(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

for overweight pple, as an average, will gain only 6-11kg only.

whereas for normal weight pple, as an average, will gain 12-18kg.

im overweight too. tts why until now ive only gained 2kg and ive lost 3kg in the first trimester.

and oh yes, at wk 25, my gynae still says my bb's weight (750g) is over the expected weight (600g). so i guess tummy size or weight gain is not equivalent to bb's weight/size.

hah edksd! we're weight-gain buddies! haha!

hi flower

WeLCOme !!

gals I am in my 30th week but I dun feel my appetite has increase in any ways. In fact my appetite was so much better in early 2nd tri where I need to snack between meals else I will feel giddy due to hunger heheh... anyway now it's only 3 meals for me .. and sometimes a bowl of corn flakes at nite only...

do not worry abt weight gain .. gynae's advice and info is the most reliable ! enjoy our pregnancy before the little one is out !

morning gals !

yeah it's mid-week !
i have the tightness on my tummy v often leh ...
and my tummy gets very very tight suddenly. Is that what u gals encountered too ??

450811.png

Hi Flower, welcome!!

Gals, i have read in the papers recently about water birth. I find it very interesting and thinking of trying out...but not too sure if GlenE or my gynae allows that.

Morning

ilovebabies, my tummy ALWAYS feels tight when I wake up in the mornings and usually after I eat... and it's happening more often than before. Aiyoh... sometimes it feel really uncomfortable huh! Like I'm a balloon about to burst.

I was reading all ur posts abt cord blood banking and have a suggestion to make. Since most of u are not storing it, why not donate it to the Singapore Cord Blood Bank? They are lookg for donors and ur bb's cord blood could save another life! Check out ...

http://www.scbb.com.sg/

450831.png

Hi Flower,

Welcome! What's the gap between your number 1 and 2? For your number 2, do you feel just as excited as your number 1? Or the excitement is lesser? As in, do you still bother to do a scrapebook, keep a journal, buy new clothes etc (IF you did that for number 1 of coz)..

I am always curious whether I would still be so excited for my number 2. Heehee..

hi bena, i tot water birth is not allowed in spore? coz of one previous accident which the new born was drowned? this's what i heard from the teacher in the antenatal class. now we're only allowed water therapy to ease the labour pain, once going to deliver, will hv to get out of the water and deliver the same way as per normal.

morning!! :D

ilovebabies & joon, my tightness in the tummy same as you gals, i asked around, seems to be normal cos bb growing fast and our tummy has become too squeezy. i know how uncomfortable it is, but so long bb growing happy liao right? ;)

Bena, i dun think GlenE has water birth and so even if Dr Lee allows it we cannot opt for that method too. yeah i would love to if can. Currently think only NUH and TMC cater for water birth.

I hv the tight feeling often too! usually on the top part of my abdomen. I believe it's the stretching as bb grows and needs more space higher up!
I also feel more kicks & movements in that area, so i know bb has "moved up" already.

The other day, bb made this drastic move that caused my tummy to get so pointed below my belly button. I can feel the harder part there, so I suspect she has "turned", as in the position ready for birth. Will check w gynae next visit.
When does bb normally "turn"? Around 35/36 wks?? Sometimes her movements made me go "ouch!" cos she wld press against my insides quite hard, but I'm really enjoying it!

hahahaha.... ya bb kicking can be fun at the same time uncomfortable and painful, yet we are enjoy it so much. Mother is so so great!

I can feel my bb's position too. Her head on my left lying horizontally across to my right. When i slept on my right side, she kicked, and those kicks were so ticklish. When I suddenly "OH OUCH" my hubby thought something happened. hee... i told him nothing lah... bb tickling me...

Puppylove, how many wks you into now?

waterbirth is still very much new in Singapore and our medical industry is still very conservative. don't think it will fully kick in unless there's public pressure. but it's already very common in the US. don't see much hoo haa since baby is already swimming in utero anyway.

puppylove,
my gynae say 32-wk check then can see if baby has turned or not. now my hubby is terrified of being "kicked" by our baby girl. he said it feels harder like bones. now a bit squeamish when trying to listen to my tummy. hee hee

450925.png

gals

so the stories on the web is not in singapore ?
it sounds like local leh ...

anyway I am not trying hynobirthing... just tot that I can share the URL with u all.

hellobaby,
this is my 28th wk, so i think i'm abt a wk behind u? EDD 25 Sept.

melissa,
oh, 32wks ah? hmm.. my next visit is at 30th wk, but i'll still ask gynae for bb's position. Aiya, he'll sure say i too kancheong... heheh..

Hhm, i remembered reading the report on water birth is based in Singapore...i think is NUH.
Yup, usually the tub is meant to relieve pain only, but for the report i read on papers, the couple specifically requested for water birth.

I reckon i won't get to opt for water birth since GlenE doesn't cater for that.

Puppylove, i also do get there jabs from the bb sometimes...and it can be quite painful at times when it hits the rib cage...but like u, i enjoyed every moment! And wished for more!

puppylove, you have the same EDD as me =) But I thought baby shouldn't turn so fast? Anyway, I always wonder whether it is comfortable for baby to have head down and legs up after a certain weeks. Can you imagine doing head stand and all the blood flows to the head? Like very uncomfortable leh?

there was once I feel a sharp pain in my lower abdomen and it lasted like 30 mins . ... cant even walked properly.
gynae says could be bb position that is sitting on my nerves. OMG !!

my sis was telling me her daughter always do that when she is in her tummy ... haha v pain leh ...

smiley

my gal has been doing her headstand for 2 months oredi ahahha tell me abt it .. I also wonder if it is difficult on her ... hahah but gynae din say anything .. so I guess it is normal.

maybe they can do gymnastic well ?

smiley
*high 5!!*
U also TMC right? maybe we end up in the labour ward at the same time!! haha..

ilovebabies,
wah, ur gal "turned" so early ah! I guess it's natural for bb to be upside-down since we've never heard of any dangers of "turning" too early, right?
Anyway, when we sleep on our sides, bb is also on her side!

yup, bb sometimes presses on nerves *ouch!* Sometimes on my bladder! Makes me feel like visiting the toilet again even when I've just gone!

puppylove

ya i pee a lot too ... but good lah, makes me walk about after sitting down for too long.

my mum says as long as bb is in the headstand position, chances of delivering earlier is high.

btw u gals doing any hearing test for ur bb ?

i am delivering in MAH, and heard they will ask mummies if they want to do the test for their newborns. I will opt for the test.

puppylove, my gynae said that bb's head already turned when I saw her in my 29th week. I'll double confirm with her again when I see her next week.

I'm also experiencing tightness around the tummy often and it is really uncomfortable at times..

ilovebabies, ya i heard of that too... if bb is in the headstand position, likely bb is coming out sooner... whoa! mine still horizontally across my tummy...

hellobaby, mine also horizontally across and i think she liked this position a lot...cos she has been in this position since i am like 16wk :p
These days i get kicks on the extreme right of my tummy...the feeling is just weird and ticklish :p

oh we are so similar Bena!! haha... exactly the same position. kicking felt the same too! :p

did you see your bb's face? and was she moving during your previous scan? my bb was playing 'catching' with dr lee during my last 2 scans.. my bb naughty hee! i got a scan of her face and one of her hand on her chin and the other on the side of her head.. enjoying life inside.. ha!

hey gals

yes we talked abt the insufficient womb space for bb ... but wat exactly cause the tightening ???
anyone knows ? is it that our womb contracts ? or braxton hicks ?

Ehhh... but I thought I heard from my friend that her son turned too early and was in headstand position for too long till the baby was in distress. Not sure whether that's the real reason though. That was what I heard from her, or maybe I didn't get the full story right. Maybe the baby's head was lodged in between the pubic bone for too long for her case?

Puppylove, haha... our babies might be neighbours in the nursery room. You having boy or girl? Are you staying in single or 2 bedded room?

Smiley,
I'm having a girl
though sometimes my hubby & I think she behaves like a boy - hyperactive! Wondering if we shld ask gynae to check again next visit! haha... How about u?
I've chosen single-bedded for the privacy.

puppylove, I have chosen single bedded too
And I am having a girl, my number 1! What a coincidence
Are you taking the ParentCraft lesson?

ilovebabies,

dun be afraid. take things as they come
so long as bb comes out healthy and well right? we are strong mommies. come what may!

Just keep in checks and anything just call the gynae for advise.

hello everyone!
back fr my check up. bb now weighs 1.272kg and i hv just started my 28th wk. gynae said everything is normal and if projection is accurate, he shd be abt 3kg at time of birth
he is oredi in headstand postion, but like u gals mentioned, bbe can still change position fr now till 32nd wk. only at 32nd wk then the position is confirmed.

bena, i paid $189 for the antenatal class at glenE. this is wat it covers:

Lesson 1:
- nutrition (lecture)
- posture correction & toning up exercise

Lesson 2:
- Stages of labour and breathing techniques
- Application of breathing & pushing techniques to all stage of labour

Lesson 3:
- Labour & delivery (lecture)
- Mock labour and video - normal delivery

Lesson 4:
- Breasfeeding & babycare

hope the above is useful for u. hv u signed up for antenatal class at other hospital or still considering whether or not to go?

oh yah gynae said must start counting the no. of movements fr bb in the 3rd tri liao. u gals oso counting oredi i guess?

michelle

great to hear that ur bb is doing well

my gynae says i only start monitoring my bb movements in the last month. and he do not suggest doing the countings cos it can be v stressful to the mum and some bb are more active at nite ... so how do u count when u are sleeping right ? so he says just make sure the movements are consistent daily, the bb shld be ok.

hellobaby

ya ... i am taking things reallllll easy ehehe ...

hey gals... notice the routine of your babies yet?

I have observed my bb's movement and she is active at a certain timings.. pretty fixed.

Smiley,
yup, wat a coincidence! same EDD, hospital and bb gender! gynae shld be diff.. mine is Dr WH Kee. yes, am attending parentcraft - 4th lesson this Fri evening, on baby care/bathing. Nurse Chong says she'll also show us a bit of bb massage even tho' it's not covered in lesson plan.

ilovebabies, my gynae said i shd count in a 12 hr period and ensure that hv at least 10 movements lor. i guess they all have their own preferred methods
anyway like u said so long as there's regular movements everything shd be fine

btw, i hv decided to go for 2-bedded cos my gynae was saying even if single bedded, they will wheel the bb in n out of the room for feeding. if u insist, they will leave the bb wif u but will not be responsible if anything happens during the middle of the nite when u r sleeping, eg: bb vomit or wat. anyway hubby oso wont be staying overnite. so might as well save on that $800 and use it to buy more toys for my bb hee hee

anyway i just read the link abt the braxton hicks thing. is anyone feeling tat now? wat does it feel like actually? its not the tightening of our tummies that we were tokking abt rite?

daisybuttons, i went to firs few yrs just now - bot a nice hooded towel/receiving blanket. thks for the advice!

michelle

i think the braxton hicks is the tightening of the tummies ... now I recalled my gynae told me that. so most of us are experiencing it right now.

I also opted for a 4 bedder in MAH, dun think I want to spend so much for a few days stay. And hope that I can get a FREE upgrade to 2 bedder if the beds are full hehehe

only when the real contractions comes ... that means there is pain in the abdomen and you have backache .. and it becomes persistent and the intervals becomes shorter and shorter .... and when you cant tahan anymore .... ahhaha

Wow, the thread here really goes so fast that I hardly catch up.

I'm in my 27th weeks & EDD is on 25 Sept. My girl is now 23 months. The gap between the 2 will be 2 yrs.

The no 2 came by accident as no plan to start only aft I shift into my new place but well....

To be frank, it's quite tough for me as my girl now is in her terrible 2 and she's asking for more attention and time from us and I need lots of energy to keep up with her. But luckily my hubby is always there to help.

I didnt have very good appetite compare to the 1st pregnancy and I think that's the reason why I didnt put on too much wait. Furthermore, keep falling sick.

I'll be delivering in Mt E. Recently went for a hospital tour in Mt A - thinking of cutting cost.

But in the end, both my hubby and myself agreed that we both preferred Mt E. It's strange, somehow we feel more cosy in Mt E (especially the delivery suite) compare to Mt A.

hi flower, maybe you can get your gal to be involved in the anticipation for the arrival of your no.2 start preparing her on her much attention is needed to take care of baby. go thru pictures of your gal when she was a baby and tell her how much time and love had been put in to bring her up.. let her understand that you will be spending a lot of time with the new baby as much as you did for her. Tell her she is a big sister now and she has a role to play too..

my nieces have the same age gap...

hi flower,
wow! Smiley & I hv the same EDD too!!

I've read abt mums giving a present to the older child and saying it's from baby. It's a way of easing jealousy...