no need coz my hubby already taking video. I said video cannot print out, I want printed picture to put in scrapbook, pleaseeeeee....then she printed one out for me.. heeheehee...

Daisybutton, we have the same gynae, how's your session like? Do you ask her these questions?

hmm... i also haven't heard abt the GrpB strep test fr gynae... but read somewhere that it's usually done at a later stage cos a clean bill now doesn't mean we're ok just b4 delivery... Has anyone done the test yet??

ilovebabies,
edksd provided some info on the test in her earlier post.

btw, got an embarrassing question to ask... heheh.. so far gynae's examination is juz to scan tummy. I suppose he/she shld be doing vaginal/cervical exam later on (to check for dilation or to do this strep test). Do u simply 'strip' there n then for gynae to check? So u'll wear something more proper like skirt rather than pants?? haha, *paisei* to be asking this...

puppylove

your qn is cute ..

my gynae chked my cervix on the last visit. anyway he did vaginal scan for me in my 1st tri also. usually when I know there is any vaginal scans or checks, I will wear skirts or dress. then just remove panty will do. but of cos there is a cloth to cover that area when gynae do the chks.

if just tummy scan, wear pants lor .. so jusst pull up your top and lower your pants abit can liao. and again, there is a cloth to cover that area.

anyway with vaaginal chks, the nurse will be around to help you undress and get you on the bed. At this time, gynae is not there. Only when I lie on the bed, then gynae comes in.
She will also be around when gynae do the checks.

I also got something paiseh to ask.. heehee.. Do you gals trim your pubic hair? I did that before pregnancy, but now, I don't know whether it is superstition or what, I don't really dare to use a scissor to trim, so it just grow and grow like nobody's business. Very tempted to cut it coz it's getting very long and messy.

So, do you gals trim your hair there?

smiley

haha nothing to pai say

I also trimmed prior to pregnancy. but now I cant see "there" !! how to trim ?? so I leave it lor. anyway when u deliver, the nurse will shave it for you.

edksd, oic. Din know abt the strep B test. Will ask my gynae curing my coming visit. Thanks for the info.
I dunno about the PD leh. I am under package now and the package includes PD already. So unless i have someone specific, else doc say he will use his usual PD, so i just leave it to my gynae...afterall, i don have any specific PD to engage.

ilovebabies,
haha, thanks for ur detailed reply! tummy scan i know - cos i went thru' so many times le. But the nurse always pull my pants down until so low, even the cloth oso cover low low... *faint* But by now, guess shld be more thick skin lah.. itz nothing new to gynae anyway!! kekeke...

guess i'll make sure i wear skirt/dress for my visits then!

puppylove,
Haha~Dont need to feel paisei. Juz asked when in doubt.Like what ilovebabies said,there will be a cloth to cover when the gynae did the checks.

ilovebabies,
In the pre-admission letter, my gynae stated "No shaving" is required.Maybe thats the reason, the nurse nv shave for me for my 1st delivery.

bena, you are oso deliverying at glenE rite? how do you know your pkg includes PD oredi? did it state so specifically in your gynae's pkg? anyway i hvnt been looking ard for any PD cos i tot just take watever they 'issue' at the hospital after delivery?

puppylove, dun worry about being embarrassed. cos like wat ilovebabies mentioned, the nurse will be the one who sees u undressing n will cover u up wif a cloth then the dr will come in just to examine u

didnt know the nurse will trim our 'bush' b4 delivery. is that a std procedure?

Actually I do hope the nurse will trim for me even prior to delivery, like during one of the checkups leh.. coz i hate it when it's so bushy.. But is there any myths of whatever that we cannot use a scissors to cut the hair down there?

hi smiley, who's ur gynae?

my gynae tells me everything automatically during the scan, never rush thru. after the scan, we oso hv QnA session.

and each visit we'll get 2 printouts definitely (sometimes more depending on what's interesting has been captured). no need to ask for.

edksd, yah, I know some gynae does that. My friend's gynae is also like yours, she has an album of ultrasound pictures of her baby in her tummy. Mine stopped after the detailed scan in the 5th month. But on my most recent last visit, I requested for one, and I finally got it, was so happy

So I should be expecting the gynae to check vagina (V) soon? My next checkup is my 30th week. When do the gynaes start checking the V?

Michelle, yup, i will be delivering at glenE. Yup, the nurse told me don need to look for PD when i first enquired about their package. When I signed up for the package in wk20, i again asked and double confirm with the nurse if i need to engage my own PD and she say don need, unless i have someone specific in mind.

A frd of mine need to find her own PD, but i dunno how she arranged for PD to be ard during delivery. Need to go check with her on this. I was so relieved to know that my gynae will auto arrange for PD to be available and that i don need to source for one...cos i really no contact at all lor.

puppylove

ya I've heard abt it, but mine was ok leh. I was quite surprised also. Probably my gynae is a male and he is very gentle. Dunno abt midwives though !

the PD is included in the package but still the gynae gives u a choice on the list of PDs available so tt u can do some research and make ur own choice i believe.

ilovebabies,
u're right. Gynae may make effort to be gentle, while those nurses at the labour ward would probably juz want to get it over with... A colleague told me when she was in labour, she had to tell the nurse not to check her so often cos she couldn't tahan them!! haha...

btw, anyone going for TMC ParentCraft's doctor's talk at SCGS this evening? Me going... So fast last lesson! To be honest, I only enjoyed the previous 2 lessons on bathing, diapering and breastfeeding. Didn't learn much fr 1st three lessons.

edksd, i guess u are right. Don think gynae will 'force' us to go with their PD. It's always good if you have a specific PD, so can stick to the same PD for the child.

Michelle, maybe u want to check with ur gynae and see if ur package includes PD or they have a list for you to choose from.