(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Hi melissa,

Haven't seen the bath tubs at most places since the Taka baby fair... But I recalled seeing 3 tubs being tucked away at Taka's nursery dept when I was there last month. But didn't see any tubs when I was there on last Sunday. Guess they were sold.

Maybe can try BB Hypermart? I am not too sure myself. If I happen to see the tubs again can let u gals know. They are quite bulky, so I guess that's why most departmental stores don't stock them unless there is a fair...

hi smiley, yah baby safe is usually the more common brand. i cld have spelt the brand wrongly, not sure. but its distributed by Kidzloft, so i guess only certain places got sell. the original price is same as babysafe. well, just like not everybody has heard of ameda.

melissa, u can try buying direct from kidzloft? just now went to surf and saw the exact tub peachie posted. but it doesnt come with the freebies she got during the fair lah. www.kidzloft.com. browse under "bathing".

cant remember which one you mentioned the bb pulling the mummy's cord ? is it a sharp feeling in the tummy ? i feel it v frequently leh .. but i din wonder it was the cord until u gals mentioned.

daisybuttons,
thank you so much! yes it's there. must show hubby. yesterday when he saw the tub he's also interested!

ilovebabies,
but how can we feel a sharp pain when baby pull on the cord? i thought the cord is connected directly to the placenta and the placenta itself is a separate entity? i attribute some sharp jabs or pains to baby elbowing our tummies or hard kicks. i get that a lot! it makes me jump! LOL.

Hi Daisybuttons and Melissa,

Great! Now our little ones can bathe in the same tub!

Wow, how do you gals know that the baby is pulling the cord? Can feel one issit? I can never tell....

Hello! Hello!

Was at Taka just now and there's now a 20% discount on all Safety 1st products. I also saw the latex mattress that daisybuttons was telling us abt. (thanx!) It's distributed by Kidzloft and here are the prices & dimensions for those who are interested...

$129 24"x48"x3" mattress + free pillow + pillowcase
$139 28"x52"x3" mattress + free pillow + pillowcase
$62.90 28"x41"x1.5" playpen mattress
$62.90 24"x48"x1.5" mattress pad
$72.90 28"x52"x1.5" mattress pad

Kidzloft is also selling them directly online, with free delivery if ur purchase is >$150.

Was also at First Few Years (Paragon) and they are selling the PIS at $599 and $699 if u are interested. The $599 one is one with the US voltage, but First Few Yrs will throw in the adaptor for local use for free. The $699 one is already adapted for local use. (so it's a little lighter than the US one)

I was SOOO tempted to buy this diaper bag from First Few Years... now 20% off!
445127.jpg

ilove babies,

I went baby hyperstore to buy my stroller (very good bargain for Maclaren XT2006 model @335sgd!!) and the bigger sized playpen 24 x 48" @ 100 sgd over the weekend too, but they offered me normal foam mattres @35sgd?

BTW, you must be in the same parentcraft class as me @ MAH on Sat. since, the physiotherapist did mention that"erection" part.. keke
where were you sitting? i was sitting near the staff toilet nearest to the entrance to the rehabilation room!

ilovebabies, i also can't remember which mummy mentioned about the pulling of the cord, but once in a while, i do get a tight tension feeling. It's not very painful, but very different from the usual kicks, so i also dunno if it's the bb pulling the cord.

hmmm... I cannot feel the placenta, nor the cord... maybe fats lining everything is too thick, haha!

I was just staring at my tummy the other night though and noticed a wave-like movement! Ok, not like a hand wave, but the movement was like a rainbow wave across the belly.
Usually, I get nudges and pokes.

Jasmine, congrats on ur gd buy!

Peachie, have u managed to "siam" the firedrill?

Puppylove, the usual 2 sizes for cots are
1. 24" x 48"
2. 28" x 52"
I think I know who u're talking abt! She's a small little staff nurse right? I was SO bored during the lesson too
Did u go for the 2nd session on Friday night? I didn't :p, only went for the 1st one. Were u there too (1st session)?

Daisybuttons, u are so gd! Pls encourage me when we all start BF ok?

445253.png

hi joon!
oh, so u're the one going for Fri night classes too! yup, was there both lessons. Almost wanted to skip lesson 2 too, but went in the end. Dun think u missed much lah... But we got a set of notes, so do rem to ask for a set during lesson 3. Lesson 3 has hospital tour, so it wld be more interesting.

thanx puppylove
where were u sitting during the 1st lesson? i was right at the back, falling asleep, haha.

gd morning all,

long x nvr visit the forum liaoz...hw's evyone doing?one more week for me to enter into the 3rd trimester.....

2nite going to Dr adrian clinic to c baby ger..FINALLY!!!!after a mth long wait

hey joon

the bag is vv nice !! v tempted leh but a bit ex ah ?

Hi jasmine

are u in pink that day ? I was at the second row after the entrance on the right row ! I am in black top and white pants.

me on leave today, gonna see my gal later hehee wat a long wait !

Ya! I'm in love with it... it's a sling and can be converted into a backpack! And I checked the thing, it's very well made and sturdy... I read a thread that the Allerhand bags (sold at Motherswork) look nice, but are quite flimsy... yeah... a little exp...

Enjoy ur visit later! I know how u feel
Everytime after my visit, I stare at the scan pic every day
Believe it or not, we'll be able to meet our bbs soon! < 2 mths to go!

wow! great idea!
these moments are precious man... but i wish my gynae would scan me longer... everytime i go there, it just feels so short! i could lie there all day, haha.

ilovebabies...yeah, should bring the vcam to capture. Hubby forgot the vcam during my last visit. Was so disappointed...cos my gal was pretty active, bouncing here and there...ha! End day, i only got a scan photo of her face
But still very happy with it...been staring at it qutie often too...heheh.

MUST remmeber the vcam during my next visit!!

haha lie there whole day ... ok lor u pay for his one day income ? ;)

actually my gynae machine comes with a dvd recorder but he doesnt know how to use so he sugg vcam

joon, same here. I was telling hubby how come the gynae so 'cat' only give 1 photo when he did so many different scans at different positions :p
1 photo where got enough. Sometimes wish i have a scanning machine at home...can scan anytime i like. HA!

Bena, ya! Do you know that Tom Cruise actually bought a scanning machine so Katie Holmes and him could scan any time they want??? hahaha, some useless info...

Ilovebabies, er... i don't think so! I think she earns enuff, hahahaha!

ya ya I saw that on the news ... but I was thinking .. isnt too much scanning bad for the bb ?
prob he even hires a private gynae for her !

Haaa. everyone going crazy over scans.. u know, it's actually not good to do ultrasound so often. Therefore, why didn't they invent a scanning machine for home use or why didn't they keep us there for a long time just to look at our babies.....heeee. coz not good mah.

ilovebabies,

ya me in pink that day! you were sitting in front of me??

next visit muz give each other signal hor.. i not very very sure who is who keke..

enjoy your visit ah! activate your mobile phone video function, that is what i do during every visit.. my gynae allow us to film down every scan..

jasmine !

we are so near each other ,... i sit beside u only leh

in fact in that class, I see a lot of familiar faces ... one is my ex colleague, the couple beside me ... the husband is my current colleague and I see some couples from my uni batch also

ilovebabies &amp; littlepony, yup, too much scanning is not good... i remember Tom Cruise getting a lot of flak from the public after that news was released... oh well... $$ can do wonders!

hee hee, today I'm going to 'zhao' work early to check out the bb stuff at Suntec

joon

preggies got priv to come to work late and leave early hehehe .... i quite enjoy it leh ... so must get P again hahaha

but hor this yr is really a good year .. so many ppl around me P u know ? yest saw a colleague P again .. her little tummy is showing hehe

hahaa yes gynae office will allow you to videotape the scan. i know i just did! i brought along my sony digital camera which has a video recording function. i emptied the memory stick and gynae gave us 5 minutes of recording! it's so precious! i can see my baby girl anytime i want. my gynae even scanned me all over so we get to see her everything! including her girl parts, her heads, from front and side view, her legs. wow! it's something that keeps playing in my head all the time. and my hubby definitely feels very attached to the baby already! always kiss my tummy many times a day!

and i agree, scanning cannot be done everyday. tom cruise is nuts! i never liked him since he knocked up that virgin, Katie, out of wedlock!

ilovebabies, i'll say! The pregnancy trump card is like a "get out of jail for free" card... must use, otherwise wasted, haha
I agree with u, many preggies ard... 2 of my close friends too, and we are due within 2 wks of each other! Either that or, becoz we are preggie, we notice other preggies.

Wow melissa! 5 minutes is a long time! Enjoy ur video time
Ur gynae sounds like a nice chap
Actually, I'm pleasantly surprised by my pregnancy... it's turning out to be better than I expected
... I used to be so terrified and all that, and quite anti-children!

Ya, I don't like him too... shorty! (alamak, who am I to judge? I'm only 1.54m!)

joon

ya I have 3 other friends whose EDD is just days apart from mine too ! so zun right ?

ok me going out v soon .. think I'll cont with u gals tmr ..

I also agree too much scanning is not good... My gynae usually does a brief scan (less than 10 seconds) to check the bb's position every time I visit her. My next detail scan will be coming up in 2 weeks time (wk 32)to check the growth of the baby and position of the placenta...

Smiley &amp; Melissa, other than Gaviscon, can also try antacid... It really helps...

Heheh...yah lor, that news about Tom Cruise and his home scanning machine is big.

Yup, my mom also ask everytime go gynae do the scans good meh? But just can't resists leh...look forward to each and every visit...then end up feel the time there is so short!

Jasmine, u so smart! i din even think of the video fucntion of the mobile till u mentioned it. To think i was so disappointed when hubby forgot the vcam the other day. I din even thot of the mobile! Shucks!! Now gotto wait till next visit liao...but luckily i still have 1 scan photo :D

gosh.. my back aches terribly. now find it difficult to sit properly. I putting a pillow behind me while i work. Still feel the aching pain. Sigh! Make me no mood to work leh.

keke.. Bena,

try it! I have been using my pda's video recording function in gynae's office since i became preggie.. my hubby will store all the recordings into a CD for keepsake.. too bad i can't upload video recordings directly into my blog!

It really helped alot in the earlier days when we can't feel baby moving yet &amp; wondering if all is ok...

On the safety1st bath sloped tubs, for those interested can also get from Robinsons (Raffles City). Passed by there last night and noted that they are selling bath tubs now (but only 4 tubs are on the rack) and the tubs are selling at $42.90 each (UP$62.90). The tub looks like this and comes with supportive backrest, pitcher and some other accesories....

445615.jpg

Comfy Duck Bath Center
Ideal for infants from birth to six months, the Comfy Duck Bath Center features a comfortable and supportive tub with an adorable mesh sling. Great for sponge baths!

Secure mesh sling in friendly duck design for sponge baths
Supportive backrest with a slip-resistant pad
Built-in accessory tray for bath time essentials
Matching rinse pitcher included
Built-in temperature strip helps assure a comfortable water temperature
Easy-release drain plug

Went for the hospital tour at GlenE today, right after my blood glucose test. Didn't get to see the delivery suites cos all of them were in use. Only saw the single and double bedded room. The single room looks quite small... but it comes with a sofa bed and an armchair. Think I will take the single room. According to Jacqueline (the coordinator who conducted the tour), the baby can remain together with the mother in the room for 24 hours if single room option is taken. Otherwise, the baby can only be in the room from 9am to 9pm (official visiting hours) cos the other patient needs to rest. Husband can also stay on as lodger in the single bedded room. Otherwise, the nurses will request husband to leave after 9pm.

For those who need parking facilities, daily concessionary coupons (max 2) at $5 each can be obtained from the nurses station during your stay there. The concessionary coupon only allow 1 exit per day. No deposit is required upon booking of room. A deposit on the full amount of the package chosen will only be charged upon the actual day of admission into the hospital. If natural birth, the mother will be sent to the delivery suite straight after admission. Jacqueline advised all mothers to do the pre-admission procedures at least 1 month before expected date of delivery.

peachie!
Thanks for the field report! It's exactly what's in my mind! So will you be delivering in GlenE? I think I'm taking the double bedded room, just in case I have to do c-sect. I also learnt that there's a complimentary limousine ride home from maternity wards? You have to inform the nurse if you want to utilise the free complimentary ride. I think I'm interested liao. Never been in a limo before. Can ask hubby to take the bus to the hospital and go back in style! Haha.

Hi Melissa,

No probs!
Yep, I will be delivering at GlenE. My gynea is there, so I guess it is better as he can check on my dilation more often. But I am concerned about their limited number of delivery suites though. GlenE only has 10, and all 10 were used up just now. So we asked Jacqueline what happens if there are more than 10. She said if this is the case, there is no choice... the 11th mother onwards will be placed in the observation area (which is an open area with 4 beds). There will still be the same monitoring machines, but there is no privacy, since the husbands of the rest of the people will be walking by... There will be a curtain around the bed, but it is still open and darned cramped.
I just hope that I don't deliver on a day where I will be suay enough to be placed outside. Being in pain is bad enough.....

Yep, there is a limosine service. You just have to notify the nurse and they will arrange with the car rental company. But it may not be a limo though.... My guess is that it is just an ordinary rented car, but they call it limo service... U can ask during the hosp tour.

Popped by the nursery. The babies are sooooo cute!

Uh.. I always have this impression that limousine service calls upon luxury cars? No? I guess I'll check with the front desk in my next visit.

hi peachie, thks for the info on tubs.. SGH is quite flexible in terms of bb rooming in with the mother as compared with Gleneagles. It's 24 hrs, whether it is single room or 4 bedded.

hey peachie! i'm new here.. just discovered this site today. am in my 26th wk and also delivering at glene. was wondering abt whether to take single or double room - after reading your post i think i wanna take single liao cos would like to keep bb wif me all nite long haha. anyway the nurse told me to book the single first cos may not necessarily have also as it's limited. only on d-day itself when you will know whether u got a single rm or not.

anyway this is a great thread
it's my first bb and it's just so excitin! a completely new project so have lots to read up on and learn hee hee