(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi fiona,
denise is very cute. like her laughter. just remind me of kayden.

kayden doesn't pull my shirt but sometimes, he is very cheeky. he'll put his hand inside my shirt (just on my breast). he even does it to his daddy. keke...

hi butter,
ryan is very chubby hor. so adorable when he does that. no la, he's not rude.

hi mummies and superdad,
am feeling better. went for retail therapy earlier. keke... just now, bought kueh for mil. hope she likes it. din really talk to her cos my sil turned up today. think she mentioned it to my sil but my sil din say anything which i appreciate. my sil is very understanding.

thanks for ur sharing of ur mil stories. hopefully, i won't need to vent my frustration again. hope i din spoil everyone's mood.

superdad,
you're right. see hb in difficult position as he's stuck in the middle. i very xin teng. anyway, promised him that i'll not be PETTY again. sigh... hope i can do it.

fiona and other mummies interested in kindermusik village class,
I left my name with the school and they just called me up, there is vacancy for this coming Sat 2.30pm class at Tanglin Mall. Is anyone going or interested to join? I think still can , but you have to call the school direct.

erin00,
retail therapy works huh? hehehe for me i dun face my MIL but I face my own mum. which is a bit hard on me cuz i feel very sad if i cannot work things out with my own mum.

I agree with the rest when we say its better to have our darling kids being looked after by MIL or own relative, at most I know they will not be negligent or harm our babies.

I cant even leave maid alone with my boy for more then 30mins, she will just put him on sofa to play and spend the rest of the time on her mobile. ( i saw thru camera) lucky my mum although she dun agree with me on baby care, rushed over when i called n inform her.

hi mommies
i haven't logged on for a day and so many posts! thanks all mommies for assuring me that things will eventually pan out and be ok. i have been praying v hard, and am sure things will work out. my leon, to date, has never ever ever fallen sick, sigh, i really hope his immunity is vvv strong and he won't fall sick in infant care, otherwise my heart will break.

MIL
seems like everyone has big MIL issues huh. same as me lah, as much as i don get along w her, i'm q surprised and disappointed she only offered to take leon at most half day once a week. my mother has also returned to full-time work, so obviously it is impossible for my mom to take care of him. sigh so no choice send to infant care. i had a look around over the weekend, i do agree childcare has come a long way and they have to adhere to MCYS' strict hygiene standards.

i went to my new office and it isn't breastfeeding mommy friendly at all. i'm going to use rechargeable batteries for my ameda and use in the toilet ...

GATHERING
is it confirmed for 24mar?
SMLOW, if it is alright, i have a friend who is keen to display bb shoes she sells at this gathering ..

erin,
you din spoil our mood lah...in fact it offered us relieve by having the chance to ventilate

butter,
thanks for sharing, think i'll stick with the trial session on the 24th at cluny court so that my hubby will join in the class.

your maid very gutsy hor...can send her back liao. better to do without her than having to worry all the time. but i know it's easier said than done...consider changing one bah

hi erin,
indeed, i feel so fortunate that i dun stay wif MIL after hearing stories like this. why dun u try reverse pschology. ( sori, not sure of spelling ) Let ur MIL take care of baby totally for 1 - 2 weeks, and take opportunity to enjoy some couple time wif ur HB, go dating. wen bb needs diaper change, feeding, bathing,...etc anything just look for grandma, wher is grandma. wen she sees that u are having a relaxed time and not fighting over wif her for the bb, sooner or later she will feel that she is so tied up, she will ask u to take over. let her feel that u r not competing wif her for the bb. hahaha... jus my theory. no matter wat, mummies had a 9 months headstart. wen bb was in our tummy, we were the only ones bonding wif the bb.
anyway, hope u can cheer up.

jill/bbnmum,
Thanks for the info. I will let Jay go to cc later too! 7am too early liao la, can we drop after 7am, says ard 8am? or must be zhun zhun 7am?

erin/babyboy,
ALtough I did not stay with my ILs, I can understand how you guys feel. I am a very straight forward gal, I dun like will just tell them off and from my face can tell 'I m not happy!' one lo. Lucky their did not stay with me la, if not they might be the one crying now. ha... but then hor, since you cant avoid staying with MIL, have to learn to 'ren' and 'kan kai', if not very tough le. or else can try to talk to your MIL personally and tell her nicely on how you feel?

cj,
You very 'hen'! but good one!!! ha. . .

Jas, butter and Augbaby,
I have taken package for rota + pneumo for $825. So far have finished the rota japs and just brot Jay for 1st Pneumo jap on 27 Feb. No fever after all japs. For Pnuemo, nurse told me baby start b4 7mth needs total 4 japs, 3 b4 1 year old and i jap after 1year old. If started to take after 7mth then only need to take total 3 japs.

Augbaby/Dino,
I also rented the Evenflo ultra for Jay, he likes it also. But now he prefers jumperoo. His records was to jump continuously 351 jumps (non-stop!). Augbaby, Roger told me jumperoo is the hottest toy renting from his online shop.

Have u let ur bb try sippy cups??? Here is an article on that.
Hi Eka! Most babies seem ready to start drinking from a sippy cup between 7 and 9 months of age. Some babies take a while to get used to the idea, so here are some tips to make the transition easier:
Until your baby becomes used to the idea, use a cup that has a soft, pliable, nipple-like spout, which will feel more familiar to him or her than a hard, plastic spout.
Show your baby how to raise the cup to his or her mouth and tip it up to drink.
Be patient. Until your baby masters the basics, you may want to put only water in the cup since small amounts of liquid may leak out when he or she shakes or throws it.
Don't worry if your baby doesn't use the sippy cup properly for a while. It may just be a new toy to him or her until he or she gets the hang of it.

Cocomo,
CC start from 7am but u no need zhun zhun send jay there.

things are back to usual again
she stood outside the door to just listen for any sound. i told boy to hush and he kept quiet. after a while, she walked away. keke...

anyway, when it's the usual time to come out, I passed boy to her and she carried him la. we talked as usual as if nothing happened lor.

ok, enuf of my mil stories. just hope no need to post anything abt her after this posting.

hi butter,
for me, not much issue with mum cos can talk to her.

hi cj,
my mil has never helped me to look after kayden (not even to fetch a diaper or a milk bottle) and she'll not want to help. she said that she's old and her health is not very good. she also told the confinement lady that she'll not help me cos she wants to see how I cope (she wasn't happy that I'm getting my parents to help immediately after confinement). anyway, hb and i were thinking of letting her rest as I prefer my parents to look after as well.

Actually, my parents and I have suggested it to hb recently cos it seems like she still can't let go of the idea that my parents are taking care of my boy. We suggested letting her try taking care of baby for a few days but hb says she won't want. she only wants to play with him.

anyway, even if she takes care, we can't go out as and when we like to. she likes us to stay at home with her. even when pak-tor-ing that time, we also stay at home most of the weekends to accompany her as my fil has passed away.

hi pups,
u change job liao? thought u only starting leon in childcare in april.

re: pneumococcal jabs
I was thinking of letting kayden have the jab after 2yrs old. then only need 1 jab.

re: books
bought quite a no. of children books at bras brasah yesterday. very cheap. the ladybird hardcover books such as "Puss in Boots" etc only cost $1.80. bought quite a no. cos want to build up his mini library.

hi cecelia,
thanks for the info abt the sippy cup. ya, have a soft spout for him to bit on. As he's teething, he enjoys bitting on the spout and at the meantime, he's taking in some water too (though most of the water will spill out. lol) also teaching him how to hold the handles as well.

need to sterilise the sippy cup. I sterilised it the 1st time but my parents said dun have to. just use hot water to rinse so I'm not too sure.

hi leia,
bought the float at $5.50 at Taka Fair yesterday.

hi augbaby,
there's a book sale on the ground floor. Don't buy immediately at the first stall. go walk walk around 1st. some of the books can be found at another stall and it's cheaper and cleaner. Have to look at quality of the books 1st too. One of the stalls sells 2nd hand books so i din buy.

A lot of storybooks and board books there. I also bought a cloth book with rattles (with plastic cover) at only $3.50. cheap hor. really good bargain there.

hi erin00

i start work 1st week april, but have started my childcare hunting already. also i will start him a little earlier so i can help him ease into the routine of childcare. maybe first day, visit him during lunch, pick him early. then slowly slowly drop him at 830 n pick him at 7. i really pray he'll be ok. hope i'm doing the right thing for him, still feeling v worried.. been losing sleep, been looking like a dead dog recently cos not sleeping well.

BOOKS
so far ive been borrowing books from the national library, think they are quite good, just have to wipe them down first.

y not sign up your babies as member of the library? i intend to sign jadelle up this weekend @ Toa payoh library, so i can borrow books to read to her..instead of constantly buying..

re: pneumococcal jabs
Natalie had hers and next thurs will be her last. No fever and nothing for her yeah. If im not wrong, cost $160-$170. Mine taken at Gleneagles Singapore Baby and child clinic. My PD normally charge alot lesser for consultation if i have 2jabs for her. Next thurs wil be her last delayed HepB Jab & Prevenar.

re: rotavirus.
Thought to take oral before 6mths? she has 2oral doses till 6mths.

Gathering? On 24th Mar? I sure cant make it again. Having my exam soon 1st 2week of Apr and 24MAR is my BIRTHDAY hehehe.. spending morning at sch and afternoon with natalie and hb

Erin,
Don mention about making our day bad or wat. we also get a chance to vent out ours too! Think IL issue is never never ending.. we respect them no matter wat so hope they wil treat us differently too lo.

hi Jas

Hehe i signed leon up as a member already, so he has been borrowing books on his own account ;) i have fines on mine that i refuse to pay, so i'm also using leon's account heehee. the library also has a v good range of parenting books

thanks mummies!

i "book" jadelle for injections @ singapore baby & child clinic for 168sgd nett..
in 2 weeks time.. as she will be 7 months then..

hi jasmine and pups,
intending to sign kayden up as member of the library later perhaps after he knows how to walk. then he can walk and choose the books he like.

rite now, am building up a mini-library which he can use next time when he's older. another thing is that he loves to eat and tear the pages. he has torn the pages of a couple of magazines liao. so scared he'll tear the pages of the library books.

hi pups,
dun worry too much. have already made the choice so must think positively. it could be a learning opportunity for leon and he will have more opportunities to socialise with his peers. it's usually like that until you see that he's coping well.

initially, i was losing sleep when my confinement lady left and I was so worried abt whether I (a new mummy) and my parents (who have never touched kids for more than 20+ yrs) could take care of kayden as well as my confinement lady. but now, i must say I shdn't have worried cos kayden is growing well.

hi pupsandcups, cocomo,
just to share what other mommies hv shared with me before, look for infant care airy and spacious, generally doesnt mix toddlers with babies, lower chances of catching flu. i guess even if it helps reduce the chances of falling ill by a little it's worth it.

thanks jill

the one that i'm keen on, is non-aircon, v airy. the infant bay is seperate from the toddlers area, different unit under a block of hdb, so is q safe. even the area for the crawlers is far away from the babies. they also bathe baby twice a day, and from wat i see, they r vvv clean. so hope it works out ok lor.

Long time no sign in cos was on leave spending time with megan! She is turning 7months tomorrow! time flies!So many posts to read! The pneu jab megan is taking at SBCC in Gleneagles is $160. Cheap not?

Hi Rain, Cyn and mummies who went for the aquaducks trial,
How did it go? everything ok? I was there for the IT fair and it was really crowded!

hi Jas, pups and erin,
good idea to sign our babies as members to the library... can borrow instead of buy... but I am also trying to build up a library of books in our house so that she can have a mini-corner where she can go read books..but like Kayden, she is now more of eating than reading books:p

hi pups,
Try to think positively... I think childcare is good for babies development...Look on the bright side... the rainbow would be out soon ya?

hi jasmine,

been so long since i last posted. very bz with work, and can't catch up with all the posts.

my PD charges $170/jab which includes consultation.
Everton Clinic @ Everton Park.

re: pneumococcal jab
i also intend to let Denise have it at a later age, bcos my doc told me as long she's not really mixing with alot of kids (like in CC), then it should be fine.

May I know which brand of sippy cup do you all use? do you start with a nipple teat attachment first? thanks

hi jas, pups, erin & piyo,
not to mention books...i can't even let her get hold of the flashcards, she'll put them straight into her mouth!

can check with u regarding car installment, road tax, etc. my family thinking of getting a car. not now, perhaps only when my sis graduate next yr. dad asked me to check regarding the payment required per month.

Need yr advise. I just started Kayden with porridge. I have tried
(1) Carrot + pork porridge (His favourite so far)
(2) Pumpkin + pork porridge (Dislike)
(3) broccoli + pork porridge (Dislike)
(4) For fish thinking to intro end of 7 mths or beginning of 8 mths onward (My pd advise me to start at 9 mths for fish)
(5) Ikan bilis + Porridge?? (I heard got many types of ikan bilis, which type to buy??)

What else you all add to yr porridge??

i also rented for rent-a-toy, Roger is very efficient. I rented the leapfrog exersaurcer...can keep him occupied for at least 10 mins...
724925.jpg

Hi Piyo,

Thanks for organizing the trial. Emma and Reina enjoy so much. But bb Nat seems to be afraid of water. But I beleive she enjoys herself as well.

Hi Honey,
I have tried
1) Carrot + Cod fish porridge
2) Sweet potatoes with porridge
3) Pork ribs porridge
4) Ikan bilis with porridge

Reina loves all...

But when I add in spinach, she dun like.. I think she dun like those greeny taste.

She loves apple so much. Usually I give her after her breakfast(milk) She even can eat half of it. But on that day, she poos 3 times.. Then ganna scold by my mum saying should feed her afew times a day and not give her half apple at one time. :p

honeyhaven,
if i dun have slow cooker, can i cook porridge in normal pot?

fiona,
hehe your denise like ryan too. he has to taste everything. if i carry him on a sofa, he will lean over my shoulder to lick the chair back.

ryan has tried the Magmug and the Nuk sippy cup.

Hi honeyhaven,

I have done the following porriage combination. For green leafy vegetable, they tends to be a bit bitter in taster so I usually add it with either carrot, pumpkin or sweet potato. please note sweet potato may cause wind.

1. cauliflower + kailan
2. sweet peas + carrot
3. carrot + xiao bai cai
4. carrot + cai xin
5. potato + broccoli
6. sweet potato + cai xin
7. 'Heng' cai (My mil put this)

For meat, beside fish, I just started chicken this week, will use pork next week. But, my FIL just told me this morning, better don't eat too much chicken cause will cause phlegm.

My girl is quite a 'pig', so far whatever i give her, she eats except when she's teething, appetitie drops.

Not sure about whether ikan bilis should be used, read from this forum, most mummies advised not to put as will make the porriage too salty.

Hi honeyhaven,
I haven started jay on pork yet. So far he had porridge with "nor fish" dun noe how to spell..haha.. together with carrots, fish with potato and fish with spinach (which he simply hate and will make a face) today he is starting on porridge with cod fish...Not much variety as compared to yrs..hee hee...he tried more with cereal i think, pumpkin, apple, mango(his favourite) and i am starting him wif brocollic (wich i tasted n i dun think he will like...it is yucks...) and pears...

Butter,
is the magmag cup from pigeon good? Coz jay can hold the cup but he like dun noe how to drink water from it leh. I let him using the avent one...he will hold but dun noe how to raise it high to drink so i have to prop it up for him to drink but always water seems to flow out more than he drinks leh..dun noe if maybe other brand will work better for him leh...mummies any comments?

Amy,
wow yr girl has tried so many combinationn so much veggies...btw how do u cook the veggies with the porridge? Do u cut them into small pieces and then cook together in the porridge? Also for puree, corns and sweet peas etc? Is the corn those corn on the cob or those mini corn usually frozen type in a pack? Sweet peas are those used together wif fried rice and frozen in a pack kind is it? I need to get jay to start eating more veggies..think he is taking more fruits than veggies..also my MIL say cant let bb take too much carrots coz can cause yellow skin like jaundice...is it true? I am running out of ideas for his porridge and rice cereal for lunch liao..headache leh..

augbaby,
cuz i started ryan a bit early with the magmug, he tends to chew it (cus he started teething), so after the teething period, i intro the nuk one, which is slightly harder. I guess he now associates that with juice and water so its better now. the Nuk doesnt drip, pretty good.
However, my mum n maid have started him sipping from a normal cup, they say he drinks, i really dunno so i just let them go ahead. he doesn't really know how to lift the cup himself. we have to lift it high enough so he gets the fluids.

my boy is not on any porridge yet, guess my mum lazy to make.. i cant make it cuz porridge oso cannot store over nite.

when u cook porridge with pork or fish, do we need to puree the stuff? cuz the food will be chunky rite?

for porridge w spinich & potatoes etc, just mash after cooking isit?

Hi Amy
So you like me will wait until later then intro fish is it?? My idea was to put 1 meat (chicken, pork or fish) and 1 veg in his porridge. Like that his diet will be more balance and with 1 type of fruit for the day. I heard ikan bilis from Japan (Can be bought near si ma lu temple) baby eat already quite good. I also think that normal ikan bilis quite salty, so I was thinking ask u all to see if anyone here knows. You started 2 meals for yr baby already?? I still on 1 meal (porridge or cereal) and 1 type of fruit for 1 day. Stiil hoping to let him try more variety of veg or meat to check for his allergy.

HI butter8
Yes u can use normal pot. I uses slower cooker at my home and my MIL uses normal pot.

Hi rain
Maybe my Kayden also dislike the bitter taste for the broccoli. I tried on him 2 days, he rejected it.

Hi augbaby
It is true.. Carrot and papaya is not advisable to take too much. So i need to think of more combination for his porridge. I also using pigeon mag mug..Seems to be ok.

butter,
for porridge wif fish, think my maid will cut the fish into reali small pieces n cook together wif the porridge..as for the potato, she will cook it first and then use a spoon to mash b4 adding into the porridge..spinach i not sure coz jay only eat 1 time n it was prepare by my MIL...

wat other fruits we can give to bb now wif cereals ah for a 7mths old bb...i am running out of ideas to puree and freeze...i haven tried jay on banana yet..but hor is it those big bananas or those small small one? As for veggies wat other veggies can a 7mths old bb eat now wif porridge other than brocolic n spinach?? Oh ya for got to add that jay tried avocado as well...think his favourite is pumpkin n mango...

oh btw how long can we store avocado in the fridge ah? Coz sometimes it is rather big and feed bb once a day with avocado like still will have a lot left leh...so wasted if can keep in fridge for 2-3days only leh..n cant freeze somemore..any mummies know how long we can store and if we have to wrap the exposed flesh wif stringwrap?

Hi mummies, I also started using Mag Mag for my boy but mine is a old version, bought during the Pigeon warehouse sale last year. Last weekend, saw it Taka Fair, a set of mag mag with 3 sprouts for 3 diff stages at only $12.90...thinking of switching to the new one.

Porridge
My mum started my boy on porridge cooked with pork...so far he seem to like it. Over weekend, I tried sweet potato with porridge...seem to dislike it. guess need to try some of the recipe here...

So when do I add the vegetables? I usually use a slow cooker...

oh ya 1 more thing...do u mummies now feed yr bb fruits after porridge or rice cereal or mix together..coz jay is now on 2 meals a day, rice cereal for lunch n porridge for dinner...so is it ok if we feed like 1 fruit after lunch n another serving of fruits after porridge? N how much portion to feed them? I am using the cube to freeze it and is 1 cube eno?

Hi aubaby,

Funny, all MIL so alike. My MIL said the same thing about carrot. So, I alternate between carrot, pumpkin, sweet potato, potato & cauliflower to mix with the green vege.

When I first started on porriage, i leave it to my MIL. She will cook the porriage + fish in slow cooker first, then half hour before meal time, she will cut the vege into small pieces and add them into the porriage. ( put carrot/potato first, after a while green vege) After that, blend the porriage.

But, now because I decide to continue to do the vegetable puree so that I can give baby more variety and control the quantity. Plus, for puree, i steam the vegetables which is healthier than boiling in porriage. So, now I will prepare the vege puree in batch and freeze then. My mil needs only to cut the meat and cook the porriage.

For peas, I use 'snow peas'(stalk by stalk with the peas inside). That's why must go supermarket and buy the vegetable instead of market as the vegetables are labelled. For corn, I have the same question as you. Must be because of Annabel's book.

honeyhaven,

Fish is the first meat I introduce, only this week, I started on chicken. I more kiasu, i put 1 root vegetable + 1 green vegetable + 1 meat in the porriage. My baby is on 3 milk + 3 solids. Her feeding schedule is like this:

7am - 180ml milk
7:45am - 60ml cereals ( a bit little compared to recommendation, so don't follow)
11plus - 1 cube fruit puree + porriage (2/3 soup bowl)
3 or 4 plus - 210ml milk
6 or 7 plus - 1 cube fruit puree + porriage (2/3 soup bowl)
9plus - 150ml

amy,
snow peas wat still ah? i am not sure leh..is it those that comes in a green pod and inside got peas but pp usually eat the pods n all but we use the pea? i dun think that is the one right? How long can puree be stored in the freezer ah? Coz if i make a batch always like so much leh..so u will defroze the puree u store and then add in the porridge when abt to feed yr girl is it?

hi butter,
so magmug will leak? and nuk doesn't? dunno which one is better, definitely prefer one that won't make a mess :p

seems like most of your babies are on porridge le...i'm still considering whether to buy the
braun blender, need to pureed the veg and porridge before serving rite?

hi erin,

i've pm you my contact, my hubby's in the car industry, will be able to help you save some $$. however you will have to decide on which car you are interested in before we can work out the amt for you. so take your time, when want to purchase then let me know

URGENT -
anyone living ard Bt Merah/Queenstown/Redhill knows of any PD other than the one at Tiong Bahru(Central Mall)?

need to send my boy asap! need yr help...thanks!

I am planning to start porridge with Megan next week. Can I ask you, do you start with plain porridge or 1st time intro already with pork or pumpkin or sweet potato liao? How long do you all cook the porridge if it's via a) slow cooker, b) normal pot?

erin,

On pneumococcal jabs, I'm for the opinion of taking it the earliest possible.

I remember the brochure says that children below 2 yrs have the highest chance of catching it.

To me it's like insurance, like buying an accident policy. You buy it just in case kena accident. And since you won't know when or if you will ever kena accident, you'll buy as early as you can, JUST IN CASE. Then again, it's not as if you buy and hope that you'll kena accident.

I apply the same logic to the pneumococcal jabs. So I'll let my boy have his jab at the end of this month when he's 7 months old, the earliest possible according to my PD since he took the 5-in-1 jabs.

Actually, when my PD explained to me about the number of jabs to take depending on the age the baby has his jab, I did ask her for her opinion on when would be a good time to take. Her response was "Of course earlier the better". My sentiments exact.

erin,

On pneumococcal jabs, I'm for the opinion of taking it the earliest possible.

I remember the brochure says that children below 2 yrs have the highest chance of catching it.

To me it's like insurance, like buying an accident policy. You buy it just in case kena accident. And since you won't know when or if you will ever kena accident, you'll buy as early as you can, JUST IN CASE. Then again, it's not as if you buy and hope that you'll kena accident.

I apply the same logic to the pneumococcal jabs. So I'll let my boy have his jab at the end of this month when he's 7 months old, the earliest possible according to my PD since he took the 5-in-1 jabs.

Actually, when my PD explained to me about the number of jabs to take depending on the age the baby has his jab, I did ask her for her opinion on when would be a good time to take. Her response was "Of course earlier the better". My sentiments exact.

fiona,
the mag mug dun leak but its a bit rubbery and soft, so my boys chews on it instead of suck or drink for now. i will use it again when he is ready for straw.