(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Hi edksd, at 28 wks, my bb was 1.3kg, almost 1.4kg. U are 28 wks now yes? Have u seen ur gynae this wk?

hi joon, my friend had spotting during her 2nd trimester. then she went to see her gynae few days later. gynae told her as long no cramp, shld be fine. she's now going to deliver soon in end jul!

457698.jpg

hi joon, my appt is next tue (whereby it'll be 2 days to my wk29)

my last appt was wk24 day4. bb weighs 750g. big according to gynae :p

how much is bb suppose to gain per wk averagely?

457714.jpg

are u all still doing the antenatal exercise everyday?

im doing everyday, but sometimes either forget or no time.

457722.jpg

Hi gals... Wow. The discussions really moved on the final preparation stage already!

Do we need to prepare the diapers already? So far I only have about a dozen of the cloth diapers plus a lot of diaper samples given to me from friends and relatives
How many should be enough for the 1st month?

I didn't know I'm not supposed to take chrysanthemum leh. I sometimes boil it to drink coz the weather really too hot!

For medisave, what my gynae do is to keep the receipt of the package for me and only give to me together with the hospital receipts. So the nurse assured me that I don't need to worry about the medisave claims.

<font color="119911">Melissa</font>, I also used to worry like you because I hardly gain weight until the previous 2 months. But my gynae always assure me that as long as baby is normal and healthy, there's no concern about how little weight I've gained. In fact, the last visit showed that my baby is slightly above avg size lor. So that kind of put my mind at ease.

<font color="119911">joon</font>, do take care. Keep us updated after your visit yah?

<font color="119911">edksd</font>, I'm going to my gynae tomorrow on my 29th week. I'll update you on my bb's weight but then, mine also on the big side leh

457726.png

helo joon, take good care dun move about too much okie. update us after ur gynae appointment later. as for the claims with receipts, this is the same as the medisave claims ah. point is u need to bring ur receipts to TMC during delivery day for any claims.

edksd and joon, hmmmm i dun think its lollipop brand leh. i bought kidzloft latex mattress during motherhood fair, its not lollipop brand hehehee. think it starts with G. their starting price about the same actually, around $160, as babysafe. edksd, u any idea how much the baby safe mattress selling at the taka fair?

melissa! hey good idea leh, the tip ur coll tell u. then i dun think u company dare to do that to you, or else you can complain until they "tng kor" (take off pants)! hehehee!

edksd, the mothercare tubs no longer on sale leh. :p i end up din buy the tub, coz tot will using the wedding red tub for the time being hehehe.

457729.png

edksd, what kinda of antenatal exercise you doing everyday. u veri discipline hor? at most now i will stretch my legs a bit in the morning, coz its usually tight and uncomfortable when i wake up. i dun dare to do any squatting. as for kegel, only do once in a while. what do you do?

457734.png

hi edksd,
my baby weighs 1.36kg when he's in wk 29...

hi melissa,
i'm thinking since i nv gain any weight but baby gain means i have been losing weight lor... my hubby also mention b4 tat after delivery i might be slimmer than b4 pregn.

i'm thinking of inducing labour when i reach wk 37... will be asking my gynae for advise when i see him 2wks later... cos i really cant stand all e MS n heartburn. throughout this whole pregn only in e 6th mth i nv vomit n i was full of energy... now is back to square one again... how i hope days of pregnancy will be over fast....

hi daisybutton, ive no idea how much is babysafe mattress at the fair as ive not been to the fair before.

is it? i went to see last weekend, the blue transparent tub is $35 but the white one is still $28.

i attended the antenatal class in tmc. so just do the exercises they taught in the class. things like ankle and wrist rotation, inner and outer thigh stretching, tricep stretch, chest opener, head rotation, cat stretch, pelvis rotation, etc. takes abt 7-10min only.

457750.jpg

Elaine, me too, dun enjoy pregnancy. THe only part i like is feeling my bb moving and squirming.

I still vomit now and then also. My most energetic time was only during the 5th month...

But elaine, dun induce lah... let the bb grow more when ur bb is ready she will be out lah.. just some weeks left, already come this far! jia you!

Elaine,
I agree with hellobaby. Don't induce.. let baby come out naturally... every baby has a specific time and day that they r meant to be out... therefore, i am sure baby wants to choose his or her own birthday mah! Tolerate for another few more weeks! we are getting there!!!!

elaine,
that's what i thought too. i lose weight to the baby. good to know i can be slimmer after pregnancy 'cos i've been slightly overweight anyway. so this is good news. and pls don't induce if you can. it's only 9 months of suffering and you have a few weeks to go only. i believe that you shouldn't go against nature if you can help it. last time when i was pregnant, i never have all this symptoms that's why i end up with miscarriages. so with symptoms i'm happy to know that baby is very healthy and growing well.

hellobaby,
i'm sorry about your MS too. i heard MS might come back in the 3rd tri. so far, i'm ok, still look fine and feel even more fine.

daisybuttons, edksd,
i only do kegel and i translate housework to light exercise hehee. i avoided squatting though.

dumpty,
thanks for your weight assurance

So envious of you gals there with no huge weight gain.. Last time (first trimester and early second trimester) I used to worry whenever i go to the gynae and weighed myself and found that I didn't gain much. Now I am gaining so fast that I have to start controlling my diet.. and as you know, third trimester is the time your appetite is the biggest!! I don't know how to differentiate between real hunger or telling myself mentally I am not hungry actually but just have the urge to eat.. Don't want to starve baby if I am really hungry but refuse to eat, but then again, worried that it's just my mouth "itchy" that psycho me to snack... heehee..

hi smiley, try to snack on healthy stuff (like fruits?), then it's not so bad.

whenever im home alone, even when im not hungry, i really feel like snacking on tidbits. but nowadays not much tidbits at home, those belong to my hubby's as im not allowed to take tidbits. so i bought a lot of fruits just in case i need to satisfy my snacking pang.

but still i try to limit myself even for fruits coz they're oso high in sugars for some.

whenever i go out, i really feel like drooling when i see donuts, tuh-tuh kway, mr bean pancake, etc. but i know i just cant hv them coz ive gestational diabetes. ive to turn my head away and quickly walk past.

so i think everyone has their own problems/difficulties. just hv to deal w it

457781.jpg

Melissa, you are lucky! I have morning sickness from beginning, 1st trimester was the worst! Whatever i ate i threw up, and i would eat again, cos that time also still in jakarta very paranoid abt miscarriage so once i threw out i ate again cos thinking so long i eat some food would stay inside. There was one week i had to stay in bed, was feeling so giddy, my sis asked me to try eating more carbo i tried and i felt better, that's how i put on so much weight lor... (abt 20kg in total now)

Now better, but still funny smell after my meals, think now more used to it so will try to curb the nauseous till cannot tahan then throw out.

457784.png

elaine, i also agree with the gals. Don't induce, unless there is a real need to. I know all the heartburns and MS can be very uncomfortable...but this is part and parcel of pregnancy...wei da de mu qin...must endure ok

Smiley, i also envy the gals...think me and hellobaby going to champion in weight gain liao :p

Hellobaby, tmr u going to see Dr.Lee right? Keep me posted k...want to know about bb weight as well as his reaction to our weight gain...think by the time i see him in 1+ wk,i am going to gain a total of 5-6kg since last visit liao.

Smiley, dun curb ur appetite! if you feel like eating or when you feel hungry just eat! if you scared you'll put on too much weight then choose healthier and nutritious food like fruits, salad, lean meat etc. once in a while indulge in small bits of chocolates of desserts. should be fine.

There are some sayings, we are eating what the bb wants to eat.
Dun deprive ur bb

hi hellobaby,

i think my bb poor thing, what he wants to eat, i cant eat. but anyway, i already explained to him our situation (GD). we've to go thru it together. mommy cant eat, u cant eat too. but it's all for the sake of u. if mommy can be a warrior, so must u. tts how i got the inspiration for his chinese name which we've decided last mth.

457800.jpg

Bena, ya seeing him tomorrow, will keep you posted. Laugh it off with your weight, i'm always joking abt it with my hubby. never been this huge, treat it like an experience you not gonna have again! haha! what's sad is my stretch marks! alot all over my hips and buttocks leh...

Hellobaby, yah lor...i also laugh it out lor...once in a lifetime to be this huge...just 'enjoy' it lah :p

What well, shouldn't be bothered by the weight at the moment. Most impt is bb healthy :D

yu(4) kai(3)

yu as in yu(4) bei(4) - preparing

kai as in kai(3) xuan(2) - victory

the moment he's in my tummy, he's preparing to win in life. so no matter how difficult it's going to be, he'll survive!

457818.jpg

thks everyone... i shall see how... is reallyso much of suffering... every morning i wake up feeling so so refresh but once i startmy 1st bite or drink i will start feeling uncomfortable... then e whole thg will last till i sleep at nite... nausea, vomit, heartburn, headache... tummy tenderness everythg will sure come although not all come together but is already so much for me to suffer. i seldom feel uncomfortable except for 1 month. i will seek my gynae advise n see how lor...
so far i seldom take med given by gynae especially antacid cos i read a mag says unless really cant tahan then eat... so usually i will try to fall asleep to make it go away...

edksd, what a nice and meaningful name!!! i love it! i'm sure your bb is a strong boy!

I haven't decided on the chinese name for my gal... sigh... thinking thinking..

edksd,
i like the "kai" character! if mine is a boy, i wld use it too!

Someone here will b seeing gynae this Sat and asking abt the downward pressure some of us sometimes feel right? Sorry, can't remember who! Do update us after ur visit k?

I haven't been sleeping well these past few nights. Dunno why bb exceptionally active... the kicks r ok, itz her squirming and pressing that can be v uncomfortable at times. She has been 'attacking' the top part of my tummy, the tightest part and least room for her i think, so much so that i can't fall asleep! Even now as i type, she's still stretching against me... I know itz good that she's moving abt, but itz still hard to bear at times loh.. anyone 'suffering' similarly???

Elaine, I agree with what the gals said. Don't induce... it's better to let the bb come out naturally. Try to take antacid if you are having very bad heartburn... I've been experiencing heartburn almost everyday now and I try to tahan if I can.... If really can't, I'll take antacid and it helps to a certain extent.

Hi smiley, I'm getting hungry more often now, but I'm trying to stick to 3 meals a day coz don't want to gain too much weight... Can you imagine.. sometimes my stomach started growling in the middle of the night after I visited the toilet... but I usually ignore and go back to sleep.

puppylove, me too, started yesterday i feel my bb squeezing up the top part of my tummy but mine during daytime, very active also. Wonder if it's becos she is engaging soon?? I'm so glad i'm going back sg tonight...

helo elaine, pls dun induce. think carefully about this kae? giving birth is a natural function, so everything shld be as natural as is possible. by inducing, ur body and baby is not ready for labour and you are forcing it to go into labour with drugs and med, not good for everyone. just our tots lah, the decision is urs, but try to endure a bit longer kae? jia you!

edksd, hey i love your boy's name leh! very nice, and its good that u have a reason for naming that, like theres a meaning to it, so nice. sigh....we think think think hor, also have not decided on an english name for our boy leh, that both hubby and i likes.
how ah? chinese name too.

puppylove, my baby's kicks now are mostly at the top part of my tummy too. but i dun find it painful lah, on the contrary, find his kicks now a bit more restricted like dat, machiam like no space, more like pushing and squirming. anyone feels this way?

smiley, perhaps u try to eat more healthy snacks when u feel hungry or just "chan zui"? things like cereals? fruits? cheese, a piece of cooked ham etc.....these are things i turn to when i get hungry, though occasionally i will indulge in sinful things like icecream, cakes or tau sa pia hehehehe.

<font color="119911">edksd</font>, so nice... you have chinese name for your boy already. I'm still thinking. Plus my FIL thinks that there may be a "jia pu" to follow but he never update us again.

<font color="119911">puppylove</font>, I'm the one who wants to ask my gynae on the downward pressure. Will update you gals. Funny thing is that for the past few days I never experience that anymore! But I'll still ask him anyway.

I'm also getting hungry more often. But I'm eating less every meal. Still, I keep eating ice cream! And my husband even eat with me, never bother to stop me!

hi daisybuttons, dun worry, one day u'll sure come up w the right n nice name for ur bb. dun hv to rush into it.

for me, im only having chinese name coz i find tt if i get an english name, most likely everyone will be calling him the english name and forgotten abt the chinese name. to me, chinese name is more meaningful.

just like my friends' kids, we all rem them by their eng name, cant even recall their chinese names. what a waste if their parents really gave them a gd chinese name.

457835.jpg

hi puppylove, the word kai is chosen by my husband. we both agreed to brainstorm on our own for a name for our bb, then come together and see which one is better or whether can combine. he only managed to select kai which he likes v much. so i really wanted to preserve the word kai for our bb name.

hi dumpty, i think if ur FIL didnt update, u can ask him for update mah. dun wait until too last min.

457838.jpg

Puppylove, i also loved the word "Kai" in fact, i have prepared both girl and boy name...but since mine is girl, "kai" is out liao :p

hi bena, i tot kai can be used on girls too? i rem i used to hv a female classmate called kai xin, and my friend's daughter is called kai xi.

457844.jpg

daisybutton, not that cannot use "kai" for girls...just that hubby is using those direct translation between chinese and english names. We have actually prepared 2 names (1 for boy and 1 for girl). So, our girl name not using Kai...heheh

Hello Gals,
Sorry to intrude...

Hi daisybuttons,
I dunno if you still remember me... Finally found you here...
Congratulations to you!
Wish you a smooth delivery

Are you expecting a gal or boy??

I know.. now I don't dare to touch the ice cream and chocolates in my fridge. Previously I help myself to these almost every night.. heehee...

My resolutions now are
1)have not more than 1 kg weight gain from now till the next gynae visit
2)try my best to go for natural birth so that I can heal faster and start exercise sooner
3)breastfeed my baby as many months as possible (6 months preferably) so that I can let baby have the best feed and also I can slim down faster
4) gain back my figure before I go back to work!!

Heehee... let's see whether I can achieve these few months from now... >:D

Daisybuttons,
yes.. my baby kicks r not kicks anymore.. i feel more of him pushing... and squirming ..like you describe. I wonder if it's normal... and he sleeps alot during the day.. and at night, that's where his pushes will come. Izzit becos not enuff space?

daisybuttons, i oso feel that bb kicks less now and is more of squirming and puhsing
think it must be getting tighter in there hee hee

is it necessary to buy those baby bath tub? cos one of our relatives told us just use the big red tub can liao.

joon, do keep us updated on your condition yah? impt thing i think is to minimise your movemt and of course dun carry heavy stuff. try to rest more

i hv gained 16 kg in total - can almost fight with bena and hellobaby liao haha ;)

when i went for check up at 27th wk, bb was 1.3kg - a bit on the big side too! but then given all our nutritious diets these days, i'm not surprised if all of us have bigger babies now compared to many many yrs ago!

next check up is at the end of this mth. cant wait! btw, does anyone know when the gynae will ask us to start goin more often like fortnitely instead of mthly? is it fr 30 wk onwards?

Hi Michelle,
I didn't buy the baby bath tub too. i am using the big red tub.. but i buy a bathing mat to put in the tub so to prevent slipping.

My gynae did mention to me from week 32 onwards, have to go fortnightly... and then as it gets nearer have to go weekly.

littepony, hmm that's a gd idea. think i shd get those non slip mats too
add up the cost of the tub n the mat still will be cheaper than buying those tubs specially designed for bb! hee hee
oh fr 32nd wk onwards then is fornitely huh.

hey when are you gals gonna start taking your maternity leave ah? i tot of starting 2 wks b4 my EDD. is that too late/early?

littlepony, don worry about ur bb being active at night and sleep most of the day. I am also like that. And i read on a website that it's the case for bb now and it doesn't equate to bb being a night owl when born...so no worries.

My girl also squirms abt a lot and pushes rather than kicks. i suspect that my girl has already turned, cos i get most of her jabs into my ribs! Wow, that can be quite painful at times and sometiems she pushes out and the top of my tummy feels so tight and can be painful. Still, i enjoy all these pain and actually earns for more :p

michelle, my visit to the gynae is once in three weeks now.. I am 28 weeks now.. I hope to take my maternity from the very last day just before I give birth so that I can have more time for baby.. and I need to come back only in 2007. Heeheehee... I wonder whether that's possible if I include my annual leave and childcare leave...
Gals, remember to take the 2 days child care leave for this year! Don't lugi! Heehee..

hi gals, yup tat's what i mean - bb is now pushing n squirming more rather than kicking. U're right, guess less space to kick now. But she's rather strong, her movements can wreck havoc on my tummy at times - mixture of Kallang waves n earthquakes! I suspect she's probably engaged too! Will find out fr gynae next Thur.

dumpty,
me too, haven't felt that pressure since tat time. But wld still be useful to know wat it means. Thanks for checking!

Smiley, once we delivered, we are considered to have 2 days child care leave already ar? Wah! Thanks for the info. Din realized the child care leave!

Long time no post!

Talking abt bb movement, I always feel my bb move on my right side, hardly can feel my bb move on my left side. Anyone experience this also?

smiley,
oh ya hor! i also didn't realise we're eligible for childcare leave!! wow! tat'll save me 2 days of annual leave cos I was thinking of using it to extend my maternity leave to end-Dec! Thanks!

yuna,
i guess it depends on ur bb position? i've felt bb mainly on my right side b4, but as mentioned, think she has shifted, so now she's making movements at the top of my tummy.