(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Melissa, I consider myself quite fortunate as people always give up their seat for me in the MRT...

Bena, I've already tour the labour & antenatal ward in SGH last month. Most likely I'll be going for the one bedder as there's more privacy vs the four bedder.

I actually wanted to switch to the private sector after working in the govt sector for so many years, but was a bit hesitant after reading about the discrimination pregnant woman face in private companies...

thanks for all the concerns... felt so much warmth and comfort here!

I couldn't open the link for the ST FORUM. Those who are terminated from work cos of pregnancy should write in to MOM or the MPs. I'm sure they can help. So unfair.

Talking about values of the younger generation... i dun think it's the same anymore from our time. Take this as a reminder for ourselves as parents, to pass on good values to our children to make this world a better place!

Bena, I've put on total 18kg during my last visit, now i think should be up to at least total 20kg.
you also ah?

I'm also thinking 1 or 2 bedder, do you have the pricings? 1 bedder hubby can stay over, 2 bedder cannot. This is my consideration.

My hubby will be away most of the time as he is based overseas so probably we will opt for the 1 bedder so he can have more time with our bb. He will leave after the 1st week of my confinement. sob sob...

but i'll be staying with my parents. alot of help there so still quite comforting.

my waist 37", tummy 44", hip 43"

argh! so scary! before pregnancy:

waist 28" hip 38" alot of weight to lose after birth...

Bena, you going to sign up with Rohaya? i'm still considering Rohaya or Golden Wellness... my sis in law tried golden wellness she said one day can see tummy flatter. What did your friend say about Rohaya?

Hellobaby
here's the article

Can MOM help sacked pregnant worker?
I AM a 32-year-old mother and I was working in a local company as a corporate account manager (sales).
I am now into the fifth month of my pregnancy.

On June 21, I received a termination letter with no reason given from the management and I was told to leave the company immediately.

Being with the company for the last 21 months, I had been a sales achiever. In the area of discipline, I was seldom late or took any urgent leave during my employment.

If the company is running away from paying for my maternity leave, this is really unfair to me.

At this stage of my pregnancy, would I be able to get a full-time job at the same pay?

Will I be paid for my maternity leave? Unless I am really lucky, the answer would obviously be no.

From the Ministry of Manpower, I learned that this is the employer's right. Is there really no protection against the dismissal of pregnant woman for no valid reason?

Does the law allow employers to get away with this so easily?

The Government has been promoting and encouraging working women to give birth, but should attention also be given to the issue of safeguarding the job of a pregnant woman and protecting the interest of an expectant mother?

thanks ilovebabies, oh my god so poor thing! i found this online after reading the article...

http://www.mom.gov.sg/PressRoom/PressReplies/Archived2005/20050618+-+lawdoesprotectpregworkers.htm

i'm so surprised by my findings!
really no protection... so sad.

Fellow mates here who is also a victim should probably seek help from the MP. This is so contradicting to our government for encouraging singapore women to have more babies.

I'm sure the MP can raise these issues to the Government, parliament, PM ....

Thanx for the link hellobaby, very informative... think I will use the articles you and ilovebabies found for my lessons! I will do my part and stimulate the minds of the young... work from ground zero!

Unfortunately for the victims, these companies will NEVER admit that they fire someone because she's pregnant. They will always find another excuse for the retrenchment/firing. The most these victims can do is bargain for maternity compensation I think. Is MOM really going to step in to help?????

Hi Bijou,
So far, I've put on 8-9kg and I'm in wk 30. I don't know how accurate this is coz my weighing scale is a bit mad. I always weigh different at the clinic!

Hellobaby, GlenE charges as follows (01-Jul to 31-Dec-07):

Normal delivery - double room: $1260 ($918-$1200)
Normal delivery - single room: $2035 ($1700-$1938)
Normal delivery (with epidural) - double room:
$1470 ($1118-$1400)
Normal delivery with epidural - single room:
$2298 ($1950-$2188)
Emergency cesarean - double room: $2940 ($2800)
Emergency cesarean - single room: $3988 (3798)

The difference between the 1 & 2 bedder is really a lot lor. But for you, since ur hubby not in town most of the time, maybe better for u to spend the $ and get a 1-bedder so ur hubby can stay over. BTW, staying over requires additional of $70-80 per night, includes 5 meals for hubby. So after confinement, u and ur bb going to join ur hubby? It's good to have ur parents with u when ur hubby is not in town.

Heheh, i almost same as u. In total since last visit (24-25wk) i already put on 16kg...Dr Lee say i champion in weight gain
cos i put on 4 kg within 1 month...Dr say Marie France Bodyline will be very happy to see me
i reckon by my next visit (29wk) i should reach 20kg in total. Haiz!!

I still have not decided if to go for Rohaya or not leh. I kind of like these malay auntie...more flexible, but she doesn't do upper thigh wrap...she only concentrate on the tummy area whereas "Traditional Javanese Massage" includes thigh wraps, but no bb massage. Ah yo...so many things to consider and decide. 1 massage also got so many things to consider
headache! I did not hear any negative comments abt Rohaya. Actually, my frd don have much weight to shed, so i guess she just did the massage for the sake of doing it :p

Hi Melissa, Bena and Joon,

I also face the same problem. No one offers me seat in the MRT so far. There was even once I have to give up my seat to an old lady, can you imagine that?! Haha.. The old lady refused to sit and I insisted and we offered each other for a while before she decided to take the offer and sat down. During this, no one bothered to stand up and offer us another seat..

Is there a problem with your Singapore Motherhood browser today? I mean there's no word wrap or is it just mine? Previously I don't remember I have to scroll to the right using the mouse to look at the posting leh??

Smiley,
not a browser problem. it's b'cos ilovebabies posted that long link hehe. nevermind lah, this will be archived in a short while anyway. i don't think there's anyway this problem can be overcome. just bear with it for a while.

? Don't understand, sorry, a bit slow after heavy lunch. I mean for all the posting from anyone that I am reading, not just the link leh?

Anyway, I just change the font to the smallest, so problem sort of solved, but got to strain my eyes a tiny bit. Heehee....

I don't know how to do baby massage. I hope they teach in ParentCraft. I haven't really research what they teach in the classes.. Hehee.. but I know they are going to show a video, which I am going to skip :p
450330.png

thanks bena, the prices are for 2 nights stay including the delivery ward is that right?

Dr Lee so funnie! haha... he also commented my weight was so fantastic! suan me leh...

Think we are very similar... 1st month i also put on 5kg... heh... my last visit was 26wk(18kg) think next visit(32wk)will be 22 kg liao.. oh no!

Actually am now in Jakarta together with my hubby. going back in july. so after confinement got to see how is baby coping with this new world then i'll decide. I think i will stay in sg for at least 3-6months.

hmmm... think i'll sign up with Rohaya... think treat our tummy first then later after confinement can go Traditional Javanese Massage for the thigh wrap? hehe... cos Rohaya massage for bb which i think it's good...

WAH, Melissa, that is amazing. For me, the scale is always tipping in 1 direction
i have not lost any weight...in fact during my 1st tri, i already put on almost 6-7kg liao.

Ya Melissa, in comparison with me and bena you are so amazing! Now that bb is growing so fast and big i cant expect to see my weight not shooting up further lor... but can always trim back again.. now bb more important.

I put on so much weight but during my last visit at 26wk my bb only abt 1kg leh... only normal size so not my bb big.. it's me it's me... FAT! :p

it's true... pple hardly give up seats to preggers anymore. tat's y i always have to take the train backwards a few stations to ensure i hv a seat of my own else gotta stand all the way! i dont rely on pple's kindness anymore. s'poreans are just 1 selfish lot of pple

ilovebabies, i oso get sore soles after i walk for too long. so gotta sit down n rest b4 continuing. actually after long hrs of sitting, when i get up and walk oso the soles a bit painful. i attribute it to my weight gain lor. i'm in 27th wk now and put on 16kg liao.

tummy oso will feel tight sometimes like its gonna burst. i tot it's cos the bb is growing hee hee. nuthin to worry abt rite?

i think i'm having 2nd tots abt taking the single bedder in glenE now. the price difference is so much! really can do a lot more with the $$ that we save man.

shd i buy steriliser or ask frens/relatives to give as a gift hah? hee hee

Hellobaby, comparing to u, my bb smaller
at 25wk, my bb only 785g, but Dr Lee say is normal size...but like u, i already put on a lot of weight...heheh...Dr is laughing that less than 800g goes to my bb and the rest of the 15+ kg goes to me!
I also keep telling myself that now just eat whatever and whenever i feel like it. Now is not the time to diet...bb grows fastest now...so just eat lah, after delivery then see how.

Michelle, in my opnion, for things that you do not need so urgently, can get frds/relatives to give u vouchers and u gt urself...better...so u confirm those thigns are what u want/need. My frds/relatives are all asking me which shopping vouchers i want, so the collate and give as a bigger sum rather than individual gifts

Michelle, yah lor, the price difference i a lot hor. Just hope that by the time we deliver there will be some promotion. I was quite shocked to see the difference. If it's just 200+, can still consider, but it's a whopping $800! I think it's too much liao...afterall it's just 2 nights.

melissa, really envy u! i wish my weight could be under ctrl!

bena, i oso like u - in the 2nd mth oredi put on like 6 kg haha

scales are still steadily creeping up, but now is not the time to diet rite? just after delivery gotta work extremely hard to shed off the excess kilos lor. now so long as bb is healthy, i dun mind putting on weight for him

hving my check-up tmr. cant wait to see how much weight bb has gained :D

hi michelle, my tummy was tight too... i was so worried cos only suddenly started 2/3days back. I was so worried cos i am overseas. I asked around and realised this is normal cos bb growing fast not enough room for them to stretch so our tummy tightens.

my sis in law giving buying the steriliser for me as gift..

michelle and bena, ya let's not diet. just control carbo and those food with empty calories... for the sake of our little one.

I already have stretch marks all over my butts and hips... so sad... but i think mine is genetic.

hi! welcome to Hellobaby! i see you are already very active here liaoz hehehe. i agree with you, now baby more important, so i hoping i can put on weight for his sake. think now my weight gain still not very fast leh, some relatives commented. but i always reply back that baby's weight is more important.

smiley, what melissa meant is when ilovebabies posted the long long link earlier today, it cause the view of the thread to stretch so i also same gotta scroll sideways to read all.... but now u notice its back to normal hehehe coz the message is in the archives now.

yah loh about kindness to preggie woman, think many companies now are still discriminating loh, very sad. and if we dun know our rights, will sure get bullied. but i tot recently govnt got make it illegal to fire employees when they preggie right??

Hellobaby, Michelle...hahah, the 3 of us same same. Scales are forever tipping in 1 direction! Yes, all for the sake of our little one.

Michelle, how many weeks are u tmr? Keep me posted of your bb weight k...cos my frds/colleagues are commenting that i still look small for a starting 7th month mom
Kind of worried abt the bb weight/size.

hi michelle i am still in 2 minds about the cordblood thingie. after reading so much, i start to wonder is it useful at all. actually i think if we store, its more for our subsequent children and not this baby....

who is the one who asked about labour ward tours huh? for TMC, it will be done during 3rd lesson.
i just have it last saturday, its fun.

helo bena, dun be too bothered about what ur friends say about ur tummy size. like i said abv, i will tell them baby weight is more important. since baby weight is good, they shldn't be commenting so much. heard my friend's friend only put on 8kg throughout pregnancy, and tummy not extremely big. but her baby is a healthy 3.2kg. so dun worry about tummy size as long as doc assure u baby is fine.
i get so irritated at ppl commenting on my tummy as if they know better. there is a standard way to look meh? tummies must be THIS specific size according to their charts meh??? BBbrrrrRRR.....

daisybyuttons, i hvnt really been reading much abt the cordblood thing. just know that some of my frens have signed up for it so i tot oso just follow lor. is it really not useful for this bb and only for the 2nd one? that means, if we hv a 2nd one, it's only useful for the 3rd one?

bena, tmr will be start of my 28th wk
will be sure to keep you posted abt bb's wt. how heavy is your bb at your last c/u and which wk was that?

i signed up for glenE's antenatal classes - first one starting on 4 jul. it shd include the ward tour rite?

bena dun worry. mine tummy only suddenly became real big 2/3days ago... you are a little behind me and our weight gain so similar, you should be seeing your tummy ballooning real quick soon!

Hi daisybuttons...yeah very fun to chat here, very addictive!

about the cordblood or cordlife i also haven't decided? and also thinking if i will go for it...

michelle, u can read the thread titled "stemcord or cordlife" or issit the other way around? hehehe. there is someone also called michelle, who informed us of somethings i din know. example, those diseases that cordblood can cure, is usually already present during birth. or rather, the cells of babies who will develop such diseases later in life, already have such disease coded into their cord blood. so that means, very very low chance can use to save this same baby. usually cordblood is taken from newborn siblings of kids who is already sick. then it will be useful coz the newborn will be clear, so her cordblood can help her sibling who is already sick. u know what i mean? so some ppl are saying u spend so much storing the cord blood, must at least kknow the purpose lah. right now, according to what i read, only a few diseases can be cured using the person's own cordblood taken from birth. also, for a 4yr old sick child, one bag of cordblood is enough. but for a 4-8 yrs old child, need 2 bags. adult will need 3-4 bags..... thats why someone also say might as well donate to public cord blood banks as an act of good will. i dunno leh.......very confused also....

daisybutton, i like the way you put it. Yah, bb weight most impt. So far doc din say bb small or big, he just say ok..norm...which i am happy.

Michelle, i was 25wk, 6days at least visit and bb weight is ~785g.

Hellobaby, yeah, we are so close...maybe will see you at the delivery ward, who knows

I called up GlenE about the antenatal classes, but the lady told me that it only includes the different stages of labour...the rest like breast-feeding, bathing of bb, etc will be included in the parentcraft which we get to attend for free during our stay in the hospital. I was not able to reach ParentCraft to confirm on this. I wanted to find out from them if we can attend the ParentCraft earlier...

Michelle, what does the antenatal class u signed up for consists? How much did u have to pay?

i have decided not to store my cord blood. reasons as what daisybuttons mentioned. in fact I asked around, not many ppl do it.
asked gynae, he also dun seem enthusiastic about it.

daisybuttons,
LOL your message is so funny about the tummy size

no need to envy my weight gain. in fact i'm worried that i don't put on much b'cos it results in a small baby. my baby girl is slightly smaller than average so i'm trying to pile in more pounds. i started being slightly overweight too so i shouldn't gain weight excessively. besides, got about 3 more months to catch up. heard your appetite can really increase in the 3rd trimester.

i'm not taking up cord blood too. save money for something else. still haven't shop for any baby products. bought a swaddle cloth from kidzmall. that's my most recent purchase hehe.

Melissa, i have a frd who is over-weight and her total weight gain throughout her pregnancy is only 8kg...and she also lost some weight during the 1st tri...but end day, her girl is healthy.

Hahah...my appetite has already increased :p

hey daisybutton, you are delivering at TMC right? Are you opting for the single bedded or 2 bedded? After reading the previous posts from the gals, I am having doubts whether I should stick to single bedded leh..

appetite will increase in 3rd tri? wah like dat i siao liao lah.. dunno will put on how much in total!

i guess for cordblood, i really have to go n read up more b4 i decide to take or not. no pt wasting so much more if the benefits are so little. seems like anothe con job fr the medical professionals ... sigh

hellobaby, i will only attend the antenatal class starting next mth so dunno useful or not oso :p

bena, i read the course outline they say got info on bf, bathing the baby etc leh.. let me go home and get the letter again then i post the contents here. i think i paid $18o+? gotta go back n double check again. nowadays memory very bad lah hee hee. anyway dun worry aboutyour bb - so long as gynae said it's normal, there's nuthin to worry abt! for mine at the last check up, gynae said mine is on the bigger side, but still normal oso so that's gd enuf for me

Bena, my tummy is small too.. People still thought I am only at my 4th month.. Like you, I was very worried and upset when people say mine is very small. But my hubby told me not to worry, as long as baby is growing, tummy size doesn't matter
I think first baby usually tummy smaller lah..

I'm also a Sept Mummy. This is my no 2. So far, I've put on 6kg only as I'm being falling sick. The last pregnancy, I put on a total of 18kg.

Like to join in the talk here.

I just spoke to my gynae yesterday about the coreblood thing as I tot of storing it for this coming bb as I didnt do it for my no 1. According to my gynae, at present in Singapore, this only come useful for Lukemia. Other illness is still under research.

Anyway, there is a free talk by Corelife on 1st July @ Camden Medical Centre. Maybe you gals can attend the talk and find out more. I've signed up for the talk to.

hi flower! welcome to the forum! wat's your EDD? and thks for the info abt cordblood. will try to attend the talk to find out more. probably will ask my gynae abt it tomorrow too

Michelle, I also heard that appetite will increase in 3rd tri.. One of my colleague who is in her 3rd tri put on 18kg already and her EDD is end of next mth... She's been snacking a lot in between meals... As for me, I'm still sticking to norm - 3 meals a day... don't feel hungry in between meals leh...

hi smiley during the antenatal class, the teacher says usually 1st pregnancy the tummy wont show until 5th or 6th mth. this's becos our abdominal wall muscles are still strong. for subsequent pregnancies, the tummy will show ard 3rd mth as the muscles are stretched already. tts why we need to start doing abdominal exercise 6 wks after giving birth.