(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

haah seems like we are really a very privileged group... even aunties are looking out for us !

melissa

ya green tea is actually cooling lor .. good that the auntie reminded me ... hehe .. but it was a hot day that day mah ...

think it is best to avoid cooling stuff ..esp now I am in my 3rd tri !

joon, the colours/designs not many to choose fr but still ok lah. lots of basic solid colours rather than prints tho.

u all get to eat mac's? so gd! i've been wanting to eat but hubby said "NO!" so i very poor thing everytime walk pass and take deeeeeep breath to get the french fries smell haha - so pathetic rite. i hv not been drinking tea or coffee either, no wine/beer, no rojak, no mutton.. wah liao.. so many things i hv not been eating! i think after i deliver i gonna put on even more weight cos so deprived of all my favourite food :p

haaaa. we do have different experiences with aunties leh.

Once, i ordered Lor mee. the auntie ask me not to put vinegar. I always love these aunties who give their two cents' worth.. but i hate those young chaps who failed to give up their seats on the bus even though i am standing right in front of them. So frustrating!

Michelle, i think once in a while eat fast food and the stuffs u listed is ok wot...not as if u are eating everyday. I am quite the opp. I did not have any craving for fast food till the other day...

U eat mac when u are not with hubby lor :p

Michelle,

If you have special cravings, go and eat it .. just to kill the crave. Old people say if you feel like eating, just eat. Baby won't be greedy next time.

Mac is fine. I eat mac and Kfc as well. Sometimes, i am tempted for cold drinks so i order too. The coolness of the drink damn shiok leh. As for tea and coffee, don't drink too much lor.. a cup a day should be fine.

When u crave for something, it's becos your baby wants to eat it.... so don't deprive your baby for the food! heeeee!

michelle

heng my hubby loves mac as well ehhe

but like u i dun take tea/coffee, no alchohol, no rojak and no mutton. and I stop bananas .. in case I ate the wrong type of the bananas which my mum says SHLD AVOID AT ALL COST.

i eat a lot a lot of fish...

sometimes, i will reward myself with a cone of icecream or a glass of cold ribena or perhaps a cup of tea.. these r little ways to make myself happy after a day's work!

Do pamper yourself! Coz u pamper the baby as well! U happy.. baby also happy mah!

littlepony, u refrain from cold drinks ar? i actually don't quite bother about that..but of course not excessive lor. My mom say no prob drinking. When she was having me, she just had to drink ice cold coke everyday...heheh

Michelle, i agree with littlepony, just eat whatever u feel like...but of course not excessively...must balance out with healthy food for the bb also lor.

ilovebabies,
can't eat rojak as well huh? haaa! yes, i stop bananas but until one day, i did a banana milk shake for myself. really need to break the rules once! That was just the only time i eat it..

Yes, lots of fish... and vegetables... and fruits as well!

Bena,
ya lor! I refrain from cold drinks... and i drink alot of barley without sugar.

I am going for my checkup this Sat. Have to check sugar level.. i have been watching my own diet these few days... and i drink lots of water to wash down.. haaa!! I always cheat! And if sugar level ok, i will sure go eat ice cream again!

littlepony

cos I dunno if the prawn paste is too toxic for the bb ? anyway i dont really crave for that. heeh I eat ice cream once in a while too.

bought my dresser from ikea recently, so once hubby set it up i can start washing the bb stuff v soon and keep it inside. so excited !

ilovebabies,
Oic... it's the prawn paste huh. But do you take prawns??

Haa...i think you muz be looking forward in putting the little mini clothings in the dresser!!! By looking at the clothings, i am sure you will be equally excited alreadi!

littlepony, if only i can be like u...i drink cold drink...never quite refrain from it. hehhe...

ilovebabies, bananas are ok, just don eat those delmonte ones. eat those small ones are ok.

hmm.. yah i think i shd eat mac's this wkend! my hubby very strict - that time i wanted to hv just a sip of coke oso cannot
i was kinda upset and told him a bit only wont die one mah. but i think he just being super kiasu. nevermind, i'll tell him about all of my frens here then mebbe he will 'fang xin' a bit

my mom was just telling me dun lay out all the baby mattress, pillow, blanket etc.. in the baby cot before bb comes out. some superstitions i guess. any of u heard abt this too?

Michelle,
Juz say baby wants to eat and he will allow! Husbands are like that... if we say, they think we just say for fun! but if we say baby wants, they will go all way out to buy for us! Give it a try. It will work!

Bena, maybe i never a cold drink lover.. so if i don't drink, it's okie.

Michelle,
never heard leh.. but i guess maybe partially true as well. Up to individual lor. If you believe, then just do it when u reach home after delivery.. or get husband to do before u get home from hospital.
Don't lay it too fast as well.. coz will collect dust! now, just get ready by washing them.

really envy you gals... get to eat Mac during lunch... For me, I have limited food choices around my workplace... every week eat almost the same food... getting sick and tired of it...

I still drink cold drinks on and off even though I'm suppose to avoid... Indulge in ice cream also when I got craving for it.. esp hot fudge sundae from Mcdonalds...

michelle,
i really pity you. how can you hubby be super kiasu until like that. really sometimes u have to give in to your baby. it's the baby who wants to taste it. once i had a craving for mac hot fudge. i took my supper and took something sweet but still, i cannot forget the hot fudge. it's already 11 pm liao, so i told my hubby and he immediately go out to get a hot fudge for me. heng ah mac is open 24 hours a day.

hey amylim, i just noticed we have the same cravings haha. syiok right hot fudge!

Argh! Hot fudge! Don't tempt me leh! haaaa!!! maybe i go and indulge myself with that after my check up on Sat. See if i still crave for it.

Michelle, no lah. Think your hubby very concerned for u. But hoh, if u really crave then go eat it lah. Tell your hubby... i think he will understand!

Ilovebabies,
Normally, u eat a couple of prawns. Prawn paste has MORE prawns so toxic! haaaaa!!!! Anyway, i not fan of rojak!! heeee!

Hi joon, what kind of dessert is that? "gingko nuts, barley and egg white hot dessert" What do you call that? Sounds yummy leh.. =P

littlepony

good thinking ! yes yes .. so I shld stop rojak now .. anyway some says if u eat too much prawns and crabs, bb will be active ...

michelle

i have never heard of this myth before. but then again, that's also becos I din ask my mum or MIL .. they may believe in this myth. Anyway my mum has not setup the cot yet ... no point mah .. wastage of space and collecting dust.

? Then when is a good time to lay out the baby stuff? Shouldn't we prepare first before delivery, while we are still not so tired and still got time?

wah actualy i am quite "guai" hor. think tmr lunch i ownself go n eat mc's liao haha! or mebbe can go out for supper tonite. shucks.. now thinking about it oso hungry liao .. :p~~

there are so many myths n old wives tales until i oso give up. like cannot move the bed (how to change bedsheet?!?), cannot cut/sew on the bed, cannot look at my dog too much (else bb look like dog)... anyway like u all said, those practical one i can follow i just follow, cannot follow one too bad.

u guys gonna to do the whole confinemt thing and not bathe/wash hair for a whole mth? dunno whether can tahan or not leh...

michelle

i think I am more particular abt the bed thing .... seems that my friends also follow that.

when I change bedsheet, i used fitted sheets, so actually no need to shift the bed.

and hubby dun allow me to do anything on the bed except sleep on it.

why canot see dogs ? i watch Animal planet channel leh !

my mum says it is better not to bath/wash hair for 1st 3 days .. subsequently can bath with herbs and prob wash hair once a week ???

helo talking abt food! hehehe my lunch today hor is slice fish bee hoon, but i crave for mee siam but dun have. in the end persuade my coll to share a plate of char kuay tiao with me, on top of the bee hooN! hehehe. slurp!

i also of the thinking that if u crave for something, and its not harmful, eat it! for me, macs is okie, coz i feel it has beef and cheese so it contains protein which is good for baby. i also love BK's mushroom swiss. ate more fast food during preggie than b4 preggie! i also dun like cold drinks last time, but now once in a while got crave. so i will drink like longan dessert or a few sips of ice lemon tea but will stop after a few sips. but hor, hubby dun let me eat rojaK!!! thats something he forbids me to eat, except IF the piece of rojak is not stuck in prawn paste. his reason is that prawn paste is raw, so cannot eat.

smiley, hehehe you still rem the bag? yep i rec it long ago liaoz, together with the recieving blankets i ordered. quite like the bag lah, but still, its the small one, i still need a proper size diaper bag!!! arrrggghhhh...... i like to surf such things for baby loh, tell you, alot of things sold online shops are super adorable loh!!! some of those cot sheet sets makes you wanna melt.....but so exp. :p

joon, thanks for the info about body pillow. yah thats why i wondering, the way the pillow is made, think the tummy will be awkward if on top of pillow mah. think i wun buy then, coz i prefer tummy to be supported when i want it hehehee.

puppylove, wah, u will adjust pillow when u turn in bed ah? actually i do too, i will put a small pillow behind my back, the pregnancy pillow under my tummy. but in the middle of the night hor, when i turn will have to re-adjust very shiong leh !! hehehee. sometimes i just improvise loh.

Michelle,
I am particular about the bed.. i don't shift my stuff in the room.. remain as it is..

As for bathing.. i think can use herbs to bathe.... confinement lady will prepare that for you.. but i heard, bathe like no bathe leh! Coz it's warm.. so end up, you perspire after the bath. But perspiring is good....

Juz tolerate for a month lor and then, we won't be grumbling of backaches for rest of our lives!

Me too lah.. I also take cold drinks, esp ice cream. I have ice cream almost every alternate nights! My mum lah, she loves to stock up the freezer with ice cream, too tempting for me to resist.

Daisybuttons, if you find anything nice in UK, let me know.. perhaps I can get my fren to help me (and u) buy IF she's coming down to Singapore.. then can save on shipping.. heehee...

littlepony

as long as I can bath I am very happy already. we may be having mensus that period also .. so it is good to clean ourselves regularly lor ..

wah, just came back from a long meeting and my previous post was already archived!! U gals sure chat fast!

ilovebabies,
this is my 27th week.

Bena,
i've been seeing gynae every 4 wks since signing up package. But think gynae wants to make it 3 wks from now. Next visit is when I'm 30wks.

amylim, melissa,
i also put pillow between my legs when i sleep... hmm.. round ligament pain? But I only feel it when i'm lying on my side loh.. once i get up in the morning, ok le... But I guess more pelvic exercise will do good too. Thanks!

daisybuttons,
i dun adjust the pillow for my head. i adjust the 3 other pillows i use to hug with my arms and legs or support my back!! my bed very crowded now!
ya, very shiong when i turn to the other side to sleep.. got to transfer so many pillows. haha...

hmm.. the rest of your posts, i juz speedread. All the talk abt Mac and rojak and ice cream is making me crave for them! *signing off for today*

I didn't know we are not suppose to shift the bed... I actually lifted the bed with the help of my hb to fit in the bedsheets whenever I change it...

My mum says try not to bathe using water from the tap (be it hot or cold) as it will cause wind... I will probably use herbs to bathe.

Wow, so many posts! I see food gets everyone quite excited eh? hee hee... just kidding
I had no idea rojak was a no-no, and that 'hei ko' was raw! *sigh* i just LOVE rojak...

Michelle, cannot look at my dog too much? But he's too cute to ignore! haha... maybe I should start staring at Brad Pitt's picture, then my bb will be good-looking, haha...

I don't think I can tahan not bathing in our weather. Maybe if it's Nov/Dec period, more rain, cooler, can consider. I'll do those herb baths. Hot never mind... I'm a clean freak!

Smiley, is that what it's called in chinese? I had no idea! But ya, there's usually egg white, beancurd skin, barley and gingko nuts in it. Aiyah, but don't take my word for it, I'm quite a banana when it comes to things like that.

Rojak, hot fudge sundae, mushroom swiss... I'M HUNGRY!

hi amylim

as long as you are not superstitous, it is ok and dont be affected by what others say. It is just a belief. Everything will be fine, right ?

hey gals, see lah .. all the talk abt food .. i bought a packet of mini magnums from NTUC just now ...

ilovebabies...at least u bought the mini ones...so it's ok...each time restrict yourself to 1 will do :p All the talk about ice cream also made me crave. Wanted to get the ben & jerry's chubby hubby (my fav), but not avaiable at the petrol qiosk near my hse...so disappointed
Today still craving for it.

Have you gals tried Carl's Jr burgers? Oh, i loved the Double western!

Morning

Bena, I just LOVE chubby hubby! mmm... the salty peanut butter pretzel and the chocolate fudge...mmm... yup, Carl's Jr burgers are good! I like the one with the bacon... have u tried their handscooped milkshake? Worth trying! So good!

Look at us... talkg abt fastfood at 930am... tsk tsk tsk!

Good morning girls!!!
Take our your tickers already! make this forum colorful liao!

joon,
Don't worry about looking at the dog or animals. Think about those people from other races, who has dogs and cats at home and who looked after them everyday, do their babies come out looking like animals? LOL. I don't think so! So don't worry ok!

447486.png

Melissa, I also think so leh.. And what about those caucasians who have no such things as confinement and give bith in winter? They will all get backaches meh? Heehee.... No logic right?

aaah! my fave is oso chubby hubby!!! just polished off one tub last mth - wif the help of my hubby of course cos he cant resist it too hahah :D

i will bathe oso using those herbs - better than nuthin rite? as for hair, i think i'll try to ctrl myself and wash only when absolutely necessary. prob is i hv such thick hair that if i dun wash for one day only, it gets sweaty, hot, sticky and itchy!

oh i love carl's jnr burgers too!! was thinking of hving that for lunch today. heh heh

joon u hv a dog too? wat breed? mine's a shihtzu -super cute
i always hug n kiss her and love to look at her too hee hee. hv u planned how to get your dog and bb to get along next time? my dog very close to me like super glue one so i a bit worried when bb comes she'll be jealous...

All this talk abt chubby hubby ice-cream made me realise that I have a real live "chubby hubby"! haha

Melissa, ya, take everything with a pinch of salt yes? Have u heard the one abt not moving furniture though? Just wondering if there's any truth in that, coz I want to rearrange some stuff in one of our rooms. What will happen if I move furniture?

Heeee, michelle, I have a dog too! He's a Welsh Springer Spaniel. Very funny guy, wish he could talk. Have u thot abt how u're going to introduce ur dog to the bb? I haven't! But I read somewhere that playing recordings of bb cries and noises will get the dog used to having a bb in the house later on. But I don't know how helpful that is!

447533.png

Hi Michelle,

We can't upload the html codes that the ticker websites provide. This forum doesn't allow that. What we've all been doing is saving the image as a file and then upload it as an attachment. Try that out

michelle,
use the Upload Attachment button. it works. use GIF/JPG/PNG format only.

Smiley,
Hah! Glad i got supporters hahaha. most of these are superstitions lah.

Joon, michelle, heheh...me too leh. chubby hubby.. best!

Joon, yes yes, double western is the one with the bacons and onion rings in there. Ah yo. My fav burger. After eating carls jr, bk burgers became so small in size :p

Alamak...cannot take it...must ask hubby to try other petrol kiosk for chubby hubby liao! Yum Yum!

447546.jpg

Joon,
Nope. About moving furnitures, i think it's for medical reason. If you lift up something heavy, you're weaking your pelvic muscle. If you plan to deliver naturally, better make sure it's toned and strong so lifting and moving furniture is an absolute no-no. It's what one malay massage lady told me. She said your pregnancy is only considered stable after 7 months, but don't take the risk lah. Premature labor can still happen liao.

thks melissa! mng to get my 1st ticker liao

joon, i heard not gd to move furniture ard the room oso but mine is more old wives' tale lah. anyway if not absolutely necessary then dun move lor. better safe than sorry rite. as for my dog, i really dunno how to mng... shd i just wait n see wat happens?

447549.png

I still think we should do what we believe. If you believe in old wives' tales and prefer to take precautious, go ahead. But if you think you believe in what u think it is, go ahead.
Most importantly, the more we are afraid of this and that.. the worse it becomes..... Haaa!