(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

hey puppylove, my friend had a similar experience too. She hates it when the nurse checks her coz the nurse is very rough.

And my friend told me an experience which I thought I should share here. She was going to deliver her third child and she could feel the baby coming out already. She told the nurse to quickly call the gynae, but the nurse "checked" her and said not yet and didn't call for the gynae. But my friend was in intense labour pain and she pleaded the nurse to call for the gynae. The nurse checked again and said wait, not yet. Then my friend's husband got very angry and shouted at the nurse to ask her to get the doctor. In the end, the nurse called for the gynae.

While waiting for the gynae, the baby's head was coming out already. The nurse panicked and asked my friend not to push. My friend said she's not pushing but the baby was coming out by himself. Guess what the nurse did? She tried to push the baby back in to stop the baby from coming out and she did it 3 times!

Then when the gynae finally came, it took just a little while and then the baby was delivered. The husband was shocked to see the baby's head was blue black. Later my friend said she was very angry coz what the nurse did could have cause the baby's brain to be damaged..

So moral of the story is, if you think you are going to deliver already, believe in your own instinct rather than the nurse!! And it's good to have your husband around when you are going to deliver coz by the time you are in pain, you would be very lost and you won't be able to think sensibly and make assertive decisions!

Smiley

how can the nurse be so bad !! which hospital ? wah lau shld blacklist this nurse ... shld complain to the hospital ! she is endangering the babies !

Smiley,

Wow, after reading ur post. I was shocked that the nurse tried to push back the baby. Aiyoyo, how can she do that? Which hosp is that?
For my 1st delivery, the nurse only did one cervix check for me and I must admitted it was damn painful.Maybe that time, i was not given any laughing gas yet.I found it more painful than the delivery itself.

It's not nice to disclose the hospital here coz those delivering there would be worried. It's a private hospital, quite a good one actually!

So it actually depends on the nurse isn't it? You may have the best gynae but if you suay suay ganna an inexperienced but act smart nurse, then really "cham"...

smiley,
I'm so tempted to go for my brazillian waxing. maybe i just might one of these days. i used to do brazillian regularly before pregnancy. now that i can't see what's going on down there, it makes all the more sense to do one!

when i book my room, the nurse did ask what PD i prefer, i just leave it to their recommendation lor. i'm delivering in GlenE

oh dear what a bad nurse!! can i PM you to ask her name instead? hehehe...

my goodness! wat a terribly unprofessional nurse! really gotta pray hard tat we dont kena this kind when it comes to our turn man. frankly i find nurses in s'pore very unfriendly and all no feelings one. very rough and rude...

hi hi, someone asking about group B strep test. i think its edksd right?

you are supposed to be tested in the 36 weeks. i think its a routine procedure, everyone has to be tested. for me, i def have to be tested coz i happen to be tested positive before at 4 weeks. i said happen to be coz i mentioned i have coloured discharge and the gynae (not my current gynae) did a culture for me and found positive. now okie liao but have to test at week 36 so that for those who tested positive, hospital will put u on antibiotics IV drip to treat the bacteria at the time u are in labour. the way its done is just like any common bacteria culture. the gynae take a swab of cells/discharge from your vagina to send to lab for testing. just like pap smear.

smiley, aiyoh thats terrible!!! i hope ur friend's baby is okie??! yes i agree u need ur hubby with you during such times! ur qn about my checkups, i do get the scan printouts, prob coz i din bring my videocam hehehe. actually me and hubby is quite chatty, so during scans we will ask this ask that.

oh yah about shaving, does all hospitals shave for you huh? if so, i wld prefer i go do my own brazilian waxing leh.

elmo, u said both births u dun need to shave, whats the reason? coz u trim urself issit? how short leh?

puppylove, dun need to paiseh one. doctors see so much until they dun wanna see oredi hehehee. try to wear a skirt or dress so its more convenient and u wun feel like u are stripping too many things.

hi edksd

i find out from other patients of my gynae, that my gynae will not do this test unless the patient complain of itch, soreness or change in discharge color.

Morning MTBs!

daisybutton, i am the one asking abt the test.
edksd has done the test.

Hhmm, i must remember to ask my gynae if he will do the test in my next visit. Must remember to bring my to-ask list :p

Jasmine, ur photos are great! Make me so tempted to go take those shots! Can we mention ur name when we do enquiry?

Morning..

Bena,
You are so early....

Daisybuttons,
I did not trim leh... i also dunno why the gynae stated "No shaving is required".

Bena,
Yes yes. I'm early bcos I got a ride to mrt by hubby.
Want to ask u har, how u insert those face expression into this forum?

<font color="119911">smiley</font>, really shocked to hear what your friend experienced. I sure hope none of us get that particular nurse. Better let my husband know and hope he can make it in time to be in labour ward with me!

<font color="119911">jasmine</font>, you really look radiant!!!

<font color="119911">elmo88</font>, usually I open up another window by click the "Emoticons" link below then just copy and paste the text for those facial expressions. Try it. Really cute.

Hi dumpty,

Do you all feel like having a break? I have been counting down now. So sianz of work.Found it wasted to take leave leh.Want to save as much as possible.

hi morning!
I wonder if you gals beginning to have dreams about baby or like carrying babies?

I have frequent dreams of babies these few weeks leh. either seeing visions of baby or me carrying baby....

am i thinking too much or just normal?

The baby is ok now.. In fact, this happened quite a few years ago. The baby boy is a toddler now and he's very very cute

I don't know the nurse's name, I only know the hospital coz my friend only told me the hospital she went to.
I also told my husband about this story and told him he needs to protect me and baby.. Heehee..

Jasmine, the photos look great! How many months were you when you took the photos? Are you having a boy or girl? Your tummy looks quite round...

Thks mummies for the compliments!
Wish i put on heavier make up on my eyes though.. keke.. vainpot me!

Smiley,
me have gal... took the photos last Sunday.. @ beginning of week 33.. round and shiny tummy hor...keke!

Little pony,

as we get closer to delivery, we will have weird dreams about ourselves, the labour process, the baby... i also have funny dreams sometimes..so dun worry.. u not the only one!

Bena,
just tell her you are a fren of Jasmine Lau lor.. and want to enquire about maternity shots...

Jasmine, thanks. Will check out

Elmo, have fun with the emoticons!

Hhmm...talking abt dreams, i couldn't really remember any of my dreams the moment i woke up

jasmine,
You look soo happy and radiant! How much did you pay for those shots? And why your tummy so shiny one? Hee hee. I agree that you should've put on a heavier make up b'cos in studio photography, the light will "erase" our make up away that's why must put on extra heavy.

littlepony,
I dream about baby all the time and so is my hubby!! I think also thinking about the baby all the time liao!

461324.png

aiyoh, ilovebabies,

these people funny siah.. they don't come from their mothers' wombs??

Melissa,
i do apply clarins oil on tummy morning &amp; night... but, the skin on my tummy is shiny leh.... dunno why, maybe is cos of the stretching!! keke..

Fo the photoshoot, I put on heavier makeup then my norm liaoz.. but think still not enough.. maybe i not professional lah.. haha! i paid 88 sgd.. but note is a special favor from my fren.. and no hair/make up and print outs.. i only get back my CD ROM..

yesterday my mil show me baby's new beansprouts pillow .. heee. very happy leh. makes me feel i am looking forward in seeing this little one... and then again, i worry i won't be able to fulfil my duty well as a mother especially when it comes to breastfeeding.. i reading from other threads that they mention the most difficult part of pregnancy is actually breastfeeding. Sigh!!

littlepony

i have the same worry as you .. what if no milk ? what if sore nipple ? what if bb dun want to latch on ? aiyoh so many worries !!!

ilovebabies,
ya.. exactly leh... i recently bought Palmer's nipple cream from pharmacy. Recommended by my friend who juz gave birth. And i am planning to apply it when i am nearer to delivery date.. and then bring it along to hospital , juz in case.
And trying to do occasionally breast massages and pray hard that bb is fine when latching on and got supply of milk lor..

Jasmine,
i think you are very pretty much IN FORM.. meaning you look good! Being natural is good... haaa! i have been taking pics of myself using my home camera but hoh... haaa! damn ugly! haaa!
So guess you've got yourself a good deal plus precious memories!

littlepony

from my last ante natal class, we are not supposed to massage our breast until 37 weeks. Massaging the breast will contract the uterus and contractions will come !

and it is advisable to massage your breast before your express or feed the bb.

yeah ... you are welcome !

oh btw the trainer also says not to squeeze the colostrum out .. hmm I cant remember the reason why. Jasmine is that right ?

littlepony, what is the purpose of the cream?

Wow...seems like u gals are well-informed/prepared...i feel so bad...so many things i dunno and did not do

ilovebabies,
if no massage then how to apply cream? by the way, I applied olive oil on my breasts and palmer stretch mark cream on my tummy and abdomen. b'cos olive oil is edible, i can just apply it on my nipples. dont dare to do this with my palmer cream. so far don't feel any contractions liao.

Bena,
The cream is to avoid cracking of nipples and also itchiness as well.

I also just got advices from my preggy friends so don't feel bad of not knowing.. coz there may be things that you know and i dunno leh.

massage as in massage the whole breast in a circular motion. think some also teach you to massage the aroela area ... and push the breast in a downward motion to push the milk out of the ducts.

when apply the cream, you still apply on the aroela and nothing else lor.

Bena, dun worry lah, I learnt all these from the ante natal class also ..

hi! juz an update - saw my gynae today. Told him abt the downward pressure and the extremely tight tummy i've been feeling... he didn't seem concerned at all, saying itz normal, cos bb's growing and kicking all over the place, including downwards. He said i shld be concerned only if i feel pain. So i guess the discomfort i've been feeling is part and parcel of pregnancy...

Gynae did a vaginal swab as well - i forgot to ask, but think itz for the Strep test some of u hv mentioned. Also had a finger prick to test my haemoglobin level - itz an all-time low of 9.0 compared to the already low 11.5 at 16wks!! *sigh!* so now hv to take stronger iron pills every day.

This is my 29+wk n bb weighs 1.3kg. Think she's considered small compared to most of u!
Gd news is that i've managed to control my weight gain - only gained 1.1kg over 3wks.

puppylove,
no lah! your baby size is average ok! i just checked via babycentre. it's just that we have so many MTBs with big babies!

hi puppylove

great to hear your progress ! hey my bb was 1.364kg at 29+ wks also .. doc say slightly big leh .. and warned me not to get too big hahaa

my haemoglobin level at 16wks was 11.5 also leh ... i remembered .. but doc say it is still ok. but now that you have dropped then it is better to take some action. eat more spinach and red meat.

i'm seeing my gynae tmr !!

melissa,
i use babycentre for reference too! Actually i'm supposed to be 30wks tomorrow, tatz why i said she's small. But gynae says she's average, so itz fine by me!

ilovebabies,
i did eat quite a lot of red meat leh.. but looks like itz still not enough. All the best for ur visit tmr and update us on bb's progress too!

I asked for MC for today cos was quite exhausted fr the past few sleepless nights. Gynae didn't seem willing but still obliged. Did some shopping on my way home (heheh...) which lifted my spirits a bit.
Can't wait to c bb in the sweet clothes i bought for her!! haha...

puppylove

hmm dun worry lah, as long as you dun have the fainting spells, guess shld be ok ? i had twice in 2nd tri but gynae say it is normal in 2nd tri cos our blood pressure is lower then ..

will update tmr ! ehhe

puppylove, i think ur bb size is ok leh...my gynae told me during my last visit that by my next visit, which is supposed to be about 29-30wk, he say bb should be 1.1-1.2kg thereabouts...so urs is 1.3 considered slightly big?

ilovebabies, enjoy ur visit and remember to update us on ur bb progress!\

Reading all ur updates on ur visits, i can't wait for mine on mon!

bena,
oh is it? heehee
gynae said my bb is average, not too big leh... and I'm not big myself too. But lately i've been feeling quite uncomfortable w the tightness on my upper tummy - not enough space for bb but she still happily kicks and moves her legs like nobody's biz... the scan today indeed showed that her legs r there!! haha...

Do update us after ur Mon visit too!

ilovebabies,

ya, i remember not to squeeze out the colostrum leh..we are told to void nipple stimulation during 3rd tri to avoid triggering contractions...

actually, i got massage around my breasts also as i apply stretchmark oil there also.. i just avoid the nipples...

Jasmine

so the trainer said cant squeeze out right ? tot I remembered wrongly. anyway I do not have it.

yeah will go see bb this afternoon ... will ask abt the fundal height measurement also.

461909.png