(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Heeheee... Daisybuttons, you are like me! I also "secretly" ate something that is supposedly not good when hubby is not around.. Yesterday I ate potato chips and other titbits when my hubby was not home yet. Heehee.... I know he would forbid me if he's around, so I ate it while he's not back yet.

But this morning, I felt a bit guilty and confess. He said "Aiyaaa, you cannot like that leh..." Heehee.. :p

Bo Bian.. I already "Ren" a long time liao, got cravings lah... Anyone still munch on titbits?

amylim

I think the only thing to do is not to squat too much and rest well lor. It happ to me during my 1st PG but after certain weeks, it really move up lor. My gynae say if it does not move up and becomes lower it will bleed. So take care and sleep more.

smiley

I eat anything that I crave for so abit of everything. Hahha..not to the extend everyday lah...maybe once a week. How can we stop our craving

hi amylim

my placenta was quite low during the intial 2nd tri also .. gynae say refrain from carry heavy things and dont squat !! it went up a few weeks later as the pregnancy progress ... just be careful and you'll be alright

Smiley, you are not alone... in fact me and hubby munch on tidbits together hahah hubby is a bad boy ... jahaha .. but once in a while lah ...

helo peachie, its thursday! long weekend ahead.
) so we can rest all we want this weekend hehehee. so happy. yah can check with them again about the scan duration ah. 45mins shock me too.

amylim, think i heard u shld avoid squatting, doing strenous exercises for now....take good care.

smiley, hehehe notty notty. but hor, u know what? my hubby hor, though he forbids me from eating instant noodles, when he eats potato chips he lets me eat as much leh! i also dunno why. hehehehehe for potato chips i will stop on my own, after deciding i have enough. i dun have cravings for it lah. the only obvious cravings i have is for durians!

daisybuttons

I eat a lot of durians also leh .. and I heard it is very "bu" for the bb mah .. so I dun mind eating it though it may makes me fat ...

heard some say eating durians, bb will have a harder scalp ... easier to take care lor .... but be caution not to eat too much else bb will have heat rash at birth ...

helo ilovebabies, i also heard eating too much durians baby will be very big. hehehe but i think now still early 2nd tri its okie right? i din know about the hard scalp. but hor, yah, heat rash. heard about it last night. heard if u eat too many heaty things baby will have heat rash. so thats why some ppl recc eating the cooling coconut water in the last month of pregnancy, so baby skin will be smooth smooth.

daisybuttons ... heard the coconut thingy is to ensure a smoother delivery leh

but beware coconut drink is super cooling, it is recommended to eat with the fruit itself.

helo ilovebabies, diff ppl say diff things lah heheee.... a lot say coconut will let your baby be clean clean when born, and the person i talked to say will help in heat rash. as for smooth delivery, how does that come about huh? just curious....

yep i know super cooling hehe thats why u can ONLY drink in the last mth..... oh and why issit that eating it with fruit is less cooling leh? i do plan to eat it with the fruit lah, so yummy..

oh btw, who issit in this thread whom works near IT servers huh? coz yesterday when i at OIO maternity shop, they are selling this product that protects ur baby from radiation. think its actually a dress with protective capabilities, to protect your tummy from external radiation. u may wanna check it out? i din see how much though...pai seh...

Hi Littlepony,

Thanks for letting us know about the mothercare promotion!

Hi ilovebabies,

You know if it is alright to taking cooling stuffs or not? I love barley with fu3 zhu2 with ginko nut. But my mum forbade me from eating ginko nut (dunno why also). Haiz.

Also heard about the durians thingy. Can try. I love durians too!

Long weekend coming at last.... hurray! The week after next is another long weekend - Labour Day holidays.

hi daisybuttons ..

I am the one working near servers at times ... ya i saw the anti-radiation product on mag before .. but i called my gynae to ask ... he said it is ok .. his main concern is when pregnany women go for X-rays.
tks for your concern !

Littlepony

I think you have to refrain lor .. in fact my mum in law also forbid me to drink home cooked chrysantheum tea cos it is cooling .. guess we have to "ren" for these few mths more ... most of us are HALFWAY there !!! jia you !!

peachie,
and following Labour Day hol is Vesak Day.. another long weekend! but after this, no more hols till Nat'l Day... by then, all of us 8mths le! can't imagine! haha..

btw, juz checking if most of u plan to take 3mths maternity leave all at one go. Anyone plan to take 2mths first, then take the remaining month later? My co. policy is tat i can take the 3rd mth later, up to when bb is abt 6mths old. Thot this way, i can c bb's diff stage of growth.

hi puppylove

i would take the 3 mths maternity leave at one go ... cos I feel it is quite unfair to my bosses if i were to take the 1 month leave later as they need to do arrangements to cover my work ... and they have already gave in to me in many ways during my pregnancy ... so I guess I have to reciprocate their kindness ....

Hi gals, thks for the advice. Will try not to squat and carry heavy stuff.

Anyone experiencing cramps on the legs so far? I had a very bad cramp on my left leg last night whilst sleeping... It's still quite painful this morning even though my hb helped to massage. My MIL said that it's common and it will get more frequent in the later stage of pregnancy.

hey amylim !!

I am to about post on this subject as well cos I encountered cramp on my left leg this morning also and it is v sudden. Usually when I have cramp I can manage it on my own, and bend my feet towards me and it will be ok ... today it was quite severe so woke my hubby up .....

hate cramps ..

ilovebabies,
ya, u're right. Got to consider the inconvenience u're causing ur co... Will think this thru' again...

Regarding leg cramps, do stretch ur calf muscles every night b4 u sleep. I read that this is one of the few symptoms we hv control over. Either lean forward against the wall with both heels flat on the ground, or if u're in bed, point ur feet n toes towards urself. U'll feel ur calf muscles being stretched. Repeat several times. So far works well for me.

littlepony, ilovebabies, 77, daisybuttons,
Thanks for sharing your experience telling your bosses at work you're pregnant. For most of you, I realised that you tell them really early! When I first got pregnant, I told them early too b'cos I was too excited but sadly that one ended in a miscarriage so I had to untell. After that, I'm quite pantang and didn't tell until they discover it themselves. I plan to tell my reporting manager at my 5th month. Give them 3 months to decide before I go for my maternity leave. I am still hiding behind normal clothes and hipster jeans/pants. But my hipster/jeans are getting too tight for comfort now and my DH is nagging me to change to maternity wear. I will stay put until I really can't take it anymore. Hee hee.

About John Little warehouse sale,
I saw this nursing bra for sale at only $8. The brand starts with "F". I was wearing maternity pants and tops at that time so I really look pregnant. The promoter advised me to take one size bigger. I was wearing 36B and she told me to take 38. The thing is, the cup is really big! But it has this detachable front suitable for nursing. I only bought a piece b'cos I needed to see what else is available during Motherhood Fair in May soon. I feel like my boobs are not growing! Anyone else in the same shoes (or boobs) as I am? LOL.

Smiley,
Woah I didn't know about the wax in noodle thing. Will definitely double boil it next time. Then again I only indulge in it once!

Wow $250 for a detail scan is very expensive. I saw Ann Tan's website from a Google sponsored link. Man I think she's like the designer obstetrician or something. Didn't she married an ang moh? High standard lah. Too high for my pocket. My detail scan is a part of my OSCAR package with TMC. So far I'm very satisfied with TMC's staff friendliness and professional service.

puppylove,
Yep me! I'm taking 3 months maternity at one shot. So I will probably come back in January. Hope to find a new job by then too. I'm so jaded!

amylim, i lovebabies,
I happened to read in a maternity magazine yesterday that it was believed that leg cramps could indicate a deficiency of calcium. So take soy milk or fresh milk or cheese or any other food high in calcium. My OB gave me 450mg of calcium tablet but I didn't take it if I'm having milk and soy on that day. I love drinking this two everyday. Oh also do the stretching exercise like puppylove mentioned and don't overtire yourself during the day.

at the same time, drink lots of water to keep urselves hydrated, which will prevent water retention - another cause for leg cramps.

amylim, congrats! Is there any specific issue we are to look out for during detail scan?

Seems like we are having equal number of prince & princess here. Hope to see more of the mommies filling up e BB's gender.
Can't wait to go for my detail scan...... 2 May...still so long to go....

hi puppylove, tks for your tip ! will try that out ..

hi Melissa

I drink milk twice a day leh ... the AnMum one ... and sometimes I take soya milk during lunchtime ...hmm better ask my gynae when I see him next time ...

and I think it is not wise to try to fit into ur normal wear... but make sure you feel comfortable leh .. else I am afraid it may restrict the growth ...

my boobs has grown but I can still into my current bras though a bit tight, so now very eager to replace them with maternity bras ....

I'm new here.. have been trying to finish reading the forum... so much useful information.. thanks.

I'm expecting a boy and I am due 29 Sep... know the gender during my 12.5 weeks and I can even feel the movement that day. The nurse was saying it's not possible as it's still too early. But when my gynea checked my tummy, he said can feel my womb liow... so I guess, that's means I can feel the movement liow....

Correct me if I'm wrong.

I also try to fit into my normal wear until this week which i realised that my tummy has grown bigger and i felt that everything seems so tight for me that i feel painful at times. Now, i try not to be so stubborn and put on comfortable clothings. My panties and bras have gone tight as well and the underwire of the bras have made me feel uncomfortable too.

Hello emoments,
WELCOME!!!! Glad to have you here.
Wow.. that's quite early to tell the gender at this stage. I've only known mine at week 16. But i do know that pregnancies are never the same for everyone!

I'm surprised also and I have been hoping for a girl.... so was quite upset initially. I was hoping maybe the nurse see wrongly, even went to the temple and pray... crazy, right?

As that scan was an ad hoc scan due to my flu and cough, I had to go back a week later to check my baby is still ok. I asked for confirmation, making sure it's not the cord or a little finger that the nurse saw.... no luck... nurse and gynea confirmed it's really the little penis... even showed me where are the 2 hands, 2 legs etc.

littlepony

I am really surprised that you can still fit into ur normal clothings !! my tummy is so protruding and nothing fits for me anymore ....

emoments

dont be sad .. else it will affect your mood.. a healthy bb is what we need !

but at least your bb dont keep you in suspense .. like the rest of us .. still taking those bb gender quiz to guess our bb gender ! haha

ilovebabies,
i wear my bigger size clothings.. but now, like u... nothing fits anymore. I have given an 'Emergency' msg to my sister and asked her to go shopping with me this weekend!

Forgot to mention, prior to that, I did tell baby to let me know the gender early... as I was suffering from bad MS and then I had flu & cough... thus I was very depressed and kept crying.

Then I said to my baby... I think you are a boy lah... just let me know early so that I can try to accept you....

Who knows... really let me know so fast....

Then on the night b4 the 2nd scan, I told baby... thou you are more or less confirmed to be a boy, let's confirm it again lah.. then I can start buying stuff for you... so this boy really cooperate again... I felt very touched after that and eventually accepted the fact that I'm having a boy......

emoments,
Most importantly, baby is fine and healthy. watever gender doesn't really matter.

Haaa. yes.. like what ilovebabies says, we all have been doing all kinds of quizes and ring test to guess gender! Comparing symptoms etc.. but i muz say, it's really fun!

So for those who still haven't know the gender yet.... maybe can try talking nice things to your baby.. then ask them to cooperate in the next scan.... maybe it works? no harm trying...

Hi ilovebabies and Littlepony

Yep... I'm fine now.... accepted baby to be a boy and stopped crying liow. At least he's a good obedient boy....

emoments,
i did the same as well before i do my scan that day. I told my baby that i want to know the gender and if possible, could he show it to doctor, daddy, mummy and ah ma? And yes, he did!

For those who wants to know the gender earlier, perhaps talking to baby before the scan helps...
juz a suggestion. give a try!

Emoments,
Yes.. keeping yourself happy is most important than anything else. I am sure he will be a healthy, intelligent and obedient boy! You are fortunate to have him!

hi emoments, littlepony

ok ok I will start tonite cos my detailed scan is next Tues !! but I think it is a gal .. gynae was trying to look for penis but he cant hahahah .... fine with me .. as long as bb is obedient....

helo amylim, i also had cramps twice. first was in my left thigh in the middle of the day, dunno why. then recently few nigths ago my calf cramps when sleeping, gotta wake up and wait for it to go away. have not had this for some time.

hey thanks i will try to do the calve exercises before i go sleeep! hehehe.....

ilovebabies, oh its you who has to work near servers huh? okie since gynae assured u its alright then it will be alright. then u dun need to worry now.

emoments!!! helo and welcome!
WAH, so cute leh ur baby , very ting hua hor? hehehee.....he sure very obedient next time when he grows up.

hi emoments

Congrats that you have a obedient boy. I tried the gender predition too but i really dunno what is the chinese calendar year for me...i only know is in Dec 05 Leh. Do anyone of you know how to calculate your age and month for chinese calendar?

bijou

I think most of us here are conceived in Dec 05 ... ya emoments, how do u read the chart ?
I rem if I use the chart using English calendar it shld be a Male

emoments, the age is based on last yr rite? I'm born in 1981, according to Chinese calendar...last yr is 25 is it?

helo bjiou i used to have a siemens hp that can convert chinese dates to english dates, but dun have it anymore. but i think websites got calendar conversions.

chng's wife, lunar age is always 1 yr more than our solar age, coz we considered 1 yr old when borned. so yes u shld be 25 according to the lunar chart. but if u happen to be born in the early part of the yr before the CNY, then shld use 1 yr less i think.

both my age in English and Chinese calendar indicates that I will have a boy leh ..... hmmm let u all know next Tue after my detailed scan lah !!

thanks, daisybuttons. Then thru e predictor, I'm having a boy. However, thru my own instinct...I'm having a gal.Haha. I'll wait till detail scan to see if I'm rite.

emoments, I wish I can feel the baby kick too. Sometimes I don't know whether it's the baby kicking or just normal cramp.. Don't know how to differentiate.

I just went for my checkup (not detailed scan) and gynae says most likely I am having a girl
Actually I was expecting a boy coz everyone around me predict I am having a boy! My MIL, my sisters, my hubby, even the gender predictor thingy.. so I got this idea that I am having a boy. So when the gynae first told me I may be having a girl, I was quite disappointed initially! (Although right in the very beginning I prefer girls actually!!)

Now that the idea has sinked in, I have stopped feeling disappointed and looking forward to my girl again
In fact, now I am looking at all the nice little pink dresses for my little girl :D My hubby asks me to hold first coz the gynae cannot confirm till the detailed scan actually, but I just love those sweet little pink dresses!

I thot Dec should be roughly the last day of menses month? My conception is early Jan leh...

I calculated my Chinese age before 2006 CNY, so its 2005 age. Usually it's 1 year older than yr English age.

Oops... I put the month to be the same for both English and Chinese leh... only the age differs...

Actually before I read this forum, I only tried my English age... then after reading the forum, I tried with my Chinese age.... but I forgot about the month... hmmm.... I just tried, I reduce one month from the English one ('cos checked the calendar, for my case, it's one mth difference).... and the result is still the same....

Guess I'm fated to have boy... :p