(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

erin
Cheer Up.
Think of the bright side that yr MIL is helping u so that u can rest more.
On wkends, when u r not working, bring kayden out and spent time with him and HB.
And dun bring yr MIL along.

Erin,

I have almost the same situation as you. When first day went back home after delivery, i want to latch on char but my mil keep carrying her and don't allow me to carry at all. when she cry i want to carry her, again she don't allow me at all. I got very frustrated and cry, then becos she started on bottle feeding my girl which i can not latch her at all cos char will scream if she drink no milk, at tat time my breast milk haven arrive mah.

I got very stress up and depress, so i never breastfeed during confinement at my mum's hs.

After that full month must bring char back home mah so i bring lor want to put her in her playpen and sleep, my mil see her crying then carry her out to sofa and sleep with her. Ok lor i bare with it. Then after i went back to work only bring char back home on weekends mil still don't let char sleep in her playpen, she make her sleep in the rocker. OK lor i keep quiet. I bare with it. She can even only feed char water when its time for her milk feed. Then when char around 4 mths mil start feeding her milo, ice-cream, coke and so on. After which she develop rash, i stop MIL told her later She sick or what u going to pay for her medical feed?? So now she knows she is allergy and don't dare to anyhow feed her liao.

when char was 4mths plus she is learning to flip liao so i told mil that she cannot sleep at rocker later she will fall, and now sleep at rocker is uncomfortable. thats when char start sleeping in her playpen.

Got once Stupid MIL bring char out without letting me know. At that time she likes to anyhow feed her things.

Now she can only carry her and play with her other then that feeding, bathing, sleeping, going out must be with me around.

Even she open our room door and see char i let her see let her play with her. i don't mind, sometimes when i busy cleaning char bottles and refilling boiled water, i will ask mil to carry her.

Erin, Sometimes u got to let go abit. At least u see your boy daily, i only see my girl once a week and its only fri sat and sun. think the other way round your mil help u carry ur boy you can do ur stuff like bath, changing clothes to prepare to go to work. Don't stress yourself over this small matter. Ur mil loves your boy thats why she also want to spent time with him ok?
LIke when its time for your boy to go to bed you go to your mil and tell her nicely time for him to sleep and just carry him back yourself, don't wait for her to carry to you.

Thats what i do, when char crying that means she want to sleep i will carry her back myself and put her to sleep.

Hope your problem can solve

HELP!

My boy is ill (cough, runny nose) and has gone to see the GP. He hates the taste of the medicine. There are 3 kinds of me

Erin,

A piece of advice. Really try to close one eye. Issue with MIL can never be solve no matter how hard we try to be good or understanding.

Like my case, MIL taking care and EVEN i jus got to see her that few hrs SHE ALSO wan to hijack Natalie to herself. SAY Natalie so sticky to her she cant this and that! IM her mum hear liao also DL lo.Recently Natalie is behaving she prefer me than to her. MIL showing me attitude and words like "OH she stick to you not mehow to take care in future. You take care lo" IMAGINE im burning inside and yet stil gott put on a smile.

ALot issue. SHE CAN keep carrying natalie in her arms for 2hr and never let her learn to sit on floor at all or even let her on tummy to learn flip. I train her to flip and mil take all the credits. I even train her on tummy nw she learning to crawl n mil say her doing again. Sometime even i wanna put natalie on tummy ILs are making a big fuss saying no good this and that.

These are all signs of over protective, over pampered. Life wil be miserable for us BUT think back, with our bbs with them, its beta than strangers. No matter how I tell them bb will recognise them no matter how. When they grow up they will know.

Learn to KAN KAI is true to make ourselves feel better. Cos sometime is a no choice issue and not to make things difficult for hb. If we cn jus be SAHM maybe issues is lessen. BUT who knows it jus come knocking at our doors?

I believe whatever mil do or even fil do... we may not like it so much. But in their eyes how they think we also not sure. So lets try to give and take. Really gotta talk the issue with hb at time cos no matter how.. hb talk to mil IS BETTER than we talk to them.

For me, sometime I wil talk in a nicer way to mil in order not to offend her no matter how upset i m with their doings. No matter how bb wil know WE as their parents mum n dad. Even when they first start to call out wil be mama which sounds like ah ma too.. so jus gotta let go abit.

Hope it will make you feel better as u r not alone too yeah

Leia,
after feeding him medicine give him some water. Or b4 feeding medicine give him water.
runny nose one i find those nasel drip one is gd.
as and when feeding him warm water helps to clear phelgm.

Erin..understand how you feel..In laws stay with us and MIL is a nightmare!
She even told my boy directly and in front of me when i wanted to carry him 'Dont want mummy!'and then walk away with my boy in her arms!!!

Think she is the Champion of all champions to tell my son like that and in front of me!
So angry and yet so hurt as well.
feel so pek cheK!

Babyboy, Erin,

I am also staying with PIL. even my hubby can't stand his parents, but i not so cruel lar, PIL is also our parents so i won't treat my PIL badly. I try my very best to communicate with my MIL. Even hubby also seldom talk to them. Their Daughter never come home and visit them. So i am the best person MIL will talk to. Even i don't like what she do, i still bare with it.

MIL can even tell her colleague and relative that I ask her not to do housework. But its ok for me to do housework i don't mind. Anyway is my daily routine that i wake up at 645am to hang clothes then go to work. After work i go home sweep and mop the floor.

So relative and her friends told her that I am a very good daughter in law, must cherish me.

So Since u all staying underone roof with MIL might as well treat her as ur parent rather then as enermy.

Oh wow babyboy,
yr MIL is so terrible....how can she say such things infront of yr bb?

Leia,
Jay also hate med...he will struggle and cry n cry when he sees the stringe... no choice leh..hubby will hold his hands coz he will use his hands to push me away and then i will use my hands to force open his mouth n pour the med a little at a time at the side of his mouth and i wil then hold his head higher up so the med will flow down...n when i inject all the med into jay mouth then i feed him some water using stringe as well..coz he wont wan to drink anything else...heartpain when i do that but no choice coz he needs to take med...

morning!

<font color="ff0000">Erin</font>,

SAyang! MIL loves your boy lah.. and don't put herself in your shoes.. my MIL, i get along well with her generally, but, we have different opinions about how to bring up my girl.. and what's good for her.. so, there are times, i really want to <font size="+1">strangle</font> my MIL.. but, at the end of the day, i know she loves my girl so much..in fact, she actually went to the Export Outlet near my place @ bendemeer and bought an old navy romper that said: GRANDMA SPOILS ME!! I have a good laugh over that!

In fact, i am considering shifting in with them now..

where is the <font size="+2">CHEAPEST</font> PD to get the pneumoccocal JAbs inclusive of consultation????

Can i have the PD name & contact please??

Honeyhaven,i wanted to vomit my blood on her and scream! couldnt take it. MIL is a mother of 3, she shld know better than to make such comments! She did it twice over last weekend. First time, i was too shocked to react in time. Second time i looked at my boy and said 'OH you dont want mummy ah? Then Grandma bring you out lah!'
MIL kept quiet.

Its hurting enough to know that mil 'teaches' and says such things to my boy and in front of me. I wonder what she tells him when am at work!
: (

Catherine, if MIL treated me like her daughter in law, i would do the same. but she doesnt. I do my own washing & ironing, but she insists on washing hub,my boy & my clothes. Told her many times to leave it there, i will do the washing. She refuse, then she go round telling strangers, my family, friends that she washes our clothes - As though i made her do it!
She doesnt even know how to cook my boy's porridge - one day, i was thawing frozen chicken. Then she told me to just throw it as it was - Frozen!
Hygiene - am super particular on this but she is not and anyhow place things here & there, then go into my boy's mouth. told many times but she still does it.
My boy had to visit PD twice in 3months ever since she started to take care of him.

There are more things to this that makes me MAD, but shall save it for another time.

sigh.need to vent my anger too, cause hub thinks his mother is the best!
Sorry for the super lor sor post!

Jasmine,

I called AMK Singapore Baby & Child clinic just yesterday - its $160 nett for the jab.
No consultation charge.

Tel: 64568874
Need to make an appt for the jab.

Babyboy,
My MIL is another kind. She will tell my dd everytime when me going back dat i dun wan her. Kind of drilling in her mind. She oso doing that to my ds prev till my son hd that kind of mentality dat i abandon him, luckily everything turn out ok after i had a one-to-one talk with ds..... Now hv to 'tong tong nau zing' to prevent mil use the method.

babyboy,
is the any effects after taking the pneumoccocal jab like fever? Coz my boy usually hav fever after taking the 5 in 1 jab..also how many jabs do they need for the pneumoccocal? Heard that bb below 1 yrs old need more jab then if we bring bb after they r 1 yr old..

how many mummies haven given their bb this jab yet?

erin,
sorry to hear about your frustrations. its good we have a place to air our frus ya? u can always come in here to type it off.

High chair: Ryan likes to sit in it, he sits there at breakfast and dinner. Now he expects food most times when sitting there.

Pneumoccocal Jabs and Rotovirus..

May i ask have you al give both to your babies?
My PD gave me brochure on the 2 above and ask me to think about it.

Any advise? I was thinking i should do them for my boy, but i dunno when is best.

Augbaby,
Me oso use the same method as u in d 1st place. Now after few round of medication, dd is seem cooperative with us when take med.

Babyboy,
if she want to wash the clothes for you then let her wash since she is staying with you and not working. IF my mil insist on washing and ironing clothes for me i won't stop her hahaha... Unless she is not doing then i do lar.
I think if i stay with my mum she will also do the same thing she will wash and iron clothes for me instead of letting me wash. i believe if my mum got DIL she sure wash for her as well. My mum will also tell relative that she wash clothes for me. SO i find its normal.

Butter,
jay has taken his rotavirus jab..my friend juz call the PD i brought jay too for his jab and the PD says for rotavirus, it is too late for her bb to take liao..her bb is born in oct..2mths after jay..coz i rem jay taking his rotavirus med tog wif his 5 in 1 each time...So i am not sure if it is the same for all PD leh..

Cec,
Sigh...yr dd is gd..mine ah..when see the stringe already, he knows its med n will start to struggle..sigh..even the PD also know jay hates taking med coz he will react this way when he is given the rotavirus med that time..he cry more when given the med then when he takes his injection...

augbaby, 'terrible' is an understatement for my mil. ive given up thinking of a suitable description for her.

Cecelia, yah, i will keep telling my boy how much i love him, tell him what i will play with him when i come back from work,talk to him, blah blah...How old is your girl & boy now? yr mil looking after both of them?
sigh.

if she wasnt mean to me, i wouldnt be complaining.

Cecelia, Yes its $160 per jab.
babies our age & below 1 yr - will take 3 jabs. eg:take one at 7mths,2nd one will be 2mths later, 3rd one will be 2mths after the 2nd jab

augbaby - not too sure if they will get fever. Dont think so though, check with Jesline, she just brought her girl for pne.jab

Catherine, my thoughts to her washing clothes. If she willingly and genuinely does it, cause she wants to. Then do it without TELLING everyone. Is there a need to announce to everyone even to strangers? What more, she will tell ppl this 'I am so tired, i do so much housework, i do this and that...still wash clothes...'
So i told her, since you are tired, then dont wash.
she doesnt listen. she irons her son's clothes but not mine. So what more can i say?

Babyboy,
Elderly are like that one so let them complaint ba. They will complaint but they will still do. My mum also always complaint that she do this and that very tired so on but end up she still do it.

erin,
hope you are feeling much better now after all the mommies have shared their life with their MIL...

i've always tell ppl how lucky i am to have a nice mil, but of course it didn't started out that way. she used to say those hurtful things to my gal too, like you dun recognize your mummy liao har? when i've only went out for a short while. but i'm super straightforward kind lor, can't control my mouth & temper, i'll tell her not to say such things in front of my gal and of course she can recognize me!

and very often my mil can't seems to hear what i've said and always repeat her own words, so i also very stubborn will keep insisting my own language...

in the end she knows my pattern liao, so better to treat me well rite...moreover my gal is totally glued to me hahaha...so now whenever i get the chance will ask her to carry & play with her so i get a break!

actually we really have to kan kai, they are behaving this way all bcos they are worried the grandchild will not be close to them in future. so i do my part by reassuring her as well, and make mil happy by teaching baby to call ah ma...

dun worry too much, your child will still knows who's mommy and by 1 yr old, he'll sure stick to you even more.

sorry for the long post...

those who hav rented toys for their bb..can anyone advise me wich Exersaucer is the most interesting and entertaining for yr bb..coz i am interested in renting one for jay but his attention span is rather short n i am concern he may be bored of the toy b4 the 1mth period...also wich website has the cheaper rental rates? Mummies pls let me know yr comments..tks...

babyboy,
yah it can be irritating hearing such comments from her. what i'm doing now is get a maid and she can watch her do housework...haha

i'll be fetching my maid today, so excited liao...hope she won't gives me headache...

michele,
i've bought those shoes from this forum BP before and it only cost me $11, so it's ex selling on the website.

Hi mummies and a father,
thanks for your concern.

well, we have an unspoken agreement of who to play with my boy.

weekday:
morning - Kayden wakes up around 7+ so we usually take the time to play with him and change him before going out to let my mil play with him for a while before we go off to work.

night - reach home abt 7+. if he's not sleeping, he'll play with mil until 8+ (we can't join in cos she'll bring him to one side).

weekends - mil free to play with him when he's awake. prob is sometimes she goes out to play mahjong or she takes afternoon nap. if she's awake, she'll sometimes bring him to her room.

if she doesn't have much time with my son, we as parents doesn't have much time too. that's why i always cherish the 1 hr before we go off to work. now she's like trying to take away the precious little time too.

she's also like some of the mils here who said "mummy dun want to carry you." I'm not the one who doesn't want to carry him. she's the one who refused to let me carry hor.

actually, i was ok with her after marriage (of course we have a few conflicts here and there. no quarrels and in the end, i have to be the one to say sorry.) I won't quarrel with her. the most is i keep quiet only lor.

but during confinement, i saw her true colours. Hb and I have to beg her to come out of the room to see my boy as she was angry with us for not inviting her to go with us to bring my boy back (but she woke up early at 4+ to cook for praying so we thought of letting her have a rest). When I stopped bfing, the 1st thing she said is "good. then u dun have to et nutritous food liao". can u imagine how hurting her words were.

anyway, a lot of things happened then and I guess were unresolved cos my hb and i just kept quiet all along.

She just called my hb and told him i was angry with her for carrying my boy and i SLAMMED the door. My hb who was in the master bedroom toilet could testify that I din slam the phone cos he also din hear anything. I told him I admitted that I'm angry but I din slammed the door. Anyway, things will be unresolved again as it will be buried again. I'm just the PETTY daughter-in-law.

Sorry for unloading all my frustrations here.

babyboy,
can understand yr frustration....
guess the best time is bring yr boi out during weekend...take care, play and make use of the full time you have...
I guess yr boi will noe who is e best for him..and this will build the strong bonding within you and bb....

Just think of this...no matter what happen...you still got us ard to support..Cheer up!!

fiona,
Dennis is soooo cute..she laugh so nice...jay laugh like her too..haha...btw how do i load up video i taken using my digi cam onto u tube ah? do i hav to register etc? Free of charge? Sorry ah..me v blur one..tks dearie

erin,
i'm sorry to say this and not trying to make the matter worse BUT, i really feel like giving your MIL a TIGHT SLAP!! i most despise those mothers who would call their sons to complain about their wives!

This kinda of person must be careful(she so petty leh!), next time make sure treat her nice nice in front of all relatives, she scheming so no choice you must be more scheming lor...(am i teaching the bad stuff..hee)

augbaby,
thanks! i'm sure it must be really cute when jay laughs like that too! i register with youtube, then goes into your account page and you'll find a "load your video" link, then it's just following instructions stated there. it's my first attempt too, very easy & it's free!

hi mummies and a daddy,
after venting my frustrations, now feeling much better. can only count my blessings that I have a great hb and an adorable boy. if not, i'll sure break down.

can check u whether we need to sterilise the sippy cup?

hi fiona,
u not teaching me bad stuff la. well, i never treat her bad so I'm not guilty. her relatives and daughters also know.

Thanks Cecelia!

erin, u care welcome here to vent your frustrations. Is always like that one i guess once u vent out later u will feel more relax and able to solve problems.

erin00,
great, hope u feel better.

for sippy cup, i notice some can and some cannot. so i just follow the instructions, if they say can sterilise, i throw it into the steriliser.

fiona,
so cute! i will load a silly video of ryan later and share with u all... it make me laugh when xian...

Here is some pix of ryan in the swing..
723323.jpg

723324.jpg

Hi, butter8 & augbaby

I had just brought Baby Jia Hui for the pneumococcal jab on Saturday.doc said may have fever after the jab but it depends on the baby.. on Saturday, after the jab, Jia Hui dont have any fever as is still active as usual but took a lot of naps in the afternoon think got of the jab. Then on Sunday afternoon, got a slight fever 37.3 degree.. so feed her with the medicine & is fine after a nap (not sure whether is the fever trigger by the jab cos doc said may have fever on that day think maybe also bcos baby never poo poo on sat & sun so heaty that why got fever)

If baby is 7mths, needs to take 3 jabs.

If 1st jab in Mar, 2nd jab will be in May (2mths from the 1st jab) & the 3rd jab think is when baby is 1yr old

i also dunno why he is like dat..maybe he is being plain rude hahahaha u call him, he stick tougue and then bo chup u, turn away... he did it quite a few times.. every time the dad call him.. weird kid.. kekeke

Dino,
is it the Evenflo Ultra Exersaucer $45 or the Evenflo Ultra 2 in 1 Exersaucer $55? So do u put yr bb inside everyday? He likes it v much ya?

butter,
ryan not rude la....denise is worse by spraying her saliva while blowing her lips(dunno how to describe but you can imagine what i meant...hee). i will raise my hand like want to smack her and she'll stop but will pout her lips instead.

Hi Augbaby,

I rented Evenflo Ultra Exersaucer $45. I put him most of the time. It is good when we need to do things, so just let him inside with the toys entertaining him. But he may get bored after some time. There is a mirror, and he kept looking at him.. or playing with the toys. It depends on his mood. Sometimes 10mins, sometimes 30min.

Fiona,

Jadelle also like to pull my top when i am carrying her outside shopping.. and she like to peek inside and see her "milk supply" still there boh!

Denise laugh until so cheeky!!

cecelia,
she is very extreme one lor...can laugh until like that.

jasmine,
denise is indeed very cheeky, sometimes she'll give me those cheeky grin and raise one eyebrow while chewing on one of her finger...cannot tahan.

Jadelle so smart, knows how to protect her milk bank liao...hahaha