(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

butter8
at least ryan ate porridge & cereal in e beginning. except for a few days of eating cereal when he ate barely 2-3tablespoons, edward has never eaten a single tablespoon of porridge cos he refused 2 open his mouth when i bring e spoon near.

i guess ryan's going thru a phase now. mayb u cook other options like wat i shared wif augbb, ABC pasta, mashed potatoes, udon noodles, etc.

i prefer 2 give edward fresh bread, not those gardenia/sunshine bread. white bread, wholemeal, cheese bread.

baby yoghurt
There are yoghurt for babies, found in Cold Storage and Carrefour. Forgot the brand - it has baby picture on it, found where they usually keep all the normal yoghurt. It comes in vanilla and banana flavour

augbaby and kelly,
ok i am very haphazard mum, ryan gets to try stuff of my plate recently, like yesterday he had a lil sticky date pudding and today a bit of cheese cake... he likes my food... :p but i just let him taste... maybe thats why he dun wan his cereal any more.

aubaby,
ryan eats whatever bread i have...gardinia ...

kelly,
oooh cool! lets do a free play soon... i am popping down this sat i think for a class if i can make it...
let me know if we can pop there maybe sun or mon? i can plan a day off to go hehehehe...

Hi Kelly,

A bit tricky here, sounds like you may have to restart the weaning process patiently and slowly and back to the basic. How much milk and at what intervals is Ed drinking? And, abt the spoon, you think he has a phobia/wrong idea of spoon? If you put bites on the spoon to feed him, does he eat them?

Dont stress yourself too much into cooking a variety of food. Sometimes, the more effort we put in to cook, the more eager we want the baby to eat, the more stress we get when the baby is not eating. Start with the basic first such as giving him fruit puree, then cereal with vegetable, adjust his feeding a bit to make him a bit more hungry during lunch, let him drink water then try to feed again. Its not going to be easy, you really need a lot of patience especially now since we cannot single out why Ed is not eating whether its the variety, the habit, timing, etc.

butter8 & kelly,
Let me go through the gymboree schedule first (its at home) and propose the timing again but not this weekend for me as weather seems a bit bad and flu virus out in the wide open.

My Gyms waddler class is more suitable when baby starts to walk. Now you can bring Ryan there for the Tiny Tikes programme

catherine
edward's always interested in our food since he was abt 5mths old but i cant give him our food mah...cos got salt & sugar. when gabe gor gor gets food, he screams if he dun get any but once i put "safe food" (such as fish, bread, rice, tiny pieces of carrots) into his mouth, he dun swallow them. i tot he swallowed so kept feeding him. in e end, his mouth full of food n often choked. i had 2 dig e food out of his mouth n of course he gets upset lor.

how huh? any1 can help me? i've bought all sorts of spoons n giving him toys/spoons or watever when i feeding him but no use. i juz cant get e food into his mouth. he shuts his mouth very tight whenever he sees food coming 2 his mouth in spoon or fork.

i've been telling myself 2 relax cos i've come across bbs who dun eat solids until 10mths old, 1yrs old, 18mths old. but i find it very essential tat he learns how 2 eat by himself n chew his food. if he dun start eating, how 2 learn such skills?

oh...something positive on e other hand, edward has mastered his pincer grip abt 1mth ago. i guess eating all e gerber puff helps.

kelly,

my boy oso started on the gerber puffs, his pincer skills still needs brushing up, maybe he dun want to eat it, just play, he will hold it, pick it up, look at it and burst it :p
then he will lean over his chair and feed the dogs :p arghhh...

have u tried just letting him eat some stuff off your fingers first? i know it sounds yucky but he may be more prone to open his mouth to your fingers instead of the spoon?

butter8
i did feed edward some food off my fingers but i cant recall wat they r. must b safe food n he probably didnt swallow them cos watever food i can hold on my finger, aint soft goohy food.

augbb
got another recipe 2 share wif u.

u heard of shepherd's pie? quite yummy n bbs do love them. mine version is somewat different

u prepare minced beef/pork/chicken, potatoes, pees, carrots in a tomatoe based sauce. u can make ur own tomato sauce by using fresh tomatoes or buy pasta sauce outside.

after preparing tat mixture, u can prepare mashed potatoes n feed jay tgt wif it. very yummy. gabe loved it back then.

How 2 prepare ur own tomato sauce?
use 2-3 big tomatoes (u may 1 2 use more if u like)
use hot boiling water n pour over e tomatoes 2 remove e skin. once u finish, add e skinless tomatoes 2 a pot, add water n mash e tomatoes in there. e tomatoes puree cook rather fast. then u throw in e carrots, pees, lastly e meat.

kelly,
is the porridge fish or carrot too thick??

as what butter said yah maybe can try putting in his mouth with ur fingers instead of spoon first.
like he eat biscuits you feed him instead of letting him eat himself.

then b4 u feed him with spoon let him hold the spoon first.

also he might not be hungry thats why he reject. or he might be too tired will also reject.

you can try when earlier in the more when he wake up you feed him with cereal instead.

let him suck the spoon when u put the food into his mouth b4 taking out.

hi, mummies

just to check with u all, what to do to ease the pain that baby experiencing with teething?

any one apply pain relief on baby gum??? what brand to use & is it safe???

Hi, catherine
also think only polyclinic does that lor... mine is a GP.... never bring baby to polyclinic cos very crowded

me! me! i was the one who asked abt preggy while BFeeding. thanks kelly and augbaby, i m very motivated to get my 2nd one now!!

kelly, have u tried giving edward food on a baby biscuit? those melt in the mouth kind of baby biscuit?

emma is also a difficult solids baby, she wil take one teeny weeny first taste and wun open her mouth again if she doesn't like it. worse, she used to throw up if i make her take another mouthful. i had to switch to sweet veges like sweet potato, pumpkin etc instead of porridge / cereal. so maybe something sweet on the baby biscuit will be attractive to edward?

sharon,
thks 4 ur great tip. how come i didnt tik of feeding using a baby bite biscuit?
cant wait 2 meet up wif u n other new mummies at e bday bash.

amy
edward drinks 4oz every 2.5-3hrs n tops up wif nursing fr either breast.

i did start wif feeding basic solids like rice cereal which edward took for e 1st 3days. after tat, he simply refused 2 open his mouth (i guess he was bored wif rice cereal). i then prepared fruit purees which r rather sweet but he has since refused 2 open his mouth when he sees a spoon. i then tried different types of spoon, different types of cereals n my last resort was porridge (which was very easy 4 me 2 feed him wif cos i give gabe porridge every other day).

i'll try all over again n keep every1 updated.

jesline
i use detinox teething gel

catherine
my porridge not thick type, rather smooth mashy type

i dun fancy feeding him biscuits when he can hold e biscuits n eat himself. it's juz IMO (in my opinion) edward has 2 learn some basic skills such as holding finger food, pincer grip, eating by himself, etc.

i tried feeding him while letting him hold e spoon. in e end, he prefers 2 chew on e spoon which he is holding onto then 2 eat e food fr my spoon *FAINT*

i hv a older boy aged 31mths so i know when is e right timing 2 feed n not 2 feed him when he's tired. i never had tis problem wif my elder boy who loved solids very much. of course there were times when he refused 2 eat but it was due 2 him teething or unwell.

kelly, is there any side effect with detinox teething gel? actually i duno where to apply the gel coz i duno which area of the gum is itching my son leh? how?

re: drinking from a straw
i bought the mag mag with the straw last weekend. kayden doesn't know how to drink from the straw leh. he just bites it. how to teach him to drink from straw?

re: 9th month assessment
is it very impt for the assessment? must bring to polyclinic if pd never says so?

hi kelly,
headache hor. trying to feed them solids. kayden also sometimes refuse to open his mouth to swallow or he will just spit out the food after some time. dunno what to do with him. just have to give him milk after that in case he din take enuf food. haiz...

have the same questions as edksd. where to apply? i din buy and kayden kept biting his lower lip until it bleeds. i gave him teethers, biscuits, mag mag for him to bite but he only bites them for a while and then threw them aside.

ya, thanks to the gerber puffs. kayden can also grasp the puffs between his thumb and his finger liao.

drinking frm straw- I let Gen try to suck frm those Mac straw in her sippy cup. Initially she chewed on it but after i show her the 'suck suck' action, she really can drink frm the straw after the 1st attempt leh.

Erin - Mebe u can show kayden the 'suck suck' action ?

Teething Gel - I used to apply oral gel on Gen's gum when she was teething..it was like our ans to her crankiness.Once i applied on her gum, i massaged it but gen will suck my fingers so hard lor..i tried tasting the oral gel..sweet sweet wan. I tried using on her on the flt back coz she was cranky & almost instantly, she fell alseep. Best to put the oral gel in fridge, so when apply, got cooling feeling.

Hi MH,

Just gotta log in today. Now alot bb is sick. Natalie just recover from bronchitis recently too. UR gal sign like phlegm is the sign.

Starting is wheezing.. den like phlegm den cough and running or block nose PLS see ur PD. May need to use neubiliser to help reduce n break the phlegm. Let her drink more water.

Anything you can buzz my mobile.. I will PM u.

MH
u r right...e teething gel's my lifesaver 4 gabe when he was very cranky due 2 teething. i was applying countless times on gabe back then.

edksd, erin
i dun tik there's any side effects cos it's supposedly very safe for bbs. after all, dentinox is a rather popular brand 4 bb stuff. MH is right, put it in e fridge, lagi betta 4 our bbs. cold mah...i apply on e gums, all around n massaged e gums a lil.

FYI, when gabe was cranky b4 his 1st 2 teeth popped, i didnt know wat 2 do until i tried e teething gel. i told gabe tat i using "cold cold" on him. tat phase stuck wif him til now. b4 gabe knew how 2 talk, if he fusses due 2 teething, i would tell him tat i'm getting "cold cold", he stops fussing almost instantly. ever since he knows how 2 talk, he would request for "cold cold" for his teeth cos he knows it soothes him. very cute of him.

piyo
tis was gabe's 1st bday cake fr prima deli. i ordered 2.5kg, enuff for abt 50+ adults n still got leftovers 4 me 2 bring home. i paid $72 for it.

801762.gif

instead of a no 7, it was a no 1. it's a 2 layer cake.

hi, Kelly

may i know where u bought that from? i had bought
Orajel Baby Fast Teething Pain Relief, Berry Flavour but not sure can apply or not....

hi kelly,
thanks. guess will try the teething gel cos he bites his lower lip until it bleeds and it's blue black. i was thinking what did he smear on his lips (markers? ink?) when i realised it was due to him biting his lip. very bad leh.

gabe is so cute

dun mind joining an yahoo group. keep me updated. thanks.

hi MH,
thanks. guess will try that during the weekends. now getting him to use the spout again. hope he'll learn to drink from the straw.

i also using detinox teething gel when kayden was teething last mth. I was telling u all he was cranky, so I went to gurdian to see if there are any such gel avilable. I applied on my gums before appying on him. It is tasteless and my gum felt numb after applying. Hope this helps.

Can share with me the brand u all bought for and at which supermarket:-
A) ABC Pasta -
B) Yogurt -

Hi Kelly,

Why Edward is not taking solids?
1. The spoon
Does he eat his favourite food like the baby bites, biscuit & yoghurt if you place them on the spoon? If yes, then it is not the spoon.

2. Hes not hungry enough
Hes still being fed quite often, any chance you can stretch his feeding interval to like 4hours and increase quantity. And, can try to reduce his milk intake during the feeding before his solid lunch and see if he can eat more?

3. The food variety
You seem to have already given him quite a big variety of food. Is he somehow being spoilt by the variety instead when you are trying different food in order to make him eat? How about start from the basic, just give him cereal plus 1 vege + 1 meat for 3 4 days, every time you feed him, give yourself maximum 45minutes. After this 45minutes, stop all feeding and wait for the next meal.

4. The timing
Cant be this as you know how to tell sign that hes not too tired to eat.

5. The consistency of the solids
Cant be this as you mentioned that the cereal and porriage you prepare are very smooth.

6. Lastly, Edward is a naughty boy out to bully mummy. So, I can only say, Poor Kelly. If we manage to meet, I beat him for you.

Sorry, I very long winded.

Hi....
So sorry din participate much in the brainstorm of aug birtday bash. This 2 week is nightmare for me. Both kids are sick, ds down with stomach flu, still recovering. V paiseh din contribute any ideas at all. Let me know if anything for me to help out during tat day.

Erin,
My gal now can drink straight from cups which she enjoy it v much.... She kinda skip the straw part cos MIL din wan to use the mag mag cup (w/ straws) as the cup got some plastic smell.

Kelly,
Can try on feeding the same food for gab n ed, Also let bot of them sit facing each other & pointed out to ed to follow gab gor gor to chew his food.
N oso i dun mind for the yahoo group.

Cynthia - Tks. Gen was feeling worse ytd..cough till vomitted so much out..today nt so bad, but the running nose is worse..mucus coming out of her nose like nobody business.

Leia - My teething gel i bot in France wan leh..dun tink here got sell.

Teething gel will make gum numb ?? Nvr tried applying on my gum..i oni tasted it. I guess teething gel r safe else they wun mfg it for baby liao.

Teething Gel can be bot in pharmacy here in SIN issit ?

Anyway..ask u mummies ar..will BCG injection cause fever ? And wat painkillers the doc prescribe here for babies..paracetmol ?? Those feed into mouth type or pill insert into their asshole ?

MH,
my ger too fall sick.. kena running nose..later fever.. hav to sponge her.. cos her fever reach 38-39 deg. somemore got teethin problem.. wanna cry.. see her so restless so heart pain.. somemore i started work yesterday.. cant take care her full-time liao.. yesterday after work i hurry back my mum's hse.. saw my ger dwnstairs waiting for me.. she tutu mouth and cried.. wow lau.. i almost burst out too.. still got fever.. tell my god all sickness pass to me.. leave my ger alone.. (naive rite)..

Hi, Doris

hope yr ger is ok now..... the fever quite high... got feed her with medicine???

my ger also fever on saturday ..... feed her medicine & she vomit out all her milk earlier ...so scary... but she ok already after feeding her medicine & giving her home made barley water to drink....

hi All,
long time nvr log in..so many threads liao...
can't finish read up..

can see few baby is not feeling well recently..take care, and all mummies too..u nd to be well taken 1st..so tat u can take care of yr baby..

kelly,
hard on you, although u have tried so many method and effort..but edw still dun wan to eat solid...
i started dickson with cereal mix in his milk for begining..den slowly increase tat, once he used to e taste..he start to eat liao..

some funny action when dickson drinking water...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kShYh4MK8jo

hello,

amy/kelly,
if sun is better for u al, i am fine too
(gymboree)

jesline/doris,
i oso use the gel pad for ryan when he is feverish. i think it helps, and they look so cute hehehehe

ryan is rejecting water now. and also not drinking from magmug anyy more. he doesnt want juice either..
how come and why?

MH,
Usually pd will prescribe paracetamol to accompany when bb go to c him for vaccination. When fever reach 38/over, pd will subscribe ibufropen liquid. The suppostory subscribe is only when the kids fever high n cant go down / bb having fits (due to fever). Hope that helps.

Kelly,
U manage to get ed to munch his food?? ciayo ya....

doris - i can understd hw u feel...guess being a SAHM for too long makes it hard to leave our babies side. Dats y im contemplating shld i find a job or nt..coz i knw i will miss my gal.

pray that all our babies sick nw will recover quik quik..

Butter,
Did bb eat somethings sweet before? 1 reason is becos the water n juice is kinda plain lor.

Doris,
dat not naive, tat is mother's reaction. How is bb now? ok? Nowadays alot of flu bug in the air... Dat day my dd kena suck out phelgm by her pd... wahlau... tell u it is the most heartpain thing to c ah...

hi cecelia,
oic. oh ya, kayden knows how to drink from cup but i was thinking of teaching him to drink from straw since so many babies know how to drink from straw. guess it doesn't matter whether he knows how to drink from straw or not at this point. thanks.

kelly,

Called you but you didn't answer probably chasing ed around in the house as usual. Anyway, will PM you my mobile number.

Cecelia,
Thanks. Rae is cute and fat as well.

Erin, Cecelia,
I'm a bit confused whether it is necessary for baby to learn to drink from straw. The only advantage about this is they can hold the mug, drink, suck on their own and stop when they want. And, Gina Ford highly encouraged babies when they reached 9months onwards to teach them to learn to drink everything including milk from mug and beaker, no mention of straw mug. Think it's to wean babies from bottles.

So, for me I have yet to cultivate a proper drinking water habit. I just let my girl sometimes drink from straw mug,sometimes drink from beaker mug, spoon feed or cup.

Would you give your bb chickenpox vaccination?

Hi Fiona, Doris, MH, whitelady, Kris, Jasmine, racoon,
Thanks for your well wishes.

Hi Augbb,
So, you already know the gender? I hoped mine is a girl, then just nice, 1 girl, 1 boy...

Hi WhiteLady,
If still haven't receive similac is ok. I dun mind giving you the milk powder that I request for you without exchange cos' no use keeping at my end.

I requested similac, they did not send to me too. So inefficient.

Abt vaccinations..issit Good for our young ones to hv so many vaccinations now. Last time we oso dun hv such things.

In fact docs in France r so against so many vaccinations done on babies coz tey say makes the baby weaker. Dats y most dun administer BCG there as tey say we r living in developing cty so no nid, unless we r in a 3rd world cty.

But i tink the chickenpox vaccination is nt for life rite..for 10yrs oni rite ?

hi all mummies..
tks for all ur concerns... glad to say that Elysia's fever has susided.. these few nites has been observing her fever... ya.. bought the gel pads too.. luckily she willing to let me stick on her forehead.... but sponge her is also good(which she hates the most)... these few days plus start working jus only 2 days areadi exhausted me like a dead mummy dog (i address myself as mummy dog as i hav a adorable puppy ger :)).. haha..

MH,

I used continental delights for Noah and Zac's first month. It was good during Noah's first month but during Zac's which was two years later, the quality was diff. no good.