(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

me too .. i cant walk for too long ... so gotta resst then cont.. but want to settle bb stuff asap lor .. gynae oredi warn that 3rd tri will be v tiring for us ..

yah lor...nowadays like get tired very easily hor...
The last time i went to see doc, doc say my placenta is low...so no more shopping for me. Been deprived of shopping especially when it's GSS now! Hoping by next visit, bb will help push the placenta upwards

bena

then refrain from squatting and straining urself, then ur placenta will move up !
i had it too initially at 2nd tri, now it is ok liao ...

yesterday i dropped by the motherhood fair. agree with the rest, not much to see. i thought the medela packages are ok but now i'm thinking of getting the Avent IQ instead. the sales girl is very helpful and helped to explain to me how the electric pump works, even "pumped" my hand to show what it's like. wow quite a powerful suction. anyway i didn't get it and she still smile.

there's a few maternity wear but they're really not my taste so i didn't get it. not much diaper brands selling as well but the pureen booth seems quite packed.

in the end, we didnt' get anything from there b'cos hubby hates touters. so we're thinking of getting stuff that we really need, when we need it outside in the GSS season.

btw, confirm right Kiddy Palace is still having 20% storewide discount?

Melissa, yup, kiddy palace still having 20% storewide...but the 20% is only for those usual price stuffs...those with "Nett" price tags no more discount liao.

ilovebabies...i hardly squat liao...but dunno why still like that...duno isit bcos i walked too much initially?
now i am like eat and sit, eat and sit...haiz...feels so unhealthy.

melissa,
so is it true that Medela PIS Advanced is going for $669 at the Fair? tatz provided u've the cut-out coupon fr Motherhood magazine right? any other free gifts w the set? Thanks!

bena

guess most of the mothers here are doing the EAT AND SIT thing all the time right ?

becos of my prev low placenta thingy, hubby also dun allow me to most of the things .. so difference for me too hehehe

puppylove,
yes it's true. sorry i really didn't check if the coupon is required. they didn't mention it. i only asked about the mini electric pump and it comes with cooler bag with 4 storage bottles plus breastmilk collector free.

ilovebabies, Bena,
thanks for the info

Bena,
you sound heavy, i don't think walking will have that much impact. but since your placenta is low, you should just slow down in everything that you do. someone mentioned that the placenta will move up, it's true. that's exactly what my sonographer said too. if you're feeling bad about getting baby stuff, don't worry, i haven't gotten ANYTHING for baby too. but i'll take advantage of the GSS.

ilovebabies...yah lor...been feeling so guilty...eat and sit

Yeah, think better not do anything and rest more...nothing is more impt than bb now.

melissa,
out of curiosity, how much were they selling the mini electric? itz the single pump one right?

bena,
from my detailed scan, my placenta is 'slightly low'. When i asked gynae abt it, he said itz not a problem... and walking shldn't affect it. Did your gynae ask u not to walk too much?

For me, at times i've a tight feeling on my upper abdomen, juz below my breasts. Gynae says itz my tummy expanding, so i guess bb is making space to move up! heheh...

puppylove, i think my is very low then...cos gynae had to scan quite low then can see placenta and then he say no more shopping!
He also say that sometimes as bb grows bigger, it will push it up

my baby is doing kick boxing lately and sometimes, it can be quite painful too. I also feel tight on my upper abdomen and sometimes, make it difficult to sleep. Baby has been quite active these couple of days. Been very active in the morning.. and now, taking afternoon nap.

It's a happy sort of pain for me. Mixed feelings but i do enjoy his kicks.

puppylove,
if you're getting the the mini electric itself, i'd recommend getting it from Kiddy Palace with 20% discount. else get the package bundled with cooler bag. Cost around $228.

littlepony, yeah yeah...kick boxing is very suitable to describe their actions :p

I also have tight feeling and makes my appetite smaller...eat a bit of things only feel so full like that...any of u gals have this kind of feeling?

MTBs,
Quite upset lately.

I doing confinement at my mil's house. My mum heard and she freak out. She tot i b doing it at my own house. But i explain to her that my mil will be taking care of my baby and therefore, makes bigger sense for me to be at her house. Moreover, my mother and mil stay just a few streets away so i feel it will be much easier for my mum to come visit me. But she say, she rather not come to my mil's house. So upset with her!

Bena,
my appetite hasn't been big as well. But i tend to get hungry easily. So i take small frequent meals. Better than large ones.

hi puppylove...
if they really need u to cut out e coupon from e magazine doesnt matter cos at e fair they are giving out free motherhood mag for june.. so all u need to do is to cut it on e spot n give them lor... heehee

littlepony, sad to hear what your mom said...BTW, are u staying with ur MIL? If u are, then it should be more logical for ur MIL to do confinement for u...

Even if u are not, i personally feel that it's better to do at ur MIL place cos subsequently ur bb will be looked after by ur MIL. It's not very wise to change the bb environment jsut after 3 months of birth...the poor child will have to re-adapt to the environment. Moreoever, the bb stuffs will need to shift here and there also.
Try to discuss with ur mom again...

Littlepony, can't really eat much right? The things abt me is that i don really feel hungry
So scaared that i am not eating enough...but the worst part is that though i am not eating as much as i used to...but i am putting on weight as fast or even faster than initial preg days :p

melissa,
no, i'm not getting the mini electric. Juz wanted to know the price at the Fair, to see how it compares to Robinsons.

elaine,
haha, u're right! but i'm not sure i want to buy the PIS Adv. there now. Am checking out other places first.

Bena,
I am not staying with my mil but becos my husband travels overseas frequently, we decided to stay at my mil's house from confinment becos my mil will be taking care of bb.

I actually quite upset to hear from my own mom that she didn't really understand the position I am in. Yes, tell me all the shifting of bb stuffs. Sigh! Guess it will take a while for her to understand. My friends say she is jealous but i really do hope putting jealousy aside, I like to think for the good of baby.

Yap. I can't eat too much at one go.. but i get hungry. Bena, don't worry... u be fine. U r putting on weight which also means that baby is growing healthily inside you. Just eat healthily!

Littlepony, try talking to ur mom again, let her understand the hassle of the shifting..but most impt i think u need to let her understand the difficulties of getting bb to re-adjust to a new environment. I do agree with ur frds that maybe she is jealous, but i am sure she will understand.
Don think too much for the time being...

eh I have big appetite leh ! and I put on weight fast also .. oops !

my bb is doing her kickboxing too.. u know at times she will shift her backside such that she create such a BIG BULGE on one side of my tummy, then I will quickly sayang her backside ehehhe
so cute !

Littlepony

it is a very sensitive issue. So is ur mum jealous of just the confinement or even taking care of the baby ? I wonder if there is a win win solution ? if mean if she is concern for confinement, then I think it is ok for u to do it at her place then let MIL takes care of bb after that. BB at 3 mths still quite ok to adapt I presume. Cos we dun want to create such unnecessary arguments between the adults which will affect the child later ?

So what did ur hubby say ?

ilovebabies...so cute...how u know it's the backside? sometimes i also have this little bulge on my right tummy, and when i sayang...it feels kind of hard...i dare not press it...but a while later it's gone liao.

ilovebabies,
my mum just think i should stay at my own home for confinement so that my relatives can go see me. I think that's just a lame reason, isn't it?

Most importantly, I feel my mil should also spend the 3 months to get adapt to bb and have bb adapt to her as well...

My hubby say it's up to him although he feels that his mum could take care of me better. Moreover, my mum is working.

bena cos based on my last chkup, gynae told me where is her head, backside and her position in the womb.

ya ya dun dare to press too hard also .. but i like the feeling ...

Bena,
Thanks! I hope she understands.. sigh! sometimes, i find it difficult to get thru my mum's traditional school of thought! haaa!!

hmm littlepony

how is ur mum gonna do ur confinement when she is working ? guess she overlook this part as new mothers tend to be v tired durin confinement. And we must not touch water v often, means we cant actually bath the baby during confinement. We need help !

I think u need a heart to heart talk with her.

ooh i c...then i reckon in my case should be the legs
Yah lor...very tempted to press on it hor..just cute leh.

Littlepony, ur mom working, how to do confinement for u? Yah, better to let bb adapt to ur MIL.

If ur mom wants to let relatives see u...then maybe u arrange a day or 2 to go back and get all the relatives to come and see...anyway, even if ur relatives go over to ur MIL place, i am sure ur MIL won mind. A good opp to show off her grandchild leh!

bena

but not advisable for littlepony to travel abt during confinement ? and bb shld not go out during that mth in case they caught any virus ... remember they have not taken all the jabs required for newborn leh ...

oh yah hor...what about after the 1st month? can go out? I will be doing confinement at my mom's place...my MIl still working...my mom beginning to worried that she cannot cope...she told my relative she too long never take care of babies liao...she very worried she cannot handle...hehehe.

hi bena, my gynae also said my placenta is low, but she didn't ask me to cut down on my walking... In fact, I walk quite a fair bit in the office every day, so far still alright...

That's right loh.. she just want me to do confinement at my plc so that she can go and see me at my own home.. But she forgotten that i need extra help during confinement rather than being an exhibitionist! :-(

The doors of my mil's house are always opened and my mil won't mind......

Bena, your suggestion quite good leh. Arrange a day and bring bb back to her house so that all relatives could see... hmm, this is one good alternative!

bena

after 1st mth shld be ok bah .. but refrain from bringing the baby to crowded places so often ... so many virus out there right ?

Bena, your mum so cute! i am sure she will be able to handle!

ilovebabies, ya hoh. on the other hand, i can't go out during the 1st month right? Aiyah.. haa! back to square one again!! Nevermind. I insist my way and it's up to my mum then!

hi amy...good to hear that. Hhmm...my gynae ask me to cut down walking and no more shopping...kind of worry more now that u gals are not advised to cut down on walking...is my condition really that bad that he restricts my walking?

Ilovebabies...yah lor...u urself cannot go out during the 1st month...cos of the wind and stuffs. Nevermind...we'll help u think of alternatives :p

bena, littlepony

yeah let's think of something ... but either ways is not ok leh .. u cant go out, and mum doesnt want to go to MIL place

all I can think of is talk to your mum ...

haa! thanks! paisey for asking you gals to help me crack brain and find alternatives.

Yap. i guess if she brings it up again, i will still tell her my reasons. Oh, i get my sister to be on my side, supporting my decision! She listens to my sister more .. so hopefully, that works!

i never imagine i could experience problems with my mother.. alot of people experience with their mother in law. So ironic, isn't it!

went motherhood fair just now
bought:
1) cadi thermometer
2) Pureen anti slip mat
3) Pureen changing mat (my 2nd one and cheaper than kiddy palace at $5.20)
4) Pureen maternity pad ( in case of heavy flow after birth)
5) Pureen 12 cloth nappies
6) Bumbo baby seat at $72 (original at $139)
see it at www.bumbobabysitter.com
7) Baby blanket with hood (towel material) when you dun need it, can use as towel for ur kid

plus free motherhood and MAMABAOBEI magazine even though I din sign up ;)

and free samples of PALMERS nursing cream, stretchmark cream and bb anti rash cream

btw someone asked abt the winnie the pooh floor mat right ? is that the super big mat ? if it is, I saw it at $99, the one on display.

Then went Bb kingdom and BB hypermart

Prefer bb kingdom as sales staff is friendlier, and comes with more stuff.
Bought
1) Britax aka Safe and Sound bb car seat at $395, can be use for newborn to 4.5 yrs old. This australian brand is the brand with most incline position for new borns. It also comes with a mat to place on the car with a pocket to place ur bb stuff. THis mat is place below the baby car seat so can prevent scratches on the car leather. by right the car seat will not scratch the leather. Also comes with a big hood to cover the bb car seat in case of strong sunlight.

2) Latex mattress at $35
3) two fitted bedsheets for the mattress
4) some other bb stuff ... all at 10% discount after I bargained

think that's about all for me ... nothing much left to buy except some bb wipes and laundry detergent to prepare for my bb arrival !!

ilovebabies,
i was at Motherhood Fair just now too!
Bought mostly fr Nuk booth - milk bottles, extra teats, cleanser, etc. Prices cheaper than the discounted prices at Kiddy Palace and Metro.

Bought the Pureen maternity pads as well. Saw quite a no. of pp buying that. 2 packs of 10 each shld be enough hor? That's what a colleague told me. 'Cos u'll only hv heavy flow for first few days only, thereafter you can use the normal pads.

Was unsure abt the Pureen cloth nappies. It'a pack of 12 for $15.30 right? No sample for me to touch... Is this brand good? If so, i'll buy it when i'm there again 2moro. This is the kind tat can double up as blanket or pillow support right?

Where did you buy the bb blanket w hood from? I was looking for that too! Thanks!

btw, Medela PIS Advanced comes w a free thermometer (Motherhood Fair, Robinsons...). Anyone knows the thermometer brand? I forgot to take note of it...

hi puppylove

sorry wasnt online last nite.
Ya i bought 2 packs of the maternity pad too.

yes the nappies was $15.30 for 12. I did touch the material, ask the lady to let me test. It is slightly better than those we usually use.. u know those got small squares on it one ? yes some use it as blanket and support pillow.

I bought the hooded blanket at kidzloft stall..same stall as the bumbo baby seat... take a look ..

ya the changing mat is the one with the cartoon one, can fold it. I bought another one in case I need to bring it out. The rubber one is the blue and pink one u referring to? that U cant fold ...

happy shopping !

hi ilovebabies,
thanks for info! Itz ok, i know we're not always online, esp. when itz weekend.

i bought the nappies today. Yes I know the 'small square' type u're talking abt, and this Pureen one looks quite good, so bought 1 pack. Plus the changing mat and anti-slip bath mat too. Also got the Medela PIS Advanced. Was a bit tired of hunting around for a better price, so juz bought it. Comes w free Famidoc Infrared Thermometer worth $69.90 and a pack of 30 disposable bra pads worth $10.30.

Didn't c the hooded blanket though, but never mind, will get elsewhere.

wow you guys are in a shopping frenzy or what? I just bought myself a baby playpen from kiddy palace. hubby was so excited he assembled it right away once we got home. In the end, became very frustrated b'cos he couldn't snap up the railings (it's the foldable kind). so i re-read the instruction and it didn't even take me a manly strength when i snap it up and lock it fine. i told him, baby stuff must treat with some TLC. then i let him continue with the rest of the assembly till it's over (but not without my help though.. LOL).

now very excited to wait for baby's arrival. the playpen look so cute! also got ourselves some baby pillow, bolsters, mattress cover and comforter. the rest, we'll get it after 7 month.

puppylove

so how much did u pay for the medela pump ?

Melissa

this is called the mother's instinct ! hee excited right ? everyday when I open my storeroom and see the loads of bb stuff, I cant help but smile to myself. Din even tot of the $ spent on these stuff