(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Cheng teng is too cooling meh? Which ingredient is cooling in Cheng Teng? Oops.. I had quite a few bowls already.. :p What desserts do you go for then? I am avoiding Chendol, Ice Kachang now coz they are cool, but I thought hot cheng teng is safe :p

As for chocolates, I know it is sinful, but I still cannot resist this. I can finish the whole within one hour or less.. Heehee...

yes, cheng teng is very cooling.Actually, recommended not to eat. Try to stay away things that are equally heaty as well. Becos we can't afford to get over heatiness, especially if we are also on calcium and iron supplements that are quite heaty too

Alamak.. SO many things to watch out for.. very tough to eat healthy leh.. People say must eat more fish, then some people say cannot eat salmon, tuna, sardine, shark etc coz these are deep water fish and will have mercury content... very tough to watch this watch that..

wat happens if we eat too cooling har? sometimes i feel so heaty, i just hv to take something cooling, eg. watermelon.

then heard we shldn't eat oranges too right? cos bb will hv a lot of phlegm later... so no choice got to avoid or eat minimal.

puppylove, yah loh.. sometimes I feel heaty, and I feel like eating water melon or orange, but I heard they cause phlegm, so I don't dare to eat and can only drink lots of water. But sometimes I find my tongue has a metallic taste during my pregnancy and water taste quite bad if drank a lot, so I drink Ribena or honey. THEN I am worried about the sugar content in the Ribena or honey.. See, always in a dilemma. That's why I find it so "fan" to watch this watch that...

it's alrighte to eat watermelon and oranges once a while. We should try to eat anything we want but just ensure that we don't eat too much of it. Yes, it's true about bb having too much phlegm later if we take too cooling stuff.

hehehe we're back to the diet issue again. i will take in anything, just not too much at one time. somehow i don't like chocolate so I'm spared from taking the sinful. i still take tea but only 2 cups max per day and not everyday. moderation means stop before you start feeling guilty lor. just satisfy the cravings can already.

haah same same ... everytime hubby peel orange I take a few pieces only .... cos got Vit C mah ... but cheng teng I avoid totally ...

and I eat a lot of fish lor .. for brain development.

chng's wife, I've put on about 7.3kg to date.. bb's weight is around 700g when I went for my check-up yesterday and I'm in wk 25.... I put on 4 kg in just 5 wks (after stepping into the 2nd tri)... a bit scary leh... Gotta refrain from eating all the sinful stuff like snacks, chocolates & fried food...

hi ladies, juz quarrelled with my hubby again, the 2nd time this week. He made me so upset, my tummy gets painful and bb keeps kicking me. Am trying to stay calm now and take deep breaths so i dun aggravate bb further. Do pp lose their bb just by being upset, aggitated or depressed?

earlier on Sat, I was so angry with him for what he did that I left the house at 11.30pm. Didn't know where to go, didn't want to go to mother's place 'cos didn't want to upset her or make the relationship betw hubby and her worse... so ended up wondering outside till close to 1am. I dun want to go into details of what he did, but when i told him to stop shouting at me cos tummy was painful and bb was kicking, he said he didn't care. Made me regret getting pregnant - not tat i dun want the bb, but i regret i had her with him. Subsequently during the week, he tried to patch things up by saying sorry and being nice to me.

Then now quarrel again. This time, he said he wants to punch me - "don't think i don't dare to" he said. I immediately called his brother who spoke to him to calm him down. Now things r quiet, but i'm still so upset. Can't stop crying... I really hate the way he disrespects me and makes sweeping statements without proof - such as accusing me that i dun care abt everything, that I always dun understand him, that I always create problems... when on my side, i try so hard to understand and make our conversations easy. But always end up miscommunicating and quarrelling.. and when we quarrel, itz like all hell breaks loose...

i'm so tired cos of stress fr work... came back only at 9pm, didn't even take proper dinner, and we quarrelled for 3 hours... I've something impt tomorrow, have to wake up early... i juz feel so physically and emotionally exhausted...

Sorry for such a long posting... really needed to unload my troubles... thanks for reading...

puppylove,
sorry to hear abt wat had happened..
are u feeling better now??sayang sayang...

hve he ever beat u before??pls dun let him beat u hor..if seek help if u need...

hi forgetmenot, thanks for ur concern. U still haven't slept yet?

No, he didn't beat me. More of push me, a few times over the years I know him, hard enough to make me fall backwards on the floor. But I always put it behind me after a while cos we can be very happy together. We're like extremes - sometimes very happy, sometimes it's hell...

but thanks, I do feel better now.. even ate something cos i could feel my gastric pain starting... juz a bit concerned juz now cos bb kept kicking me hard non-stop for almost an hour. Can even see my tummy popping up every time - something tat has not happened b4. I keep telling myself - maybe bb is more resilient than I think. I'm sure she's ok, juz upset cos she heard me shouting earlier... will remain calm and rest for her sake.

think i only slept 2 hrs at most last night... have an aching pain on my left abdomen now which makes it 'gangkor' to stand up straight... will try to take it easy. I won't hv internet access today, but will try to login tonight again.

puppylove,
I'm so sorry about what you have gone through but rest assured that baby will be ok and well protected in your womb. You just have to learn to calm down so that your blood pressure won't shoot up and affect the baby. Maybe baby is kicking to tell you "mommy it's ok, you still have me". I understand about not involving families in this matter but if it gets too serious, I think you should let your parents know. You need to be somewhere safe. I hope your days improve and your hubby feels sorry about his actions. *hugs*

dear puppylove, sayang sayang....really sad to hear what you have went through. dun worry about baby, i am sure she's alright. perhaps she kicking to assure u coz she know u upset. or she's awake coz of the noises thats all. pls dun let him be physical okie? be careful....seek help from his brother or anyone when he gets violent.

jasmine, need to ask you something. where can i get playtex milk liners? and can it fit into avent nurser? and where do i get avent nurser?

do you ppl know which brands have a small steriliser for only 2 bottles or so? and which brand milk warmer is good?

puppylove,

I am so shocked to see your post. You shouldn't let your husband push you or threaten to punch you! That's so cruel especially to a pregnant woman!

Please seek support or help from your family or his family if he continues to be violent. It is physically and mentally not good to be treated like this. I am so sorry (even sad!) to see your post and I do hope that things will turn out well for both of you.

Be strong and I wish you can take care of yourself and your baby.

Puppylove,
In every relationship, there bound to be quarrels..especially at this stage of ours, we are more emotional and tend to get weepy.For eg, myself. I used to be able to control my temper but nowadays, i just can't. So of coz, sometimes, it just makes things worst when both of us don't see things eye to eye.
Most imptly, I think.. calm yourself down. Baby is linked to the mood you are in. We have to think more for baby now. If we are sad, baby feels it too. Of coz, when baby kicks you.. perhaps she wants to remind you of her presence. Sometimes, i talk to baby when i am in bad mood.. but i felt bad that i pouring all my sorrows to him when he is still so young. But I will tell baby this is reality of life. We can be happy,sad,angry,cry.
Of coz, we have to also understand that our partner could be stress with work but seeing us with baby, they are more stressed. reason being, they need to work doubly hard for the family. Therefore, they also want us to be understanding as well.
There are always two sides of the story. But do remember, u r not alone... And in this world, we are already very fortunate to have our baby. There are couples who wish to have but they can't. Don't give up. Cheer up for the sake of yourself and baby!

Edksd,
I went to robinson sales yesterday at Raffles city. The queue was long! I was checking out the car seat, stroller but didn't like what i see.
In the end, bought a breast pump. From Avent Isis.

hi puppylove,
i went to bed aft made the post...
pls dun let him push u too..u are now preg..n if it can be disasterous if u fall down...

maybe u can try to talk to ur hubby aft both of u hve cool down...
i'm sure he realli loves n dotes on u n bb..just tt when we are angry,we tend to say n do things tt we will regret later..

ur bb kicking u ah??maybe ur bb is sayanging u...telling u not to be angry...

so take care...

Hi puppylove, sorry to hear what has happened. Try to stay calm always and seek help immediately if he turns violent...

daisybuttons,
i heard from other mummies that can see playtex liners @ kkh?

I not sure if can fit into the avent nurser though.... since Avent very infamous for designing to fit their own products..

Avent Nurser, not many places selling now.. you can try to call up Avent distributor & i think they still have the stock there.. n wait for motherhood expo fair, see if they sell it then.. if not, try yahoo auctions?

last alternative is to buy from US website & ship over lor..

hi puppylove

just came back to ofc and was sad to saw your post. Pls calm down. Baby must have felt your anger and sadness and is trying to cool you down with her prescence ... what a good gal you have !

but like what the rest of the gals say, seek help and advice when you really need to. I am glad your brother-in-law is there for you. Have a good talk with your hubby once both of you cool down and tell him how hurt you was and the fact that you are pregnant, it will be dangerous for you and bb if you fell down.... I thnk he will understand and he loves you and bb dearly. take care ...

helo littleponysand jasmine, i just came back from isetan private sale. hehehee. very happy with my purchases. i dun dare to buy too much baby stuff coz i pantang lah, but for breastfeeding i have bought the Avent ISIS out0-and-about set (travel set) that comes with bag, 2x icepacks, breast pads, 2 small avent bottles with teats, 2 med avent bottles with teats, Avent milk warmer, pigeon rapid steam steriliser (comes with 2 wide neck pigeon bottles with 2xperistaltic teats), 2 extra peristaltic teats for 2-3 mths, 2packs pigeon disposable breast pads, 1 pack avent washable breast pads, and a small pigeon steriliser (2 bottles, can fit avent bottles too) for my parents plc....

other stuff i also bought a nice knife set with knife holder (original price $99 bought at $29), and a tea pot warmer i always wanted.

jasmine, KKH have playtex? u know which shop in KKH? just now i asking the avent lady in isetan, she said the playtex liner she saw before got one hard hole outlet/inlet one, cannot fit into avent pump direct. but she say may have other models she not sure. if kkh have maybe later i go check it out. as for the nurser, yah heard its discontinued. but the lady said can use the avent liners with big avent bottles, then remove from bottle to store. do u have the number for avent distributor?

littepony, which set? the avent travel set ah? original price $149, b4 20% disc. hhhmm......actually just realised my hubby's colleagues may have helped us buy the exact same set liaoz leh....oh dear....i may end up selling the set i bought.....but i need to confirm its the same set first.

daisybuttons

what do you have inside the travel set ? wah you bought so many things, some of which I dont even know what is it ... heeh ..

elo ilovebabies, i mentioned the contents in my prev mail liaoz.
aiyoh, so far hor i only buy these few things only leh hehee...think u buy much more than me liaoz. me still long way to go.

Daisybuttons,
yap the travel set. Quite attractive coz got alot of things in it. I think i saw the set in Robinson's too.. but i bought another set of Avent BF pump instead.

daisybutton, why u still pan tang at this point? Thought usually only pan tang for first three months, after that, it's fine??

I am not intending to buy any steriliser.. maybe just use a big pot to boil hot water and put the milk bottles inside..

Smiley,

For my 1st one,I also din buy a steriliser. I want to buy but kenna stopped by my mil. She said can use a big pot to boil the bottles. It serves the same purpose. Well, so far no prob for my gal.Anyway, we have stopped boiling e bottles when she reached 1yr old.

smiley, ilovebabies,
Heehee some of us are still pantang until up to 28 weeks (7 months right). That's when baby have a good chance of survival outside the womb when born premature. I like to look at baby's clothes but I won't buy them until I feel I'm ready.

elmo88, yah, that's what I am thinking too.. cheaper to get a big pot and just boil water.. save money. heehee...

ilovebabies, really? 28 weeks? That's long!
Anyway, like you, I have a lot of hand me down from my sister, but I bought my own milk bottles and pacifier coz i think these are more personal for babies, that's why I bought these as well. Which type of changing mat did you buy? Got smell? I bought the Pigeon one with prints on it, the rubber smell is SO strong and smelly. I took it out from the box to "air" it first to prepare for my baby to use in Sept. heehee...

i not planning to buy sterilizer as well. Using the traditional way.. and besides, worry sterilizer too advanced technology.. my mil (who will be helping to take care of baby) dunno how to use...

hi smiley

ya i think Melissa did posted that viability outside the womb starts from 28 weeks with 34 weeks having the highest chance of survival right ?

oops I have not open my changing mat. Mine is PUREEN brand....

Hi puppylove,

Hope things have become better btw you and your husband by now. Sometimes relationships will hit a rough patch. Take care and be strong, and try to work it out. Do not be afraid to seek counselling help if necessary. Sometimes it helps to have an independent party (ie non relatives or friends who can be judgmental) to resolve the differences and improve communication.

Hi Littlepony and Daisybuttons,

I went down to Isetan sale today too. Took a day off with my husband. Reached there at 8.30am and the queue was so long that it almost reached the Mango store! Pretty unbelievable. I got out at 10.40am, and was almost $400 poorer.... sigh.

Went down Robinsons sale during lunch too, since the Raffles City Robinsons is within walking distance from my office.

Me can't wait to reach 34 weeks.... it really seem like a long wait.

my mil is pantang also and said that I can only start to purchase the bb stuff from 28 weeks onwards... that means I can start to go shopping in 3 weeks time

oh, i am heading down to Isetan in half an hour's time. But i think i have to get prepared the crowd. So peachie, what are the items to your damages?

i can't wait too!! But then, my friend who just got birth say ' Enjoy your pregnancy becos you find it easier than motherhood' .... errr, guess we better just enjoy having our tummy and eating healthy food and err, not watching our diets! haaa!

littlepony

ahah ya lor.. everyone tell me this is the honeymoon period .. everyone gives in to u ... and eat all u can ... but we as MTBs are so eager to see our little ones !!

mummies, just be careful when going shopping in crowded places.. I mean there will be a lot of ppl there to grab the items and rushing abt ...

Hi Littlepony,

Take care yah? Bring a bottle of water down as once you get in, it is very troublesome to get out and re-enter...

Haiz, the damage to my wallet is caused by the following:

1) 2 Sanyo electric airpots ($85 each)
2) 1 induction cooker ($75)
3) 1 Tiger stainless steel thermos flask 1.2L ($29)
4) 1 Lillipop stroller seat pad ($7.50) - thought this is good cos can wash frequently
5) 3 sets of Lollipop bedsheets for the crib - ($15 each)
6) 2 sets of Pigeon infant wear (top and bottom) - ($$6.50 each)
7) 2 romper sets by Richgi ($13 for one and $14.60 for the other)
8) Toys for baby ($42)

Anyway, everything adds up to $397, after 3% discount... money seems to fly whenever I go to a sale...

Richgi and Disneybaby stuffs are at 30% off, and the Lollipop bedding series are at 35% off.

Happy shopping!

Hi ilovebabies,

I totally agree. There were people pushing around this morning on the escalator. Pretty scary....

Anyway, I really put on a lot of weight. Really envious of those who put on so little. I am getting worried about my weight gain. I ballooned from 44.5kgs to 51.5kgs, and that's a 7kgs gain. And I am only in my 22nd week! Better watch my diet and stop snacking so much....
The problem is that I am hungry all the time. Very worried that I will gain 20kgs by the end of the pregnancy.

My tummy has also become much larger these few weeks (baby seems to have hit a growth spurt). Anyone feeling the same?