(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Hellobaby,
Discomforts like backpain, swelling and aches in legs, BH and stuff. Those will come visit you in 32 weeks onwards.

Bena,
I did not tour the GlenE by appointment. I gate crash hehe. Means I simply ask the front desk what floor is the maternity wards and I go up and see-see-look-look. Actually now when I think about it, the two-bedders seems a bit cramped. I did not visit the delivery suite b'cos I hope I'm not trying to get too comfortable in there. I hope I'm not in there for more than 12 hours!

Hi Melissa, my bb's weight is 2.1kg as of last week (32). Started to feel pain at the ribcage (waist) if I sit for too long, aches at the pelvic bone area / lower back, constant heartburn, breathless... need to go toilet more often now also.. at least once every hour whilst I'm at work and 2 - 3 times at night...

Was quite disappointed that France lost... Zidane was sent off coz he head-butted Materazzi in the chest after Materazzi pulled him back.. Apparently, he lost his cool... France would probably win if Zidane and Thierry Henry were in the penalty shoot-out. But too bad, Henry was substituted...

Hi gals, I'm so surprised quite a number of you stayed up for the WC final match! I'll definitely feel like zoombie today if I do that!

Is there any more tests that we have to do from 30th weeks onwards? I only know about the Strep-B test. Other than that?

Melissa, the 2-bedder really very small? But heard that the 1-bedder is also very small, but just that it's 1 bedder...I think i will still opt for the 2-bedder, the price diff is really too much. With the price diff, can do a lot of other things liao. Heheh..yah lor, i am hopping even shorter than 12 hrs...best is go in, pop and come out :p

ilovebabies, okies...i will check with my gynae nurse. The last time she told me that we can call up the delivery ward to arrange for a tour, but not too sure if she will call on our behalf or i have to make the call myself.

I've got this constant heartburn plus pain at the ribcage as well.. and definitely breathless leh... and i am just starting my 30th week today. Oh gosh.. u mean it will still be with me for another few more weeks? Sigh!!!

Yes, i am feeling zombie now since i stayed up for the final match...and i am having a meeting at 2pm. I wonder how am i going to sit in there without dozing off?!

Hellobaby, did Dr Lee ask if u will be opting for natural delivery or something like that? Will he ask? Or we just assume it will be natural as 1st choice?

morning ladies!!

hehe, i had a world cup party at my place.. went to bed @ 9:30pm, woke up 1am.. my frens reach my place @ 1:30am.. so we watched the match until 5am.. i went back sleep and woke up @ 8:30am.. so, feeling quite ok..

over weekend, i took my maternity shots @ a studio.. since i now week 33 liaoz.. was quite fun lah... my baby slept thru the whole process!!
brought my own props along, my outfits & did my own make up.. so only paid 88 sgd.. will be given a CD ROM.. my photographer took 200+ shots.. wondering how many she'll give me after eliminating the NGs... but she said, most of the shots are ok.. so should still have 100+ photos bah.. keke!!

Bena

all gynaes are supposed to discuss the birth plan with us. Some MTBs opted for c-sect straightaway so there is a need to book for operating theatre for example.

some may even asked if the hubby wants to cut the cord.

amylim, your bb is BIG as well ... wow hope mine wont get too big .. I want natural birth also !!

hey jasmine

wow the shots were fun ah !! can show me some when we meet next Sat ? hehe ...

$88 is very cheap leh .. so did your hubby participate as well ?

ilovebabies, oic. Any idea roughly when the gynae will discuss with us? Or should i ask in mynext visit, which is 31+wk? Too early to ask or not ar?

jasmine, which studio u went to? I was thinking of doing some shots too...afterall, the whole pregnancy, i did not take a single photo. Tot it would be a good remembrance...like Hellobaby mentioend, never got so big before...heheh!

Bena,
It's the size of a one-bedder, which is ok if you ask me. But imagine putting another bed beside it. You only get about 50% of the space lor. I usually get a lot of visitors b'cos my family is big and I'm very close to my 8 aunts so I am afraid that I might disturb the patient next to me. But ah, like you said, the price difference can really drive me nuts. I am trying to be safe on the cost, just in case I needed an emergency c-sect. Whoah that's gonna cost a bomb if I opted for a single-bedder.

sclaujas,
Wah you took a studio photo?! Cool. Can show some here? heehee. Which studio did you go to? Is it chantalgoh one?

littlepony,
I have been having this suffocating rib cage pain since my 2nd trimester too. It's different from acid reflux. I dont' know what it is. It feels like pressure all around my rib cage and very very painful. My gynae gave me gastric tablets for that. I don't know if it works yet b'cos it happened randomly. Are we having the same thing?

Melissa, ah yo, single bedder room with 2 beds in there. Hhmm...i still think not worth paying for single bedder, like u mentioned, just in case need emergency c-sec...whoa, the cost for that will be very high then. Better to play safe.

ilovebabies, ooh, i missed my 29wk check. So by the time i next visit the gynae, i will be abt 31wk liao. Okies, will ask my gynae on my next visit.

to the experienced mummies out there, what do you clean ur newborn's backside with during nappy changing time? instead of cotton balls or cotton pads, anyone use those rolled cotton wools?

daisybuttons, can just simply use wet tissues or wet cotton wools or cotton pads right ? the MOST IMPORTANT thing is to keep bb backside DRY at all times to avoid rashes.

Jasmine,
Does sound interesting leh! And $88 only. Wow! Which studio u went to? I ask my hubby take a couple of photos on my little tummy.. and err, damn ugly man! haaa!!!

daisybuttons, you can use wet tissue to clean him. Also, newborn boo boo alot so must use nappy liner if you are using the cloth diaper.
Remember to buy good wet tissue so that the bb will not get rash.

I even came across this PD who told me to wash the bb everytime they boo boo for hygiene seek. Then he demonstrated with my bb and guess what, he used cold water! Goosh! my 3 day old bb screamed like mad & my mum nearly scolded the PD.

From then on, we stopped seeing him cos cannot tahan his long-winded advised too!!

bena,
thought triple test was around 16wks? how come gynae briefing u on the results now? or was urs a 2nd test?

daisybuttons,
i heard tat NB can be sensitive to wet wipes, so cotton pads or rolled cotton wool shld do initially. Can switch to wet wipes later on.

gals,
got to ask abt BH contractions and real contractions... last night, i felt the tightening of my lower tummy many times altho' i didn't monitor how many or how frequent. Tight meaning ur skin is stretched over bb such tat u can feel ur bb's shape. It comes and goes... I guess it's possible to be having mild contractions without spotting right? Am getting a bit concerned, but thinking of asking gynae only during my Thur visit while i continue to monitor myself. Am on leave today.

Suspect it's triggered fr y'day after i walked too much... had to do some errands, then went shopping, so walked from morning till night... Think i shld really take it easy!!

Anyone starts counting fetal movement liao? When must we start counting? I read that now the baby will not kick so much as the past few weeks coz less space now for baby... is that true?

Anyone going to dentist while they are pregnant? I think I might have hurt a tooth when I accidentally bit too hard on the fish I was eating and it had fish bone in it and now my tooth is very sensitive, but I am not sure whether I can go to dentist to check or fill it up if there's decay..

puppylove

that was what happened to me 2 weeks ago. I was on course from Mon to Wed at Raffles place and I go a lot shopping during lunch time. So I walked more than I do usually. I had the tightening feeling abt 5-6 times per day, each time it lasted abt 8-12 secs. yes can feel the bb when it tighten. I called my gynae that nite !

you shld minimise your walking now.

smiley

my gynae say I dont need to count as it may be v stressful for me. he only asked me to monitor bb movements during the last mth and make sure it is consistent everyday. that's all.

maybe you want to ask ur gynae if you can visit the dentist ? I actually stopped during pregnancy cos my gums tends to bleed easily everytime I brush my teeth.

Smiley,

We all should start going to dentist on the 2nd trimester. As we usually need more calcium & then to bleed while brushing our teeth due to lack of calcium.

Pls visit the dentist so to prevent decay and the dentist will advise accordingly.

pupplove, i did my triple test on wk16, but on my visit on wk20, gynae forgot to brief me on the results, so i only got my results on wk24 there abouts

Flower, there shouldn't be any issues going to the dentist. I asked my gynae before...he say just tell the dentist u are preg and the dentist should know what to do.

Smiley,
do visit the dentist b'cos tooth decay or gum problems can affect the pregnancy. just tell the dentist you're pregnant or just show your belly to him and i'm sure he'll know what to do.

ilovebabies,
hmm... so do u think i shld visit gynae asap too?? currently i feel ok tho' a bit tired, and bb's kicking actively as usual...

459886.png

oh.. so you all think i should go to dentist eh? I was worried initially that I might accidentally swallowed some of the metallic fillings should I have a tooth decay.. then I better go loh... like what flower said, now we lack of calcium...

I realise it is very important to take calcium pills. I didn't take any calcium pills initially and only drank a cup of milk in the morning. Then I realise my fingernails are getting very soft and grows slowly. Now that I am starting on calcium pills, my fingernails are stronger and growing faster!

puppylove

probably u give your gynae a call ? if he say you can wait till your next visit, then I guess it shld be ok. ask him if need to chk your cervix. my gynae chked my cervix and confirm it was contractions.

smiley

according to the nutritionist at MAH, we still need to drink at least two cups of milk daily even if we are on calcium supplements.

ilovebabies, oh really? Will that be calcium overdose? Hahaha! I don't really drink milk at night coz undigested milk will turn into fats... That's why I only take calcium pills. And my gynae knows that, but she didn't say I have to drink more milk leh? I told her to prescribe me some calcium pills as I don't have the habit of drinking milk at night, so she just asked me to take one pill per night to replace the milk??
What's your before pregnancy weight and your weight now? I see a few of you gaining 20kg, I gained less than 10kg but my gynae is already very concerned and kept asking me to control my diet. I cannot imagine if I already put on 20kg, I think she will be the one fainting!!

smiley

i am taking MEIJI LOW FAT MILK so it is ok to drink more .. anyway i LOVE MILK ! my gynae din comment also, I learnt it from ante natal class.

my weight was abt 50kg, now 60kg liao .. ya my gynae oredi complained two mths ago when I gained 3kg within a month.

i asked my friends and they say their gynae has no issue on weight gain. They allow them to eat what they want. Think as long as bb is gaining weight, the rest is secondary lah ...

I think the 1st time mummies are eating all the good food for the baby, that's why all putting so much weight. During my 1st pregnancy, I also put on a total of almost 20kg. Everytime visit the gynae, the 1st thing he said to me : 'you put too much weight already!'. Can imagine how stressed I was that time.

But this time around, I got no appetite or craving, so weight gain is still under control. Also worry cos scare the bb got not enough nutrition.

Hahaha.. me too.. around 3 kg every month.

Well, first my gynae asked me not to take fortified milk like Annum coz that's very fattening according to her, so now I am drinking low fat milk. Then she asked me to cut down on sugar, so I have to give up snacking on ice cream and chocolates. She also asked me to avoid starchy food and food high in carbo. And cut down on what I eat for breakfast, and told me not to have in-between-meals snack like sandwich but turn to fruits instead.. now I eat soupy lunch and porridge, no more snacking at night and definitely no supper. Hope my weight gain can be under control...

Smiley

your gain weight is not a lot leh .. well your gynae is strict ! but good also, you will need to slim down less kg after delivery.

edksd

err I dunno leh .. i just drink two filled cups.

edksd,
Is that a trick question? It depends on how big your cup is. Average is around 200ml per cup. For mug, it's about 250ml.

abt all this weight gain, i was having a chat wif another preggy fren of mine n we sort of raelised that those who had female gynaes were the ones who kept being told to keep their weight under ctrl, while those wif male gynaes never mention antyhing at all so long MTB is still healthy :0 mine is male gynae, and i've already put on 16 kg so far and he just say i'm overweight, but that i'm still ok leh.

smiley, my gynae told me to start counting fetal mvmts alraedy. i guess every dr has their own prefrences lah. but general rule is so long as ur bb is moving eveyday, there shdnt be anything to worry about!

i cant remember who posted that tip about the dbs woman's card, but thks a million for tat tip! i've just gone n applied for mine cos i'll be delivering at glenE. hopefully there are no hidden t&c that prevent us fr enjoying the discount tho.

my next check up is in 2 wk's time. think i will need to ask abt the tummy tightening liao.

and wat exactly is walking too much? like a few hrs in a stretch, or count total no of hrs that u walk in a day?

hi ladies...
anybody start having bad MS again.... mine came back 2wks ago.... but today is e worst... i throw out everythg i eat.... till now my body had not absorb any single food or water today.... i'm feeling so so tired n restless.... having bad headache too...
thk i'm going to see my gynae today n not wait till e next appt

*y i suffer every min during pregnancy*

hi melissa, wow! so each day hv to drink tt much of milk ah?

i think i only drink abt 100ml per day. cos tt meiji bottle is 830ml and i usually take abt 7 days or so to finish it.

dumpty

I delive in MAH also .. ahah also wondering why no promotion for it ??

michelle, my gynae is male and he is monitoring my weight leh ...

walking too much is like doing shopping lor. if u just go to work and have lunch, i guess that's normal ? unless doc order bedrest.

elaine

i do not have any MS since 1st tri (touch wood!). is there any food that triggers ur MS ?

Elaine,
Do check with your gyane on your MS.. Well, everyone experience pregnancy differently. Frankly, i do not have any MS since the beginning of my pregnancy.. so i guess i am the fortunate ones.. but hey, don't be depressed. Your gynae should be able to give you some medication to ease the MS... Don't worry! Don't be upset! Talk to us if you just wanna a listening ear!

Smiley,
my gynae asked me to count baby's movement from the 28th weeks onwards. But sometimes, i lazy to count.. however, i just make sure that i feel his movements lor... then don't have to worry.

elaine, i read somewhere that some MTB may experience MS in the 3rd tri again. just try to avoid food that might cause u to feel more nauseous i guess?

for me, like littlepony, i oso didnt experience any MS thro out (touch wood)!

elaine,
if you can't have food, you have to take your prenatal vitamins. take banana and other fruits. they're wholesome.

The DBS Woman card promotions is for East Shore Hospital and Mount E as well. Here's more info:
<font color="blue">
* 10% off Room Rates (valid for East Shore Hospital, Gleneagles Hospital and Mount Elizabeth Hospital)
* 20% off Lodger Accommodation (valid for Gleneagles Hospital and Mount Elizabeth Hospital)
* 50% off Membership Fees (U.P. S$10) for Kiddies/Eagles Club at Gleneagles Hospital

DBS Woman's Card must be presented upon check-in. Not valid with packages, corporate discounts or benefits which a Cardmember may enjoy as part of his/her company's healthcare benefits.

For more details or enquiries, please call the Medical Referral Centre (MRC) 24-hour hotline at 6735 5000.

helo michelle, not true leh, i have same gynae as smiley and she's female, but she din ask me to watch my diet. prob coz i put on less weight than average and baby's fine. think it depends on individual lah.

flower, ilovebabies and puppylove...hehehe i think my questin is not answered leh. :p i know that newborns cannot use wet wipes, thats why i din mention wet wipes. i know we have to clean with cotton, either cotton pads or balls. BUT my qn is, since some cotton pads may be a bit rough, and balls are too small, anyone has considered using rolled up cotton wools? its just cotton wool, soft soft one, but rolled up into a tube to be sold. anyone?

puppylove, u got BH? it depends on doc. i told my gynae i have and she told me not to worry unless it comes every 15mins regularly for more than a hour. how often is urs? but if u wanna be sure, yes do ask ur gynae first.

smiley, our gynae ask me to count fetal movements during my 28th week checkup.
she say need min 10 kicks per day, from morning til night. some ppl say its around 12 hour period. and she say that for those occuring in clusters, count as 1. only when the kicks are more than 5 mins apart then count as 2.

about calcium, from what i understand, calcium requirements for preggies is around the amount we take for our supplments. mine is 600mg. but i think food calcium is still better than supplement calcium in being absorbed by our bodies, thats why doctors prefer us to eat/drink food rich in cal and not pills. for me, like smiley, i also dun take milk much, so doc give m e cal tabs. at times, if i feel like milk, i will stil take lah. if not, then i try to tell myself the cal tabs is enough for that day.

daisybuttons

how abt using cotton pads ? I wont be using rolled up cotton wools as I always see some strands of cotton dangling from it. I prefer using cotton pads. but if bb pass bowels, we have to use wet tissues right ?