(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

Hi sharon, welcome to the thread.

Jas - My girl who is turning 5mths on tis Sun oso hsnt even flip yet..tho she tried but her hand keep trapping underneath her..so cute to see her sturggle..she can oni kip her neck up lor.

My husband oso notice that my gal is trying to crawl aint it cute to see their cute little backside wriggling haha. I guess every stage when ur baby start to learn new things..it so interested to watch.

Btw..hw come S'pore babies must take so many jabs ar...think my poor gal go back SIN must take the jabs she nvr take in France...poor gal.

aidan can flip from back to tummy, but dunno for vice versa and "crawling" as working late this week hence no chance to see... will watch tom... btw, he's able to sit w/o support this morning for around 30secs...

hey hey,

lots at work so no time to post!

Leia,
i take fenugreek before goat's rue.. 3 capsules x 3 times daily..as advised by lactation consultant.. this iz max dosage.. but hor, not working on me.. me now trying to get Jadelle to sleep through the night.. now i place her on mattress next to my bed, as i am convinced she wake up to suckle only for comfort and will do it especially if she co-sleep with me.. tried it last night and surprise! She slept @ 10pm until 4:30am before she woke up for milk (latch on) and returned to sleep until 7:30am for morning latch on.

but.. tonight, keke, she juz woke up @ 2:30am for milk..
wondering what time she will wake up again.

PUMPING IN OFFICE
i can't afford to pump 45 min in office with a manual pump x 4 times daily.. though i did that in 1st month back to work, but i don't see supply increasing leh..
i still stagnating. Now, i give up liaoz.. pump in office 8;30am/ 12:30pm, 5:30pm for 1 hr..in between i sneak twice @ 11 & 3pm to toilet to hand express quick quick for 10 min.. i still get ~8oz between 9-6pm..and i don't see how i can increase it.. it seems to decrease somemore, as my extended pumping times are less frequent n shortened..

MH,
ca va? mon francais aussi pas tres bien... keke, but i never had a problem shopping in france.. haha, especially for LV and longchamp bags.. i am really crazy over them..
oh yes, your girl must take the jabs once return hor?

cynthia,
heard that polyclinic gonna introduce the penumococal jab soon,. i waiting for it..:p though dunno how much it will be..

sharon,
my girl had this problem of car seat too since 2 months old.. but she getting better.. i think initially, she can't see as well at 2 months, and felt insecure in the car seat. What i do is, since my infant car seat is also a rocker, i bring up with me and when she naps, i place her inside the car seat so she get used to it.. I also hang a clip on toy that has a teething ring, rattle as well as squeaky toys on it to distract her.. now, everything we give her, she will immediately put inside her mouth..keke..when all else fails, i sit next to her and sing songs to her and play peek a boo and move her arms and legs to the songs and pat her and point out the stuff out of the windows to her. but when really bo bian, then will carry her and latch her..

so far haven't tried driving alone with her.. think it is impossible!

Finally brought jay for his 4th mth 5 in 1 jab...delayed coz he is not well..took his rotavirus dose too...here is his weight n height

1- smlow Louisa 4mths 2wks - 8.2kg 65.5cm
2 -Leia Jadon 4mths - 7.2kg
3 -Jokojoko Aidan 4mths - 8.2kg 64cm
4 -erin Kayden 4mths - 7.2kg 64cm
5 -kelly's edward 4mths - 7.5kg 64cm (now 5.5mths-8.4kg 66cm)
6 -Noelle's Julien @ 4mths - 6.9kg 66cm
7 -Piyo's Megan @ 4mths - 6.8kg 63cm
8 -butter8's Ryan @ 4mths 1 week - 7.8kg 64.5cm
9 -leobbsmom's Shervonn @ 4mths 3weeks - 6.9kg 64cm
10-Fiona's Denise @ 4mths - 6.8kg 63cm
11-Isis's Ying fei @ 4 mths 3 weeks - 6.8kg 63 cm
12-Cynthia's Natalie @4mths 1 week - 5.9kg 64cm.
13-Adeline's Leon @4mths - 6.3kg 61cm
14-Chloe @ 4mths + 5 days - 6.5kg 62cm.
15- cj's Kaefer @ 3mths 2 wks - 6.9kg 65cm
16- jesline's Jia Hui @ 5mths - 7.5kg
17- celine's yee leng@ 4mths 2 wks- 5.7kg
18- catherine's Charlotte @ 4mths - 7.2kg
19 - jasmine's jadelle @ 4 months 1 day - 6.5kg
20- Dino's Pierson @ 4mth 1wk- 7.4kg, 68cm
21 - Handi's Shyanne @4.5mths - 6.3kg, 65cm
22 - cocomo's Jayden @ 5mth - 7.1kg, 65cm
23 - butterfly's Noah @ 4mth - 9.0kg, 65.6cm
24 - Jade's Kyra @ 4mth - 5.8kg, 63cm
25 - MH's Genevive @ 4mth was - 6.25kg,59cm
26 - mrschng's Jordan @ 4.5 mth - 6.6kg (duno length though)
27 - honeyhaven's Kayden @ 5mths - 8.3kg 68.5cm.
28 - emmum's Emma @ 4 mth was - 5.8kg 63 cm
29 - dearbaby's Keiran @ 5mth 1 week - 7.0kg (dont know length)
30 - augbaby jayden @ 5mths n 1 wk - 7.385kg 69cm

my PD told me to start feeding jay on rice cereal already coz he is a little behind as he is 5mths n 1 wk already..say to feed when he is most hungry n if he wants more then feed more...coz by 6mths he can take porridge already...so must start weaning since he has never even tried cereal yet..so i am going to start today...luckily i bought the heitz rice cereal yest only but cant find the orginic one in cold storage too..weird..so difficult to find...

Jas, don't worry. Mine already 5.5 mths, also don't flip. You have to turn him then he flip. Then he stay for 2 minutes and start making noise...

Jas/Julie,
Are you guys always carry your bb? Let them lie more and encourage then to move. We carried Jay often after he discharged from hospital, then he became lazy to move and always wanna be carried. So now we let Jay lie on the playmat often and encourage him to crawl by using his musical toys. Jay do make lotso noise but as long as not too bad I will not carry him. This is to let him knows I will not carry him everytime he makes noise. So at the end he got no choice but to try and entertain himself. This is just my 2cts tots.

cocomo, i think so. Not carry him a lot but we put him on his rocking chair most of the time. Will try top put him on the playmat more often. Rented a leapfrog activity station, but he only stay there for maybe up to 10 mins. Lucky never buy one.

hi julie
i agree with cocomo, and also try to carry leon less often than i think he wants. i try to entertain him on his mat, so he will explore flipping, crawling and being comfy on his back or tummy, so far he's doing pretty well.
i stopped using the rocking chair around the time leon was 2 mths old..

julie,

i bought that leapfrog activity center too.. @ robinsons sale.. cost me 160sgd nia.. cos i got 20% discount off plus extra 20% discount when i buy the vouchers over from others..
Jadelle like it! and know how to flip the page of the leapfrog book to make the music play.. i put it at my MIL's place so that my MIL can occupy her when she is cooking without her rolling all over the place and knock over the antiques at her place next time unlike in a traditonal walker..

Hi Julie/Jas,
I agree with cocomo & pups. I realised Megan was not flipping etc as my maid and us carry her too often. So I instructed my maid to put her on the playmat and on her tummy as often as posibble during the weekedays.

Today, we saw her flipping from back to tummy and tummy back to back in her playpen! So it works!!

Recently, she has been reaching out and holding her feet, very dif to change her diapers with her moving all over and turning here and there!

Hi Augbaby,
Megan loves her munchkin ball teether. It is very easy for her to hold, plus with the rattle sound and studs, very easy for her to put it into her mouth
I used that to entice her to move fwd whenever she is on her tummy

Hi jas,
Is the leapfrog activity centre looking like an exersaucer? are they sitting or standing in it? can start using liao?

Good Morning.

We seldom carry our baby. Most of the time, she is lying down. MIL will put her on the playpen during daytime, and when sleeping, she will be in sarong. Sometimes, I'm wondering whether my baby has no chance to learn at all.

Hi cocomo.
What is a playmat? Where can I buy one?

Hi Julie,
May I know where to rent the leapfrog activity station.

Hi Sharon,
Initially, I had problem with my girl sitting in the car seat. I bring along a chine drum toy which can produce noise louder than her crying. It works. Now, she can sit but after a long time, she will start to cry again, and I will give her favourite toy.

Hi Cynthia,
My PD charged 170 per jab for pneumococcal (aft 6 mths below 1 yr required 3 jab so total will be 510 lor)

Herewith the update of my gal's weight n height:-
1- smlow Louisa 4mths 2wks - 8.2kg 65.5cm
2 -Leia Jadon 4mths - 7.2kg
3 -Jokojoko Aidan 4mths - 8.2kg 64cm
4 -erin Kayden 4mths - 7.2kg 64cm
5 -kelly's edward 4mths - 7.5kg 64cm (now 5.5mths-8.4kg 66cm)
6 -Noelle's Julien @ 4mths - 6.9kg 66cm
7 -Piyo's Megan @ 4mths - 6.8kg 63cm
8 -butter8's Ryan @ 4mths 1 week - 7.8kg 64.5cm
9 -leobbsmom's Shervonn @ 4mths 3weeks - 6.9kg 64cm
10-Fiona's Denise @ 4mths - 6.8kg 63cm
11-Isis's Ying fei @ 4 mths 3 weeks - 6.8kg 63 cm
12-Cynthia's Natalie @4mths 1 week - 5.9kg 64cm.
13-Adeline's Leon @4mths - 6.3kg 61cm
14-Chloe @ 4mths + 5 days - 6.5kg 62cm.
15- cj's Kaefer @ 3mths 2 wks - 6.9kg 65cm
16- jesline's Jia Hui @ 5mths - 7.5kg
17- celine's yee leng@ 4mths 2 wks- 5.7kg
18- catherine's Charlotte @ 4mths - 7.2kg
19 - jasmine's jadelle @ 4 months 1 day - 6.5kg
20- Dino's Pierson @ 4mth 1wk- 7.4kg, 68cm
21 - Handi's Shyanne @4.5mths - 6.3kg, 65cm
22 - cocomo's Jayden @ 5mth - 7.1kg, 65cm
23 - butterfly's Noah @ 4mth - 9.0kg, 65.6cm
24 - Jade's Kyra @ 4mth - 5.8kg, 63cm
25 - MH's Genevive @ 4mth was - 6.25kg,59cm
26 - mrschng's Jordan @ 4.5 mth - 6.6kg (duno length though)
27 - honeyhaven's Kayden @ 5mths - 8.3kg 68.5cm.
28 - emmum's Emma @ 4 mth was - 5.8kg 63 cm
29 - dearbaby's Keiran @ 5mth 1 week - 7.0kg (dont know length)
30 - augbaby jayden @ 5mths n 1 wk - 7.385kg 69cm
31 - Cecelia's Rachelle @ 5mths - 7.9kg 68cm

Hi Sharon,
I got it in 1 of the BPs conducted when I was still preggie. But recently I saw it selling at kidsmall at IMM about $9.90 I think b4 disc

piyo,

ya, the leapfrog activity center is an exersaucer.. Jadelle has strong legs.. so she can stand upright in it. but to ensure that she don't developed tiptoes.. we only put her in 1x a day x 10 min.. i add in pillows to support her..

Jas & piyo,
you can rent it on this website.. http://www.juzrentit.com.sg/

um.. you have to change the "juz" to "just".. cos somehow it wasn't allowed to be posted on this forum..

Hi Cocomo,

Thanks. Thought of putting mattress on the floor too, but my PIL nag and nag, saying that the flooring is "cooling". Baby will have pains in future. My MIL refuses to do it. Anyway, I will just buy the playmat.

Cocomo/Jas,

Talking abt carried bb.. so fedup.. I been telling mil not to carry her so often. I was there for a day n i realli gg to mis-count how many time she carried her!!! Whenever bb scream for ppl or she jus wake up from nap etc! I mention to her to let her on tummy as n when to let her learn n stregthen the muscle etc.. v stubborn lo.

End up I been doing while I can off from work as I oni bring her back from fri-sun.. Trying to spend more time wit her as i can realli..

I jus start feed her rice cereal.. she seems bit reluctant at a start thinking im gg to give her med! I tried again yesterday, she finally took bit bit... so interesting! Cant wait to give her more...

hi cynthia,

I have the same problem at first. During, my maternity leave I told my MIL not to carry my baby unnecessary. She said:"never mind lah."When I go back to work, she alone plus she has to do housework. And one day, my hubby told sil not to always carry her. Than my mil commented, "ya lor, don't always carry her, I have to do housework"!!!
kao_dizzy.gif

What brand of rice cereral did you feed your baby? How the timing like? Can share with me the timetable. I do not how to schedule as in will she be full and refuse to drink milk.

cynthia,
my mum also the same one kind ask her dun carry she still carry. can carry her while feeding or when she make noise she will carry her.
my MIL as well i say just leave her in her stroller she can't stand it and carry.
so i ignore and let them carry until they arms aching then they understand.

regarding rice cereal, charlotte taking well yesterday. i just start yest morning she enjoying it b4 she could finish swollow she want somemore snatching the spoon from me.

jas,
what i do was i add one teaspoon of cereal with her milk. i prepare her milk first then pour abit into her cereal. after she finish her cereal i let her drink her milk. so that i can monitor how much milk she drink.

HI Jas,

I think depends on bb pattern of waking etc.. This is wat i doing..

6am - 160ml FM
945-10am - 1 Teaspoon of Heinz Rice Cereal +
160ml of FM
2pm - 160ml FM
6pm - 160ml FM
10pm - 160ml FM

Im using the same method as catherine.
No matter how, just tell ur caregiver (if u take care ok for sure), DO NOT MIX into milk! My mil insists to put in her milk bottle. I try explain to her the purpose of weaning is to try learn to taste n to eat from spoon. IF SHE PUT IN MILK BOTTLE SERVE NO PURPOSE! Wat abt future she eating porride also put in bottle meh? of cos i didnt say e porridge thing to mil lo.. jus tryign to make her understand N i believe she shld know after been a mum of 4!

Basically this is wat i will do for this mth... she jus start taking yesterday morning. I ask MIL to increase slowly on wed 1.5teaspoon if she is eating great... Need time to let her taste n adjust . If bb rush don force her. Let her try again the next day..

When can I start porridge after introduce my baby to cereal? My mil cannot wait to introduce her darling grandaugther to porridge. My girl now is kind of refusing to drink milk. I insisted to feed her cereal when she is 6mths as what recommend by her PD.

hi cythia,
Thanks for explaining. Now i get a better picture. Some said mixed cereal with milk before baby sleep because they can sleep through the night as it is filling. I don't agree this as I felt baby can't sleep well if they feel bloated.

Juz wanna check wif u regarding feeding cereal mix wif BM. I check with my PD and she say can mix rice cereal with BM so on sat n sun i tried mixing the heinz rice cereal with my warmed ebm which the heinz box says can mix but it might be watery. So i tried it the first time and i guess i added too much ebm and the cereal became too watery and when i tried feeding jay, he is like drinking it from the spoon instead..so on sun i tried again and i mix it less with ebm and it is much more thicker. So i left the cereal n when to prepare jay for it and when i am back abt 5mins later or so, i found that the cereal has become watery like on sat...i was rather surprised as i had mixed it to be rather thick n juz 5mins it became watery..does any mummies experience it? does it mean that i have to make it much much more thick so that when i am ready to feed jay it be juz nice, not too watery n not too thick????I am blur...

also how often can we feed them cereal? my PD say that i am behind coz 6mths shld feed porridge and shld have establish a schedule where morning breakfast n noon lunch...and to feed jay as much as he want to eat lor...dun need to start with juz a teaspoon etc for his first time...

cyn, my mom is feeding my girl brown rice, and she mixed it into her EBM. my PD said it was fine..

so i guess the methods of feeding BR and cereal are different??

any mommies can advise?

jas, my mom also said we cant feed bb cereal or BR b4 she sleeps in the nite. it's very bad for her digestive system which is still very weak, so we will avoid damaging it.

augbaby, my PD said can feed 1 tablespoon, mix with EBM and feed bb. so long bb is normal, still laughs and plays, tat means she is comfortable with the portion.

and yes, my girl takes longer afternoon naps after we introduced the BR into her EBM. and she is less grouchy lately...

i read somewhere tat babies who are suffering from indigestion cant sleep well, or sleep longer hrs..

augbaby,

read the instruction on the box, it is stated that when mixed with EBM, the mixture will be watery. Anyway, I'm so lazy, manually express the BM onto the bowl

jas,
is not right to feed cereal b4 he sleep, by right we should feed baby cereal in the morning thats is consider their breakfast.
for feeding porridge i read from my colleague who had given me the listen from pd how to feed baby.
it will be after ur baby can fully replace cereal with 1 milk feed. with one fruit pureen or juice, then next will be porridge. porridge will be evening time around 5-6pm.

so roughly it will be something like this:

morning 8-10am- rice cereal + Fruit pureen/Fruit juice.

afternoon - milk

evening 5-6pm - porridge

night 9-10pm - milk

i think i had posted somewhere here months back i try to search again leh post again

augbaby,
you can feed baby cereal by increasing bit by bit everyday until the cereal can replace 1 milk feed

here what i posted previously for feeding semi solid

INTRODUCING SOLID FOODS

A GUIDE FOR PARENTS

When?
By four to six months, most babies are ready for solid foods. Eating solid food is a totally new experience for your baby , and it may be diffult at first. Just be patient. Do not force feed. Remember, feeding should be a happy experience!

Let your baby's appetite be your guide, so as to avoid over or under-feeding.

Do not give baby foods, such as cereal thinned with milk, from a bottle.

The First Feed

* Rice cereal is a good first food.
* Mix one teaspoon of ceral with 3-4 teaspoons of liquid. This can be expressed breast milk, his usual milk formula or warm water.
* Introduce food at breakfast or at lunch-time.
* Initially, you may give him a little breast milk or an ounce of two of this milk formula first before the first spoon feeding.
* Hold the baby on your lap, a little more upright than the usual breast or bottle feeding position.
* Start With just a little food on a baby-sized spoon. PUt the spoon between your baby's lips, so he can suck the food. Don't force the spoon down his throat.
*He only needs about 1-2 teaspoons befor you resume the rest of the milk feed.
*Be patient. some babies take to the spoon easily, while others may refuse or struggle with the spoon. Do not force. Try again the next day.

4 Months

* Food should be bland, smouth and easy to swallow.
* start with rice ceral. Make it Thin for the first few feeds.
* Once the baby gets used to spoon feeding, you may thicken the ceral and increase the amount gradually over the next two week until it replaces a milk feed.
* 3-4 tablespoon of ceral to 150ml milk is sufficient for most babies. You may use other cereals for variety.
* Next, introduce fruits and vegetables one at a time.
* Start with a tablespoon of soft scrapped fruits (papapya, apple or banana) or pureed vegetables (carrot, spinach, pimplin or potato). you may add them to the cereal or serve them separately.
* Introduce fruit juices 1-2 oz dilute with equal amount of water. Barley water can also be used.
* By the end of 4 mounths, your baby will be one ceral food, one fruit or vegetable dessert and 3-5 bottles of milk.

5 Months

* Your baby is ready for home-cooked porridge. This can be easily prepared with a slow cooker.
* The porridge must contain a vegetable and a protein food.
* never use only the chicken or beef broth to make the porridfe. double boilded chicken or dried scallop broth has very little nutritional value. They are only good for taste. The nutrient is in the meat itself!
* Vegetable such as carrot or pumpkin may be minced and cooked with the porridge. Green vegetables such as spinach have to be pre-cooked and pureed and added to the porridge.
* Steam a small piece of fish or 1 tablespoon of minced meat separatedly and mash or sieve into the porridge when ready to eat.
* DO not add the meat or fish into the porridge and cook it for a long time. Over cooked meat and fish are tough and tasteless.
* you may use ready-toeat baby food products as substitutes.
* By the end of 5 months, your baby wil have 1 ceral meal in the morning and 1 porridge meal in the evening. He will have 1-2 serving of fruits for dessert and 2-3 milk feeds.

6-8 months

* Increase solid meals gradually to three times a day by the time your baby is 6-8 months old. He may continue with 1-3 milk feeds.
* A greater variety of food can be introduced. Fully cooked egg yolk can be used. You may add them to cereal.
* Instead of pureed food, some soft foods may be given, either masshed or finely minced.
* It is not necessory to mix all foods into the cereal or rice porridge. Giving some foods individually helps the baby develop his taste for the different foods.
* Finger food, such as toasted bread or teething rusks should be given only after 8 months when teething comes on. keep an eye on them in case they choke.

THE END~

Leobbsmom,

Its ok to mix with EBM. Cereal or BR Mix wit EBM will be more watery than FM.

From a start feed bb during morning is the best. Never start at night. I do not believe having cereal at nite will be filling for bb.. Why feed in the day, cos it will be easier to detect any prob arise from bb during the day THAN the nite time lo..

Normally feeding shld start in the morning. WHen bb is older, even before sleep we never give them cereal BUT jus purely milk..

Never give BR or cereal in bottle. Purpose of weaning not only tasting but also letting bb to get a feel knowing how to eat, lick, swallow by spoon...

Maybe for mi i wont be giving natalie any fruit juice even she reaches 6mth... maybe water is the best now n let them taste water more rather than fruit juices AS i have alot friends facing the problems bb refusing plain water lo..

bec most of us r working and when we first need to introduce cereal to our babies, it means that the maid will be the one feeding our bb..i am not that comfy with the idea that bb will look forward to his morning feed of cereal with the maid n i worry that bb will be close to maid...maybe i worry too much but i was juz wondering if there is any way we can feed bb his cereal in the afternoon as lunch instead as my mum will be back from work and she can feed the baby..

Kelly,
thanks for calling me to explain the cereal feeding to me...i would want to be the one feeding bb his cereal together wif pureed veggies n fruits etc into his cereal..n since now Jay is already 5mths n coming to 2 wks, i thou of feeding jay with cereal in the afternoon only till he can be fed with porridge when he is 6mths...and then after than dinner with porridge as well...so i guess i am still rather confused with wat is the best way to do so since i am not comfy wif letting the maid feed him cereal in the morning everyday...sigh...

mummies, anyone facing the same situation like me bec of maid??

Hi Catherine,

May I know what is the meaning of pureen? I search the web but no information. And juice, is it those bottle type meant for baby which I can see in NTUC? Sorry as I'm first time mum. And my mum and mil first solid food for baby is porridge. My PD actually recommend cereal first. So confusing....
kao_confused.gif

jas

rice cereal first the porridge now a days is different from last time liao.

pureen as in the fruits you make it blend so that baby easy to eat. dunnoe right or not. dunnoe how to explain.

jas, i rented mine leapfrog from rent-a-toy.com. Very fast. Send the next day and he took time to show how to fix it and how to use it. Very good! And he said mine is a brand new...how lucky. I should return it by Feb.

Now i feel like such a hopeless & lousy mum..hv yet to start to feed my bb cereal using the spoon..i mix it wif her FM & feed her in the PM & b4 she goes to sleep at nite.Tink im doin it all wrong. I dun even know hw to prepare & feed her cereal..let alone talk abt giving her puree & fruits.Now i wish im back in S'pore..i feel so lost here...My baby just turn 5mths ytd & her weight is oni 6.7kg

Tink im goin to try feeding her rice cereal today.Mummies can give me any advice if i do the following -

1)Mix 1 teaspoon of cereal wif warm water till desire consistency. Den feed bb using spoon..continue feeding her the usual feed of milk regardless if bb finished the cereal or not.

2) If bb can finish the teaspoon of cereal.How would i know when to increase the serving eg by days or weeks ?

3) If bb likes the cereal,does it means i can increase the cereal servings to like 5-6teaspoons ?

3) Hw den can i replace a milkfeed wif just cereal ?

anyone like me, waiting till leon exactly 6mths old? that is, 14 february? all this talk about feeding making me not so sure about my decision ...

anyways, im sure a lot of the mommy's watched First Step. Saw cocomo's jayden, leon - sleeping! and augbb and hubby on the trailer

Augbaby,
I am facing same problem as you. Dun wanna maid to feed him at the initial stage. I wanna feed him myself but by the time I reach home already ard 7pm. If better feed bb semi solid in the morning or noon then how huh? Dun feel comfortble to leave for maid to do le.

Then hor, as what Augbaby said BM+cereal so watery, it's drink rather than eat le. ai. . .

Cat,
So we start by 3-4 tablespoon of semi solid ya (it said 1 teaspoon cereal with 3-4 tablespoon of water)? Then for 4 mth it said to mix 3-4 tablespoon with 150ml BM. Wah... then it will be very watery and are we spoon feed? Will take a long time right?

I also very blur and confuse le.

Hi mummies, long time no post liao.

pups,
i also intend to start solid only when baby turn 6mths old. cos IL read in some book saying that if feed baby solid too early, baby have higher chane to become obese (donno true or not lah) and i read that if baby is satisfied with milk, don need to rush into feeing him solid so soon.
but it seems that most mummies started solid, makes me 'heart itchy' feel like starting soon also. hee hee ....

and also bcos now i'm clearing my remaining maternity leave, so it's actually a good chance for me to feed baby myself. i wld love to feed my baby his first solid myself!

augbaby/cocomo,
maybe you gals can start baby's first solid on a weekend, at least you can feed and monitor baby for 2 days. better than nothing right.

any baby here have eczema? my son's eczema comes and goes like nobody biz. initially was his chin, now both cheeks also gana!!! so heartache. when it's itchy, he will use both hands to rub until so red and sore!

hi pupsandcups and MH,
Haha... both of your baby and mine share the same birth date too!!!

hi pupsandcups,
My baby PD told me can feed her cereal at 5th mth but the best is 6th mth. I read around and also recommended 6th mth. Me too, like you, not sure of my decision. My hubby insisted to feed our baby at 6th mth.

hi pups,
I'm like u too. starting on his 6th month. the nurse at my pd gave me some packets of cereal and a tin of similac stage 2 to try during 6th month. they told me better to start at 6 month to avoid allergies.

Hey MH, no worries lah..6.7kg at 5mths is almost the same as my dotter. I brought my dotter to the pd yesterday cos realised tat there is a patch on her tongue. Was alil worried that it might be something serious cos the patch grew in size over the weekend..Thank God, it is just that Shy has geographical tongue. it simply means tat the growth on the tongue is not uniform. Hence, it is not something alarming and harmful...okie...tomolo she will be 5mths..and her weight as at yesterday was 6.6kg...

do we need to sterilise their spoons and bowls? sorry if this qn has been asked b4. forget liao. also is it normal for babies to crawl backwards? kayden doesn't seem to move forward even if i use his toy to motivate him. he moves backwards until his lower part of his body ended up on the floor. i'm a bit worried.

cocomo,
starting is 1 teaspoon of cereal with 3-4 teaspoon of water / FM/BM.
increase 1/2 -1 teaspoon day by day until baby is eating 3-4 tablespoons per 150ml of milk.

some of us start feed our bb is becos our bb are drinking FM which is bottle feeding instead of BF, so for bottle feeding is alright to spoon feed bb at this stage.
Is depend on urself whether u want to spoon feed now or at six months.
But me myself i felt that my girl is ready for her cereal once i feed her she totally accept it.
and i personally want to start now so that by 6 mths she is able to seat on her own she will start with porridge.

hi pups,
me same dilemma as you... reading about the feeds but I dun intend to do so till she turns 6mth in Feb..do we start doing when baby 1st move into 6 mths or slightly before that?

any mums like me?

Hi Augbaby and cocomo,
when i read about introducing the feeds durinf lunch, my 1st tot is "like that my maid got to be the one to feed ah?" ... then I saw your post on this. I also in same dilemma liao..cos I dun wan my maid to feed her in the initial periods.. or even in future. I think what I would prob do is start on feb 15 (which is near CNY) then I have that few days of holidays to introduce her to solids... subsequently when I go back to work, will get my mum to feed her for breakfast and lunch before resuming with EBM? so that there is always someone supervising when megan is fed with solids?

how are other mums with maids thinking to go ard it? any idea?

Hi mums
paiseh ah,does rice cereal means rice or cereal? 1st intro can start with brown rice? if cereal, what type of cereal?

piyo,
then u r lucky mah..coz yr mum can feed bb during breakfast n lunch..for me, my mum only back from work in the afternoon so can only feed lunch..i was thinking after the initial period of trying to feed cereal at breakfast n lunch, when bb is 6mths n when i start feeding porridge, then i will switch to feed bb lunch n dinner only..breakfast will be milk only..that way my mum can feed too instead of maid..but in the meantime during the period b4 bb eat lunch n dinner only, i got no choice but to let maid feed jay..sigh..coz my PD says now to start cereal coz by 6mths we shld start bb on porridge and by 6mths, they shld have a schedule of feeding 3x in a day, like breakfast lunch n dinner...so i guess i got no choice but to let maid feed till jay can move on to lunch n dinner only..

Cocomo,
same same feeling..but like not much of a choice coz we have to work...i juz hate the idea that bb look forward to feeding time and look forward to seeing the maid coz he enjoy eating cereal..sigh...

piyo,
then u r lucky mah..coz yr mum can feed bb during breakfast n lunch..for me, my mum only back from work in the afternoon so can only feed lunch..i was thinking after the initial period of trying to feed cereal at breakfast n lunch, when bb is 6mths n when i start feeding porridge, then i will switch to feed bb lunch n dinner only..breakfast will be milk only..that way my mum can feed too instead of maid..but in the meantime during the period b4 bb eat lunch n dinner only, i got no choice but to let maid feed jay..sigh..coz my PD says now to start cereal coz by 6mths we shld start bb on porridge and by 6mths, they shld have a schedule of feeding 3x in a day, like breakfast lunch n dinner...so i guess i got no choice but to let maid feed till jay can move on to lunch n dinner only..

Cocomo,
same same feeling..but like not much of a choice coz we have to work...i juz hate the idea that bb look forward to feeding time and look forward to seeing the maid coz he enjoy eating cereal..sigh...