(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Augbaby/Leia,
Saw ytday's First Step preview, all our Jayden/Jadon were on TV!

Think I will still feed Jay myself for the 7pm feed lo. Really dun wanna my maid to feed him at early stage. As long as not straight go to long sleep think shd be ok gua. Me not like you guys, I dun have anyone else to feed for me le. so envy you guys.

Hi cocomo,
the show showing liao? I no time to watch.. keep forgetting! haha!

I tot the mummies here rec not to feed in the evening? If can feed, I also wan lei! then I can do all the feeding, 1 in morning 1 at night!

hi piyo and pups,
i'm in the same dilemma too. dunno shd start or not. my sis working at kkh and my pd says start cereal at 6 months. start porridge later at about 8 months when he can start taking more food. haiz... headache.

i also want to be the one to start feeding him solids. i'm slightly luckier as I can go to work a little later so I can feed him breakfast.

can check with u gals? when u say start with porridge, do we just add in veggie puree in the porridge 1st? how abt meat or fish? can they take meat or fish during the 6th or 7th month? am so confused abt all these. dunno what they can take and what they can't. my father and I have food allergy so dare not let kayden try solids too early.

Hi Augbaby,
I scared my mum overfeed ah! you know I found out last week, cot her red-handed circling baby's lips with a bit of the quakers oatmeal I always eat in the morning lei... I told her megan not ready she says last time we also like that grow up haiz... so if I tell her can feed liao, can imagine how much she will be feeding...so I hope I am ard to monitor her feedings too haha!

Seems like our baby will be on 3 meals a day by 6 mths if we start introducing by 5th mth according to your PD? how ah? I am confused! Actually, I very tempted to start megan on solids soon cos I hope by 7-8mths her feeding and sleeping time will stabilise then easier to enrol her for enrichment classes! stupid reason huh?

where can I buy the FIRST FOOD/CEREAL/RICE to intro to baby ah? anyone bot from the brown sice prardise in tanglin mall? and what brand of feeding spoons/set good? how much and where to buy?

Hi pups,
We're in the same boat. I'm going to wait till my baby is 6 months before introducing his first cereal. As long as your baby is feeding well on breastmilk and is gaining weight well, there is no need to hurry. I have 2 PDs and both said the same. Baby will have years and years of eating solid food. But only 6 months of being exclusively breastfed - that is getting all the right nutrients in the right amount. So we'll just wait for a few more weeks lah. ;)

piyo,
what my PD say is that now that jay is 5mths n coming 2wk, i shld actually start feeding him rice cereal coz by the time he is 6mths, we can start feeding him porridge and by the time he is 6mths, we can slowly establish his feeding schedule to 3meals a day, breakfast, lunch n dinner...i spoken to kelly yest too and she mentioned that after jay get use to cereal n move on to porridge, then if i am not comfy wif letting the maid feed jay breakfast then we can juz stick to lunch n dinner..so i guess from now till jay is into porridge and have establish his feeding schedule then i will wean him off breakfast n intro juz lunch n dinner...rest be milk too..i guess we all hav the fear that our mummies might overfed our bb or etc..but no choice...guess we juz have to let our mummy decide..anyway i told my mummy not to feed jay porridge wif fish n all till he is over 6mths old..so now is rice cereal..the rice cereal i bought is the one recommended by kelly. I bought from ntuc...
We also bought brown rice wif si sen from medical hall but my PD say start wif rice cereal first instead of brown rice in case bb got allergy...so i listen to her lor...had actually feed jay twice with rice cereal already but bec i used ebm to mix n which make the cereal watery such that jay seems to be drinking milk instead thou i spoon feed him..so this thur i took half day off and will try to feed jay again at abt 1pm with cereal mix wif FM this time so it will be thicker..N my mum is off this friday so she can continue on friday and we will continue over the wkends too..so 4 continuous day to try feed jay with cereal lor...I bought the pigeon spoons and also the nuby spoons..as for bowls, i got from ikea a few plastic colourful bowls they have for kids..so i think shld be ok for home feeding..

Cocomo,
think i will also want to at least feed jay 1 meal a day. Think i will try to feed him dinner too at abt 7pm everyday coz if not i will miss his feeding n next time wait he want the maid or my mummy to feed only then how?? i will cry man..

Augbaby,

Think both of us are possessive mummy!!! ha. . . There was one instant whereby Jay stopped crying when my confinemet lady carried him but not me, I cried like nobody's biz! So from there on I will pat Jay to sleep and fed him all by myself liao.

Piyo,
Showing next Monday 10:30pm Channel 8.

haha.. I'm a possessive mum too. I make it a point that I play with my baby after work, feed her before we sleep, and I take care of her at night. Wake up middle in the night to feed her! Have been doing it till now after my confiment.

Two weeks back, I came back from Hong Kong. I played with her but she ignored me. I cried too. My hubby talked to her not to ignore me. She seem to understand and she smiled at me.... haiz....

Hi Piyo,
I think you can buy baby cereal in NTUC.
I bought combi spoon and bowl. I also bought Piyo's bowl. Bought it in Kiddy Palace.

piyo, augbaby,

my MIL is the worse hor at least ur mum feed baby oatmeal. MY MIL i told her to wake me up in the morning when baby is up i want to feed her cereal, you know what? she tot she very smart want to feed my girl herself. lucky i wake up, she nearly feed my girl instand wip potato. i tot she buy the potato to eat herself. somemore the wip potato got butter and onion. i ask her what she feed her she say after half milk feed this potato mah. i stop her immediatly, i told her this u eat urself my girl only can eat rice cereal. i so angry. She don't know act like she very expert. i told hubby lucky not MIL take care of my girl i think bb will die very soon after birth if she look after.

actually you can try putting a spoon in the baby's mouth to see if he is ready. That's what my mum do. My baby started on cereal when he is 3.5 mth. Now we feed him twice a day (he is tunring 6th mth by end of this month) and replace with his milk.

note that we are all going thru the when to feed cereal/start solids phase and dealing with maid/caregiver carrying baby too much...
I face the same prob as some of u, cuz baby is at my mum's place, its either my mum or maid carrying...my mum is a little over careful and will not leave baby on tummytime or bumboo chair for more then 10mins...since its not me taking care, I can only request and advise and hope for the best

my boy prob cant turn back on his own or sit for long yet.. but he can flip either way and get stuck on his tummy... he doesnt seem to mind but will start to scream after a while :p
he probably not learn to crawl so fast if everyone keeps carrying him while i am at work..

my boy is still fully on milk only and I have not yet figured when to start cereal nor bought any... i have lots to learn from here and will go buy a box soon to stand by at home. i am also looking forward to buying some cute baby spoons as u gals have mentioned here...

caterine,
wow.. so shocking you MIL - instant whip potato?? wah a lot of sodium le... lucky u stop her..

jas,
how long were u away in HK? i am also going HK for a few days end of the month... worried now baby will notice..

got a lobang for Similac follow on going at $27.40.however i need to order a minimum of 14cans..anyone interested to share?

usual price at NTUC is $30.50.
pls PM me if you are keen to share...thanks!

butter,
yah lor she damn idiotic one told her to wake me up to make the cereal as she does not know how to make at all and she tot she very smart. can't stand her.

Handi - Guess we hv petite babies.

My gal also likes to go backward...she uses her legs to push herself backwards.One moment she is at the bottom of the bed,the nex she is at the top haha.

My girl finally flip on Monday!!!
Yesterday night after work, my mil told me that she don't have the time to keep on flip her back, so she put my baby on the bouncer. The safety belt for the bouncer is spoilt and knows what she did! She used a belt to tie my baby on the bouncer. She said it does not work so she used safety pins to pin my baby to the bouncer. So that my baby will not flip and she don't need to flip my baby back!!!!
kao_angry.gif
Like that my baby how to learn to sit and crawl.

hi babyboy,
I was in Hong Kong for 4 days 3 nights. How long will you be in Hong Kong.

hi jas, not me gg HK...think its Butter...

btw, yr mil use safety pins to pin yr baby to bouncer? isnt that dangerous? would safety pin poke her?

anyone knows wat is the different bet the playmat and children floormat from smallsmallworld? I am thinking if i shld get a playmat for jay coz it be nice sometime to be able to put him there and he can move or play there in the hall and we can watch him when we eat etc instead of now where we put him on the our bed...

Hi diana,
thanks for the link..i went to read it already but hor still rather blur leh..shld i be buying a bumper playmat or a children floormat..any mummies can advise? N do u think it is pointless to buy one now that jay is coming to 6mths?

I bought bumper playmat from babejoy

http://www.babejoy.com/shop/

You can redeem $20 voucher from them so it's about $6 cheaper than smallsmallworld and you don't have to wait for BP.

don't have to wait until 6 month as you can let baby practise flip, craw now. My girl is 4.5month old.

Hi Augbaby,
I haf the playmat too. It's not stupid cos you can use it with the haemin playward surround it and let him play inside later... can even let him sleep in it like mattress during day time while you all do your stuff around the house.

my 2 cents worth!

Hi jas,
I understand your excitement! I was equally excited when I saw megan flip 360 degrees on Sunday! even gathered whole family to watch and ask her "rewind" show us again haha! Just last night she was flipping even when she is sleeping... so cute!

which brand of baby cereal did you buy from NTUC?

piyo,
i dun have the haemin play yard...it is so exp too...
I bought pigeon n nuby spoons..nuby spoons has an indicator to show if the food is too hot..the tip of the spoon will change colour..i bought the reuseable bowls wif lips from munckins...i also bought some bowls from pigeon...haha...juz buy n buy..might have to return coz too many..haha

diana,
my bb is coming to 6mths now liao..so was juz wondering if it is too late to buy lor..

piyo,
which playmat do u have? Coz i saw from smallsmallworld that some playmat is slightly smaller leh...u got the world map one?

babyboy,
she is using those safety pins for cloth diaper. I guess should be safe. Haiz....

piyo,
I have not bought the cereal yet. Might be buying Heiz(hope the spelling is right), as I read from one of the thread that Heiz cereal is not sweet.

MH,

Hi don worry abt ur little darling weight. I was liek u so anxious in e past TILL now i m still.. but as long bb is drinking n actively y worry okie? Mine gg to 5mths this sun, she weight oni about 6.1kg! She jus start 1/2 teaspoon cereal n finish it.. though i not ard to see bt mil i hopefully she can do it properly.. oni weekend i be doing myself..

Sometime maybe we are over possessive which I realli v v agree. Recent always argue with Hb abt bb stuffs, bb eating etc... n HE jus scream at mi "ppl help u take care well n go on. DON expect this n tat as long bb is eating, safe n growing! what method does it really matters?" Feel so sad to hear this right... BUT after some thoughts, I felt it could be true. WE HAVE so many things to bother. FAMILY, WORK, BB, maybe even school... How much can we spare a small part of our brain for it forever? Maybe we shld try learn to relac abit.. when our little ones gg to schooling etc THERE is more to worried!

Though it may seems bit worried like hearing everyone bb is learning to flip. learning to eat or even fliped over. I felt individuals applies.. so let don stress so much on our bb n sometime let nature take its course yeah!

MH,
Cynthia is right, I never worry about my girl as long as she is eating well sleeping well and playing well. weight is not a problem as long as they are not underweight. Some bb are heavier some are slightly lighter but is all by our genes. if bb parents are bigger size or smaller size u will see of cos bb will be similiar as the parents size. best is dun compare ur bb size with others its totally wrong way of thinking.

and yah bb flip or not its does not matter sooner or later bb will sure flip just some slower some faster.

just enjoy spending time with your bb is most impt.

Hi Augbaby,
I got from small small world in apr last year. I bot the rainbow pooh one... that time no world map yet:p I did not want to get too big either cos worried no such big space to put

I dun have the haemin play-yard too... Just keeping that option open that I may need it later but definately not now.

Where did you get the nuby spoons? I have friends recommending me that too. Is pigeon any good?

augbaby,

was browsing thru n read u asking about the playmats. i actually have 2 playmats. 1 for my mum's place, 1 for my mil's place.

i've both the rainbow pooh mat (from babejoy) n the world map playmat (from smallsmallworld). these are my observations la:

- rainbow pooh mat thicker than the world map. can feel the difference (to me n hubby who have taken the opportunity to lie down on the mat while playin with bb). somehow the world map really does feel harder n thinner when lying on it

- rainbow pooh mat is smaller (size-wise) than world map. not fully noticeable la..

- world map somehow feels more educational than the rainbow pooh mat. got MOST of the countries. minus point? NO SINGAPORE. n it's in english n in KOREAN. and cos the world map is from k-o-r-e-a. the center of the world is k-o-r-e-a. different from the usual maps where australia is usually at one corner. now australia quite in the middle. but it's still educational.

- rainbow pooh mat has its educational points also la. like the picture of the tree, flower, bird, bee got the words next to them also. minus point is that it's not a whole picture. it's those repeat-print type.

- the reverse side of the world map is like a carpet/mat type of picture. the reverse side of the rainbow pooh map is like a parquet floor type of picture.

in my opinion, playmat has been very helpful to me n my family members n d maid. got space for my girl to roll around other than the bed (we dun really want to get a mattress to put on the floor either which can be troublesome n heavy to put away). then we can sit/lie with her to play also. we like to sit there n let her lie down on our laps n feed her. if spill milk or vomit or her diapers leak, no problem can wipe easily.
hope this helps. cheers!

I am quite envy some mommies had d opportunity to watch / feed your child for the 1st time. Mine i think is the worst case of all as gal is not w me during weekday MIL hd d honor 2 witness it all. Furthermore, last sun i din quite catch my gal sign that she is hungry despite the hour nt reach yet. when MIL asked whether she is hungry and got her responded, i straight away kena 'shoot' by MIL. I still feeling hurt (and useless) until today. NOW the temptation of being SAHM is geting stronger. HOW.....

HI CECELIA,

U r not alone... my gal is staying wit mil from mon-thurs. We lvie so far apart n my mum working too. I only get to see her alt days like tues n thurs.. sometime maybe oni thurs as im having my class on mon, wed & fri nite! SO hb mission is to bring her back FRI nite.. by e time i reach home after sch she already slept. SO MY ONI PRECIOUS TIME WIT HER IS sat n sun...

Im getting v depressful for a start without able to see feel knoe everything on her. WANTED so much be SAHM bt i cant... financially don allows. SOmetime if i didnt see her for 3-4days, she look at mi blurr blurr bt after awhile she noe who i am. I tel myself, no doubt how, mother is always mother they wil know.

Mayb now we may not b able to go through the impt stages BUT make fully use of the weekends we have n give them wat we can is the 1st. WHen bb grow up they will know. JUS like we now, learn to love our parents mroe after we grown up, getting married etc. Jsut a beginning stage that bb prefer with grandparents than us if working..

SOmetime i tell myself, close to grandparents is beta than with maid right. And also.. how long will them be around? Let them play with grandchild n enjoy it.. we got plenty of time with our kid. Jus learn to be positive, make fully use of time.. i believe it will be fruitful. Say is easy la.. cos for mi im still learning to accept tat once a while my gal wil jus ignore or dono who i m for a start OR even not v sticky wit mi lo...

Hi, Cecelia

me same situation as u... my gal also not with me during weekdays with mil.. also feel very bad lor as I personally feel that it best to look after baby from birth & not to let other pple to take care of baby..but no choice as got to work so in the end, baby is being looked after by mil. but I make it a point to visit baby after work everyday play, talk & feed baby. yes.. its quite sad when baby give us a clue that she is hungry & we as mother do not even know they want.i experienced that too. & sometime mil said that baby had started to flip & talk & the first person who saw that is not us mummies (even more sad)

dont think too much as I believe, baby will still know that mummy is the most important person in their life for me, my baby will cry for mummy to rock her to sleep, for feeding, when I brought her home, I will also be the one feeding her. for starting of cereal, I started feeding during weekend & when she back in mil house, I will asked her to feed lor .

baby will smile when she saw me.... try to talk to her more when u visit her during weekday

Hi Cynthia and Cecelia,
Dun feel so bad... I think all of us working mums get this kind of feeling some way or the other. It's just a matter of the extent. Liek although I get to see my ger everyday, I have evry little time with her, maybe about 2+hrs a day? cos she sleeps early at 8plus... by the time we go home, what time liao? then grandparents also "hijack" her to play etc... end up very little time... morning rushy rushy... even lesser time... my ger recognises or chuckles at my maid more than me...I tried to think positively that at least she is well taken care of by my maid when we are not ard?!?!

but friends tell me baby wil know who is the mother so DUN WORRY.... so i am listening to them and feel much better now

hope it helps

hi piyo

a big difference man!

try playing peek a boo with her... i tried that on baby & she will laugh very loudly... so funny

MATS

can i ask mommies, any of you use the ABC mats? as i heard they r toxic?? what else can be recommended that is cheaper than the small small world one is too expensive ...

CNY is coming... ask you all, any idea where to buy those "dong dong qiang" aka china cheongsum wear for our little ones at 6mths?

Hi pups,
I have the ABC mats at home but never take out and use. If you dun wanna use that, how about the playmats? another alternative... what about those exercise mats? I find those ok too

Hi Jesline,
Now, I try to spend more time playing and reading to her...else wait next time she sun even gif me a smile I die lah!

piyo,
I bought the nuby from metro...actually the nuby spoons recommended to me by Jas..hee hee...i haven use them yet thou..started using the pigeon one n i do like it though the nuby one the spoon is bigger and can hold more cereal i think..the disadvantage of the pigeon one is one of the spoon is for cereal and the other spoon is for juice n soup...that is wat was indicated..so no choice as it is 2 spoons in 1 pack..
I am so tempted to buy the playmat but now deciding wich one to buy..do u find that the world map is also not as thick as mentioned by peachsorbert?

peach,
thanks so much for the info...i like the world map design n not the pooh rainbow design leh coz i find a little girlish..but then the main thing is i want a playmat that is thicker and worth it as i dun wan my boy to be lying on something so exp n in the end not much worth it or like lying on the floor coz our room is parquet...
sigh...i reali dun noe..how leh..anyway is the mat big eno for bb to flip here n there n crawl etc? Coz my boy is now like flipping to his tummy n flip back and moving backwards etc..i got a play gym then will mobiles for him to grab but is rather small n now he moves a little n his head is out of the gym mat already...

Hi Cecelia,

Initially, when I started to work after my maternity, she likes everybody in the house beside me. She will smile and get very excited when my parent-in-law or sis-in law plays with her. When my sis-in-law stands beside me, she will rather look at my sis-in-law than me.

Try to play something different from the rest of the family. I play peek-a-boo and I sing "If you are happy" song with her. My girl ignores my hubby when he plays peak-a-boo or sings "If you are happy" song!

Make full use of Sat and Sun. For me, I bath her, feed her, etc....

Sometime mil is not sensitive towards our feeling. Their heart pain when they see their grandchildren hungry, crying away, etc.... My mil also like that. She will say things like my baby will not sleep without her, my baby likes her more coz she looks after my baby, blah blah blah....

For these few days, my girl somehow or rather will ignore my mil when I'm around. My mil commented that in front of me. I even console her saying that she will likes her.

Children will know who is their mummy!!! Put in an effort.

Right now, Im learning and mastering a skill - One ear in and one ear out!!!