(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

ilovebabies,
thanks..my boy is definitely better liao...

angeline,
u intend to go on hospital tour?TMC conducts hospital tour on the wkday too..

helo emoments, thanks for updating!
okie may make a trip down to OG to check it out hehehe thanks!

forgetmenot, sorry to hear ur boyboy sick but glad to hear he is fine now! take good care, congrats on ur girl girl.

77 (peachie), Thanks for the tips on the remedies! Oh, I didnt know that maturing of the organs formation would mean lesser risk of the med that we take..This defintely helps ease my worries and anxiety but of cos, I would still chk with my gynae. Thanks for the info!

ilovebabies, I should consider myself not getting any better but luckily not getting worse too. Think have been too dependant on drugs and now that pregnant have to let body immune system fight agst the viruses so takes a longer time
My alrdy existence sleeping problem has thus been further worsen now due to blocked nose. Recently, guess my body temp has gone up too that I perspire more easily and cant get to sleep without the air-con. Without it, I'll sure to get up in the middle of the night sweaty...but with air-con or even the fan on, the blockage is so irritating.
Gals, pls drink more water and keep urselves healthy ya!! Take care!

Rainnie,
Thanks for the info on Dr Adrian. It's certainly reassuring to hear that he is so concern about patients. I will make an appt to visit when I am back in SGP.

Thanks for the tips on the hospital tours. I'll make sure to check and make appt with TMC and Mt. E first before booking my air tickets back.

hi angeline, why not u shop when u're back in sgp - end may to jul is great spore sales!

the mittens look rather big for new born, maybe u want to consider buying at least a smaller pair?

wow! so many outdoor clothes, u preparing to bring ur bb out often? btw, any idea when's the ideal age (mth) we can bring bb out?

the clothes u bought are they all '0-3mths' or u oso bought some bigger sized ones '3-6mths', etc?

i heard tt it's good to buy 100% cotton flannel for receiving blanket. any idea why flannel is so good?

ive oso been looking ard on bb stuff, but only intend to do actual buying during gss.

im thinking whether to get the stroller now or later coz im not sure whether is it really needed for the 1st 3 mths? the one tt im interested in is quinny buzz.

and check w u all, if i'm getting BabySafe cot mattress, shld i oso buy the bedsheet, bumper pads, etc from BabySafe? Or just get from any other brands?

And for milk bottles, I'm still deciding between

1. pigeon peristaltic bottle

2. nuk premium bottle (double as ex as pigeon's)

Teats - will get NUK premium and pigeon peristaltic.

Any idea which brand's breast pad is good? as most of the products are concealed, cannot see or touch to feel the difference. so duno which one to buy.

another thing is breast pump. i think will get a manual one. but duno to buy before or after delivery. and duno which brand is really good/suitable. they all look the same to me.

as for steriliser, deciding between

1. pigeon's 6min rapid

2. avent iq24 (double as ex as pigeon's but i like the idea tt it can keep contents sterile up to 6 and 24 hrs depending on the mode u select).

but duno avent steriliser can fit in other brand's bottles or not.

ive been looking at those netted bouncer. seems like only 1 brand - eagle globe. any one of u seen other brands before?

is it good or not? i mean the bouncing mechanism. i like the fact tt it's netted, but seems like only one brand has it. so cant compare.

and anyone of u buying cloth nappies? duno need or not leh...

tts abt all tt ive been thinking for my shopping list. i know there're still quite a no. of items i need to get. but will try to get them on my list before the gss starts.

I initially bought the OG's promo cot also, as i thought it was a good deal @ 199 SGD. However, when hubby saw it, he noticed that the finish is very rough.. when i run my fingers along the cot bars, can feel wood splinters! so, those of you who ordered the cot, do check it out once delivered.. anyway, in the end, we decide to change to other baby items like breast pump, bottle warmer, mittens & booties etc. Just nice, our fren pass us a cot, so we no need to get one now. Just need to get a new mattress & bedding.

I did buy cloth diapers, as they are more cooling then disposables & in case baby got diaper rash, wearing cotton cloth diapers will help them to recover fast. Remember to get a good diaper barrier cream like Desitin Creamy (with aloe & Vit E preferred for smell & easy application) to prevent nappy rash!

helo chocolat hope u get well soon yar...take care and drink more water...

edksd, how do we buy the list of 4 things u posted the link above? they look so cute, shld we get them in kiddy palace or order online?

for me, shopping list ah. for steriliser, i am considering the same two brands and model as u. i was told that avent one can hold any bottles. but i was also told that pigeon one also can! but someone said pigone one bigger, can throw more things inside. somemore cheaper leh.

teats and bottles, me considering the peristaltic nipple. heard can go onto avent bottles, coz if i not wrong the peristaltic is wide neck ones? so may get the teats if i am buying avent manual.

but have not decided on breast pumps. quita a headache.
thinking PIS too bulky i dun like, though rave reviews. thinking of avent manual Isis, or the Ameda lactaline. may buy both. one for home and one for work. have u any friends who used the lactaline? any comments?

stroller i do intend to buy before baby born. we know the european and us brands are good, but somehow not keen on the colour. we prefer the japan and korean brands like lucky baby, capella, combi their colour nicer. we prefer lucky baby and capella. still checking out...

wow angeline, good for yoU! you bought so many things oredI! and they are so cute!!! u must be so happy.
its so nice buying things for baby isn't it? we see oredi so gian but must control til GSS here hehehee.

i also dunno what type of nipples to buy !! help ! my sis in law pass me some milk bottle so i wonder if nipples from pigeon can fit in ? I presume they shld fit into all kinds and brands of bottles ?? THis is my only headache while shopping for bb's stuff ...

Was busy clearing unwanted stuff from my storeroom to release more space for bb stuff .. phew .. better do it now cos I am getting tired easily at times oredi ..

angeline, some of the dresses u bought are so sweet !!

hi daisybuttons, i think u shld be able to get those toys from departmental store. i think tiny love brand is quite common. as for the prince lionheart's slumber bear, u can get it from motherworks.

yes peristaltic is wide neck type but not sure whether can fit in avent bottle or not. no idea leh.

why do u like medela PIS? hv u compared it w avent's isis iQ?

quinny buzz has many nice colors - bronze, blue, purple, red, etc. it's not pastel color as i believe it gets dirty easily.

hi jasmine, can i check w u abt cloth diapers. is it tt once soiled, it'll leak out? eg. bb sleeping in cot, bb wearing cloth diapers, then he soiled the cloth diaper, will the bedsheet gets stained/dirty?

where can we get destitin cream? must we apply everytime we change the diapers?

Edksd,
I think it was implusive buying for me. Happened to pop into a wholesale store and everything was so cute and cheap.(each set is about 10 - 15 SGD). I actually had to call my hubby to come rescue and curb me from buying everything in the store. I think we will let baby where some of the outdoor clothes indoor too. They come mainly in 2 sizes. 0 - 3 months, of which i bought summer clothes cos we will in delivering in SGP and the 3 - 6 months for which we bought the long sleeves so that baby will have something to wear when we come back in HK in December when the weather is much cooler.
Does mittens come in different sizes? I didn't know that. I will try to look for 2 pairs in smaller size then. But I did read that TMC does give the new born receiving blanket, mittens and booties.

I haven't started on the full shopping list yet. I guess have to start writing it and making a budget before I start to overspend on the non-neccessities.

Daisybutton,
Yes, my husband & me are very happy when we started to 'play' with the cute clothes. I am beginning to sniff the mittens imagining my baby's smell in it. I just love the smell of the clean baby. We are very pleased that our boy has now turned out to be a girl cos we can buy more cutie pie things for her.

Just spent the evening clearing out one side of the guest room cupboard to keep baby's items. Happy Shopping everyone!

Hi Edksd,

You have already come up with shopping list already!
I buy as and when I see something I will need or like.

So far have bought the following:

1) 2 milk bottle sterilisers - 6 bottle capacity (1 NUK and 1 Pigeon).

2) 5 milk bottles (4 NUK which came free with the steriliser and 1 Pigeon). Loads of mums in the forum recommend Pigeon Peristalitic wide neck bottle... however, my own friends use this brand called Pur, which is a curved shape and one end is openable with each sucking motion of the infant

3) 1 Medela mini electric breast pump

4) 10 sets of rompers

5) 4 bath towels from Tollyjoy

6) 4 packs of Tollyjoy cloth diapers (cheap... but a lot of forumers said that it cannot be machine washed cos will flak)

7) 10 packs of babywipes from Pigeon and Tollyjoy

8) 3 bibs

9) 5 sets of booties and 3 sets of mittens (from Pigeon)

10) 1 Fisher price mobile to be attached to the crib

11) 1 baby laundry detergent (Tollyjoy) - I plan to wash the all the diapers and clothes when I am about 37 weeks pregnant...

12) 1 baby accessories cleaner from Tollyjoy (also plan to start cleaning the toys when I am 37 weeks)

13) 2 baby bottle brush

14) 6 baby face cloth

15) 1 Evenflo crib (27" by 52")

16) 1 Fisher price swing

17) 1 Aprica stroller (this I got it free from a friend)

18) 2 babysafe non-slip bath tubs

19) 2 Playpens (get them free from a friend too)

I have got most of my stuff during the recent John Little sale (20%+5% off).

Things to buy:

1) 1 infant car seat

2) 1 dresser

3) Desitin gel (to apply to baby's butt to prevent nappy rash) - my friends have trouble getting it cos the pharmacies are always out of stock

4) Disposable diapers (maybe will get Pampers)

5) 2 changing tables (maybe will get the $40 one from ikea)

I think this is about it!

For those mums-to-be who are going to leave your little ones with your relatives during working hours, do you have to get 2 sets of everything? I am going to leave my child at my mum's place, hence it is pretty heavy on the wallet to buy 2 sets.
Do you know what items are "sharable"?

Angeline, the baby's clothes you bought are so cute! If I were you, I think I would have no regrets buying them too. Can imagine a little one on them, would be so sweet!

I also bought a lot of baby stuff over the weekend, mostly milk bottle and other essentials.

hi peachie, u're fast!

btw, i'll be leaving bb w mom too after 3 mths maternity leave. so will definitely need to get some stuff to be placed over there. but i wont be getting them this round. as i tot 3 mths later, shld be xmas sales. by then i'd know which are the things tt's good or suitable for bb, then i'll buy one more during xmas sales.

Hi edksd,

I am expecting a boy and I am having pimples too. My face seems to have become much oilier....

Maybe the gender of the child has no bearing on the pimple problem... I think it's the pregnancy hormones that is doing the trick. haiz.

hi 77

of cos there have to be two sets of almost everything. Luckily my mum hse got a extra bb cot and my sis giving me her cot cum playpen so I really save on that big item.

But as for sterilizer, I guess we buy one set ? for confinement we can bring it to the place where we doing our confinement, subsequently can use the traditional method (using hot water) ?

hi edksd

I got this chklist dunno from where ... ahah cant rem .. hope it helps
mime_msexcel.gif

CHKLIST.xls (23.0 k)</td></tr></table></center>

btw i do not have pimples cos I am having a gal .. they say MTBs are prettier if they are expecting a gal ... aahha think quite true for me ..

hi peachie, me too. seems to get oilier. and having all the pimples tt i can ever hv in my entire life :p though it's not outbreak everywhere, but one is gd enough to spoil the look :p

my friend is expecting a boy, no such problem at all. whereas most of my friends keep telling me mine must be a girl coz when they're expecting girl, they've outbreak too.

Edksd,
I had some breakout during the 1st trimester, but I think that's only cos I was feeling reall shitty and tired all the time and didn't do my usual cleansing routine. Now my skin is back to normal.

I'll be very busy this week with work, won't be able to read or post so often. Wish you all have a wonderful week.

hi peachie,

i have the same problem as you. I don't know how many sets to get for each item. If get double, will burn a big hole in my pocket. If not, how? Bring to and fro? Very troublesome.

So far, i bought one set for all, wait for Singapore sale then buy the other set, spread the expenses across the months.. heehee..

edksd,
No pimples for me and I am having a girl (most probably). Can't wait for the detail scan tomorrow to know for sure. But maybe like what 77 said, the pimples is more likely to be caused by pregnancy hormones.

I am impressed by your list! I guess I'm the only one who hasn't prepared anything yet. I'm hoping for hand-me-downs from my aunt who just had her baby yesterday so i bought her a beautiful set of clothes for baby and told her she can give me that set once her baby outgrows it! haha.. cheapskate or what. I'll probably get the baby cot cum playpen first and diapers. The rest are hand-me-downs. Won't even buy infant car seats. Since I'm always ferrying my parents around, the infant car seat might take up space.

You all can't wait for the motherhood fair end of this month izzit? LOL.

Has anyone's belly button pop or flatten out already? Mine hasn't ley. Once when I showed my mom my belly, she laughed at me and pointed to my belly button said how come yours still sink?! What's up with that?! hahaha.. Maybe I gots lots of fat around my belly and very deep button so it's not going to get until much later to pop!

i agree with spreading expenses across the months. In this way, we won't feel too much of the pinch and the hole in our pocket as well.

I am amazed with the shopping list you gals have. I mean, I am still taking my own sweet time to shop for the right clothings, right stroller etc. Gosh!

Hi daisybuttons,
thanks...
the persaltic nipple can fit into avent bottle..my boy is using this teat with both avent n the wide neck pigeon bottle..
in fact,the teat can fit the wide neck piyo bottle oso...

ameda is good..heard gd reviews fr pple using it..n is cheaper than PIS too...how long u intend to bf?

edksd,
u can get desitin cream fr the hospital pharmacy,like TMC n KKH...it is blue box one..
for those selling in guardian pharmacy,is the white box...
blue box one,is with vit e n it smells nicer...

hi melissa

my belly button has flattened by 4th mth and now it has started to pop up oredi .. so ugly when the clothes we wear are thin .....

but I guess it helps as it is very diff to clean the belly button prior to pregnancy ehehhe

and .. good luck for your detailed scan tmr !!

Littlepony,
me too... confused at what to buy until i come across the list I posted abv... I will just do elimination from the list, from the hand-me-downs my sis gonna give me ...

hi melissa, i'm oso going for scan tomorrow to find out the gender. i did my detailed scan 2 wks ago, but due to the position, cant check the face and the gender. so going back again tomorrow.

my belly button is still the same as before too. no flatten or pop up yet. better not so soon la, like quite funny looking leh.

im waiting for GSS, not motherhood fair, dun think will be going. too far away.

Haha, so far I think I have spent $1K already. I bought 2 cribs and not 1. The 2 cribs alone cost me $598. Faint!!!

I totally agree that it is very costly to get everything one shot. I buy as and when I see a sale. The cribs I got during the Takashimaya baby fair, the baby stuffs I got during the JL sale. The booties I got during the Seiyu 20% off sale. Hehe.... cannot wait till the baby fair.

Not much left to buy. Not sure about the infant car seat too. My dad has retired, and now to kill time and to have a self-financing "car", he has started driving a cab this year. So not sure if I should get him an infant car seat as well as I know my mum and dad are very keen to bring the baby out to the zoo and botanical gardens etc. If so that will be additional cost as well.

My belly button hasn't popped yet too! Praying hard that it won't. Can look quite awful.

hi forgetmenot,

thanks. gd to hear pigeon peristaltic teats can fit into avent bottles, what abt NUK premium teats (since it's oso for wide necked bottles)?

ive no intention to buy avent bottles, but if i buy avent breast pump, it comes w it.

talking abt breast pump, i like avent becos of the VIA disposable stuff. coz i forsee i might hv problem expressing milk at work, so i'll really need a lot of sterilised-ready stuff. though of course it means more expensive :p

thanks for the info on desitin cream, must apply at every nappy change?

does anyone know what to look out for in a gd nursing bra? any brand to recommend? i know it must has no underwire. but im so used to wearing underwire as it gives better support as im bigger chested.

im still wearing my usual underwired bra now. thinking of changing, but duno what to buy. scared not enough support if i buy no underwire one.

Hi hi.. my belly button has become shallower.. I hope it will not pop up too.. My sister says her friend's one pop up and every time it rubs against the clothes, it is quite painful. I hope mine won't be the same!!

Am curious, if during confinement cannot bathe, how about washing face?? If don't wash face properly for a month, how would the face look like!? OMG..

my mom asked me to buy

- tanyu claypot
- zisa steaming and stewing pot

for confinement use. anyone of u oso need to buy these?

hi smiley, can bathe la. just bathe w herbs and hot water. i intend to wash hair every 2 days too. really cant stand not washing it everyday as what im doing always.

hi smiley, i think i will have the same arrangement as edksd too... how to tahan.. wait bb faint due to our smell ! haha

btw edksd, i dun need to buy these leh ..

hi ilovebabies, if u've done some see-see-look-look ard, u'd hv noticed the milk bottles come in normal necked and wide necked (meaning the opening is much bigger).

as for VIA system, it's sterile packed cups and reusable lids. milk is expressed directly into the cups from the breast pump with the VIA adaptor. so no need to sterilise the milk bottles before i pump.

but actually ive one more question, before each pump, i need to sterilise the other parts of the pump too right? alamak. v troublesome leh.

hi edksd

tks for the explanation... i also got the same sentiments .. tot u need to sterilise everything before use ? how come the VIA system no need sterilise ? u mean it's throw per use ? then very wasteful hor ??

Some of the confinement ladies actually insisted on no bathing for a week! So some of my friends resorted to having "dry bath", which I truly cannot imagine....

I also intend to bathe everyday, and wash my hair on alternate days. With the local weather being so hot and humid, how to not bathe???!!!

Hi edksd,

There is tanyu claypot promotion at the upcoming Robinsons sale on 17 May. Maybe you can go and take a look. My mom also uses them....

hi peachie, my mom will be doing confinement for me and she says it's ok to bathe w herbs.

yeah, i noticed the tanyu pot on promo. but it stated certain Litres size only. so not sure whether the size i wanted will be on sales or not :p

hi ilovebabies, yeah, i still hv not sorted out this portion yet abt expressing milk at workplace. so ive oso not decided on breast pump yet. sigh... how i wish i can be stay home mom ;)

yes, once u expressed milk then u cover the cup w the lid and bring home. bb can drink from this same cup. just take out the lid, place the VIA adaptor over the cup, put in the normal avent bottle lid and teat and u can feed the bb liao. after feeding, throw away the cup.

edksd,
is your asset big or not? if big yes definitely invest in a good one. you can go to john little or metro and get a good and experienced old assistant to help you choose or if your budget allows, go to Marks and Spencer. Else maternity shops should have good assistants. Or try Kiddy Palace.

You mean washing the face with the herbal hot water also?? Can we use normal facial cleanser together? Bathing the herbal hot water will be clean meh? I cannot imagine.. haha.. yucks..

I intend to on the aircon most of the time if not 24 by 7. I won't be able to stand not bathing normally and breast feeding, and staying at home the whole month in confinement!

hi melissa, mine is c cup. i consider big loh. so i just go and tell them i need maternity bra? i went to marks and spencer before but they never state any maternity bra leh.

i usually wear wacoal. not sure if i shld go back to wacoal?

hi smiley, for face i think just wash as per normal w ur cleanser will do.

do u all intend to do malay massage during confinement?