(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

ilovebabies,
i paid $699. Wldn't have bought if itz without any freebies. Hv considered purchasing fr US but couldn't find anyone to bring back to S'pore for me. I know it may not be the best price but as mentioned, tired of hunting around, so bought it. Can strike off 1 item fr my shopping list.

haha, my house filled with bags of purchases, haven't stored them properly yet. But as far as possible, I do record down what I bought, how many and how much, for future reference.

Was at the motherhood fair yesterday. Managed to get some nursing bras (SUPER comfortable) and a nursing top, all of which I'm planning to wear now. They're all from Moms In Mind and quite cheap! I should have bought more
My hubby got some hypo-allergenic washing detergent and the Pureen changing mat too. Wanted to buy a cot, but didn't see one that we liked.

Where did all of you buy your cots?

Puppylove, I saw the PIS too. It's quite a splurge eh? But the freebies are not bad. I'm thinking of buying the electric double pump. The lady was very nice, explained everything to me (coz I know squat) and demonstrated the pump on my husband's arm. His eyes almost popped out. (Mine too actually)

I wish my husband can lactate!

Oh yes, I forgot to put this in my previous post... I ordered some maternity tops from the US and they're too big for me.
(was really looking forward to wearing them to work) Are any of you looking for new maternity tops? I want to sell them off, no point me keeping them in the drawer right? I ordered 4 tops in size S-M. If you're interested, email me at [email protected] and I'll send you more pics

433717.jpg
433718.jpg

Morning gals...

Wow...the weekend seems to be a shopping frenzy for many of you MTBs huh.

Heheh...i finally made some 'improvements'. Got 3 Avent milk bottles, a rubber mat with cartoons on it (supposed to put under the bb, just in case the nappy leaked) and 2 boxes of nappy liners...that's abt all for my shopping trip :p

Those big items i stil haven got them yet...think really gotto start buying liao

Morning,
Wow! that's was such a shopping treat everyone has over the weekend. I didn't attend the fair but was making use of the KiddyPalace 20% discount and the KP vouchers I redeemed. Bought the 3inch mattress for the cot( nett price liao), half bumper, 2 sets of bedsheets, small towels (have discount)...in the end, i only paid a minimal amount for my purchases.

Was very happy and i allocated a shelve from my big cupboard for baby's stuff. I could imagine how you all feel happy about seeing baby's cot n clothings etc. I felt exactly the same as well. Haaa!

Bena,
Don't worry! You still have tons of time! Make full use of GSS sales and all other sales during this period. But once we hit the 3rd trimester, we might be too heavy to walk.

Littlepony...yeah, gotto slowly start buying the stuffs already...but very happy to make that 1st purchase...looking at the milk bottles...the feeling is just amazing...can't imagine when i buy the bby cot! :p

I know! Buying all this stuff is so fun eh? I can't wait to buy the cot and car seat!! And paint the nursery room and buy the changing table and stick the murals on the walls and buy the rugs and toys!!!!! *whee!* And then the credit card bill arrives...

Anyway, here are the pics of the other 2 maternity tops I have up for sale.

433812.jpg
433813.jpg

Including shipping from the US to S'pore, each top cost a little above $50 each, but I'll let them go at $45 each. (which is quite ok, compared to the prices of some tops here!) If you're keen, email me at [email protected] for more pics.

Joon, yeah yeah...just can't wait right? Anyway, i can't wait to visit the gynae next week :p seems like a looooooong wait since the last visit when it's only 1 month

Bena, I KNOW! I can't wait! Don't worry about not buying stuff yet, the rest of us are just super kan cheong and excited, that's why! The GSS is here to stay for another month, so you won't miss out ;)

Littlepony, is Kiddy Palace worth checking out? Do they have any cots/car seats on sale? Is the range good? You're right about us being big in the 3rd tri, but if there's a sale, I'm there man!

Joon,
Yes, they have cots and car seats but i must say quite limited selection. I am not sure if they are already on nett prices. becos if nett price, then no 20% discount. I will still recommend you to go down to Baby hypermart if you r looking at car seats and cots.

Gals...if you are interested or have not bought milk bottles, i suggest u can check out OG. Kiddy palace selling the 3x260ml Avent bottles at $23.90 with 20% discount...but OG is only going at $16.90 for the same thing. I bought mine at OG over the weekends...

hi joon

I bought my car seat at BB Hypermart last Sat... pls refer to my posts abv. The range there is more than the range at Robinson also. Check it out !

ilovebabies,
do you have a pic of how your car seat looks like? just wondering.

And i heard that they do allow you to do a car seat demo before you actually buy the car seat... becos not all car seats suit every single car so they let you try out first before you purchase it. Is that true????

littlepony

this pic looks like the one I bought, with the hood and the piece of mat u place below the car seat. According to the salesgals, it fits any car. One gal bought the same car seat as me at the same time and she is driving Hynundai Matrix.

433860.jpg

ilovebabies...the car seat u bought looks so comfy with all the cushions ard it...i am sure ur little one will enjoy sitting in there.

ilovebabies,
thanks for the picture! looks good and durable leh.. and yes, i love the extra piece of mat....
will surely consider.. I am sending this pic to my husband for him to look at.

ilovebabies,
baby kingdom or baby hypermart got discounts or not (just like GSS)??? or they give discounts only when u bargain? :)

Melissa, how much did you pay for the playpen? I bought one from Robinsons (Graco brand) last week and paid S$139 for it. Original price was S$189.

Littlepony

I cant remember how much was Robinson selling for this Britax Safe and Sound car seat, cos I saw the exact same one at hypermart. But the lady at hypermart immediately offer me 10% off their selling price.

oh forgot to mention .. the britax car seat comes with some functions to prevent the car seat jerk during braking. So good, so wont scare the baby.

Acccording to the salesgal, Britax Safe and Sound come from Australia and they have the most stringent rules on baby car seat in the world ... dunno true or not lah ...

Hi Gals, I cannot remember if i read it in this forum on where to get those baby journals where u can record the 1st of everything? I tried looking at book stores but cannot find. I remembered long time back it's quite popular and it's by Anne Gaddes. But now like cannot find them in the stores

Bena,
I am sure you can get those baby journals from Precious Moments or perhaps, err... try Spring Maternity at Suntec. They have baby journals and were promoting to me the other day. But i didn't get them.

Littlepony

forgot to mention ahaha forgetful me ..

if u are looking for car seat from newborn onwards, Maxi Cosi only offers baby carrier cum car seats from newborn to 1 yr then you have to switch to another car seat. Britax one can use from newborn to 4.5 yrs old ... FYI ... cos initially I am v interested to get Maxi Cosi becos of its variety of materials and colors. But I find it troublesome to change it when bb turns 1.

Thanks littlepony.

ilovebabies, the warehouse sale looks good...great time to get the breast pump and sterilizer.

Bena

ya but dunno if they sell Avent parts .. I need to get a new funnel for my Breast Pump cos it's a 2nd hand one ... and they dun provide the phone number ..

Oh... i am also looking for car seats which are usable from newborn to 4 and above. So Britax is the only brand lah. I like Maxi Cosi myself.. but like you, i find it troublesome .. like to get one that fits all age. haaa!

I called Avent, they said this sale is not organised by them, so they wont know what they are selling there.

So I will get my Avent parts from their Gateway East office directly ...

how's the health of everyone here? I am down with a flu. Everyone in the company seems to be getting in..spreading the virus around. They tried to stay away from me but yet, the virus got into me over the weekend. Now, i am with a stuffy nose. Sigh!

amylim,
mine is baby 1st brand. playpen itself cost $99 nett price. mattress is $25 also nett price. the rest is accessories like rockers (yes my baby playpen rocks..haha), pillows and comforter. all in all cost me $180. trying to accumulate credit card rewards points so I can redeem for kiddy palace vouchers! haha. the playpen has extra storage to put essential stuff like baby diapers, babywipes, split into 3 compartments. also got mosquito net for free.

ilovebabies,
excited until i wish i could have a full size baby tomorrow! hahaa. i kept my playpen folded under my bed though. storeroom so full of crap! your car seat that you bought from hypermart got discount or not?

Bena,
thanks for the Avent bottles tips!! like that it's worth to get at OG!

littlepony,
i almost caught the flu again when i begin getting scratchy throat. but i quickly take panadol and multivitamins and i seem to be ok after that! but my mom is down with flu though. you take care ok. take MC if you must.

Littlepony

see a doc asap .. the virus maybe v strong nowadays .. take care !

Melissa

Yes I got it at 10% off the selling price at BB Hyermart. Try to bargain for more, but that's the max they can give me.

LittlePony, Melissa

sorry sorry wrong info,... I bought the Britax car seat from BABY KINGDOM...not bb hypermart. Think I keep mentioning bb hypermart in my subsequent posts. pai say ...

Hi Ladies, went for my checkup today...
gained 10kg~, Bb weighs ard 800g @ 25 wk ...which means 9kg went to me!! Anyone gain as much weigh as me?
kao_embarrassed.gif

434268.png

chng's wife,
hmm... i know many of us r concerned abt the kgs we've gained. I'm also shocked at the rate i'm 'growing'! But don't forget part of the weight also goes to ur placenta, uterus wall, circulating fluids, extra tissues, etc... all to protect and provide for bb. Tat's how i 'console' myself.. haha..

I'm also looking for a car seat infants and toddlers can use. I saw the Britax one at Baby Kingdom but didn't buy it coz wanted to scout around. I was at First Few Years (Paragon) just now and was shown a Graco car seat that can seat infants - toddlers (4yrs). The design's not bad, and it feels quite soft and comfy. It's $359, if I remember right, and no discount. The girl also showed me a few car seats that can seat infants - 7 yrs, but they are HUGE! So there are other brands out there that cater to infants-toddlers, besides Britax. If I find any more, I'll update u guys

Thanx for the tip littlepony! I'll still check out Kiddy Palace though, since I have a $20 voucher. Might as well! Please take care of yourself! When I had the flu 2 weeks back, I drank the effervescent vitamin C drink everyday and I think it helped. Was better by the 3rd day. Believe it or not, I think I got it from the hospital... was there for 1/2 a day doing some diabetes test-check. All those germs, hiyah.

chng's wife, puppylove's right, a lot of the weight is the baby's support system, so don't worry! Anyway, I was reading Motherhood and some mothers gained 22kg overall, which is twice as much as you, and we only have about 3 months to go!

Anyone's getting bad leg cramps???

Joon,
no leg cramps for me but a friend had it and her gynae told her it could be due to calcium deficiency. so take your calcium supplements or drink low-fat milk at least 2 glasses each day.

chng's wife,
puppylove is right about where our weight goes to. i haven't measured myself but i don't think i put on much weight. don't think i've been eating much too. like to take small regular meals. hey how do you put up your ticker there? i think everyone should! it's neat!

so far ive minor leg cramps occasionally at night. just flex my foot and it'll be ok, dun even need to wake up to massage it.

my friend had quite frequent leg cramps. she said just massage it every night before sleep or lift up the legs slightly higher when sleeping will help.

i read from a book tt only 9kg+ is our blood volume, breast, womb, etc. the rest is our bb weight and water retention. so probably those who've put on more weight could hv more water retention?

so far im putting on the 2nd kg recently only. 3 wks ago, my bb was 0.35kg. next wk is the gynae visit, wonder how much my bb weighs now.

at which wk do u all suddenly put on a lot of weight? i heard from my friend tt weight gain was quite sudden when nearer to 3rd trimester. it's like a constant increment unlike earlier period. im now in wk23+, coming wk24 only.

Thanx for the leg cramp tips melissa
When my husband massaged my legs before bed, that helped a bit. I think I've got to make massages compulsory now! Sometimes I get them so bad at night that it wakes me up from deep slumber,
and my calf aches for 2 days after that.

edksd, I suddenly exploded around weeks 22-25. Not as in weight gain, but I just started looking pregnant, instead of looking like I just lost control at a buffet.

So far, I've gained about 7kg and I'm in week 27. I heard the 3rd trimester is when our appetites go out of control. Oh dear. During my wk 24 check, my baby was 700+g! Double the weight at the wk 20 check.

edksd, I think ur baby shld be about that weight too.
Have fun at ur next visit!

edksd, talking abt sudden increment of weight... 3 weeks back i only gained like 7 kg~ then now 10!!! Maybe what u are saying is true, ur weight just shot up w/o noticing. But when I know my BB weighs ard 800g, i quite glad lah. Think I have to work harder after birth.