(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi, augbaby

Think better dont let baby eat too much carrots & pumpkin as baby will turn yellow as this is what happened to my sil son when he is abt 7mth old..

Hi, mummies
how do u al introduce fruits for baby? Do we need to steam it & mashed it or can let baby share with us??? What fruits can be introduced??? Can feed baby with those fruit juice that we blend???

Hi, Fiona
R u going to buy the Braun Blender that costs abt 90++ or the hand blender that is abt 60++? Initially, I also thot of buying Braun blender to blend meat for baby as the promoter said only Braun blender can blend until very fine as the blade is very small as compare to other blender but in the end, I bought Moulinex blender as it come with a small blender & also the fruit blender so can use the small one to blend for baby & the fruit blender to blend for family.. did tried the blender to blend meat & the result is also very fine.

babyboy

Kinder Clinic Holland grove branch opposite henry park primary school - 6465 3050
Henry Park Apartments

emergency no. 6535 8833

hi jesline,
i'm thinking of getting the hand held one, bcos can blend directly in the cooking pot. ok i'll check out the moulinex as well, but need to scoop the porridge into it rite?

augbaby,
actually Jaundice is not cos by carrots or papaya.and skin won't turn yellow. Theres no scientific proof that carrots or papaya will cause jaundice. Cos they are natural fruits and veg.if u say carrots and papaya will cause jaundice, how about orange? mango?
and jaundice is not cause by fruits or food is it liver not functioning well. So its nothing to do with fruits and veg.

cat,
i also noe there is no scientific proof but then that is wat MIL says lor...so gotta listen and maybe just dun eat everyday lor..

butter,
for banana, is it those big bananas or those small small ones?

amy,
Ikan bills can fry it and blend into powder form and add alittle bit into the porridge. Its has DHA its very good for baby.

I give Nat sweet potatoe, carrot, broccoli, fish, pear, apple, leafy vege.

Actually just my own point of view. Maybe shld just let bb take food with moderation lo. Whatever food they take is what we have taken in the past. Have any ever realise now we seems to be more panaroid what bb taking? As long bb is doing well with the food without any allergy den is good. Ever heard of old ppl saying " mix any food eat bit here n there in future not picky'

As long don feed them junk food like mac, cakes and seafood like prawn, sotong etc i personally feel any other food in moderation is fine lo. We also been in their stage too yeah!

Augbb,
Banana is best to get those as ripe as possible. Small one will be preferred. I read in online. Those as ripe as possible is best for bb and easy digestion. Can even try giving peach, mango BUT not orange for the being.

We are cracking our brain to give bb what to eat differently everyday. Maybe the best way is alternative. Cos bb still young. I have few friends feeding so much variety that caused their bb to chose food and refuse milk! My nephew is one good example. He is only 18mth refuse milk n cereal.ANd another gf of mine her daughter is 18mths too.. been malnutrition for sometime also n seeing nutrionist doesnt help much too but to slowly slowly intro her basic food again.

Well mummies, jus feel all in moderation as wat we eat during pregnancy. We should try to relax abit n give our bb a break. They are still young and long battle to go..

Hi, Fiona

I will cook the meat first, then blend it & then will add into my porridge that is going to be cooked dont need to blend the porridge. If want porridge to be fine fine, just cook longer & add more water & stir..

Hi, butter8
Do u always steam all fruits before giving to baby or only steam those fruit that r hard? For banana, u just feel & feed baby??

hi jesline,
went to your blog earlier and saw the slide.com thingy. can tell me how to upload?

hi leia,
oh i see. cos when i check with the pd, she told me if he's not in childcare and seldom goes out to public places, shd be safe so i thought it's alright not to have the jab so early. perhaps i shd check with hb again to see if we shd bring him for the jab.

re: jabs
other than pneumococal jabs, wat other optional jabs are u giving u baby? I've only given him the rotarix. How abt the chicken pox jab?

Hi fiona,
thanks. but we might not buy this year cos my sis still studying open-U. just want to check out the expenses 1st so we can gauge how much is needed per month.

Hi augbaby,

The sweet peas recommended in most books are like the first picture.But, I cannot find them in the supermarket here so i use snow peas that look like the second picture.

Don't try anything if you are not comfortable with them. I could be a bit too 'daring' in the food that I give Rae (applying the 3 days rule) because she's seems alright with it and I want her to try a variety so that she won't be a fussy eater.

Frozen puree can last maximum 6 weeks but I use them within maximum 2 weeks. I will bring the cube out of the freezer in the morning and defrost outside then ask my MIL to add them in the porriage in the slow cooker 15min before meal.

I also give baby 1 cube fruit each for lunch and dinner. Didn't mix them in cereal because she can finish her plain cereals. I'm thinking to mix fruit + cereals when baby 'sick' of plain cereals so to make it more tasty for them, we mix them up.

Braun handblender 300W is $39, quite cheap and good.
725223.jpg
725224.jpg

There is alot of receipes online we can cross reference lo.

www.wholesomebabyfood.com which i find quite useful.

Fish + Veggies (1meal)(Frm 6mth onwards
----------------------
1 white fish
1oz peas, mashed
1oz milk
1oz carrots
1oz sweet potatoe
PUREE the above.

From 7mth onwards (serve according to ur bb need)
-----------------
1)Mashed Potato - red skinned preferred
with 2oz milk.

2)4oz milk + 1 potato + broccoli

Apple, pear, banana, plum, prune, peas from 6mth.
Chicken/Beef can be intro from 7mth
Tofu can be intro from 8mth.
Kiwi, blueberries,melon from 8mths. Strawberries only advisable after 1yr old.

I believe more mummies has alot recepies which more useful than mine. Let jus share bah.

1 thing... EGG YOLK is ok BUT NOT EGG WHITE due to high protein which is not good for bb.

Okie go home time!
Talk again tml!

Hi Erin,

I believe chicken pox is given after 14mth I wil be giving nat that too.

My frd daughter of 2yr old got chicken pox infection from her school and didnt get vaccinated too. She mention recently is having chicken pox virus so try not to bring baby to too crowded places.

Hi, erin

U will need to go to the web site & to register first

You can also register for an account by following these steps:
1. Go to http://www.slide.com
2. Click on the 'Not a member? Sign Up!' link under the 'Sign in' section to the right
3. Enter your email address and select a password
4. Click on 'Sign Up'
After signing it, need to go to yr mail box to activate that & after that, sign in.

After sign in, will be direct to yr account, then click on the make /create me slide show K. From there just click on the button for more pic & add all those pic that u wantK.

Quite easyK also just figure out myselfK

Hi piyo,

Before I start porriage, my girl has already tried vege puree. So, first day porriage i start with porriage + fish + carrot.

1 new food at one time for 3 days, so if Megan has already taken carrot before then you can cook all the 3. If not, maybe for first 3 days, just cook fish + porriage.

recently aidan got some rashes at the back of his neck and i dunno if its due to food allergy... little spots so i tot maybe its heat rash... if food allergy sud spread on face & body is it? help!!

Hi, erin

sorry misinterpret what u want...

copy the html link that u have.... log in to yr blog... then go to template setting,edit html & paste the link at the <!-->

u can also try & error... after pasting, click on preview to see whether does the slide appear at the place that u want....

hi jesline,
thanks. i'm such a lazy mommy, wanted to throw in the meat & veg after the porridge is cooked then blend at one go, can save some time on the cooking part...hehe

hi amy,
braun handblender cost $39, where did you buy it?

hey mommies,

so far, the only protein i have introduced is thread fin which is 'ngor' fish.

I have given zac spinach, carrot, pumpkin, sweet potato, xiao bai cai and cai xin. As for fruits, he had taken pears, peaches, avocado, bananas and papayas. He dislikes banana and papaya. I usually puree pears and peaches and mixed with rice cereal and breastmilk to feed zac in the morning.

Zac's on porridge for lunch and dinner. It consists of fish and one vege.

hi babyboy,

i'm staying @ telok blangah and my PD is at Everton Park (Everton Clinic), which has night operation on certain nights.

hi all ,

gone thru the tread , and see some BB going to infant care ... just to check , How much does it cost to put baby in the infant care ?

thank

hi erin,
no prob...however like i've mentioned before, have to decide on the car first before calculation can be done. and the COE is everchanging, got to wait until the bidding is finalised then will know exactly how much. my friend just got a 1.5 CC car but it's Honda, so have to expect to pay around 500+/mth. end up they get a weekend car, minus off 17K, mthly pay 400+. but roughly you can expect around this range...bigger capacity & brand makes a difference. also not forgetting the road tax & annual insurance, it will cost more for a new driver, younger you are the more ex it will cost, no obligation just for your info...

Hi Fiona,

The braun handheld 300W blender is $39.00 in most places. If it is the 600W one, then I think it is $60+. Anyway, I use the 300W one and it is good enough.

hi white lady

the good ones, like babies inc, it costs $1600 for full day infant care. so far, the cheapest i've seen so far is $850. please not that FTWM get a $400 subsidy each month. the one im choosing is $1000, so i pay $600/month.

hope that helps

HI erin,
think u might nd to decide how "big" car u wan 1st...cost that will determine how much u gotto pay for COE, car price, road tax, insurance and petrol comsumption.
remember this rule: Big car(high cc)...high cost.
smaller cc car..low cost..
Of cos it's still depend on how much is yr initial payment la..and what distance u r driving each day nd to consider as well.
u can log in to http://www.dbs.com/sg/personal/loans/car/
there some example for u to work out as well..

there r few others thing to consider too:
if this is yr 1st car..insurance is quite high

as tis point of time..is hard to say how much u nd to spend..but u can assume it ard $1K +/- each month

just wondering if it is ncessary to have a blender? can we still prepare food into fine bits without it?

Hi Amy and mummies,
How long do you cook the porridge? and you cook the porridge in slow cooker?

Hi Augustmum,
How do you prepare the xiao bai cai, spinach and cai xin? do you use blender or you just cut into small tiny pieces? Megan no teeth yet... must blend till powdery or puree form for the veg? I scare she chokes...

Hi Cheers,
I am also staying in Telok Blangah! Which area of Tb are you staying in? Rise? cresent? heights? drive? So good to find someone staying near me! Can you pm me your PD?

Hi leia,
Can you forward me the links to the mummies' blogs here after you compile? Thanks!

hi erin,
and not to forget, you need to set aside some $$$ for season parking, coupons, petrol, car park fees(when you go out), summons and fines (touch wood), car servicing should be FOC for 1st 3 yrs or 60k whichever is earlier but you may need to change tyres when they wear out, may be once a year or if you wanna drag a bit longer but still need to change, and brak pads etc those spare parts if the car company do not cover...

Hi mummies, so if i use a slow cooker to cook the porridge, when do i add in the vegetable? So when we feed the baby, baby will eat both right?

hi Jill

which centre do you go to? i took a look at babies inc, and wasn't really wowed by it. they have kindermusik n gymboree but cleanliness n sincerity wasn't there i felt.

hi jesline,
thanks. will try it out later. kept encountering errors when trying to upload pics yesterday.

hi fiona, superdad and piyo,
thanks. it's my younger sis getting the car. think she got her license around 3 yrs ago so insurance will be cheaper rite? my hb and i have no driving license yet. Most prob will be getting picanto (not sure if correct spelling) or some small cars cos her budget not very high. I might want to chip in cos sometimes can also use it to bring kayden around on weekends.

do u think $700 a month is enuf for car installment, petrol, parking, road tax and insurance?

Hi pupsandcups,
is babies inc really good? i'm contemplating switching my baby there. i didnt check it out earlier after hearing a friend's baby was hospitalised 4x in 1st year. also out of the way for me to work.

erin

isetan pte sale is only for isetan card holders right? i wanna go (buy sippy cup) but im not card holder leh .. thinking of getting the mag mag sippy cup. leon keeps rejecting the bottle, i hope he'll drink his milk from the sippy cup.

Hi Ladies..

A bit troubled now..

I think I am pregnant again...

I have same sympton as my 1st pregnancy. Brown stain for 1 day and stop..
I have not tested yet, abit scare..

Its too early for me

How How How??

Hopefully my menses come today else I will fainted

hi pupsandcups,
my baby is at pat schoolhouse's baby haven @ halifax. on one hand i'm reluctant to hv my baby readjust to new environment but i'm not sure also whether it's the current environment exposing him to various illnesses. if it doesn't work out, i'll hv to think abt stopping work. hard decisions to make.

hi jill

oh i see, ya that's one of the more expensive ones ... how long has your baby been in for? i'm also v reluctant, but i hv no choice about my job situation. maid without supervision freaks me out ..

Hi pups,
do u need it urgently? if not, i get for u and then perhaps pass to kelly or shermeen if they are going for the gathering next wk.

hi jesline,
not sure though. haven't go down but think baby stuff has 15 to 20% off so was thinking of taking a look.

Hi Rain,

Maybe its due to stress? Jus monitor for a week? sometime our mense may not be regulate and take sometime after birth. That time also have an accident hb miscue but lucky not preg as I was late about 1mt loh.

But it could be good news too if realli... cos by the time reina will be 1yr plus hehehe

piyo,

Haven't compile. Busy over the last weekend. This week my boy is not well, reach home also no time to do anything. Once I compile, I will let you all know. Sorry about that.

erin,

About cars, another factor would also be fuel efficiency, ie. 1 litre of petrol can run how many km. Doesn't necessarily mean that smaller car will consume lesser fuel. Depends on the efficiency of the engine. Some cars can be oil guzzler.

Also, for safety reasons, I always believe in getting a car with enough "front" and "backside". In the event of a collision, you have more crash space in front and behind so better protection from kena-ing your legs and passengers behind.