(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

<font color="119911">Bena</font>, you have to pay for your printouts? Hmmmm... My gynae never ask me to pay leh. I think I'm going to ask if can help to capture one with the baby's face next time. Hehe... Hope he don't mind. I don't have a video cam so can't bring that along. Besides, hubby gotta work this Sat so I have to go alone.

Actually I can't wait for my baby to come out. Then can hold him, feel him and cuddle him. Now, every wait in between checkups really make me wonder how he is growing. But when he comes out, like what michelle says, it will be goodbye to ANY sleep...

Pupplylove, dumpty...yup, i paid $20 each visit since 1st for the photos...but it's weird, cos since i am paying all along already, suddenly gynae just stopped giving me photos for my 1st visit at wk20 when i started the package. Maybe bcos bb too big to capture photos liao. Anyway, i still told gynae that i wanted, so he printed out 1 for me...her face :D

Dumpty, no vcam nevermind. Use ur mobile phone. ilovebabies gave me the idea of doing that. I never thought of using mobile to capture the video

hellobaby, yah lor, the face is really cute leh! Somemore dr say my girl is shy, uses both hands to cover her face! Heheh...Yup, so long dr.lee never say anything about our weight, then should be ok. We just have to put in more effort to shed those extras after delivery. my glucose had been very good all the while, but BP been on the high normal since day 1...so there's nothing much i can do. Just hope it doesn't get too high. So far, dr also never say thing.

hmm... good idea hor to use vcam to take the ultrascan! hee! let me try this saturday!

bena, your gal so cute! play peekoboo with you eh! hahaha...

dumpty, like you i cant wait for my baby to come out so i can cuddle her, i really dun mind the sleepless nights... heh... i am so looking forward to her arrival. Praying hard she is healthy and well.

Hellobaby, yah, u try and let me know...cos i have 1+ more wk to wait. If can, i also bring to capture.

Yah lor...dr say she shy, cover up...heheh.

Dumpty, i also can't wait to see my girl, but i reckon when we have delivered, we will miss those moments where they are inside us kicking and squirming ard.

helo helo ladies, wah so many posts. me on mc today coz dunno why feelig tired. and whole of yesterday tummy like very hard once i walk too much, though i stay whole day at home. and last night when woke up go toilet whole tummy (bottom to top) very hard and tight. so just to play safe wanna stay home to rest.

ilovebabies, rem to rest well, glad that u are feeling better now since bed rest.

I did ask my gynae during last Friday's visit about my braxton hicks. she said that its not cause for concern if its irregular. have to worry only if its once every 15mins, for MORE than an hour. prob is, sometimes the hicks not very obvious to me unless i touch my tummy. so i will try to monitor loh. but since she say only worry if more than 4times an hour for more than an hour, then i feel slightly better now.

ilovebabies, i very curious how come if urs is braxton hicks how come it opens ur cervix? did the doc explain why? coz braxton hicks does not ripen cervix by right....or urs is real contractions?

about weight gain, i gained total nett weight of 8plus kg in my 28weeks checkup. think shld be okie, so gynae din say anything.
in fact, think past 4 weeks gain less than the required 2kg leh, though i am eating normally.

hellobaby and dumpty, i also looking so forward to holding and cuddling baby in my arms. i dun care about the loss of sleep lah, just want to feel baby in my arms, hehehee.

daisybuttons, ya better rest &amp; dun walk too much if u are unsure like me. me too experiencing the same thing. when lying down or sitting down wont feel the hardness only when standing or walking. and yesterday i felt a cramp in my tummy, like a vein pulling! OUCH! my cervic felt a some soreness in some mornings too... so am still monitoring and play safe not to walk as much as i can.

maybe you can check call ur gynae to check?

ilovebabies mentioned hers was real contraction. is that right ilovebabies? that's why she has to rest at home.

peachie,
Thanks for the GTT and baby weight update! Can you still recall how much your baby weigh during your 24-week appointment? I hope to see my baby girl weighing 1kg too on my 28-week visit this saturday.

littlepony,
I'm so sorry you have to go through that bad diarrhea! Can you take Brands essence of chicken to get well? It's very good for recovery. But I'm not so sure if it's safe for pregnant women like us?

Smiley,
I still get ultrasound pictures on every visit. Only missed it once but it's ok b'cos we get to record our ultrasound on videos. Can always get a print screen from the video once I digitize it.

Girls,
Did any of your gynae measure your belly or fundal height on your visit? My gynae did not but the gynaes in KKH are practising it. I don't know how useful it is but the fundal height is supposed to correlate nicely with our weeks of pregnancy, say if I'm 27weeks pregnant, it should measure 27" from the pubic bone up to the top of our uterus (if I'm not mistaken). So you will know if you're measuring big or small from the fundal height.

454442.png

oh... <font color="119911">daisybuttons</font>, rest rest at home. Aiyo, I think everyone here better don't walk too much now. I have to start reminding myself that also.

<font color="119911">Hellobaby</font>, I also experience that kind of pulling. Usually comes together with the tightening.

<font color="119911">ilovebabies</font>, how are you feeling today?

melissa, no my gynae din measure my blly or fundal height. Guess so long as bb is growing well and healthy la... else one more measurements to keep us worried leh.. :p

dumpty, my cramp came together with the tightening. read that braxton hicks could be due to insufficient water. so now i'm increasing my fluid intake see if it helps.

melissa, my gynae also din take measurements. He just measure the bb head to ensure that the EDD is still the same and do scans to make sure that everything is ok...that's abt it.

Hi Smiley,

I stop getting the pictures also.. but my gynae know i record EVERY VISIT's scan.. so.. hehe.. he figured i don't need the ultrasound pictures.. keke..

Hi melissa,
Thanks for your concern. I think can take Brand's chicken essence... now, i very careful with the food i eat. i am slowly building up my appetite again... so hopefully, i can get back to my greedy self in no time! haa!

Heehee... so I am not the only one who has stopped getting the ultrasound pictures! Phew.. I thought I am the only one who lugi and missing out on the pictures.. I know my friend gets one for every visit and she has an album of the ultrasound pictures!

My baby always has both her hands at the sides of her head when I look at her from the screen. So I can see her face quite clearly. But hor, are their eyelids supposed to be developed and can open and close by now (around 27 weeks)? From what I see, still two black sockets leh..

haaa. oopsss.. leopard never change its spots isn't it...?? but u know, once bitten twice shy.. now, i am actually more careful with the food i eat... I used to indulge in junk food but now, refrain from it.....

for me, the ultrasounds now get more confusing leh. Maybe like you people say, baby getting bigger so can't fit into just one screen... the gynae will just say , this is the stomach.. this is the head... then, at the end.. i can't picture how baby looks like. Sigh! Think i will have to wait patiently to see baby's face!

Oh.. and the other day i had a funny dream. I dreamt of a baby who has small nose, small eyes, small mouth...but very fat!!! And in the dream, i heard people saying ' that's your baby!'........alamak, i then wake up!!

Smiley, the face photo i have, her eyes shows kind of a black ring, so i reckon her eyes are closed then. It's not a black socket.

hahaha... littlepony, ya la... cut down junk food!
now it's the time bb absorbing very fast and accumulating fats. about your dreams... you thinking too much how ur bb will look like issit? haha

talking about dreams... there was one dream i remembered so vividly. In my dream, i woke up to see my bb already right beside me.. i carried the bb and jumping so happily went round announcing to my family that my bb was born and i din go thru any labour pain! hahaa... ya me thinking too much on the birthing! :p

smiley, i also only see 2 black sockets. hehe... ultrasound is black and while mah so i think that's why we cant see the lids...

Heehee... Bena and Hellobaby, are you able to see the baby's nose clearly? Not very clear right? I wanted very much to ask the gynae to show me the side view of her face so that I can see whether her nose is tall or flat, but then I thought I was being very wu liao, so I didn't. Heehee...

smiley, you so cute! hahaa... i only saw the side profile of my bb when i had my scan during my early 2nd trimester, then too small to see nose high or low... haha... but all babies nose not too high at birth isn't it? how u gauge high or low leh?! hahahaha! :p

I also dreamed before that my baby is delivered already. In my dream, I found it puzzling how come so easy one and how come I didn't really feel the pain. Haha.. if only in real life it's also that easy...

Smiley, the nose not clear! can just see the nose socket (triangular in shape)...cannot see high or low. Hhmm...my next visit, i go ask gynae see if can see side profile :p

I think I'm like littlepony leh... My gynae simply says "See the head, the legs, the hands" but it all looks the same to me.
Can't even piece everything properly togeter

<font color="119911">smiley</font>, your dream so cute! Haha... I haven't had any dreams on how my baby looks yet. But I remember during the detail scan, the radiologist tried to take a 3D picture of my baby's face. Very cute except that he covered part of his face with one hand so can't really see very clearly.

I'll try with my mobile's camera this Sat but I'm going alone dunno how to take leh...

bena, smiley, think can see side profile or not depends on where the bb is facing leh.. :p anycase i kiasu i will go ask him this saturday too... haha!

smiley, maybe birthing really that "FUN" leh! haha... only we scaring ourselves. I have one friend who told me she enjoys birthing and how she wished she can deliver on my behalf. whoa so funnie! She's the only one that said that to me so far! But talked to her very encouraging lor, made me only think of the joy of the birthing process not the painful part.

so am all ready to welcome the moments! :D

Dumpty, Littlepony, my gynae also same same...and his speed is so fast. Sometimes i could hardly digest the iamges and he moved on liao...heheh...so everytime after the visit, i still cannot visualize in which position my girl is.

Hellobaby, my cousin also said the same thing. I really admire her leh...hers very fast...chop chop go in, chop chop come out already. Her boy is quite big in size somemore...heheh.

yah.. in the detailed scan, I was able to have a really really nice picture of her side profile. In the detailed scan, they will definitely look for the nose bridge because it indicates the baby is normal. If no nasal bone detected, it means there's a chance the baby may have DS.

But now after the detailed scan, I can only see her front face
Usually staring at me as if telling me "Mummy, can you eat better and stop eating junk food?!" Heehee...

!! Hellobaby, your friend can volunteer to be a surrogate mother for those who can't give birth then.. Heehee... is it legal in Singapore? I learnt of this only in Desperate Housewife.. :p

Bena, sometimes my gynae also chop chop... the last last time I went, she was so fast I couldn't make out the image and ta da.. she's done and the nurse was ready with the hand towel to wipe away the jelly on my tummy liao.. But the last time I went, I specifically requested to see her face.. Heehee.. (but not the side profile though as mentioned)..

Smiley,
Yes on my last scan at 24 weeks baby has both her hands beside her head too. So I can see a skull with two blank socket! I believe by now, all our babies' eyes have opened already!! And I believe that the quality of the scan is affected by the amount of fluid in our stomach and the machine resolution itself. I can say that my gynae's machine is not that good b'cos when I went to TMC to do my detail scan, their machine reveals everything! So much clearer than my gynae's machine.

Smiley,
I also heard that in the womb, baby's nose is usually quite high but eventually it will be asian size after they have to squeeze through the birth canal! LOL.

Littlepony,
It's true by now the whole baby's body can't fit into one screen. So you can only see part by part when she moved the transducer across your belly. I love getting the lowdown that way. So if you're printing sonograms, get the head! I think it's the nicest part to see hehe. Your dream is so funny I chuckled in the office for the moment.. hehehee

hahaha... so let's look on the bright side of birthing!
CAN FINALLY HOLD OUR BABY no need to dream liao!

Bena, you went on weekend or weekdays for your checkup. I noticed, dr more chop chop on weekend, i went on some weekdays he more humorous and chatty. Can imagine how busy he is every saturday lah... but if u hv queries ask him i'm sure he will explain to you like the position of ur baby.

smiley, my friend is trying for her No.2 but always not successful leh... now she's going for chinese physician/fertility doc. sigh! this is how this world is... when u want it you dun get it... some got it but dun treasure it
but thankfully my friend's an optimistic person. she is still enjoying the trying to conceive process! hope she hits the jackpot soon.

I notice, somehow, it seems tougher for people to have number 2. I have quite a few friends who hit number 1 easily, but spend years trying for number 2.. The only reason i can think of is the stress they have currently with number 1, so number 2 comes more difficult..(?)

And another thing is, usually those who try really hard, measure this measure that, usually get a boy...

my friend suspects that after the birth of her No. 1 and after the confinement, her health had been altered, so now she wants to seek chinese physician's advise to tune back her health... could be eh!? sounds logical. Dun think is the stress from her No. 1. cos she is coping really well! understanding hubby and in laws.

smiley, i agreed with you on those who tried very hard usually gets a boy. I have a friend who has been trying for years and now she is expecting a boy! :D

hey i tried very hard too but i am getting a girl. maybe the other way around will work for me. i hope my next one is a boy. will try to be more boh chup. heehee

Do you mean some of you know the position of your baby already? I have no idea at all! Since I can't figure out which is head or feet. It seems like the gynae is scanning the same position when he told me that's the head or feet leh.

I dunno if my gynae will take for me. He same as the rest of yours, very chop chop at weekends. Sometimes I don't even get to sit down. Just lie on the bed to scan, take BP and then he say "Everything OK! See you in 3 weeks!" and zoom... I'm out of the room in a blink!

helo ladies just got up from a 2-hour nap.

littlepony, i missed ur earlier posting about your recovery from diarrheo, oh dear that was really worrying then right? you must take care of urself now, drink water and eat little little bit. can try drinking manuka honey to soothe ur stomach in the morning.

hellobaby, hey i like your friend leh! very positive person! i really hope i have more friends like her around for encouragement.
i will try to remember what you say, coz i am trying to find someone who enjoys her birthing process and not talk about it like its glorious nightmare. somemore she is still so positive now during conceiving, so can imagine what a positive girl she is.
i feel that its possible for us to enjoy our birthing process as long as we have a positive mindset, so let's work towards that!

Melissa, yah i read about fundal heights before too. apparently, though babies may vary in size for diff women through diff stage of pregnancy, fundal height is quite constant for all women at the same no. of weeks. interesting yar? my gynae din measure lah, but she does feel my uterus everytime before she do the scan.

yah talking about scans, hehehe sometimes i also confused when she describe this and that, hehehee, but at such times my hubby actually sees more clearly than me! and he has to explain to me afterwards hehehee.....

smiley, mine also can only see 2 black "sockets".
look like baby looking at us hehehehee!

dumpty, whoa that's really fast! din even get to sit down? gosh! hehehehe....

During scan my dr told me where's the head and feet. After that i can figure out the position of my gal from her kicking! hee.. and when i touch my tummy, i can feel her limbs. roughly can tell if it's leg or hand, the shape and feel quite obvious. i dun dare to press on his head.

Try ask your gynae when your next visit comes during the scan. it's fun feeling your little one in you.
but of cos dun press too hard lah.. heh.. normally i just touch gently and press down real gently very scared i'll injure her...hee! Whenever i touched her, she will move away! Naughty mommy!

ya agree with daisybuttons! we must be strong to welcome our bb!
whatever pain, it represents the "greatness" of mommy! "Ma1 Ma1 de Wei3 Da4"

So let's enjoy the birthing process and give a marvelous welcome to our bundle of joy! ;)

An applause to all mommies &amp; mommy-to-bes

<font color="119911">Melissa</font> and <font color="119911">daisybuttons</font>, what is fundal heights? That's a very interesting fact that it is constant for all women at the same no of weeks!

So far, I've heard mostly horrendous labour stories. None of my friends actually told me they enjoyed the birth process. Geez.... should learn from <font color="119911">hellobaby's</font> friend! Hopefully can also enjoy the process of helping baby enter this world!

helo dumpty, fundal height is the top most position of your uterus.
it will grow upwards during pregnancy, then if i rem right, around 8mths or full term, it will drop coz baby engaged.

i dun like listening to horrendous labour stories. i feel that sometimes its a self fulfilling prophecy. if we feel our birth will be positive, then it will be positive. let's not focus on the negative side.

Hi All Sept MTB :

The respond rate here is ' piew ' , FAST !! Take me a while to browse through all of them and at the end , have to jot down what I have in mind .

On MC :
Two moms here are on MC basically due to early contraction and diarrhea . Hope both of you are getting better now (as worries ,health and medical bills most of the time weight more than the income).Upon reading the indication of possible early contraction as shared , it rings my alarm and I start to pay more attention , I do feel the stone - like tummy ( mostly after my meals and difficulty in breathing ) , menstrual pain (less than 30 seconds and it stops once I change my sleeping position ) . When I physically overstrain myself , backache is an early indication follow by abdominal pain . I belong to the low blood pressure group , if I stand up suddenly while squatting or get out from the bed suddenly , there will be temporary blackout and I have to stand still to gain my consciousness .

Travel :
Two moms here seems to travel a lot or probably based abroad . Make sure you get your clearance as pregnant women ( 28 weeks onwards ) are prohibited unless with proper documentation from your doctor. Do hope you enjoy your job nature as travel during pregnancy seems to be a little more challenging .

Glucose Test :
A couple of moms here went through the glucose test , I will be having similar test this weekend as diabetes is in my bloodstream (and I am referring to those serious case where you have to take injection to control). I did my Hepetitis B and Rubella tests around 22nd week .

Baby Scan :
It seems that the process varies by hospitals. I will be delivering in NUH and the gynae does the scan on several important dates . Some times my visit will be a short 10 minutes by asking me to lie on the bed and listen to the child's heartbeat , I don't have to pay for the printouts . The growth at different stages seems interesting , mine started with a damn big head with a curl ( like our big head ' tau geh ' ) , to log legs swimming like a frog during the scan . The latest stage ... manage to identify the face with eye socket , nose and he seems to dunno drink a lot or spit a lot coz each scan indicates a lot of mouth movements and he changes his position frequently even during the short 1-3 minutes scan ( until the gynae finds him a little difficult to ' catch ' for specific measurements ) . Nothing was done on fundal height from NUH as yet .

Weight gain / baby movements :
I think weight gain is related to the mother's existing size too . If your BMI b4 pregnancy is at the high end , your weight gain throughout the pregnancy could be lesser compare to mothers who are underweight before pregnancy . Seek your gynae's opinion .I gain 9.3 KG within 28 weeks , on average 1.5 KG every month .

Is always wonderful to feel the movements of your child . Yup , my tummy occasionally slanted towards one side and I try pressing / tapping / poking / squeezing / touching ..... umum .. still trying to figure out where is the head leh . There are constant movements at times with less than 20 minutes break in between and it lasts for 4 hours . GREAT !! Hope I don't have a boy who needs me to leash him like my dog when he knows how to run .

Sleepless nights :
This seems common among most of us . I am one of them too , having nightmares twice ( The first one , felt like being possessed and could not breath , could not wake up from my dreams even I wanted to pee , similar to fighting against my own conscious and unconscious mind . Second , being chased by spirits , of course I was running and questioned what was all these chasing about ?? The answer was scary , " I want your child " , I said " No " and was woke up by my hubby as he accidentally kicked my legs ) , frequent wee wee breaks ( I accidentally wee on my panty when I sneeze at times ) .

Putting lots of pillows around me provides me a better chance of deep sleep . Probably you gals want to try that . If I am facing right or left , I will hug one big pillow and another one placing comfortably on the other side . If I am facing the ceiling , there will be one big pillow underneath my legs . At least it works for me. Poor hubby left with 1/3 of our bed only , hi !! hi !!

Massage / Shopping Lists :
The contacts for massage , probably will get it later from you gals since we will be having our confinement eventually ( it will be damn boring and online chat could kill some time ) . Moreover , I am not too sure will my first preference , vaginal delivery ended up with a C section . Most of you have done your shopping and one mom was asking about the brand for bottles , I guess those established brands should be alright . I am not very good with shopping ( I don't really shop unless the needs pop up ) . I got most of my baby stuffs from two of our friends who kindly passed on . I am shopping for my own stuffs now ranging from bras to nursing clothes and probably those herbs / cooking essentials during confinement .

Employment Acts / Women's right :
If we remain in Asia Pacific , women's rights will always be a topic for discussion . Knowing that the employment act does not protect you , what can you do ? Just swallow it and hope it does not happen to you ... or move to another country . Anyway , no politicians in this section , so , it is unlikely that it will change within the near future . Just got to bare with it and hopefully we will get our daughters ready for it. To get to the same position as a man , woman has to put in a lot of efforts .

Nanny / Babysitter :
Those whom your mother or mother in law is willing to look after you child is a bless . Remember to show them some form of appreciation huh !!

Below is a link which might be helpful :
It has the contact ranges from Infant Care / Childcare / Kindergarten to Early Learning .
This magazine is great too , I read one before and I think is value for money .

http://www.motherhood.com.sg/Childcare_Centres/MHEListings.pdf

The comparison chart between the delivery fees among different hospitals is helpful too . Have a look .

There's a mom who left a MCYS URL which guided me with my childcare hunt a couple of days ago , sorry , can't remember the nickname , thank you .

There is some kind of subsidy for working parents who send their children to childcare , is around S$150 I think . Did not really drill into it as yet since my first preference is still a babysitter . ( Still hunting !! " Pant " " Pant " )

me on MC and not at home, at mum place so no internet access during day time.

I am feeling better. so far no BH contractions with more rest and the medication.

hi smiley

gynae just ask me to minimise walking. i think it is a case by case analysis. Some stronger women can afford to walk more, so for me I cant lor.

btw when I am hungry at nite, I take MEIJI LOW FAT milk with Blueberry morning corn flakes and prove that it doesnt affect my weight gain since I gained 1+kg last month only ..
i have gained 10kg so far and I am in my 31 weeks now.

hi dumpty

yes the bb is definitely too big to be printed but I requested my gynae to scan for her face and gave me a picture of her. My gynae was super nice !! he said he will try his best to take her best shot and he did ! heheeheh ...

hi daisybuttons

my gynae says having more than twice of BH contractions within a day is NOT normal. that's what I rem when I visited him on my 29th weeks. so I called him last Fri nite to chk if mine is normal. so when he chk my cervix he said mine was a real contraction as he suspect some dilation.anyway to be on the safe side, he put me on medication and mc. these few days the BH contractions have diminished .... phew ....

so dun take any chance ok ?

hi melissa

my gynae takes the fundal height on every visit for the last 3 months. have been wondering wat this measurement means but always forgot to ask him ... will try to ask him next Thurs when I see him. anyway at my 29th weeks, my fundal height was 31. but gynae did not comment on it.

hi whatzup ! welcome and what a post !! very informative !

454810.png

<font color="119911">ilovebabies</font>, you on MC and still stay up so late?

Hi <font color="119911">whatzup</font>, that's a long post!
Anyway regarding weight gain, my BMI was borderline case at 18. But still can't gain much weight initially. Now better as weight gain is more noticeable so I hope can continue this way.

I went through the link I posted for you in detail on the Childcare services. Subsidy for infant care and child care are $400 and $150 respectively for working mums. That's for full-day infant/child care service. Half day will be half of that amount.

Very tired now. Going sleep already... Zzzzzz....

Morning Gals...

Wow, most of you stayed up very late huh.

Hellobaby, my visits are always weekdays. i never take weekends, cos it's very crowded. There was once my visit was just a day before public holiday and wow...can really see the difference of Dr. Lee speed. That one really chop chop! The moment i stepped into his room, he asked me to lie down...do a quick scan here and there and say everything alright and off i go liao. Don even have a chance to sit on the chair to ask anything. Other than that, he is still ok, but then hor, every visit, no matter how long he spent to scan, will still feel very short lor :p

Oh dear, is it usually very crowded at weekends? I just booked my next appointment on a Saturday! If it is so crowded and even more chop chop, perhaps I should consider changing it to a weekday!It's always a long wait before the next appointment and always a long wait at the clinic, I don't want to chop chop go in and come out!

Wah, Whatzup, you really can summarise the whole forum in one post! Hahaha! I am impressed!

ilovebabies, good to know you are feeling better..

How many days of MC have you gals taken so far during your pregnancy? Sometimes I am very very tired and I need a rest but I don't dare to take MC coz I am scared my lady boss wonn't be happy. But I don't want to take leave too, coz I am saving up my leave...

454921.png

Smiley, usually will be more bz during weekends, cos if couples are working, then difficult to go for checkups during weekday. And it's always a long wait at the clinic for weekends.

Hhmm, i am wondering if Mon is crowded too, cos sun the clinic is closed...so everyone will cramp in on MOnday?

ilovebabies, how many days MC are u on? Rest more and don walk so much k..