(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

Afternoon gals...
Anyone knows if the Japanese sashimi tako (octupus) is cooked? I guess if it's under sashimi it shd be raw to a certain extent but it look cooked though. Any ideas? Thanks

edksd, i've taken bird nest since last month. mom boought and cook for me .. twice liaoz....
can take occasionally now....but nearer to the date we shld take more ;)

oh mine .. tomolo will be 13 weeks liaoz ;) did my NT scan yesterday. the scan took me only less den 20 mins coz baby very good .. in the correct position...so very fast ;) everythiing is alright for me...at least feel better ... saturday had taken blood test ... not sure whats that for? it shld be normal rountine test heh

Hi edksd, I haven't started taking bird nest yet. Probably in 3rd trimester.... Anyone taking black chicken soup?

helo rainnie, what does ur mum cook the birds nest with ah? some herbs we shld avoid now huh? my parents wanna buy birds nest but i told them 4mth then take, didn't know can take nw.

helo chocolat, hhhmmmmm it looks cooked to me too but its best to ask the staff. some sushi like their ebi are half cooked one, but looks orange.

helo amylim, i am taking black chicken essence, without any herbs. dun consider it soup coz its only half a bowl.

do you girls know when we can start taking cordiceps? and what other herbs are safe for us in 2nd tri?

helo rainnie, what does ur mum cook the birds nest with ah? some herbs we shld avoid now huh? my parents wanna buy birds nest but i told them 4mth then take, didn't know can take nw.

helo chocolat, hhhmmmmm it looks cooked to me too but its best to ask the staff. some sushi like their ebi are half cooked one, but looks orange.

helo amylim, i am taking black chicken essence, without any herbs. dun consider it soup coz its only half a bowl.

do you girls know when we can start taking cordiceps? and what other herbs are safe for us in 2nd tri?

Hi daisybuttons,

Good question leh.. i just ate that otopus thingy also yesterday!! I thought it is cooked leh..

Am taking bird's nest now.. about every two weeks.. my mum say can also add "dong cong cao". Is that = cordyceps?
I ate the bird's nest without any sugar.. since i need to cut down carbo n refined sugars.

I also blur blur leh.. Any experience mummies around to advise?

daisybutton, my mom put ginseng leh...(in hokkien call Yu sim) that shld be fine...loh...and definitely rock sugar loh...

i drank once black chicken soup .. but dun take too much coz i heard is very heaty loh. my mom ask me to drink ... chicken essence every week once...

jasmine ya...dong cong cao is cordyceps...

hi daisybuttons,

I have been taking black chicken essence/soup everyday since I knew I was preggy. Sometimes my mum will add dang sheng, sometimes korean ginseng (Kao Li Sheng), sometimes pao sheng. As for Birdnest, i took every two weeks! Then every month I will take the "xue ge".

rainnie, i have no problem! In fact I felt stronger now as compare to last time. Before preggy, I can't take take so much "bu", I'll get headache, ulcer and fever. But now no problem.

Everyday I will go back to my mum's place for lunch and nap, she'll brew the chicken soup/essense for me.

But I intend to cut down after my first trimester, maybe 2-3 times per week!

What I understand is we can only start to eat "bu" when we are more than 4mths. So till now I didnt take any.

helo helo! pig2, glad to see u again. actually the black chicken essence my parents been preparing is the recipe from you.
just that my dad debone the chicken first, which is quite tedious. he says takes 1/2 hr. coz we usually brew such tonics without bone loh. thanks so much for the recipe leh. i have eaten it 3 times since (not as much as you), but have find my concentration at work improve. and i can walk out or take mrt/bus out for lunch liaoz. do you know, during early pregnancy before this essence i couldn't? so tired i can't focus and i have to ask colls to tabao. and i really love the taste.

ask you hor, which is heaty and more suitable for preggies? gao li sheng or pao shen? i read until i blur leh. and what does ur mum brew the birdnest with huh? my mum intend to add cordycerps and dang sheng to my chicken essence now, is it okie?

bjiour, welcome!!!

bjiou and rainnie, the black chicken essence i am drinking is without herbs or anything, just pure black chicken, so it is not too bu. when ppl say dun bu til 4mth, they are referring mainly to herbs. i stay away from herbs til now, going to start. but i think pig2 have tried the safer herbs (her mum knows) for sometime liaoz.

rainnie, i not sure why but my spotting in week 5 happens after i drink a bottle of chicken essence. may not be the cause lah, but very coincidental. when i asked the nurse, she said in old times, it used to be good for preggies. but now, somehow our make up is diff coz our lifestyle diff. so bottled chicken essence may not suit everyone. so i tot better avoid, so i asked my parents to make the home-made chicken essence for me.

oh what type ginseng did ur mum put ah? there's so many types until i confused now heheheheee...

jasmine, dun worry abt the tako lah,since eat liaoz dun think about it.
next time if in doubt, just avoid hehehee.

daisybuttons, i see isee....ermm the kind of ginseng ah .. is call 'you sim' in hokkien...,..one container buy from .. the shop cost abt 10 odd ba? u try ... asking...from chinese medical store....

daisybuttons
I din debone, only deskin. The bone has good nutrients too!

Gao Li sheng is very heaty, i think not everyone can that! But so far, i have no problem. I dun take this everyday, i alternate with pao sheng and "tung sheng"

They are different grade of pao sheng, the lower grade is cooling, good for hot weather, to reduce heat in the body. As the grade move up, pao sheng became not so cooling (but not heaty) and have some energise effect too (Ti sheng).

As for birdnest, my mum use pao sheng( the not so cooling one).

I also feel a different after so many rounds of 'bu'. My mum feels that my face looks more healthy, not so pale.

hi bjiou
bird nest are not cooling, they are consider "wen" (moderate). So i dun see why cannot take them. But of course there is another school of teaching like my MIl, she dun approve me of taking bird nest, she feels is cooling.

My mum prepare birdnest for my SIL during her pregnancy, she had them almost every other day, no problem at all.

no leh

What i understand is they say bird nest got those very fine feather that is no gd for bb's lung if we take too early.

bjiou ... .i guess its up to individual health as well....

like pig2 can take BU everyday .. not every one can take that ...so birdnest also loh. u can try ... once ... abit dun take too much....and see how...if not ... to play safe drink only when u are 4months...

bjiou, i tried once...my mom put normal herbs ... its ok leh...my mom last time used to put chicken essence in but this time round she did not add...

u can try drink abit ... loh? eat more of the chicken is fine...ba?
den after that dun take too much heaty stuff coz chicken soup (black one right) is more heaty i heard from my mom....

my mom got say ... by right black chicken soup shld take later one...but once awhile ... its ok lah...

if u are unsure..maybe u would like to check with ur mom ... guess ur mom will know what is best for u

heee..thanks for your advice, rainnie. Guess I will take abit, I like herbal chicken soup, is yummy. Btw, I have done my Oscar test, how about you?

bjiou..no pblm! i like to drink soup ... but any kind;...only during cny period i got craving for black chicken soup.

oh i never do oscar...i only did NT scan yesterday
everyting is fine...what abt u?

yes..im new here. But i have been following this thread for quite some time just that i didnt sign in.

i stay near town. My gynae is in Mt. E.

helo pig2, thanks thanks. so pao sheng must find the not so cooling kind lah.... i see. hhhmm....actually like you, last time i cannot take too much chinese herbs, coz i xu1 bu2 shou4 bu3 aka too weak constitution to take bu. once i take tang gui only, i fall sick. so now a bit careful about herbs loh. but its good that u can take black chicken essence every day. i just drank it this evening, the soup smells soooo good yummy! i have this habit of smelling the bowl after drinking hehehee.

oh i see, so birdnest is wen ah. not cooling? thats interesting, i didn't know that. prob its what we add in that is cooling, like some cooling paosheng in those commercially bottled birdsnest...

rannie, oooooh you sim....okie i go ask my mum what kinda ginseng is that hehehee....

bjiou, what kinda herbs in chicken soup. think not all herbs can put, so careful what u put inside. check with ur mummy first, or ask her to check with the medicinal stall.

hi, can i check w u all what supplements are u taking or doc has prescribed for u?

i think i was almost choked by all the stuff ive to take. all to be taken once a day in the morning. all prescribed by my doc.

1 capsule - fish oil
1 capsule - multivitamin
2 tablets - calcium
1 tablet - hormones pill

im having a phobia towards all these capsules and tablets
never taken so much such stuff in my entire life.

helo edksd, I am taking folic acid tablets and multivitamins which contains calcium too. I have finished my hormone pills. Heard fish oil don't need to take so early? Don't worry, think of all this as a nutrition for your little one, its all worth it.

Hi edksd, I'm taking omega three capsule (1 capsule on alternate days) and 1 capsule of Obimin every day.

Hi bijou, welcome

folic acid prescription stopped after the 1st 3 mths. i still hv a few left, so im now oso finishing them.

hormone pills initial stage i took 3 times a day, slowly cut down to twice a day and now once a day only.

the fish oil im taking is neuroGain PB. doc explained something abt the ratio of dha and epa. doc only gave me samples. i think will start only in 14th wk during next visit.

the multivitamin seems to be more for iron deficiency anaemia. haematinic. duno what's tt term.

I started taking Black Chicken soup, Pao Sheng and Cordyceps during my 1st trimester as MIL says during 1st trimester, the purpose is to "bu" the mother and not the bb.
Only now in my 2nd trimester, I start to take bird nest as mum says bird nest are not to take so early ....

And I did check with my gynae before I started taking herbs ... he approves it

And beware not to take those pre-canned bird nest, as cautioned by my MIL.

and best thing is, drink more water everyday to avoid water retention and constipation ! ;)

ilovebabies, any reason why dont take pre-canned bird nest?i have 3 boxes at home...thinking of taking them leh....

hi rainnie ...

MIL says bird nest is best taken if cook at home .. cos you don't know what other ingredients they used for pre-canned ones... and also the quality of bird nest ....

I also have a few a home but ask Hubby to finish it

better be safe than sorry !

Hi rainnie and ilovebabies

Yes, but anyway alot of them says birdnest is juz rich in calcium and tats it. So think do not really need to eat so much lah...so ex leh.

bjiou, i got those pre-canned kind coz got special promo from my colleagues...so .. its ok can leave it until after birth :p
my mom already bought 200+ dollar bird nest for cooking one..so she cook i eat loh :p

bjiou, mi 13 weeks 1 day...ok lah my mum first grandchild thats why very kan cheong

bcoz of my age, my gynae recommend mi go for nt scan can liao

bjiou, mi 13 weeks 1 day...ok lah my mum first grandchild thats why very kan cheong

bcoz of my age, my gynae recommend mi go for nt scan can liao

hi rainnie1, what's nt scan huh? is it to check for down syndrome?

bjiou, im oso in my 12th wk today. which gynae are u seeing?

hi, for those of u already in the 2nd trimester, can i ask do u really feel a lot more energetic in ur 2nd trimester as compared to ur 1st trimester?

today i'm in 12th wk. but i still feel like zombie. i hope next wk onwards will be better?

Hi Bijou,

Welcome!

Wow, so many postings ever since I last visited this thread. My gynea forbids me from taking any Chinese herbs leh.... so haven't been taking any "bu". What have u gals been taking?

My FIL offered to buy bird's nest. But since my gynea said no herbs, I also am not sure as to whether Bird's nest fall under the "herbs" category. But there was a study done some time ago and it was published in the Straits Times. Basically bird's nest is made of calcium, and its calcium is not in a form that is easily absorbable by the human body. Hence, only minute quantities of the calcium in bird's nest is absorbed each time. Therefore it is a vey inefficient and expensive way of taking calcium. Buying bottled bird's nest must be careful. There are some brands (from China and Malaysia) that contain artificial bird's nest. Hence you really don't know what is being used in the manufacture of such artificial bird's nest. If it is animal gelatine it is still fine - at least it's natural. Otherwise, other chemicals and additives may be added that may do more harm than good.

I think as a whole a balanced diet works best. Saw in some threads in this forum that excessive consumption of tangkwei may lead to miscarriage in the first trimester. Not sure how true, but it pays to be on the safe side. I think if want to consume, it may be good to check with your gynea first.

Just my 2 cents.

I'm new and would like to join the thread. I'm now in week 11th.
Got a question for you girls. I am a SGP Gal based working in HK. Intend to go with hubby back to SGP for delivery so that my family (mum, dad granny, etc...) can be with me.

Do you know if Gynea will accept if I use them just for the delivery and not for the whole pregnancy term? What kind of preparations should I make?

Hi edksd, am in my 16th week now... Feel more energetic, but still don't sleep that well at night and tend to go to toilet more often during daytime..

angeline,
my last pregnancy i was living overseas and like you decided to come back to deliver. when wld you be coming back since it wld nt be advisable to fly in the 3rd trimester. decide on your gynae and make necessary phonecalls. you shd at least hv an appt wt the gynae so he is able to asses your pregnancy. this wld be useful esp if complications arises during delivery. also make sure you get your gynae in HK to write a detailed report for you along wt US scns which you can give to gynae here.
hope that helps.