(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

augbaby,
yah. got the playmat for my girl for those reasons too. the play gym is too tiny. she shift a little n her head is out. i put the play gym on the playmat.
PM u the link to see my girl on the two mats.

It's enough for about 4 - 5 flips/rollovers(complete round) in the same direction (length-wise). My girl rolls only leftwards hehe. Enough for crawling? Duno, she hasn't started crawling but is on her tummy alot on the playmat... I dunno... My guess is that once they start crawling they can go everywhere already...

peach,
okie..good...i am so tempted...but hubby say no use coz bb will outgrow it v soon n its exp...waiting for yr PM..i juz check..n no PM from u leh..haha..anxious

Cecelia,
u are not alone, My mum take care of my girl from Mon-sun only sometimes i bring her back or go to my mum's hs to play with her. I am same as cynthia i stay clementi my mum stay amk so far, so sometimes lazy to bring her back. even i bring her back MIL will snatch to carry her n feed her.

hi piyo

thanks! didnt think about exercise mats, that's a good idea, prob cheaper than the SWW mats. cos im only working half day, and soon to be a SAHM, i'm always trying to save $$ .. actually i really like the SWW mat, but i never see pp sell 2nd hand either leh.

pups,
i tot most nursery and childcare are using the ABC mat, i don't think is toxic. my relative also use it for their kids.

btw i also thinking of using the ABC mat. the most is we wash it clean b4 we use it.

Hi Jesline,
Megan used to not wake up till 4 plus for her feed... now she is waking up quite frequently... I read somewhere that this may be a sign to intro solids liao....?

Jiahui so pretty!!!

Hi Augbaby,
Megan sleeps on the mat, roll a few times and even tried crawling on the mat... salivates and puke milk on the mat, sometimes I show flashcards to her on the mat too, read stories etc etc.... but the mat is good! I find worth buying cos can use till she is like 2 yrs old? plus can use for no.2 as well?

the last 2 times at cocomo's and augustmum's place, I did feel that the world mat seems thinner BUT I tot I was imagining or that the mat not yet seasoned?

Hi pups,
when you going to be SAHM? so good!

Hi jas and mummies,
I wanna start intro solids with organic brown rice too... any brown rice cereal that is safe to start? or must start with normal rice cereal 1st?

hi augbaby,
i have been thinking of getting the playmat for quite some time liao. never did get down to buy it cos it's so exp.

hi jesline,
jia hui is a happy baby. i like her smile. makes me happy too.

Hi, erin00

loves her smile too.. really can melt my heart after a day of stress.... had that as my PC wallpaper at work... hee hee hee

capture that when playing with her...

hi, piyo
baby Jia Hui will not sleep until 12pm cos everyday she will wait for her gu gu & uncle to be back from work before going to sleep as she wants them to play & carry her....

everytime, saying bye bye to her, she will change her mood very fast lor.. face black black so will tell her mummy will come & play with her again tmw...

great to see baby growing up day by day.... times really flies.. coming to 6mths soon

Hi, jas

think it better to feed rice cereal first & then brown rice... think there is some postings on this forum....not sure when

I'll wait til 6mth then start giving semi-solid. Anyone of you give ur bb egg yolk? How about bites biscuit? Any brand to recommend?

Pups,

ABC mat has a smell. I used it for noah in the past. Must wash and sun it for many days to get rid of the smell before you can use it. During noah's time, no bumper mat yet. However, I prefer bumper mat. Can wipe easily

You may also buy seahorse brand mattress. Quite firm. During their sale (which is rather frequent), it's about $30

bottle,

for semi solid, I prefer to start with rice cereal, then vege and fruits, then porridge with fish/ pork/ chicken. As for egg yolk, I will wait till nine months or even later. Egg white, even much later, mabbe only b4 the MMR jab. Me, a kia si mother

Bites biscuit. I'm not in a hurry, have not done my research.

Jas,

As for brown rice, I will buy the grounded brown rice from Eu Ren Seng. Don't buy those with ikan bilis, ginseng etc.

mommies,

Reporting zac's latest progress...

after lifting up his bum and trying to move forward (which he has not succeed), he's now trying to raise up his body

Hi Augustmum,
Can share y not those brown rice with ikan bilis, ginseng etc?

I just went NTUC this evening. bot the heinz organic rice cereal fortified with iron... hope this is ok with her...

augustmum,

keke, i was just about to report that jadelle has lifted up her butt and tried to push herself forward too, but failed and she wailed with such great frustration. I also noticed that when i try to put her into the car seat, she will arch her back and try to propel herself out! yikes! can't seem to keep still in the car!

For the first time last night, i heard her chuckle.. been waiting and waiting.. but apparently, she has already started laughing and chuckling this week with my FIL.. so sad that i wasn't the first one to hear it..
but it is ok lah.. i just treat the first time i hear it as if it is her first time too.. made my day last night when she did it..

sad dunnoe iszit i pass my virus to my girl or she caught a cold when we bring her out on sunday when its raining. feel that is my fault to bring her back. Seriously regrated.

my PD also says the same..dun start wif brown rice first..Start wif rice cereal coz in case bb allergy to brown rice..not sure y too..that time i ask her if i can feed brown rice and she say best to start wif rice cereal first..so we decided to start rice cereal. The last 2 attempts to feed jay is not successful coz i use BM and it becomes v watery so today i be trying again this time with FM..going to try this afternoon..me on half day leave...yeah..hee hee..n my mum can continue tom as she is off and we can continue over the wkends too..hope jay loves his cereal..:p

jesline,
jiahui is so cute!!!! nice pix!

augbaby,
I did buy a mat from the forum, but i forgot which one, maybe its babejoy. I left it at mum's house so its pretty underused. My mum is protective and will let him play a while only.. he does not even sleep on it b4. at my place i just let him roll on the bed or a thin mat on the floor.

so far ryan only flips one way... dunno how to flip back. but once he wakes he flips, i woke up today and found him on his tummy.

about our babies being more attached to others.. i have the same delimma... my boy has to have maid put him to sleep at nite... me or mum he wont.. i dont like being reliant on maid. i tried to put my boy to sleep myself last nite, but my mum heart pain when he wouldnt stop crying, and asked me to pass to maid..

I was seriously thinking if i should quit by job.. its just not nice that we cannot control the upbringing of our kids and be at the mercy of our helpers. however, my hubby oso said that i may not take well to staying at home everyday as I have been working all my life... also the financial independence loss...
i just dun wan my mum to say things like, she is stuck looking after baby 24/7, my dad n her cant go overseas etc etc... + also she doesn't like any of the maids we have gotten...

sorry to share my unhappiness here. i think some of u going thru same thing... i just wan my kid to be happy..really confused rite now...

On flipping, my emma started to flip over 2 weeks ago, we were so proud then and we kept encouraging her. Am starting to regret it now coz she wun stop doing it, even in her sleep! She would be drowsy when we put her in the cot, and 5 minutes later, she would try to flip over! Was up from 2 to 4 am last night turning her back! Yawn!

Saw some mummies here who are thinking of staying home full time, so just want to share my thoughts here. I quit my job after my 3 months maternity to be a full time mummy. It was a difficult decision as like most of you, I am used to the financial independence (and monthly pedicures, facials, shopping etc) and bonus time was only 3 months away then. I still regret it sometimes when motherhood gets frustrating, and especially when I get into arguements with my hsbd (which is at least once a week!). But now emma is starting to recognise me and will always smile when she sees me, or look for me when I am across the room. The pride and satisfaction cannot be compared to anything else!

You never know if you dun try. I didn't think I could do it either, as I can't stand housework, can't cook very well and had no patience. Plus my hsbd is a very temperamental man so I can't count on him for emotional support. But for Emma, I just wanted to try for a year and see if I can do it. Afterall I can always find another job!

i'm back. things are ok now at home

just read through the posts, kelly suggested coming to my place since the gathering was cancelled, no problem! but feb is not a good time, coz of cny. march gathering at my place can??

hi sharon,
thanks for sharing... its good to hear from other mummies who have quit their jobs for their kids... for me i am seriously considering...but i shall not make a rash decision.. shall want to hear more from mummies here and spend the next few week considering...
to tell u the truth, job satisfaction is not so much now, tho the pay is rewarding. even tho i work, i do not have time for mani/pedi cuz i rush home everyday to spend time n care for baby.. weekends totally spent with him...less n less time for myself.. but its ok... i love to see my boy grow and change...

every morning i play with him b4 going to work, or we just lie next to each other...

talking about cooking - i suck, i havent cooked a full chinese meal b4... housework of course can do - but who likes do do :p

but u r rite maybe can try for a period, if not find another job... hmmmm

Actually, I had already resigned and 31 Jan is my last day of work. My hubby and I had come to a term that I will be SAHM for 2 years, when my girl is 2 years old and I will put her in the child care centre. Than I will find a job.

I enjoy being financial independent, as I always buy new clothes when I get my salary and it really a tough decision to make but for the sake of my girl, I'm willingly to sacrifice.

This is how I feel.....

I also quit my job two months ago to take care of my baby after 3 months maternity leave. My initial intention is to stop work for a year, now don't konw...Yeh, it's difficult cos now i can't anyhow buy things, need to save...I can't cook and don't like to do house work. But i take this opportunity to learn cooking(for baby only, hee hee), taking care of her and to take a break from work.

During the one month that i went back to work (to serve notice), my PIL were taking care of her. As they are currently taking care of another granddaughter (a toodler), i feel that they can't really cope and didn't spend enough time with my girl. I think they just put my girl in the play pen the whole day. It sort of make me feel that i've make the correct decision to look after her myself. I not saying that i'm doing a great work looking after baby.But i know that i will give her my best. Anyway, it is a very personal decision. You have to decide yourself. I've make my choice and i feel it is all worth it. BTW, you need to have your hubby's support, it is very important lah.

piyo,
a quick post 2 reply 2 u...
like augustmum, i wont buy those kinda brown rice wif ikan billis, ginseng, etc. it has a yucky smell. i offered once 2 gabe n he refused 2 even take a bb spoonful of it. even when i was preparing it 4 him, i buay tahan e smell.

there r ways 2 get ur organic brown rice powder. u can buy fr organic stores, grind it into powder urself. me myself tried brown rice on gabe but he dun take it very well...kept getting constipated so i stopped. will try on edward n c how

gotta go...busy wif e boys (we r all sick) n stuff lately. will come back 2 reply 2 some postings.

take care, mummies!

hi, anyone using PETPET diaper??? me cheapo lor...thot wanna change to a cheaper diaper for my elder boy...but then..after using two pcs...i think cannot lah..both times also leaked...anyone kind enuff to buy over from me??? it is L size...

handi,

I'm using pet pet. so far so good. no leakage, unlike dryper. me also cheapo
just bought a pack and realise ntuc has sale today. gonna stock up.

piyo,

baby is too young for ginseng. as for ikan bilis, i worry abt the salt content. if using ikan bilis (when baby is much older), i will soak till salt is removed. anyway, i don't fancy made in china baby food and nestle brand.

kelly,

brown rice cannot feed very often. high in fibre and filling, can prevent proper absorpment of nutrients. hope i got my facts rite.

Catherine & Cynthia -Tks so much for the advice..feeling much beta nw.Guess it can be depressing being alone overseas taking care of a baby. I tried feeding my gal cereal but she spat them all out even if its 1 spoonful..i dunno wat to do..shld i stop & try again few weeks later?

Can i ask does it consider constipation if my gal oni poo once every3-4days ?

Jas - My email is [email protected]

butter8,
i'm working half day right now, altho my long term plan is to be a SAHM. i currently earn half of what i used to earn, and have had to sacrifice a lot, as i'm q the party type n like to spend on clubbing, going to new restaurants, shopping etc. altho sometimes i do feel SIAN about not having as much $ as i used to, the rewards of spending more time with Leon is worth it. at the end of the day, babies need their mommy the most ...
just some thoughts

pups,
sorry tot the sleeping baby in the first step preview is Jadon, it's actually Leon!!!

Catherine,
What I am confused is we mix 1 teaspoon of cereal with 3-4 teaspoon of water/BM (it will be pasty), slowing increase to 3-4 teaspoon of cereal with 150ml of BM. Then it will be very very watery le. so we feed them like that huh? more drinking than eating the cereal?

Kelly,
oh dear, hope your bbs get well asap.

MH,
My Jay also spit all cereal out at the beginning, maybe not bcoz they dun like just it's new to them? What I do is when I feed Jay, I try to place the spoon inside his mouth for a while so that he cant spit out, then slowly he will eat it liao. After few spoon feeds he will not spit out liao. Dunno if this method ok but it works on Jay.

cocomo is 3-4 tablespoon not teaspoon.

i think u mix up teaspoon and tablespoon.
teaspoon are which the small spoon we used to stir coffee or tea one.

tablespoon is the bigger spoon which normally we use to eat one.

Hi MH,

Don worry slowly. My gal also . she beat the spoon away for a start. Den i try another day. Now she ok abit. some bb is like this, thought wat is that thing u gg to give mi! Med or wat? So sometime we try think in terms of their mentality lo.

Its hard to be at overseas true. But no worries u soon be back n willl be alot different too!
Jus stay on here n share

i juz started feeding jay cereal yest...he loves it..haha...it was rather messy thou n cereal all over his mouth as sometime i guess he dun swalllow it and it will flow out...i tried feeding him with 1 tablespoon n 1 scoup of FM and mix with water till i find it is not too thick...He will open his mouth for more when i am too slow and will make noise too if he dun get it..feed him the entire bowl n its not eno..haha..after his cereal then i feed him another 3oz ebm but he dun have eno so i guess i have to slowly increase his cereal more...
but 1 thing i am confused..do we feed him cereal first then milk or the other way around... anyway any mummies intend to freeze veggies n fruits for their bb so the caretaker can put into the cereal to feed? still rather blur abt it..anyway i intend to feed jay b4 i go to work...so his first feed of the day will be cereal...

pupsncups,
were u working full time at the same company b4 u turned parttime? I am wondering how i will bring this up to my boss...

augbaby/cynthia/catherine,
wow all of u started trying out cereal huh...

my boy still on milk... i havent bought any special spoon or cereal... must learn from u all fast...

butter,
dun rush start slowly, now i stop my mum feeding her cereal cos she is sick having cough and flu. so i request mum to let her recover then feed again.

Hi jes, piyo, cynthia n jaspeng,
Thank a lot for sharing with me.

Jaspeng,
I am trying v hard to master that skill of yours too but sometime (some words )will gt to our nerve. So have to 'ren'.....

Jesline,
Jia hui is so.... pretty. Get it from mummy is it??

BTW mummies,
Remember to watch the action of your baby during one of the gathering in the coming monday 10.30 programme. I saw the shot yesterday n notice the colorful playmat that you are using.

Kelly,
Some bb cant take brown rice. Same happening to my kids. Boi cant take it (constipation) but gal is ok (mil feed it everyday n its ok, somemore she loves it).

Some reading for mummies who hv pet at home. Hope its benefit u

There are several important safety issues to consider when introducing your dog and your baby. Make sure your dog is regularly de-wormed and is flea and tick free before allowing any contact with your baby. Put a gate at the door to baby's room to prevent your dog from entering when you're not there to supervise. Remember that all dogs are capable of aggression when provoked, so take the following precautions to ensure your baby's safety:
Teach your dog the command "gentle." Work with your dog to accept gentle squeezing and pulling of paws, ears and hair.
Never play tug-of-war with your dog as it encourages aggressive behavior.
Teach your baby not to bother the dog while he's sleeping or eating

Jas - My gal's poo nt so soft & nt so Hard..so i guess its normal ba

Cocomo- Will try ur method..hope it will works *cross my fingers*

CYnthia -Tks so much for the encouragement...glad i found tis thread..keeping me sane at times

Butter,
I have a walker given by my sis but I dun think I will let Jay use it now lo. Scare he will easily twist his ankle while trying to move forward.

PULLING OF EARS
hi hi everyone, hey jus wondering if any of your babies' have been pulling their ears?? leon has been doing that lately. i read somewhere it means he's teething, altho no signs of teeth yet.

Cocomo
Jay is so cute cute! the exersaucer looks entertaining