(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

ilovebabies, yah.. that's the website I went to see. They only show the eating places information, nothing on the master. Anyway, maybe I can get the book LittlePony is showing me later
More flexible if I can get to choose the baby's name myself.

Hi Littlepony,

Think it is the same book!
Thanks for posting the midnight sale dates and venue!

Smiley,

Paiseh, I have never seen the book myself. My mom is getting it herself when I am about to be due.

Agree that it is more flexible to choose ourselves. Also more meaningful.

gals

i bought Avent steriliser and Avent bottle recently from Kiddy Palace. I also intend to get Medela Electric Pump soon. But my friend told me Avent bottle cannot fit into Medela Pump. Either I use another bottle during express and transfer to Avent bottle during feeding ... or i wonder if I can exchange products at Kiddy Palace ? Any idea ?

ilovebabies,
Yes... Avent bottles couldn't fit into Medela pump .. you have to get avent pump for avent bottles. Which also means that Medela pump could fit into any other bottles except Avent. Haa! Did i get you confused? I also dunno what i writing..haa!

To summarise,
Avent pump = avent bottles only
Medela pump = any brand of bottles except avent

The other day, i bought avent pump and pigeon bottles.. i am intending to transfer milk over to the bottles...

Littlepony

so desu !! thanks ! ok so I guess I have to switch between bottles lor ... i tot I cant exchange products since I bought it during the Kiddy Palace sale.

helo ilovebabies, avent sells adaptors leh, that enables you to pump from a pump like medela or ameda, direct into avent bottles. if i am not wrong. u can call avent to check. if i am not wrong, even pigeon has such an adaptor, i saw it before at isetan.

littlepony, thanks for posting hehehe. nowadays i try to sleep earlier ah, hubby wun let me go late sales on hehehe. oh whats the title of the baby names book? did you post?

talking about pumps. i just realised that my blur level for baby stuff is almost 100%. my colleague told me her sister prepared everything and even bought an electronic breast pump but turns out after birth, she has problems expressing milk so she had to sell away the pump.

i was advised to get the pump after birth since i'll be at home serving my maternity leave anyway. sounds like a good idea. anyone else doing this?

edksd, i think i saw a pigeon adaptor for their wide neck bottles to use with narrow neck pumps. can check out the nursery section for this.

hi daisybuttons,

tks for the info !! I'll chk out the adaptor.

Hi melissa

yes you shld get a pump asap to simulate the milk in case your baby refuse to latch on. It happens to some babies I heard.
I got a manual pump from my sis so that I can still express milk while my bb is sleeping. I will then get an electric one possibly Medela Electric pump for me to express milk at work.

Hi Chng's wife

I would love to get one if I deliver naturally. My sis in law and friend pass me these contacts:

Anisah - 97259363
Noh - 97853413

I have not decide which one to use, probably will call them and ask for their price and availability.

btw today is EAT WITH YOUR FAMILY DAY .. if your company supports this day, you get to go home early

Ilovebabies,
Eat with your family day? haa! that's nice, isn't it.. but i guess my company will tell me to eat with your family EVERYDAY then if i get them to support on this. It's even a pain to get them to support to casual Friday leh!

Littlepony

hahaha ... ya not all company support this, according to radio this morning. Glad my company does support and allows us to leave half an hour early.

hey i can leave half hour early today too! hehehe going kiddy palace.

ilovebabies, no prob, do check out the adaptor.

melissa, i am getting a manual pump for 1st 3 mths and home use thereafter. and an electric one just b4 i go back to work. reason being i think first 3 mths though u at home, u still may need to pump milk for some reasons e.g.
1. tandem pumping while ur baby suckling, to stimulate milk flow and prevent engorgement. esp if baby is not a big eater.
2. if u shy about bf-ing in public, u can bring EBM out in bottles when u go out. then heat up.
3. keep up the supply for your baby.
4. allow ur parents or hubby to feed baby when you happen to go out or not around baby...

hi daisybuttons

I have heard of tandem pumping. Correct me if I am wrong ... isnt it difficult to pump and feed the bb at the same time ? is that right ?

your reasons are valid for me too !

as for the bag, not too sure if it is sold in Singapore leh ... have not seen it before ... saw it in another thread... and no one seems to know whether it is available here.

helo ilovebabies wow that webby very very useful. it makes me realise i shldn't buy avent or playtex milk liners which was my original intention. shld be buying medela or gerber i suppose.

but they din mention about the avent VIA cups, whether its good leh.

yah tandem pumping wun be easy hor, unless u use electric pump. usually ppl when tandem pumping use electric pump better. manual pump a bit hard to manipulate i guess.

daisybuttons,
thank you so much for your wonderful pointers. everything that you mentioned make sense. luckily a friend of mine offered to lend me her manual pump. maybe i could check it out. of course i will sterilize it first.

my company participated in the Eat With Your Family day so we get to home 1 hour earlier! Yahoooo!

helo melissa, no prob. i also think so long and hard which pump to buy. deciding on it really is a load off my mind hehee. lucky you got friend lend you the manual pump. my coll offered to lend me her medela mini but i heard its not heavy duty so i dun dare to use it hehehee.

ooh looks like many of us going off early today! me going off at 5pm. yipeeeee!

Just came back from lunch at Marina Square... Kiddy Palace is haveing storewide 20% off, and Mothercare is having 30% off for regular priced items. Also saw an infant car seat on sale at Mothercare, which is selling for $159.... pretty tempted.

Saw a Nania convertible car seat at Robinsons Raffles City selling at a special price $159 during lunch yesterday. It is supposed to be suitable for newborn right up to toddler age. Thought it is pretty worth it cos I won't have to buy another car seat when the baby grows older, unlike an infant car seat. However, the incline is not as much as the infant car seat, so I really dunno...

Anyone bought a car seat yet? Which one did you buy? Can share share?

Me leaving at 5pm today too!!! very happy.
Today is the start of GSS too. Can eat out and then go shop shop...

so daisybuttons which pump have u decided ??
I tot as long as it's plastic or glass container it shld be safe ? Anyway this is what most of the mothers around me do .. some use chicken essence bottles also.

I will need to buy a car seat too. Tot Maxi Cosi brand is quite popular right ? Have not really hit the stores to chk it out .. probably will do it during GSS. Is the NANIA car seat material good ? I heard Maxi Cosi material is more of the velvet type and bb tends to perspire. My sis pass me this piece of "dont know what u call that" thing that we can place on car seat or stroller before we put the baby down .. to avoid dirtying the seat.

oh yes.... saw a diaper bag at Robinsons Raffles City which comes with a changing mat as well... But the mat looks quite small leh. It is selling for $26. For those interested, can pop down to look look...

Hi ilovebabies,

The material looks quite alright. Not the velvet type.... Agree that the velvet will be hot, esp in our climate.

Maxi Cosi is good.... but quite ex also leh. Are you getting the infant car seat or the convertible type? I am quite confused as to which is better.... Infant car seat can be quite ex... plus can only use for a short while.

hi 77

I prefer convertible type lor .. wonder if Maxi Cosi have this range ? If it is ex but can use for a long time, I wont mind paying for it. Else have to buy two ?

I am still not familiar with car seat.

Hi ilovebabies,

Bought an infant car seat today at John Little. It feels quite comfy, and it is selling for $89 with 15%+5% off. So it works out to about $72. Thought I will get a cheap infant car seat (which can last up till one year), then get a toddler seat. The convertible ones don't look very comfy for infants, and the recline is not as much.

Anyway, for those mums to be who are looking for maternity wear and popping by John Little at Specialist Shopping Centre, Maternity Exchange is having a sale of up to 80%. Bought a dress there on 80% off at $54.
Also popped by Robinsons Raffles City, and they are selling Samsonite diaper bags which comes with a changing mat. Not cheap though, between $79 to $99. So didn't buy.

Went for gynea checkup this morning...I put on nearly 9kgs, from 44.5kgs to 53.7kgs!!! Faint.... And baby also grew from 363g (since the last scan 3 weeks ago) to close to 800g. Baby is only 23wks 5days. Asked gynea if baby is too big. He said he is within normal range. Looks like the baby has hit a growth spurt.

hi 77
wah ur bb is growing well too! is it durians or wat ? hehe I have oso put on 9kg so far leh.

went robinson yest too, bgt medele mini electric plus at $299 before 15% + 5%, nuk bottles, pigeon disposable nursing pad, pigeon teething toys, pigeon nail clipper, tollyjoy bottle washg brush ... and other stuff hehe was eyeing one maxicosi car seat but it is only for bb frm 4-5mths onward. as advised by sis, robinson & taka has limited range of bb car seat. she says kkh & bb kingdom has wider range, so will pop by nxt wk.

helo peachie, hubby bought the Nania infant car seat during the robinson's sale at $159. think UP says $280. though this brand not too common singapore, think shld be quite good, its from france btw.

we also thought through beri long before buying, coz din know whether to get convertible or infant also hehehee. convertible cannot really use for newborn coz their neck still weak and convertible not fully reclined loh. so initially we are tinking either get an infant seat, use as long as baby wants, then change to convertible. if we dun buy infant seat, then i will invest in a good newborn carrier like sarong or what to carry baby in my arms in the car.

congrats on your baby growth.
so nice to see our baby growing well and healthy.

ilovebabies, oh i decided to get avent manual for 1st 3 mths, thereafter for home use and bring out. then in 3rd mth going to order ameda and use at work. intending to leave it there during the weekdays. oooh you bought quite a bit of things also hor! hehehee thats great. now a lot of sales ah.

ilvebabies, baby kingdom is in shun li industrial. its along kaki bukit ave 1. baby hyperstore and kingdom is units 69 or 83 i think, forgot which one is which hehee.

Hi ilovebabies,

Baby Kingdom and Baby Hypermart are both in the same building, on the 1st floor. You can see them from the road, so it is not too hard to find.

The address of the building is 83 Kaki Bukit Ave 1, Shun Li Industrial Estate. You can go to www.streetdirectory.com, type in 83 Kaki Bukit Ave 1, and you can see the map for reference.

Be amazed by all the strollers and car seats on sale there!!! I went there, stared at all the different models and brands, and came out equally confused and bought nothing.. Hehe.... Hope your trip will be more fruitful than mine.

Hello daisybuttons and ilovebabies,

Yep, It's great to know my baby grew so much.... And nope, I didn't take any durians. I am just hungry all the time... Maybe ate too much. But I am afraid that the baby will come out too big leh. The measurements are that of a 25wks plus fetus, whereas I was only 23 weeks plus on Sat. Haiz, see first. Think I am full of contradictions - baby too small also worry.... too big also worry.

Wow, you guys had such a great shopping trip at Robinsons! ilovebabies, you bought the dual minielectric breast pump from Medela, is it? Saw the PIS one there too selling at $739. That is so ex!!! $200 plus sounds more reasonable for a breast pump (to me, at least...).

daisybuttons, the Nania car seat looks good! I was eyeing that one for a loooong time. It is convertible, is it? I think the instructions did mention that it is suitable for use from infant to toddler stage. So maybe you can try and see... then you need not carry baby in the car and can use the car seat.

Went to Mothercare sale this morning. Bought a pre-packed hospital bag that is on sale for $49 (UP$159). Inside the hospital bag got the following stuffs:

For mother:
1) 100ml nipple cream
2) 12 maternity pads
3) 50 breast pads
4) 1 travel toothbrush and toothpaste
5) 1 cotton flannel

For baby:
1) 2 pairs of scratch mitts
2) 1 cotton hat
3) 6 disposable nappies
4) 50 cotton wool balls
5) 24 baby wipes
6) 1 sleepsuit
7) 2 bodysuits

The bag also came with instructions as to what else to pack, which include disposable briefs, nightshirt, nursing bras, tissues, socks, camera and towel. It can also double up as a diaper bag after it outlived its use as a hospital bag, and has a wipe clean lining, a changing mat and 4 other compartments for nappy rash cream etc. Those interested can pop by Mothercare for a look. Thought it is quite handy.

Hi ilovebabies,

Managed to retrieve the location of Baby Hypermart from an email sent by a friend. Apologies... it is at 69 Kaki Bukit. Its address is as follows:

Baby's Hyperstore Pte Ltd
69 Kaki Bukit Ave 1
Shun Li Ind Pk
Singapore 417947
Tel : 6844 1123

helo ilovebabies, then that means hyperstore is at unit 69, kaki bkt ave 1, while baby kingdom is at unit 83 kaki bkt ave 1 hehehe. actually hor, if i not wrong hyperstore is on 2nd level leh. and baby kingdom got 2 levels - 1st is strollers, cots dressers, bedsheet sets. 2nd level is breast pumps stuff, bathing stuff, baby clothes etc, and other necessitities.

peachie, yah man so many varieties hor? hehehee but at hyperstore they carry mostly ang moh brands. while at kingdom u can find jap and korea brands.

no leh, my nania infant seat is not convertible. maybe its a diff one lah hehehee. wow the bags sounds cool hor!! very smart of them to come up with something like that. hmm....i sure will pop down to take alook lah. but is the bag overall looks nice? many compartments inside issit thats why can use as diaper bag? oh meant to ask them when their sale ends. do u happen to know?

hi peachie,
U're expecting boy boy right? Heard that boys tend to be heavier than girls, but of course, there're also exceptions lah.

I was also stunned by the weight i've put on... 3kg over 3wks!! Growth spurt for me too. Total is abt 6kg. I'm now thinking twice abt drinking Anmum as alternative to calcium pill. Think i better 'guai guai' swallow pill! haha...

btw, do u gals know if the upcoming Motherhood Fair will hv really good deals on all kinds of bb stuff? Is it wise to make all/most purchases there or shld I take more time to check out offers fr other places such as Robinsons, Kiddy Palace, etc, b4 committing? I haven't started actively comparing prices yet, so at times dun really know if some offers are really good or not.

Seems that all of us have been doing different kinds of shopping during the weekend.

Daisybuttons,
I saw the Nania car seat as well. But when i saw the salesgirl. She said that the car seat is suitable for 4 months and above. I am looking for car seat from birth till up to 4 yrs old leh. Therefore, i didn't get the car seat. Aiyah, wonder if the salesgirl gave me the wrong information. So izzit confirm that the Nania car seat could sit from newborn onwards??

I spent quite a lot during the weekend. Mainly on myself..oops! Got to buy more maternity wear or else, i could see myself wearing the same clothes every week!

I went to Fox Baby to buy 2 tops for my baby as well. I am into dressing up my baby boy with polo shirts and strip t-shirts..hee! And Fox baby has very nice collection. If you gals haven't try Fox Baby, go there and have a look! The collection for baby girls is TERRIFIC too!

I went for check up on Sat. Baby is fine. Baby is currently in breech position. Kinda worry but gynae said it's normal. A 50-50% chance. I put on additional 1.5kg since last month..So guess i should be fine. however, my gynae didnt' mention to me on my baby's weight and height leh. I also went to the room which has a bad ultrasound machine (my gynae has two rooms)... and i couldn't see my baby clearly. So disappointed. My hubby was disappointed as well.

Hi daisybuttons,

The mothercare bag looks pretty much like the Avent Bag in the link provided earlier by ilovebabies. It's about the same size, a messenger bag and is secured by a flap which is secured by 2 click-on buckles. It is black in colour, made of microfiber, and the carrying strap is adjustable in length. The flap opens up to 3 compartments in front, and 1 large compartment inside. At the back of the bag still got another compartment with zipper. There is also a changing mat inside the bag, and the bag stated that it can serve as a diaper bag. If interested better head down fast. Bought mine at Mothercare (Centrepoint), and when I went there, there were about 9 bags. By the time I paid, I saw a few mums to be interested in the same bag too. Maybe they will restock it. But better go earlier just in case.... I agree that Baby Hypermart have a lot of brands. Sometimes too much choice may not be a good thing. hehe.... plus it was super packed when I went. The few salesgirls were far more interested to serve the ang mohs, and I was totally lost as to what are the different features among the different brands, and there were no instruction booklets on the strollers or car seats to refer to myself. So after a while I just left....

Is the Nania car seat beige in colour? Does it come with a detachable padding for smaller infants? If yes, then I think it's the same one. Does the instructions say that it is suitable for babies 0kg to 25kgs? The one I saw also is selling at $159 (UP $280). I agree that Nania is quite good.
$159 is pretty worth it.

Hi puppylove,

Yep, I am expecting a boy. Wow, looks like both of us are experiencing a growth spurt. My baby kicks a lot more vigorously these days. Sometimes it really is quite painful... but I still prefer him to kick... otherwise will get worried.

hi daisybuttons and peachie,

tks for the address. Dun worry, I think I can ask around if I am lost there ... anyway ppl say these stores are easily seen.

btw I saw the NANIA car seats at robinsons also .... but since sis suggest that I take a look at Bb Kingdom to do some comparisons before I commit to it. But why is NANIA car seat so much cheaper compare to MAXI COSI ? but I like the material from Maxi Cosi, more cooling leh.

daisybuttons, initially I have the same plan as you. Use manual pump during the maternity leave period and switch to an electric one when coming back to work until a friend told me her experience. She used to use the Avent manual pump at home and she said she spent > 1hour to pump and the results were not good and she was very tired after that. So, afraid that her supply may reduced due to her pumping, she quickly switch to an electric one, Medela Mini Electric Plus. Thus I decided to get the electric one now in case I hit the same problem as her.
Just my two cents worth of opinion, it is entirely up to you hor ...

peachie, the bag really sounds cool and it is not ex ! I will take a look then .. btw do u know the BRAND of the bag ?

puppylove.... wah u put on as much as me ! but I put on 3kg over 4 weeks. Doc oredi caution me liao .. so he asked me to stop my ANMUM after I finish this can, and he prescribed calcium pills to me.
I will go to the motherhood fair next weekend to take a look. Actually I am only short of car seat now, and probably some other stuff like cream, diapers liner, baby wipes .. which I will buy probably near to delivery.

Robinsons range is so-so only I think .. Kiddy Palace is comparable to Robinsons but I do not see brands like Maxi Cosi, Aprica or Nania at Kiddy Palace.

Littlepony

Where is FOX BABY located ? What do u mean when you mentioned bb is breech position ? Dun worry too much if gynae says it is ok, OK ?

Wow, the Nania car seat is really quite a hot item!

Hi ilovebabies,

The bag is under Mothercare inhouse brand.... So there is no brand attached to it.... Hehe, but it contains all the hospital stuffs (and nicely packed in small quantities), so I thought that it is quite worth it.

Robinsons can be quite ex.... Went to Robinsons Centrepoint on Sunday. Loads of Aprica strollers, but all of them are darned ex. Agree that the range is not great... But it is better than most other dept stores... Some really quite pathetic.

ilovebabies,
Fox baby can be found at Suntec city, Marina Square, Raffles City, Paragon, Seiyu Bugis and Great World city.

BB in breech position means he is in sitting position. Head on top, buttock bottom. My mil said it's normal becos he is ready to turn his head down... gynae say 50-50% chance.. so hopefully, his head will turn down slowly .....

Thanks! From 28 weeks onwards, gynae wanted me to keep track of baby's movements. I am now in 26 weeks..so i just keep mental counts of how many times baby move in a day...

helo puppylove, duno this fair will have many things or not leh. heard usuually have they even sell maternity bras i heard. but i also hear this time its hall 5A, which is part of the hall used for mothercare fest some mths back, so heard its not very big? hehehe everything all hear hear so only when it starts then we know.
maybe u can go around comparing the big ticket items first? small items disc not thAt important so its okie. maybe u ask around for cot, stroller prices, those models that u want. if no time, then its still okie, go motherhood do research loh

littepony and peachie, not sure if we tokking abt same seat leh hehehe. mine is dark blue with a silver padding. with a sun canopy and sorta coverlet over the lower half. its lke what peachie said UP $280 but now $159. but its not beige colour leh. hehehe and neither is it convertible. coz the person say its infant seat, rear facing only. actually hor, when we went to taka we saw the same seat but in red, selling at $159 without promotion. so i think robinsons usual price is usually more exp.

peachie, wow, really detailed description of the bag! hehehe thanks. no lah, i think will give it a miss, coz the baby bag i like is not a messenger bag. i prefer totes.
and i prefer pastel colour ones and not black. thanks anyway!

littlepony, wow u must have buy many nice things for your boy from fox. heard of it but have never went in before leh.....hehehe maybe will check it out one day. but now concentrating on buying newborn stuff first.
how much are their clothes? exp?

tks littlepony. will go take a look then.

Dun worry lah, we still got at least 10 more weeks to deliver right ? Guess baby will turn ah ? my baby's head is below and the buttocks on top, in a kneeling position. I am also in my 26th week this week. Oh so must start counting ah ? I think baby needs to kick/move at least 10 times per day.

peachie, ya the Aprica stuff is super ex ok ! One car seat I saw selling at $1299 ... wonder what is so good abt this brand ? THey looks normal to me .. ahha ...

daisybuttons,
they do have nice newborn stuff as well.. but they are all clothings for outdoor wearing.. meaning if you r bringing your kid out for shopping, can dress them up.
Not very expensive.. i bought 2 tops at about $13 each.. so not so bad...

Oh.. i saw the beige color car seat from Nania leh. So probably the same brand but not the same one.

I am looking for a convertible car seat. Budget less than $200 (if have).. i need one that could sit from newborn till 3-4 yrs old. Could anyone of us advise me the brand and where could i find it?

helo ilovebabies, actually not all maxi cosi ones are exp. it ranges starting from $129 for infant seats leh. can reach $300++ lah. as for nania, think not common in singapore coz the manufacturer from france and though they are popular in europe its not so in asia.

oh as for the pump, hehehe i think breast pumps are quite different for different ppl. i have hear rave reviews about the avent isis leh. my coll's wife also love it, say very good to use. for manual pumps think this is one of the better ones. nebermine lah, since i oredi decided and i buy oredi, i will use it well.
the electric one will come in 3rd mth.

if u want more range of strollers u shld go kiddy palace in toa payoh, largest one. but they dun carry maxi cosi too. thing is, diff dept stores carry diff range of brands, so it depends on what kinda brand u looking for and u attach whch stores accordingly hehehee.

ilovebabies,
yes.. baby needs to kick/move at least 10 times a day. My gynae said if baby moves a couple of time within a few seconds, consider it as one time. If baby moves with a few minutes interval, then consider it as two or more times.

And each day movements shouldn't be less than the previous day.

hi daisybuttons

i am also using the Avent ISIS pump, hope I can more flow then ! in fact my friend also uses this pump.

Littlepony

Eh a bit stress on the counting ah ? Need to write it down ahahha preggies has bad memory !