(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

hi edksd ..

depends on what type of bra u wearing now .. if you are wearing those plain cup bra, it is quite diff to get big cups one... so I get mine from OIO shop from KKH.

yes I intend to do malay massage .. got a few recommendations from frens .. think will call up and ask 2 weeks before EDD ...

btw the way u described the VIA thingy.. the cups are not reusable ? my fren is pass me some bottle to store the expressed milk ... some also uses chicken essence bottles ... so need to sterilise them everytime I use ..

edksd, I didn't buy any maternity bra, just bought the bra extension from theme. Cost me only $9. Mine grew one cup bigger too, but I think the extension is enough, I didn't buy any maternity bra.. (But my existing ones are all underwired ones also).

I guess I should be doing the malay massage, but I haven't find out more about it. I don't even know what's involved in the massage and how many sessions and how long etc.. I haven't look for a confinement lady too. I think I will only bother about these in my third trimester. Hope it is not too late by then :p

Still thinking about the Malay massage thingy. Saw this contact being floated around in the Jul MTB thread (I think it's the July's thread, if not Aug). It is the cheapest so far at $380 for 7 sessions. Some other threads were quoting $570 to $600 plus for 7 sessions.

Not sure if I want to do it. One consideration is the expense. Another consideration is that I may eventually choose to give birth via c-section, hence the massage may aggravate the wound. Also most of my friends managed to slim down to pre-pregnancy size without any massage. So still considering.

Re:via cup,
needs to sterilise aft every use too..n the cup can oni use 5 times..tt is sterilise 5 times..
aft tt,u can use it to out other things...

edksd,
most pple apply it aft every nappy change..i did not lor...cos i wash the butt of the bb aft each change...
i oni apply it when the butt is abit red..

yes to belly button popping slightly. Yes to ugliness when wearing clothes that are thin.. can see.

Also considering yes to Malay massage. But haven't check the price yet.

hi ilovebabies,

yes, the VIA system is supposed to be disposable. only the VIA adaptor and lids are reusable.

dun u need book the massage lady earlier?

hi smiley, so far my cup/size remains the same leh. so i dun need any new bra or extension. just tt im thinking of wearing non-wired bra instead since it's supposed to be better.

i think u shld book confinement lady early as good ones are usually easily reserved.

hi peachie, the massage is not solely on slimming only. it's more like getting the wind and tt duno what blood clot out. for c-section, instead of starting the massage few days after delivery, u'll start later, i forgot but i think it's 2 wks later or so.

Hi Smiley,

If you are getting a confinement lady, better book fast. The good ones are snapped up when kiasu MTBs are 2-3months pregnant! You would be amazed...

If you are getting a confinement lady, it's good to ask around. Heard of quite a number of horror stories from friends, about confinement ladies who smoke in the toilets, or fail to turn up cos they have a higher offer, or have bad attitude or are overly insistent that their way of doing things are adhered to or are unhygenic. Plus most of such confinement ladies are Malaysians, so they need to go to the immigration department to stamp their passport once every 2 weeks. Plus they are also not cheap.... the cheapest contact I got was $1600, most around $1800 to $1850.

My mom is doing confinement for me too. Thought that it's best that I save the $$$ after considering everything.

hi forgetmenot, oh is it? i didnt know the cups are reusable since they say disposable. i think one day i'll go to the avent showroom to check out every details before i decide which pump to buy.

yeah i heard of one horror story too. the confinement lady actually dozed off while carrying the bb. alamak. so dangerous.

I am def going to get a Malay massage just like my prev 2 pregnancies. I pay $30 per session, how many session I want depends on me. And abt $50 more for a box of Indonesian Jamu pills. Its mot much of slimming but more of the massage helping to cleanse the body frm the inside. No confinement for me though!

I will probably start shopping when GSS starts since I dont need to get much to begin wt
Juz need some clothes till baby is abt 1yr then she'd hv lots of hand me downs frm her sis! I'd probably then move my twins on to a bed so she can use 1 of their cots. So I dont really need to shop for the big items but more like the basics.

Steriliser: I'd recommend the Pigeon Rapid Steam
Breast Pump: Medela is a gd brand. The Mini Electric shd suffice but get it before delivery

Hi Peachie,

You mean there's no confinement lady that will come on ad hoc basis depending on the number of sessions I take up? I have to sign up as a whole package one?

What if other one session only and I don't like it? I heard it is very uncomfortable, very itchy and hot, esp when we cannot bathe. I am thinking if I can't stand it, maybe I will just exercise to get back in shape.. (I dunno about the getting rid of the wind thingy though)

hi sasha, are u engaging the same malay massaage lady as ur prev 2 pregnancies? is she good? can recommend to us? the jamu pills are not compulsory right?

may i ask after sterilising those stuff, where do u usually keep them so tt they remain clean?

do u think single or double breast pump is better? heard tt if we're working mom, double is better since faster and more convenient.

oh yeah, forgot to announce, think i'm one of the last few to feel bb movement. i only started to feel it last wk during my wk19+ coming to wk20.

the feeling is amazing. knowing bb is right inside me, w me all the time.

it's like slow bubbles popping kind of feeling. it happens few times a day. each time only a couple of seconds.

Hi edksd,
Very soon you can your hubby to put his hand on your tummy and he can feel it too! My hubby can feel it yesterday already. He's very happy. I'm in my 20 weeks. Turning 21wk tomorrow.

hi melissa, im turning wk21 2 days after u

my hubby managed to feel it one time only. but he's not sure whether is it his imagination or not. hahah.. anyway, i hope he can feel it frequently too so tt he can get excited too.

hi edksd,
happy to hear that you are feeling bb's movement. Also very soon, you can feel that your baby is changing his or her position when you r changing yours too (during bedtime).. it's very amazing....

I am 22 weeks today. haaa!!! My colleagues say i am getting bigger.

hi littlepony, i hope so. im so excited.

how much weight hv u put on so far? or is it just the tummy inches increased?

Spring Maternity Atrium Sale
Tropics Atrium, Suntec City

18 May (Thursday) to 21 May (Sunday) 2006

Opening Hours:

Thursday/Friday 11.30am to 9.30pm . Saturday/Sunday 11.00am to 9.30pm

$5 Baby Wear (While Stock Lasts)

$10 Tees . Nursing Tops . Nursing Bras

$15 Woven Tops . Knit Bottoms . Knit Dresses

$19 Woven Bottoms . Woven Dresses

Smiley

ur bra ex is quite ex ah .. I bought from ERO and cost me $1.90 only

It is from Aug thread. I do read their post as my EDD is 2nd Sept so I may give birth in Aug

ya theirs are v cheap provided you know the gal from that thread.

sasha,
Is Medela Mini Electric the same as Single Deluxe? Someone gave me a brand new set (Single Deluxe) as a gift, but not sure if it'll be suitable for me. But afraid that by the time I try it and realise it's not suitable, there'll be a mad scramble to buy another model... but also dun want to invest in another model right now...what a dilemma!

Anyone has any comments on Single Deluxe?
http://store.babycenter.com/product/feeding_nursing/breastfeeding/breast_pumps//3468?stage=all

edksd,
here's a link on PIS Advanced:
http://store.babycenter.com/product/feeding_nursing/breastfeeding/breast_pumps/3963?stage=

ilovebabies,
Bra extensions - i bought fr Spring Maternity at $4.90 (set of 2), then found OG selling at $2.90 ($2.30 after disc). Wah, so now ERO even cheaper!

hi puppylove, thanks for the link.

i know PIS advanced has the new technology to mimic your baby's nursing rhythm in two modes.

but what abt PIS itself? what's the diff between PIS and mini electric single/double deluxe?

and the bad thing abt medela is the pump fits on small neck bottle only. i intend to use wide neck bottles leh.

Spring Maternity Atrium Sale
Tropics Atrium, Suntec City

18 May (Thursday) to 21 May (Sunday) 2006

Opening Hours:

Thursday/Friday 11.30am to 9.30pm . Saturday/Sunday 11.00am to 9.30pm

$5 Baby Wear (While Stock Lasts)
$10 Tees . Nursing Tops . Nursing Bras
$15 Woven Tops . Knit Bottoms . Knit Dresses
$19 Woven Bottoms . Woven Dresses

hi littlepony

my tummy seems stagnant leh .. incr by 0.5 inch over a week ...

but i think it has incr based on the maternity pants I wore .. have to keep releasing the elastic band hehe

hi ilovebabies, i think my tummy oso rather stagnant. i measured it last wk for the 1st time. this wk i measured it's still the same reading as last wk's. maybe my tummy was big so no need to increase much liao. haha...

hi edksd

i think so too.. but I feel my bb movements so much more frequent so i guessed she has grown quite a bit and my tummy stagnant so that's why I can feel her more ...

ilovebabies, is it that cheap only?? Oh my goodness... I didn't know the market rate. Mine is a packet that comes in 2 ( for $9), so one cost $4.50.

Aaaah.. feels the pinch now..

Hi edksd,

I am not sure what is the difference between the Medela mini electric and PIS, except for the price.
I got my mini electric from Isetan sale for $128 (there is another 3% off).... whereas the PIS costs $700 plus!!!

Anyway, I bought my mini electric on a moment impulse the minute I saw the price. It was retailed at many places for $178. But there is a Medela mini electric double pump selling for $259. So if you want a double pump, then maybe you can consider this...

Hi Smiley,

Confinement ladies don't come on an adhoc basis. They will spend a full 28 days with you.

Smiley

nvm.. i oso din know the mkt rate, i just walked in and buy. Luckily it is not the price difference of a cot or steriliser

I think i will just buy the breast pump before returning to work .. and fish around for more info here before I buy .. guess most MTBs would have try out ya ? eheh ..

as for diapers, my sis says PAMPERS brand is the best for new born .. after which we can switch to other brands like MamyPoko cos PAMPERS is quite ex ...

My friend works in a US pharmaceutical firm, so, can get me good price for desitin creamy with vit E & aloe gel @ 14.50 sgd for 4 oz, instead of the smaller 2 oz we see in Singapore. I saw desitin (normal one, without vit. E) selling in guardian @ ~12.50 to 13 sgd??.. .. in fact, i last organise a bulk purchase for it & waiting for the stock to arrive liaoz!

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/270192/412301.html?1146108268

My friend has a quota, so cannot order too much at one time. Since most of us yet to deliver, can wait for next batch bah (cos of expiry date). She now consolidating orders for the next one.. i have "privilege" to book slots for 20 tubes.. so I only reserve for Aug/Sept MTB ah.. dun want too many parties, wait i faint from the orders & kanna scolding from hubby for being itchy backside.. & kaypoh other stuff none of my concern.. Those who want, please PM me privately.. no obligations!!

BTW, a 4 oz tube if used daily can last from 3-5 months.. if u use alternate with a cheaper brand diaper cream, then last even long.. use it for night time, when baby is exposed to urine for longer period of time.

Regarding cloth diapers, you can buy those nappy liners ,place inside the cloth diapers & wrap up baby as usual. it helps to reduce the stain on the cloth diaper also.

To prevent the cot bed from being stained by urine & faeces, get a waterproof mattress protector.. i got mine @ IKEA for 9 sgd..comes in 1 color (white)only. Hope this helps!

AVENT VIA, i find it more expensive then the predecessor, the Avent disposable liners (100 bags @ 16.50 sgd), & i heard at the last taka fair, the cups will go out of shape after a while so maximum use per cup is ~4-6 times before you got to dispose it...

A mummy from Aug MTB taught me how to seal up the disposable liner bags (with rubber bands & sealing clips) & i ask the Avent people also.. managed to find the sealing clips @ IKEA @ 5.90 sgd for 30 clips.. (20 small & 10 big). My fridge smaller, so dun think can accomodate many of those avent VIA cups..

the disposable liners, one innovative mummy she also uses it to store formula milk & bring it with her when the family go out. Just buy the Avent nurser bottle, pull in the liner with the milk powder already prepared beforehand, add hot water, screw on the avent teat/cover for the nurser bottle & voila! convenient & clean way.. My opinion lah..

Hi peachie, oops.. I meant to ask for massage lady, do they come on an ad-hoc basis instead of sign a package. Confinement lady i know have to book for one whole month..

ilovebabies.. i also heard before pampers premium is best for newborn..

Hi Smiley,

The ones I saw on this forum have a package of 7 sessions... So Sasha's deal looks much more attractive since it is adhoc and charging $30 each time. Tink got to look around. But this one no rush... Still loads of time.

Hi Jasmine,

You organising another bulk purchase for Desitin??? I am interested!

helo forgetmenot, thanks.
okie so it can fit the piyo bottle too? i love piyo piyo? even last time i oredi told myself when i have baby i will buy piyo stuff hehee. i intend to bf for as long as i can. can you share ur bf-ing experience? i wish to express when i back in office, i wanna TBF for at least a yr. so i wanna invest in a pump thats good. but prob is i find PIS too expensive and bulky and heavy. do you have many friends using ameda? so u have any idea why they are not selling in retail shops huh? my hubbby quite cynical, ask me if they good why dun they sell in major deprt stores. u knw the reason?

edksd, i have asked the diff betw avent isis IQ and PIS. thing is, avent is new to the concept of electric pump, their ISIs IQ only came out 2nd or 3rd qtr last yr, and their track record not as longstanding as medela. heard so many good reviews about medela that if i have to choose betw the 2, i will choose medela. somemore, avent is more expensive. u can get medela at $669 at some places, the one with the US voltage one. avent isis IQ is usually $799 or $700 plus.

melissa and ilovebabies, hehehe think my belly button has flattened, but not popped out yet. hehehe ilovebabies, u have the same idea as me! i had thought i am wierd. i am looking forward to the popping out of the belly button so i can clean it better! hahahhaa my hubby stared at me when i told him this.
but hor, i heard not everything belly button will pop up one, depends.

sasha, can u share why u recc the pigeon rapid steam over avent? i heard both can store all bottle sizes, so which one is better? very confusing.. :p

jasmine, u mentioned about the disposable milk bags. do we have to buy specific brands? is the one u talking abt avent? i heard that the avent ones can leak sometimes, is that true?

oh edksd and ilovebabies, what i know about the difference betw mini elec and PIS is as follows:

PIS - durable for everyday use, can pump 3-4 times per day every day. heavy duty. it has this symphony rythm that supposedly simulates the let-down very well, and simulates the speed of baby sucking. its more exp, the top of the line for medela, and comes with a haversack that can pack the motor, ice block, containers inside.

mini-electric - heard not durable enought for everyday heavy duty use. heard if pump every day as often as PIS, will spoil. but yet i heard mums who use mini electric every day for more than a yr no prob. if i not wrong, they dun have the symphony rhythm. just comes with motor and pumps and bottles, no bags or storage bags.

other mummies pls correct me if i am wrong.

hi daisybuttons, thanks for the info on breast pump. getting an electric one is as expensive as getting a gd stroller :p

also nowadays going to work, carrying my bag is already so heavy. i cant imagine lugging another breast pump bag along. i think i can become a weight lifter
luckily i dun hv to carry my laptop to work, otherwise can join olympic already.

Hi daisybuttons,

Thanks for the detailed info!
I think the upcoming Robinsons sale also have the Medela PIS promotion.

For such a huge investment, maybe it's best that we wait till we start to BF, and gauge if there is enuf supply. Like a friend of mine who recently gave birth, she is sufferring from mastitis and gave up on BF after 2 weeks. Buying a pump can be pretty wasteful.

There are places which rent out pumps. Maybe can consider rental, and see if you like the pump, before taking the plunge...

daisybuttons

I also tot I am the weird one !! haha .. so now my belly button is clean since it is exposed everyday

and tks for the breast pump info ! from your description, the PIS seems a much better choice. I wont mind paying more for something that has a better track record and more reliable. I can use it for my 2nd child also.

However I will stick to my manual pump first .. and buy it prob before going back to work ? But scared by then, there wont be any sale ?? how ????

ya the haversack is quite heavy, saw my colleagues carrying them to work .. and some even kana security check as the bag is too bulky ! hahaah

helo edksd, peachie, no problem. but hor, about bf problems, i read that most important is ur own determination. and sometimes having a good pump at home helps you. if u have oredi invested in a pump the tendency to pump is more? and if i am not wrong mastitis is caused by engorgement issit? if so, wun regular pumping help? not sure also, need the experienced mummies to comment.

ilovebabies, hahaha we are 2 wierd ppl. :p yes PIS does indeed have a good track record. but due to its price and weight, i am considering ameda... i have the same concerns as you though. i intend to have a manual pump (shld be avent isis) for the 1st 3 mths, then change to electric when go back to work. so was considering shld buy the electric now or later??? dunno such sales easy to come by a not. but i just rem xmas sure got sale one mah, and our 3mths maternity leave will end around dec/jan? so if we tahan with the manual in the meantime, shld be okie? dunno leh, still confused hehehe.

hi daisybuttons,

yep, mastitis is caused by engorgement.... but her milk ducts are swollen and she came down with a high fever.... and BF is so painful that she has switched to formula milk... and my poor friend is put on 2 full courses of anti biotics.... Think we women very ku ming...

I agree that the Robinsons promotion is very tempting. I also am looking to buy 2 electric airpots which can retain temperature at 60 degrees, which is good for formula milk preparation. Since I intend to supplement after I return to work, it may to good to buy. My current airpot is quite old liao.

Robinsons is selling Zojirushi airpot (3L) at $67 during the upcoming sale. Too bad this does not retain temperature at 60 degrees..

oh before I forgot, some ladies here say they have low placenta right ? I remember I read somewhere that one shld avoid sex during pregnancy if placenta is low. take care !

My hubby and I are wondering whether we need to buy the airpot. Currently we have an electric kettle and it boils water quite quickly. So we are thinking whether we should save the money and not buy the airpot. If I boil the water and place the water in those thermal flask, will it be able to retain the heat well? Any one tried before?