(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

daisybuttons, yup different gynae charges are different. I've source one near my place which cost $800 for 10 session which does not include scanning and medicine. Mine is unlimited times plus normal vitamins and scanning free.

Melissa, ya i'm having mumps...was given 2 days mc by KKH (which my hubby need to remind them giving) today went to my gynae which gave me 5 days mc! After confirming with my gynae he say it wont affect my baby I'm more relieve.

Smiley, i've signed up with Dr Adrian (TMC) 1st tri...my appointment with him is every 2 weeks once...2nd tri is every 3 weeks once. but today I went to visit him (no apptment) i dont have to pay extra

At first I've the same mindset as some of u ... prefer a female gynae den a male gynae but i read one of the thread about a female gynae who shows unprofessional skills...i decide to go to one recommended by my friend who is a male gynae.

hi all... thanx for ur concern..... no more bloody stool yesterday alr... phew.... but still dunno y suddenly like that.... hmm....

ya... package by Adrian woodworth is like the cheapest u can find in sg alr... and he is very generous with the MCs too!!! right rainie... hehe....

Hi Rainnie,

Sorry to hear that you have mumps. Hope u are feeling better now.

Hi Resha,

I think your package with Raffles Hospital isn't too ex. I have been paying $150-$250 per visit, and so far I have visited my gynea 3 times. My gynea has a package from 16 weeks onwards that cost $770, which include a visit every 4 weeks until 36 weeks (then it will be weekly) plus triple test and detailed 5th month scan. So all in all with the delivery fees and hospital stay all factored in, my total bill should be about $2.5k to $3k.

Hi Emma,

Agree that Adrian Woodworth is one of the cheapest around. My collegue had him as a gynea and she is very satisfied.

I went to TMC for my Oscar test and find that the some of the nurses are friendly and some are zombie.
Anyway, I will still deliver my bb at mt.e.

Do you all feel pain around your tummy area while you are sleeping? I feel pain whenever I wanted to change position, eg from left to right. Am I have increase 1kg from pre-pregnancy weight. How abt all of you? I'm hoping to increase less than 10kg till full term.

Wow rainnie, your gynae is so good! Mine is only once in every 4 weeks...

I went back to check my receipt and package yesterday and daisybuttons, you were right. The package includes delivery too.. but it excludes ultrasound, medicine, detailed scan, hospital ward etc

Smiley

You sure... Mine include delivery, ultrasound but excludes medicine, detailed scan and hospital ward. How much you pay for the package? Am paying for btw $1600-1900 for the package.

Emma, yaloh...he is very generous with MCs....even if he is not arnd .. u can get it from the nurse....:p

Peachie, thanks i'm feeling much better now. I got recommendation from my friend who just delivered in Dec thats why i went to him....

Smiley, yeah...not only me under him ... there's a few more mtbs .. under him as well ;) mi too used to visit him every 2 weeks...now change to 3 weeks ... once ...it seems soooo long to me!!! :p

rainnie

wah ur gynae so good...I wish I can see my bb every 2-3 weeks. Now i only can have the scan every 5 weeks. If I ask for 4 weeks, the nurse will say...doctor say 5 weeks.

helo Smiley, yah mine doesn't include obimin too, think thats the standard so dun worry.
and yep thats TC Chang.
hehehee if u did it in the clinic on the 1st floor, it must be TC Chang. to ur question on frequency of visits, it really varies from doc to doc. i see mine every 2 weeks in 1st tri, then every 4 weeks in 2nd tri. from 30 wks onwards its every 2 weeks then every one week close to delivery.

smiley and bjiou, think both ur packages are about the same. think although smiley's one says exclude ultrasound, i think it refers to extra special ultrasounds like NT Scan etc. if i am not wrong, her gynae wun charge her the usual ultrasound. right smiley? think we can't compare packages like that coz every gynae is different, every clinic, every hospital, even the frequency of scheduled visits are different.

melissa, yep u can get to keep the scans.
hey u also do journal? i do scrapbooking and planning to start one for baby, but not sure when to start. think i affected by those myths that cannot paste and cut too many things during pregnancy leh... and about 3D scan, i heard some docs do have it, one of them in mind is Dr Douglas Ong from a clinic in bukit panjang plaza. However, think I rememberd someone mentioning before ( think its peachie) that in the 5th month detailed scan can also see if got cleft lip.

helo rannie, glad to hear u feeling better now.

emma, good that the bloody stools not there liaoz, or else better go see doc okie? rem to bring this up the next visit still.

yah man! i also wanna find silly excuses to see my baby.....its such a long wait. :p

Anyone of you do the Oscar Test? What is your result like? Mine was 1 : 15000+ like tat. So actually what is the average result for the test? I wonder will there be 1:1000+ or 100+? Don't u find the ratio in too big scale? Last time I gotten my triple test result was 1 : 1000+ only leh? How come is so different compared to Oscar test..dun understand!!!

EMMA
hey..emma I got blood after passing motion too...think is becuz stool so hard that causes the friction. I got to drink lots of prune juices to counter this man.

Helo bjiou, i have done the oscar test and gotten the results verbally, but not the ratio yet. will hear that from gynae during next visit. There is no average result. basically, at a certain age e.g. 30 yrs old, a pregnant mummy has a standard risk of say 1:350 (around there) to have a ds baby. but if her scan, her blood tests is taken, and put into the formula with her baby's age ,her age and some other factors, and the ratio comes out to be 1:350 or 1: 600 or 1:1000 for instance, that means she does NOT have a HIGHER risk then a woman of her same age group, of having a DS baby. think for woman of your age or younger, the usual ratio is 1:XXXX or 1:XXXXX. the bigger the scale of ratio the better what, why you worried?

though triple test and oscar test is generally the same thing i think (blood test and scan for nuchal translucency), the factors and formulae they use could be different. so cannot expect the same results. anyway oscar is best done between 11 to 14 weeks, so if urs is done within that time period, its 90% accurate. meaning 90% of the time it will be able to detect correctly someone with high risks.

daisybuttons

I really envy you can take it so logically even thou you are a 1st time mum compared to myself.
Hehee..what i get to know is if you taken your test at TMC the result is almost the same day or the next day...why you have to wait so long for the result? Aren't you curious to know.

helo bjiou heehehe i logical ah? hehee u have not seen my worried and confused times ah, i can be a terror when i am like that. i am a huge worrywart, my hubby will tell you.:p no lah, i just read those things before so i share with you loh. oh, i did my test at an associate gynae' office, and i knew the measurement of the nuchal translucency at that point in time liaoz. after which he plot out the measurement, together with my age and baby's gestation age, and explained that the NT scan shows i am not in the danger zone. as for blood test part, the nurse did call to tell me the total results shows I am NOT in the high risk zone. so since i agar knows how oscar test works, and i know the doc going to explain more to me during next visit (coz i have a lot of other blood test results to explain), i am okie.

i have something to ask .. during your course of work, are you gals exposed to servers ? Will working at server for long period of time, expose our bb to radiation and what are the side effects ?

tks...

ilovebabies

Not sure leh. But think sld be ok..becuz there are alot of preggy women also works in IT line that will exposed to servers, right?

hi bjiou

tks for the assurance ... well I am one of the ladies in this line lor ..

everytime I am at the server, I just want to finish my work asap to reduce the radiation. ;(

hi all, I've checked out the package that SGH is offering. Package starts from 16 weeks onwards and range from S$315 - S$515 for 10 visits, depending on the seniority of the specialist. Rate exclude ultrasound, blood tests and medication.

helo ilovebabies, i am not sure leh, but i know that those airport screening machines are safe. think it depends on what level of electromagnetic radiation does the server gives off?

<font color="0077aa">Question: Is it safe to walk through airport screening machines while I'm pregnant?

Answer: In airports, passengers walk through metal detectors, which use a low-frequency electromagnetic field to look for weapons. Anything that generates or uses electricity, such as power lines and household appliances, produces electromagnetic fields. At the low levels of a metal detector, this exposure is considered safe for everyone, including pregnant women. (The same holds true for the wands that are sometimes passed over individual passengers.)

Many people mistakenly think these screening machines take X-rays they don't. Airport X-ray machines, which emit the same kind of radiation you'd get from a dental X-ray, are used only on luggage.</font>

can you speak to your boss on ur concern and transfer u, or at least ur seats, for now? or do you have pregnant colls or mothers who have been working there for some time and have healthy babies? perhaps could talk to them to find out more and get peace of mind?

amylim thanks for sharing ur packages.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Age</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Lovenest</TD><TD>Gender </TD></TR><TR><TD>Amylim</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>29-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Yu Su Ling</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Bartley Rd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jasmine Lau</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>31-Aug</TD><TD>Dr. Denas Chandras </TD><TD>Mt. A</TD><TD>St. George's</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mrs Chng</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>31-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Tan Lay Kok </TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Elle</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>Early Sept</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Sembawang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>E-ling</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>02-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boon Tiong Rd</TD><TD>80% girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Charis</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>02-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Y C Goh (Thomson Plaza)</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD>?</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>;) (ilovebabies) </TD><TD>30</TD><TD>02-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD>SK</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>joon</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>04-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Blastier</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>lichristin</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>05-Sep</TD><TD>Dr KC Yeo </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>elaine</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>10-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Ubi</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>DaBee</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>11-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Y C Goh (Thomson Plaza)</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD>Marine Parade</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>elmo88</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>11-Sep</TD><TD>Dr KK Chow </TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD>Buangkok</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>kelyen</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>11-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Ho KK</TD><TD>Mt. A</TD><TD>Buangkok</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little Pony</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>12-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Fong CW </TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Kim Tian</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emma</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>14-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Bt Batok</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chngs wife</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Clementi</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mae</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Kee W H</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Jurong</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>daisybuttons</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Bukit Panjang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>77(peachie)</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Chris Chong </TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Resha (rani) </TD><TD>28</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Lee I Wuen </TD><TD>Raffles Hospital </TD><TD>Telok Blangah </TD><TD>60% girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>rainnie</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>21-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Yew Tee</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>pjen</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>25-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>pig2</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>26-Sep</TD><TD>Prof Mary Rauff</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Bishan</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Melissa (veryhappy) </TD><TD>29</TD><TD>27-Sep</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>edksd</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>28-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Bt Merah View</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>bjiou (bjiou)</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>29-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Chew </TD><TD>Mt. E</TD><TD>?</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Domesticgoddess</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>30-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>?</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

hi daisybuttons

I saw this short article before.. anyway tks for posting it here !! so nice of you ...

they have oredi make special arrangments for me such that I can access the server via my laptop

but at times I may need to go the server also ...
anyway better than nothing lor ... it has oredi reduced my time spent at the server ....

wow the EDD list is getting longer !

Hi E-Ling,
My gynae is Dr Brenda Low from Gleneagles and my lovenest is in Woodlands.

Just went for my OSCAR test with hubby. Hubby is very thrilled to see baby but unfortunately my baby must be too tired to move so the technician made me cough and the bb woke up in a notion like "shut up already!" LOL. The bb went back to sleep after that and the technician pressed on my abdomen to wake it up again! I'm 12 weeks and bb is abt 68mm. Like daisybuttons said, I could keep the ultrasound tests. And you guys are right to say that staff in TMC are very friendly. However I didn't know the result of my NT test and would only get to know about it in 2 weeks time when I visit my gynae. But I'm not worried though, based on NT measurement itself, I am in the safe zone. I believe it's highly unlikely that MTBs less than 30yrs of age will have a DS baby.

daisybuttons,
I'm not so superstitious but i rather err on the side of caution. I avoid cutting as much as I can too so I am converting my journal entries to a blog or any softcopy form. I could reproduce it in anyway I want in future.

ilovebabies,
If you're worried about being exposed to the server, try to expose yourself to the microwave oven! I think servers are harmless. I work in front of the computer all the time and it doubles up as my own server.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Age</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Lovenest</TD><TD>Gender </TD></TR><TR><TD>Amylim</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>29-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Yu Su Ling</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Bartley Rd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jasmine Lau</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>31-Aug</TD><TD>Dr. Denas Chandras </TD><TD>Mt. A</TD><TD>St. George's</TD><TD>TBA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mrs Chng</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>31-Aug</TD><TD>Dr Tan Lay Kok </TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Elle</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>Early Sept</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Sembawang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>E-ling</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>02-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boon Tiong Rd</TD><TD>80% girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Charis</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>02-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Y C Goh (Thomson Plaza)</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD>?</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>;) (ilovebabies) </TD><TD>30</TD><TD>02-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD>SK</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>joon</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>04-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Blastier</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>lichristin</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>05-Sep</TD><TD>Dr KC Yeo </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>elaine</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>08-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Ubi</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>DaBee</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>11-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Y C Goh (Thomson Plaza)</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD>Marine Parade</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>elmo88</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>11-Sep</TD><TD>Dr KK Chow </TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD>Buangkok</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>kelyen</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>11-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Ho KK</TD><TD>Mt. A</TD><TD>Buangkok</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little Pony</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>12-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Fong CW </TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Kim Tian</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emma</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>14-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Bt Batok</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chngs wife</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Clementi</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mae</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Kee W H</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Jurong</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>daisybuttons</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Bukit Panjang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>77(peachie)</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Chris Chong </TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Resha (rani) </TD><TD>28</TD><TD>19-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Lee I Wuen </TD><TD>Raffles Hospital </TD><TD>Telok Blangah </TD><TD>60% girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>rainnie</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>21-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Yew Tee</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>pjen</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>25-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>pig2</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>26-Sep</TD><TD>Prof Mary Rauff</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Bishan</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Melissa (veryhappy) </TD><TD>29</TD><TD>27-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Brenda Low </TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Woodlands</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>edksd</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>28-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Bt Merah View</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>bjiou (bjiou)</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>29-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Chew </TD><TD>Mt. E</TD><TD>?</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Domesticgoddess</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>30-Sep</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>?</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Melissa, the result will be ok, dun worry.

I just went for me 4th month visit on Monday, gynae try to see the gender from the baby bottom, still cannot see anything stick out so should be baby girl ba?

helo ilovebabies, glad to hear ur company is so nice to help reduce the exposure to the server. dun worry too much, just try not to stay around the area too long maybe? or get a coll to help out...

elaine, hehehe the list not updated by me leh. Its E-ling who has kindly updated it. :p

Melissa, oh you do online journalling huh? so you will scan the ultrasound printouts and upload lah? hhhmmm....i have been doing hardcopy scrapbook for my wedding and honeymoon, quite used to it and i find hardcopy albums and papers are nicer to decorate and more real to flip. sigh....have not started on baby one coz scared of all these loh. but the scrapbooking shop owners hor, all 3 either give birth liao or pregnant now, they still doing scrapbook during pregnancy. so i also dunno leh.....wanna start so much, but scared.....

Hi Melissa ...

Tks for the assurance ... But i work long hours in front of my lappy and PC also

Just hope that everything is ok for my bb ....

Btw I think the saying that MTBs <age of 30 have lesser chance of having DS baby may not be true. I know of MTBs who also had high reading after the test and went for further tests.

And my sis did told me that her gynae did mentioned that some bb escape all tests and still turn out as DS baby. But of cos, this is very rare.

In any case, let's pray that our babies are healthy and well till delivery !!

Hi daisybuttons,

I thought cannot cut on the bed only? If you do it on the table, should be fine. just avoid doing things in the bedroom.

hi Daisybutton...
sorry abt tat.. think my eyes got problem..heehee
anyway thank you e-ling for doinge updating..

for all MTB who is working close to children,
i heard from e news yesterday tat if pregn woman got HFMD then it would cos great harm to our baby.. so pls take great precaution when u suspect children who have HFMD symptoms.... like fever, sore throat, ulcers in the throat, mouth and tongue, headache, a rash with vesicles (small blisters, 3-7 mm) on hands, feet and diaper area. The vesicles are typically on the palm side of the hands; the sole side of the feet and very characteristic in appearance, loss of appetite. dont go too close to them..
HFMD is spread from person to person by direct contact with the nasal discharge, saliva, faeces and fluid from the rash of an infected person. Both adults and children can be affected, but young children below five years are particularly susceptible.
Pls be more careful..... try not to go to very crowded places recently too. n take precaution like very good hygiene.. wash hands every now n then.
take care ladies

helo elaine, thanks for the info on HFMD. i didn't know it can be harmful to preggie woman. heard there's a recent outbreak of HFMD though..... after what you said, we must be very careful...

hi elaine

I heard the news too... the first in my mind is not to go to any baby or motherhood fairs as there will definitely be a lot of kids running around.

Be careful ladies ...

sigh sigh sigh.. one ordeal after another... first the scary bloody stool.. then now this... this morning i found some brown discharge... scared the shit out of me... went to see gynae.. he doesnt seem very concerned at all.. juz told me to take some hormorne piils and said i would be fine... but i read in a book.. that scant brown discharge is a sign a late miscarriage.. which is miscarriage from weeks 12-22... sigh.... cant help to worry... and that's not the worst... gynae told me my blood test results are back.. NO GOOD... my blood count is low and i appear to have thalessemia... OH MY GOD... since when did i develop such an illness???????? so took my blood to test again.. hubby's blood also drawn to test... if he has it too.. then BAD NEWS for us.... sigh............

anyone of u has got brown discharge??? or any mtb with thalessemia here??? cos i am really clueless abt thalessemia and how it would affect my baby...
would so appreciate it if anyone of u could enlighten me....

emma,
thalassaemia is nt an illness you develop like cancer. rather, its hereditary. if your parents or anyone in your family has thalassaemia, chances are you might too. its an inherited blood disorder caused by abnormal gene. a person wt thalassaemia is unable to produce normal, functioning haemoglobin in the blood. haemoglobin carries oxygen frm lungs to all parts of body. when body does not produce enough, affected person suffers frm anaemia.

you also hv to understand the types of thalassaemia there are:
1) thalassaemia trait
2) thalassaemia major

if you or your child inherited one gene, its most likely to be a trait. you/your child will be healthy and lead normal life. in fact most ppl wt the trait dont know they hv it.

its the major type that you shd be worried abt. its a severe form of anemia, affected person has inherited 2 thalassaemia genes: one frm each parent. affected person will need blood transfusion every mth to sustain life. only bone marrow transplant is hope of possible cure of the major type.

in fact, the thalassaemia registry encourages couples to go for screening before having a child. i know so much cause i hv a history of thalassaemia in my family although i am lucky nt to hv it. go to the thalassaemia registry at KKH. they will chart up your family tree, dating back to your grandparents so they can file it and they will also encourage you to get other family members to go for screening.

Hi MTBs, I have got something to ask u gals. I know it's a bit kiasu lah, but I have got no choice...=)

Is anyone of u hiring any confinement nanny? I'm intending to hire one only in the day time (most important, is to cook only..), but I don't know how's the market rate like. Can someone enlighten me?

shasha.. thanx for that useful information... what puzzles me is that i have done blood tests when i was young and yet it doesnt say that i have thalassemia.. but now... i suddenly am stuck with it.... and my parents have no prior history..

i am juz hoping the gynae made a mistake... hoping its pregnancy related iron-deficency anemia and he told me wrongly... hmmm....

quite disappointed in my gynae now... not much explanation whatsoever.... i went in for less than 5 mins and that's it...

hi emma, my friend is 21 wks pregnant and she recently has some brown discharge too. her gynae told her as long as there's no blood together in the discharge shld be quite alright. so she has to continue to monitor to see any blood traces in the brown discharge.

Emma
During my previous pregnancy, I rem I have bleeding ard 29 weeks and after some blood test, gynae said was due to infection so after taking some antibodies everything was clear. If it persist, you may want to check if it is due to infection.

hi emma, sasha has give a very good explanation on thalassemia so hope it sets ur mind more at ease. like u said, it could be some pregnancy related reason to cause the blood counts to be this way, and it could be a false alarm. even if not, if ur hubby dun have it, then chances are ur baby will be fine.

not sure about the brown discharge during 2nd tri, but i did hear of ppl getting it in 2nd or 3rd but they are okie. perhaps ur gynae din wanna worry u unnecessarily thats why he behaved this way? and he did give u hormone pills and that helps. pls rem to guai guai take the hormone pills.

Chng's wife, i rem reading that confinement nanny ranges from $1500 to $2000, but have heard of $3000 ones.. but i not sure of the price if u hiring her for day time only....coz i think this price is for stay-in? have not really started research on CL so can't help much...

hi emma,

I am not too sure abt the brown discharge, but from what I know, as long as it doesnt cause itichiness or any redness it may not be infection. Like the gals said, lookout for blood stains every time u visit the loo.

take care ...

just came back from my gynae check, did NT scan, it is ok. Oscar results will be out later this week.

Saw baby's fist and fingers for the first time today. It was so funny, i was lying down and when scanning ,the baby was so still, so I act 'naughty' and shook my belly like 'jelly' to wake it up and it started to kick and box.

Can't tell the gender yet, will try again in another 3 weeks. Hope you all enjoy your checks too.

Any one's tummy showing and very obvious already? I am on my 13th week already and yet still not very obvious. Wondering whether it is normal.

hi Smiley, i am now 16 weeks liao and my waist growth from 24cm to 29cm le, so far gained 3kg (from 41.6 to 44.6) When i was 13 weeks, my tummy also already show think about 27cm. Did you actually measure? Cos if you see may not be obivous but when u really go measure, u will discover that will tummy did grow.

provide me your detail and i will update in the table. Thanks!