(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

daisybuttons, hahaha u r so brave! I find it more comfortable than normal ones leh. I change to maternity ones when i was in the 1st tri. Hahaha. My colleague always make fun of me saying my breasts are protruding more than my tummy!

daisybuttons ... naughty gal !! be careful when you walk out of your cubicle ... else the guys would be staring at you ah ....

Chng's wife .. seems like ur chest is progressing well ah !! ehehhe ....

i popped by Perfect Mum at Heartland Mall last Sat. Very small shop, seems like limited range of clothes too. Even the salesgirls say the shop is limited! Didn't buy anything in the end. But they've 5 shops. Besides the 3 mentioned by pjen, there's also a new one at Suntec City Mall and another at Tanjong Pagar Plaza.

So I guess maternity bras are actually nursing bras which u can wear b4 and after delivery?

How abt nursing wear/tops? Do u buy now or later?

Guess I really look pregnant today cos of my baby doll top, cos juz now during lunch, first time a colleague fr another dept approached me to ask when i'm due!! hahaha!

chng's wife
Detailed scanning check for soft sign and structure of Baby's all internal organs. (Stomach, heart, kidney, length of legs and hands, face,brain etc.)

Daisybuttons
I like to wear unwired bra altho I noe that the shape maybe out if keep wearing unwired bra. But I still feel very comfortable wearing them. So me is go comfy rather than beauty.

ilovebabies and chng's wife hehee when i do that i make sure i am wearing a cardi or a jacket lah hehehe. and i will stay in my seat! if i venture out of my cubi usually not obvious too.so these maternity ones hor, are they the soft soft cloth type or those with defined cups. u know what i mean?

heard somewhere that they will count the fingers too....

bjiou and eling, i also wearing maternity pants or skirts for some time liaoz, can't fit into my usual pants. some skirts still can, those elastic band ones thats stretchable...

helo bjiou yep i agree with you, i prefer comfy over whether they will sag loh. and more important to me now is whether underwire bras will affect growth of milk ducts, coz its important for my baby next time.

daisybuttons .. ok at leasst you did some pre-cautions ahha

my qn is most of the mat. top now are slightly fitting at the chest and loose below .. so if I wear non-wired bra, wouldn't I show the shape ?? unlike those bras with cup ...

i tot nursing tops is when you intend to do breastfeeding in public ??

i definitely would not chose to do that ... think I am too shy .. but of cos I dun object to public breastfeeding ....

the thread oso progressing v fast..

daisybuttons,u steady leh...can unhook...i scared man..my ofc here more men then women..

i thot there are some maternity tops that are nursing tops oso??...1 stone kill 2 birds

wah, now i'm confused!

yes, some maternity tops r nursing tops too... so do we really need those? or as ilovebabies says, itz for bf in public only? how abt if u're expressing milk at work? Do u oso wear nursing tops for convenience?

how abt maternity bras? i assume these serve the same purpose as maternity wear - adjustable features to cater to expanding assets? So nursing bras r different lah? they allow u easy access for bf or expressing milk right?

haha, sorry for all these silly questions. Someone pls enlighten me!!

pjen, hehehe u so cute, i steady? hhhmmm......okie lah, my office here also more men, but prob coz i been here quite long i feel quite comfortable. and if u wearing those with straps, u unhook, with jacket over it, cannot see u unhook one leh. only at the back can see mah, but its covered...

ilovebabies, there are some nursing tops that u cannot see they are nursing tops, can wear as maternity wear, so 2-in-1.

puppylove, nursing tops are usually dual layers, with subtle access at the sides to allow baby to access ur breast easily, without pulling up your whole blouse in public. so to ur question abt whether need that for expressing, usually u will express in private. so its not necessary....but is also good if u wearing coz then ur hands not as aching? hehehe need to check with the mums here...

some nursing bras allow u to unhook one cup and pull it down, without loosening the whole bra. very neat. hehehe think many designs, only seen a few online...

any ladies eat choc now ?
i crave for choc now and then ... and I eat that when I feel hungry leh ...

is it ok ? i particularly like Fruit and Nut choc

Bought 3 maternity / nursing bras from Robinsons last night.. two from triump & 1 from sorella. Cost me about S$110.

Just came back from the detailed scan. bb's organs are normal... current weight in 308g. I'm expecting a boy
(even though I very much wanted a gal), but it's ok as long as the bb is healthy. The detailed scan cost S$60.

Also signed up for the antenatal class with SGH. There are 8 sessions altogether, 4 lectures and 4 physiotherapy classes. Total package cost is S$156. The nurse who attended to me advised that mtb should sign up for the classes around 5 - 6 mths. 7 mth onwards is a bit too late as the stomach is quite big by then.

ilovebabies, I also crave for choc leh.... Instead of eating choc itself, I substitute it with hot chocolate drink and arnotts tim tam...

hi all!!!

John Little having their warehouse sale at Expo.. those free can go cx it out and get their baby stuff... esp those whom alr know the sex of their babies....

so envious.. i still dunno...
but even if i know, i think i'll still hold till after the detailed scan to buy... realli cant wait till i get my detailed scan done.... an agonizing wait... ....

Hi Emma,

Thanks for sharing! Likewise, I cannot wait for my detailed scan to be done as well. Mine's on 5 May... Haiz, that's a very long wait.

By the way, do you gals know if too much ultrasound is harmful to the fetus? I am scanning on 5 May as well as 13 May. According to my friend, this is bad since baby is exposed to quite a bit of the ultrasound. Is this true?

I measured myself yesterday. I piled on 6 inches! Faintz.... I will be looking like a whale soon...

Went to OIO Maternity House at KKH last Saturday, as I was there for their antenatal course. Bought 2 dresses. They are having a sale. Loads of their stuffs are at 30-50% off.

Wow looks like I'll be the last to have my detail scan. I'll be having mine at 21 weeks at 16 May. Such a long wait.

The baby stuff in John Little warehouse sale is nothing to scream about. All clearing old stock. No discount too. Saw some playpens/baby cot. It's similar to those selling in Kiddy Palace. At least with Kiddy Palace, you can get 10% discount if you're a member.

Hey I have a question. Has anybody let their office know they're pregnant yet? I'm still a bit scared of telling. My colleagues know but my bosses don't. My CEO is going around looking for headcounts. So afraid of losing my job. My boss just got fired too and they're not hiring a new one. *Sigh* seems hard to keep a job nowadays.

peachie,
My measurement of frequent scans means you go in every week or every two weeks. If you have to go in weekly at one point of time, I wouldn't consider tha frequent at all. I wouldn't worry about ultrasound. I think it's safe. One ang moh friend of mine has the privilege to do hers weekly but she don't seem to be worried.

Dear 77

I really not sure. But last time during my 1st tri, I ever do it on 5 days apart and now my boy was born healthy leh. I ever ask my gynae too, he said no problem at that time. I will think if it is necessary then better do it lor.

Sleeping positions... i haven't been able to sleep on my back lately... and i could only sleep at either my right or left side.. these two positions are tiring as well becos i felt that my spine is not resting on a proper backing. And if i do sleep on my back, my stomach becomes stretched and painful. Anyone same experience? or i am the only one :-(

hi Melissa,
i have made known to my colleagues including my branch director that i am preggy. I sort of announce to them at my 3rd month. i have the same kind of feeling as you do when i fear that they will make me 'redundant' or retrench me. However, they should have sufficient reasons to do so.
I guess whatever it is, I feel that my baby is more important than anything else. Tell your boss at the right time and get them to answer your fears, if you have. But most importantly, baby is the most important thing in life now.

Will you all still be going for ultrasound scan at each gynae visit after the 20 wk scan? For public hospitals such as SGH, the next ultrasound scan after the detailed scan will be at 32 weeks to check on the growth of the bb.

littlepony,
Don't sleep on your back. It will put pressure on your lower spine. Sleep on your side. I find that putting a bolster between your legs helps a lot and i use double pillows to support my head. I find it comfortable that way. Poor hubby b'cos that bolster was his. But he give in b'cos he cares about me and bb. Hee hee. Or you could consider getting a pregnancy pillow.

helo helo gooda morning....

emma, thanks for the info on john little sale.

peachie! we have the same date for detailed scan.....
such a long wait hor? :p

well. i did read that when an ultrasound is adminstered, the ultrasound vibes or sound waves will change temporarily the cells in the object. this change only temporary and will go back to original form after ultrasound is removed. this is the current study findings lah.....

dun worry too much about it......u know, during my first 9 weeks, i had quite a bit of ultrasound scanning coz once i was spotting, and once i had sharp pain in my left tummy. so i had 2 more u/s compared to my usual no.s of once every 2 weeks, which is a lot. but i know its necessary coz i wun know how it will be if i hadn't scanned. so if ur 13 may scan is necc and its like for only 1-2 minutes, it's alright dun worry too much...

oh 30-50% off?? goodies....maybe i will take a look later during lunch hehehe...

Hi Melissa,
thanks for your advice. I will do so. I am also using a bolster. Luckily my husband don't use a bolster, or else we will be having pillow fights!

morning gals !

so late for work today cos of massive jam on CTE ...

anyway ... I cant sleep on the back also ... which sometimes I tried to do for like 1 min cos it feels so good .. and yes I also find it v v tiring to sleep on the sides .. so I tried to alternate both sides .. but still get backache ..

I told my bosses when I was abt 7 weeks pregnant .. but they are all v supportive .. even make special arrangements to minimise my movements ... so touched you know.... thus I really can't understand you gals stress ... poor thing leh u all ... gotta worry abt work and baby at the same time ...

amylim.. i tot the normal scan is still needed for every visit throughout the pregnancy ?

Hi Bijou and Melissa,

Thanks for the advice on the ultrasound. I am very relieved to hear this. I am going to Ann Tan (who is not my gynea) for the detailed scan on 5 May. She did the 12th week scan for me earlier and I was pretty impressed by her level of detail and her expertise, so I signed up for her 20 week detailed scan as well. However, I checked with my gynea last week and he refused to let me skip the detailed scan at his end, despite the fact that he is not doing the 20 week detailed scan himself. The detailed scan will be done by his clinic partner, Dr KK Chow, and it is compulsory for all his patients and included in his package. So I will have to do it twice. That's when I heard from a friend that each scan lasts 45 mins, and to have two 45mins scans within 1 week of each other will harm the fetus. So got pretty worried yesterday.

Hi Melissa,

I had let my bosses and colleagues know when I was 8 weeks pregnant. I guess it is really up to the individual. I heard of horror stories where the bosses where really unhappy about their staff being pregnant. But if you have supportive or even neutral bosses, I think it is fine to let them know. I think it is also good cos they can plan for additional manpower needs for the 3 months when you are on maternity leave in advance too, if this is ever required. Hope this helps.

Hi ;),

I wanted to, but the problem here is that both Ann Tan and KK Chow refused to do the scan any earlier than 20 weeks, and no later than 22 weeks. I am tied up the week after, so got to do them 1 week apart. I am kinda worried about the scans myself. Am praying that I will have a normal healthy baby.

My bras are getting tighter too... Maybe I pop by Robinsons for a look during lunch today. Any brands to recommend? Am thinking of getting nursing bras...

Oh yes, not too sure as to when the OIO sale ends. When I was there last weekend, the sales lady shared that the sale had been ongoing for some time. So you'd better go down soon.

The swimming suits are going for 50% off, and they are $30 plus. Maybe I pop by tomorrow and get 1. Can go swimming then!

hi 77

then maybe I better give OIO a call later to make sure the sale can last till Sat ...

maybe you can seek Ann Tan's advice when you go for the detailed scan ...

Sorry I haven't been active in this forum. Been busy. I was looking at the past thread and I thought I must highlight something..

Ilovebabies, it's not just the msg in instant noodle that's harmful but the wax on the noodles. There's a coating of wax on the instant noodles to prevent them from sticking together. I read somewhere that if you notice in hawker center/ coffee shops, the uncle always rinse the noodles in separate hot water first before cooking to rinse away the flour (or whatever substance) they put on the noodles to prevent them from sticking together.

And for instant noodles, they use a coating of wax. That's why the texture of the noodles is waxy if you notice.

So, even if koka instant noodles claims they do not have msg, the wax on the noodles is bad too. Very bad for health.

I love instant noodles but I have been refraining myself to eat instant noodles ever since I know I am pregnant :p

Haha.. sorry har.. like "Jiu4 shi4 chong2 ti2" since this topic is long past.. :p

helo littlepony, yes try to sleep on ur side with a bolster/pillow betw ur legs or knees to align ur spine.

amylim, i think my doc will scan every visit. for ur case, prob its the hospital's usual practice not to scan til 32 weeks. but can u request if u really want to?

peachie, i didn't know detailed scan is 45 mins! so long ah....hmmm......have u paid for the ann tan scan? if u worried, see if u can forgo one?

melissa, my boss knew very early, like around 6-8weeks, coz i find i lose concentration very easily back then and am very slow in delivering my work. i need to explain to him the reasons behind it. i understand ur concerns about the cutting of manpower. maybe u can ask urself, is this current work giving u a lot of stress that u wld rather do without when carrying this baby? can u cope with the stress without ppl knowing u are preggie and still piling work on u. is the amt of work unreasonable and are u hoping for less? i know at this time and age, mothers need to work and bring back bread and butter as well, but as we are carrying the precious baby now, i feel i will put baby first priority... but of course, if u feel u can cope with it and the stress is not affecting u, then u can consider otherwise. to share something with you, i am on the verge of passing on a golden opportunity to advance in my career, coz i am pregnant now. i have thought long and hard, and find that baby's health is most important, and i wanna spend precious time with baby after he's born, bonding with no stress during the first crucial months and years...

ilovebabies, sure, if i go there later, i will help u ask.

hi daisybuttons,
okie. will continue to sleep on my side but like what ilovebabies says, sometimes sleeping on the back really shiok! but only for a few minutes. haaaa!

I have a scan everytime i go for checkup. And as for detail scan, my gynae hasn't brief me on this. but i know the nurse mentioned they will talk to me about signing up the package in my next checkup.

peachie, my detailed scan took less than 30 minutes. Yours is pretty long leh.. How much is Ann Tan charging?

Try triump. They have a few designs for nursing bra.

amylim, so u manage to see e gender of ur bb thru detailed scan?

Btw, ladies...do u all know abt the Avent open house thingy? I seen it in Aug thread but they didn't mention when and where...

i finally think i run out of clothes to wear both at work and weekend. Although my sister in law passed me some maternity clothings, i think my tummy still quite small to wear those but yet quite big to fit my normal clothings so, i always spend half an hour at home each day thinking what to wear for work!

Will be going shopping this weekend...

helo ilovebabies, went to OIO maternity but din buy anything. asked the girl she said the sale is ongoing only while stocks last. some of their stocks are 20%, some 30%, some 50%. she said some time back alot are 50%, but sold out over the weeks, so now less items at 50%, but they add in the new stocks which will be more exp prob 20% off.

tot of buying the swimwear but the one that i tried tummy area still a bit loose leh....hmm....

hi smiley

tks for the info ! so coincidental .. cos I went to buy a packet of KOKA noodles at NTUC just now .. and my col taught me to cook instant noodles twice in boiling water ...

like what Smiley mentioned, cook once to wash away the wax then cook again with the flavouring ....

will definitely do that in future !

daisybuttons,
tks for being so helpful !! but will still make a trip down this Sat.. did u see any nice maternity bras ?

Chng's wife,

I have not heard abt the Avent open hse thingy .. but will definitely go to the Baby Fair at Expo starting 31st May ..

Hi Amy,

Thanks for the recommendation! Went to Robinsons to look look just now. Raffles City ones doesn't seem to have much leh... Looked and bought nothing.

Haven't done the scan yet. The 45mins was from my friend. She did her detailed scan at KKH few months ago and it lasted 45mins.

Ann Tan charges $250 for the detailed scan. If it is a second opinion that you are seeking from her, she will charge $100 more. But she is really very good and very detailed. She did a 12 week detailed scan for me a few weeks back and I was pretty impressed with her.

I think I will still continue with Ann Tan. As for my gynea side, will try to request for a short scan session as I have already done one. See how it goes first.

Hi ;),

I know she is quite expensive. But the 5th month detailed scan is really very important (or so I read), so am willing to save elsewhere and get a good gynea to do it.

Ann Tan is highly recommended by some of my husband's colleagues, and she is a reputable sonographer. She used to head the ultrasound unit of SGH. Even at the 12th week scan which I did with her, she was checking on the fetus stomach, bladder, 2 cortex of the brain as well as a pretty detailed scan of the heart. That's why am going back to her.

I think it is up to the individual. My own gynea charges $100 for the same detailed scan (included in the package and cannot be excluded). So Ann Tan's charges are really very high as compared to the market rate. I guess at the end of the day it is the gynea's skills that you are trusting when it comes to the detailed scan, and to me the $$$ can be saved elsewhere.

Hi daisybuttons,

Thanks for going down to OIO and updating us! Are there still some variety of swimsuits left? Wany smaller sizes available?

So we are scanning on the same date! Yep, I think we are due on the same date as well.
I agree that the wait is really very very long....

hi 77

yes totally agree with you .. i just tot i read wrongly or there is a typo error when I read $250.

when has our Miss Daisybuttons become the spokesperson for OIO ? haha

btw my detailed scan is next Tues .... looking fwd !!!

Hi ;),

Let us know how your screening process goes next week can? All the best to you and may all of us here have healthy babies!

Haha, dear daisybuttons has become the latest expert on OIO.

hi 77

sure no prob. in fact I am also quite nervous abt the scan. Just pray that everything is fine.

It has been quiet today... probably MTBs getting into holiday mood already ...

helo hahahhaa i am not the spokesperson hor hehehe, just reporting what i learnt frm the girl ah.

ilovebabies, nice maternity bras ah....hhmmm....seriously hor, i never find maternity bras nice leh. hehehee coz i always like those cute cute or sweet sweet designs, which maternity bras sure dun have. so cannot answer ur qn objectively. but i know they have quite a range there, and if u buy above $100 u get 5% off......oooops here i go again...hehehee... their bras mostly underwire leh, did not try so not sure comfy a not, but the lady said the cutting of some of the bras are such that even with underwire it wun cut into your breasts so very comfy.

wow ur detailed scan so soon, right after amy's yar....all the best, dun worry too much.

peachie,oh issit we same EDD? thats nice! hehehhee.. i know 3-4 of the mums here have same EDD as me. yes we can update each other after the scan hehehe. hey, i totally agree with u. the money for amy tan is well spent if u said she is so good. i also agree for baby, other things can sacrifice. we just want the best for baby isn't it? i met ann tan before at a seminar recently, she's quite the cool and composed gynae. hey, but about the 45mins, i happened to be talking to a coll today who's wife just went detailed scan at KKH last tue. he said the scan itself only 15mins leh, though the wait was SUPER long. maybe its no longer 45mins leh? maybe u wanna call ann tan clinic to find out, it may set ur mind at ease.

as for the OIO swimsuits, well, quite a lot of designs, but i only fancy 1 or 2 leh. and yes they have small sizes...

smiley! thanks for the info on cooking instant mee. but HOR....sigh....after reading the posts yesterday hor, i got craving go and eat the koka noodles last night around 10plus when i got hungry....my hubby not home that time so i ate hehehee....but i think he knew when he had to throw away the rubbish lah. but i very guai, i only ate like 1/3 of the noodles, broke it up to cook. coz i just wanna fill my tummy thats all. yah next time i better rem to cook it twice!!!

Hi Daisybuttons,

Yep, we can update each other! =) Thanks also for letting me know about the scan duration. Maybe my friend made a mistake. I also am quite stunned to hear that the scan lasted for 45mins.

Guess all mothers are the same. Baby always comes first.
Thanks for the info on the swimming suits too. Heard swimming is good. Will have easier labour process (hopefully!).

Me very tired.... and my neck and shoulders are aching pretty badly. Will be going off soon. This is the happiest part of the day.

Daisybuttons, not sure if they will accede to my equest... I'll find out.. but unlikely... I think they emphasize more on checking of the bb's heartbeat between wk 20 - 32 rather than ultrasound.

Chng's wife, managed to see the gender through the detailed scan.. very obvious.

Bijou, I did the detailed scan in SGH. The scan basically scan all the major organs of the bb + bones & spine...

My gyane said that my placenta is quite low, but will shift away nearer the birth date. Anything I should avoid doing?