(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

I think it's old wives tales that baby will have itchy hand if you eat crab, but based on science, it's not that good to eat too much crab because baby might be allegy to seafood right? For me, now I avoid crab not because of the old wives tales, but more because I think too much seafood is not good loh..

BUT after my confinement, I will definitely go for my favourite chilli crab!! Already in my To-Eat list! Hahaha!

Hellobaby & Bena,

Can i have your massage lady contact? if got baby massage, not bad leh.. if sama sama price as my contact.. PM me thanks!

muz put down deposit??

hi littlepony, sorry to hear u not feeling well. do rest at home and dun watch late night soccer for the time being yar? such late nights can weaken our body, making us more suceptible to the common cold or any illness. take care, am sure u will recover soon.....

Joon, do you think hor, $178 is okie for the mini washing machine? coz i found out now GSS, they having sale and sellnig at this price. quite gian to buy but not sure if it will be waste of money. personally what do you think?

michelle, oh this one! hehee nope, not the one i wanted to buy. actually i have something similiar to what you bought, but i am going to use it as towels. mine is blue and also have the words "Thank heavens for little boys" on it. very cute.

hi smiley, did you see my reply to you earlier about the single bedded? yah i oso heard too much seafood not good, but i been eating prawns and sotong, think shld be okie lah. i only ate a few small mouthfuls of crab one night, hubby stopped me after that few mouthfuls. :p

Hellobaby...wah! Even ur mom is Dr.Lee paitent ar? Heheh...Yah lor...i think Dr.Lee charges are very reasonable. Even the vitamins that he gave also reasonably priced lor. Yah, me also very blur when it comes to detailed scan thingy. I heard the gals here mentioned must pay hundreds but i dunno wat it consists.

Anyway, Dr.Lee is a VERY cautious dr. Any little thing he noticed he will point out and ask me to take the necessary precautions. My frd 2 kids and her sis-in-law and aunty all also under DrLee.

Jasmine, my malay aunty contact no need to pre-book. She say just call her 5 days in advance (for normal delivery) and 2 weeks in advance for C-sec will do.

gals

i also eat crabs and prawns but not too much lah. Seafood is something we shouldnt consume in large amounts right ? remember our cholesterol levels hor ?

michelle
think i bought the same one as you, i bought a yellow one from the MotherHood fair in June. very nice right ? actually there are much nicer ones but they are v thick, think not suitable for this climate.

hey gals, i still couldnt get the lady from Tres Jolie on the post natal massage. WIll call later ...

Oops.. Sorry daisybutton, I have missed that!

If we opt for the single bedded, does that mean that baby can always stay with us and we do not need them to put the baby in the nursery? I saw from the internet that they charge separately for nursery... so does that mean that we save on the nursery? :p

Hi daisybuttons, actually $178 is not bad. Since u asked, I checked yahoo auctions... and found one brand-new one for sale at $115!! Here's the link...

http://auctions.yahoo.com/sg/i:BN%20mini%20egg%20washing%20machine%2F%201%20and%20only%20%21:101331114

If you want it, you've got to bid for it though. There are 3 other brand-new ones for sale, but this is the cheapest I saw. To check the rest, just go to www.yahoo.com.sg/auctions , type in "washing machine" and do a search. The site will list all washing machines for sale.

I think the machine is ok and I'll prob use it everyday or every 2 days for the bb's small loads. Coz they poop, pee and puke (PPP) a lot right!

Bena,

Hee... my mom removed her womb last year lah :p i was waiting outside the operating theatre and dr lee was very nice. he came out to tell me mom was ok and asked if i wanted to see the womb. i said yes he eagerly went in take and show me. He was so enthusiastic.

I like dr lee.

About 5 years ago my aunty gave birth prematurely at 7 mths, she was under dr lee. I was with my aunty when her waterbag broke, we were in JB then. imagine! I was so panicked.

I called the nurse(iris, she's very good) & she made arrangement for her and once we reached hospital, my aunty was admitted swiftly to the delivery ward for observation. I was so frightened that i was tearing and Dr Lee told me all will be well. He was calm in handling my aunty. After he checked her, she was warded and was told to stay in bed. Dr lee had managed to let her bb stayed in her womb for another wk or 2 i cant remember, before he did a C-sec.

The bb was delivered and all were well, though the bb needed to stay in the incubator for abt a month.

I was impressed with dr lee's confidence.

Bena, I agree with you he is a very cautious dr.

oh yes and for my mom, dr lee told me my mom's wound was sewn back using 'cosmetic sugery method' so the scar would be very mild and it is indeed.

Waaah.. Joon, still quite expensive leh. I think I bought my Sharp 7kg for less than $200 also leh.. This one so tiny yet so expensive eh? i think maybe I will just use a laundry bag and put in the baby's clothes, then choose "delicate" function.. Heehee...

Hi joon,
Yeah. Pregnancy going pretty smoothly up to now. In fact, doc says that the baby is slightly above avg size when I went for the checkup at my 26th week. He weighs 900g then.

ilovebabies, I was actually contemplating to get one of the "Egg-Washing-Machine". I have HSBC card but no Caltex receipts
kao_sad2.gif

littlepony, so sorry to hear about your food poisoning. Take good care yah?
I'm also interested in the Malay massage. But I'm getting a bit confused now
kao_dizzy.gif

Hellobaby and Bena both have the same contact? Would like to get that too! My friend gave me a contact for Mdm Rohaya but I find her rates slightly more than others. So wondering if there are cheaper alternatives?

hi dumpty

great to hear that ur bb is doing well.

gals

I have contacted Grace Chong from Tres Jolie.

She charged $550 for 7 sessions (means 7 days) and per session is 1 hr each. She will do the tummy wrap for you after the massage. You have to wrap it for 6 hours. The package also includes some products which you have to apply on it urself after the wrap to make it more effective according to her.

If you want to have 1.5 hr per session, she will charge you $650. If you want to include thigh wrap, u pay an additional $150 for the 7 session.

If you book her before end this month, she will give u an extra sessions, so means 8 days lah ...

dumpty

Mdm Rohaya charged only $380 for 7 sessions ya ?? cheaper than the one I gave abv leh .. u mean u have contacts of lower price ???

OIC, thanx for the link ilovebabies.

Hi dumpty, gd to hear ur pregnancy is smooth
hee hee... slightly bigger than normal is ok!

Hi smiley, actually, now that u compare it to normal washing machines, it does look exp! I think some mums get the smaller washing machine to do separate loads coz some say our normal washing detergent could be too strong for the bb's skin. That's why they have special detergent for bbs. But then again, I don't think our mums used special detergent to wash our stuff when we were bbs and we turned out fine!!
haha...

Thanx for finding out for us, ilovebabies!
Wrap for 6 hours??? Really??? aiyoh... dunno whether I can tahan... She's more exp than the malay aunties ya? Do you think it's worth paying extra?

ilovebabies, the Rohaya I know charges $70/session or $490 for 7 sessions. Each session around 1hr.
joon, as I said I was contemplating to get it. Finally decided to just use my usual washing machine and then try to figure out how to set the wash load and wash cycle.
Haven't done that though since I'm planning to wash all the baby clothes at end Aug.
Yeah, I guess baby bigger is ok except I get paranoid that it grows too big and I need a caesarean last minute!
kao_scared.gif

hi all, there are 2 Rohaya. i read somewhere in the forum. the one i know is cheaper.

The wrap i heard got to wrap quite long. some say till next day. I think if can tahan can remove lah... see how things go i think, cos we wont know how the herbs react with our skin individually only when the time comes.

joon

i dunno if she is more experienced since I have not used any malay ladies before.

ya she says must be 6 hrs to be effective leh .. but she is mandarin speaking, fyi.

i also cant decide leh .. hellobaby, can u elaborate on mdm rohaya's massage ?

Hi dumpty, yeah, me too! That's why I'm worried about eating too much... skali the baby so big... c-sections are painful!!

ok think getting confusing with 2 Rohaya, i shall list the price here.

I also first time using her. btw, i've just confirmed her. no need deposit. she only saved my number and told me to call her after i have given birth 5 days before the massage. For natural birth after 5 days can start.

she told me price $380 for 7 sessions includes everything; massage oil/herbs, tummy wrap, bb massage and jamu drink.

Jamu drink think to purge out wind.

each session 1hr 15min.

for me i'm not so concerned about thigh wrap yet cos i heard the tummy wrap already abit restrictive on our movements... so i cannot imagine with another wrap on the thigh lor. hard to move around and uncomfortable i think.

Anyway i got the contact from a friend whom i saw her very slim only 3 months after delivery. She told me the massage and tummy wrap were very good.

Since it's so cheap, i'm giving it a try. I can see how she massage my bb too and learn. For the thigh wraps, i am considering to do it after my confinement at Traditional Javanese Massage.

Hi Hi,

I'm back! My no 2 is a girl again. So may go for no 3 later cos my hubby really wanted a boy. He's a little old fashioned!

I used to engaged a malay lady to do the post natal massage but cannot remember her charges. If you want, I can give you the contact and you can check out the price. I'll most likely engaged her again

I'm also now going for the prenatal massage @ Alush. Got the contact from the forum. Sign up 6 sessions for $504 (aft 20% dis). I loved the massage as I really fall asleep during the massage (maybe I was too tired).

ilovebabies, the jamu drink will be suitable for confinement i think. anyway i think it's just some ginger drink. can opt not to drink if dun want.

I'm staying in indo and normally after a massage here, they will serve some ginger herbal tea. I guess it should be about the same.

Hi all, sorry if i digress abit. But how do u answer to the question : How many months (pregnant) are u?
I'm reaching 28th week. I'm not sure if I should answer 7 or 8.

Help!

hmm some gals say based on last day of mensus.

so if ur last day is last year 31 dec, then every month of 31 onwards, is consider one month.

eerr gals right ?

Oh that's cool! Yeah will go and try.

Anyway, the reason for my confusion is because after my 12th week, I tell ppl I've just passed my 3rd month or 1st trimester. But I always get stuck on whether that means I'm in my 4th month already? or still in my 3rd?

So same applies. Since I'm approaching my 28th week for instance, I should have been already pregnant for 7 months (from my LMD). But then can I say I'm in my 8th month?
Or am I just being too confused?
kao_embarrassed.gif
Maybe I'll just start saying I'm due in 3 months. Hehe... ...

haah dumpty

usually I just tell ppl the no of weeks lor .. then let them come to the conclusion of which mth I am in .. doesnt matter anyway lah ... or simply tell them ur EDD

hmmm... gals correct me if i'm wrong.

dumpty, i think you should be in the 7th months. 28th wk points to the start of your 7th month, also meaning you are into your 7th month. so 29th, 30th, 31st also into 7th month. 32nd week will mark the start of 8th month.

Hehe.... ... ok ok... Thanx for advice. I think I'm kind of having a clearer picture now
Thanx gals!

Trying my new ticker...

452119.jpg

helo joon, thanks for the yahoo link! interesting, will keep note of that, thanks leh. btw, u have not ans me about the question on how many pieces of baby clothes can we put inside the machine huh? from the size u see it?

helo Dumpty! actually hor, if u think about it, when you say 28 weeks, u have ALREADY completed 28 weeks, coz we count from the LMP right? just like when we say we are 28yrs old, it means we have COMPLETED 28 yrs of our life and counting. same as our no. of days preggie.
for me, though i am 28 weeks now, i will consider myself 7mths preggie only when i reach mid july, coz my LMP is 7 mths before mid July. so, when one say she is 8mths preggie for example, she has already COMPLETED 8mths of pregnancy, and counting.
hope i make sense to you. coz there's been some confusion and baby center has explained this before hehehee...

helo smiley, if you stay in single bed, it does not mean that automatically baby room in with you. it has to be a specific request when you check in. or else they will put baby in the nursery as usual. hhmmm...about the nursery costs hor, i am not that sure that you will be saving money by room-ing in. though you will save on nursery costs, but you will likely to incur things costs for personal checks and extras that will not be charged for nursery babies, coz it will be an extra effort by them right? hehehee dun choose to room-in for the cost, u must think carefully first which one you want.

452196.png

bena, dun be sad, when bb is born you'll treasure her more than anything else. one photo mah... easily caught up with memory in the head
maybe you can write down the progress for that month which you missed the pic? ;)

Had a good view of my bb's face last month too. so cute hor! hehehehe....

I'll be due on 9th sep, but i hv a feeling gonna be earlier. I controlled my carbo and i weighed myself a few days ago i gained another 1 or 2 kg. so total i put on 20kg! it's ok lah.. so long our sugar low, blood pressure normal is ok. but Iris told me my BP was abit higher during my last visit. Since de lee din say anything i assume still ok.