(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hey erin,

i have the same preparation method as you leh.. for the frozen peas.. but jade's poo iz ok?

I know kids learn from one another.. but hor... i didn't expect to be THAT fast to pick up stuff! cos, until then, Jadelle has not been self feeding! I have never let her attempt to self feed leh..

I guess it undermines the importance of PEER PRESSURE!! hahahaha..

Thks Auntie Amy for your advice & praises!

hi erin,

Corn is one of those food that will cause a bit of digestive problem so better wait till after 18months. For frozen peas, I also just steam and let my girl eat as finger food or add to her porriage. The frozen peas that I buy is quite small and has the least sodium level so maybe you want to try to buy smaller ones.

Hi Amy,
Can tell me the brand of the frozen peas? will go and get it then.

Hi jasmine,
dunno leh. he used to be ok but he constipated nowsadays. not sure if it's due to the change of formula milk.

Hi Crisann.

Thanks for the info.. haaha.. actually have not really go into buying shoe cos Zorian still not walking.. think he is one of the slow baby in this forum.. keekee..

Hi Jasmine,

Wow.. Jadelle so clever..

Hi Cocomo..

good to hear that you and jay are doing well.. so is jay walking already??

Hi Amy..

sorry but wat is lentils and millet?? got photo?? thanks!!

Hi mommies..

know the topic is on playschool.. is it necessary to send our babies to playschool?? Zorian is taking care of by his grandparents.. he is weaker cos he tend to fall sick easily.. so wonder if it is a must to go play school..

Hi Cecelia..

me staying at serangoon ave 1.. heard there are few around.. i intend to go see see look look.. will let you know okie..

Hi Jasmine,

Will send out the pics with Jadelle to your email... mostly will be next week. I wont be in town this weekend!

Piyo,
So coincidence we meet up today at PD! Megan looks more like you hehehe... hope she recover and away from flu.. so worried they r like our hubby, sensitive nose! Too bad unable to catch up more..

Good news for mummies who worry their baby able to walk or why they learn to walk so late.

both my mum and mil says its good for our baby learn to walk later. cause for babies who walk later they will have a good life in future.

i dunnoe its it that true but seems to be quite true for me.

Catherine,

My uncle only started to walk at 18mths. My grandma was so worried before that and keep bringing him to the doctor to see if there's anything wrong with his bone structure.

He's been a CEO in some listed company for a while (and he's only in his early 40s).

My mum also related to me the same stuff your mum and mil said. People from their era seem to believe in this. But I don't believe lor. :D :D :D

I am back from my long break! been busy and haf not sat in front of my pc at home eversince I was on leave!:p hubby is still on clutches but he took over the wheel last weekend and is recovering quite well
wow read a lot of disussions and nice birthday pics!!! and so coincidence! met up with a few mummies while on leave! Like Cyn ytd, Jas and Joey on Tues! Meantime, have been sms-ing some mummies here while I was offline! Sorry if I was a nuisance! Quite fuflfilling but tiring break!

Honeyb,
Lovely cupcakes and cake! I nearly choose the strawberry cake when I haf not found eunice to bake for me hehe! You are really good! Peifu! I would not have time to bake the cupcakes! They are beautiful! can fwd me the recipe? which Phoon Huat did you go?

Hi Cyn,
ya! 1st time I saw you and Nat in real persons! Nat is so guai compared to my megan! Dr Yip told me after the 3rd Pneu Jab, we dun have to bring them for another 2 more like what you mentioned after they turned 1 lei! You scared me! Megan got this lingering runny nose and so I tot better bring her down get some medication just in case while I am on leave else wait I got to take urgent leave again!

Hi Cat, Leia and Kris,
Megan has yet to stand unassisted not to mention walking independently. She sees older kids walk she also wanna follow but need to hold her hands and her legs like rubber... so Kris, Zorian not the only slow bb around..

My parents also told me the same thing which they heard from older folks... I rem Kelly mentioned that too... so maybe that's a comfort that megan is not even standing yet? hahaha.. myth lah...

what FM are your babies drinking now ah? I just started megan on gain mixing half EBM...halting my pumping career soon! Today is the 1st day I go to office without pump! so happy! only need to pump twice a day now...

Hi Augbb,
that's the FTG I bot

Hi Kris,
I haf been driving ard to look at some preschools and some of the staff told me most will start to fall sick when they start going but after a while, they will get used and stop falling sick... if that's your concern...

Hi Cecelia,
Go grab any Young parents or Today's parents mag, flip to the back, there will be a list of Childcare, preschools, enrichment classes in terms of district/area. Or go to MCYS or MOE website and search

Hi jas,
Re: JG Playnest,
This is only English per session right? Seems not bad from your review... When Cocomo and I were there on Tues, we found it quite ok.. I think alot of taitais go there.. so good.. we can't go often cos working... I would most prob try out the Bilingual playclub at Evans Rd on weekends for >18mths since I placed Megan on waitlist for that liao... nevertheless, I may change my mind cos may ultimately put her to Montesorri playgroups during the weekdays then dun wanna tax her anymore.. c how...

hi augustmum,
re: shoes
Megan has not started walking so still soft soles for her although I did get a few hand-me-downs (harder soles) which occasionally I do let her wear

Cat & Leia,
After hearing what you mentioned above, I'm now not so concern about Hannah...ha, like Megan, she can't even stand upright unassisted yet, she hates the walker and prefers to crawl. We will try to hold her and let her walk a few steps but after two steps, she will want to sit down, lazy perhaps.. :"(

Piyo,
Turns out the cake is not too bad after all, was still worried that it will not look nice. Have sent you the recipe, I went to the Phoon Huat at Sembawang cos its nearer to my house.

Jas,
I've also emailed you, let me know if you need any help :")

HoneyB, Piyo,

Jadon also can't stand unassisted. When he attempts to walk with me holding on to him, his feet wobble like jelly and I was rather afraid he'll twist his ankle, looking at the way he lands on his feet... sideways and all direction! The only time he can go places at lightning speed is when he's in the walker. Haha.

Anyway, everyone develops at different pace lah. He only pulled to stand at like 10+ months. :D

<font color="ff0000">Morning piyo/ cocomo</font>,

i went down bio st. james liaoz.. and i stimulate the travelling time. I agree iz quite siong with the morning traffic.

so, i didn't deposit my cheque after all!

Dun wish to deprive other parents' of a place cos of me being so KS... I will wait for feb 2008 and depending on my views of my 3 shortlisted locations in my area (newton life, marymount, ascension), i will enrolled Jadelle lor. Will slowly take my time visiting the locations over saturday weekends lor. I not sure if i need to place her in full day childcare boh.. so, actually ascension is best as their childcare is juz next door..

Thanks for your advice yah!

<font color="ff0000">cocomo</font>,
Ya, i know Eton House. very near too.. but too ex! PMI also very near for me.. :p there is also another montessori in novena next to the church. And another one opposite Hotel Royal, but i don't really know the name leh.. but these, i think are too expensive for my taste.. keke.. would like to find a good value for $$ school where jadelle can be happy.

walking
Jadelle haven't start walking too. She still have rubbery legs! but then, she is a september bb leh.. hehe.. i not kan chiong over that.. cos, even though she cannot walk yet, she is attempting to run on rubbery legs!**faint**

I can already visualise the little terror going through shopping center aisles pulling everything off the shelves and I tell myself.. "slowly learn to walk yah, Jadelle!"

<font color="ff0000"> HoneyB</font>,
Thanks for sending me! I went phoon huat in toa payoh last night and the lady was really helpful! Apparently, one of their icing sugar behind have the receipe for royal icing too..

<font color="ff0000">piyo</font>,

Jadelle is on partial NAN HA 2. Me trying trying to stop BF, but jadelle insist to latch to sleep otherwise, she sleep like 11pm!! Also, she want to latch on in cars!!

I sign up for JG in english first, as that is the language jadelle is comfortable in. And also i don't wish to tax her out from too many classes. I just want an excuse to spend some weekday time with her!

If come 18 months and i don't get into JG's bilingual playclub on weekends, then i might switch weekday program to chinese which is 3x a week.

kRis,
The reason why I wanna put Jay at playground coz no one can actually taking care of Jay at home except for my maid. In case we plan for second one then we ll be in trouble liao coz my maid certainly can't take care of TWO! If I have parents/PIL here to help up then no problem lo. Ya, one of my fren told me initially kid will fall sick easily when start to join playgroup but after sometimes they will built up their immune system liao. No to worry.

Amy,
Same as kRis, I also dunno what is lentils and millet le. You know it's chinese/hokkien name? ha. . .

As for the forzen peas, just check with you, did you remove the skin huh? What I mean if you press the peas out and left the skin apart or you just steam and feed?

Catherine/kRis/Piyo/HoneyB,
My mum also tell me the samething! She said better to walk later and better teething later also!! ha. . .

Piyo,
you still owe me photos!!!

Hi, Cat, kris, leia & piyo

Jia Hui also not let standing on her own nor walk lor... if hold her to stand or walk, she will want to sit down lor.. think she is lazy... she still prefer to crawl abt.... but sometime, she can stand from a sitting position.. think she is slowly learning lor.. will just let her learn at her own pace....

saw alot of postings on playgroup/childcare.... but think will only enrol Jia Hui in playground near by mil house as she is the one taking care of Jia Hui while we work lor... so no much choice... but heard from sil that the childcare located at Yishun Polyclinic is good but dont think will enrol there cos lot of virus ... maybe will enrol in the childcare at Safra Yishun or if no choice then the childcare just downstair lor....unless i am a SAHM lor then got more choice since i am the one taking care.... hope my dream will come true soon....

heard alot of good feedback on Montesorri.... but dont think there is any around Yishun....heard that Amazing Star Montesorri is very good... anyone can feedback on it???

Hi, piyo
Jia Hui no longer need sarong during the night... happened last weekend when she dont want to sleep in the sarong, wants me to rock her in my arm.... & this few days, also the same.... feed her milk & then will carry to room & rock her & she fall asleep in 5 mins... & then will let her sleep in mattress till the next morning....but she still sleep in sarong at mil house...

Hi Jesline,
megan NEEDS the sarong in the daytime... nightime still quite flexible.. these few nights, she sleeps in the sarong then will "transport" her onto our beds at night... I think she prefers to sleep next to "people".. but goodness, megan can't sleep still on the bed... she gives us "7", slaps our face with her "ru2 lai2 shen2 zhang3", kicks us with her "wu2 ying1 jiao3" and turns 360degress around the bed... wah piang...

can share the good feedback you heard about montessorri? and yes, amzaing star in your area is good.. there is none in my area...

Hi, Cat, kris, leia and jesline,
Megan prefers to crawl more when she is on the mat and very happy if she is in standing and walking position elsewhere...

Hi cocomo,
yah lah! I owe Shermeen too! hehehe megan got the 8th tooth coming out liao!

Hi Kris and Cocomo,
Me2! Megan is taken care half day by my parents, afternoon solely by maid.. I wanna draw her away from my maid when she turns 18mths to prevent her from picking bah habits and broken english from her... initially to of letting her join playgroups in the aftenoon then like morning with my parents, afternoon go playgroup but seems like playgroup in afternoon not popular and I so worried megan would sleep then might as well let her sleep at home right?.. and I think kids absorb better in the morning? so I thought maybe send her in in the mornings then afternoon she will be so tired that will sleep longer in the afternoon and won't have so much time with my maid?

Hi Honeyb,
Told you dun haf to worry too much! That cake design is nice! I haf not been to phoon Huat for a long time.. Last time I used to frequent the one at Jurong East!

Hi Jas,
I also thought Ascension and Marymount would be nearer your place! else back and fro your hubby will sure jump at you!

I tried the sample tin of gain from Abbot and seems like Megan is quite "flexible" so weaning off is easy hehe...I hope I can stop my pumping career by next week!

Update us on JG class! I believe Jadelle would enjoy herself very much!

Hehe I just let u all know lar see some of u all so envy those bb who are able to walk and worry ur bb walking or standing or not.

Not matter is walking standing or teething or talking, as long as bb is healthy don't have to worry about this..

piyo,

sorry din reply you. Zac's down with fever.

Have not contacted my friend. However, she's a person who does her homework well and thus, her choice must be good.

re. weaning

has difficulties weaning zac. For the first few days, sprout was a novelty to him and he could drink 80ml to 120ml. Now, the novelty is gone and he drinks only about 10ml.

Hi, piyo

cant really recall what the comments of amazing star.. as saw it in some of the thread... saw that the mummies said that the waiting list is very long as too many pple enrolling for that...also saw that one mummy had enrol all her 3 children in Amazing star....

Hi, augustmum...
is my mil that stay in Yishun.... didnt received your pm.....

Hi HoneyB

Thks for the recipe...

Hi Jasmine

Wah Jadelle is so clever leh.

Hi Amy

Rrgarding the Lentils, my frd was telling me i have to soak in water overnite before using it. Is it true. I find that after soaking overnite the water is so dirty.

hi mommies..

thanks for the feedback on walking..
Zorian also prefers to crawl around.. his favourite activity is to crawl up the staircase.. now he is trying to crawl DOWN.. have to keep an eye if not sure ROLL down instead of crawl down.. haahaa..

he also have rubbery legs.. when he pull himself to stand, can see his legs shaking.. haahaa..

Hi piyo & cocomo..

thanks for the feedbacks on playgroup.. i might enrol him when he hit 2 years old.. cos by then, hopefully we will have our no. 2 coming out.. parents in laws will be very busy so have to enrol him by then..

hi piyo..

zorian on mamail gold..

like megan, zorian sleeps with us too.. he also turn 360 deg... hit us front and back.. when he sleeps in his cot, he will sit up, turn around to sleep in the opposite direction.. amazing.. haahaa.. it is sooo funny..

i also heard friends talking me usually for playgroup the nap time is afternoon.. so end up their kids cant really sleep at night cos sleep enough in the afternoon...

hi amy..

thanks for the photos!!

hi augustmum..

how is Zac now?? give him lots of water.. hope to get well soon..

augustmum
maybe u can try using spoon to feed him milk he is sick tats why he had not energy to suck. Use those type of small spoon which doctor normally use for medicine.

Kirs,
Charlotte can stand a few second without support but when comes to walk will be rubbery

Hi Augustmum,
No prob! When you have the chance, can help me ask your friend? I went to the harbourfront outlet of Noah's cc, a bit disappointing but I think it really varies among different branches.. must go down and c...

How about trying the straw? Megan used to play with the spout. She likes the straw better.

Hi Kris,
Cocomo and I placed both our babies under waiting list for brighton for enrollment in march next year...

Megan sleeps like that too... sit up and just sleeps opposite direction.. sometimes I wonder if she is awake when she does that haha..

Hi Crisann,
dun haf to sock overnight.. the lady who, I botht e lentils from told me to cook the same way and/or with the porridge.. turns out fine...

hi mummies in the east,
you may wanna read this:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/353638/754862.html?1187856102

piyo,

When i compared the nutrition table on the red and green lentils, the red one has sodium (salt) thus i end up the green ones. Not sure about the iron level.

hi crisann,

No need to soak the lentils.

heyooo all, a good sunny morning!

wow u mums so fast on checking out the preschools? I dun even know what i have nearby...

ryan must be slow compared to other babies too:
- he still prefers crawling tho he 'walks' round the coffee table and drives me nuts touching and pulling everything off.
- food wise, he has sensitive tummy, so everytime we intro more of our food, he gets a bout of stomach illness and throws up a lot, each time that happens he is back on diluted milk & cereals.

piyo,
jay is exactly like megan..haha...amaze at the way he can turn himself 360degree and end up sleeping in opp direction from us and he also like to slap our faces etc..but hubby is the one who kena the most...for me, he juz like to sleep reali close to me body to body such that i got no place..haha..for hubby he always say he kena slap by jay at nite and also kena poke in the nose wif jay fingers...haha...so funny...regarding playschool hav u decided on one already? thou u signing up megan at st james? for me i am also thinking of letting jay attend playschool coz afraid in the morning my dad n maid cant handle jay and the bb coz bb need to be fed every 3hrs and the maid where got time to do so many things plus my dad can only play wif jay but dun noe how to feed him etc one..in the afternoon still not too bad coz jay be taking his nap...but i am so lost abt how to go abt looking for a playschool near my place leh..coz my dad be the one bringing him go hence cant be too far that need to travel lor...so i go wich website can surf for schools ah??

Augustmum,
hope zac gets better soon...take care...

Augbaby, piyo,

Justin also does the 360 deg turn. And he'll mount my pillow and share with me, almost pushing me off the bed sometimes. Most of the time, he would suddenly get up and slam dunk on my pillow but misses and land with a hard knock on my face. I kenna 1 blue black eye from him once, so now i have to guard myself against his attacks. He would rest his legs on Daddy's face sometimes. This morning, he did the 360 turn and his face was facing our bums and he start to scratch Daddy's bum with his fingers cos he prob thinks its funny.

Piyo,

You still continuing with Shichida? Me so lazy now, stop the home practice. Must buck up a bit, the stupid flash cards finally arriving next Monday.....

butter,
ryan seems to have very sensetive stomach, i guess u should not feed him adult food avoid those oily one.

you can try giving him plain porridge with just vegg and abit of meat.

Although charlotte "TOUCH WOOD" is quite healthy so far no fever no other sickness, i still take care of what she eat.. don't dare to anyhow give her food which we ate. only specially make the porridge for her. Now i stop my MIL and FIL from feeding her unnessary food.
only with my assistant then can.

raccoon,

At least Justin shares your pillow. My boy will do his turns on his side of the bed and then somehow find my tummy and use it as his pillow.

How can anyone sleep with a pillow that's moving up and down all the time?!?!?

leia,
jadon is so cute...i can imagine the image when he is lying on yr tum tum...so adorable...Hee hee...

Erin,
i jus saw learning vision and there is a centre at temasek poly one of the faculty..i am interested in that and have drop an email to the principal there but hor it seems like learning vision is a full day program le...i am also confuse...i am hoping that worst to worst it is very wkdays but half a day..dun wan to put him there for a whole day leh...i share wif u the info after i receive them ya...
Anyway here is their website http://www.learningvision.com/ yes yes, we shall go preschool shopping during my maternity leave..haha...Is kinderland the nearest one is at parkway rite? i know a few blk away there r 2 schools...1 is near the bus stop and i am not sure if its a playschool or wat..think i need to pop by there 1 day to check it out coz they recently renovated the place and also near my parents place there is a motessori school..but also not sure for how old...guess i hav to be hardworking and check them out soon liao too...:p

erin,

yah lor, from the Help Me TCC. Regret cos took so long but no choice liao, order already so hope the cards turn out well.

Leia,

hehehe...Justin sometimes lie on my tummy too. Warm warm and soft soft so i guess maybe that's why ur boy luvs to lie on it.

Hi Racoon and erin,
you both ordered from TTC? I just went to browse the thread and lots are complaining about the BP organiser and the quality of the cards lei! I din order cos I dun like the way the BP respond to the qns mummies ask about the flashcards prior to ordering...what cards did you order from them?

i would most prob get from mylittlesones.. they seem better to me..

Racoon,
I should be continuing SM although I have not been very hardworking for the last 2+weeks haha..was busier with my hubby's leg and megan's preschool.. gotta source for flashcards liao...you leh? continuing?

hi augbb, erin, racoon, leia
so our babies are all the same.. I also kena bruised on my cheek by Megan when she slammed her face onto mine one night... wah piang!

augbb, leia and erin,
if you looking at cc, then erin's link shd work... this may also be useful if you are searching by districts or by names of the cc:
https://app.mcys.gov.sg/web/serv_dss_disability_main.asp?Services_Id=4

if you are looking at preschools/kindergartens with syllabus and teacher controlled by MOE, then this link:
http://www.moe.gov.sg/preschooleducation/

ya, cocomo and I went for a search ard our area and most prob will settle for st james but prior to that, for 18mths till 3 or 4 yrs must think of whr to settle them.. tot of montessori (good ones) to place them there for 3x a week half a day cos I think daily half days or full days too siong for them for a start? plus not to forget, megan and Jayden both have SM on weekends which I dun intend to stop...

think you all dun wait too long to shop for preschools.. I was appalled when I called some more popular schools and some are full or need to be on waiting list! in fact cocomo and I are on waiting list for brighton for mar intake next year (when they are 19mths!) and Lorna Whiston just called me to cfm if I wanna put Megan there for preschool next year.. only 12 places out of which about 7 haf been taken up,I fainted..heng I am not so interested as it's in the afternoon on a daily basis, fees quite ex, almost about chiltern's price and my colliq just pulled her ger out of her school cos she felt $$ not as well spent as putting her somewhere else...

Hi Leia,
heard LV is not bad BUT must see which branch hor... some branches are not so good... supposedly they followed MOE's pri syllabus so when kids go to P1 from LV, heard not much prob...

Hi erin and Augbb,
east side got alot of schools, like shaws, Chiltern (but this start from 3yrs old), Pat's (a bit overpriced), School by the bay, Brighton, St Hilda's kindergarten, Shalom etc..there is a twinkle star montessori at marine parade also not bad I heard..

piyo,
wat is the website for brighton ah? wich sch hav u found out that has a few days a wkdays only ah..some of the places i saw is like every wkdays half day one leh....

Hi HoneyB,
I'm frm the Nov thread. Saw the cupcakes u make. V pretty. Can share ur receipe wif me at [email protected]
thank u.

Hi erin,
Quite some time since i posted here liao. Wow, so fast u looking for preschool. Next time can u share ur list of school with mi? When do u intend to send ur bb to preschool?

piyo,

Speaking of getting bruised by baby, one morning few days ago while I was still half asleep, my boy who was beside me suddenly lie down from a sitting upright position. The back of his head slam straight on my nose! He never cry but I cry man!

Had a bit of nose bleed but not broken (not so easy to break I guess). But it's still hurting now. Wah rao ei! He got iron head man!

Anyone celebrating baby's 1st birthday tomorrow? Looks like all the euphoria has died down liao hor?

Am celebrating Jadon's tomorrow afternoon with a tea recep. Just got 3 foil balloons filled for $6.50. So damned ex.! Tsk tsk tsk...

Let's see how the event will turn out tomorrow. :D

Leia,

Enjoy the party tomorrow and Happee Birthday to Jadon
. It does sounds very painful. When Justin's head hit my eye, i still had my glasses on so can imagine the sides of the frame pressing onto my eye socket, it was super painful.

Leia,
Thats so funny, I get that from Hannah too, agree that its very painful, my tears also rolled down but she was up and running as if nothing happened. Enjoy your party tomorrow, keep us posted of the updates :")

Racoon,
My girl likes to pull our glasses, yesterday she broke my hubby's glasses, she suddenly grabbed his glasses while he was watching tv, wah, he so heart pain, both the frame and glass broke, like super baby, so strong...