(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

pupsandcups..

sorry hor, i get 120ml from BOTH breast.. hoping to increase more manz..keke

kelly,
i rented the avent duo to try foc from cannon avent for 3 days, gotta buy the pump shaft, valve n diaphargm x 2 sets @ 60sgd.. then i got a lobang to buy the IQ Duo motor @ 300sgd.

For the IQ Uno, i bought over the motor head for 100sgd only from another mummy to put over my brand new AVENT ISIS..

So hor, total i spend 460sgd (The isis was bought with gift vouchers).. and i get 3 pumps!

I use the Isis before.. for me, i get 30ml more milk in same 1 hr of pumping, but, very very tiring.. also, within 20min, i get only 20ml instead of 40ml with the dual pump... sigh..wish i have better milk flow.. no wonder Jadelle struggles @ the breast. but now hor.. she seems to be more efficient in latching on leh. can drain my breast in 10min.. that is why i think my milk supply juz nice for her only.. no excess.. sigh..

hi augbaby,
I pay $45 for it. The previous owner uses about a few times and it's quite new.

hi Kelly,
I used it on the breasts I nursed Megan... occasionally I can still get letdown on that breast if I use the manual.. even no letdown, there will still be some milk still from that breast.

fingers will be slightly tired but your hand will get accustomed to it.and you dun have to keep pressing very quickly all the time. You can start with 5 quick squeezing then 2 -3 slow squeezing then come letdown slowly swueeze then release squeeze then release...

Hi Jasmine,
is yours the new avaent double pump in the mkt? if yes, how do you find it?

I just came back from some exploring in town. Went to the wild child shop to look at the tippy toes socks....they have quite alot of different designs, including the trumpette ballet shoes design. BUT the price is sha ren fang huo. one box is $58........and the things inside the shop all very the expensive

hi celine,

whoa $58??? that is ridiculous man.

ya i heard that at wild child, u can make your baby cot with his/her name at a ridiculous price too.

thanks for updating us!

hi kelly,
mine was passed down by my sis, she probably only used for a few times then gave up liao...so i dunno how much it cost.

i do find it a little tiring and long, i take 45mins to pump with avent manual and 15-30mins with electric. Piyo very expert, she gave you very good info on how to maximize your pumping session using the avent.

hey piyo,

ya iz quite new hor? the IQ Duo.

ok lah. the suction.. but i never try pis before so can't compare. not as stronbg as isis though, but better then uno. uno more gentle.

iz PIS same as lactaline hospital grade? cos lactaline didn't work on me in hospital.

hi pups,

i think even if we get from the online shops in USD, also cheaper than 58 bucks.

not worth it.

today i bought a baby bjorn carrier....so happy, can put baby inside without help, and wun agitate baby.....can bring her out tomolo liao.....

hi celine

i have the baby bjorn too! my mom bought it for me when leon was 3 weeks old, he loves it! sleeps well in it.
now we put him facing outwards, and when people talk to me, he thinks they are talking to him and he will babble back, v cute

hi celine, i also hv a navy baby bjourn carrier, it's user friendly hor! my bb can fall asleep when i'm carrying her at shopping centre! haha...guess it's really comfy, coz the padding are so thick.

i also hv lucky baby carrier and a MIM sateen sling.. the lucky baby carrier is almost the same as baby bjourn but quality cant compare of coz, coz the price are so far apart..

for the MIM sateen sling, i hv no chance to bring my girl girl out in it, coz think she is clastrophobic! hahaha...she will shut her eyes tightly and scream hysterially when i put her in!! =P

hi pups,

din know it was so good to use.....i tried to use sling, but until now still dun know how to manage the sling....baby bjorn is definitely a good buy

hi leobbsmom,

wow din know so many mums got baby bjorn.....
now first few years shop got offer for the normal baby bjorn...$159.

i bought the black color one..easier to match clothing

cocomo: erm..doesn't sound normal to feel hot. u might wanna go and see a doc about it? dun wait too long before u seek help ya?

pupsandcups: my fren is letting go of her brand new Avent manual pump which comes with the cooler bag as well. PM me if u are keen ya?

hi celine/pups,
how much is the baby bjorn carrier and where did you get it from? been thinking of getting another carrier so that my hubby can carry our gal too...

i got it from "first few years" shop. they have a branch in paragon. bought for $159, they have offer on it now. original price they selling at $199.

Hi Celine,
Actually I went to that shop in Paragon and intent to buy one then my hb reminds me that we have got maid to carry Jay (if he dun like to stay in the stroller) and we definately dun like Jay so 'close' to her!!! So at the end I din buy

Sierra,
Went to see Dr this morning, she said no infection. heng. . . Then I went to Thomson parent craft centre for my engorgement treatment, so now beta liao. But nipple still sole and crack.

hi cocomo,

but can keep for your personal use, no need to let maid use. I think its very useful if we want to bring baby out ourselves. no need external help at all..hands free
And the baby can be very close to us..hehe

hey all , my MIL say barley is harmful for babys esp boys up to 10 yrs. don knw where she hear it from. anyone have comments >?

Hi, augustmum

did not recive your pm.... think not able to make it this sunday.....

will confirm with u again...

Hi, mummies
what do apply to remove cradle cap? my baby went to shave hair today & a little portion cannot be shave cos of cradle cap?

tomolo me bring baby from jurong back to my yishun house....though its only one mrt and 2 bus rides, kinda excited..haha..my 1st outing with bb alone....hope she wun cry on the way

hi augbaby,
hope i can have as much determination as you

hi kelly,
i'm using avent manual pump at work. i find it good to drain milk fm breasts easily. but avent pump got this white valve, for pressure purpose in order to create suction. mine keep popping out halfway when i was exporessing. so have to dismantle everything to fix the valve back then assemble the pump again. very messy n troublesome. donno is it i unlucky bought a faulty pump or my maid brush the valve too hard until it bcome too small for the pump that's why keep popping out. my friend using the same pump never encounter this problem leh. luckily it came with 2 spare one, but now already using the last one. anyone knows whether they sell avent spare part? cos i know medela do sell some spare parts.

when i use single pump, i will use another feeding cup/bottle to put at my other 'unpump' breast, so that can collect the dripped out milk.

hi jeslin,
heard b4 cradle cap can use olive oil or baby oil to apply, leave it on for a while then use comb to gently comb off.

Augustmum,

I have participate in one of Mediacorp's TV educational program on pre & post natal life. Mine will be a small section at postnatal part. I mentioned to them abt this forum and abt our monthly gathering. The producer was asking if they can go to your house for shotting during our gathering day on 3 Dec?

Are you guys comfortable to let them take some shots and perhaps interview?

The producer hope that they be able to come and take some shots but if Augustmum and you mummies not comfortable then they are fine. Since this is our gathering, I shall get you guys' permission on this matter.

Gathering at Augustmum house on 3 Dec (Sun)at 1.30pm

1. augbb, jayden, hubby and maid
2. piyo, megan, hubby and maid
3. kelly, hubby, gabriel & edward
4. smlow & Louisa (think will leave my older boy at home for his nap!)
5. adeline, hubby and leon
6. augustmum, hubby, noah and zac
7. jesline, jiahui, hubby
8. ningyo, yongjie
9. celine, yeeleng
10. cocomo, hubby, Jayden and maid
11. CJ, hubby and Kaefer ( maid TBC )

Total adults= 22
Total babies/toddlers= 13

Jeslin,
I applied J&J baby oil for Jay. Very good, 3 times only gone liao. One mummy taught me one but cant remember who liao.

celine,

Make sure your bb has her milk first before you start on your journey. Jurong to Yishun no joke (I used to stay in Jurong and travel to Khatib quite frequently by MRT).

Hi cocomo,
I used to have cracks/blisters at the same spot you described when i first started pumping, probably too much power and frequency too high. I reduced the power, and now it is okay. In addition, I always apply some nipple cream in the horn, where the nipple is dragged in and out. I do find it helpful, as the days I dont apply, nipple will feel pain aftere expressing. Hope that helps.

jesline,
use the handkechief or cotton pad put the baby oil on it and gently wipe one ur baby's head continue wipe until u see its clear. then leave it until u bath ur baby.

finally am enjoying my 1st day of sch hols even though I have to go back to work tmr again. finally have time to post some of kayden's recent photos.

595350.jpg

Here's a photo of me trying to be serious.

595351.jpg

i'm still trying to hold up my head but my neck is still weak at times. can't hold up for too long though.

here's another photo of me having my bath. daddy says i look like an ah peh at a hot spring. he's the one who places the towel on my head ok. keke...
595361.jpg

hi cocomo
i'm cool with mediacorp coming, in fact, buay pai seh, i think it will be quite exciting haha, a chance for our babies to be on tv.

erin,
your bb SUPER CUTE
sorry i can't remb, but were u the one that mentioned your bb looks like my bb? he can hold his head up v well leh.

other mommies,
your bb can hold their head up like that too? leon still really don like tummy time
and i don wan to force him.

augustmum,
need our help in preparing for the gathering? i can bring some light snacks too

i will be slightly late for the gathering this Sunday cos dropping by my friend's baby 1st yr birthday... must wait for me k... dun go off so early hor...

Hi cocomo,
what show is that? I also wanna join haha! I like Kelly, dun mind giving megan lil tv exposure!but what time ah? cos I will be late for our gatehring this SUnday lei!!! hahaha!but must ask the host better...

Hi Erin,
your Kayden so handsome! I like lei!

Hi bbmum,
I have the same prob just ytd morning.... I asked my colliq who is using this and she mentioned to me it;s the valve old liao time to change. Once change ok liao... and best dun sterilise it so often cos rubber mah... will spoil easily... The sspare parts can be bot from Avent at COncourse. I can ask her for the contact

jesline,
i use this brand Dentinox cradle cap shampoo on Jadelle.. I had the same problem when i shaved her hair!

What i do is i apply johnson's baby oil on the affected area and rub gently ~15 min before
bathing her.. wait a while then use the cradle cap shampoo instead of her normal kodomo shampoo..

It cleared super fast! Both the oil plus the special shampoo helps!

erin,

ur boy iz so cute...........!!!!!!!!!!!!!

pupsandcups,
my Jadelle also dun like tummy time.. though she can lift her head now..though abit shakey still
595439.jpg

Jas,
your gal also vvv cute! i love her cheeks and her rosy complexion.
leon can do the same thing jadelle is doing, but he won b smiling like your jadelle, he will b unhappy and trying to turn back.

I would like to buy Goat's rue @ 40sgd for 60 capsules to increase my breastmilk supply, but need min 25 bottles to order. Supplier told us that stock coming in week after next, so would like to gather mummies interested ASAP. Pls PM me if interested, Thks!

piyo,

i had the same problem yesterday with my valve, (not same as isis valve, iz the pointy one meant for avent electric pump usage), i tot my pump spoil! wasted 10min during lunch! Heng, cos i got 3 pumps, i have plenty of spares! phew!

Kelly/Pups/Piyo,
This is a new program, something like the Evelyn Tan's "hello baby". This proposed series will cover the development of a child- from fetus to 6 year old- in 13 parts. Each episode will be devoted to an in depth discussion of one particular stage of the childs development. They will interview the mummies on the process they gone thru and share their experience on babycare. The programme aims to educate parents and parents-to-be on the dos and donts of taking care of their child in a fun and engaging manner.

Anyway, like what piyo said need Augustmum feel comfortable that's the most impt part coz at her plc ma. Some ppl just camera shy so dun like ma.

hi Cocomo,
Is the show on every sat night? Cos I have been trying to catch it if I am at home
You mean can participate one ah?

Hi Jasmine,
Yah! same prob i was so pek chek ytd morning cos I got another let down and it happened at that point in time...ggrrhhhh...

Hi cocomo,
I am also fine wif the tv people coming by..no prob..it will be fine..but hor in english or chinese ah? coz my chinese is super terrible..haha

Erin,
Kayden is so cute...hee hee...Every pic got a different expression..u not coming for the gathering on sun??

thanks piyo
really v cheap. i might buy, cos i'm always worried about getting pregnant. these past few days, dunno i paranoid or wat, but i keep needing to go toilet even tho bladder not v full
ever heard of any mommies TBF, pregnant less than 4 months later? i certainly hope not.

hi cocomo
yep agree, augustmum gotta b ok with it too. in fact all the mommies attending shd b ok with it.
chinese show ah? haha my chinese v jialat.

anyone know where i can get bobux shoes? No one seems to be starting a spree from the website leh and i like the shoes alot...

augbaby
the shoes are super cute! how much do they usually cost? as mommies, we really love to spend to doll up our darlings ... :p the other day i nearly so so tempted to buy leon adidas shoes, but i told myself gotta save lah, v fast will grow out of them.

augbaby/pups,
yeah, it's a chinese program. Gotta speak mandarin. . . hoo. . .

yup, all mummies gotta agree la. If anyone dun feel comfortable pls voice out hor then we shall make alternative arrangement (perhaps not on our gathering day lo). Really dun wanna bcoz of this you guys decided to miss this gathering, then it defeat the purposes of having our gatherin liao (most impt is to meet up and chat ma).

augbaby,
I am waiting for bobux BP as well. I got one from Robinson for Jay and cost me $42!!! I bot the giraff one. If u know got BP pls inform me hor! TIA.

Pups,
I everytime cannot tahan one lo. Then buy buy and buy!!! Jay already have 5 shoes and I am still buying... ai, just very tempted when see cute one lo. Hm. . . now on must save liao. My hb cousin got bobux shoes from BP at $26 (compare to mine from Robinson at $42!!!).