(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Yes Bena.... heehee.. remember to take it.. 2 days woh.. very precious leh! I checked the calendar, seems like from Sept till end of the end, we will lugi 2 public holidays right? Hari Raya Pusa and Christmas...

Same as Smiley.. I am going to start my maternity leave only from the very last day before i deliver. I want to spend more time with baby and actually, i think waiting at home for delivery quite boring... haaa!

Oh.. did i mention that during my last checkup, gynae say my baby's head is at the bottom already. But when doing ultrasound, i can't actually figure out his actual position. haaa!!! I damn blur.

smiley,
think we'll only lugi Hari Raya, cos maternity leave would end b4 Christmas right? In fact, itz to the advantage of those like me planning to use annual leave to continue leave till end-Dec.

ay? You are right puppylove.. to extend till end Dec, the Christmas holiday is not going to affect the maternity leave! Heehee.. My EDD is end Sept, let's say I start to take my maternity leave on 25th Sept, then 12 weeks of maternity means I only need to come back on the 18th Dec. But taking into consideration 2 days of child care leave AND Christmas, I would only need to take 7 days of annual leave

smiley,
yup yup! And for me, I currently hv 16 days of annual leave to clear by this year. So instead of trying to take some b4 i deliver, I'm thinking of squeezing these 16 days after 2 mths of maternity (so these wld be used up by Dec), then continue my 3rd mth after that, till early Jan. But then again, not worth cos i'll lugi not only Christmas, but New Year's Day n Haji (1 & 2 Jan)! hmm... got to think thru' properly...

Smiley, yah lor...must definitely remember to utilize the 2 days child care leave. Really very precious. Otehr than that, i don't think i can extend my annual leave liao. My boss is waiting for me to go back after confinement, so that he can plan his holiday for his family. Anyway, will keep my annual leave, cos once in a while need to bring bb for vaccine jabs and checkups...so will need leave for that as well.

Wow, puppylove, u still have many days of leave to clear. Yah, must really plan properly, so as not to lugi the leave and the public holidays.

yalor, must plan properly. Any of u very good at calculating? Help me leh...
My EDD = 25 Sept
Maternity leave = 84 days including weekends n public holidays.
Annual leave to clear by Dec = 16 days
I foresee I may hv to start clearing leave b4 25 Sept le... heehee, thanks!

puppylove, if your EDD is 25-Sept, which means ur maternity will end on 25-Dec...which means only 4 days of annual leave needed so that u start work in Jan...and we estimate if you delivery 1 week earlier, then will be another 5 days annual leave to take at the end...based on my calculation, u may have about 6-days left to clear before delivery.

thanks bena!
hmm... if i deliver on 25 Sept, I've to return to work on 18 Dec, not 25 Dec leh... The more I try to calculate, the more tricky it becomes... cos i prefer to use all my leave after bb's born while at the same time don't want to lugi for nothing... guess i'm making it really complicated!!

hi puppylove, can you take 2 mths of maternity leave, followed by maybe a few days of 3rd mth maternity leave here and there, til reach hari raya and xmas period, use annual leave to clear those few days so u dun lugi? can a not huh?

lyn, i just PM-ed you.

puppylove, bena, littlepony, oh so same same lah? hehehe i am wondering how come now not so like kicks liaoz. thanks girls.

458009.png

wah u all do your leave planning until very shiok hor!

for me, i oso hv about 15 days of leave to clear by end of this yr, but i dun mind going back to work during xmas wk cos nobody works during that wk anyway ;)

so tat's y tot of taking 2 wks earlier lor. my EDD is 28 sep, so i tot of starting fr 15 sep onwards

btw, you all need to submit forms to your HR dept for the 3rd mth maternity leave one leh cos tat one is paid by govt so u need to fill up a form for your HR to send to the govt dept for reimbursemt

Hi hi hi

Saw my doc today abt the spotting. She did a swab test (to test for infection) and I'll know the results next week. She said it's probably nothing because it's not fresh blood. I'm not that worried because there's been no cramps and I still feel bb's kicks everyday.
I'm now 31 wks and bb weighed 1.667kg today!

The only thing is, doc said NO EXERCISE! Aiyoh, I know I shld be happy, but it's going to be difficult coz I've been going to the gym a few times a wk...
But it's all for the bb!! I must not over-exert!! (must keep tellg myself that, haha)

Michelle, my doc's the same as littlepony's, patients start seeing her fortnightly from wk 32 onwards. Then it's weekly visits in wk 36, 37, 38, 39... It varies, coz my hb's colleague started seeing her doc fortnightly from wk 28 onwards.

Smiley, thanx for the tip on the 2 days of childcare leave! I didn't realise it too!

Wah, all the calculation confused me man! I think I'll just ask my HR to help me calculate. Must ang-kat ang-kat them first, haha, so they'll give me the best "plan/option".

I plan to go back to work end-Jan, so like smiley and littlepony, I hope to work all the way to delivery day, must save leave! Every day counts man, coz I prob will have to take some no-pay leave.

ps: bought our bb cot today! so happy!

hi edksd

my bb weigh 1.364kg on my 29th week chkup. Doc say asian babies should weigh abt 1 - 1.2kg at this time, so my bb consider slightly bigger.

hey u very discipline ah ? I only do my pelvic exercise now and then .. cos that's the most impt exercise that we all should do now.

hi melissa

ya !! I always look forward to his Fri's constribution on TODAY ONLINE. so sad. did u see the hundreds of comments on his website ?

hi elaine

in our 3rd trimester, bb lungs are maturing now so I am not sure by which week are their lungs considered matured. some say from 36 weeks onwards. but then again, it depends on your bb's weight and your choice of delivery. if you prefer natural birth and your bb is on the chubby side, then it is good to induce. Some mothers actually chose to induce as they dont want surprises and end up making a mess in office for example.

gals, one tip. Dont take your maternity leave before you deliver. Ask gynae for MC or hospitalisation leave !! that way we can save on our ML and make use of the medical leave that we are entitled ! I intend to do that, see if my gynae allows.

hi smiley

what do u mean by 2 days child care leave ? my co gives 5 days child care leave for each child, provided you can produce the MC on the child.

hi joon

glad to know that you are ok ! phew ... just cut down on your exercise ok ? could be bb's weight sitting on you ah ? take care ....

458150.png

ilovebabies, smiley is talking about the extra 2 days childcare (non-sick) leave we are entitled to as part of the government's pro-family initiatives last yr. I also have 5 days childsick leave every yr for each child, this 2 days leave is on top of it, and u dun have to produce MC.

Joon, happy for you! glad u are okie and doc feels u are okie too. do take care, and dun risk exercising now in case causes early contractions kae? now we in 3rd tri, last lap to go. btw, wanna thank you for the tip on yahoo auction for the mini egg washing machine. guess what, we got one at $100 from one yahoo seller! hehehe brand new. what a good deal. collected oredi.

michelle, i think standard is from 30/32 weeks is fortnightly visits, then 36 weeks onwards is weekly.

hi daisybuttons

u r still awake !

ok that means on top of the 84 days of maternity leave, we will start work 3 days later since I can consume the child care leave after ML ?

Hi daisybuttons & ilovebabies! Still awake? I guess we're the night owls for today... I'm actually doing some work now :p and eating apple bread with cheese... yummy!
Thanx for ur concern
I will take it easy for the next 3 wks. Doc said shld be able to continue exercising once I reach wk 34.

ilovebabies, thanx for the tip on MC/hospitalisation leave. Really really useful! I wouldn't have thought of it man! Clever girl ;)

daisybuttons, that's just GREAT! I'm so happy u got a good deal. So much better than buying $1000 worth of petrol hor? Once in awhile, it's good to check out the auctions... can sometimes find good deals. I bought 1 maternity dress and 1 top from there
Sometimes, I sell stuff too

helo ilovebabies and joon, hehehe after posting that my hubby shoo-ed me off to orh orh liaoz. so din see ur replies.

joon, yes auctions are quite good. actually i bought a lot of scrapbooking stuff from overseas ebay and local yahoo, as well as a coach bag from ebay USA before. but somehow, just somehow, it din hit me to look for the mini washer in yahoo singapore until you tell me! hehehe. actually some ppl who wish to buy medela PIS can also get it cheap at ebay US, just that it doesn't come with the singapore voltage, need to buy adaptor. my hubby is quite active in yahoo one too. hehehe thanks! hey, apple bread and cheese sounds yummy! hehehee.

ilovebabies, think the 2 days leave is only applicable when baby's here. so i think, prob we need to come back after ML to apply for it? coz technically when we apply for ML our babies not born yet mah.

hi joon

no problem ! i also got this tip frm some MTBs ! but my gynae say mostly i may deliver early so I wont know when to start taking leave then .... he says first time mum usually deliver earlier ....

hi daisybuttons

i am always the one who ask my hubby sleep. haha ... he is a night owl also ...

ok so the 2 days child care leave is be taken separately lor .... anyway better than nothing !

i also clear my old stuff at yahoo auctions also ... it is really good ! can make some space in my store room and earn some bucks !

Hi gals, I'm back from my gynae visit. I've asked about the tightness and the downward pressure. He suspects that is some mild contractions and had given me some medicine to take. So gals, please please please let your gynae know if you are having such symptoms as well.

I think my baby seems to be SUPER big leh. I gained total 6.5 kg today, 0.5 kg more than visit 3 weeks ago. Everything goes to the baby! He weighs 1.4kg today! At 29 weeks 1 day! OMG!

daisybuttons,
u may be right abt taking some of 3rd mth ML till b4 Xmas, then switch to annual leave! cos the policy is that 3rd mth can be taken in blocks of 1wk each. So i can switch to annual leave during the 2wks of Xmas and New Year, then continue my remaining 3rd mth. But of course, this is subject to co.'s approval. Thanks for ur great idea!

joon,
glad u're ok! take it easy.

ilovebabies,
wah, another tip to save on ML! haha, will definitely consider asking for MC or hospitalisation leave!
I also like the character xuan1!
Other nice ones (to me lah) are yun4 and xin1. I've friends who named their daughters en1xin1 and xin1yi2.

Regarding the 2 days childcare leave, govt's policy is that itz part of the 5 days childcare/sick leave for each child, and not "on top of". So out of these 5 days u're entitled to, 3 must produce MC, 2 no need. For my co., I've to fill up a hard copy form to apply, so i intend to do so and mail the form to my co. sometime in Dec without having to return to work first.

dumpty,
did ur gynae check for contractions? Today I felt the pressure again immediately after I squatted down to tidy up some things on the floor. Think I shld avoid squatting entirely!! Will also let my gynae know during my visit on Thur. Thanks for the info!

Hi daisybuttons, ya I just LURVE auctions! ;) Heard on the radio today that the Webster dictionary is including a new phrase - MOUSE POTATO (computer addict). So funny! I am a mouse potato. My hb is the couch potato... oh dear, what's my bb going to be?? A cute potato? hahaha

Hi ilovebabies, that's what my gynae said too! So I might have an Aug baby, not a Sept one eh?

Hi puppylove, thanx for the concern
U be careful with the squatting too! Wow, I think I shld start seriously thinkg abt my ML, CCL and all that... but it's so confusing... :p ps: I like ur ticker... so colourful & happy

Hi dumpty, it's gd that it's all going to the bb
He's prob enjoying all the food that ur eating! Are u supposed to take the medicine from now on? Be careful & take care of urself

joon,
i'm glad your spotting is nothing to worry about. i agree with your doc too. maybe the spotting is a sign to tell you that your body can't take too many physical activities. so rest well.

ilovebabies,
yeah! the first thing i did was to visit mrbrown's blog and i was impressed to see that he has so many fans. there's also this one idiot who keeps flaming the blog but what to do. it's life. nevertheless, i will continue to patronage his blogs b'cos i think he's a brilliant, down-to-earth person. and hey! good tips about hospitalization leave before maternity leave! i will definitely bring it up to my doc! already rugi so many medical leaves this year! but yay i got 19 days of annual leave to date!

dumpty,
wow your baby is big! you should watch your diet now. i haven't had any uncomfortable contractions so far. everything seems well except for very bad heartburn on certain nights. my doc pesribed me with anti-gastric tablet.

i am back from my 28wk doctor's appointment. very brief one today b'cos my doc has to attend a delivery and did not give me any sonograms
but baby is in backward position anyway so i don't think i need the sonograms. however i caught it on video again! yay! anyway my scale must be spoilt or something. in the gynae's office, i learnt that i put on 2kg and baby is now 1.1kg!!! Yay I'm so very happy. i think i can continue to eat the way do (which is not much) and that baby will take care of her own. she's very active when the scan is made. she is now head down. i have also booked a double bedder from Gleneagles and even visited the ward. ok lah, not so big but ok lah. my next appointment is not until 32 weeks. my gynae confirmed to me that if my baby is born now (touch wood!), she will survive but will have to be put in the incubator. full term is 37 weeks.

i also learnt that i can get 10% discount on my gleneagles medical bills if i charge to DBS Woman Mastercard! yippeee another saving!

458428.png

halo gals !!

hey dumpty ... glad to know ur bb is well and fine !! happy hor ? ;) so what med did ur gynae prescribed ? is is Salbutamol? to relax the womb. sometimes my heart will beat v fast and hands will tremble after I took the med. think it is the side effect, it lasted for a while only.

hey puppylove

ya dun take things easily now .. any observation shld informed the gynae liao.

hey melissa

see !! the bb is gaining weight !! hippee !!
ya i saw the DBS woman's card promotion also, and keep telling hubby too bad no MAH promotion hehe ...

me going back to work on Monday liao .. sian liao ahhaha

Hi <font color="119911">pupplyove</font>, my gynae did not check for the contractions since I have not experience that symptoms for past few days. He only felt my womb and commented that it is very tight and he doesn't want any risk of me going into premature labour.

Hi <font color="119911">joon</font> and <font color="119911">ilovebabies</font>, I was prescribed 2 medicine to help relax the womb. One is Utrogestan and the other is Ventolin.

<font color="119911">Melissa</font>, yeah I gotta watch my diet already. Gynae commented that baby is growing a little too fast so I told hubby that no more tempting me to eat ice-cream and sweet stuff anymore!

<font color="119911">ilovebabies</font>, good to know you are well to go back to work already!
Still gotta take care hor...

My baby is already headdown. Too bad his face was facing inwards yesterday so it wasn't possible to take any pictures of his face
My checkup now shortened to 2 weeks already leh! So going again in my 31st week.

hi dumpty
ya ventolin is the other med for relax womb.did ur gynae advise u to minimise walkg ? now my movemts r monitored by hubby leh haha.

ilovebabies, 1 wk does pass really fast huh? Take extra care when u go back to work tomorrow

melissa, yay, ur bb is a gd size, no need to worry now
I have the DBS lady's card too and the offers are not bad huh? Went to Swell the other day and was pleasantly surprised to get a 10% discount! Aiyah, I forgot to video again on Friday!!!!!!!!

dumpty, wow! It's gd that ur seeing ur doc fortnightly now
Mine only starts from wk 32
I've got some Ventolin too, but thank goodness, haven't had a reason to take it yet... *phew*

458786.png

<font color="119911">ilovebabies</font>, nope I did not get any other restrictions from my gynae. In fact I went shopping right after the checkup yesterday.
Went to Robinsons to buy the PJs. Got 2 sets : 1 gown and 1 pant set. Both less than $20. Can't find any in JL which is a pity since they are having 20% storewide this weekend.

<font color="119911">joon</font>, yeah I'm happy my gynae say that he'll see me in 2 weeks time
Hope my baby will face outward next time...

hi joon !

ya lor ... 1 week too short haha .. shld have asked for 2 weeks .. but then my colleagues will be v tiring lor .. need to cover me at work.

458796.png

dumpty,
so envious that you get to see the doctor fortnightly now. mine is not until after 32 weeks. and yes too bad that both are babies are facing inwards on the scan hehe.

so sian tomorrow is back to work. but at least with a job, you don't get to think about your pregnancy too much. my gynae said week 28 is still honeymoon period no wonder i don't have any problems yet. she said if baby is as heavy as 2kg, the discomforts will start coming in. anyone's baby is over 2kg yet?

Bena, I've seen dr on saturday din use my videocam cos there was many patients waiting outside so i also chop chop.. heh..

My bb has gained 1kg since my last visit. WHOA! i was very surprised! now she is 1.9+kg. I told dr abt my hard tummy he told me to not walk too much now to prevent premature labour as baby is too small to come out better not take any risk. He said my bb is bigger than average at my stage.

I have gained only 800gm since my last visit, and bb gained 1kg, that is to say i'm 200gm lighter. hahaha! so cut down on carbo really works!

Dr just asked me to eat normally as he said could be genetic that bb is big so should continue to eat normally.

My next visit is 2 weeks later!

Melissa, my bb is almost 2kg alr. What kinda discomfort you mean? sorry i probably din catch the earlier posts. :p just reached sg 2 days ago busy with so many errands...

459224.png

Hellobaby! Wow! Your bb is big leh. The last time i was with Dr Lee, my girl is about 25w 5 days and 785g and he say is normal. He say by my next visit ard 29-30wk, baby is 1+kg (not crossing 1.5kg)...urs is 1.9! Wow...ur girl put on 1kg! But good lah...at least u know that bb is growing and u are not putting as much weight.

Ur prev visit is 4 wks ago izzit? I have to wait till Mon to see him
So how heavy are u now? I have to wait till next mon to see him and i have already put on 2+kg...haiz...

Oh, so once we reach 30+wk, our visit becomes 2 weeks once...that's good...can see bb more often liao. Ah yo...then i'd better check with Dr about my hard/heavy tummy. Reckon i should stop walking so much liao.

U take good care!

459311.jpg

Melissa, u called up glenE to make appt to tour the delivery ward and rooms izzit? I think i will also take the 2-bedder, the price difference between 1 &amp; 2 bedder is really too big liao.

Good morning to all,
I am pleased to find that DBS Woman's card has 10% discount off accomodation bills. I do not have the card and now, thinking if i should apply since i will be delivering at GlenE.
It's actually a huge saving leh.

Thanks for writing the promotion down in here, Melissa

hi hellobaby

wow ur bb is big !! how many weeks are you now ? My visit to the gynae is on this Thurs. eager to see my gal again !! ehhe

back to work on a rainy and sleepy mon. watched WC last nite but lasted till the Zidane took the penalty in the first half and I fall asleep liao ahahah
459381.png

ilovebabies,
Zidane took the penalty at its 7mins leh. Wow!! haaa!

I watched the WC last night as well. was hoping the two teams can finish off within 90 mins.. and then, i can sleep alreadi. didn't know that it went on and on. My baby also kick non stop. I kept telling him to sleep but he just moved throughout the night....and finally, at 5am, i slept ... and had to wake up at 730am.. now, abit in a daze!!! And my darling son still happily sleeping!!!!

Little Pony, I caught the World Cup too.. But I couldn't tahan the whole match.. just watched the first half.. I thought Italy played better last night (am only saying for first half coz I was fast asleep for the second half). So Italy deserved to win actually..

I heard that Zidane was sent off in the second half is that right? What happened? He was lucky the penalty kick (at the 7th min) crossed the line and counted as goal! Haha!
459397.png

littlepony, smiley

ya so tired to follow thru the whole match !!

Zidane was sent off becos he use his head to knock another player's head ... stupid of him ahah

Hahaha... he thought he has "Tie Tou Gong"?? Was it during the extra time or second half? So ilovebabies you followed through the whole match??

Smiley,
ya.. he was sent off becos he used his shaven head to hit another player's chest.. and that was the end of his career and that's how he ended his retirement. It's a pity that players given red card are not suppose to come to the field to receive the medal.

Italy played better during the 1st half.. so actually, you didn't miss much. They played less attacking at the 2nd half.. which i feel they should.. and end the game faster.... anyway, they continue till the penalty shoot-out and the whole game ended at 5am.

Wahaha.. so I made the right choice to go back to sleep after the first half.. heehee... Little Pony, what do you mean Zidane cannot receive the medal? Why end of his career? Coz he's too old and had been planning for retirement after this WC or because he has had a red card?

My baby seems to be sleeping while I was watching the WC, just like my husband!! Both of them are not the least interested in the game. I watched the game alone in my living room while my hubby was sleeping soundly in the bedroom and my baby in my tummy!

Smiley

he intend to retire one .. until france nearly cannot qualify for WC this year. So now he can officially retire liao .. but not very glamourous though

Ya Smiley,
He was planning to retire after this world cup. And he wasn't allow to be back at the field to receive the 1st runner up medals after the match since he received a red card.
I agreed with ilovebabies. not very glamourous retirement. Sigh!
Sometimes, i think people must learn how to hold their anger lor.
Haaaaa. Quite surprised that you watched the WC instead of your husband.....

Hey, just imagine that next WC, our baby will be 3 yrs old!!!

Bena, ya my previous visit was 4 weeks ago. I'm glad my gal is growing well. but i'm low on my haemoblogin!
dunno if this has affected my bb or not? now i have to be one 2 iron pills a day! yucky!

I'm 78kg now. Gained total of 20kg. Maybe you try cutting down on carbo too? eat more meats and vegetables. I wonder why i'm low in haemoglobin leh... sigh sigh sigh!!! been eating beef and spinach! Indonesia's food all "malnutrition" one!

Bena and Melissa, i've done my pre admission procedures. I'm taking up the 2 bedder.

ilovebabies, i'm in my 31 weeks. whoa i couldn't 'dong' to watch the soccer matches. Hear from my hubby abt Zidane. aiyo! maybe that player whispered something to provoke him.

Hi Hi,

So many posting, see until I blurred.

Anyone going to Mt E to deliver? Maybe can bump into each other as there's a couple of us here delivering last week of Sept.

Hellobaby, wow, is it becos of all the beef (protein) that ur girl is so big? I already cut down a lot on carbo. no rice (or VERY little). I mostly eat veg and meat...but then hor, i used to be very small eater and i put on weight easily..., so hubby say it's quite expected of me to put on weight easily now especially since our metabolism rate is so slow now.

Yeah, i almost same as u. 20kg.

Hhmm, how dr lee know that u low on haemoglobin? Did he do some tests for u? During my last visit, he ran through the triple test results with me and my haemoglobin level is ok. Is that how he know urs is low?

Wow...u gals all done the admission already. Guess i'd better do it quick. Just call up the hospital and make an appt with them izzit?

Hahah...all about Zidane and his tie tou gong this morning. I din watch it, but heard that the scene was quite funny. Guess the other player must have missed him real bad...cos Zidane is a very calm player huh...

Bena

you book the hospital via your gynae. His clinic should arrange it for you.

My gynae says preggies tend to feel dizzy and low on blood pressure in 2nd tri. In 3rd tri, by right we shld not feel it.