(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

hi augbaby,
i'm fine with weekends too cos it's once a week. might sign him up 1st lor cos want him to socialise more. he's very sticky recently. refuse to let others carry him. my colleague carried him and he started to cry.

erin,
oh icic...maybe u have to slowly let him try to let other pp carry him etc n assure him that u r still there..n let him socialise more lor...then maybe u can try to let kayden join the trial class at JWT for a start n see how it goes lor...seems interesting leh

augbaby,

Now that they are 1,a lot of fruits and veggies are ok for them. So, strawberries and blueberries are ok. Fresh apricots are the same colour as dried one but rounder and jucier (almost like a peach). However, peel off the skin when you feed jayden and also taster it yourself first to ensure that it is not too sour.

I'm alright with the veggies becoming a bit cold to give her as snacks. And, she seems to like it. Actually most of the nutritious stuff especially vegetables are not tasty thus I rather she get use to such bland taste and worry less about good tasty stuff. As when they grow older, they will automatically like to eat the good tasty stuff (fried stuff, fast food, sweets, chips = unhealthy snacks without us 'psychoing' them to eat.

My mil will sometimes comment why I give Rae so much vegetables and fruits. I always replied 'No choice, healthier food don't taste good, so better let her get used to eating more of them when I still can control her diet.

Amy,
i think u r a gd mummy leh...i also agree wif u..shld not let them get used to the food we r used too 1st....okie if i am going out tis wkends, will try to bring steam small carrots..those small carrots r those u buy frozen ones? or can get those from the wet mkt? sorry that i am asking so much questions...

Amy,

Is it ok to give baby carrots and baby corn? I'm thinking of giving Justin that cos it taste sweeter and easier to prepare, no need to cut into strips.

augbaby,

Thanks.I bought the mini carrots, peeled and packed in a bag from Cold Storage. Wet market, like very difficult to find smaller carrots. Nowadays instead of shopping for clothes etc, i end up shopping more in supermarkets to look out for different variety of vegetables & fruits. Just yesterday, I found frozen brussel sprouts at Jason. Previously, I only managed to buy the fresh ones.

Racoon,

Haven't tried baby corn. But, baby carrots are ok just don't give everyday in case of jaudice. For myself, only during weekends.

amy,
1 other question..for asparagus do we have to peel it ah? peeling meaning like peel away the 1st layer of the skin...n do we hav to cut into half or juz steam it whole...

i let jay try french bean that time..steam n then i chop small small n add into his porridge tog wif fish...n he seems to hate it leh...

oh yah. Buy the asparagus that are thicker in size. Peel away the 1st layer and cut into half then steam.

Try the french bean again, give them a little bit more time and chances to get used to the taste.

augbaby,

I also just tried french bean, I use scissors to snip into very very fine pieces and throw into the porridge to cook 1/2 hr b4 serving. Dun think Justin realised its presence cos he ate like normal. But I can smell the french beans, quite strong taste i guess.

came across this website for organic products...
http://www.natures-glory.com

seems interesting plus they sell healthy times cereal like barley etc..can anyone who bought HT cereal tell me if this website is selling more exp? never bought b4...also hav interesting biscuits for our todd...

amy,
saw they hav dried apricots there..they say they dun use suphur to dry...do u think these r ok for our babies? are these the fresh apricots that u r referring to?

augbaby,

The website seems interesting, will explore more during weekends. Dried apricots though unsulpured, I'm still sceptical, will only use it like cutting into really small pieces and add into cereals rather than eating the whole dried fruit as a snack. The website don't have fresh apricots.

I bought the Healthy Times Cereals at $6.90 in NTUC. Brown Rice Paradise selling at $7.00. Cold Storage don't have them.

amy,
i just saw the website..seems they r selling HT cereal at $6.50 n members less 10% somemore..n u can be a member by juz filling up a form there when u r there..hmm...i might pop by there one day to get...i cant seems to find healthy times cereal in tamp NTUC leh...hee hee...

hi jasmine,
so fast sold liao ah? cash in the profits izit? who knows i might not move there afterall! haha... but i like the location cuz nearer to city...

erin,
re. tumbletots
$22 for 45 min session, full term 12 sessions. i attended the trial last week... it started with some singing/massaging bb/jumping ard with them, then gym activities, ended with shooting bubbles from bubble gun and parachuting...

share this breakfast recipe with you. Zac finished all in less than 10 mins today.

Steamed Egg Yolk Custard

100ml formula milk/ breastmilk
1 egg yolk

** Beat the egg yolk with milk. Steam over medium fire for about 5 mins. Cool and serve.

Hi jokojoko and augbaby,
thanks, joko. will most prob go for the trial in sept and sign him up if it's ok cos it's so much nearer to my place.

hi augustmum,
thanks for the recipe. sounds delicious. will try out later if kayden is ok after the pneumococcal jab. hope he doesn't become cranky or have any fever.

Hi augustmum

The Steamed Egg Yolk Custard. Had given Crisann try that before. She love it too.

Hi erin00

Brought Crisann for her pneumococcal jab. Was so cranky after the jab. Kept crying and making a lot of noise. Haiz....

Hi crisann,
Kayden din get his jab afterall. the blur mummy din call the clinic beforehand and when we reached, we saw a notice that it was closed for the day. somemore, kayden lost one of his newly bought shoo shoos in the cab. worn less than half an hour and it's gone. wasted $30 cos the other one can't be worn.

oh dear. must be prepared for his crankiness next week. will get fever or not?

Hi erin00

Oh so u waste a trip there. What a waste. That why we alway watch her shoe in case she kick it off. She didn't have fever. But v cranky. Don't know is it because of the jab or teething.

Hi Jokojoko

So qiao. Crisann also has her 1st jab yesterday. Is Aidan cranky after the jab. Crisann kept crying and v sticky to me and my mum.

Good morning! Had a very fun and tiring weekend celebrating Hannah's birthday, am sorting out the photos, will post them up shortly. The cup cakes are a hit with the kids, they love it and its not difficult to make. I think a couple of mummies are interested in the recipe, I have it in a hardcopy format, will scan it into a word document, those interested, please pm me your email address and I'll email you.

Saw an advertisement this morning with Cocomo's Jay. Augbaby, I think I saw you too, what's that program about for Sunday afternoon, did you girls do another program for them again :")

Talk to you later, need to clear some work first...

HoneyB,

i think it is a repeat of our gathering @ augustmum's place leh..

Jokojoko,
yah lor.. long story lah. Was in 2 minds about selling it, but in the end, went for it.

Anyway, i still prefer HDB living (can still get $$ from govt when they give payout) and i dun stay far now mah.. only @ St. george's road.

If you stay there.. next time can go find u, cos never step in before leh..

finger food

I have been craacking my head over this issue, as Jadelle has been refusing to take semi-solid food for a while. Then, i realise she wants to eat OUR table food.

Over the weekends this month, i have prepared finger food below for her. She now managed to use her fork from pigeon to pierce the pieces and feed herself.. quite messy though!

- cubes of cheddar cheese
- steam sweet potato & cut into cubes
- baked sweet potato/ potato strips with unsalted butter
- squares of white/ wholemeal bread with spread(apple/ peach/ strawberry puree jam, baby cheddar cheese, cream cheese, vegemite)
- green peas (a little mashed to prevent choking on the round bits)
- unsugared corn flakes with FM/ BM.
- french toast (bread coated with egg yolk and pan fried with unsalted butter)
- steamed carrot sticks

Will try the steam egg custard! thanks, Augustmum!

Augbaby & Amy,

I also buy the small baby carrots, wash and peeled already from supermarkets. they are not the frozen type, it is fresh type.

I found something in cold storage takashimaya, and wondered if any FTWM has tried these with their babies?

- frozen organic spinach (also comes in little spinach balls!)
- frozen brocolli baby florets
- frozen corn kernels

Will these be like green peas? where the vitamins are preserved as they are plucked and frozen immediately and is better then fresh spinach & broccoli?

I bought a packet of organic broccoli to try as weekends, i am really time strapped with many places to go and this helps my MIL to prepare jadelle's porridge during weekdays.

HoneyB,
hmm, no leh...din do any program for anyone leh..haha..maybe u saw the wrong person? for cocomo jay i am not sure leh..heehee...

HoneyB,
I think it is a repeat for "Bao bei yi bu yi bu lai" at 2pm every sunday

My Jay everyday eat porridge and cereal till very sian liao. Everyday will cook porridge with pork/chicken/fish + vege. My maid always ask me to change the menu but I dunno what to give also! I have tried to give mee sua and pasta but he can't finish whole bowl, only take 1/3! Only porridge he can finish whole bowl. Dunno why also???

Jas,
I only let Jay tried frozen peas. Usually will buy fresh spinach. I used to give Jay baby carrot but my maid ask me to buy normally carrot as she said the baby carrot very hard le. My cousin prepare her baby's daily vege intake in each small container during weekend then freeze them. The maid will just take from the freezer everyday.

cocomo,
me also prefer frozen puree for jay one...i prepare in advance pumpkin, califlower, brocolic etc...coz i dun noe if all this i bought can last so long lor coz i dun let jay eat this veggies everyday mah...so i prepare n freeze n let my mum feed jay different veggies everyday lor...fruits also i prepare in advance..anyway i let jay try wholemeal bread from breadtalk..bought half a loaf only n he loves it..thinking of trying bakes french fries that i will do it myself over the wkends using a little olive oil...n will also try steam carrots if i can find them...haha..also bought the babel cheese racoon recommended...n hence will be doing some finger food for jay this wkends lor..need to start servicing more healthy snacks for jay since we go out often during wkends n dun wan him to eat biscuits so often when we r outside having our meals or in the car in his car seats..any mummies got more ideas for finger food, pls share...

cocomo,

hey, you online! No reply my e-mail ah? Porridge maybe he can take whole bowl cos no need chew.. and he familiar with texture.. pasta.. gotta chew/ gum through! more work mah..

Yo Jasmine,

Which email accounts you sent to huh? I did not receive email le. You wanna add me in your MSN list? [email protected]

Did you send your email to this accounts or cocomo accounts? I have 285 unread emails in this accounts! Will check now.

cocomo,
u can add some egg and toufu in his porridge.
I will give charlotte brocolli , carrots, mince meat, chicken or fish. will add in egg and toufu.

amy,
for the asparagus after i cut into halves, how long do i hav to steam it ah? coz i tried steaming french beans till soft and like it becomes wilted and change colour leh...n not so nice liao...so wondering how much do i hav to steam asparagus or shld i juz boil them? but boiling will cause the nurtious to disappear rite?

any mummies know where to get good corner protector? looking for it coz need to install them at the corner of tables liao...

augbb, i go home and check the brand tat my mom got for me. it's a bigger piece compared to the ones my FIL got for us, my girl can easily pull it out with few fingers!

so rmb, pls buy the BIG piece of transparent corner guard... if u like, can stick it with 3M double-sided tape rather than the normal double-sided tape tat the corners provided..

hi crisann,
it's his 3rd prevenar jab that day! started at 7mths so have to take 3 jabs... luckily all over liao... he's alright after the jab maybe cuz we brought him go "gai gai" after that...

jasmine,
haha... mine not one leicester leh...

piyo, cocomo,
i might be able to join u guys for lunch if u're having another one...

augbaby,

i gave up on corner protectors. have bought many brands when noah was much younger and he managed to pull all out. in addition, they leave marks on the furniture.

hee...the gd thing is there's no sharp corner in my new house.

mommies,

re: shoes

anyone has done research on toddlers' shoes for walking? Which brand is good? Soft sole or hard sole? Pls advise.

I bought clarks for noah but am thinking of finding alternatives for zac as clark is rather ex.

hi augbaby..

For corner protector, can get them from those DIY shops or kiddy palace also have.. they have the round and square types.. so depand which one you prefer...

hi cocomo..

how are you and Jay doing??

I start giving Zorian rice lor.. he will take porridge during lunch.. for dinner, i will just add some of our normal soup into his rice, then put in fish, vege and meat for him.. whatever we have on table, i will give him a bit to try..

hi augustmum..

dun do any research yet cos Zorian still cant walk.. but heard from friends that for toddlers walking, hard sole is better.. some of my friends recommand the pigeon one.. saw them at Taka before.. but not too sure of the quality and price..

Good morning, I've received your pm, please give me some time cos I'm really tied up with work these few days. Meanwhile, here's some of my cup cakes.
931923.jpg

Jokojoko,
So you went for the trial class at Tumbletots huh, you stay in Sembawang? The new cc is just infront of my mum's house, I also signed up for Hannah. Agree that the gym equipment doesn't look as good as mygym but the area is pretty big, we're going for the free trial class this Sat :")

Augbaby,
Agree with Augustmum that the corner protectors are pretty useless. I had them in my house and Hannah managed to pull them out, worst she was playing with the sticky glue and all her fingers became very sticky and messy and she even wanted to put them into her mouth so in the end we removed them all. If you have really sharp corners, I suggest you use one of those old diaper cloth to wrap around the corner and use those sticky tapes to secure them, looks ugly but serves the same purposes.

HoneyB,
v nice cupcakes...hee hee...n hannah bday party cake n all looks reali nice...
did u do the cupcakes yrself...v nice leh...share wif me the recipe ya and how u do the frosting..hee hee...

Cecelia,

Yes, we made the cup cakes ourselves with a friend's help. Ha, we anyhow decorate lah not enought time to do a better job. The cake is easy to make, the harder part is the icing, mixing the different colors and doing it quickly before they dry up. I exhausted my trusty Philip blender after this round...need to get another one already... :"(

augustmum, honeyB,
oh dear..but my home got quite a bit of sharp corners leh...n if i use cloth to tape it sure to be very very ugly one plus i have alot...
me thinking of getting the corner protector from kidzloft since we have 50% off now...n 4 pieces for $1.50....

HoneyB,

Your cupcakes are v pretty! Any clearer/closed up pics? Also, pls share with me your recipe - cake + icing! :D

Did you buy the cupcake stand as well? Or rent it from B-I-Y? These stands are rather ex. from what I know...

augbaby,
Can pm me your email address so that I can email you the recipe. My friend actually took the baking course from Poon Huat (yes they conduct baking classes, very professional) and I don't think I can publish the recipe on the web without their permission.