(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Hi Flower, is your number 2 a boy or girl?

Seems like 25th Sep is a popular date for delivery. Did we all (the three of us including Puppylove) conceive on Christmas day? Hahaha!

helo helo! wah so many posts dunno if i can remember all i wanna say hehehee.

smiley, i am going for single bedded. not concerned about the sofa bed coz its only for 2 days and my hubby can sleep anywhere if the temperature is right hehehe. and if i rem correctly, it shld be convertible leh, will check with mrs wong again. i also want single bed coz I want baby to room-in with us as I wish to be responsive to his cries even during the night. i have checked with mrs wong, and she say room-in babies will still be regularly checked by the nurses at the same time as the nursery babies, so that is a load off my mind. i will be on total bfdg so i dun need them to bring him out to be fed. also, i wld rather be disturbed by baby throughout the day then be disturbed by the other mother's visitors esp if they are rowdy hehehe.

flower, u have a nice name!! and welcome to the thread!
yah ur 2nd one is what gender?

michelle, happy that u bought something u like! so is it a towel or a blanket material leh? is it the $30something one that i like from Luv baby? hehehee... got pic? PM me leh...

As for the talk about waterbirths, it IS allowed in Singapore. there has been planned waterbirths at home too, but it depends on ur doctor. Seriously, I have heard that it may be a bit difficult if u delivering at glen E coz glen E usually follows SOP during delivery and may not be that open to new ideas/approaches. i have seen a lot of russian waterbirth videos and they are simply amazing and divine the way the babies are borned. but though i am adventurous, dun think i opting for one hehehe. coz it will involve quite a lot of additional reading up, preparation, and choosing of a suitable gynae. the water temp has to be right, urs has to be low risk pregnancy and the doctor has to agree to it. too many factors involved.

about cordblood, there are a few talks by cordlife. here's the details

Upcoming talks open for registration in 2006
Date Saturday Wednesday
6 May, 10 Jun, 1 Jul, 15 Jul, 5 Aug, 2 Sep, 7 Oct, 4 Nov, 2 Dec 17 May, 21 Jun, 19 Jul, 16 Aug, 20 Sep, 18 Oct, 15 Nov
Time 10am 11.30am 7pm - 8.30pm
Venue Camden Medical Centre, Level 9, Function Room, 1 Orchard
Boulevard, Singapore 248649

see if you guys wanna go. i dunno if i going leh, coz i think cordlife will tell you things that are to their benefit right? will they be honest about whether u can use the cordblood for ur baby?

about the contractions hor, i heard that braxton hicks will usually stop when you move around or change position. whereas real labour contractions will be there throughout.

Hi! Can I join you gals? My EDD is 21 Sep and am expecting my first baby boy

Had been reading all your posts. Finally plucked up enough courage to speak up

helo humpty, welcome.
our EDD is very close. in fact, if based on usual calculation mine shld be 21 sept too. but as my cycle is 26 days so its 19 sept, hehehee.
so where will u be giving birth?

Morning ladies

Welcome humpty-dumpty
Congrats on ur new baby boy! How's ur pregnancy so far? Good I hope!

Anyway ladies, remember we were talking about the mini-egg-washing machine? Well, Caltex has a special offer with HSBC. You can get the 1kg washing machine for free with 500 Thanks! points and $500 worth of petrol receipts from Caltex. The spending period is between 8 June-31 July. This is better when my hb got our machine. He had to accumulate $1000 worth of petrol receipts!

(ps: saw this in today's GSS supplement, pg11)

451613.png

Oh. I just re-read my post and I wrote "mini-egg-washing machine". I hope our new friends do not misunderstand, this washing machine washes clothes, not eggs! hahahahahaha! It LOOKS like an egg...

451616.jpg

welcome dumpty !!

heeh your nick coincides with the EGG machine we are discussing ...

joon, tks for the info ! sounds attractive !
btw does this machine needs any special type of detergent ? can we use KODOMO detergent or pigeon powder on this machine ? What is min and max load ?

451619.png

Also, I was surfing the DBS (Lady's Card) website and saw this...

<u>Rustic Nirvana</u>
$838 Post Natal Home Therapy (UP$1200)
- 5 days post-natal home therapy
(jamu wraps, massages for 5 consecutive days)
- sea salt detox herbal steam
(jamu wrap &amp; steam @ studio, worth $450)
- 5 baby massages

<u>Wayan Retreat Balinese Spa</u>
$790 Post Natal Package (UP$1140)
- 5 daily home visits
- Pijat massage (to get rid of water retention)
- Bengku wrap
- TELON baby massage oil
- Jamu drink
- $100 spa voucher
- Post-Natal Kempis Perut @ $320 (UP$640)

Since there was some talk about this type of massages, I thought maybe some of you would know about these 2 places and whether they are any good? What abt those Malay ladies who come to the house? How much do they usually charge? Are they better?

Hi ilovebabies,
Well, I don't think it needs special washing detergent. In fact, we bought some Pureen detergent already. The max load is 1kg... so it's really for bb clothes. Here's the hsbc link...

http://www.hsbc.com.sg/sg/personal/cards/privi/caltex/

Those of u who are not HSBC card members can consider buying a 2nd-hand one from Yahoo auctions, or from Tangs. I think it's $239.

Hi everyone!!
hows everyone n bbs?hows preparation for the arrival of the little one?i hve not start to prepare much things..quite lazi..keke

i long time no post liao..was busi with my boy's bday celebration...

nowadays i feel breathless easily leh..anyone oso feelin the same thing?

anyone has book malay massage lady?any gd ones to recommend?

Hi bena,

Can you tell me more abt your malay auntie contact and her services? I guess I'm now on the lookout for these and want to book soon

Hi to all,
I juz returned back from a 3 days MC. I was suffering from a very bad food poisoning... and the doctor almost suggested that i admit to the hospital for drip. Luckily, i was able to hold after medication. But now, very weak and having a damn bad stomach wind.
I haven't been eating solid food for days and i was quite upset. Upset that my baby suffered the same as i do.
Back at work but still terribly weak!
U know, when i come back.. my colleague still say 'oh then you managed to catch the soccer'... I have to reply to him saying ' nope! i have to rest alot!' .........What kind of sensitivity these people had!

Hi forgetmenot,

I'm on the lookout for one too
How much do these massage packages usually cost, do you know?

About breathlessness... tell me about it! After I climb into bed, I lie there panting for a few minutes! *pant*pant*pant* I can't walk so fast now and now my hb has to help pull me up from the floor, sofa, bed, etc... I feel like a beached whale!

OMG littlepony, are u alright? What caused the food poisoning? I had a (very) mild bout when my hb ate Nasi Briyani 2 wks ago, and it was awful! I can't imagine how u must have felt. Well, take it easy today ok?

Ur colleague IS a bit dense!

Hi Joon,

Bena and i have the same contact for the malay massage lady. If i remember correctly, her package is less than $400 for 7 sessions, each 1hr15min.This includes tummy wrap and massage for the baby...

Littlepony

hope u r ok now ! try to eat less oily food and no chilli hor ... drink more water ok .... u must be dehydrated.

Hellobaby

your package sounds cheap. is she good ?

joon,

haha same as u, i need hubby to assist me when I climb the stairs ... feels like an old lady oredi ...

Wow, hellobaby, that's really quite a good deal, compared to the Rustic Nirvana and Wayan Retreat ones! Do you know anyone who's used her before? Is she any good?

Ya ilovebabies, I need help with almost everything! But all the attention is really nice huh? Better enjoy it while it lasts... when the bb comes, everyone will forget abt us and just focus on the bb, eh??!

ahha joon

make sure hubby dun forget us after delivery hor .. else we can throw tantrums like bb lor haha

i have a recommendation from a friend. I just called her shop but she is not in yet. Later I will call up and update u gals.

joon,
the previous time,i used a lady..n costs $450 for 5 sessions...
so now,i'm thinkg of trying another one...if u hve gd one..do let mi noe..

haiz.ya lor..besides breathless..my pelvic bone...oso pain...when i lie down,i hve to turn slowly to my side n when i get up

Hey!!! forgetmenot ME TOO! My pelvic bone aches, my right hip aches and when I turn in bed, it's a lonnnng process, slowly flopping from side to side. aiyoh... the belly is so heavy! I can't imagine the next 2 mths... we're just going to get bigger and bigger... :p

Great ilovebabies, thanx for updating us! She's like a free-lance massage lady then? Not like those spa places?

I got this contact for malay massage lady from a friend who said she was very good. When i saw my friend 3 months after her delivery she did not look like she had just given birth. She was so slim. Then again it could be different for different individual. I think i'll try her.

Oooh, hellobaby, that sounds really good. Do you mind sharing the contact? I'll call her to find out more
This is for 7 consecutive days?

joon

She is from this Tres Jolie Beauty Studio. My friend uses her for her slimming session at home. And she is certified with NSRS Government Certification for post-natal massage.

I let u gals know more later. See if we can get discount if book her together.

Hi Joon and Ilovebabies,
Thanks for your concern! Yes, it was seriously bad bad. I was throwing up and having diarhorrea at the same time. I almost wanna to cry becos i know my baby is suffering at the same time as i do.
I am slightly better now. Just taking light meals and hoping to regain back to normal self and diet by next week..... Yes, i will drink more water!

Hi Little Pony, dun worry too much bb will be ok... my friend was terribly sick too during her pregnancy ate lots of medications not meant for pregnancy but her bb came out healthy and well. Just take good care of yourself from now on. Dun cry will affect bb. keep talking to bb positively all should be well.

LittlePony, I can understand how you feel. The least you need is sarcastic remarks from colleagues after being ill right? If they don't care, still ok, but they don't care and still must suan you, then very sian right?

Hi Hellobaby,
thanks for your concern! i really hope my baby will be healthy and well. Yes, i really muz be careful with the food i am eating these days. Baby has been kicking so i guess he muz be encouraging me too. Thanks!

Smiley,
Ya leh! Think my colleague just wanna to strike a concern conversation but it seems that nothing is coming good from his mouth! sigh! too weak to rebuke him so now, can't be bother with him now!

welcome humpty! always nice to see new 'faces' in here

littelpony, sorry to hear abt your food poisoning. anywya hope that u r feeling much better now. get lots of rest n plenty of water yah?
dun worry so much - bb will be just fine!

i hv a qn abt these massage ladies. if we are all due in sep, can the same massage lady handle ALL of us at the same time? i mean she can only do 1 or 2 a day rite? also, how soon in advance do we need to book the lady? 1 mth? 2 mths?

anyway i asked my gynae abt the cord blood thing y'day. he doesnt seem enthusiastic nor against it - kinda neutral. said entirely up to us lor. i think i wont go for it. perhaps i will do it when (or if!) i hv a 2nd kid. not cheap oso leh. gotta pay upfront $1k+ and every yr another $200-300.

daisybuttons, i got the towel like material one fr luvable friends. let me get a photo of it later - its green n yellow
i actually saw another one that was really cute - blue wif some baseball motifs - but hubby said that one too thin bb will feel cold, so tat's y we ended up wif the towel like material one

i just had crabs last nite at no signboard seafood restaurant.. haha. very satisfying! anybody here oso eating crabs or hv been avoiding cos of old wives' tales?

me also having the same pelvic pain problem when flipping over..

I booked @ <400 sgd for 7 sessions with a malay massage lady from a lobang from augbaby.. (Aug MTB side)..

On top of this, i am also rustic member.. do note that rustic's home visit post natal is special.. they actually bring a portable steaming device.. so will help u lose the water faster.. if u dun want to pay for their home visit.. u can go down to their spa to do it also.. as i am member with sessions there, i can convert any sessions to pre/post natal/ slimming/ relaxing massage and/or wrap/ sandstone therapy/ facial also ok..

I had a miscarriage previously, and did their post natal massage at the spa to lose my water retention and my tummy.. it works really fast lor..

Will be doing the malay lady's at home during confinement month, after which i will do any extra sessions of post natal/ slimming @ rustic.. this way, i maximise it.. BTW, cos i long time member, my per session @ rustic cost me 63 sgd only.. is sama sama price and for the convertibility to other type of massages/ facial... i think it is worth it!!

Juz my 2 cents worth..

the malay lady contact i have is Mdm Inah @ 90076578.. 380sgd / session.. say u fren of Shermeen.. (Augbaby) and can get this price.. but she never throw in baby massage ah.. take note!

michelle!

I love no signboard crab &amp; prawns!! i know we supposed to avoid crabs.. next time baby will have itchy pinching fingers.. but i can't resist.. so, to counter, i take the legs, no pincers.. will that help?? haha!!

haha jasmine u r so cute
take legs and not the pincers. i just took everything cos i think all babies will be 'itchy hand' no matter wat u eat! anyway we can only wait n see when they come out whether there's any truth at all! i guess i love crabs too much to give it up too. i can still sacrifice cofee and alchohol cos there seems 2b scientific reasons, as for crab.. hmm....

Hi Little Pony, hope you are feeling better... I also suffered from food poisoning 2 mths back and was hospitalised for 2 days.. It was really terrible.... Don't worry, bb will be ok...
I've been popping medication on and off since I got pregnant (antacid, anti-biotics, piriton, cough mixture etc)... hope there won't be any side effects on the bb....

Hi Joon, the malay aunty contact that i have was passed to me by a frd. I dunno exactly how good she is, but my frd used her for both her pregnancies

Her service:
7-session @ $400
1 to 1hr 15min massage, include bb massage
Tummy wrap + some Jamu herbs for u to eat

Hi Amy,
I truly avoiding to be hospitalised leh. so no matter how difficult it is, i am trying to swallow food in.
Now, my stomach still feeling abit cranky. Guess still not fully recovered yet.
It's terrible feeling, Amy! Sigh!! Sick when pregnant!

Littlepony, don force yourself to eat...else may be even worse. Eat small meals lor and replenish water. Take care!

Hi littlepony, I hope u get better soon
Yup, a kicking baby is a good sign! Bena's right, small meals and lots of water to rehydrate urself. Don't take dairy products. My colleague was hospitalised last wk for food poisoning/stomach virus and she was told to avoid dairy products for now.

Thanks for the contact bena
and thanx for the info, jasmine
I'll prob give these ladies a call to find out more... do our bbs need massage?? Coz some packages do that.

Michelle I had no idea we couldn't eat crabs! So I haven't been abstaining from them of course, hee hee hee... they are too good to pass... especially chilli crab with fried mantou!!

Hellobaby, i also did only 1 blood test. But i did it on my 14wk (if i remembered correctly)
Actually i dunno what does a detailed scan consists of. Dr.Lee did not ask me if i wanted any detailed scan nor asked me to pay anything extra. Each visit, he does the usual scan for the bb heart beat, the head size to determine the EDD date, the weight of bb, scan to show us the heart, stomach, bladder, etc... Is this considered detailed scan?

Joon, i think no need to worry about crab. My cousin ate SO MUCH crabs during her pregnancy and her boy is just as healthy

bena, oh ya think 14wk. I have bad memory. i'm also confused with the detailed scan thingy. my fren did a detailed scan and have to pay a few hundreds. I think with Dr Lee we are saving money
He checks for bb heartbeat, head size, weight and organs of the bb during each visit. Which were what described for the detailed scanning. My aunty, sister, sis in laws, mom all his patients.

gals, I ate crabbies too.. heh... my sis in law refrained from eating crabs but her gal also very active and touchy leh... hahaha... so i think depending on bb's character lah...