(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi jeannie,
My baby is still on total breastfeeding, and he wakes up every 3 hours for night feeding. A friend of mine tells me not to give our nipple straightaway when he's turning his head. It might be just that he's scratching himself. And to train him to sleep longer. I tried, but doesn't work on my baby. He'd cry if he's not given his feed.

My boy refused bottle. Tried some time ago, and he doesn't like it. I haven't tried it again. Is it necessary? Or just wait till he's bigger?

Catherine - Tks for ur feedback.Ya i agree baby outgrow very fast..in fact im looking to sell only children clothings frm 1-4yrs old. My baby so small nw...she can still fit into her 1mth clothings !!

Piyo-I gave birth to my gal naturally w/o epi..came out so small tey were oso surprised, the gynae even told me my baby weight shld be ard 3kg..in the end, he was stunned too.In France, the midwives deliver for us..even tho' my baby was so small, i had difficulty pushing her out, in the end tey hv to ask the gynae to help.Wow..u must be worried that time when u found out the cord is ard ur baby's neck.Tks God...everything is well nw.

May i know in S'pore,how often is the scan ? coz mine was oni 3times during pregnancy at 3rd mth, 5th mth & the last one was ard 1mth b4 birth.

Handi - Ya the lifestyle here is good..initially i wanted to go back Spore so badly coz realli nothing to do & lang. prob but nw..i wish i can stay longer.I stay in Bordeaux, ur fren ?

Pic of my babygal.
645086.jpg

Hi MH
my gal was 3.14kg when she was born. Dun really consider small but dun noe why she doesn't drink much.
As I am back to work, my mum is helping me to take care of my gal. She normally give her 60-80ml of EBM, and if not enuff, then she top up another 30-60ml of FM. (recently she rarely need to top up as my gal had problem to finish the 60-80ml of milk)

Hi Jasmine / Handi
so we can use the Pigeon preistaltic teat with avent bottle? maybe i will buy & try.
I heard NUK is good too.. any comment on NUK?

Hi Apple
I do give my gal gripe water... i mix roughly 2.5-5ml of gripe water wif 20ml of water.

Hi Butterfly
I am now on partial BF... cos back to work liao.
Onli latch my gal at night.
If u still continue to feed ur boy.. then no hurry to train he bottle.. juz that if he is too use to direct latch on.. next time if u want to stop BF .. then ur boy may hav some problem adjusting to bottle feed.

Hi MrsChng
your boy finished his milk during every feed?
will he cry for more? if he doesn't, then i think should be fine.

Wat does E in EBM means ? For my gal since birth she has been bottlefeed, feed BM den drink FM coz nurses say she too small so cant 100% BM. I also heard of mothers saying they hv prob training their babies to bottle after the babies r so comfortable latching on..dats y frm the start i give her bottle FM mix wif BM.

Jeannie - I find NUK nt bad..dunno if SIN sell the same teats as France but the shape of the teats is design to prevent air frm entering ur baby when he/she is drinking.When my gal was in hospital, tey give me FM in a small bottle form wif NUK teats & i find it good.
Could it be the teat hole is too small dats y ur gal nt drinking ?

MH,
local pregnancy scan are when baby is 7-8weeks 12weeks then after that will be once per month until last month when reaching EDD will be every week until we give birth.

jeannie,
ur bb is ok as long as she is drinking milk she is alright. my colleague's son was still drinking 40ml when he was 6mths.

Catherine - Tks for the info..wow so many scans..can keep all those scan photos & see their devt everymth..i hv to anticipate every visit lor coz hv to wait like 2-3mths.

Btw..mummies..hw can i intro cereal to my gal ? Hw much & when ? Does it means taking away 1 milk feed to feed her cereal ?

And also working mummies..hw can u cope working & taking care of ur babies ? coz i find it so tiring..i intend to find a job when i return back to SIN but dunno if i can cope.

MH,
not all scanning comes with photos unless u request from the gynea . otherwise they won't give u unless is during the 8 week scan and detail scan they will give. But if private gynea that might be different.

for cereal start from 1/2 teaspoon to 1 teaspoon and slowly increase day by day, like today u feed her half teaspoon then tml 1 teaspoon, then next day 11/2 teaspoon, slowly increase until it replace ur bb's 1 milk feed.

Thanks aug Mummies...

me only met Kelly b4 ....

are ur babies on cereal feeding yet? how much they eat?
mY boy on 3 hour feeding but at night it's abt 2-3 times at night time.. any advice on how I can make him sleep all the way and wake up in the morning?

My fren advise me to feeed him full full for the last feed at night, i tried but once he drink abt 90ml, he refuse to open his mouth liao and 3 hours later, he will cry in hunger again..

My Kayden has a bit of running nose and slight fever yesterday. After taking med, he is alright now. I must passed the virus to him.

Update his details:-

1- smlow Louisa 4mths 2wks - 8.2kg 65.5cm
2 -Leia Jadon 4mths - 7.2kg
3 -Jokojoko Aidan 4mths - 8.2kg 64cm
4 -erin Kayden 4mths - 7.2kg 64cm
5 -kelly's edward 4mths - 7.5kg 64cm (now 5.5mths-8.4kg 66cm)
6 -Noelle's Julien @ 4mths - 6.9kg 66cm
7 -Piyo's Megan @ 4mths - 6.8kg 63cm
8 -butter8's Ryan @ 4mths 1 week - 7.8kg 64.5cm
9 -leobbsmom's Shervonn @ 4mths 3weeks - 6.9kg 64cm
10-Fiona's Denise @ 4mths - 6.8kg 63cm
11-Isis's Ying fei @ 4 mths 3 weeks - 6.8kg 63 cm
12-Cynthia's Natalie @4mths 1 week - 5.9kg 64cm.
13-Adeline's Leon @4mths - 6.3kg 61cm
14-Chloe @ 4mths + 5 days - 6.5kg 62cm.
15- cj's Kaefer @ 3mths 2 wks - 6.9kg 65cm
16- jesline's Jia Hui @ 5mths - 7.5kg
17- celine's yee leng@ 4mths 2 wks- 5.7kg
18- catherine's Charlotte @ 4mths - 7.2kg
19 - jasmine's jadelle @ 4 months 1 day - 6.5kg
20- Dino's Pierson @ 4mth 1wk- 7.4kg, 68cm
21 - Handi's Shyanne @4.5mths - 6.3kg, 65cm
22 - cocomo's Jayden @ 5mth - 7.1kg, 65cm
23 - butterfly's Noah @ 4mth - 9.0kg, 65.6cm
24 - Jade's Kyra @ 4mth - 5.8kg, 63cm
25 - MH's Genevive @ 4mth was - 6.25kg,59cm
26 - mrschng's Jordan @ 4.5 mth - 6.6kg (duno length though)
27 - honeyhaven's Kayden @ 5mths - 8.3kg 68.5cm.

Welcome New Mommies!

Feel free to air all your frustrations, ask for advise and basically say anything here!

Sorry I have not been posting recently as been kinda busy in the office, and usually that's the only time i post.

Re: 20% off KINO
Those mommies who r keen, i think KELLY, JESLINE, AUGBB, please PM me, and I will give you my account number. Sorry me is VV blur, n don use internet banking, so i won't know how to check if the $ is in, but i know u gals, so trust you
re: collection, arrange with me directly, cos if wait for me to post, can wait v long.. best to arrange collection somewhere.

TRYING TO CRAWL
Right now, leon is trying vv hard to crawl, but his arms got no strength to push his big butt up heehee. in the end, he either moves backwards, or in circles, its vvv funny!

MH:
E in EBM means 'Expressed' breast milk.

SMLOW:
OH no!! sounds like a lot of things happening with you. I said a prayer for your family last night, for a quick recovery and towards good health this year. We shall all meet up in Feb at Kelly's.

hi, MH

had started baby on cereal last sat.... using 1 teaspoon of baby cereal mixed with hot water & stirred... after that will feed baby with spoon... baby likes it very much.... did not cut down on baby milk intake... still giving her 150ml every 3-4hrs & after milk feed,wait for 1hr & then will feed her cereal

Dear New Mummies,
Welcome aboard...

Hi to all,
Happy New Year to all of you n family. So many posting for this 3 weeks. Thread is vv active.

SMLow,
How are you now? Hope that u n family are ok. Take care hor.

Jesline,
Me oso try cereal for bb but mine dun like lei.. Keep turning her head to left n right when she saw the spoon move toward her mouth.

MH,
For my case, every scanning doc will gv me the scanning pic lei (mind you mine is pte doc).

Honeyhaven,
How is kayden now? Recover from his fever?

Pupsandcups,
My gal, oso the same, only noe to move backward.

Hi pups,
Okie...will PM u...hee hee...leon is same as my jay..he is also like learning to crawl and now he can like push himself on his legs n lift his butt high up in the air but then also hands no strength and hence he cant move himself forward..haha...Now we can always see his butt high up in the air..he can only move backward or in circles too..haha...so nowadays someone must watch him or we put pillows all around him..he can now sometimes turn himself back from his tummy already...but only once or twice..haha..

can i check, when u feed yr babies cereal, do u use a bowl and spoon specially for babies? Where can i get it ah? I went to robinson at centrepoint and i cant seem to be able to find a bowl n feeding spoon leh...

augbaby,
avent n pigeon hav those plastic spoons for babies. i bot but yet to try. will start cereal end of the month i tik.

kelly,
which day is the Feb gathering?

CRAWLING
Kaefer can turn back fr tummy but doesn't seem to try to crawl yet. cant wait to see him moving abt in circles! haha

do ur babies flag their arms n legs when they r happy. kaefer does, like a gorilla but will hit his own tummy, making a 'tub tub', not sure whether does it hurts ... but he does it wen he is happy n excited.

Hi, Cecelia

my baby will open mouth big when she see the spoon coming.... & make noise when we stop feeding her....

Hi, augbaby
u can go to kiddy palace to buy the baby spoon... bought mine there costs abt 4.90 for 2 spoons & the spoon will change color if the food is too hot....& the material is those rubber type... so suitable for baby

Tks ladies for the advice..

Catherine - when u mean 1 teaspoon, do u mean by i teaspoon of cereal mix wif water den feed or as in really 1 teaspoon feed to her den dats it ?

Pupsandcubs - Tks for explaining..ur nick remind me of a cartoon

Jesline - wah..ur baby still wan to eat after her milkfeed..for mine..she can finish her milkmilk i very happy liao..nt to say feed her cereal an hr later..her mouth will close tight tight man. Ur baby feeding spoon so special. I use Fisher Price weaning set..comes wif feeding bowl, spoon & sme otr stuff.

Hi...

Some info on bb for your reading.

"Your baby, the little grabber, is working feverishly at improving his or her grasp by latching onto anything and everything that he or she can get his or her little hands around. Your baby will want to touch, hold, turn, shake, and put in his or her mouth everything within his or her reach. If one object isn't interesting enough, it's likely to be pitched in favor of another.

Your baby may be beginning to display some distinct personality traits - is he or she quiet or a nonstop babbler? Is he or she outgoing or shy? He or she may also start to protest when it's time to put his or her favorite toys away as he or she is able to retain the memory of an object even after it's gone.

To encourage your baby to make choices and practice crawling, try placing a toy just out of your baby's reach so he or she has to move to reach it. He or she may also start pushing objects out of reach, either because he or she doesn't like the item, as a game to reach for it again, or so that he or she can get YOU to pick it up for him or her.

Although some friends and family may advocate feeding your baby solids early to encourage him or her to sleep longer at night, you should feel confident if you decide to wait a little longer and continue nursing exclusively. Studies show that introducing solids before six months of age may cause your baby discomfort because his or her still-immature digestive system isn't quite ready for solid food. The end result is often less sleep, not more. Your little one will not be harmed by your decision to wait, and you'll both enjoy the final weeks of exclusive nursing."

HI MH,
Can i know where do u get yr fisher Price weaning set? I went to robinson n taka n like cant seems to find those that comes with the bowl n spoons..i only manage to get the weaning spoons

cecelia
very interesting...
i was laughing when i read it cos edward's in tis stage now...grabbing everything & anything he can reach 4 now AND putting EVERYTHING & ANYTHING into his mouth *FAINT*

he also protests when we take something away fr him...i call tis a 'tantrum'

edward's also a nonstop babbling SCREAMER...i video-ed him a few times, yakking & shrieking away. he aint fussing but juz happily 'talking' away.

GATHERING in FEB
i was tiking since smlow didnt hold it in jan, y not we go 2 her plc in feb? i love 2 try her husband's culinary skills.
mummies & smlow, wat do u tik? i dun mind holding it at my plc but i cant confirm when cos 2nd half of feb is the 15days of CNY so lotsa visiting on wkends. 1st half of feb is spent preparing for CNY.

smlow,
hope u & ur family gets well soon. did u isolate louisa fr u? stomach flu is rather contagious.

augbb
check out combi feeding set. very gd. pricey but worth the price. u can find it at all kiddy palace (not sure if u can find it at century sq) but i saw it at toa payoh & marina sq b4. u can also find combi feeding set at tom & stefanie at white sands.

Jasmine,

I tried Fenugreek today. It seems more effective than Goat's Rue. And cheaper also.

I bought GNC Fenugreek from a Drugstore Spree at 20% off. Abt SGD$20 inclusive of shipping, for 200 capsules, which translates to 10ct/capsule.

I only took 1 capsule this morning at 7am for the first time, and I'm seeing improvement in supply for my pumping sessions at 11am and 3pm.

Jeannie Girl,

My boy at ~4.5mths drinks 4.5 to 5oz of EBM from the bottle every 2.5 to 3hrs. I'll latch him on from 7pm to 7am.

When he bottle feeds in the day, sometimes, the hours are stretched longer if he does nap. So normally, between 8am to 7pm when he's at my parents' place, he'd take about 3 feeds of 4.5 - 5 oz.

The last feed for my boy is about 10pm on weekdays. Between 12am to 6am, he'll wake about 3 times for his feed. I did not train him to wake up how many times as I didn't see the need to, and I'm not too affected by it. Besides, I thought his nursing will help maintain my supply.

Augbaby - I got my fisherprice weaning set in France. It comprise of bowl, a few spoon, 2 pacifier & a bottle. During promotion it cost S$20.00

hey,

2nd time mummy can also be ignorant...must we sterilise the bowls and spoons?

actually, i'm in denial mode...don't feel like starting solid yet... as it will mean many problems popping up soon...however, (sigh) it's time... going to dig up all the strainer and blender etc...hope it did not rust while in 'cold storage'.

Hi MH
My gal refuse to drink if we gave her Avent teats No.2 cos it's too fast. But sometimes she is ok. So now we are still trying to figure out to give her teat No.1 or 2. But if she still hav difficulties to drink from Avent teat, i may consider changing to NUk or Pigeon.

Hi Catherine
I am also not sure she is alright or not.. cos her weight is in the 25percentile.. consider quite light lor... Recently she dun finish her milk. We feed her ard 60-80ml every 2-3hours.

Hopefully she will gain more weight after we start cereal. We will go for the 3rd jab next month when she will be 6 months old :D

Hi Leia
I do agree that latching them at night help to maintain our milk supply. I am also taking the Fenugeek. The staff @ GNC told me to take 2 capsule after every meal.

Hi Pupsandcups
My gal currently oso trying to crawl wif her backside high up.. kekeke very cute to see her making her way forward... She will make alot of noise if her arm was trap below. kekeke :D

Good morning.

I have been reading through the thread but did not join in.

It seems like most of your baby is able to flip and even learning how to crawl.

My baby is 4 months now, 2 more days, she will be 5mths alr, she has not started to flip yet. Is my baby ok?

recently very bz so din pop in. just managed to scan through the postings.

re: crawling
kayden is just like the rest. can't really crawl. will move bum high high. also moving backwards. keke... so funni. my mum says just like me.
during sleep, he's also turning in a circle.

hi kelly,
kayden also putting everything inside his mouth. was changing his diaper when he grabbed the tissue box and tried to stuff a corner of it in his mouth. lol.

erin,
jayden is like yr kayden too...when changing his diapers, he will grab at anything n put into his mouth...even his diaper...but luckily it is the clean unused one..haha...

piyo,
i bought the munckin ball thing n jay likes it v much...coz of the different texture and it is v easy for him to bite..he will bite one "tower" n then move on to another one...but the only bad thing is that when he chewing it, he will drool a lot n his salivia will drip all over....yucks...:p

Augbb,
I bought the spoon and bowl set for leon from mothercare..robinsons i think should have leh ...

Jaspeng,
don't worry too much, when is your next visit to the PD, maybe u can ask him. every baby has different growth pattern, it is not an indication of anything.

Cecilia
Thanks for sharing that info. Hmm wonder wat Leon's personality is like.. nothing clear cut to me. he babbles, plays, think he's q easy going, smiley, eh doesnt mind dirty diapers, but needs/likes to be carried a lot, but then again, arent all babies like that?

Also, the bit about waiting til 6 months be4 introducing solids, glad to know there's more info supporting it, i'm waiting one more month

Augbb
Leon the same, loves to touch things when changing diapers. try this routine, say 'hold your diaper, hold your diaper' then after he holds it, say 'touch your toes, touch your toes', so u can slide the diaper under him

i've been doing it for a while, and now leon will jus do as told, so q helpful during diaper time hehe. its cute.

Augbaby/Erin/kelly,
My Jay also, put everything he can reach inside his mouth and everytimes whole face will full of salivia, like a 'da hua mou'! hand also wet wet one...ha. . .

-Craw-
Before Jay was hospitalised he knew how to flip front and back and even craw a bit. But after he recovered from diarrhea, he just like to lie on bed and suck his fist. Ai. . . till recently only he started to craw and move in circle. Butt high high also. He will shout loudly everytime coz he cant move forward as his hand still not much strengh to push himself forward.

Ytday is the first time he can sit without support, but only for a short while. So happy.

Augustmum,
I also have the same qn, dunno should I sterilise the spoons and bowls before using it? Also dunno the material can be sterilised or not coz plastic ma. Anyone can help?

Have u all gave ur bb Rota virus?
Polyclinic or PD?
How abt Peumococcal(not sure if i spell it rite)?
Need to know e pricing of both for polyclinic n pd.

Mine had her 1st oral rota cost $120 @ SBCC gleneagles. Den 1st Peumoc cost roughly $120 also.. I find it v steep! siong lo.. realli esp jus spend alot on her diarrhoea last few weeks though now she already totally fine..

See so much cost incurred n bb suffering.. realli make mi rule out the idea of gettin a 2nd one..

Cynthia,
We have discussion on the Rota and Pneumo previously. If you want to know the pricing can refer back to Dec's thread, some mummies have posted the price they paid for. I did posted too but now I cant remember how much I paid already.

pups,
i tried looking for it at robinson centerpoint leh but juz cant find me...i was also so puzzled...anyway how much is the bowl n spoon set u bought from mothercare?

Cocomo,
wow...yr jay can sit unsupported already...so good..mine is still like unstable unless i prop with a lot of pillows...haha..yr jay also can crawl a little..my jay is like trying desperately to crawl but juz cant..haha..i will sometimes put his favourite toy infront of him and he will try n try n after a while, will make alot of noises coz he cant reach it..haha...

Hi everyone, I am new to this thread. Seems like there are a lot of knowledgeable mummies here wth good advice. So thought I can learn more from you ladies!

My girl is 4.5 months old now and really quite a screamer (Cecelia: I see what you mean by personality trait, my emma is certainly an impatient baby!). The problem I have is her screaming in the car seat, she doesn't like being strapped in and will scream throughout the journey. My hsbd insists on strapping her in for safety sake. Any ideas on making the drive less stressful? I have tried pacifier and rattles but they only work a while, and I can't do anything when I am driving alone!

Here's my details:

28 - emmum's Emma @ 4 mth was - 5.8kg 63 cm

Jade, my girl is very light too!

Augbaby,
Can sit only for a while la, maybe less than 1 min! Reg crawl, he just move a bit lo also dunno it can consider crawl?!! ha. . . My Jay's a 'da ge' in this thread le, he born on 2 Aug so I still think he slow liao le.

cocomo..my keiran was born just one day before yr Jay and he has started to kick and move forward after he does his flip...

guess each baby is unique in his/her own way that they grow so specially different from the rest...

keiran is also quite light...my addition to the weight/height list:
28 - emmum's Emma @ 4 mth was - 5.8kg 63 cm
29 - dearbaby's Keiran @ 5mth 1 week - 7.0kg (dont know length)

Cynthia, its really worth while getting the rotovirus jab/oral...

baby keiran caught the flu bug-had a very bad cough w phlegm & runny nose.. had to return to Pd for review and ended up with more medicine then the first round..both visits came up to $150... and that excludes the pain of seeing PD using suction to remove phlegm from his nose and mouth!!!

pd had to put a tiny long tube through the nose.. he went on inserting the long tube,could see the phlegm coming out...thank goodness, keiran was quite brave and only screamed during the last few moments...

So its worth going for the rotovirus if it can help to protect baby in anyway....my 2 cents...

Jeannie Girl,

You're taking 2 capsule after every meal??? How many mg?

The one I bought is 610mg per capsule. The recommended consumption (as on the packaging) is 1-2 capsules PER DAY.

I only took 1 capsule yesterday at 7am and the effects lasted for the whole day. Din dare to take any today.

any mommies can advise wat size of pigeon peristalic teats shld I get when my girl is using avent #2 now?

how does the size go? I saw S, M, L and Y?? how much is the retail price?

my girl has been using avent #2 for a while, I tried viarable flow teat, but seems too fast for her. thot i wanna try pigeon brand...

hear from mommies who can help pls...... =)

leobbsmom>baby is using both avent#2 and pigeon M & Y
Both seems to work for him....

baby cant seem to take variable flow or #3 yet...too fast for him...

Leia, mine is also 610mg, direction on bottle says 1 cap 3-6times daily. take with meals. i'm starting today. taken 2 caps liao...shall see if the supply REALLY increase! =P

here's my girl...

647394.jpg

and btw, any mummies using Pigeon bottles?
Do you have a problem when u try to test the temperature of milk? everytime i make the milk and want to test, the milk doesnt drip out....but baby has no problem drinking ...

help....

if i remember correctly, Y size is similiar to variable flow teat or for thicker fluids...
but it doesnt flow as fast avent variable or #3.

the box gives the description for each size....best to confirm with the box description...hehe..sorry, not much help Leobbsmom...

Leobbsmom,
You giving ur gal Similac right? Someone from Similac called me ytday said will give me a can of Similac follow on to try up. Maybe you can try to call Similac see if they can give a free one to try?

Hi Babyboy,

Ya i gave her rota virus 1st dose n also peumococcal... I personallly felt rota useful,, for another.. i think nt tat much. But since she already started e 1st.. i neeed to spend rest of the doses for her...

cocomo,
I also receive nutritionist of similac called.. she mention will sent a tin to my hse too in 7working days lo..