(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

helo! hey very interesting topics today hehehe.

janice, thanks for the info and welcome! i know pasturised cheese and milk is better coz they kill the bacteria during the process of pastuerisation but din know the technicalities, now i know!

melissa and bena, yah man tell me about it. i was diagnosed with irritable bowel syndrome 1-2 yrs back i think. i used to wonder whats wrong with me when every morning i wil have tummy ache. as long as ANY piece of food get into my stomach. be it drinks or food, i will go toilet. sometimes get so bad i have to control myself throughout the bus ride back then. then doc diagnosed me, and asked me to stay off milo coz i may be sensitive to the malt. asked me to try soya milk. was okie for a few days, then came back again. even the medi din help once i was about to finish the course. in the end, guess what helps a bit? Manuka honey and yakult.
i deligently drink manuka honey (that time drink with potency UMF, but now change back to normal) with lemon every morning, and yakult as long as i remember. it really helps. coz it coats and soothes ur stomach lining to make it less "irritable" hahaha. that time i tried phyllium husk but i also din help. just some info lah.

joon, hahahhahahahaha you beri funny leh!!!! hehehe nearly made me laugh out loud when u say as long as we dun drink direct from cows hehehehhee!

smiley, yah can u register for weekday classes then? or is it u not able to make it for weekday timings huh? try to start early if u can. july/aug still okie lah, urs mid sept right? but that means u may miss the 6th lesson which is doctor's talk in SCGS. but perhaps not that important.

hi peachie, thanks for the info about 10%. read a thread on this today also. i heard it ending this sunday right? wow! u bought $2K worth of vouchers??????? how come taka vouchers can get at 10% off? usually vouchers cannot get discount one leh...thats rare.... and how come they allow u to use TAKA vouchers in ngee ann city shops? *scratch head*.

I learn a lot too! Thanks peachie and janice

But when I read the ingredients of UHT milk, I was surprised to see "water" in it. So it gives me the impression that UHT milk is not as pure as fresh milk that needs to be refrigerated. Anyway UHT milk is fine with me. Maybe I do have some degree of lactose intolerance. Not as severe as some of your MTBs here.

Smiley,
Don't be scared about UHT milk. It's still milk liao. In fact I think it taste better than fresh milk. Hee hee.

hi joon and peachie, i was at motherswork 2 days back. if i am not wrong, i saw the cot u mentioned about. was interested coz the promo so good mah. but, though on it the dimensinos stated was 28-52, but when we asked the girl, she said the dimension is actually not 28-52, but a bit shorter than 52, very funny one. and when we compare to the cot next to it, it really is shorter loh. and nope it doesn't come in white i think. is that consistent with what u saw today joon?

ilovebabies,
finally got the time to read the story from the link you published. at first i thought it was fake, b'cos it's posted by someone with only one post, just like what one of the girls mentioned there. but she fought back, so maybe it's true. anyway, if i am the poor mother, i would heed my doctor's advice and go ahead with the c-sect. personally, my gynae had told me to prepare for c-sect too b'cos i had multiple losses before, so a c-sect will be lower risk for me compared to natural birth. i'm disappointed lor since i'm looking forward to natural delivery. but i have faith in my gynae's expertise and will let her decide when the time comes.

hi daisybuttons,
saw the cot just now, and now that u mention it, it did look a little short. i didn't check the dimensions with the sales staff though. i really like the etched designs on the sides, but hb (mr fussy, remember?) didn't like the exposed screws. oh well!! the hunt starts again :p

hi melissa,
i agree with u. we have to trust our docs. they are the experts after all, not us.
i'm sure everything will be alright for u

Hi daisybuttons,

I checked the email from DBS about the Takashimaya promotion again. It read:

" Add a dash of panache to the Great Singapore Sale now with your DBS Black American Express Card.

For 15 June 2006 only, enjoy a 10% rebate at all luxury boutiques, retailers and restaurants in Ngee Ann City, including Takashimaya Department Store."

So I guess it is for 1 day only and not till this Sunday.

It's okie if you have missed it. They had the same promo last Christmas, and I guess it should be repeated again this Christmas.

How this promotion works is that DBS will give you the 10% rebate directly into your credit card statement. Hence you will see a credit balance based on 10% of the total charges in Ngee Ann City on 15 June. So if you purchase your Takashimaya vouchers using the DBS Black card, you will still get the rebate cos it is DBS which is giving the rebate, not Takashimaya.

I did the same thing when they had the same promotion last Christmas. The $2K vouchers bought last Christmas were almost fully utilised (left with less than $300). Bought quite a number of stuffs using the Taka vouchers during their baby fair, such as the 2 cribs, the bath-tubs etc. Also used a part of it to buy groceries at Cold Storage and electricals at Best Denki.

I think the vouchers are a good way to ensure that the 10% additional discount lasts much longer than the promotional period... hehe. Can consider if you shop in town often.

The Taka vouchers can only be used in the shops directly above or below Takashimaya departmental store. It seems that Taka leased the entire wing from Ngee Ann City and sublet it to various shops such as the food court below, Ajisen, Central, Cold Storage, Best Denki, as well as the luxury shops located inside Taka (Gucci, Coach, Burberry, Georg Jensen, Hermes etc). So whatever that falls within the Taka wing will accept Taka vouchers.

No probs. I have irritable bowel syndrome myself, and so does my husband. So have been reading up on it...

Hi Joon,

I also like the etched designs! And it can be converted into a rocker, I think... But I think the odd dimensions are a real drawback. Anyway, can look around first cos $499 is really quite ex. But don't buy too late cos sometimes you may have to wait for a couple of months for the crib to be delivered. For my 2 cribs, I had to wait for 2.5months cos I bought them during Taka fair, and the warehouse is out of stock, and I have to queue behind all the mothers who bought before me. Hence it was only available on the 2nd shipment. I recalled a lot of expectant mothers were naking a lot of noise about this wait during the fair. So check out on the delivery date as well before you commit to buy, if you need the crib urgently.

good morning gals !

it's FRIDAY !!!!!
have u all wondered, what it will be if we all come out together ? ppl will be staring at us MTBs with the big tummies !

442324.png

good morning!

Well it's going to be like stepping into a motherhood or baby expo! Full of big bellies and radiant hubbies. Hehee.

442390.png

Hi peachie,
Thanx for the advice
We'd better hurry up... I think that's what we'll do this weekend : Cot-Hunting! Last week it was car seats

Morning everyone

I just saw the gynae and bb is now 1.1kg and we managed to get a good scanned picture of his face! Quite amazing. And we saw him playing with the umbilical cord, haha.

If u're wondering abt how the weight is measured, I asked and my gynae told me the estimate is based on the circumference of the bb's head. So now we know!

Ya, it's FRIDAY! woo-hoo! Anyone doing anything special for ur hbs this Father's Day? I'm bringing mine out for a surprise dinner

Anyone going for the Ikea focus grp thing tomorrow?

442424.png

hi joon

congrats ! glad to know ur bb is doing fine .. so I guess my bb will be in the same weight range as yours since our EDD is only a few days apart. My next chkup is next Tues.

eh I tot the bb's weight is measured by the tummy's circumference ?? not the head ?

helo melissa, so ur gynae recc c-sec recently? okie, i guess she knows best. dun worry, you will be alright!

joon, ur hubby worried about exposed screws coz scared rusty when baby can crawl and explore huh? quite a valid point yar. but have u seen any cots that dun have the exposed screws yet?

you said you saw baby playing with the cord? if i understand rightly, actually the cord cannot be seen during scans, coz its too translucent. thats why during late pregnancy, though there's some risk of cord being entangled with baby, it cannot be check through scanning. can only check through heartbeat rate. how come u can see the cord leh? or u saw it through baby's hand actions or perhaps his fingers twiddling with something near his belly button ah? hehehe so cute.

peachie, thanks, my hubby also tell me he read papers its for one day only. i chided him for not telling me earlier! anyway, yes i know last xmas got 10% with black card, i bought a burberry card holder during that time. but the reason why i very gian the 10% NOW, is coz many shops in taka is having GSS 30% oredi. so additional 10% means a lot of savings. if yes, i intend to buy something i have been eyeing u see. well, i missed it, so forget it loh.

daisybuttons

my gynae pointed my cord in the scan during my last chkup too leh ! ya it is a bit translucent but somehow he can make out that it's the cord leh ...

prob depends on clear the machine is ? my gynae's machine is quite new.

hi ilovebabies,
yup yup! ur bb's weight shld be ard there
have fun at ur next check-up
i'm quite sure it's the head circumference, that's what my gynae said and she showed me too.

hi daisybuttons,
er... actually, it's not abt the rusting, he just thinks it's ugly. hahaha! he's so fussy abt stuff like that... personally, i don't really care. i think everyone will be lookg at the bb too, not the screws! he's just so fussy. never mind, this one, i'm not going to pay for!

yup, we saw the cord... it looks like a sausage actually. the bb was moving it ard and the cord was swimming ard too. i think u shld be able to see it too at the next visit
when are u seeing ur gynae again?

helo ilovebabies and joon, oh can make out the cord? really? hhhmmm.....coz i heard from a lot of ppl that usually cannot see. its not my gynae who said that. i wasn't looking out for it during detailed scan, when the machine is better. hehehe nebermine i will ask again then. my next visit is 2 weeks later, one day before little pony.

Here's a tip for u MTBs out there...

STAY IN SHAPE TO STEER CLEAR OF STRETCH MARKS. Stretch marks and pregnancy seem to go hand in hand. In fact, experts say that stretch marks - which occur when a protein called collagen seperates from the skin's elastic fibers - can be prevented. The key is to manage your weight gain through a combination of good nutrition and regular physical activity. All the more reason to eat right and exercise throughout your pregnancy.

What if - despite your best efforts - you end up with stretch marks anyway? Just slimming down may make the marks less noticeable, if not disappear completely..

"Win The Fat War For Moms" by Catherine Cassidy

daisybuttons, I support Brazil & England...

ilovebabies, my bb's head is below the belly button now... always feel the kicks above / around the belly button nowadays...

hi melissa

I am a nov mtb. I read from the may 06 thread that u have prosterior and slightly low placenta. I was wandering whether it will cause any concern becos i just went for my detail scan yesterday (20 weeks) and was told the same problem. however the gynae did not explain any thing to me....

Have your placenta move up already?

Hi yoko,
Looks like we are placenta buddies.. haha. Nope it hasn't moved up yet since my 24wk scan but gynae said it's ok. I can continue to have intercourse and all that. And I did, no complications or cramps or bleeding or any of that sort. So relax, no need to worry.

daisybuttons,
Yep she said "prepare" for c-sect so I'm still hoping to go through natural lor. It's a 50-50 chance for me and I'm optimistic things are going to be ok.

Hi Ladies, any idea when we need to register the birth for our bb? It is straight at e hospital or after tat? If after tat, where should we go to do the birth cert?

Here's a tip for u MTBs out there...

THINK ABOUT TAKING CARE OF YOUR BODY FOR YOUR BABY. Concern about prenatal weight gain may not always be enough to dissuade you from caving in to a craving or forgoing your fitness routine. In those moments, when you feel your motivation waning, ask yourself: How will my actions affect my pregnancy? Your answer may persuade you to make healthy choice. Everything that you do to protect and support your baby will benefit you as well.

REMEMBER THAT PORTION SIZE MATTERS. Even healthy foods can pack on punds if you eat too much of them. So pay attention to the serving sizez on food labels and remember that if you consume more than the recommended serving, youre taking in extra calories and grams of fat. For foods that dont have labels, or for situations where you cant measure (in restaurants, for example), use these comparisons to eyeball your portions.

*palm of one hand = 3 ounces of meat
*thumb = 1 ounce of cheese
*computer mouse = cup of potatoes or pasta
*tennis ball = 1 medium apple or orange

Note: If youve been told that you have gestational diabetes, dont change your diet or other aspects of your treatment plan without consulting your physician. He knows your situation best and can offer advice tailored to your unique nutritional and medical records.

CHECK YOUR DIET FOR EMPTY CALORIES. When youre pregnant, your body needs extra calories to susutain and nourish your growing baby. But if youre getting those calories from the wrong sources, you could be setting yourself up for excessive weight gain and putting your baby at risk.

Giving up alcohol is one of the best things you could have done for yourself and your baby. Alcohol can cause serious birth defects in developing fetuses. It also contains an abundance of empty calories that really pack on the pounds. Every time you drink 4 to 6 beers, you are taking in an extra 600 to 900 calories. At that rate, you could be putting on a pound a week (3500 calories = 1 pound)

Of course the most important reason not to drink alcohol during pregnancy is to protect your baby. Switch to other refreshing, low-calorie drinks such as flavoured seltzer water or unsweetened ice tea. Be sure to drink plenty of water and fat-free milk as well..

STAY ACTIVE FROM THE START OF YOUR PREGNANCY. Maintaining a moderate level of physical activity throughout your pregnancy can help you manage your weight gain and make those postpregnancy pounds melt away quickly. Research has shown that staying active can also shorten the labour, improve stamina before, during, and after delivery; and speed recovery following childbirth.

If youve been exercising regularly, your doctor can help you make appropriate adjustments in your fitness routine as your pregnancy progresses. If youve been relatively inactive, your doctor can help you establish an appropriate prenatal workout. Be sure to follow your doctors advice: Some exercises, such as situps, are not suitable for moms-to-be.

hi, hv u all bought bathtub for ur bb already? which one did u get? im thinking of mothercare one on promotion. not the whole set, just the tub.
443672.jpg

Hi edksd,

the whole set looks sooooo sweet! I am not buying any bathtub leh.. My mum gave me a red tub when I got married and maybe i would just use that.. You know, those bright red kind, with the traditional "ang kong".. not very pretty hor....?

ilovebabies, u're right... v quiet eh? World Cup tiring everyone out? ;)

edksd, I'm not getting a bathtub either. Prob will use the one we got when we got married
If u do get a tub, get one with the stopper at the bottom. It's easier to release the water that way, rather than tip the whole tub over. I need to get those baby towels with the little hood though

smiley,
I also have a red tub fr my mum when I got married! haha.. But I find it a bit too deep for NB. The sides are also not sloped, so plan to get a more suitable one. Looking for nice colour/design too, for photo-taking!

helo edksd, i have been eyeing the mothercare tubs for very very long. but hubby keep asking me to hold it and check with others first whether its needed. we also have the red bathtub given by my parents for our wedding. but i can't resist the mothercare one leh!

puppylove, yesterday after parentcraft lesson i asked mrs wong about bathtub. she said she will teach us in 4th lesson, but advised us against buying fancy tubs like those with sloping base, coz she say no use. she say if wanna get, get those with normal flat base. we oredi buy those bath tub support for baby from robinsons, so will use that to elevate baby no matter what tub we use.

edksd, have u figured out how to use the top and tail bowl? every time we ask the mothercare girls, they try to explain but we find the explanation quite halfbaked leh. we try to figure out ourselves, and think that it shld be half for clean towels, water or cotton buds (for changing nappy perhaps), while the other half acts like a dustbin. what u think?

Hi Joon,

I went for the IKEA focus group thingy on Sat afternoon. Got my 2 changing tables for free in exchange. So very happy. Did you go? Didn't see any mums to be in my group.

Hi daisybuttons,

It's okie abt missing the sale. At least u saved some $$$. When the Christmas one comes around, can buy. By then should be the autumn/winter sale season liao.

Hi edksd,

We got our 2 safety 1st bath-tubs during the Takashimay baby fair in March. They cost $39 each (with a further 10% discount since I paid with Taka vouchers), and are supposed to prevent infant drowning due to its sloped base and anti-slip bath mat. The bathtub looks like this:

444113.jpg

Infant Bath Tub
In a trendy, translucent design, this bath tub gives you a comfortable and convenient place to bathe baby.

Supportive backrest with a slip-resistant pad
Built-in temperature strip helps assure a comfortable water temperature
Easy-release drain plug

444114.png

Hi peachie,
Yup, went for the focus grp session, but we prob went for different sessions.
The girl there told me, "So funny, today we seem to be having lots of pregnant ladies. So far, there's 1 every session!" hahahahahaha!!!!! I wanted to laugh, and spill the beans, but didn't, hee hee...

So how was everyone's wkend? More shopping for bb? ;)

Hi Joon,

You are early! Yep, I think the IKEA people must be wondering about all the pregnant women... And all seem equally pregnant! He he....

Didn't buy anything (except for the 2 changing tables) over the weekend. I ate and ate and ate over the weekend.... first with my dad, then with my father in law (cos Father's day), then my friend's ROM lunch reception. Ate so much that I am worried about my blood glucose tomorrow.... Hehe... This is called eat now and worry later.

Did you manage to find your baby cot? Don't worry if you haven't. Take a look around first. There are loads of options around. Dunno leh. Quite a number of people around me are using the playpen to double up as a baby cot. All they do is to buy an additional mattress and put inside. Maybe that can be an option for you as well.

Peachie,

I am using a Play Pen too to double up as a cot. Can use it for the baby for sleeping, and when she's older, can use it to "contain" her inside for a while while I am not looking. Heehee.. quite worth it. Bought one Lucky Baby one for $99 only last week. Haven't bought the mattress yet. The person recommended a brand Safety something, can't remember the exact name but the mattress (latex one) cost $99 compared to the normal foam ones which cost only $25... That's why we haven't bought the mattress yet coz we can't decide which to buy...

How about you girls here? What type of mattress are you buying? And how many inch thick should I get? The expensive one only comes in one inch thickness, which seems a bit too thin for a play pen??

Hi Smiley,

I think the latex mattress comes in different thickness. You can look around and see. Some are about 2 inch thick. But not so sure about their firmness. You see, latex mattress cannot be too thick, or the baby will sink right in. It is the high density foam mattresses that are much thicker.

A good compromise is to get both. High density foam below and latex on top, which is what some of my friends did for their kids who are sleeping in playpen. If the baby pees on the latex mattress, they can wash it. On hot afternoons, they will put the latex mattress on the floor for the baby to sleep to be more cooling.

I think in the end the firmness is quite important. So look and feel around before you buy.

hi gals !!

monday .. sian leh !

Smiley, I also got the lucky baby play pen pass down from sis also ... then I bought a baby safety (or other names?) latex matttress for $35 .. those comes with holes in the mattress to prevent SID.

I din buy the thick one ... but I cant remember the exact thickness of the one I bought.

btw I wont be buying bathtub also .. got the red one from "GUO DA LI" during my wedding .. and plus a red "tump pui" haha if u gals understand my hokkien ?

444257.png

Yes, very sian Monday morning.. especially when it's raining heavily in the wee hours.. and this makes me more tempted to call in to work and say i am absent. But then, my boss surely know that i watch late nights football again so better don't get into such trouble. Yes, here i am.. trying to work and stay awake at the same time!

I not buying bathtub either.. got those from wedding and will be using those.

My mum went to buy baby clothes and jewelleries during the weekend. Abit early, i feel but then she said since i am free, might as well accompany her and choose what i like.

Wow. saw a burberry baby gift set at Taka costing $147. I almost fainted! Tempted to get a baby polo shirt from Polo Ralph which my hubby has the adult size. Really tempted to dress up son and father similarly in polo shirts!
But in the end, i really think to make $ worthwhile, better just go down to Kiddy Palace to get the stuff. Bought quite alot of things for less than $150. That's what i say making $ worth!

just a tip for MTBs who are going to drink coconut in their last trimester... go for those coconut that are big and green in color. Not the ones you see at pasam malam which are small and white in color. Those small coconuts no use, must get the green colors ones. (tip from my mil)

ya littlepony

kids grow v fast .. sometimes I see some kids wearing addidas or nike sports shoes I would go "WOW!" too ... cos I wonder how long can they fit in the shoes ? but then some parents are rich and willing to spend, so why stop them ? boost the economy lor eheh ...

ilovebabies,
izzit? is that so? alamak...then which size should we take? Why avoid the big ones leh? Okie.. then if i plan to take both .. what will happen? haaa!!

ilovebabies,
ya loh.. i also think kids grow very fast.. and buying branded clothings which last them for a couple of wears.. abit wasteful. But then again, some are really quite cute... so yes, i agree... if we are willing to spend, then go ahead..

Boost economy? haa! true loh.. but burn holes in our own pocket!

Wow, u gals all got free bath tubs and potties as wedding gift!
I didn't get them...
In fact my mom and in laws are pretty clueless as to what to give... hehe...

On coconut, buy coconut juice and drink can or not? Does it count? Do you know if coconut juice contain a lot of glucose or not? I am keen but not very sure....

Littlepony and ilovebabies,

Totally agree with you. No point buying branded clothes for the baby.... Baby grows so fast! Unless plan to have 4... Then at least can depreciate properly. But then again, all 4 must be of the same gender...

My back ache very often at night. Do you gals have the same problem?

I'd love to say that I will buy branded stuff, but (fortunately? unfortunately?) I'm not a tai-tai... :p Anyway, isn't everything made in China now? The funny no-name brands and branded stuff are probably in factories right next to each other!

Anyway, I'm lookg ard for a breastpump now, so just wondering, does anyone know what's the difference between the Medela PIS Advanced and PIS Traveller?

Also, I'm considering the Ameda Lactaline coz I heard it's cheaper and lighter than the PIS. Anyone's got any feedback on the Ameda & PIS?

Thanx!

444279.png

Hi peachie,
Ya! I too want to know if I can drink the canned coconut juice!
Anyone knows?

I don't get backaches at night, but leg cramps sometimes hit me in the middle of the night and hb gets a fright coz I'm suddenly screaming. hahaha.

Lately, however, I've been having difficulty getting comfortable before sleeping. Every position is uncomfortable!

err I am clueless in this coconut thingy as well !
MIL says just drink barley also can lah ...

hi peachie, I have slight backache once in a while .. but not neccessary at nite. Could be your sitting posture and sleeping position ?

helo Joon and Peachie, hehe i was at the Ikea focus grp too! hehe so i am responsible for being one of the preggie ladies.
after the session, one ikea lady asked me if if carrying boy or girl coz she wanna guess. she guess correctly.
hehehe i think we must have made them wonder how come so many Ikea Friends are preggie.

smiley, peachie and ilovebabies, the thinner latex mattress is called mattress pad, its at 1inch thickness. normally a normal latex mattress starts from around $100 to $160 also have. a mattress pad is definitely cheaper but very thin lah. for me, i have 2 cots. one hand me down and one going to buy. the handme down one we will be using latex mattress which we have bought from the motherhood fair from kidzloft. motherhood price is $119 after discount. its 3 inches thick if i not wrong. the reason for buying latex and not foam is coz latex is more cooling. foam is too hot, and baby's weight will make the mattress out of shape very fast, not good for back. latex will support baby's shape nicely and its cooler. for our soon-to-buy cot, though it comes with a foam mattress oredi, we will be buying either a latex pad or a mattress to replace. if pad, then will put on top of the foam one. however, that will mean a total thickness of 3inch + 1 inch = 4+ inches. that will mean some brands of cot sheets i can't use e.g. aussino, which is only for 10cm thick mattress, which means need to spend more to get specific brands of cot sheets.consider before only putting the sheets on the pad and not the foam mattress below, but that means it will be loose so quite dangerous? so in the end, most likely getting a latex mattress to replace the foam one completely.

hi peachie, i was oso quite tempted to buy tt safety 1st bath tub, but after considering, i think i'll just get a normal flat bottom one coz bb will outgrown this small sloped one v soon.