(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

thks jasmine...luckily your baby was easy to handle during flight..problem is my boy is on TFM now, so hope that his milk time will be during take off and landing...will drink or suck on his pacifier....

butter8, can fill up and submit baby's photo online for application of passport..its much faster than going down to ICA...

Need some help.. .
1)Anyone encounter nipple crack huh? My nipple side got a bit crack and bleed. everytime I express will be very painful and will bleed a bit le (but will not bleed till drop into the milk). I do apply nipple cream (Medela brand) everytime after express. It will not heal coz gotta express 4 times a day. So when it almost dried up then I need to express and it crack and bleed again. How huh???

2) How to clear the ducts without latching on bb? Coz my nipple side crack so I cant latch Jayden on. Thus ducts blocking the flow le. ai. . .

morning cocomo

1) my nipple only cracked at the early stages, when leon was jus born. y don u try putting your pump on a lower power. other than nipple cream, the lactation consultant also recommended i use baby lotion ... then v fast recovered already.

2) hmm, i dunno leh, i had blocked ducts b4, the advice i got was latch bb on in different positions...

Pups,
My nipple will sole everytime after pump also. Everytime when I wanna place the pump on my breast, kinda feel scare also. . . Maybe I impose too much pressure by squeezing my breast for the BM to flow out that's why it sole and crack

hi cocomo,

few weeks ago, my nipple also bleed and the blood just ooze out when i pump. I use the nipple cream to apply, and pump more gentle on the injure side.pump very slow, din empty entirely...it takes about 1 week to heal(coz we keep pumping, so will injure again when it almost dried up)

just pump more gently. I use about 1 hr to pump the injure side only..really go very very slow.

cocomo: what i did was to massage my breast as i use the pump...using the thumb, push in the direction of the nipples to help clear the blocked ducts. It will take some time to clear it, but this method works for me.

hv pm my add. those who did not receive, tell me ok?
Gathering at Augustmum house on 3 Dec (Sun)at 1.30pm

1. augbb, jayden, hubby and maid
2. piyo, megan, hubby and maid
3. kelly, hubby, gabriel & edward
4. smlow & Louisa (think will leave my older boy at home for his nap!)
5. adeline, hubby and leon
6. augustmum, hubby, noah and zac
7. jesline, jiahui, hubby
8. ningyo, yongjie
9. celine, yeeleng
10. cocomo, hubby, Jayden and maid
11. CJ, hubby and Kaefer ( maid TBC )

Total adults= 22
Total babies/toddlers= 13

hi pups, mummies,
Thanks for all the advise..thanks pups for asking..
Jayden had fever after his jab..sigh...but the funny thing is that my thermometer that i use, on his forehead and ear shows different temp..weird..sigh..anyway think he does have some fever coz his whole body felt very hot...so we actually feed him med the whole of sat n sun...today think his fever is gone so din feed any...i actually gave him some pao sheng the nite b4 his jab on sat afternoon, but he still got fever..so on sun nite, we actually feed him some "leng yang" and it seems to help...thou we have to mix it in his milk as he dun like to drink it..haha..was relieved that his fever has gone down..thou i think he still hav v mild one..is that ok mummies??

When do we have to bring him for his next 5 in 1 jab? my next appointment is end of dec leh..but i thou that it is the rotavirus 2nd dose??

augbb
glad tat jayden's fine. his next 5-in-1 jab is 1mth later, tgt wif the rotavirus 2nd's dose

augustmum,
got ur email. thks!
didnt even realise tat 3dec is coming soon. it juz seems like a wk ago when we met up at cocomo's hse. cant wait 2 c everyone, esp the mummies i havent met.

yo mommies...i'm back!

hi erin,
so envy leh...my hubby the most give one feed, but bottles will leave it for me to wash...haiz

hi augbaby,
i didn't apply breastmilk on Denise's head lah, her hair came as a package along with her...hahaha

hi cocomo,
i clear my blocked ducts by massaging while spraying hot water using the shower head. sometimes i get it bcos the milk solidified at the opening of the nipple rather than inside, then i squeeze out the milk from the opening.

celine,
I tried jus now by using lower power (suggested by leosbbmom), got very little supply. But I can feel my breast still have lots inside just cannot pump out le
si liao la. . .

Sierra,
Will try your method later. But then hor, even I am sitting typing now I feel my breast very painful and hot. dunno which part pain also, basically almost the whole thing la. Maybe engorge liao?

Fiona,
My breast now painful le, hot & nipple sole (one side crack somemore). Later gotta pump somemore. . . aiyo, think only already scare liao. Maybe later go back try very hot shower and massage it.

cocomo,

I hear liao also feel pain for you. Believe me, I'm grimacing right now.

Side of the nipple is where? The aereola? Had a bit of clogged ducts recently and took 1 full day and night to clear by latching. Pumping doesn't quite clear clogged ducts for me. My boy is better at it than my Ameda pump. So when I had clogged ducts recently, I was very happy when he's hungry (every 1.5 to 2 hourly). :p

augustmum,

I'd really like to come for the gathering... but my boy going for his 5-in-1 jab on Thursday, so I dunno whether he's up for it on Saturday...
Is it possible to put me + Jadon as tentative and PM me your addr and HP num as well for communication? Tq!

cocomo,

have to massage, and pump really slow, try to get the milk to come out from the part of nipple that is not injure, have to trial and error when pumping.

at workplace very difficult to pump long long... maybe when u get home, try to really pump slow, i use about 1 hr to pump my injured breast. press and pump, sometimes just use hand press.then wun be engorge and wun affect milk ss.

mommies, for me, the avent manual pump works for me when i hv lumps..

days when i hv lumpy breasts, it even hurt when i carried my girl and her body pressed against me! =( really pain pain leh...

cocomo, use lower power for now lah, i noe the kind of fear u hv b4 placing your hand to massage, coz i also kenna tat b4... for 3 whole days somemore! i almost wanna cry coz i was so pek chek already... :"(

i also used to adjust to max power until it has no effect on my breasts liao...so i noe wat your gog thru now. then i slowly adjust back to lower power, so now, even level 3 on the pump is very "pain" for me liao! @___@

any babies here drinking less milk? louisa can stretch for 4 hrs the past few days. and sometimes she doesn't drink all of my milk, i know coz u know how ur breast becomes very soft after u finish pumping. last time each time she latches on one breast, that breast will be very soft after she let go/finish.
she's also drooling a lot, and loves to suck her left thumb. so sometimes i hold on to her left hand and she tries to suck on her right thumb but cannot then she'll be frustrated
a friend's friend's baby has teeth at 11 weeks!

louisa only knows how to suck her left thumb, she tries to suck her right thumb but usually she cant. dont know why leh?

smlow,

Maybe Louisa is left-handed???

I noticed my boy only knows how to suck his right fist, seldom the left, unless he clasp both his hands together, then he tries to put both fists into his mouth. Hahaha.

Leia,
The crack is at the edge btw niple and aereola. Cant let Jayden latch on that side coz of the crack. Juz back from expressing, it was so painful both breasts juz now (coz think engorgement), now feel much better liao although still a bit of lumps + crack pain. Took me 45mins to pump (lucky boss not in)!!!

Ai. . . so poor life to be a mom. But then, if lemme choose again I will still wanna be the mother of my Jay and BF him.

another stressfull weekend for me...
we are supposed to move nearer to mum, so the packing was this weekend...
my mum insist that i leave bb with her as he shouldnt be around all the boxes and on moving day anyway...
but yesterday she blew her top when me n hubby returned home late.. i feel so sad... bb was cryin n cryin...
now she say taking care of bb is giving her body ache n tiring her out...i dunno wat to do...
i hav less time w bb - i am oso sad.. oso try to stay over to help her, then i would be seperated from hubby... its becoming a strain on us...
we are moving officially by the end of this week - so i really pray things will settle down..
i dunno wat to do with my own mum... its ur own mum, how to argue or scold... i appreciate all she has done... but didnt expect such an outburst.
sorry to air my blues here.....

hi cocomo,
aiyo..i am also feeling the pain for you. With blocked ducts it even hurts to run my fingers over the breast, but i die die still massage with alot of strength...chang tong bu ru duan tong...

It's not so painful if you massage while running the hot water on it, seems to numb the area a bit. Hope it helps, may have to do a few times.

did u all bring ur baby for injection b4 bathing or after bathing then bring them for injection, my mum told me to bath baby first b4 bringing her for injection this will reduce chances of getting fever, so far so good my girl never get fever at all. wonder is it true so i check with u all.

hi smlow & timpani,
my gal has been drinking lesser then usual too..sometimes it's the amount and at times it's the interval.

hi cat,
since i only bathe my gal in the day time, and she had the injection in the evening, she did not have any fever after the jab too.

by the way, can we arrange to meet latest by this thurs? bcos me gonna start work this fri liao...hehe. either we chat on msn or sms me ok?

fiona,
hmm same lor b4 i bring my girl for injection i bath her, then bring her for injection. she has no fever at all. or maybe different baby got different tolerance of the injection.

ok thurs i meet u see where u convinient, chat on msn tomolo for location n time.

Butter8,
I applied my dd's passport previously by mail but you have to prepare to wait when collection time as i waited for 1hr with dd. There is saving of $10 when apply through mail.

Leia,
Mine dd is cranky n feverish on her 1st jab. But on her 2nd she is ok lei. <cross>

hi fiona and catherine,
I bathe my boy before the jab leh and he still had fever in the middle of the night. am hoping that he won't have fever this time.

hi smlow,
my boy sucks at his fist and can change to another when we move his hand away. but think he's right-handed cos he moves his right hand more.

hi hi long time no post here, cos back to work and finding it very taxing to cope btw work and baby. every day sleep at 11plus 12, then gotta wake up at 6am to express milk. super tired everyday. donno can tong bfing until when....

cocomo,
you mentioned your breast is hot and pain. be careful not to get mentitis (forgot how to spell liao). previously i gana it bcos of blocked duct and very engorged breast, the whole breast is red and hot. if you get fever, better go see doc cos that is one of the sign of mentitis.
or you can try to express initially using pump then use hand. that is wat i do when my breasts are sore.

my baby tend to suck his left hand and keep looking left side. we also worried he is left handed, so keep sitting on his right side to play with him. but sometime he just ignore us and keep looking to his left.

i bathed my son b4 bringing him for his 6-in-1 jab. no fever for his 1st jab though.

drop in milk intake
edward also has been nursing lesser and he can now drink every 4hrs too. not everyday or all the time but sometimes he doees. aiya, his feeding pattern not exactly fixed nowadays so i juz feed on demand lor...

cecelia
will send e email 2 u.

AVENT MANUAL BREASTPUMP
any mummy using tis? is it gd 2 clear engorgement? i heard very gd remarks abt tis breastpump which is gd 2 clear engorgement but is it a hassle 2 use cos it's a single pump?

i used a Medela Single Pump b4 and regretted a lot cos very leh chey. pumped one side, e other side leaked a lot.

mummies, any more feedback abt it?

bbmum,
yr sleep timing is same wif mine...u can do it...after a while yr body will adjust itself...me too also feel v tired when i juz started work but it has been over a mth alr and i am still bfing...but i do feed my boy 1 to 2 feed of FM still at nite...

i also bathe jay b4 his injection but he also got fever leh...i think no link lah...next appointment for jay jab n rotavirus is end of next mth...he reali hate taking med..haha..even dr loke also say that...when she gave him med, he started crying..haha..more than the injection...jus like me..i hate to take med when i am a kid and my mum have to bluff me wif sweets...:p

hi kelly,
i usually use the medela dual bcos it's faster, but i also find Avent manual pump is better at clearing blocked ducts and to establish milk supply. however it's like any other single pump, can get messy when the other side of the breast leaks...what i did is to insert some tissues into the bra of the other side before i express.

hi augbaby,
my gal was smiling happily to the PD when she went for the jab, immediately when she saw him preparing the jab infront of her she started crying, ma chiam she can recognize like that hahaha...

fiona,
how much did u pay 4 e avent manual pump? i tot of buying 1 cos i wanna do tandem nursing. while nursing edward, i pump. easier 4 me lah cos my both breasts very engorged in e morn. while i nurse edward 4 his 1st feed in e morn, i'll pump at e other breast. i using e Ameda pump but very leh chey 2 use it 2 juz pump 1 breast

megan took her 1st 5in1 jab 2 weeks ago.... no fever... but I drank lots of liang stuff like barley, water etc during the week so that hopefully the stuff will pass to her via the BM she takes... and we did bath her b4 we went for the jab, not becos can stop fever but cos we dun wanna bathe her for the day after she took the jab...

hi Kelly,
me bot a 2nd hand avent manual breastpump last thurs... it's really good in clearing the breats and emptying them... I use it in the middle of the nights or 1st thing in the morning cos megan sometimes feed only one side and I find very ley chey to hook up all the elctrical points to pump out the other side and a bit on the latched side... and it helps creating several letdowns... I find MUCH better than the electrical pump I get more output... now contemplating whether to use manual pump in office too hehe...

initially, I bot it to wanna do tandem nursing too... but find it dif cos megan kicks sometimes while latching and not easy to have one hand on the pump and one hand holding her... but it is still useful cos I use it after she latches on... VERY GOOD

piyo,
how much did u pay for the avent manual breastpump?

Fiona,
haha..dennis is so cute...for jay, he was also smiling happily at the doc n nurse..i told dr that he hates taking med and doc was even say hmm maybe this time be easy coz he seems to be in a good mood and smiling n kicking away happily..then immediately after doc put some med in his mouth, he cried like mad...haha..so funny...n then doc say wow..u reali dun like med ah...wah lau...:p

hi kelly and augbaby,
not much time to read through the postings thoroughly. I bought the avent breast pump and din really use it. if u need, can sell to u. will most prob pop in tonight or tmr again to check the postings.

piyo
thks for ur strong endorsement on the avent manual pump. do u use it on e same breast tat u nursed megan on and still able 2 produce some BM output?

afternoon gals,

talk about avent manual pump, i've also been hunting one down, been going thru the WTS threads, but so far no luck in purchasing one.

thanks piyo for sharing with us about the pump, how much did it cost you? i wanna buy one cos i do quite a lot of sports, then a lot of places don have a place for me to plug in my ameda...

hey kelly,

i bought the isis from OG when they have 20% discount. think i paid less then 70sgd for it. I do tandem pumping before with the isis.. but, if your Ed is like my Jadelle, you can't use it well as tandem, as she possessive of my breasts and will kick away the pump.. quite hard to use the manual one for me lor.. but i use the electric Avent IQ Uno when tandem, so, at least i don't have to compress the handle lor.. BTW, i have 3 pumps.. keke. the isis, the iq uno and the iq duo..my output is really low lor, since i latch her on most of the time..

my pumping time is really long.. like 45 min.. (~20min each side?)and yields 30ml for every hr interval? so, 3 hrs interval, i pump only 90ml? for 4 hrs, i can get 120ml? Am taking fenugreek and goat's rue too..

Any one interested to buy goat's rue ah? i am on my 1st bottle and would like to buy more leh @ cheaper price.. it works for me..

Anyone interested to share, please PM me.. need 40 bottles then can get discount leh..

hi Jas,

i'm keen on the goats rue, will PM you

Hmm, can i ask how do we know if we have enough milk? from wat u said, if every 4hrs, u can get 120ml per breast, that is q ok isn't it? i dunno leh. for me in the morning, if leon sleeps thru the night (11-7), i will get 140ml/breast, then he will latch on, and i pump the other breast straight after a feed, i will get 60-120ml, depending on the time of the day, gets less as the day goes by. but i'm sure when he latches on, there is milk coming out, if he seems frustrated, i will switch him over to the other breast ..

jasmine
thks 4 ur info. wah sey, u spent how much on breastpumps? i know e IQ duo not cheap leh...abt $600+.

have u tried using e manual pump on its own b4? as in not during tandem nursing.

pupsandcups,
then dun let me 'teach u bad things' hor...there r lotsa gd buys on yahoo auctions, esp 4 baby clothing such as carters, old navy, gap, etc.