(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Daisybuttons,
i was thinking of PJs during my stay in the hospital. I am delivering in Gleneagles so muz bring own gown... therefore, i tot buy presentable ones coz later, relatives come and visit me, have to look okie mah. of coz at home, wear usual home clothes is fine.
Wow.. from $70 to less than $30.. good bargain leh!

littlepony, oh sorry i read sala hehehe hospital wear huh? actually i bought the karen neubeuger one also hospital wear one. oh but how come gleaneaglee must wear own clothes? i visit my friend there she wearing hospital gown leh?

u oso dun walk too much if u feel tired yar?

Hi smiley and Bena
Happened to browse thru this thread and saw all the lovely tickers. My 2nd baby is due in Sept too. Can pls advice how to add in the lilypie tickers? I've created one but somehow can't post it. TIA!

Oh.. i muz tell u all one story. Yesterday, i was at Chinatown with my colleague. Then we wanna take taxi back. Seeing the long queue, we decided to call a cab instead.

So 5 mins later, our taxi arrived. So naturally, we see our taxi, we went towards it and I went to open the taxi door. An old AUNTIE screamed at me say I have to queue. While i was opening the door, she pushed me leh! I took a few steps back! Shocked and amazed of her reaction!

The taxi driver explain to her it's on call. She then walked away without saying sorry to me! I so upset! She didn't see my big tummy izzit?

There were tourists at the queue and the tourist screamed at me and my colleague as well. I had to raise my voice saying 'I called the cab' ..and the taxi driver had to explain to them too!

Oh gosh! I got in the taxi and feeling so angry over this! How can she push me!!

I complain to my hubby and he said next time, just let the taxi wait for a while before walking to the taxi. I have to agree with him loh...

Daisybuttons,
oh izzit.. i tot have to bring own gown leh. Anyway, i just go buy if it's cheap loh.. can wear at home as well mah. easier for breastfeeding too!

Yap.. thanks! Now, i am still feeling alright.. not too heavy.. maybe last week, food poisoning.. lao sai.. so feeling lighter this week! haaa!

I am hoping to walk more becos people say walk more, labour easier.

pringles, you have to upload as an attachment

Nope.. you save the ticker image in your local harddisk (as a png file format), then below your username and password, you see two buttoms.. the right button shows "Upload Attachment" right? Click on that, then browse to select the file you have saved, and then you can post it.. the image will be displayed automatically! Good luck trying.. if this is not clear enuff, the gals here will help u.. I am going off, so may not be able to reply till tomorrow

Littlepony, pple are so bad these days!! SINGAPORE WAKE UP!

Luckily you did not fall else SUE that woman! Public assault! So horrible!

Next time dun go immediately to the taxi i agree... wait a while let everyone in the queue OPEN THEIR EYES BIG BIG and SEE CLEARLY first before accusing anyone!

Poor thing you! I know how you feeling! So humiliated yet so helpless and preggie!!

I feel so angry for you! Should write to some ST Forum!

hellobaby,
thanks for sympathising with me! I do feel humiliated leh.. very paisey.. but no choice, so many pairs of eyes seeing us but we did nothing wrong.

Just can't stand that auntie who pushed me away while i open the door! Luckily the taxi driver speak up for us!

Just imagine everyone shouting at us ' Hey, queue up! '

So i learn my lesson. Don't go to the taxi immediately!

littlepony,
I feel so sorry for you too! How can that auntie become so emotional! Anyway it's an odd circumstances. Just let it pass but thanks for telling your story here, at least we all know what to do now.

Ha! The tickers are very cute indeed. Must put!

456244.png

Littlepony, that aunty is horrible. How can she just push...even if u are not preg also cannot like that push ppl mah! And the ppl in the queue also dunno how to read the cab display that says "on call" meh? Yah lor...maybe next time should wait for a while before proceeding to the cab. Then again, usually on call cabs won join in the taxi queue mah...how come the taxi uncle drove into the queue ar?

Hi Pringles...welcome! Are u having a prince or princess? How's your ticker getting along? Able to attach?

Littlepony, cheer up ok?!

I believe in Karma.

Good thing you are ok!

Gals, Take extra caution when we are out.. not everyone has feelings for preggies..

Hi Pringles, welcome!

Littlepony, i can imagine exactly how you feel loh! coz it happened to me before too! but that was before I am preggie. i think for your case is a yellow cab or those cab without a digital LED display on top one right? that kind ppl wun know its on call unless they open eyes big big see their on-call sign, IF the uncle put lah. or else very hard for us to defend ourselves leh! once mine was no LED display one. there was another time got LED display but its not working! so from afar nobody can tell its on-call, so i could feel ppl staring daggers at me loh, and I was alone. so i purposely pointed at his display board and tell him its spoilt, so ppl will know something's different loh. sigh...but very hard for us to defend unless the uncle can wind down window and shout out to the rest? that auntie is too much loh! how can she push u? she got no conscience one ah! sigh.....very ugly singaporeans leh.

Hello mummies, hellobaby, daisybuttons and Bena
Thks for the warm welcome
and help. Yes, managed to attach my ticker. But just wondering since its an attachment, does it mean we have to attach each time we post again and does the dates update automoatically? I bet everyone in this thread is so excited our babies are arriving soon..soon

456366.png

<font color="119911">Littlepony</font>, sayang.... Poor thing to be scolded when you did nothing wrong at all. And that auntie!!! How can she push u when you are preggie!!!
kao_angry.gif

Hi <font color="119911">pringles</font>, when's your EDD? How old is your #1?

456369.jpg

puppylove

i am oredi walking like a penguin at times !! haha .. swaying from left to right and right to left .. but it does feels better walking this way ...

melissa

good one .. telepathic sia .... yes I am very amazed. ya my company is quite pro family one ...so they encourage family planning.

btw melissa, dun drink barley water now since we are in our 3rd trimester oredi .. have to prevent taking cooling stuff ... dun want to have early labour right ?

just drink more water.. if you are dehydrated, the body will store water and you will have water retention.

this morning i was on bed and my baby was having her daily hiccups.. then I quickly ask hubby to listen to any sounds made by her ... but too bad.. he said he can only feel the jolts made by her and hear nothing ..

melissa maybe you can use the prenatal heart listener when your baby hiccups and see what you can hear !

daisybuttons

I feel HOT 24 hrs a day !! when I have cooled down, and bb starts to move, she generates the heat and energy inside me and I start to feel hot again !!! I cant tahan the weather and it has not been raining !!!

at my mum place, i need to switch on 2 fans to cool me down ok ! feels like wasting electricity ehhehe

hi edksd

I have stopped taking birdnest. Heard we shld not take in 3rd tri ... dunno why though ..

Littlepony

I got those silky pajamas set (shirt and long pants). Some come in plain color or with cute prints. I think it is cooler for me and easier to BF since it is buttons in front. You can easily get them from neighbourhood shops.

Hi pringles

Welcome !! hey think our EDD is very near ...

gals I think it is the timezone problem such that the tickers are reporting a different week and days ...

use tickercentral.com lor .. it comes with regional settings
456388.png

Pringles, each time u post, u have to go create ur tickers again and attach it to your post. The ticker won update automatically.

Is Nigel your #2? How old is your #1?

ilovebabies, heheh, u just complained last evening that it hasn't been raining and this morning it's raining cats and dogs :p How i wish i am nicely tucked in bed...sian...have to work

Daisybuttons,
U damn clever leh! It's the yellow cab I am talking about with no LED display.. only a sign that driver hook in front saying ' ON CALL'. The driver did wind down and explain to people in the queue that we called the cab. Anyway, i think i learn my lesson. Whether preggy or not preggy, i think i just wait for a while before going up an 'ON CALL' taxi. Or else, the ugly Singaporeans + tourists will just make a big fuss! Haaa!

Hi all, NTUC is having special offer for baby products from today till 19 Jul. Pampers Premium Cotton Care New Born 36's is going at S$29.75 for two (Original price S$30.80 for 2) and Pampers Premium Cotton Care Small 58's is going at S$21.50 per pack (Original price is S$22.50)... This is the cheapest I have come across so far as I've been comparing prices between carrefour, giant, cold storage and some provision shops...

It will still be cheaper to get it from Carrefour if you have the POSB everyday credit card as you will get 5% rebate for all purchases.

helo gooda morning!

pringles, yep u gotta update ur ticker before you upload it here, every day hehehe. and for those with diff time zones, u may find they may report the day wrongly in the early part of the day. if US, think only 3pm then same day as us.

ilovebabies, u see lah, u complain no rain this morning rain big big let you see lah!hahaha.... hhhmmm.... i dun like fans. dunno why since young i hate fans. no matter how hot i am, i wld prefer aircon or just sweat it out. hate to have a fan blowing directly at me, esp when i eating hehehehe. anyway, i do feel the difference oredi, though not "HOT" like you said. nowadays my hubby turn down the aircon in the bedroom to lower temp, but i still find i push down the duvet to sleep so that my upper body is free. u said birdnest cannot drink in 3rd tri? no leh, i heard that if u drink in 3rd tri u are directly "bu-ing" baby, coz now his skin is forming and the nutrients will help him. i am going to eat more regularly now.

think my side also quite good, MC 30 days. now i dunno left how many days leh. someone asking right? think smiley? i took 5 days coz in 1st trimester got spotting, then subsequently got 1-2 days for a few times. prob about 20days or less left now?

littlepony, yah loh exactly, the yellow cabs loh, coz the others can't see its on call sometimes mah. true lah, next time just wait a while before going forward. u can also try making the "calling" sign with your hands and putting ur hand to your ear, pretending to ask/tell the taxi driver, but actually to show the others in the queue that you "called" for a cab.

456604.png

hi amy, thanks so much for the pampers thingie. i do intend to buy that. but u have any idea how many NBs and Ss to buy? coz i heard some babies grow out of NB within 1 week! as for carrefour 5%, only the posb card have ah? any others? but if i only buying 3 packs for example, not much diff hor?

haha.. so much trouble just to call for a cab.. geez... Little Pony, it must have been so embarrassing for you!! I feel for you...

Just read an article on Today paper, about people not giving up seat to pregnant women and other needy.. Well, I was reading the paper standing up.. hahaha.. no one offered a seat. And I read that Singapore ranked 30th out of 35 countries on courtesy.. so what do you expect? :p
456610.png

Ilovebabies, my mom also told me that now is the best time to eat birdnest and everything actually, cos all the nutrients is directly going to the bb now. Previous months, we are bu-ing our own body.

daisybuttons, ur co also very good. 30days mc.

amylim, how many months will the newborn diapers fit the bb? when should we start to change to small?

hi daisybuttons, NBs cater for babies up to 5kg whilst Ss are for babies between 3 - 8 kg. To be on the safe side, you may want to consider buying Ss instead since you mention that some babies grow out of NB within 1 week....

Only POSB everyday credit cardholders are entitled to 5% rebate. If you are intending to buy 2 packets of NBs for eg... the carrefour price after 5% rebate is S$14.33 (before rebate is S$15.09). Compared with NTUC special offer, the savings is S$1.09 per pack

hi girls..

juz to share...

try not to stock up on pampers' S size as they are even smaller than mamypoko's newborn size... cos my fren gave me her stock of pampers cos her baby outgrew them within a month... and after comparing the pampers S to MP's NB, they are indeed smaller...

Hi Amy, but with ntuc promo, each NB 36 is $14.88 mah, compare to carrefour $14.33 only 54c diff, okie lah hor? unless i buy a lot a lot....coz i dun have posb everyday credit card leh. yah lah true, if S ones is for 3-8kg, then make more sense to get more S than NB. hehehe thanks.

Emma, thanks for that piece of info. i do hear that diff brands S are diff sizes...hmmm....but i have set my heart on pampers at least for 1st few months. will change to either mamy poko or huggies after that if so decided.... perhaps will reconsider the numbers of packs to buy then, thanks!

Emma, so if we are going to buy pampers, then we can actually give NB a miss, cos S already smaller than MP's NB...

i guess it depends on the size of ur baby... maybe pampers NB will be good for nb baby girls.. my fren's bb's a boy.. so S size also too small for him...

but mamypoko NB he can wear.. at least for the 1st month lahz.. hehe.. then after that he balloon alr.. hehe...

oic. Hhmm...then maybe i shouldn't buy the diapers now...else later cannot wear...cos my mom will be using nappy for at least the 1st week or so...

bena... sounds like a good idea to me.. hehe..

i have 5 packs at home alr... got pampers, mp and fitti... all cos my fren's bb cannot wear.. but pple gave him for his full month.. hehe..

Emma, yah hor...full month or frds visiting us in hosp might give as well hor...hhmm...good good then i don have to worry abt diapers for the time being...so many brands and sizes and types to choose from

ilovebabies,
Alamak i thought by this time baby is big and able to produce it's own body heat so it's ok to take cooling stuff once in a while? Anyway my body is already naturally heaty so if I take heaty food everyday I can get nosebleeds. That's why I take barley drinks sometimes 'cos it was discussed here that chyrsanthemum tea is even more cooling.

Smiley,
I think from now on, forget about being graceful and courteous. Sometimes I can't help but think it's the govt that makes us Singaporeans this way. It's very stressful living in Singapore where everything is "pay-and-pay". Govt give back only a little but makes such a big fuss over it. But oops I digress. I love reading Mr Brown columns in Today paper. He truly represents the voice of the heartlander and he's a very good daddy!

Girls, I'm very happy that we're talking about diapers now! We have gone a long way!! I'm very excited to be in the third tri already! My friend recommended Pampers and Huggies. Suitable for sensitive skin.

456698.png

Oh i forgot to ask if you girls heard that the antenatal package we signed up with our gynaes is Medisave-claimable? Has anyone claimed yet? My aunt told me this and I remember seeing it in a govt website. But I need to know if anyone has gone through it?

Melissa, din know that antenatal package also can claim medisave. Tot only the neonatal test can claim. Hhmm...

helo melissa, yah i also heard pampers is good, huggies also got good comments. mamy poko also recc by friends.

I will still buy 3 packs loh. for me, i wun buy diapers for friends as gifts or 1st mth, coz it all depends on baby preference. so i dun expect my friends to buy diapers for my baby as gifts leh hehehe. I will prob stock up 1 NB (only 36 pieces, last only 4-5 days), 1 S and 1 Mamy poko S? hehehe. and i think TMC will give us the remaining pack of NB they use on our baby. newborns esp on bf needs a lot of diaper changes, so actually even one pack of 58 pieces can only last a week or so.

about antenatal package, we are supposed to keep ALL the reciepts we accumulated and bring them to TMC on day of delivery. nurse will teach us how to seperate them and claim and do the procedures for us. thats what i heard. u can't claim now....

melissa, yeah same here, when i reached 28 weeks i am so excited you know!?
so happy loh. yes we have come a long way, now is the last lap, happy happy. regarding what i say above, rem to keep all ur reciepts nicely and in one place okie?

456756.png

daisybutton, so we have to bring all the receipts with us...hhmm, must remember to pack into the bag then
Thanks for the info.

Bena, ask you har.. if use nappy, should handwash the nappy or can throw into the washing machine? And do you by any chance know those barley that we ordered from coffee shop are chinese or english barley? Some I know they use powder and taste horrible..

Melissa, I know.. I also like Mr Brown's website.. Have you heard the Mee Pok podcast from him before? It's very funny.

bena...

ya.. muz bring.. if not ur hubby muz leave u to go home and take after u deliver... v sianz one right... hehe...

if i am not wrong, antenatal package can claim $450 from medisave... what abt hospital bills huh?

Smiley, eerr, i am not too sure abt the washing of the nappy at the moment. I will be putting the nappy liners first...so i hope it doesn't soil the nappy that badly. Based on my own thinking, i think i will use hand to wash daily. Will first wash away the poo poo then soak in a pail...every night then wash and hang dry. Don think the load will be enough to put into the washing machine? I go check with my mom and let u know

Emma, yah lor. Think i better start deciding which bag i will bring and first thing to put in are the receipts! :p Heard that it will take a while to process the claims. Yup, $450 for antenatal package (which includes the triple test we did, right? That's what i was told by the nurse).

The hospital bill can claim up to about $1050 if i remembered correctly, but this amt depends on method of delivery. C-sect can can claim more.

Smiley, sorry, missed out ur queries on the barely. I think those sold at coffee shops are english barely. Chinese barely tends to have a more distinct taste and the barely are usually bigger and don think ppl eat the barely.

Smiley,
Yeah I heard about the Mee Pok podcast!! LOL!! Excellent parody of WP vs PAP.

daisybuttons,
Oh no my receipts are everywhere! Don't know if I remember where I put them. Maybe can ask my nurse to generate a duplicate for me so that I can claim. I spent $800 on the antenatal package starting from 16 weeks onwards liao! Will be nice to claim half if not nothing at all.

Bena,
I'm confused. I don't know got English barley and Chinese barley. The one I have is GoldKili instant barley. It's those barley that's grounded into a fine powder added with sugar. But in coffee shop, i prefer to order home made barley, so that's chinese barley right?

useful link
Medisave Maternity Package FAQ

Extracted from above link:

<font color="blue">How do I make a claim from Medisave for my pre-delivery medical expenses under the Medisave Maternity Package?<br>
Parents who wish to make a claim under the Medisave Maternity Package just have to present the bills incurred for their pre-delivery medical care to the hospital where they will be having their baby. The hospital will submit these bills, together with the delivery expenses, for Medisave claims under the Medisave Maternity Package.

Now that Medisave can be used for pre-delivery medical expenses, does it mean that I do not have to pay for these medical expenses?
No, you would still have to pay for the pre-delivery medical expenses in cash. To make a claim for pre-delivery medical expenses under the Medisave Maternity Package, you will have to retain all the bills incurred and present them to the hospital when you are admitted for the delivery of your baby.

Do I need to present the bills in order to claim for my pre-delivery medical expenses? What if I had thrown them away?
Yes, you need to provide these bills as proof of expenses incurred for your pre-delivery medical expenses. If you no longer have these bills and wish to make a claim, you will have to obtain certified true copies of the bills from your doctor.

Looks like some of my questions are answered.

Emma, i will definitely opt for natural, unless gynae advised against. In my opnion, we should try natural for the 1st birth, then will get to experience the whole birthing process...of course unless gynae adviced against. Just my 2 cents worth